The trouble with titled beings

By Kee Thuan Chye

COMMENT When Pakatan Rakyat took over a few state governments in 2008 I hoped, among other things, that the coalition would not recommend its elected representatives for datukships.

At a gathering hosted by the newly elected Sivarasa Rasiah and Elizabeh Wong to celebrate their electoral victories, I expressed this hope to both. I asked the same of Lim Guan Eng after he became Chief Minister. “We are not giving any titles,” he assured me. “I will try if possible to remain what I am.”

It hasn’t quite turned out that way.

Guan Eng himself has stayed true to his word but people under his watch, like Zahrain Mohd Hashim who has since become an independent MP, were presented awards. Sivarasa and Elizabeth are still without titles, but the Selangor Menteri Besar, Khalid Ibrahim, already a Tan Sri, was made a Datuk Seri last year. I was disappointed that Nizar Jamaluddin, not long after becoming MB of Perak, became a Datuk Seri.

Well, win some, lose some.

I can understand the desire to reward people for their contribution to the advancement of society, but must this be in the form of a title that serves to set the recipient apart from common folk? The French Revolution ignited the idea of equality for all; the idea of superior beings set apart from hoi polloi remains simply unacceptable in some societies.

Britain, a vestigial monarchy, still sustains an order of knights and dames of course, even though it is a democracy with sometimes socialist inclinations. The monarchy is the main reason for the continued practice, and the class system deeply entrenched in British society, with the ruling class still highly influenced by the aristocracy.

Fortunately, many Britons don’t take themselves too seriously. Few would consider it compulsory to refer to the rocker Mick Jagger as Sir Michael or the actress Judi Dench as Dame Judi. In fact, Jagger’s fans were disappointed that he accepted the title. The highly successful composer of musicals Andrew Lloyd Webber was made a peer in 1997, but if he were to insist on being called Baron Lloyd-Webber, he would be laughed out of not only the theatre but anywhere in Britain. Except perhaps in the House of Lords.

While the knights and dames of Britain wear their titles lightly, the same does not seem to apply with their Malaysian counterparts (although “knight” seems a misplaced description for any of our datuks or tan sris – how many have been convicted for corruption or criminal breach of trust?). A film credit for Jins Shamsuddin has to carry the honorific Tan Sri; the singer Siti Nurhalisa has to be acknowledged Datuk every time she is addressed or announced as a performer; and Lee Chong Wei is sometimes similarly addressed in news reports even though it sounds patently weird when he’s lost a badminton match. Our “knight” lost? Woe upon us!

So many datuks and tan sris take themselves so seriously they will throw tantrums or threaten action if you fail to acknowledge their titles in public. This seems unbecoming, placing more emphasis on the title than the content of character or of personal calibre. You may be an excellent engineer or judge, say, but if you have to depend on an honorific to define you, that’s rather pathetic.

Besides, it is public knowledge that not all titles are awarded to those who are deserving. Sometimes, it all boils down to connections. A majority of public servants, political leaders and civil service officials, seem to be automatically conferred.

On the list of 101 candidates standing in the recent MCA elections were 38 with titles: seven Datuk Seris and one Tan Sri among them. The titled lot accounted for 37.6 per cent of the total. If that seems absurd, look at the Cabinet: virtually everyone has a title. It is difficult to imagine the British Government similarly being run by a bunch of Sirs and Dames. As it is, their Prime Minister is just plain Mr Gordon Brown.

I know someone who has been awarded multiple datukships not because he provides a creditable service to society but apparently more because he knows how to suck up to people in government and royal circles. To some of his professional colleagues, his vocational conduct is repugnant. I refrain from saying “professional conduct” because his conduct is actually unprofessional and a bane to society.

It is also public knowledge that in Malaysia, titles can be bought. What value is such a datukship then? How well does it sit on someone rewarded for actual creditable service as on another who had paid out tons of money for one? So why should Malaysian society take these titles seriously?

In reality, most of us don’t, but we refrain from expressing ourselves out of politeness or fear of reprisal. Behind the backs of incompetent datuks, we snigger at their lack of calibre. Among ourselves, we privately pour scorn on datins. “Ya lah! That woman so aksi and demanding, always saying she’s so rich and powerful. Sure lah, she’s a datin what!”

This merely begets hypocrisy. Worse, it fosters an undercurrent of resentment against what is perceived to be an exclusive class of beings, and creates the fanciful notion that datuks and datins are endowed with glamour. Have you looked at some of them? The word “glamour” might wish it didn’t exist.

There’s little glamour to be perceived after having sat through the tedious ritual of addressing the titled beings at public events. The master of ceremonies must make sure protocol is followed: so, too, the people who subsequently make the speeches. There’s the Tuan Yang Terutamas and the Yang Amat Berhormats and the Yang Amat Berbahagias and the Yang Berhormat Mulias. The Yang Berhormats of those in public office and the Yang Berbahagias of those who are not. And don’t you forget which is which. Everyone goes through this rigmarole, distasteful because it sounds like grovelling. Must we appear such an obsequious people? It would be so refreshingly simple for all to be addressed as just “Para hadhirin”.

I hope those Pakatan Rakyat leaders still without titles remain so but if they become more entrenched in government who knows what might get into their heads? But I for one simply can’t conceive of a Datuk Nurul Izzah or a Datuk Seri Lim Guan Eng. Most unpalatable of all would possibly to be confronted — when and if he ever retires — with a Tun Lim Kit Siang!

He is a people’s icon. If he crosses over, it would be a monumental loss.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 2:53 pm

There’s nothing to shout about with all these ‘titles’ ?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 3:09 pm

The most esteemed title in Malaysia? Saudara as in Saudara LKS, Saudara Anwar, Saudara Khalid Ibrahim, Saudara Zaid Ibrahim, Saudara Siravasa, Saudara Ramasamy

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 4:11 pm

///You may be an excellent engineer or judge, say, but if you have to depend on an honorific to define you, that’s rather pathetic/// – Kee Thuan Chye.

Sure its true many with honorific titles don’t deserve the honour. Some years back Dr Rais Yatim accused some people of being involved in corruption by acting as middle-men to secure titles, and surprisingly, none of the royal households then came out to dispute what Rais said.

So it is true that an excellent engineer or judge does not need an honorific title to define to himself his excellence, worth and contribution to society…but what about to others? What about the in the yes of the not so excellent bureaucrats and civil servants, the majority of whom are Malays?

Titles are cultural hangovers of Malay feudal society since days of Malacca sultanate. It defines social status in a Malay society. Within the establishment the conferring of titles engender reciprocal loyalty to support it.

Even in cases outside the political establishment like the cases of PR’s Khalid Ibrahim & Nizar Jamaluddin, they could easily justify acceptance of the honorifics titles on grounds that they in their political positions need to interface with the Malay Establishment including the civil service and if the titles could bring them more respect and facilitate acceptance of their authority and standing in this still feudal society, why not?

We’re still a feudal society. We’re not a society espousing egalitarian principles like the USA. If we were not still “feudal” how else can it be explained why the patronage/gravy system is so much alive and kicking everywhere? If we’re not still a feudal society how else can it be explained why would blind loyalty and support be still given to some rotten leaderswith a record of money politics? Besides a Malay cutural emblem of distinction. If all Malaysians accept the institution of constitutional monarchy and rukers they will have to accept the conferring of titles which is part of this institution and tradition. Theses are the rules of the system, Mr Kee.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 4:14 pm

Correction – “What about the in the Eyes of the not so excellent bureaucrats and civil servants” – and “If all Malaysians accept the institution of constitutional monarchy and ruLers they will have…”

5. #5 by jus legitimum on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 4:53 pm

The conferment of titles by 13 rulers and the Agung every year already reduced the value of such titles.So the saying that if you throw a stone into a crowd,you will most probably hit a title holder may not be far from the truth soon.

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 5:08 pm

I thought our very own Limkamput has an honorific PPN (or something like that) from the Agong for distinguished service to the public ?

I think we should confer 1NATO on all the BN politicians.

7. #7 by johnnypok on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 6:47 pm

Cheap. Even small fry can buy it. When you are outside the country nobody care a hood about your decorative title. “Hey you, hoi there, get lost you son of a b…” What can you do if someone in New York tell you off in this manner?

8. #8 by Comrade on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 6:59 pm

Manners maketh man, not titles.

9. #9 by monsterball on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 7:52 pm

There is a twist in awarding titles.
    If it is given by the King…it seems no one can refused.
    But I am glad…Karpal Singh..Lim Kit Siang and I am sure.. Lim Guan Eng too…including Dr. Chen…want to stay simple and true to Malaysians….refusing such stupid titles…no where found.except in Malaysia.
    As years went by…you can see how cheap the titles are.
    Can you imagine Rocky made a Datuk now…carrying Najib balls…as CEO of MM…and was sued by S.Times…when he was carrying Anwar balls?
    So you see…titles also depend on which balls you are carrying….hahahahahahaha

10. #10 by lkt-56 on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 10:16 pm

Title does not make the man but what he does and the mark he leaves makes him stand out.

I have nothing against titles so long as the titled being does not get carried away and become too identified with the title.

Lim Goh Tong has Tan Sri to his name but it did not change him in anyway. I do not know him personally but seeing his many dignified pictures… the look of humility, the kind smile… I can’t help but feel awed by his “PRESENCE”

11. #11 by cskok8 on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 10:59 pm

In Malaysia when someone is awarded a title there is no citation to indicate his/her contributions to society that deserves such an award. With the thousands (?hundreds of thousands) of datuks and dato’s running around the country, nobody respects them anymore.

In UK you really have to have achieved a lot to be given a knighthood. Jensen Button who won last year’s F1 Driver’s Championship was only given an OBE. In Malaysia anyone winning a single F1 race will probably be given a datukship the next day.

12. #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 11:12 pm

With titles, many misdeeds can be hidden. if you can’t get it buy it, you even see so many MCA wanna be going around with the DR. in front of their names; you won’t laugh until they open their mouths! Thatis why, Datoship is said to worth a Quarter and a Tan Sri 5 times over a quarter! The pollution is so bad that even they could get away from being charged by the Police who knew that since they could pay for a datoship, surely the summon is a waste of time!! Malaysia Boleh!!!

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 12 April 2010 - 11:16 pm

Godfather, please don’t downgrade me!

14. #14 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 1:44 am

Titles started in the right direction…copying the British “Sirs” and “Lords”..for deserving people..with no favoritism.
    Here….you can buy the titles….and after 55 years..almost all UMNO crooks are decorated as heroes with titles….mixing up with the ones that rightfully should be given…making the said titles…lousy and cheap.
    Leave it to UMNO to mess things up.
    They are very good at that…and right now…who cares who is a Datuk..Tan Sri or Tun…when biggest crooks of all…in UMNO BARU are all decorated to be so.
    Respected welknown…deserving Malaysians do feel shameful to have titles…same as all UMNO crooks and thieves.
    Imagine…a snaky person like Rockybru installed with a Datukship recently.
    Only UMNO have that thick skin to do all these stupid things as they like.

15. #15 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 1:47 am

And today….under Rockybru..the Malay Mail…failed and yet….treated like such a successful man.
    In UMNO BARU….it is being bought like a puppet with a big mouth to promote Najib and his party.. matter most.

16. #16 by ekompute on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 2:15 am

Errrr… I consider Lim Kit Siang to be a Tun, whether he is awarded or not, but I don’t consider Ling Liong Sik to be a Tun, even though he is awarded, LOL. Anyway, I still have to call him Toon Ling, whether I like it or not, no?

17. #17 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 2:48 am

Yes, PR politicians must NOT accept titles while in office – they are servants of voters n must prove their worth b4 they r recognized 4 their invaluable service, if there is any
    Look at d ridiculous situation in Perak – shortly after 308 n barely in service, a number of PR politicians accepted titles (a most regretable greedy action)
    They had not shown their worth – voters elected them 2 serve, not 2 get titles
    N b4 they could even show their worth, they were kicked out as d ruling public servants
    Now it seems that in Penang, PR politicians n their cronies want 2 b decorated, sh!t

Our society is full of gullible simpletons, easily awed by ppl with titles
    No wonder a 17-year-old boy could easily fool even d National Service Department director-general Datuk Abdul Hadi Awang Kecil n assemblyman Datuk Shafik Fauzan Sharif by masquerading as a Tuan Muda, though a bogus one
    Ha, ha, a good one, serve d damn titled fools right

18. #18 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 4:37 am

in the grand scheme of today’s world, what do the brits have much going for them? the monarchy and the country’s history provides for something legit to hang on to, to be fascinated about, to sell market tabloids, and to make tourism money. malaysian’s royal circus, on the other hand, is farcical, and reeks of manipulation by the umno low lives for their ill-gottens.

you’d think by now these title junkies know how comical having that datuk or tan sri on their names are. even john elton and anthony hopkins plead not to be addressed as sirs so they don’t get ridiculed. and like respect, titles should be earned, not given. in malaysia’s case, it is now a common currency for favors and back room dealings. you’d think by now if i’m up to no good, i don’t want that datuk work on my name screaming for attention. yeah, that’s what these titles mean these days.

19. #19 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 7:00 am

The trouble with titled beings is you owe it to the one who gives you the title forever. Whether it is religion or psychology, recognition and self esteem are very important because it points to the self. For bad or for worse, it makes up the total human being. Even sir, mam, teacher, mister, uncle, sister, brother are all titles given to distinguish one’s standing. We can be cynical and laugh about that person, but ask ourselves if we wish to go without a title. Something for a start like a supposedly educated person asking ” kamu ialah Cinderella Pinocchio kah ? “

20. #20 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 8:41 am

Why do these people like to be officially conferred titles as “EUNUCHS” when they are not castrated?

21. #21 by dagen on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:15 am

Titles are ok. That is if they were given strictly and only in recognition of someone’s long and extraordinary service to country and people. Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singh, more than anyone else, deserve “Tun” when they retire one day. This is the original and true purpose for conferring titles. And by this definition I fear 90% of our title holders are rubbish. Some of them are criminals – the big time ones of course. And I know of a dato who was in his early late twenties/earlier thirties. Dont know what he does or how he had served the nation and the people. Then again I heard that he was kinda active in mca. There. Politicians. Titles. Rotten apples. I didnt know why I had a particular dislike for that chappy in the past. Now I do. MCA. Kid. Title. And the “rotten apples” thingy – it actually has no application to jibby land. Here we have them everywhere and in great abundance.

22. #22 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:38 am

tun jeanne abdullah, cemerlang gemilang terbilang

23. #23 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:43 am

OK, OK, I’m sorry Sdr Limkamput….I didn’t realise you have the KKYLP title.

24. #24 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 2:17 pm

I think it’s best especially for public figure not to have title or titles. Look at our present scenario where you find certain powerful arrogant politician armed with Datuk Seri or Tan Sri title equivalent to some folk hero amry general,flexing their muscles to bully and cheat the ordinary folks in the country especially in the kampongs. I wonder whose legacy is this ? Is it TAR or TDM or both ?

25. #25 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 2:34 pm

One day in the near future, when every Tom, Dick and Harry are given titles like given out sweets, people will no longer respect whatever decorations you have in front of your name, especially those who abuse the cheap little title to bully others, and to cheat and plunder the wealth and economy of the nation.

26. #26 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 2:42 pm

I think is best that PR when it sits in Putra Jaya,to stop awarding title to its own politician or supporters. Title if it needs to continue,I think should be given to deserving civil servants,military people,accademician,industrailist,scientist,inventor or any citizen who have performed a certain heroic act for the defence of the country. I think a good politician if the needs required,the title should be given after his/her retirement.

27. #27 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 11:09 pm

What is KKYLP title…to Limkumput…”godfather” writer?
    Limkumput silence must be satisfied now…correct?

28. #28 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 5:30 am

All first born male = Dartok
    All first born female = Dartin
    2nd male = Tan Silly
    2nd female = Puan silly
    3rd male = Toon
    3rd female = ?

29. #29 by Godfather on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 12:55 pm

Monsterball, since you claim to be conversant is several dialects, KKYLP is Kiaw Kar Yo Lan Pah. Which actually refers to many of us writing in this blog.

30. #30 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:57 pm

Godfather…I understand many Chinese dialects..but your …”Kiaw Kar Yo Lan Pah.”..’Hokkien??}….I cannot understand at all…what more.. KKYLP.
    Anyway..thanks for explaining….and I know you meant well for all.
    I prefer to refer to many of us ..writing in this blog..as “Kopitian fellas”….down to earth…brave and fear not false monsters from UMNO.
    Thanks again.

31. #31 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 2:01 pm

Yes….I got it now… Godfather!!
    What a nice way to describe Limkumput.
    Me…he talk too much…and keep insulting me…I will fire all my Chinese dialects with few foreign ones…at him…all famous 4 letter words and sentences…I learned from great minds…..hahahahahahaha