Can Malaysia rise from the lost “decade of stagnation”?

Second Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah’s speech at Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) National Economic Outlook Conference 2010-2011 on Tuesday that Malaysia has lost ground to neighbours such as Indonesia in the race for foreign investment and the imperative need to rebuild confidence by building the highest standards of governance did not say anything new as they have been repeatedly raised by DAP and Pakatan Rakyat leaders inside and outside Parliament.

It is nonetheless unusually refreshing as it is the first admission by a top government leader of a lost decade of “stagnation” after the 1998 Asian financial crisis.

Just like the pledge by the former Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to declare war on corruption when he came into office in six years ago and the pledge by the present Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak just eight months ago to lead a government committed to the concept of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” but which have not followed by action and the political will to “walk the talk”, will Husni’s remarkably frank speech end up as the latest addition to a mountainous pile of high-sounding speeches of government leaders never translated into deed and policy?

The first eight months of Najib premiership provide more than ample grounds for skepticism as to whether it will be different from previous Barisan Nasional administrations in conducting a wholesale reform of government policies if Malaysia is to rise from the last decade of stagnation.

It is not good enough for Husni to admit that Malaysia is “trapped in a low-value-added, low-wage and low-productivity structure”, that our private investment is now half of what it was since before the Asian crisis while both manufacturing and service sectors have become less capital intensive; or that “the long-term success of the nation’s economy must take precedence over the short-term interests of a few protected groups”.

The issue at stake is whether there is the political will to carry out long-needed reforms and not just to admit to a lost decade of stagnation.

Parliament this week was give two stark facts about the aggravation of the national situation, viz:

• that a total of 304,358 Malaysians left the country between March last year and August this year for better education, career and business prospects, working out to some 630 Malaysians leaving the country every day – a big leap from the 139,696 Malaysians who migrated to other countries in 2007.

• the number of Malaysians who surrendered their citizenship has almost doubled in this year – about 3,800 Malaysians have given up their citizenships to date compared to 2,000 last year.

How can Malaysia succeed in securing international confidence when there is an increasing tide of Malaysians registering their lack of confidence by voting with their feet?

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 4:44 pm

Should be the lost 4 decades of stagnation, from 1969-2009

2. #2 by frankyapp on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 5:24 pm

Under Umno/Bn regime, I think “rise” no ,” fall” yes. Corruption,corruption is everywhere,starting from the very top level ,down to the delivery boy level. Just name a ministry,a department,an agency ,just any government linked cooperative,corruption is pretty rampant there.More over,Umno/Bn leaders are sowing racial hatred between muslims/malays and non-malays in the country through BTN,worst still DPM and other senior Umno ministers are now openly supporting and defending what’s already wrong,hence how can you guys expect any foreign investers to put their millions in a country which is pretty strong in promoting hatred among its citizens.Firstly corruption is scary,secondly brain drained is demanging and now disunity of the people,thus in the midst of all these troubles,investers are running away from malaysia. This is my take.

3. #3 by frankyapp on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 5:30 pm

Sorry,I mean “Damaging “

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 5:47 pm

///How can Malaysia succeed in securing international confidence when there is an increasing tide of Malaysians registering their lack of confidence by voting with their feet?/// – YB Kit

This is the fundamental question and crux of the matter.

In order for the nation to compete internationally, it must be able to galvanise resourceful Malaysians – for more so now than ever, human capital comprising citizens (the bright brighter and the brightest) is the most valuable resource in a nation’s ascendancy up the value added chain!

However instead of Malaysians being galvanized to work together for the best of all here, 630 a day leave the country for other pastures because they lack confidence that things here will ever change for the better!

This outflow of human resource — the most precious possession that any country can claim – is harbinger of economic and social disaster to come, if unstopped!

We don’t even have to ask – do foreigners have confidence in us. We only have to ask : do we have confidence in us….

When Malaysians ourselves lose confidence and faith in their own country how could foreigners have faith and confidence in the country? The second part of the question is academic and moot if the first part is zilch!

Self Confidence is the key.

Self Confidence is a lot of this game of climbing the value added ladder in productivity or any game involving any field iof human endeavour…..Wasn’t it John Dryden who said, “For they conquer who believe they can!” ??? (If one doesn’t think he can, he won’t).

Confidence is not hubris – we have the tallest building, biggest air port etc – what’s the point if we have the smallest brain or the narrowest of attitude depending on the biggest symbols to compensate our deep gnawing knowledge of our own deficiencies???

We will lose – all the way – when owing to moribund policies put in place by deficient politicians that will not go away – we believe that we can’t anymore, lose faith and take flight to other greener pastures.

It looks ludicrous for a nation to expect foreigners to have confidence in it where its own citizens have lost confidence!

5. #5 by taiking on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 6:19 pm

I think confidence we have. Well some of us still have it and for some others, their confidence was misplaced, tragically, in umno. Those who left too, I am sure, have confidence in the country. The crux of the matter is umno and the umno gobermen. These are the two things in which people have lost all hope and confidence. The hopelessness of the situation is worsen progressively by umno and those greedy umnoputras. And by their absolute refusal to accept the fact that non-umnoputras can and should be given a louder voice and a more important role in determining the future direction for the country to take. The bottom line is they cannot for that would be as good as severing their vested interest and opening themselves up to all sorts of legal consequences. They are fighting back by seefouring and benghocking people. They have all the means and ways at their disposal – money, government machinery, media, police, macc, ag, judiciary etc etc.

6. #6 by -ec- on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 6:41 pm

“a total of 304,358 Malaysians left the country between March last year and August this year for better education, career and business prospects”

just make a conservative guesstimate of one adult malaysian would cost the country’s resources of rm200,000 to grow, educate and train, thus

304,358 X 200,000 = rm60,871,600,000

1 year gst marginal revenue = rm1,000,000,000

so, just 18 months and we have lost 61 years impact of the gst. and i could have underestimated the cost per head.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 6:56 pm

Easier said than done when ppl don’t understand d complex systems here
    Umno, under MMK, was extremely clever in hiding Umno’s interest in almost all businesses in M’sia
    You name any business n big company in M’sia n Umno is there
    Many of these companies already have exclusive incomes guaranteed by d gomen
    Not for 2 or 5 years, but 20 or more years
    AI should know how Umno swindles $$$, cos he was once d finance minister
    For example, who own SPANCO, d fleet management company in M’sia?
    All federal goment ministries use SPANCO 2 provide n maintain their fleet of saloon cars
    Generous financial terms signed 4 service fr 1994 to 2019, 25 years
    http://www.spanco.com.my/spanco/fleetmanagement/default.asp
    The nation’s wealth has been channeled 2 a handful of ppl n a racist political party
    This is a country where d ruling political party has combined business n politics
    N has full control of d executive, judiciary, n legislative branches, as well as d msm, polis
    U want CHANGE, not easy, over some dead bodies

8. #8 by -ec- on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 6:57 pm

i should subtract the inflow: estimation of 2,000,000 illegal immigrants (from wiki) in the country. they might come from poor countries, so their per head cost to grow is est. to be rm20,000

so, the inflow illegal immigrants bring to the country ‘revenue’ of 2,000,000 X rm20,000 = rm40,000,000,000, estimate to apportion to over 30 years since 1980s, so

18 mth inflow revenue = rm40,000,000,000 X 18/360 = rm 2,000,000,000

trading trained labor force for cheap labor force. for 18 mths, we have made a loss of rm58 billiom (=58 year of gst marginal revenue!)

9. #9 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 7:39 pm

Under the corrupted BN government Malaysia will never gain anything.How are we going to compare to other countries.I remember when I was young I can use our Ringgit in Singapore as a medium of exchange.Now we can still use it but have to multiply with 2.45 ringgit per Singapore dollar.It used to be 1RM to 10 Baht Thai but now we are also losing our edge.Oh Please do not compare with Japanese Taiwanese and Korean Won.For the past 30 years we lag behind all the countries mentioned.Soon we will be behind Laos Cambodia and Vietnam.The thought of it sends shivers down my spine.

10. #10 by Dap man on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 7:45 pm

If only visitors to this site realize that UMNO is in fact celebrating that these non-Malays are leaving this country for greener pastures.

In fact they want all of us to leave so that they will have Malaysia all themselves to rape and plunder to their hearts content.

Never mind a tie will come when Malaysia will be exporting maids and 1USD is equal to RM1,000.

Never mind if all the high rise building and factories are idle and empty.
    Never mind if local graduates are jobless.
    Never mind if they cannot even find a mechanic to repair their cars.
    All they want is a Malaysia for Malays.

Let’s face it, UMNO is damn happy that brains are leaving. They don’t need brains, only skin colour matters.
    Please Utusan Malaysia and get the message.

11. #11 by Dap man on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 8:07 pm

Correction to above post:
    1. Never mind a time will come when Malaysia will be exporting maids and 1USD is equal to RM1,000.

2. Please read Utusan Malaysia and get the message.

12. #12 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 9:17 pm

How can we blame the government if foreign investment is not coming in? All the Rakyat has a responsibility to work together to attract foreign investment. We should never lay the blame on the government for anything. The Opposition is making this another opportunity to whack the BN government. While the government tells the truth, they attack. When the government did not tell the truth, they also attack. Please bear in mind that the fall of FDI has also nothing to do with the migration of Malaysians as we also brought in foreign talents. What is devastated is these migrants are helping other countries to compete with us. For what I know, many Malaysian Chinese give up their citizenship to become Citizen of Singapore. To me, these people are traitors of Malaysia. If we love the country, we should continue to help build our economy and not join other countries to compete with their mother land. This is unacceptable because they know very well Singapore is our competitor. I am disappointed while the government has done so much to the Chinese and this is what they do to the country. When they migrate, they also bring with them all their wealth which is very dangerous to Malaysia’s future. The government would have to look at ways to stop this and at the same time, bring in foreign talents as quickly as possible.

13. #13 by yhsiew on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 9:32 pm

==================================================

The answer lies in whether there is an awakening among Malaysian leaders who helm the country. Although second Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah admitted that Malaysia has lost ground to neighbours such as Indonesia in the race for foreign investment and that there is an imperative need to rebuild confidence by building the highest standards of governance, that is not enough. The entire Cabinet must spring into action – to plan and work out strategies to win back people’s trust and confidence in areas pertaining to public accountability, judicial independence, police discipline, race relations etc. Most importantly, the Cabinet must have the political will to accomplish the worked-out strategies and must not render them (strategies) into mere academic exercises.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 9:44 pm

A pertinent question:

Hello Dr Ng Yen Yen: Some pertinent questions of public interest since yr admission that u were an Australian PR between 1990-1993:

1) Did u apply for Australian PR after u were struck with fear by Operations Lallang or was it before?
    2)Were u moved by socio-political reasons or was yrs an economic migration?
    3)Did u apply alone or was it for yr entire family?
    4) Whilst u r a recent full ‘convert’ to full malaysian citizenship, has yr husband n children kept back their Australian PRship?
    5) If they r still Australian PRs, wud u b joining them as soon as u ‘lose’ yr ministerial post (most likely next year or latest next GE)?
    6) Were yr children educated in Australian secondary school and universities? If so, why did u discriminate against our highly reputable and esteemed schools and public universities?
    7) Wud u recommend (highly, moderately highly or not so highly – underline yr choice accordingly) that Malaysians citizens of Chinese origin shud similarly apply for Australian PR and folow yr footsteps, sort of spreading the eggs in 2 baskets?
    8) Finally (for the moment), if u dont recommend Australia as a migration target, where wud u recommend the 350,000 other Malaysians who seek to migrate each year.

Please answer very carefully because a good answer may mean that the next decade cud result in millions more migrating, thanks to yr gud advice.

Thank u, Yang Berhormat.

15. #15 by Indran on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 9:48 pm

Mr Kasim is voicing contratrion views to this discussion thread. It is clearly refreshing but who else do we lay the blame, if not the successive BN lead government? Leaders wield so much power and they have massive resources at their disposal. They set the tone when it comes to race relationships. It is pointless to give grandiose speeches when there is systematic discrimination against other races happening on the ground.
    Let me ask if you would love a country who treats you like a “pendatang” and treats you like a 3rd class citizen? Why should people bother to live under such oppressive circumstances when the world is their oyster?
    People who are voting with their feet are clearly devastated with the government and could not be bothered by their rhetoric anymore. It’s our loss, and some other nations’ gain. In the long run, we are left with a nation of people who are surviving not based on meritocracy but engaging in politicking to mask our Ineptness in competing in a knowledge-based economy.

Cheers to another decade of stagnation!!!

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 10:16 pm

Malaysian politics! First got frogs, now got kangaroos summore!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_D-LmRNdQiQ

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 10:43 pm

It is possible but very difficult.
    Maybe a coalition government of sorts is needed for Malaysia to transform into the 2-party system.
    That way, the moderate leaders from both sides can show how state and federal governments can work in harmony even if the state is governed by the opposition parties.
    Diverting federal funds from state coffers is bad policy and wrong in principle.
    It is possible that PR may win the next general elections but there could be a period of unrest as many thousands in government institutions have been contaminated by the BTN program.
    That is why I wrote in my blog that the program is like a cancer.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 10:53 pm

Changing the tide of migration is not easy – just see how the Indonesians moved over here when they found out that the “locals” were so soft. The ex-MB of Selangor is a case in point – his grandfather came over as a migrant and within 2 generations, he became the MB. How’s that for upward mobility.
    In fact many of the new “Bumis” are really Eurasians – ie a Malay marrying and converting a European.
    Usually the offspring will have better genes as both parents are graduates and if they plug into the NEP train, it is the route to unimaginable wealth.
    Meanwhile the real natives are struggling to survive in their diminishing forests and the cops won’t even bother to check carefully the reported cases of rape.
    So don’t expect the migration pattern to change just because a big shot makes an appeal.
    People will stop migrating if the BN is placed in opposition plus the new government adopts policies that reward effort and ability. There is no other way to retain our talents.

19. #19 by ktteokt on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 11:21 pm

How to rise when Malaysia has sunken below the surface of the ocean like Atlantis? Besides, does the BN government ever think of resurfacing?

20. #20 by AhPek on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 11:40 pm

“We should never lay the blame on the government for anything.”.Kasim Amat.

Calling you dumb would even be an understatement!

21. #21 by ekompute on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 12:47 am

“Walk the talk”? What talking you?

Haven’t we been doing that? Aren’t we using “walkie-talkies” (a.k.a. microphones) to talk and talk? What we have been doing is more than just walk the talk, we have been going for a walk and talk and talk, one talk more than just walk the talk. Sometimes, we even bring the talk for a walk.

22. #22 by monsterball on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 1:14 am

They must admit..as not easy to hide facts like before.
    But will he dare to act to rectify…..like LKS said…walk the talk?
    “1 Malaysia” man keep walking kike a snake…keep serving people last….performing first to benefit UMNO…a master twister…liar ..what walks do we expect UMNO buggers with their talks?
    It is all talks talks talks to calm Malaysians down…..hoping we will forget the past and vote for UMNO again.

23. #23 by House Victim on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 2:54 am

“How can we blame the government if foreign investment is not coming in?”
    ————————————–
    1) For an oil producing country, should one ask how those oil money been used before talking Foreign Investment?
    2) Will any one dare to invest in a country where most of the Departments are Talking and Not Walking? Where society security, Judiciary, accounting, housing, transportation, medical, lawyers and Judges, etc.. are not sticking to rules but can flip-flop!!
    3) An Asian Country who has been ahead long time ago with Provident Fund?
    Had the Provident Fund been properly run or invested?

If we love the country, we should continue to help build our economy and not join other countries to compete with their mother land.
    ————————————–
    1) Any sensible Malaysian should realize how the Government had siphoned the State into Private pockets of the Cronies via Concessionaires, or, Corporations (where at least 20 are still hidden under the last PM.
    2) Malaysian are well known for scandals and corruptions in the Government or Private sectors. These big big turmoils are much bigger than what the People can afford. Why GST for 1 billion when scandal are billions? And, oil income are billions? Yet, the GST will also need millions and millions in expanding the Tax people and the private sector. At the end, it is a disturbing matter than gaining income!!

Malaysia & Foreign Country
    1. See the difference in the Constitutions, See how Human Rights works in Foreign country (or not working in Malaysia).
    2. See how People can work hard and obey law can live a peaceful lives. And, not the other way round!!
    3. If Singapore, with tiny land, almost no resources and high living cost is more attractive. Then, a True Malaysian should think why and try to find way to keep People staying . And, not declaring “betraying the country”!!
    Moving to Singapore is not at anyone wishes but must be able to go through their sieving and prove that they can stand at least the competition in Singapore. Not only Malaysian Chinese like to go but anyone who can meet their criteria and thinking of for the next generations, they will go!!
    4. The Malaysian Constitution had down-graded People, override equality with Race and Religion! The Government is not working for the People!!

The Government had long forget the People and so the People are forced to make an alternative!! It is the Government who had betrayed the People!! Shouldn’t anyone make their alternative, if they cannot fight Corruption, ill-performance or Bullies of the Government? Especially, when Laws, Rules and Regulations and Security had been smashed??
    See how those high officials are acting like “King in their New clothes”!!

5. Foreigners are scare to invest, because most of the Departments discriminate foreigners. They stay from using English even they known 99.9% of the foreigners do not understand Bahasa!! A lot of those Professionals cannot meet up with the minimum Etiquette of their Professional!

“we also brought in foreign talents. What is devastated is these migrants are helping other countries to compete with us.”
    ————————————–
    The Right spirit of any People is to be able to compete with others. If scaring of competition, why bring in Talent!!

(To be Continued with a Small Example, why Malaysia cannot Compete!!)

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 6:00 am

Hello Najib,

U r wrong!

“KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 3 — The private sector may contribute the additional percentage to the country’s expected economic growth next year, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak tonight.”

The private sector is still reeling from:
    1)weak export markets
    2) strong ringgit
    3) sluggish domestic demand
    4) business unfriendly policies eg GST etc.
    5) unreliable, finicky tax regimes eg sudden reimposition of RPGT
    6)loss of confidence in yr leadership in particular & that of the entire Cabinet in general
    7) lack of confidence in the judicial, police & prosecutorial processes.
    8) Corruption – so much grease to get things moving adds costs, uncertainty & frustration to business; greasing is messy & demeaning;
    9) Unease over morality of leaders – eg Scorpene-Alat-tu-nya etc. & scores of others
    10) high income traxes relative to some competitive economies eg Singapore, HK etc
    11) Unskilled labour – young population are illiterate in English
    12) Low educational standards – SPM A’s mean nothing when they fail all kinds of international exams.
    13) Unlucky number for malaysia – must stop here or will never stop until number 113.

25. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 6:23 am

Hello Najib,

U r also wrong!

“Malaysian story’ must compel investors, says Najib ”

Anybody wud want to be polite with the PM of Malaysia. Understandably, they wud humour u. But why shud they do business with u, eh? Why?

If, I, so ordinary wudn’t touch u with a 2000 mile string, i think Kevin Rudd et al wudn’t touch u becos they r thousands of miles away.

26. #26 by Bigjoe on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 7:37 am

Bottom line? Not under BN…

27. #27 by taiking on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 8:31 am

“Never mind if all the high rise building and factories are idle and empty” DAP man said.

Isnt Dayabumi quite empty and has been so for some time already? Anyone knows anything about it? Tell us.

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 8:38 am

///It is nonetheless unusually refreshing as it is the first admission by a top government leader of a lost decade of “stagnation” after the 1998 Asian financial crisis/// – YB Kit

This idea of ‘lost decade of “stagnation” after the 1998 Asian financial crisis’ needs re-examination: sure its only a decade?

It is a good almost 7 years since Tun Dr Mahathir (TDM) stepped down in 2003. It was he who grappled with Asian financial crisis in his unothodox way of capital controls in divergence from IMF’s prescription. When one says we stagnate for a decade the impression conveyed is that we didn’t in years before 1998 Asian financial crisis….It is consistent with stance taken by apologists of TDM’s 22 year administration. They will say TDM was a dynamic leader eclipsing those before and after his watch.

Extrapolating further they could even say that there’s nothing wrong with BN’s policies of Ketuanan, Bumi/Non Bumi Dichotomy, NEP or Privatisaion of Public Assets and Socialisation of Loses but the lack of a strong dynamic leader like TDM – so we don’t plug the problem of removing BN from power but that the ruling coalition should get the act together to place at the helm a TDM Clone!

However the seeds of stagnation – contaminated by harmful insecticides – were germinated and nurtured during his watch, and even the time when the much criticised BTN’s programmes started coincided with that when he came to power….Those seeds have borned fruits – also contaminated by harmful insecticides- that we harvest today. They so contaminate the landscape and seeped into large sections of the national psyche that HJ Angus may be right – that even if BN were displaced by PR it does not mean that Malaysia could extricate hereself from the quagmire of being “trapped in a low-value-added, low-wage and low-productivity structure” much less stem the flow of brain drain of those talented. (Here I refer to Angus statement that “it is possible that PR may win the next general elections but there could be a period of unrest as many thousands in government institutions have been contaminated by the BTN program” and he suggests some kind of coalition of BN & PR’s moderate leaders which implicitly suggests that the seeds have so contaminated the scene that there are extremist and bad politricians even in the PR/Opposition side….so that our national problem is actually how to rid off bad politicians from both sides, which is not an easy task as just saying let BN lose and be replaced and viola we are back on the roll!)

29. #29 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 8:56 am

“A TOTAL of RM1.25mil was allocated to the state Information Department to ensure the success of the 1Malaysia concept.”
    End of year bonus comes early
    Who r d lucky ones to makan this easy RM1.25mil
    They simply can’t stop loving 1M’sia
    They want more, more allocations

30. #30 by chengho on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 9:23 am

so many expat from Europe , Usa , Australia , Japan ,Korea coming work and live here , people come people go

31. #31 by k1980 on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 9:37 am

Then it was “Islamhadari. Dollah First. Performance you-know-I-know”

Now it is “1Malaysia. Jibby First. Performance I-know-you-know”

What’s da difference?

32. #32 by Comrade on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 10:32 am

BN must not only be good at “talk the walk” but also “walk the talk”. Like Bigjoe, I also say, “Bottom line? Not under BN.” Why?
    “Because dirty politics is its game.
    Apparently played without fear and shame.
    With more and more scandals to its name
    Come GE 13 may signals its end.”

33. #33 by rahmanwang on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 12:25 pm

I like comment #12 by En Kasim Amat.He pointed out that the Chinese and Indians migrate and work for other countries are traitors to Malaysia.Sorry En Kasim.You are very shallow minded.You do not think.Why do they migrate?Are these migrants treated fairly in Malaysia?What about their future generations?Before we call them traitors we must think is there any meritocracy in awarding scholarship and university placement for them?Any means testing for scholarship and grants?Please do not forget these ex Malaysians who gave up their citizenship start a new life in a foreign country.Well most of them at least with the exception of some ex ministers and politicians who transfer millions overseas and can still afford a lavish lifestyle in a foreign country!

34. #34 by k1980 on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 12:47 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20091204111611/Article/index_html

If a deputy could amass RM47,300,000 in assets, how much would his superior be able to scoop?

35. #35 by Godfather on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 2:51 pm

Foreign investors come here to check out this country and they are confronted with stories like

“60 pct of infrastructure expenditure lost into thin air in Sarawak, according to MACC” or

“the late Deputy IGP’s RM47 million estate in dispute” or

“630 Malaysians emigrate every day” or

“RM 28 billion is leaked from government contracts every year, according to Finance Minister II” or

“Govt to raise badly-needed funds of RM 1 billion through GST” or

“Mahathir lost the country RM100 billion, according to new book”

And then the idiot Kasim Amat says that we should not blame the government on anything. We should just blame ourselves for voting in this corrupt and inept government.

36. #36 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 7:32 pm

Besides economic and financial feasibility reasons, there are still two most crucial factors which the foreign investors will evaluate and consider whether to invest in a developing nation like Malaysia: those are the political legitimacy of the political top leader and the political stability of the government.

When Malaysia has a top political leader who is alleged and believed by many to have connection with the murder of a Mongolian girl, the foreign investors will see that this nation is being ruled by an unjust and unrighteous man. It is basically against most religious principle to have oneself involved in the matter of investing in a nation which is seen to be ruled by an ungodly man. For those foreign investors who believe that they will never get prosper when they go against the will of God by investing in such an unjust and unrighteous nation, they will surely shun themselves from making direct investment in this nation.

Malaysia only has the opportunity to get prosper again after BN has been overthrown by Pakatan Rakyat.

37. #37 by AhPek on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 7:46 pm

Correction Godfather,Kasim Amat says we should NEVER lay blame on the government for anything not just we should not as you have put it but we should NEVER.

38. #38 by AhPek on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 8:40 pm

Mugabe gave China mining rights to her platinum reserve which is said to be the world’s second biggest,and in exchange China gave Mugabe a fabulous palatial mansion with interior wood panelling from Malaysia and equiped with anti-missile defence.Thus Mugabe thought China has become his buddy,and without being invited hopped on a plane heading for China intending to attend the opening of the
    Olympics but arriving in Hong Kong on transit he was immediately put on a plane going back to where he came from because China did not take him as a friend honourable enough to attend a show that China has put up for the world.He is not wanted cos he would be an embarrassment
    in the presence of such an array of distinguished guests who have come for the opening.
    Manmohan of India is in America at about the same time as the PM of Malaysia.Difference is Manmohan Singh is invited to a grand White House black-tie state dinner where Obama Barak has gone out of his way to charm his guests Mr and Mrs Manmohan Singh.Najib isn’t there and very likely Najib’s presence in America isn’t even noticed or felt by the US president.
    I am just wondering whether this has got to do with the perceived connection by the world to the murder of the Mongolian lady?
    That Obama might have thought it wise to ‘make don’t know’ his presence in the US lest it could bring embarrassment to his presidency,I just wonder??///

39. #39 by johnnypok on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 9:44 pm

UMNO must be destroyed/C4 and buried for good, and all the corrupted leaders executed under fire-squad (HIRED FROM CHINA). Then appoint Sarawak leaders to run the country.

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 11:03 pm

To add to the list of stories in #35 above that foreign investors will hear is this one reported by Malaysiakini of the report of China Press: (I quote):

“The tragic case of Teoh Beng Hock has taken a supernatural twist, with three individuals reportedly having seen his spirit roaming in the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission’s Selangor headquarters in Shah Alam.

According to China Press, his apparition was spotted on the fifth floor of Plaza Masalam, where his remains were found, and on the 14th floor, where the MACC office is located.

The report said a security guard and two MACC officers had bumped into the spectre.
    The sightings took place sometime in October, more than two months after the 30-year-old’s death.

The security guard, who wished to remain anonymous, said he did not see Teoh’s face, but the apparition was clad in the same clothes which the deceased had worn when he came to the MACC office.

“I saw his dead body after the fall. I am sure that it was Teoh even though I could only see him from the back,” he said, adding that the incident happened around 6.30pm.

Recalling the spine tingling encounter, the security guard said he went to the washroom located on the fifth floor where he suddenly heard footsteps. The other officers were not on duty at the time.

“I had a strange feeling. Usually at that time, nobody would be around. So I walked out of the toilet… then I saw a man in front of the lift, he was wearing a black coat and white pants,” he said.

At that point, it did not strike the security guard that this could be Teoh’s spirit.

“I asked where he was going as no one was upstairs. He just answered ‘I am going upstairs’, the lift door opened and he went in.

“That was when I thought it could be Teoh, so I rushed to the security room to check the CCTV and saw there was nobody in the lift,” he said.

Another encounter: The security guard also related the experience of a MACC officer.

“He was sitting on the sofa watching TV when he suddenly felt something biting his neck, and when he checked, he found a red mark on his neck.

“When he was sitting in the reception area, he saw Teoh walk out from the office.
    “Then the officer felt as if someone was pulling his leg. He got scared and rushed out,” he said.

Following this, the security guard said the officer requested for a transfer to the MACC headquarters in Putrajaya and “never came back.” (Unquote)

TV 3 just reported MACC Chief will leave his office 4 months ahead of his contract tenure expiry Maybe he was haunted.

41. #41 by AhPek on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 12:45 am

Maybe Beng Hock’s return is to expose who the culprits are and if the culprits are not to be dealt with because of manipulation by the powers that be then he would haunt them till the end of their days, some sort of poetic justice to be meted to such goons!

42. #42 by johnnypok on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 1:24 am

I guess TBH has related the whole story through a medium, and has mentioned the names of his murder(s). The ceremony can be arranged again, and all MACC officers are welcome to attend the ceremony. No joke.

43. #43 by House Victim on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 2:02 am

An example Why Malaysia cannot Compete?? A very small case with Telekom
    ————————————–
    In June/July 2008, a client fax advised Telecom their removal to a few block away on the same street more than one month in advance. They wish to move both the Tel line and Streamyx and will pay accordingly. No feedback for weeks and the phone line to the TM point in the area was either busy or no one answer. The client was forced to go to the counter. The answer to why no feedback because their fax was having problem and can only receive but not sending fax!!

Even the new address had phone line (stopped because old tenant moved out), the on and off of the line are to be done at TM’s telephone exchange, the phone line had to be stopped for around a week before it can be resumed in the new address. Streamyx has to be done by separately. Both TM and their contractors were charging.

Around Mid of March 2009, the client cannot surf or email and called up TM for assistance. It was then told the line was suspended by the account department due to an arrear of 3 months. With temporary reconnection and go online, it was found out that the outstanding was only one month for period up to end March. This was report to [email protected] with copy of the online statement. It was replied as for resetting of password.
    On mid of July, it was suspended again with an arrear of 4 months with a reconnection charge of RM10. It was paid and it was noticed that the address for the Streamyx had not changed to the new address for almost a year! While the
    phone bills were received at new address and paid as usual. The Client paid accordingly, changed the address online and reminded TM their fault of not changing the address. They replied that they had passed the matter seriously to their billing document.

On November, a reminder was passed over from the old address. THIS exposed the fact that even with change of address online and email report to TM, A CHANGE OF ADDRESS WAS STILL UNDONE IN 4 months! Reporting to TM, it comes with a note that they had done it after received the report. But, there are spelling mistake on the address. The request for refund of the RM10 in July was not answered. A repeat reminding of the wrongful suspension in March causing RM10 re-connection charge returned with a clause that it is the Right of TM to charge reconnection fee with failure to pay. Staying away from the fact that the suspension was wrongful as the amount was not arrear and TM had not change the address!!

The last reply, as in July, is that the matter ahd been passed to the Billing department to respond/handle.
    ————————————–
    Observations:
    1. Every email are responded by different persons and passing the inquiry or complaints between departments.
    2. Most of the reply are in standard form.
    3. Even client change online the address, it was not attended.
    4. No one will claim responsible. Or, the responsible person will answer. So far, no answer from the billing department.
    5. TM is not using their email or fax even for the removal of lines/streamyx. Or, responding to fax!! And, they are in the Communication Business – a symbol of Malaysian Communication!!
    6. Why such a SIMPLE and Daily matter be dragging for months and year with so many staffs?

UNFORTUNATELY, this type of responding with no concrete performance are popular also in various Departments, with PM Departments – an NO exception!!

Does Telekom know what is meant by Communication? Or, Management?
    Does Management care if their People performs or problems solved?

44. #44 by House Victim on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 10:28 am

Can Malaysia rise from Decades of Rots?
    ———————————
    Wangsa Baiduri in Subang Jaya is a miniature of the Malaysian society where it started to rots by the Government in hands with Developer by the State stating with State Exco to “alienate” part of the Subang Jaya Retention Ponds to PKNS after the Development of Subang.

With the approval from the State Town Planning Department in 1984, it came up with the Wangsa Baiduri Project. With the approval of MPPJ, it started the first Gated “Condo” with Townhouse and Highrise with Club House.

With the “silence” of MPPJ, the Townhouse was delivered without the Club House in 1988. With the “Blindness” of the Petaling Land Office, the land of the Club house was transferred to a third party from PKNS in 1987. The Townhouse was forced to pay Maintenance Charge even the Townhouse had started paying Assessment in 1987 – meaning the public amenities – the roads, etc had been handed over to MPPJ.

With the “silence” and “Blindness” of MPPJ, the highrise was approved again in 1989 as Condo, even the Club house was not owned by the Developer.

With the “Blindness” of Ministry of Housing, the Highrise was sold as “Condo” even without Advertising and Sales Permit and in a look-like but not Schedule H. With the “Blindness” of MPPJ, CF was issued as Condo in 1993.

With the “help” of the Councilor in Building approval, the Club house plus 1/2 lot of the adjacent building lot, it was approved as Hotel. Knowingly this is an act of “stealing” of Common Facilities, common area and land of a “Condo” building, it was done!

In 1996, the Emko vs the Townhouse was verdicted that the Townhouse have to paid maintenance charge without compelling MPPJ or the Developer to produce what was approved (the Development Order), ignoring the fact that a Management Corporation under the Strata Title Act should take over the Management and to take over the Common Facilities and so to charge any Maintenance fee.

One of the “Condo” was converted into Apartment in 1999 with the “blindness” of the Petaling Land Office. Strata Title was issued with the “Blindness” of the State Land Office even without Master Consent or list of purchaser in 2001. The Strata Roll came without Form 5 with the list of Facilities!!

The Financial crisis in 1997 had hauled the third 17 storey Highrise of some 288 units but causing confiscation of deposit of at least some 30-40 buyers. With “blindness” of MPSJ in the presence of the same “Councilor” but assemblyman, the third building was extended to 30storey with 384 units in 2003.

In 2006, with the “organized” but “illegal” objection hearing, the project continued with more units to be approved.

In 2007, MPSJ tried to extend the Project to incorporate the other part of the Water Retention Pond into further Housing Project. Where the land was supposed to be Town Park since the start of Subang Jaya in 1979. With the “wrong” issue of land title. This piece of Town Park, water retention pond “returned” to SIME UEP! Part of the land had turned into the Car Park of SJ Medical Centre with the help of MPSJ appointed Resident Representatives.

In 2007, the Wangsa Baiduri Project was approved with a total of 1710 units instead of 1429units. The “promise” of MPPJ in 1990 to the Townhouse for the allocation of recreation area was never materialized.
    =============================
    The rots had not only “eaten up” the law, the rules and regulation, the Justice but also the “homes” of a few thousand Malaysians.

Unfortunately, a few of the residents, including lawyers, “appeared” as Resident representative were contributing to the rots. A few residents were implanted by the developer to block the rightful demand of conscious purchasers.

THE ROTS HAD BECOME PART OF THE MALAYSIAN CULTURE- CORRUPTION,ABUSE OF RIGHTS & LAWS!!

45. #45 by House Victim on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 2:05 pm

How many betrayers in the Wangsa Baiduri case?
    —————————————-
    1. The State betrayed the Subang Jayan Residents in alienated the part of the Water Retention Ponds to PKNS. The rest went to SIME UEP. Lost of a Town Park, taxpayer’s money for Town Park had gone nowhere.

2. PKNS further “betrayed” the Residents of Wangsa Baiduri by “transferring the Club” to a third Party outside the JV of the Project. Later on, it was found to be the sister company of the Developer. The land value was blown up to make the listing of the parent company possible!

3. MPPJ “betrayed” the Townhouse in telling them that their “recreation area” would be allocated after the Townhouse was completed. The roads and public amenities were not handed over to MPPJ whereas MPPJ started collecting Assessment since 1987. A conflict with the proceeding of issuing Strata Title according to National Land Code.

4. MPPJ (with the Councilor) “betrayed” the Highrise purchasers approving “Condo” even when the land for the Club is not with the Developer or PKNS. Further “betraying” in allowing the Club to merge with 1/2 lot of stolen land from the Highrise to build Service Apartment and turned into Hotel.

5. MPSJ (and the same Councilor) continued to “betrayed” the purchasers in further bullying on approvals allowing selling of Condo but club facilities gone.

6. The Ministry of Housing, the Land Office betrayed the purchasers in bullying on License/Advertising & Sales Permit and even with the Strata Titles and the Management without proper accounting.

7. Those so called “Resident Representatives” betrayed the others by “rubber-chopping” to endorse what had gone wrong and bullying those who voiced.

8. The Developer lawyer during the Transfer of Strata title of one of the highrise “betrayed” the purchasers by claiming the Developer has no obligation to apply for State Authority Consent for the Title transfer. He got paid by the purchaser purported to apply for the consent. But, he did not do the job but dragging for more than 18months!

9. Those Residents Association or parties betrayed Subang Jaya people by “pushing” the Town Park to be “Gazetted” (therefore, the State need to purchase the land!!)

10. The Director of Land & Mine “betrayed” the purchasers in allowing the Strata Title to be issued as Apartment, override proper procedures to issue without even a list of purchaser (for checking if Bumiputra Quota had been complied), “Blind & Deaf” on complaints on Strata Title and wrongful election and running of MC. She was named a Dato’!!

11. The Judge and Lawyer “betrayed” the Purchasers in not seeing the court to be provided with the every basic piece of Document – the Development Order.

12. The Auditor betrayed the residents by “auditing” accounts without a proper name to which there are bank accounts. When all the in and out of the management fee went through the Developer.

13. The MC “betrayed” the residents by allowing non-registered proprietor to be elected as member of the MC, with AGM without audited account. No proper transfer of account or Common Facilities!

————————————
    Kasim, Betrayers stay in Malaysia!! where they can “betray” their own hearts to bully the Rights of other People even for the basis of a HOME, the Rights of enjoyment of public amenities run by Assessment, the Rights of access into public files.

For Subang Jaya, the 10% of reserved land for recreation, Green field or boundary line had also gone for Residential & Commercial Projects!!

One of the Director in the State Town Planning Department was removed after telling the Truth of the Town Park!!

IF HOME CANNOT BE HOME, SHOULD PEOPLE MOVED ABROAD, if they can?
    It is a land of Worms hooked up from Top to Bottom, feed by the People’s hard earned money with the help of those who has Duty or Professionalism to comply!!

This type of hook-up or bully in Housing Development happened in many other places!!