Lowest Chinese and Indian representation in the civil service in the 53-year history of Malaysia – 5.8% Chinese and 4% Indians as at end of 2009

The other two factors which can cause the failure of NEM as identified by the NEAC are:

• Reform programmes have often met with strong resistance from powerful and vested interests, which subsequently forced their derailment; (Perkasa the extremist right-wing racist organization is one such “vested interests”) and

• The implementing authorities failed to stay the course, either due to a lack of political will or inherently administrative weaknesses.

Although NEM proposes a “big push” in policy actions and initiatives to kick-start the transformation process, what ‘big results” have been achieved in the 1Malaysia concept in the past one year?

How can the public have confidence in the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) when there is no seriousness or commitment by Barisan Nasional leaders in the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP), as demonstrated by the Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who had declared himself “Malay first and Malaysian second”?

It is sad and tragic that despite my challenge, not only Umno Ministers ran for cover, Ministers from MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties also dare not declare that they are Malaysians first and their race whether Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan or Iban second in keeping with the 1Malaysia concept.

I am not asking anyone to do what I dare not do, as I had declared in Parliament that I am Malaysian first and Chinese second.

I am also not asking anyone to forget or be ashamed of his or her ethnic identity. I am Malaysian first and Chinese second and I am also proud of my Chinese ethnicity.

However, something is very wrong when Umno and Barisan Nasional MPs are not prepared to come forward to declare that they are Malaysians first and their race second.

The episode in Parliament last Thursday where the Minister responsible for 1Malaysia GTP Roadmap, Senator Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon dared not respond to my challenge to declare that he is Malaysian first and second was most disgraceful for two reasons: firstly, Tsu Koon would have no hesitation previously in declaring that he is Malaysian first and Chinese second and secondly, Tsu Koon dared not declare that he is Malaysian first and Chinese second solely because he was afraid of stepping on the toes of UMNO leaders!

The NEM has admitted that the failure to restore public confidence in the independence and professionalism of national institutions is a major cause in the erosion of our international competitiveness.

For instance, although lip-service is given to a 1Malaysia Government, the latest answer from the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz to my question on the latest ethnic composition of the civil service show that we continue to go backwards instead of forwards in 1Malaysia nation-building.

As of 31st December 2009, the racial breakdown of the Malaysian civil service comprising 1,247,894 employees are:

Malays 78.2%
Other Bumiputras 7.7%
Chinese 5.8%
Indian 4.0%
Others 4.2%

This the worst multi-racial composition of the government service, with the lowest Chinese and Indian representation in the public service in Malaysian history of 53 years.

This is clearly seen from the three sets of comparative figures of the racial breakdown of the civil service in the past four decades:

Malay Chinese Indian Others
Before NEP 1971 60.80% 20.2% 17.40% 1.6%
June 2005 77.04% 9.37% 5.12% 8.47%
Dec. 2009 78.2% 5.8% 4.0% 4.2%

It is clear that the Government is setting the worst example of a 1Malaysia Government.

One major upshot of the lack of confidence in government policies is the exodus of human capital, where the country is losing the skilled talent needed to drive future growth.

Since the March 2008 general election, 400,000 best and brightest Malaysians have emigrated overseas, comprising not just Malaysian Chinese and Indians, but more and more Malays.

I do not see any effort by the government in the past year since Najib became Prime Minister aimed at ending the exodus of Malaysian talents abroad.

The Deputy Prime Minister cum Education Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said in Paris yesterday that the government through the Public Services Department (PSD) will offer 1,500 scholarships to top Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) students under the overseas undergraduate scholarship programme.

This is a far cry from the 2,100 scholarships for students to study abroad last year.

Several years ago, I had already proposed that the Government give the top 200 SPM students full scholarships to appreciate and retain talents in Malaysia.

I am disappointed that the government has awarded only 30 national scholarships for top SPM students last year when the government should have no problems in awarding the top 200 or even top 500 SPM students full scholarships awards – as all it needs to do to find the money by just cracking down on corruption or leakages in government procurements and tenders.

The press has reported the case of the top SPM student in Penang, Bukit Mertajam girl Edwina Tang from Convent Light Street, Penang who scored 13A+ but who was not selected for the 30 national scholarships.

This is most unfair and I call on the Cabinet to reconsider and to increase national scholarships for top SPM students to at least 500 receipients.

Restoration of public confidence in the key institutions in the country has made little progress in the past year.

If there is going to be meaningful restoration in the confidence of the judiciary, then the country cannot have a well-known Umno lawyer as the Chief Justice. The first step, therefore, on the road to national and international confidence in the judiciary must start with a new Chief Justice.

Public confidence in the police remains at an all-time low. One of the benefits promised to the people in 2020 outlined by the New Economic Model is to enable Malaysians to live, work and play in safe locations without the fear of crime.

This is outrageous as the core function of any government is to ensure that its people can live, work and play in safe and secure environment, not haunted by rampant crime and the fear of crime.

Three decades ago, Malaysians can go about free from crime and the fear of crime was an unheard-of concept. It is an indication of the failure and even breakdown of the Barisan Nasional government to deliver its its most fundamental duties to society that today, Malaysians suffer from the double curse of high crime index and the fear of crime.

Corruption is another major factor of public confidence as well as determining international competitiveness. Hardly any progress had been achieved in the battle against corruption in the past year of Najib premiership.

1Malaysia GTP Roadmap demarcates three areas most prone to corruption and should be the of focus of the anti-corruption activities of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, viz:

• Regulatory and enforcement agencies;

• Government procurements;

• Grand Corruption (Political corruption).

What has the MACC to show in the campaign against “grand corruption” in the past year? How many top political leaders had been arrested and charged in court for corruption?

Why have no top political leaders been arrested and charged for corruption in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal, as no one believes that a few officials and functionaries could be wholly responsible for the scandal without “green light” from their political superiors.

The second Finance Minister, Husni had stated publicly that Malaysia could have lost RM28 billion from “leakages” in government procurements and contracts.

The Prime Minister had himself admitted that only RM2 billion remained in the hands of bumiputeras out of the RM54 billion shares allotted to bumiputeras since the NEP.

Easily some RM50 billion would have been lost to the national treasury from the issue of APs for vehicles since the eighties.

How is the NEM to ensure that these NEP abuses of power and corruption would not recur under the NEM?

In his biography of the fourth Prime Minister, “Malaysian Maverick: Mahathir Mohamad in Turbulent Times”, Barry Wain openly alleged that at least RM100 billion were wasted or burned in the 22 years of the Mahathir premiership.

Why was there no Royal Commission of Inquiry into such a serious allegation and why is the Home Ministry still withholding the release of the book to the bookshops?

Let me stress that Najib must be Prime Minister of all races and regions in the country.

The NEM made specific mention of focussing on Penang to establish it as “leader on sustainability and liveability”, proposing as “measures for action” (i) improve security for both the living and business environment; (ii) enhance the Georgetown conurbation; and (iii) redevelop the waterfront and ensure seamlessness like Hong Kong-Kowloon. There is also the proposal to “adopt a city strategy to reinvent Penang as a leader for sustainability”.

In his speech on March 20 unveiling the NEM, Najib mentioned the Klang Valley and Johore Bahru but omitted reference Penang. This is like cutting one’s nose to spite one’s face and should not be the conduct of a Prime Minister for all Malaysians.

[Speech (2) of DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang in Parliament on the 2009 Supplementary Estimates on Tuesday, 6th April 2010]

1. #1 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 10:22 am

It is a case of not employing the Chinese, Indians and others for jobs in the government sectors!

Are ‘Little Napoleans’ involved in the recruitment of government servants?

2. #2 by chengho on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 10:40 am

Why we want to join government the salary is too low .We may end up living in squater.

3. #3 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:07 am

Chengho is spurting shit again by saying that government employees are earning low salaries and therefore implying that the non Malays do not want to work in the civil service.In Malaysia,there are many jobs in the private sector that command even lower pay than in the government sector besides being void of job security.The lop sided racial composition in the civil service is definitely the result of biased selection based on race.

4. #4 by Motorist on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:38 am

UMNO & the advocates for special race will not be happy till it’s 100% special race.

Do you really think a non special race/ earth price will be even entertained with an interview? Even during the interview, the decision has already been made not to employ a non earth prince.

Existing non earth prince will be denied promotion & privileges. They are there to do the work of 3 earth princes while the earth price enjoy themselves by going for seminars, tea breaks or go on leave.

Going into the civil service is a dead end for non earth prince under UMNO regime.

5. #5 by tunglang on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:45 am

Issue of Malaysian first:
    To declare oneself Malaysian first is a treason to one’s race, that is the perception of those who are not keen or dare to stand up for 1-Malaysia.
    What’s even more perplexing are those working with PM Najib, not a single soul dares to proclaim himself/herself Malaysian first thus contradicting Najib’s initiatives.
    PM Najib, is that what you lead them (MPs) to be (race first, Malaysian second) while aggressively promoting 1-Malaysia???
    Then how are we the ordinary mortals in the streets can comfortably, convincing, earnestly and be expected to declare ourselves Malaysian first, race second when our leaders do otherwise?

Issue of Civil Service:
    The reality is Gomen has to absorb the numerous unemployables into the civil service. This has resulted from NEP’s poor foresight in its policies, implementation and accountable management of human resources. I can foresee the trend going unchanged if no sincere efforts are made to correct this issue of the civil service for all races. The ‘tongkat’ is still there.

6. #6 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:50 am

Sorry YB, out of subject.

Whole morning internet connection failed to link to Malaysia Today website, sabotage?

7. #7 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:51 am

Please show this statistic to Ibrahim Ali aka Perkasa who just claimed that the malays are being marginalised.The fact shows the opposite .Indeed the chinese,the indian and other non muslim bumis especially the KDM of Sabah and the dayak/iban of Sarawak are being ignored/marginalise by the Umno/Bn federal regime in particularly the civil service.I think it’s time now NR must do something to redress this most biased inbalance of racial composition within the civil service. I think it’s time he talks less ,instead take concrete action to redress this scenario in order to reflex the ratio composition of the poeple not only in the civil service but also in the military service. I think also NR should remove the ” Malays Regiment”and re-name it “Malaysian Regiment” if he wants the people to accept his 1malaysia concept.

8. #8 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:59 am

It will soon varnish totally if Perkasa take over UMNO.Racist Ibrahim Ali who has been marginalized ?.Are you blind ?

9. #9 by dagen on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 12:05 pm

I really do not know what to say these days. Umno is rotten and remain so till the end of day. A malaysian company had a taste of what lawlessness is like, zimbabwe style, when their banana plantation there was seized and given away to an army general. [Hmmm. Sounds familiar.] Fortunately, zimbabwe has courts, legal process and judiciary. So the fellas sued in court. They failed of course. Predictably so. [Now that too is familiar to us.]

There is only one thing to do. Save malaysia. Vote umno out. Make sure the win is decisive.

10. #10 by grace on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 12:17 pm

This sad situation is a resuslt of MCA and MIC being poodle to UMNO. Had these two partieshave the Chinese and Indian interests at heart, they would have insisted that the racial composition in the civil service be maintiained at around 30-35%.
    Sadly those twp parties are led by corrupt leaders who only cared to enrich themselves or thei families. Just imagine a 27 year old son of a prseident can be a billion aire. Don’t this stink?
    Now MCA is led by another with even bigger bagge around his neck. Can they really fight for the Chinese interest?

11. #11 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 12:45 pm

chengho :Why we want to join government the salary is too low .We may end up living in squater.

And the rakyat already know very well who is responsible for the wastage of taxpayers’ money……

12. #12 by Winston on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 12:56 pm

The reason that civil service is mainly restricted to one race is that it forms part of the backbone of voters for the Federal government.
    That’s why the terms and conditions for them have increased tremendously.

13. #13 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 1:28 pm

While Singapore has been sailing smoothly in calm water all this while, we are still struggling to steer our ship out of the storm.

Our Captain is intoxicated and unable to do much, while his deputy and crews lack the experience to handle the situation.

The ship will break into three portions. The main portion called “Malaya” will sink to the bottom, while “Sabah” and “Sarawak” will move on under a new flagship call “1 Borneo”

14. #14 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 1:50 pm

The one thing I’m pretty sure is that Umnoputras and cronies wanted to have the whole cake and eat it all by themselves.

15. #15 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 1:58 pm

The NEM will go the same way as 1Malaysia due to inaction and apathy.

When Najib took office, didn’t he promise that his government will study the ISA and make the necessary changes? One year has passed, what happened to his promise?

16. #16 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:07 pm

For the last table, the % of Malay should include other Bumis, i.e. 86% instead of 78.2% – so that the figures are comparable. The figures for 1971 and 2005 all add up to 100%. The break down in Malay and Other Bumis is a pathetic attempt at hiding the huge 86% figure. From 60.8% pre NEP to 86.0% post NEP.

17. #17 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:14 pm

//However, something is very wrong when Umno and Barisan Nasional MPs are not prepared to come forward to declare that they are Malaysians first and their race second.//

Simple, to declare that, it means Malaysian Malaysia. They would prefer to die than to allow Malaysian Malaysia to take root and flourish

18. #18 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:20 pm

Ask that Mooohideeen what is he doing in Paris, and so also were previous Education Ministers who never failed to go there and gave generous contribution to UNESCO. May i know what Unesco has done for this country and the world in general. Everybody wants to go to Paris. What Unesco achieved thus far is rubbish.

19. #19 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:29 pm

It is not just racial composition in the civil service. It is also the strategic positions that they hold. Kit, if you can find non Malays in strategic positions in the public service, I shall buy you lunch for one month. They will give some non Malays high ranks but with no power to make a difference – like a general without even one soldiers. Non-Malays in the civil service are like MCA, Gerakan and MIC ministers – given lots of sh!t responsibilities but with no authority and power to make decisions. You can ask OTK weather he gets to decide on public transportation and all the Rapid here and Rapid there. Again, I will wager with you Kit, if he has power to do so, I shall buy lunch for one month again.

20. #20 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:35 pm

The press has reported the case of the top SPM student in Penang, Bukit Mertajam girl Edwina Tang from Convent Light Street, Penang who scored 13A+ but who was not
    selected for the 30 national scholarships.//kit

I have already told you before, Kit. You should know what to ask for. If you want all the top scholars to be given national scholarship, the top scholars of next SPM exam will more or less follow the racial composition of this country or will follow how the government chooses to give the scholarship. Be careful of what you ask for, Kit.

21. #21 by Comrade on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:37 pm

Since Malay support for UMNO has decreased after the 2008 political tsunami, they cannot afford to decrease the % of Malay representation in the civil service. To them UMNO stands for “Ultimately Malays Not Others”.

To MCA and all the other BN component parties UMNO stands for ” U Must Not Oppose”.

22. #22 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 2:47 pm

In his speech on March 20 unveiling the NEM, Najib mentioned the Klang Valley and Johore Bahru but omitted reference Penang. This is like cutting one’s nose to spite one’s face and should not be the conduct of a Prime Minister for all Malaysians.//Kit

Sustainability and liveability? Look, Kit, please don’t kid our ourselves. It is not going to make a difference whether Penang is mentioned or not. The whole country, including Penang is already a garbage dump. Let’s face it, we have rats as big as cats, we have flies, mosquitoes and cockroaches swarming all over the place, we have clogged drains that emit stench while we eat at filthy coffee shops, we have rivers that are open sewage. We did nothing and the NEM also mentioned nothing. Even if we achieve high income by 2020, do you think we are developed society? Please, Penang has to take a lead, and I have mentioned many times we have to change the mindset of our people. Be fair but be firm with our hawkers. We must change the ways we handle and sell foods. The government must provide the lead. The state governments and the local authorities have significant roles to play.

23. #23 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 3:38 pm

As long as the crutches are not removed, the NEM will fail as miserably as the NEP.

RPK asked in Malaysia Today “What is the real cost of the NEP?” and came up with a guesstimate of RM500 billion.

That RM500 billion might be a gross underestimate. One approach is to compare Malaysia with Singapore (I know, I know, UMNO hates this comparison).

In the year BN (Before NEP and not Barisan Nasional), the MY and SG economy, per capita GDP and currencies were quite similar. Therefore, we can take it that the real cost of the NEP would be difference in the economic performance, factoring in the respective external debt and foreign reserves.

MY’s GDP = US$207.4 billion (official exchange rate), population of 25.715 million, giving a per capita GDP of US$8,065. MY’s external debt = US$48.26 billion; foreign reserves = US$98.02 billion.

SG’s GDP = US$163.1 billion (official exchange rate), population of 4.657 million, giving a per capita GDP of US$35,022. SG’s external debt = US$19.20 billion; foreign reserves = US$187.80 billion.

Assuming without the NEP, MY’s performance can match SG’s. Therefore, the GDP forgone = 25.715 million x (35,022 – 8,065) = US$693.20 billion.

MY clocked up US$29.06 billion (48.26 – 19.20) more external debt than SG.

SG has US$89.78 billion (187.80 – 98.02) more in foreign reserves.

Total Cost of NEP = 693.2 + 29.06 + 89.78 = US$812.04 billion, or RM2,604.62 billion.

Now, this is not taking into consideration the abundance of petroleum, LNG. tin, basalt, rubber, palm oil, timber, etc.

So, the RM2,604 billion cost of the NEP is likely to be a gross underestimate.

Okay, let’s be realistic and assume that the people and leaders of MY are half as clever, hard working or competitive as SG.

The Cost of NEP = RM1,302 billion.

What, you mean the leaders of MY are only one quarter of those of SG? Be that as it may.

The Cost of NEP = RM651 billion.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/my.html

24. #24 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 3:51 pm

It is not surprising at all with 5.8% Chinese and 4% Indians as at the end of 2009!!! I would be surprised if otherwise, as it is the objective of the BN govt to eliminate the participation of all other races other than the selected group!!!

25. #25 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 3:55 pm

The actions and behavior of the United Monkeys National Organisation is creating a truely “1 Monkey” nation.

26. #26 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 3:56 pm

I would give the BN govt a six star award for meeting the KPI on elimination of all other races other than the selected group in the participation in the civil service within few decades!!! Malaysian always comes second!!! Got it!!!

27. #27 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 4:20 pm

Indians in Malaysia can have their own Raja if they are willing to migrate to one single state and becomes the majority voters in every single state seat there!!! If the Indians can, why not the Chinese!!! It is better to be the king of a small pond rather than be the small fish in a big pond!!!

28. #28 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 5:03 pm

/// Indians in Malaysia can have their own Raja if they are willing to migrate to one single state and becomes the majority voters in every single state seat there!!! If the Indians can, why not the Chinese!!! It is better to be the king of a small pond rather than be the small fish in a big pond!!! ///

I believe the Chinese do. Only difference is that they migrated and are migrating to the tiny red dot of a state down south.

29. #29 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 5:10 pm

I think it’s time now for MCA,MIC,PBS,SUPP and others small flies within the BN to tell UMNO that you are not going to sit down and shut up. Come on guys,surely you don’t want Umno and malays to continue to control 86% in the civil service. If Umno ,Perkasa and other malays NGOs can stand up and fight for malays right,why can’t you guys do the same for your race ? Please show your respective race that you also care just like Umno does for the malays. I think in this case ,your silent is not golden . If you cannot or dare not,then just quit and let others who can to take over.

30. #30 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 6:35 pm

Malays 78.2%
    Other Bumiputras 7.7%
    Chinese 5.8%
    Indian 4.0%
    Others 4.2%
    As long there is still NEP,NEM,M&M or whatever,the so called brain drain will widen the gap more in future.Then remains will be brain dead for sure.

31. #31 by Loh on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 7:20 pm

If the number of civil servants included the teachers, then the percentage of Chinese and Indians in the non-teaching professions are further reduced.

NEP was supposed to delink race with profession or economic activities. It has succeeded in denying certain races from the government services

32. #32 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 7:23 pm

No wonder Malaysia civil service was so inefficient and incompetent. It is base on mediocrity not meritocracy.It is who are you not how good are you.There are too many air-cond and coffee gossipers in the civil service.Ratio of 1-25 people as compare to Japan 1-150 in civil service.Popular answers from pones operators.TERIMA KASIH MENGHUBUNGI KAMI,ANDA AKAN DILAYAN SEBENTAR NANTI, FOR COUNTLESS TIMES TILL YOU ARE CUT OFF.Malaysia boleh.

33. #33 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 7:26 pm

johnnypok :
    While Singapore has been sailing smoothly in calm water all this while, we are still struggling to steer our ship out of the storm.
    Our Captain is intoxicated and unable to do much, while his deputy and crews lack the experience to handle the situation.
    The ship will break into three portions. The main portion called “Malaya” will sink to the bottom, while “Sabah” and “Sarawak” will move on under a new flagship call “1 Borneo”

(deleted)

34. #34 by Loh on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 8:03 pm

kpt99 :No wonder Malaysia civil service was so inefficient and incompetent. It is base on mediocrity not meritocracy.It is who are you not how good are you.There are too many air-cond and coffee gossipers in the civil service.Ratio of 1-25 people as compare to Japan 1-150 in civil service.Popular answers from pones operators.TERIMA KASIH MENGHUBUNGI KAMI,ANDA AKAN DILAYAN SEBENTAR NANTI, FOR COUNTLESS TIMES TILL YOU ARE CUT OFF.Malaysia boleh.

That started after NEP was introduced when the government found it easy to appease the selected race with pay for doing almost nothing, to set the stage for NEP implementation. At that time, the salary level of government servants was at par with Singapore and Hong Kong. Now, they get about one-fifth what government servants get in Singapore and Hong Kong. The simple reason was more men less share; a five folds increase in the number of persons doing the same job will naturally lead to the employees receiving one-fifth of the salary payable to their counterparts in other countries. They call it productivity, but Malaysia calls it affirmative action. Consequently able bodies choose to gossip in air-conditioned enviroment, if the buildings do not collapse. ,The work of actually producing goods and services, low value-added as they are are left to foreign workers. The two million plus seriously exploited foreign workers would be a force to reckon with by the authority if they are inspired by the red-shirts across the border.

The people in this country has developed a new culture which are alien to what they were in pre-NEP days. It is just comical that culture defines race in the constitution.

35. #35 by Loh on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 8:21 pm

Teachers are included as government servants since the 1970s. Calculate the ratio by race after removing the teaching profession in schools, Malays would easily top 95% in civil services.

The civil servants who are to implement government policies will stick to the NEP mindset which they have been ingrained since the day they joined the service will not be able to work in the NEM mould, if NEM is really different from NEP. No civil servant currently in service has worked even for a day in the pre-May 13 government service. Unless the government declares that race should not be a criterion for any decision process, Najib can forget that NEM would be any different from NEP. May be Najib was just playing with the word P and M, and he has no intention to be different from Mamakthir.

The late Tun Razak was a racist to the extent that he restricted FELDA projects to Malays only, even in pre-NEP days. Najib might be doing exactly the same racist function camouflaged with the word model. Is he obsessed with model?

36. #36 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 8:26 pm

Johor is the campion of all states in Malaysia. There are ONLY 10 chinese and 116 indian in 8000+ state civil service according DUN,Johor.

37. #37 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 10:39 pm

Kepada all lepasan SPM yang berbangsa Melayu,jangan bimbang tentang perjalanan perlajaran anda,sebab UITM sedia menunggu anda walaupun keputusan tidak memuaskan supaya bilangan pelajar boleh sampai 200000 pada tahun 2012.hebatlah UNi yang tak tekankan quality.

38. #38 by Xiao Zhu on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 11:35 pm

Look at those GLCs too,
    Some depts at National Carrier with 99%
    of the same race first, Malaysian second.

39. #39 by cemerlang on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 12:02 am

Yalah, agree. It is power. The office is an experimental ground. The staff behaves according to the whims and fancies of those in power. Therefore, whichever race, majority of them just play around because nothing can be taken for serious. You have a karaoke office. You have a cyber café office. You have a newspaper office. You have a radio office. You have a fashion office. You have a cosmetic office. You have a pub office. You have a restaurant office. You have all the offices except the real actual serious working office. It is not just the racial quota. It is also about whether your 1.2 million workers are really working or just golfing around. Imagine the wastage of salaries going into the pockets of parasites. Imagine your tax money being gambled around. Transform from bad to worse. Imagine that.

40. #40 by kpt99 on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 12:24 am

Governments’ vehicles are here and there picking up civil servants’ children in schools.Some are used for makan angin by some drivers and sending BOSS wife or Cinta for shopping.Tak apalah ,kerajaan punnya,lagi banyak minyak,you nak beli kah,lebih murahlah. rm 1 seliter saja.ok.lagi kali saya bawa lebih banyaklah.

41. #41 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 7:24 am

I used to wonder as to why the so-called Chinese schools are reluctance to have too many other medium classes. the basic reason is the fear that the “environment” would be polluted by those who have been teaching in the national-type schools. The can-do environment at those Chinese-type schools seek more responsibilty from the average teachers. Of course, the results prove them right in many aspects. as for the jobs in the Gomen sector, the few Chinese in the lower stratas are understandable but it does not mean that jobs at the upper strata should be frozen out of the community. as shown in the past, even the smaller % of the Chinese in the civil service had provided the service positive results. as the figures show, Indians seem to be over represented in the past, based on their population. I think all this racial profiling is not necessary if the very best is considered; but this isn’t true as can be witnessed by the quality of the current civil service.
    As for the bulk of the teaching service, no doubt UMNO has played its hand to ensure their agenda is maintained!!

42. #42 by ktteokt on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 8:33 am

It’s not the money that matter so much. Joining the civil service would mean being placed UNDER A BUMIPUTRA with whom one may not accept his/her working attitude. This would cause frustration and lead to dissatisfaction. That is the main reason why non-Malays are shying away from the civil service!

43. #43 by johnnypok on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 2:51 pm

99% of the 78% are “Gaji Buta” being paid to parasites and the so-called handicapped and retarded ones.
    22% working is working hard to generate revenue to feed the nation.
    If the 22% goes on strike, the country will go bankrupt in no time.
    The rotten service now stinks like dead bodies, and sooner or later all will die from infection.

44. #44 by ringthetill on Thursday, 8 April 2010 - 7:54 pm

Another one of Mamakthir’s legacies in Bolehland!

45. #45 by pohsoon on Friday, 9 April 2010 - 8:40 am

Is there something wrong in Dec 2009 figured?

The total is only 92.2% and not 100%.

46. #46 by kpt99 on Saturday, 10 April 2010 - 12:40 pm

MB Johor said non-malays are less loyal to the country.They are with no quality and integrity and hence not fix to become civil servants.That why we have only 10 chinese and 116 indians in our state civil service.Dear chinese and indians in johor,what is your comments ?Do you still support your HP6 MB ?.

47. #47 by gaebryl on Sunday, 6 June 2010 - 10:48 am

guys, any idea where the civil service statistics posted by KS were obtained from? It would be useful if the stats are footnoted.