AG’s Acumen for Asinine Answers

By Martin Jalleh

Attorney-General (AG) Abdul Gani Patail want us to believe that he is committed to ensuring that the rule of law is upheld in Bolehland. In his address to members of the Judiciary and the Bar entitled “Opening of the Legal Year 2010”, on 16 Jan., he declared:

“(I)t cannot be over emphasized that the concept of justice is grounded on the basic principles of equality, fairness, and rule of law. The AGC (AG’s Chambers) is committed to promoting the rule of law and ensuring justice be given to all people whatever their race, religion or class.

“AGC in carrying out its duties is well aware of the maxim ‘justice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done’, and hence the explanations issued by AGC from time to time on cases handled by it so that the public would not have misconceptions of biasness.”

Such purported profound and passionate zeal for the rule of law by the AG turns into mere political BN propaganda when one applies it to his pathetic excuses for not pressing charges against the two reporters of the Al-Islam magazine who had committed a most sacrilegious act against the Catholic community.

Gani’s Gall

Under guise of being Catholics they participated in a Mass (church service) at the Church of St. Anthony in Puduraya to “investigate” what was going on in Catholic Churches and to verify reports that “Muslim teenagers were being converted to Christianity in Kuala Lumpur’s churches every Sunday”.

They even partook of the Holy Communion strictly meant only for Catholics, which adherents of the faith treat with utmost reverence. They spat out the remnants, photographed it and published the picture in an article entitled “Tinjaun Al Islam Dalam Gereja: Mencari Kesahihan Remaja Murtad” in the May 2009 issue of the magazine.

Their act shocked not only Christians but also Muslims in the country. Even Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin found their action “appalling” and “offensive”. He added that the “Islamic virtues of empathy, respect and tolerance were obviously absent in both the journalists and the magazine’s editorial team”.

Catholics K Sudhagaran Stanley and Joachim Xavier had lodged a police report in July last year against the two reporters. On 27 Aug. the Catholic Lawyers Society handed a memorandum to the Home Ministry urging it to take action. There was no response. They must have hoped it would eventually be forgotten.

Finally on 24 Feb. this year, about six months after the police report was made, and due to what the Dang Wangi police district headquarters called “overwhelming pressure from the general public”, the police revealed that charges against the two have been dropped.

They were investigated under Section 298A (1) of the Penal Code for causing disharmony, disunity or feelings of enmity, hatred or ill will, or prejudicing the maintenance of harmony or unity, on grounds of religion.

Senior investigating officer ASP Ananthan Rajoo in a letter to the complainants stated that the police had received orders from the deputy public prosecutor (DPP) to whom the case was referred to, to take no further action (NFA).

Gani’s Hype and Hypocrisy

The overwhelming public reaction not only from Catholics but from countless of other Malaysians and even Muslims is that the AG has failed to uphold the rule of law and that what he had pronounced, proclaimed and preached so piously about was mere pretense!

The AG is at fault for the public perception that there are two sets of laws in this country. Reputed lawyer/blogger Art Harun articulated well his disgust over the decision and called it what it really was: “The blatant double standard. The plain hypocrisy of it all. The stupidity.”

Alas, it would be very easy to imagine the speed with which the police and the AG would have sprung into action if two non-Muslim reporters were to enter a mosque disguised as Muslims, partook of the rituals and desecrated something which the congregation considered very sacred.

Surely Gani would apply the full force of the law without any doubt, delay or deliberation. The penalty would be severe. The all-too-familiar mob would be braying for their blood. Lock them up, lash them or even lynch them? Non-Muslims would be threatened with a looming May 13 or Feb.13!

The Malaysian Insider (TMI) captured well the contempt for the AG’s decision: “In the eyes of the Catholic church, the desecration of the communion is an act even worse than the recent firebombing of places of worship.”

“Never before has the exhibition of double standards been so obvious…The irony is this message of hypocrisy comes at a time when the Najib administration is asking for support from non-Muslims.”

In a press conference yesterday Kuala Lumpur Archbishop Murphy Pakiam asked the AG for the rationale behind his decision: “I appeal to the attorney-general to explain the decision not to take further action on the Al-Islam journalists’ case.”

Pakiam pointed out his fear that “the decision not to prosecute appears to legitimise the actions of the Al-Islam journalists”. He added he believed that the Catholic community will be “satisfied” if the journalists and publisher apologise.

Gani’s Gobbledegook

In a faxed response to the press Gani had the gall to say: “The actions of the two reporters may have hurt the feelings of the people but I was satisfied that they did not intend to offend anyone. It was an act of sheer ignorance… the two journalists did not cause any disturbance when they went undercover…”

The Attorney General of Malaysia who turned psychologist and mind-reader has offered all future potential violators of religious harmony and unity the excuses needed to escape from and evade the rule of law. Just appear real stupid and do all the harm you want undercover so that it won’t disturb anybody, and leave the rest to me!

(Whatever their intentions, they had violated Section 298A (1) of the Penal Code for causing disharmony, disunity or feelings of enmity, hatred or ill will, or prejudicing the maintenance of harmony or unity, on grounds of religion.)

Gani went on probably hoping that the public would be as gullible as he expects of them: “Therefore, in view of the circumstances at that particular time and in the interest of justice, peace and harmony, I decided not to press any charges against them.”

Whose “interest”? Whose “justice”? Umno’s brand of justice? How would peace and harmony be disturbed if charges were pressed against the reporters? It appears there is really no rule of law in this country but the mob rules – even in the discerning and decision making process of the Attorney General!

Gani tried very hard to convince himself: “I have previously decided similarly in other cases where the circumstances were quite similar involving other religions, under those circumstances taking serious action would not be in the interest of justice at that particular time.”

TMI again “hit the nail on the AG’s head” when it commented: “Simply put, this man by his statement has shown himself to be incapable of protecting the interest of Christians and non-Muslims in the country.”

“One can only wonder what justice is for the AG, for his actions in the Al-Islam case show he is ‘not in the interest of justice’ in any time or situation.”

TMI also described Gani’s statement as “outrageous at the very least as he was offering protection to a group of people who have not had the decency to apologise for their actions” and that the AG was “condoning vigilantism”.

God is watching, Gani!

Khairy accepted and defended the AG’s decision, for “the decision may have been reached to ‘balance out’ the tensions caused by the issue revolving the use of the word ‘Allah’”. Six months ago he had called the act “unacceptable”! The poor Umno Youth leader must be suffering from an unbalanced mind.

Only politicians feel they have to resort to playing the balancing act. The AG is not a politician and he should not play politics. All he should be concerned about is that the scales of justice are balanced and that there should be fairness to all.

The sheer ignorance “plea” concocted by the AG on behalf of the two reporters is really an insult to the intelligence of the public. This is reinforced by the fact that the magazine which they are working for, Al-Islam, is a monthly magazine published by Utusan Karya Sdn Bhd, a subsidiary of Utusan Group (which is owned by Umno) and which publishes the Utusan Malaysia (UM).

In recent years, the UM has been allowed to go on a spree of spinning falsehood, spouting lies, spewing seditious articles and spreading Umno’s unprecedented racist and religious propaganda with impunity – and immunity granted by the Umno Home Minister. It is very obvious where the reporters of Al-Islam got their audacity from in committing their sacrilegious act!

Khairy was wrong when he said last year that the two journalists failed to consider “the gravity of their own actions”. Gani was wrong when he said they were “sheer “ignorant”. The reporters were right when they knew full well what they were doing and that they could do what they liked, for there would be no consequences – and the AG has confirmed it!

In his maiden speech 1Malaysia, People First Performance Now, the Prime Minister said: “We must reach out to the many who may have been disaffected and left confused by political games, deceit and showmanship”. It is time you stop your games, Gani! God is watching, Gani!

It is wishful thinking (and I hope I will be proven wrong) to expect Al-Islam to apologise, after all, the people behind it come from a superior race, have a religion they believe is superior to all else and are protected by Executive Supremacy! May Allah (oops, I can’t use this word), may God have mercy on our beloved country!

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:06 pm

Now how do u argue with Ghani?

If I proffer legal arguments, Ghani knows too little or wishes to appear real dumb for good reasons known only in his soul.

If I proffer reasons of morality, Ghani has little to measure up to. Besides, he may ask, whose standards?

If I proffer reasons of State, he might just say, heck, who holds the sceptre of power now? Who is more draconian and would beat every rule book to stay in power?

At the end of the day, I think nothing will get into his numbskull. He’s simply decided to be his own man (or somebody’s vassal).

So, Ghani, u just do what u like. And may God SHOW U THE MERCY U DO NOT DESERVE!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:34 pm

The problem with the stupidity of Ghani is not so much its obvious to everyone else so much as it is dangerous because he don’t know how much damage he can do with his powers. One of the reason for institutional and systematic checks and balance is not only against evil but stupidity such as these. The truth is Ghani does not have the intellect to comprehend what happens when there are no longer checks and balance and he does the stupid. This makes him dangerous. This make it a responsibility, no, a duty, to remove him by whoever can..

3. #3 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:39 pm

Dear Kit

Just something to share when I read about the decision. I blog about Shut Me Up…

I am not sure if my message is clear, but what the hack.. They can shut me up, but not my ability to see, hear and act.

Shiok Guy

4. #4 by cseng on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 9:23 pm

“God is watching, Gani!”… That is the whole point God is not God of Islam but Allah (this word is typed in Sarawak, by the way), sentence like this is meaningless to him. Then again when “Umon is watching, Gani!”, he pees in the pants.

Reporter with “sheer ignorance” should be NFA. I remember a reporter who reported “pendatang” without ignorance got her ISA.

Gani Sack knows and quoted ‘Justice must not only be done but seen to be done’ but he is not sure if ‘Injustice must not be done and must not been seen to be done’.

This is the problem with Malaysian, we are stupid! We lost of right thinking capability; we were indoctrinated and trapped with cocoon school of toughs. People like Gani Sack cannot think beyond race and politic and own pocket. Or maybe he is smart and we are the real idiot! Otherwise explain why BN can the regime since you born? Why LGE’s CNY gathering is illegal gathering and not BN’s? and BN remain the regime of the day, why? We are stupid and our stupidity is infinite!.

5. #5 by rockdaboat on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 9:47 pm

Yes, the sow has just climbed up the coconut tree!

6. #6 by frankyapp on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 11:06 pm

Please don’t blame him ( poor Gani) as he is led with a ring in his nose by his master. But if he sold his soul for just a few dollars more then he should be condermed.

7. #7 by son of perpaduan on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 11:21 pm

Is not Ghani to be blame, we should point the gun at their ”Instituition”. Extreme instituition!

8. #8 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 12:45 am

Why, if it is a case of public pressure, then the DSAI trial should not have begun at all!!

Attack of foot in mouth disease and double standards again, Ganesh Patel?

You betcha that unpenetrated fool’s ass!!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

9. #9 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 5:23 am

He is a racist..a hypocrite and a thick skin liar.
    All UMNO leaders talk the same way…knowing most Malaysians read only newspapers and watch local TV news.
    However…vast majority Muslims are not easily fooled….with so many incidents…involving double standard laws and kangaroo courts cases.
    AG can say as much as he want.
    At the end of the day…vast majority voters are dead set to change he government…believing in their powerful votes.
    No matter how much this AG talk…his days are numbered….once UMNO is voted out…and 54 years is enough….under one party ..most corrupted government.
    AG and IGP are chosen by UMNO…and all need to ponder and recall…what UMNO BARU is.
    Yes…thousands of UMNO members are totally fed up…UMNO BARU is using sodomy to shut their mouths…to indirectly fool Muslims..and whether Anwar is guilty or not…vast majority Muslims do not wish be hypocrites anymore.
    UMNO BARU is a sick party…and IGP/AG are sick Malaysians……feeling no shame at all…playing dirty politics…apply clear double standards…and keep denying that.
    Such sickening low class hypocritical comment by present AG..point only yo one reason.
    He needs UMNO BARU to survive. He sold his soul to UMNO. He has no dignity..morals..ethics..nothing at all.

10. #10 by lopez on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:10 am

empathy, respect and tolerance……now only you know there is different sets of measurements meh.

it on pretext at 30:70 and now it would not be long that your underwear may need to be hala…

So many little napoleans and so little space to terrorize. ..ta bolih tahan aredi

This gunny sack ought to resign from civil service and take up politics ….he has all the required traits ….immense urge to misuse power and influence…for his master’s agenda.

11. #11 by drngsc on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:17 am

Bolehland has perfected a disease called ” talk1-do2-itis”. To them it is normal to bluff. I wonder how they sleep on Thursday night before going for cleansing on Friday afternoon. They are so use to bluffing now, that that is their nom.
    CHANGE THEM ALL. The time is coming soon.

12. #12 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:52 am

AG is only complying with BN’s agenda. We need the total annihilation of BN. Malaysia will be much better for it. Vote out BN in GE13.

13. #13 by MGR1940 on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:12 am

Bring this matters to the UN, the world and international people.

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:16 am

asinine definition
    I really like this word “asinine”. Very apt usage.

From the dictionary:

asi·nine (as?? n?n?)

adjective

of or like an ass; esp., having qualities regarded as characteristic of asses; stupid, silly, obstinate, etc.

Etymology: L asininus < asinus, ass

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:25 am

I really like this word “asinine”. Very apt usage.

From the dictionary:

asinine definition

asi·nine (asi nine)

adjective

of or like an ass; esp., having qualities regarded as characteristic of asses; stupid, silly, obstinate, etc.

Etymology: L asininus < asinus, ass

And paraphrasing the AG, I hope I am not offending anyone, I am acting out of sheer ignorance and I hope I will not cause any disturbance.

16. #16 by dagen on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 11:08 am

“GOD IS WATCHING, GANI”

Damn right man. The umno god.

WTF.

Clearly, we hv been led beyond the roaring fifties where there are no laws and no god.

Phark!

17. #17 by limkamput on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 11:28 am

It goes to the very basics we have in this country – the seemingly harmony we have had is always based on dominance and subservience; bullying and submissiveness and never on genuine desire and common aspiration. What do call a group of people who do not know how to use the power they have and act above reproach for the common good? What do you call a group of people who can not exercise fair play and respect for people less powerful than them? It is called barbaric or uncivilised. Civilised people live by rules and established social norms. Barbarians use brutal force and unreasonable discretion.

18. #18 by frankyapp on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 11:57 am

I think even the least educated person would say “sorry” to the guy whose shoe he accidentally step on in a busy and packed mono-rail. How on earth in this case,even if it’s due to ignorance,at least the AG should have asked these guys to apologize. AG Gani,don’t you think it’s the least and appropriate decent thing to do in the interest of justice,peace and harmony ?

19. #19 by dagen on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 12:24 pm

Stepped on your toes huh, frankyapp?

So what!

You want an apology from me?

There. My ketuanan.

Illogical response?

Maybe stupid?

Now that is umnoputras in perkasa for you. Yes those perkumnoputras.

Perkumnoputras? A new breed? Nah. Just the same old farts with poisonous fangs and pointed tongues.

As a side note. I give perkasa 18-24mths of orgy time. After that the movement will die of internal squabbles.

20. #20 by lopez on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:58 pm

pisskasa……..oooi mamak ini goreng ayam ke…goreng dua kali ka?

Nasi ini 7.50 huh?

yA LAH GORENG DUA KALI.

21. #21 by johnnypok on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 6:19 am

How to kick him out and put a real human as AG so that the country can salvage back some life?
    We cannot wait until he is struck by lightning, neither can we wait until he retires, or die of natural death, because God is crazy, and people may amok, and then it will be the end of the world.