Muhyiddin – don’t be DPM who talks through his nose

Two days ago, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin lambasted the Hong Kong-based Political and Economic Risk Consultancy (PERC) for “talking through their nose” for raising Malaysia’s risk index and giving the impression that Malaysia was veering towards instability.

He dismissed the latest PERC report that foreign investments into Malaysia have not been forthcoming, either in direct form or in the equity markets, and doubting the efficacy of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia strategy of “trying to be all things to all people, but in the end he might satisfy no one”.

Muhyiddin said:

“We are not asking them to help us anyway. We are helping ourselves and we don’t need their comments because I think a lot of other people know and can evaluate us very objectively.

“We are not basing it on emotions but facts and reality.

“The fact is, Malaysians are happy and are not facing any major disaster or racial trouble in the country… So, what are they talking about?

“I think they (PERC) must be talking through their nose.”

Unfortunately, it is Muhyiddin himself who has come across as the one guilty of “talking through his nose”.

Worse, he also conveys the impression that he is a “frog under the coconut shell” (katak bawah tempurung).

Is Muhyiddin seriously suggesting that Malaysia should ignore all the international reports and surveys pertaining to Malaysia’s international competitiveness? Is Muhyiddin advocating that Malaysia withdraw from the international society to become a hermit state?

Commentator Martin Jalleh has written a very eloquent comment piece in the blogosphere debunking the Deputy Prime Minister entitled “Muhyiddin’s Myths & Make-Believe”, but there is really no need to quote Second Finance Minister Datuk Husni Ahmad Hanadzlah’s December speech on Malaysia’s “lost decade of economic stagnation” or Umno veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s indictment only last week of the “sham democracy” in Malaysia for anyone to discover that it is Muhyiddin himself who is “talking through his nose”.

In fact, Muhyiddin seems to be making a habit of “talking through his nose”.

Malay Mail yesterday reported Muhyiddin’s call on the police to investigate reports lodged against me as well as the ousted Perak Mentri Besar, Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluyddin for sedition for criticizing the Federal Court decision on the 2Perak Mentri Besar case.

Did Muhyiddin know what is the content of the police report lodged against me and Nizar before making such a call?

Did Muhyiddin make any call to the police to investigate former senior aide Datuk Nasir Safar for his racist views at the recent Malacca 1Malaysia seminar labelling Indians and Chinese in Malaysia as “pendatang” and that “Indians came to Malaysia as beggars and Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies” or that of the Umno executive secretary Datuk Abdul Rauf Yusoh who defended such racist remarks at an Umno Club function in London a few days ago?

There is another even more recent case of Muhyiddin “talking through his nose” when he was given major coverage by Utusan Malaysia, New Straits Times and Berita Harian flaying the Pakatan Rakyat-led Penang State Government for canceling the annual Prophet Mohamad’s birthday procession in the state.

Muhyiddin alleged that the cancellation of the Maulidur Rasul procession showed that the state government did not support the aspirations of the Muslims.

It is most sad and shocking that on such a sensitive subject, the Deputy Prime Minister had not bothered to verify whether rumours of the cancellation of the procession this year was true or not, and instead, he chose to “talk through his nose”.

Equally irresponsible were the mainstream media concerned which “blacked out” the Penang state government’s denial yesterday of any cancellation of the procession and proceeded to give Muhyiddin’s “talk through his nose” extensive and uncontradicted coverage!

Muhyiddin – heed the voice of Malaysians. Don’t be a DPM who talks through his nose!

1. #1 by boh-liao on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 11:24 am

Even Ku Li had ridiculed MooHeeDin n his likes

2. #2 by frankyapp on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 12:20 pm

I think he does not have what it takes to be a responsible and good dpm,let alone becoming a pm.

3. #3 by dagen on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 12:26 pm

“annual Prophet Mohamad’s birthday procession”

Must it be a procession. Cant it be a run – a quarter marathon, say? Show everyone a dynamic side of islam. Is that possible? For too long the religion has been associated (improperly) with violence. Maybe penang can lead.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 1:44 pm

It would be a nightmare if Muhyiddin were to succeed Najib to be the next PM. The more Muhyiddin talks, the more he shows to the rakyat that he is not PM material! On the contrary a smart Najib prefers to keep quiet to counter criticism hurled at his government.

5. #5 by lopez on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 2:39 pm

my schooling teaches me that self praise is no praise

also must learn to listen and take criticism constructively.

6. #6 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 4:03 pm

the [deleted] ex mb johor not talk through his nose but through his ass aka kentut…

7. #7 by artemisios on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 4:19 pm

YB,

“Did Muhyiddin make any call to……. aide Datuk Nizar Safar….”

I believe it should have been Nasir Safar

[Thanks]

8. #8 by Dap man on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 4:22 pm

Muhyiddin is a sick man, sick in the brain.
    He he desperately trying to topple Najib and usurp his chair and in the process behaving like a lunatic. In Bahasa he is an ‘amok’.
    A very dangerous Malay racist is on the loose.

9. #9 by riversandlakes on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 4:38 pm

No attention must be paid to this worthless of a public servant.

International indexes don’t have a grudge against this country called Malaysia, do they?

Our frog in a well government uses international indexes when it suits their interests and purposes. When it doesn’t and speaks the truth, they defensively shout like headless chickens in denial.

The world is leaving you behind.

10. #10 by Dap man on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 4:39 pm

I have never seen a DPM who is such a racist and totally devoid of any sense of fair play and common sense. He is descending to the level of Ibrahim Ali.
    Why need a DPM fan the racial/religious fire to uplift himself?

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 5:14 pm

When I first moved to Johor in 1988, I had the impression that he was quite a capable MB untill I heard how land was acquired via dubious means.
    After he left for federal politics, he has shown his lack of qualities to unify all Malaysians but more a radical and racist approach.
    If I had a chance to vote for him being the next PM, I will definitely vote against him.

12. #12 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 5:56 pm

13. #13 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 6:07 pm

Dear Kits

With MSM been controlled as such, whatever those in power said could be spun around and around.

Talking through his nose do need a bigger nose, NO?

http://din.huluselangor.net/UserFiles/Image/muhyiddin_1.jpg

Happy Chinese New Year Kit

????????????????
    ? ?*´ *• ¸? ? ? ? ? ?¸ •*´ *? ?

Regards
    Shiok Guy

14. #14 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 6:41 pm

He’s not talking through his nose, looks like he is talking through his ARS*!

15. #15 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:05 pm

can’t blame him, most of UMNO ministers don’t have the knack to be credible critical thinkers, they often make a fool of themselves. The culture in malaysia is as such that being elderly people show a courteous form of respect and avoid objective criticisms of people of his stature. That if you ask me is one of the greatest flaws of this country. Go to the schools in malaysia and notice kids are not allowed to voice out their opinion and are often silenced at unconventional opinions that they may have. It’s contrasting to the australian schools which instead promote critical voicing of opinions. long way to go, and the way to change it is the education system itself but this clown being the education minister, help us all or migrate for your kids sake.

16. #16 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:13 pm

people like badawi was the perfect example of most umno ministers. they lack the statesman appeal it’s as good as got money but no class. it all boils down to their upbringing, schooling, their general outlook in terms of broad minded thinking which generally is curtailed by their religion and culture and thats why they fair horribly overseas. they’re pretty much in their comfort zones here.

17. #17 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:16 pm

umno is literally old school, they dont appeal to the new generation at all, perhaps they are still relevant to the hooligans but not the contemporary citizens especially those educated overseas. the old hags in umno need to vacate their seats and let the new gen come in to make a slight difference or else i suspect a landslide loss in the coming elections. lol

18. #18 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:23 pm

most of the educated malays are leaving the country because they find the government a joke and therefore find no future here. what more the non malays, they would rather be meritocratically awarded for their talents than be oppressed here with crap pay and treatment just because of their nonbumu status. the brain drain is something umno has voluntarily created to maintain their power the last 30 yrs. if it were to continue the remaining population would be the older geriatric population, the lowly educated citizens and the migrant indonesian blue collar population. this would probably indicate the end of a developing world status due to the absence of the crucial professional population.

19. #19 by chengho on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:44 pm

day by day every body becoming racist and not muhibbah ; why another racist call another person a racist ? what a joke , all of this due weak leadership
    and ultra kiasu. if you want to rule you have to be strong like LKY and Tun M.

20. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 7:49 pm

The horror is that this DPM is not just one who talks thru his nose but is led by his nose too (read: Tun M is the leader).

21. #21 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 8:25 pm

22. #22 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 13 February 2010 - 9:27 pm

Muhyiddin is not the best brains in Malaysia. It is such a pity he is DPM. What a terrible sample to show the international community.

23. #23 by trublumsian on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 2:14 am

Any similarity between Muhyiddin and human is purely coincidental.

24. #24 by borislw on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 10:33 am

again a close-minded leader…..

25. #25 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 12:51 pm

What amuses me is tdm used and abused his 3/4 racial heritage to milk his own race and till today they never knew what hit them as he continues to do so. to me that’s brilliance but a part of me as human as it may be feel it’s so inhumane to continue doing it especially when you believe in the repercussions of the the after life.

26. #26 by johnnypok on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 12:57 pm

The more he opens his mouth, the more he will lose the respect of the people … “Empty vessel makes the most sound”. All his comments are HP6 and “kosong”, befitting Bodohland mentality. Oh, Ah Lar please have mercy on this land of plenty.

27. #27 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 2:45 pm

I say Muhiyiddin doing what he did is good news for PR. No matter what PR says, its realistic chance of winning Putrajaya lies in infighting within UMNO.

Najib must win the centre back into his party while keeping the right wing in line. Muhiyiddin, through his actions and word is emboldening the right wing to be more demanding making it difficult for Najib. The trick is get the two side to fight ASAP by highlighting their differences.

28. #28 by drago2008 on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 3:16 pm

IF Mahathir can change his DPM – Musa, Ghafar Baba, Anwar – so can Najib. All Najib needs is to have b***s and find a replacement for this halfwit Moohidin who is an embarrassment to Malaysians. His playing to the Umno ultra gallery is testiment to his low-class and villiage idiot behaviour. And of course he can be dangerous, too. He’s not fit to be DPM.

29. #29 by newchief on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 5:49 pm

that’s it …. too much stupid comments by muh on behalf of malaysia….it makes us auto qualify to be as stupid as him in the eyes of the outsiders !!!

therefore…CAN I REPLACE HIS POSITION NOW !!! at least, when i talk stupidly,i won’t talk through my nose !!!!

30. #30 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 6:32 pm

no hardfeelings to anyone but i think some people were not meant to be ministers. moohydin would have faired better in the village harvesting paddy or fishing, these posts require dynamic and critical thinking which two of his weakest qualities. at the moment notice what mockery he’s doing with the education system. lol

a village idiot will always be a village idiot or a better example is, if u dress up a monkey in a suit it can’t pass off as a statesman unless you call the suit a monkey suit. lol

31. #31 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 6:34 pm

probably umno needs another mamak to become the pm and lead the flock. zambry looks pretty enthusiastic. i bet he’ll fair better than najib n muhydin combined. lol

32. #32 by Michael Sun on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 11:11 pm

One look at our Muhyddin, you will sense he don’t have DPM material and the moment he opens his mouth only confirms that fact.

It is a sad day for Malaysia, if he ever becomes the PM of Malaysia. Is this all Malaysia can produce – a clear nincompoop?

He should have read the book, “Peter’s Principles” and he should know that he has been promoted to his level of incompetence.

All Malaysians should NOW help to register as many non-voters to become voters in the next general election.

Meanwhile, PR esp PKR should tighten their ship and get rid of running dogs. Purge all the ex-UMNOputras from PKR and start afresh.

33. #33 by AhPek on Sunday, 14 February 2010 - 11:57 pm

One look at Muhyiddin is enough to put one off one’s day.He is not only sick in the head but also sick in the soul!

34. #34 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 16 February 2010 - 3:05 am

chengho: “day by day every body becoming racist and not muhibbah ; why another racist call another person a racist ?”

Thanks but no thanks to jokers like Ahmad Ismail, Nasir Safar & Abdul Rauf Yusoh…

chengho: “what a joke , all of this due weak leadership and ultra kiasu. if you want to rule you have to be strong like LKY and Tun M.”

In that case, just change the leadership by voting Pakatan Rakyat to replace BN in the next elections…

35. #35 by ChinNA on Tuesday, 16 February 2010 - 9:16 am

chengho :
    … if you want to rule you have to be strong like LKY and Tun M.

Will you elaborate more? Can LKY be good for Malaysia? Can Tun M be good for Singapore?

What is driving your comparisons of the current topic to LKY and Tun M? Appreciate your comments to help us understand.

36. #36 by ChinNA on Tuesday, 16 February 2010 - 9:20 am

riversandlakes :
    Our frog in a well government uses international indexes when it suits their interests and purposes. When it doesn’t and speaks the truth, they defensively shout like headless chickens in denial.
    The world is leaving you behind.

To make it even simpler for the government to see.

If the government of Malaysia care to look, it is just across the causeway. No need to international index. Just see how the common folks there are living and compare that to Malaysia.

37. #37 by negarawan on Tuesday, 16 February 2010 - 9:20 am

Moo was once a HR manager in a MNC in Muar and asked to leave the company because of “unethical practise”. Those who live in Muar probably know this. This is already a telltale sign of the integrity of this person. He is adept at issuing denials, twisting facts, and covering up for UMNO which probably is the main reason for him to earn his position in UMNO today. Moo is an excellent example of “juara kampung” in UMNO. The moment he steps out of Malaysia, he is a nobody and is not respected by most world leaders. Can’t expect too much from a person without integrity and intelligence!

38. #38 by Jamal Malik on Tuesday, 16 February 2010 - 1:41 pm

The last time Muhyiddin stood in front of us and spoke, we all thought it was raining. Turns out he have this problem with his saliva which come spitting out as he speaks. Even nature knows that the man need to shut his mouth.
    Perhaps his secretary or someone should tell him this if he is not reading your website.

39. #39 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 17 February 2010 - 10:20 am

“We are not asking them to help us anyway. We are helping ourselves and we don’t need their comments because I think a lot of other people know and can evaluate us very objectively.

“We are not basing it on emotions but facts and reality.

“The fact is, Malaysians are happy and are not facing any major disaster or racial trouble in the country… So, what are they talking about?

“I think they (PERC) must be talking through their nose.”

Do you believe that these statements come from a DPM?

40. #40 by lopez on Wednesday, 17 February 2010 - 10:25 am

If we can spent billions on big signages and billboards for publicity , whay can’t we spent some money to check this guy’ s IQ before we all get into the ditch for good.