US President Obama’s praise of Najib during their Washington meeting which was blacked out in all Malaysian mainstream media

Today’s mainstream media continues the publicity blitz of how successful is the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s visit to the United States, with front-page photograph of what has been described as the “historic bilateral meeting” between him and United States President Barack Obama.

However, a strange thing happened. Obama praised Najib in their meeting but this praise from United States President has been completely blacked out by the Malaysian mainstream media when it would normally be trumpeted not only nationally but also internationally.

I have here the statement issued by the United States White House on the duo’s bilateral meeting.

It said: “The President congratulated Prime Minister Najib for recent action on the Strategic Goods Act, which will strengthen the ability of Malaysian authorities to take action against individuals and entities engaged in proliferation.”

One would have thought that such praise from the US President to the Malaysian Prime Minister would have become the screaming headlines of the Malaysian mainstream media, but no, there was not a word of the US President’s praise for the Malaysian Prime Minister in the mainstream media in Malaysia, whether New Straits Times, Star, Utusan Malaysia or Berita Harian.

Najib seems to be embarrassed by such praise from the US President that it is blacked out by the Malaysian mainstream media. Why?

One reason is the revelation that Parliament had been treated shabbily as it had rush through the enactment of the Strategic Goods Act to time it for Najib’s visit to the United States to meet with President Obama – and this fact was hidden from knowledge of Parliament.

This is shame, disrespect and contempt of Parliament.

The Strategic Trade Bill 2010 was first tabled in Parliament on a Thursday (1st April) and its debate and passage was rushed through on the following Monday (5th April) – not giving MPs adequate time to study its implications and ramifications, all to suit the Prime Minister’s timetable of meeting the US President in his Washington visit.

In the event, Najib was given praise by Obama but which had to be blacked out in all the mainstream media!

On the eve of Najib’s visit to the United States, the Malaysian Ambassador to the United States Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaluddin Jarjis boasted about his publicity success with the US media, showing off a whole-page newspaper coverage for Malaysia in conjunction with Najib’s visit.

But this full-page coverage for Malaysia is not in the two leading US dailies, Washington Post or New York Times but the little-known Washington Times. Washingtion Post has a daily circulation of 673,180 copies and on Sunday, 890,163 while New York Times has a daily circulation of 1 million which shoots up to 1.4 million on Sunday.

What is Washington Times’ circulation? A paltry 102,258 copies.

Washington Times is a struggling low-circulation newspaper which was founded by Rev. Moon from South Korea and is now looking for a new buyer.

Is Malaysia, through its world-wide publicity consultant agency, APCO, considering buying over Washington Times?

The full-page coverage of Malaysia by Washington Times appears to be an advertorial, which means it was paid to publish it. How much did the full-page advertorial on Malaysia in Washington Times cost and was it paid by Malaysian taxpayers, directly or indirectly?

Najib is scheduled to launch the Malaysia-United States (Congressional) Caucus in Washington tomorrow.

I call on the Prime Minister to postpone the launching of the Malaysia-United States (Congressional) Caucus until there could be Pakatan Rakyat parliamentary representation or the caucus he would be launching would merely be a Barisan Nasional-US (Congressional) Caucus, which would only embarrass himself and the nation making him and the country the butt of jokes in the Washington cocktail circuit.

I have received information from Washington through email which does not throw a flattering light on the so-called launching of the Malaysia-US (Congressional) caucus.
Let me read from this email:

The launching of the Malaysia – United States Parliamentary Caucus about which you have posted on your blog is a most curious animal! I did a Google and also a search on the US Congress website but found nothing about this “great entity” ; nor did I see any references to the upcoming event other than from Malaysian sources!

The only reference I could find was a brief one on the homepage of Congressman Gregory W. Meeks’ (which reads as below) and also a reference to Congresswoman Barbara Lee being a member. Neither of these are very senior in the Congressional leadership hierarchy. Both are Democrats. Thus it does not appear to be a bi-partisan group.

“Malaysia Caucus:

“As a Member concerned with maintaining and promoting a close, positive relationship with Malaysia, we are expanding the Congressional Malaysia Trade, Security and Economic Caucus. This Caucus will promote a mature political relationship between the U.S. and Malaysia. Also, it will serve as an independent vehicle for Members of Congress to articulate their views on U.S. – Malaysia relations and as a source of information on political, security, and economic related issues. Finally, it will work to strengthen the discourse on bilateral and regional issues by engaging Malaysia perspectives on issues of mutual interest.”

This description, vague as it is, says little about the practical ways it will contribute to enhancing relationships. As I understand it, these Caucuses have no role in the legislative or other congressional/parliamentary processes. In a sense they are contact points for lobbyists and they operate as talk shops. The bottom line is: they represent no big deal and I do not understand why Najib, Nazri & company are making a big song and dance. It is also far from clear how the Malaysian side will operate in what is largely a US entity. On the other hand if there is going to be Malaysian participation in the Caucus, it is far from clear what it will entail. Cynically, one can assume that there will be visits, golf tournaments and other forms of entertainment at the tax-payer’s expense.

In the interest of our international reputation as well as the Prime Minister’s good name, Najib should cancel the launching of the unrepresentative Malaysian-US (Congressional) caucus only represented by BN and “independent” MPs from Malaysia on the one side and low-level Congress representatives on the part of the United States.

[Speech on the first 2010 Supplementary estimates in Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday April 13, 2010]

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:39 am

For all we know this could be the main reason for Malaysia to pay APCO RM70+ million to ensure that the meeting gets published?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:41 am

I believe the main reason why they are pushing for such publicity regarding US-Malaysia relation is to counter Anwar’s winning argument that Malaysia is losing the confidence of the West particularly investors which concern all Malaysia regardless of race, religion, income, rural-urban.

In actualy fact, Washington’s primary interest in Malaysia is security and stability. In that sense, the impact of good relation between Najib-Obama or Washington-Wisma Putra has absolutely little immediate impact on our every day lives. Investors continue to have little confidence in us – only doing it at great cost such as extremely cheap land, financing and low enviromental standards. There is no investment and confidence in so called New Economic Model or our role in larger issues of the world.

3. #3 by chengho on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:41 am

Obama said’ Najib my man’….

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:58 am

Obama said ‘najis, mai k@n’. U see, Obama lived in this region before so he knows some local dialect. [deleted]
    Chapchengho go dig your ear. Full of wax. Or you are suffering from delusion?

5. #5 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 8:24 am

Interesting. 77 million ringgit of our money to Apco for this publicity crap?

6. #6 by wanderer on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:06 am

Nazri take a hint on how diplomatic courtesy is done!…calling a foreign national a liar reflected on you as a classless and an unpolished politician!

Obama was performing an art of politeness when showering praises on another leader …..even if it was like taking a bitter pill. Just a standard procedure, nothing to shout about!

7. #7 by wanderer on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:09 am

chengho, Najib said, “You are my jingle bells…”

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:10 am

Hey, can’t you write to the Republicans for help?

Obama said no more lobbying, but Najiv’s meeting with him was worked out by the lobbyist APCO.

9. #9 by passerby on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:22 am

chengho

Why not you propose to the gov. to include this earth shaking meeting of two great men in the history book for all children to study and remember where the President called our great leader ’ Najib my man’.

This history meeting was widely reported in ..erh.. Washington Times. Just don’t mention that this paper is run be the moonies.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:35 am

Najib should stop wasting taxpayers’ money by not engaging in meaningless trips which bring no benefit to the country.

11. #11 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:39 am

#3 Acknowledgement of minority as president ??
    Is this SS (syiok sendiri) too ??

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 10:05 am

You say PM will embarrass himself in Malaysia – United States Parliamentary Caucus when our Malaysian Parliamentarian delegation has no Opposition/PR’s representation but if what your Washington’s email says is true, this whole Caucus thing sounds wishy-washy and he would be even more embarrassed by Opposition contingent going there to see a “non affair” and laugh at him!
    Present administration is all out to improve Malaysian-US bilateral relations. US is perceived Malaysia’s largest foreign investor, and trade with her is substantial – necessary for his NEM! We certainly don’t want the US to tilt towards the little but heavily armed red dot in the south in maintainance of the region’s balance of power! Of if Sodomy II like Sodomy I leads to revival of “reformasi” for another round of lecture by Obama like Al Gore! The US want us to be key ally in its “War on Terror” and is bit worried we tilt West to Middle East countries. (We’ll tilt anywhere where theres money to be made whether Sudan or Myanmar – oil/gas) US Special Forces still train at Malaysia’s jungle-warfare school,
    One big thorn in US-Malaysian relationship is international arms deals where we are perceived implicated. The US went for Pakistani national Jilani Humayun for his alleged role in shipping contraband military goods to Malaysia, from where they were re-exported to Iran. Out of 14 companies, individuals and government agencies which the US accused of dealing in advanced weapon technology with Iran or Syria 2 of them were Malaysian. Sometime back questions were raised whether Scomi Precision Engineering built components for centrifuges finding their way to Libya’s nuclear program or just innocent machinery parts. Recently US fighter-aircraft engine got stolen and went to Venzuela enroute to Iran?
    None of these are govt related/sanctioned on G-to-G level but US is worried about indivduals and companies given free rein here. We don’t have strict export controls. According to the International Institute for Strategic Studies, “Malaysia lists only ‘radioactive and nuclear material, substances and irradiating apparatus’ for controls, and not dual-use items.” And Malaysia does not have any verification system in place to ensure that exported goods are used for their stated end use or truly sent to their listed end users. All these loopholes favour arm traders, dealers and intermediaries. For so long these subsist, US & Malaysian relationship will be strained by US suspicions.
    To ameliorate US concerns, they rush through the Strategic Goods or Trade Act. It regulates control of exports, transferring, transiting and brokering of strategic goods, including arms and related materials, and other activities that would or could facilitate the designing, development and production or delivery of biological and chemical weapons, toxins, and nuclear weapons or goods and technology which could be used to produce arms and related.

After all Najib met Obama on the sidelines of the Nuclear security Summit. What was to talk if Obama were to ask what is Malaysia doing to help in War of Terror to stop arms from being made or accessible to terrorists? At least now he has something to say – Strategic Goods or Trade Act rushed through Parliament! Obama praised – good boy but Mainstream would not splash it in fear of perhaps backlash from fundamentalist Islamic groups challenging why the M’ysian Govt sides the Great Syaitan on this matter of “arms” needed by freedom fighters in Palestine, Afghanistan (Middle East).

13. #13 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 11:15 am

Congratulation to Najib for staging the “Malaysia Circus” or what ever it is. Not many people know what is it anyway.

There should be more news and exposure about APCO and the infiltration of Israel.

Obama should have grilled PM on the discrimination issue, the murder of Altantuya, and Anwar’s sodomy case.

14. #14 by Godfather on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 11:17 am

Obama actually said “Najib my man, my origins are from Kenya and I became President of the United States. Your origins are from Sulawesi and you still became prime minister. The only difference is I’m American first, and you are still trying to masquerade as a Malay.”

15. #15 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 11:17 am

That could be the greatest reward by paying 77 million contract to Apco to enable Najib to meet Obama in Washington.Has Malaysia clear the blacklisted name of humans trafficking in Washington ?

16. #16 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 11:57 am

APCO should be coming here to answer questions for Najib since APCO is to improve Najib’s image

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 12:00 pm

Strategic Goods Act 2010? How come Obama knows about it but no one in Malaysia, including PR MPs, know nothing about it?

What is this Act all about? Can somebody elaborate? Why is this Act so top secret?

Najib met Obama. Big deal. Obama met a dozen other national leaders as a courtesy. So whats the big deal Najib?

Did you see them meet on a stage at the conference venue? Its like a by-the-way-thing. A simple social chit-chat.

NO INVITE TO THE WHITE HOUSE to talk serious matters. No White House South lawn press conference. Even Hamid Karzai of Afghanistan got a White House treatment with meet the press session afterwards, but not Najib. Maybe the gomen didn’t pay enough consultation fees.

18. #18 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 12:16 pm

Barak Hussein Obama actually said, “Najib my boy, had I been born in Malaysia I would have been labelled a pendatang and thrown in jail for being a Christian and disowning my father’s Moslem faith. And now you want me to visit your country. Are you sure I won’t be arrested by JAKIM?”

19. #19 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:09 pm

Najib said…chengho sucks his balls well.

20. #20 by limkamput on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 2:12 pm

I think we should all follow Godfather’s way of writing, short, succinct, pertinent andto the point. Of course there is another form of short and broken writing here – it is the odd ball vulgar type which perhaps only those with the ball mentality will understand.

21. #21 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 2:40 pm

You don’t teach grandfathers how to suck eggs and how to write too…lanpar poo niabor limkumput kia.
    Wa…smart to play agree to disagree thinking Godfather will let you off his hooks for you?
    Did you read how Godfather described you…in older post?
    All understand my years of writing….you dumb ass.

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 2:51 pm

Monsterball mentalities are the ones that keep the flame of changing the government…bright and strong.
    Go read at Anwar’s blog…how PR responded to my comments..shows clearly…the mentalities of my kind of people are much more than you balls carrying soft spoken …supporting crooks…as be racist for personal comforts and benefits only.
    Such selfish good for nothing Malaysians..like chow ceebai limkumput kia …are the people supporting a disunited Malaysia.
    PS: I slowly working myself up to bring out by 4 Chinese F to chow ceeebai kia……hahahahahahahaha

23. #23 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:01 pm

Have you ever commented on Chengho’s insults to LKS and PR…you….nan porti nan..kui boti kui…limkumput… poi lor mai suki…baoi karsoi…put chow chow…bor nan ai.
    Why no insult chengho?
    Because you both are Najib’s balls licking good fellas…correct?
    Can you read hynanese?….hahahahahaha

24. #24 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:23 pm

When jib comes back, he will goreng all the mainstream papers and make spanish fries out of them.

Next, he will castrate the ‘small fry’ DPM and send him to the cold storage.

Then, he will tell all the Malays to forget NEP, NEM, and whatever tongkat, handicap, and what not, and work hard, otherwise Obama will summon him for a good spanking.

25. #25 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:40 pm

PATHETIC!

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:50 pm

///I think we should all follow Godfather’s way of writing, short, succinct, pertinent andto the point. Of course there is another form of short and broken writing here – it is the odd ball vulgar type which perhaps only those with the ball mentality will understand./// Lim Kam Put

Actually there is also an in-between third type of writing by throwing insults and posting flamebait to provoke reaction and verbal warfare in this era where physical warfare is not that feasible. The advantage of this form of writing is that every one, whether a sage or an nincompoop, can participate happily and receive its beneficent therapeutic effects.

27. #27 by limkamput on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:49 pm

The last time i checked, i was the one who gave Cheng Ho the Eunuch title. Of course the ungrateful odd ball, having learned the word eunuch, has forgetton who was the one who taught him. Anyway those continue to engage with Cheng HO are the real nincompoops. If we ignore him completely, he will die a naturally death. It is no brainer like this odd ball who keeps him alive, sad sad sad.

28. #28 by kpt99 on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 12:32 pm

After 08032008,UMNO has lost its directions and running blank of ideas.This is the reason why they quickly seek advices from Apco for strategic planning in order to remain relevant to the rakyat. Where are their 1st class think-tank ?.Tun Mahatir used to treat them as great liars.Why UMNO not just seek advice from Tun who is one of the best leader in Asia.Malaisie Bloeh

29. #29 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:34 pm

Lim suck ass can ignore Chengho and show us how specially smart he is against all those that do not ignore Chengho at all.
    Smart ass MCA …..Lim suck ass …does not know….ignoring also mean supporting?
    hi…We are writing to let youngsters to cast their millions of votes…to the right directions.
    We are clear FOR CHANGE.
    You are here and there…everywhere…no fixed direction..playing agree to disagree at the time..when UMNO BARU is trying all ways ..to buy up the country? You mean you cannot see all the actions done before..to upset the country?
    Sooo…votes are no more secret..It is FOR or AGAINST…like war.
    I copy you on chengho?
    Why you bragging Lim Suck Ass..I am the most unique commentator with my unique style…copying no one.. in my whole life.
    The word…”eunuch” is so commonly used..you claim it to be your original?
    What a braggart Suck Ass man you are….Lim.