Barisan Nasional warned that they will lose Sabah as a “fixed deposit” if the basic rights and interests of Sabahans continue to be marginalized and discriminated

I regret that the Cabinet has neither taken Parliament seriously nor the long-standing problems and grievances of the people of Sabah.

The Prime Minister’s Department has five Ministers apart from the Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister as well as five deputy ministers, but not a single one of them rose in Parliament to answer issues about Sabah development neglect, whether during the winding-up of the debate on the Royal Address or during the committee stage debate on the Prime Minister’s Department on the 2009 supplementary estimates.

Just laid on the table is the 2009 annual report of Suhakam. A staple criticism of MPs and the civil society is the failure of Parliament to have any specific debate on the Suhakam annual reports in the past nine years.

I want to ask Barisan Nasional MPs whether they take the Suhakam annual reports seriously, as most BN MPs would not even open the Suhakam annual reports to read them.

For instance, in the latest Suhakam report on its activities in Sabah, various long-standing problems of Sabahans were referred to.

As example, on “Land Matters”, Suhakam dealt with land complaints and made recommendations, and I quote:

1. State Land

Complainants, usually villagers in rural areas, alleged that their applications for State land have not been considered, or have been ignored or rejected. They further alleged that the same plots were subsequently alienated to later applicants. More often than not, the latter occupy position of influence and authority or have close connections with decision makers.

Recommendations

1. Multiple land applications should not be entertained in respect of the same piece of land. The earliest application should be dealt with first. If it is rejected, the applicant should be notified and informed of the reason for rejection.

2. There should be transparency in the procedures and criteria used in approving applications for land. Awareness programmes should be organised to educate villagers on the land policy, procedures, processes and criteria involved in applications.

3. The Sabah Land Ordinance (Cap. 68) should be reviewed and amended to eliminateambiguity and confusion. A workshop could be held to bring together experts, complainants’ representatives and other interested parties to identify the changes required.

2. Forest Reserves

Complainants said they had been wrongfully evicted from their villages and that their houses had sometimes been burnt down by enforcement personnel, on the ground of trespass into a forest reserve. The villagers claimed that they had occupied the area for generations, as indicated by the presence of graveyards, fruit trees and other agricultural and commercial crops planted by them. They further claimed that they had been living there before the area was gazetted as a forest reserve.

Recommendations

1. If people have settled in an area before it was gazetted as a forest reserve, then the site occupied should be excised from the reserve.

2. In the event that people have indeed encroached into a forest reserve, then the State (ii) Government should consider treating it on a case-by-case basis depending on circumstances, such as the period they have been living in the area.

3. The State authorities should be humanitarian in taking enforcement action against alleged trespassers. Burning houses would lead to the perception that the Government gives higher priority to the forest than to human beings.

4. The Government should consider providing affected settlers an alternative site to be excised from a forest reserve. After all, Sabah has vast stands of forest. Indeed, hundreds of thousands of hectares have previously been excised for commercial agricultural development, mainly oil palm.

5. Enforcement should be quick and efficient against those deemed to be ‘squatting’ in a forest reserve. The authorities should not wait until people have settled on the site for many years before evicting them. In some cases, the oil palm they planted would be ready for harvesting. The relevant authorities should regularly monitor the situation and inform people as early as possible that they have trespassed into a forest reserve.

What is the position of the Federal and Sabah state governments to these recommendations by Suhakam.

Let me warn the Barisan Nasional government that they will lose Sabah as a “fixed deposit” if the basic rights and interests of Sabahans continue to be marginalized and discriminated decade after decade.

[Speech (4) on the first 2010 supplementary estimates in Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday 13th April 2010]

1. #1 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 12:51 pm

Talking about Sabah matters…not one of those Sabahan chosen misters rose to debate in Parliament?
    Why be surprised!!
    All are just for show and their silence showed how much they care for Sabahan…ZERO!!
    All they care are their own positions…and finding ways and means to get rich….with their said positions..through overpriced tenders or huge commission with something…so call needed….created to get them rich…somehow.
    That is the way of life…buying up souls and loyalties by Najib and famous UMNO BARU trademark.
    Their silences are not golden.
    Those are simply puppets…not trained yet to speak yet.
    Those are corrupted good for nothing idiots.
    So nice to read….Zaid Ibrahim is the candidate for Hulu Selangor by-election.

2. #2 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:15 pm

Like Johnnypok used to say all the Umno/BN MPs are HP6 blocks especially those from Sabah,hence how to expect them to read Suhakam report,let alone understand it and take action accordingly. Frankly I think the Umno/Bn regime does not respect Suhakam .They even branded some members acting to the wishes of the opposition.I think PR should leave them alone and let the Sabah people/voters to teach them a lesson by kicking their butt in the 13th GE.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:34 pm

Sabah definitely prime for some ass-kicking – the BN anyway…

4. #4 by chengho on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:41 pm

Wonder why Kit not there when defacto leader Anwar announced Zahid as the candidate?

5. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 2:06 pm

This bloody chengho always have some idiotic message to talk cock here.
    Using the absence from q busy ..useful LKS….he also got a hint to insult PR.
    Hi…Chengho…he is not there…to attend to something else important.
    PR politicians do not waste time…to show off…wasting tax payers money…dumb ass.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:04 pm

///Let me warn the Barisan Nasional government that they will lose Sabah as a “fixed deposit” if the basic rights and interests of Sabahans continue to be marginalized and discriminated decade after decade./// (Kit)

Kit, you do not need to warn the BN government because by doing so, you are doing something detrimental to PR!

Just let BN enjoy themselves until Sabah falls into PR hand. Then PR can breathe life back into Sabah.

7. #7 by Godfather on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:15 pm

Predictably, there was muted news of the fact that the Gomen paid APCO RM77 million for one year. Only the Star carried a small article buried in the middle pages.

Big mouth Nazri’s comments defending the payment of RM77 million must rank as one of the best own goals for BN ever.

8. #8 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:47 pm

In fact people in Sabah and Labuan do not rely on the newpaper for information, especially in Labuan, where news spread like wild fire, and travel with the speed of lightning from one corner of the island to another.
    So far PR has been very successful in spreading the news by words of mouth alone, with the internet playing a major role to change the wrong perception and evil propaganda spread by BN/UMNO.
    This time no amount of money can buy the people. So just grab the money but remember to vote for PR.

9. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:52 pm

So Kit should keep his mouth shut and let Sabahans keep sleeping and dreaming…with minds shut up…like before..and go to the polls..to vote like before.
    Is that it…yhsiew?

10. #10 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 5:27 pm

///So Kit should keep his mouth shut and let Sabahans keep sleeping and dreaming…with minds shut up…like before..and go to the polls..to vote like before.
    Is that it…yhsiew?/// (#9 by monsterball)

Don’t get me wrong please. Kit needs to warn Sabahans of what went wrong with their state and persuade BN to do something, but I don’t think he should warn his enemy (BN) of losing Sabah as a “fixed deposit”.

11. #11 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:21 pm

Kit is a seasoned politician and the one and only true freedom fighter.
    Sabahans politicians.close to BN.. are all corrupted…no good ..sons of rusty guns.
    Kit and Anwar will know what to do….and their greatest weapon is to expose corruptions..to let the voters know.
    However…Sabahans are largely depending on the government and big time crooks…for their daily bread.
    It is back to Kopitiam fellas…man on the streets…doing small time businesses…that DAP and keDAILan can rely upon for their votes.
    It s hoping….Sabah government have created the haves and have not too..within their unfair and selected candidates to get rich…and the have not will now vote to change th4e government….exactly like West Malaysians..when we see the opportunity for change is real and good.
    Problem is…Sabahans are still backwards and selfish ones…in great quantity..knowing nothing…caring nothing.
    How Kit and Anwar going to handle that…they need no smart blokes to teach them politics nor promotional campaigns..under such unfair and unjust situations.
    Lets hope Sabahans do read blogs by the thousands right now.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:11 pm

Suhakam is generally seen as a retiree’s club. All gum, no bite.

So does Bung Bocor care? He’s pre-occupied with his new wife to want to bother.

What about Shafie Afpdal? He doesn’t understand anything anyway, so pass.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:18 pm

p/s did you see the flags behind Najib and Obama when they met?

Najib seems to be the President of the US of A while Obama seems to be the PM of Malaysia.

Hmmmm. Maybe that might be a better idea. Then Najib will go 1USA!!!! 1USA!!! 1USA!!!

14. #14 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 11:55 pm

Problem is…Sabahans are still backwards and selfish ones…in great quantity..knowing nothing…caring nothing….#11 by monsterball.

Hey monsterball,hold on,just who you think you are to say such unkind thing of Sabahans.I ‘m glad you a great supporter of PR but please don’t go over boat in your criticism. Your ignorance of Sabahan and your arrogance I think is becoming like Umno/Bn bad guys and will not help PR to win Sabahan’s votes in the next GE. May I ask you how many time,you guys in west malaysia have changed government ? We Sahahans have changed three state governments already since 1963.Moreover please don’t be a spoiler by saying only Anwar and Lim Kit Sing (my due respect to them) can change Sabahan’s thinking to switch party. You have eyes but not see,currently PR especially DAP has pretty lots of local good and honest leaders and if PR wants to win,Anwar and Lim Kit Siang must work hand in hand with them.

15. #15 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 12:14 am

Sabahans deserve what they get because they behave like chengho, an eunuch in 15th century China.

you get what is given if you don’t fight for your rights. Must emulate the Hindraf who are brave and righteous

16. #16 by johnnypok on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 3:27 am

Joe Pie Ring has sold his balls to BN/UMNO long time ago, maybe for a couple of millions, plus a warning to “behave”, so that he and his family can live in peace for the rest of his life.

17. #17 by BamBam297 on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 6:43 am

BN,

GET A LIFE LAH! STOP CURI THE RAKYAT’S MONEY! REALLY DUMB LAME!

GOD BLESS MALAYSIA!

18. #18 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:17 pm

frankyapp…I know about Sabahans mentalities…weakness and their strengths..more than you think you do.
    I lived and worked with them for years.
    “tanjong8” have hinted well about Sabahans.
    Lets see Sabahans talk less and walk the talks..and stop being fooled by crooked government.
    Sad to say…Sabahans have yet to catch up in education standards with mainland people.

19. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:22 pm

You Sabahans prove I am wrong in 13th GE…I will be most pleased.
    Meanwhile..a lot of Sabahan voters cannot be depended upon…while Sarawakians are more down to earth and realistic Malaysians.
    Good luck to you frankyapp.
    After all..our common objectives and purpose are to get voters to support..change of government.
    You think Sabahans will do the right thing in 13th GE?