BTN’s racist, anti-national and seditious indoctrination courses should not be glossed over or minimized as it makes a total mockery of 1Malaysia slogan and concept

The Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Ahmad Maslan, who is directly responsible for Biro Tata Negara (BTN), is trying to gloss over and minimize the condemnation of the BTN courses as racist, anti-national and seditious indoctrination programmes detrimental to Malaysian nation-building and national unity.

Adding insult to injury, Ahmad claimed that BTN courses were based on facts, asking:

“If we say that two-thirds of the population consist of bumiputeras and one-third non-bumiputeras, is that considered racist?

“If we say 66 percent is bumiputera and 24 percent consists other races, is that racist? That is just stating the facts.”

Ahmad, who is also Umno information chief, cannot be so obtuse as not to know that nobody objects to such factual information.

What is legitimate and most proper cause for objection is the communal poison oozing from the BTN course, inciting racial hatred and prejudices which are a great injustice and disservice to 52 years of nation-building, dividing instead of uniting Malaysians of diverse races and religions.

Ahmad’s claim that “We have thousands of ceramah and maybe one minute of the ceramah, the speaker makes some kind of mistake” reflects badly on his incorrigible denial complex.

If the Umno information chief and Deputy Minister specificially responsible for BTN is responsible, he would have known about the barrage of complaints about the divisive, racist and seditious BTN programmes and would not have feigned ignorance.

For instance, there were three letters on this subject in the Star in one week in May this year.

In a letter ‘BTN course teaches disunity” (Star May 22, 2009), “Disappointed” wrote:

AS parents we are glad that our grown up children attend the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) course, which is compulsory for government servants. They are all mature professionals.

But what angers me is that, instead of talking integrity, unity and harmony among the various races, participants are taught about disunity and racial hatred. Is this what our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib wants for 1MALAYSIA?

Throughout the five days of the course, participants are repeatedly told not to question Malay rights and so on. The course coordinators keep talking about social contracts and telling non-Malays not to question Malay rights and so on.

Many participants, including my Malay friends, are upset.

Are we still living in a primitive age? If the BTN course is to be conducted in this manner, it is better to abolish it or let it concentrate on only one ethnic group.

The course is not bringing unity but only arousing anger and hatred.

As it is handled by the Prime Minister’s office, please do not say that they do not know what is going on.

Four days later, in the letter “BTN course turning into a farce” (Star May 26, 2009), “GOVERNMENT DOCTOR, Kuching” wrote:

REFERRING to the letter “BTN course teaches disunity” (The Star, May 22), I agreed with the writer. I’ve talked to almost everybody who had attended the course and the common reaction was how much more they dislike the Government after the course.

I believe BTN should be dropped. The course is not achieving its objectives.

On the contrary, it is sowing hatred against the Government and encouraging disunity.

All BTN course participants are grown-ups and know what is right and wrong.

By trying to enforce a belief, the Government is instead causing a backlash.

If the organisers of a five-day course think they can convert an opposition-minded government officer to change his mind, they are being naive.

The course is compulsory for all new government servants and those who entered the service from 2002 to 2004.

If one does not pass BTN, one will not get a promotion or salary increase even though one gets “Aras 4”, the highest mark for the PTK (Penilaian Takap Kecekapan) exam.

On May 28, 2009, in the letter “BTN course is having the opposite effect”, “Disappointed Parent” from Shah Alam wrote:

I REFER to the letters “BTN course teaches disunity” (The Star, May 22) and “BTN course turning into a farce” (The Star, May 26).

My son attended the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) course in May 2008 and came out of it very angry and utterly dejected.

Throughout the five-day course, he and other Indian participants were constantly hounded and attacked on the actions of the now out-lawed Hindraf movement.

He and his friends are not supporters nor sympathisers of the group, and yet they felt disgusted and disappointed at the way the instructors kept harping on the issue at every turn and opportunity.

I am not too sure if my son and his friends have become anti-establishment as a result, but I am quite certain that they have neither forgotten nor forgiven BTN and the Government for their unprofessional and crude indoctrination methodologies.

I pray that the Government will scrap the BTN course as it is certainly not in line with the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy espoused by our Prime MInister.

This is just one example of the widespread disgust, anger and alienation caused by the divisive, racist and seditious BTN course after Datuk Seri Najib Razak became Prime Minister with his 1Malaysia slogan and concept.

Is Ahmad seriously suggesting that he is completely in the dark and knew nothing about these these serious allegations against the BTN course?

If so, he is not fit to continue as Deputy Minister although this might be the most fitting qualification for him to be Umno Information chief.

I call on the Barisan Nasional Ministers and Deputy Ministers to own up and do not try to gross over or minimize BTN’s racist, anti-national and seditious indoctrination courses as it makes a total mockery of 1Malaysia slogan and concept.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 4:37 pm

Gloss over? The excuses are pathetic. I don’t expect them to be of character and moral BUT i do expect them NOT to be stupid. STUPIDITY is dangerous – I rather be murdered by an evil man than to be killed by a STUPID one. Being murdered by evil at least has rational but to be destroyed by stupidity is just senseless, a waste and crime against god and nature…

2. #2 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 4:37 pm

This was typical of all BN denial. They will simply put forward all sort of childish argument and defense themselves. This officer who has trained in that organization was not surprise to defense in the most nonsense way of what has happened.

We all all sorts of people who are ministers that will come out with some laughing defense on what have done wrong by them.

There is no surprise really on how this Ahmad argue himself.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 4:47 pm

Hello Mad Maslan,

Ever heard of cockroaches cohabiting with rats?

No? Well, think of it this way: it’s like racist UMNO cohabiting with BTN. Get it?

4. #4 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 4:52 pm

The same boring song sung by LKS over and over again….probably to get some attentions and little support from his community….That’s why most people tune into other channels rather than channel that cultivates hatred and disarray…. people with obsolete political thinking is no longer pertinent in this era

5. #5 by ekompute on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 5:00 pm

“If we say that two-thirds of the population consist of bumiputeras and one-third non-bumiputeras, is that considered racist?

“If we say 66 percent is bumiputera and 24 percent consists other races, is that racist? That is just stating the facts.”

Ya, I agree with Datuk Ahmad Maslan. It is not racist. In fact, it is what 1Malaysia is all about, LMFAO.

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 5:24 pm

What indoctrination can achieve in thoroughly carried out—

http://socyberty.com/history/indoctrination-in-nazi-schools/

7. #7 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 5:44 pm

Lim Kit Siang is trying to create social unrest by exaggerating the negative effect of the BTN course. People who have attended this course, including myself, would give 2 thumbs up to the course organisers because it is all about inculcating patriotism in us and help us find the real identity for our race and discussing how to map our future. It also reminds us on how hard we fought for independence and how we have to work hard to survive in this country in order not to trail behind other races. There is nothing wrong to stress the importance of Ketuanan Melayu because sooner or later, all Malaysians would have to accept that this is the fact. Only if all other non-Bumi accept the notion of Ketuanan Melayu, Malaysia would be free from racial issues. Being a Malaysian, all must also understand the basic structure of the society in this country and the provisions in the Constitutions. The Constitutions are foundation of our national building policies. If we love our county, we have to first respect the Constitution and respect that the fact that 2/3 of the population are Malays. Those special rights accorded to us in the Constitutions are unchallengeable under all circumstances. We are unfortunate that UMNO has been working relentlessly to protect this right from being removed. Without UMNO, one can imagine our Bumi fellows are still living in Kampung and tanam padi now because we cannot expect other races to help us. UMNO is the only party we can put our hope on. Undilah pada UMNO. Terima kasih.

8. #8 by Winston on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 5:58 pm

Uncle Lim, there’s nothing in the world that pleases me better than to see the idiots in UMNO shoot themselves in the feet!
    Good for the opposition!
    The MCA as we all know have been shooting themselves, not only in both feet, but in the torso as well!
    All these major components of the BN are as good as dead ducks!
    It’s good that you keep whacking them with the weapons they provide! There’s no shortage of ammo!
    There’s nothing more delighting than to see them in this state!!
    By all means publicise their stupidity and let everybody gloat over what great 1Cock & Bull has become!!!

9. #9 by digard on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 6:08 pm

Look at the numbers. Think. Look again. Think harder.
    Anything? Aside from the grammar mistake, what about the other 10 percent?
    Because 66 percent and 24 percent add up to exactly 90 percent. And the remaining 10 percent? Birds? Monkeys? Snakes? Can’t be facts, at least not correct facts.
    Maybe he didn’t like that it’s more than one third, still?

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 6:23 pm

kasim amat, cintanegara, limiamput maybe the same person.

11. #11 by rey5516 on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 7:07 pm

in response to the post made by kasim….

u said that we should all accept ketuanaan melayu….that is fine….due to the history and all from before…..but really….accepting it would just make the racial issue go away??is the problem just with accepting/not accepting the ketuanaan melayu??

ALL of US have to work hard!not just you,the Malays,the Indians or any other race…imagine other races working hard without any special treatment??ain’t those hard work done???!

talk about racism…what is it about not expecting other races to help??practically all help had been given while the other races had themselves to count on only!!what u have just stated,isn’t it quite a bit of a racist statement???that other races wouldn’t help??

in the end,we’re all the same…same humans born under the same blue sky…..the only difference is in what we believe and our actions….all said and done…for 50 years….even the blind could see wat path we’re thriving on….so pls dun act as though UMNO is all high and mighty…..

12. #12 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 7:14 pm

What Ahmad M said is that ppl who do not understand d vision n mission of 1M’sia
    Do not appreciate d contents of BTN coses
    MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc members understand n gladly accept BTN coses
    They accept they r salves of Umnoputras

Hence, BTN coses r not racist, anti-national and seditious, but factual
    Only PR ppl oppose, 4 d sake of opposing

13. #13 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 7:25 pm

Kasim Amat :
    If we love our county, we have to first respect the Constitution and respect that the fact that 2/3 of the population are Malays. Those special rights accorded to us in the Constitutions are unchallengeable under all circumstances. We are unfortunate that UMNO has been working relentlessly to protect this right from being removed. Without UMNO, one can imagine our Bumi fellows are still living in Kampung and tanam padi now because we cannot expect other races to help us. UMNO is the only party we can put our hope on. Undilah pada UMNO. Terima kasih.

Kassim boy ah, why la otak udang?
    2/3 population yes i agree, why perhaps hint hint because government subsidy mah, more children all paid for unlike other races more children more financial crisis mah..so logically population of malays increased exponentially over the course of the last 50 yrs.

You contradicted yourself by saying ‘unfortunately UMNO has been fighting for your rights’ , actually i agree with your statement that perhaps you made subconsciously because had UMNO not fought for your rights you would have been a more competitive race and eventually succeeded like the rest of the races. Have a think..after fishing out those udang galahs from the brain:)

14. #14 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 7:33 pm

http://media.themalaysianinsider.com/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/828401najib_riffle.jpg

“I don’t think this is my style la, you know I prefer plastique *snort*”

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 9:08 pm

16. #16 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 9:27 pm

#14.
    If one believes in Karma, the c4er’s family members will get the effect, might not be c4er himself. This is even more painful to see one’s loved ones having to suffer.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 9:33 pm

Nazri says no point denying what BTN is
    =========================

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/45161-nazri-says-no-point-denying-what-btn-is-

18. #18 by ekompute on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 10:59 pm

“The Constitutions are foundation of our national building policies. If we love our county, we have to first respect the Constitution and respect that the fact that 2/3 of the population are Malays.” — Kasim Amat

In many countries, the major race is more than 2/3. Do they use that as an excuse to discriminate?

Kasim, let’s here your argument from the Islamic point of view, given that Islam is the official religion of Malaysia.

We can talk about that “Constitution” later, a constitution where they can even amend it just to extend the “services” of the Election Commission chairman just to ensure an UMNO victory. Which version of the Constitution are you talk about?

19. #19 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 11:21 pm

We all want a peaceful Malaysia. In order to have that peace, we all have to be partakers of the peace. No one race is to be sacrificed for peace. Everyone must work at it whether Malays, Chineses, Indians, Natives and others. No one can claim superiority. Whoever who does that is just like a Ku Klux Klan who claim they are the superior white race. You cannot condemn these white supremacists if you yourself are similar in that kind of thought and attitude. The PTK examination does not mean much because the people who set the questions and who mark the answers will never know what is really going on in the office. You will never know who is a real worker. Government servants are told not to be involved in politics. But ask yourself. You are a politician and you have this group of workers under you. You cannot say that they are not as political as you are. The people who get promoted are the people who know how to make their ketua jabatan happy and smiling. If you don’t have that skill, you can work as hard as you can but sorry, even if they know, you still would not get anything. Because power means a lot. The right people will guarantee the right power. These days there are many ways a politician communicates with the people. The people are not like before. Now, they are thinking.

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 11:36 pm

Our answer to Saddam Hussein’s information Chief – Muhammed Saeed al-Sahaf aka ‘Baghdad Bob’, when it comes to denial…????

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/jokes/bljoke-iraqinfominster.htm

21. #21 by Jong on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 12:00 am

HahahHHa! he’s still not up to Goblok Zam’s standard yet. This guy’s merely a coffee-boy in PM’s department sent out to do some errands.

22. #22 by House Victim on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 12:35 am

The word “Bumiputra” had drawn my attention to
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bumiputera_(Malaysia)

1. Article 8 of the Constitution, states that all Malaysian citizens shall be equal under the law, and “Except as expressly authorised by this Constitution, there shall be no discrimination against citizens on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law or in the appointment to any office or employment under a public authority or in the administration of any law relating to the acquisition, holding or disposition of property or the establishing or carrying on of any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment.” Article 153 itself expressly forbids particular forms of discrimination; clause 5 states that “All persons of whatever race in the same grade in the service of the Federation shall, subject to the terms and conditions of their employment, be treated impartially,” while clause 9 states: “Nothing in this Article shall empower Parliament to restrict business or trade solely for the purpose of reservations for Malays.”

a) Had this been practiced by the UMNO for the past 50 years? And, so to qualify any of them to be called “loving their country”?
    b) Is only 2/3 of the Government posts been taken by “Bumi”?
    c) Is 2/3 of the GDP or Income Tax generated by Bumi?
    d) had 1/3 of the agricultural land be alienated to non-Bumi?
    e) How come Indonesia immigrants be Bumi?

2. Basically, the Constitution is meant for the People – all Malaysians on EQUAL basis!!
    The Constitution was started with the consideration of those “backward” Malays to catch-up with the average.
    The Special Group under the Constitution at the beginning is the “Malays” and “aborigine”, including Orang Asli.

The Federal Constitution had misplaced Bumiputra as child to whom one of the Parent who is a “Muslim” Malays, instead of Malays and native (before 1957). So, Indonesian Immigrants can be Bumi!!

3. Ismail Abdul Rahman had suggested in 1970 to take away the special terms as he thought the Malays were better off with education and …
    NEP was started in 1970 to provide much much better chance to “grab” the opportunities.
    a) Yet, 39 years later, in 2009, these “Bumiputra” is still in the “Loud-speaker” of the Government or those claimed to be learned or wise Bumiputra!!
    b) Is 39 years, or rather 52 year be more than enough for any “average“ Malay to catch up with Special terms provided? Especially, for an oil-producing country?
    c) In what way had the “Bumi” been contributing with the help of those “special terms”?
    d) Why can’t Malay even produce Rice or Vegetable for their own consumption?
    e) Why can’t Malaysian be having free school up to secondary?

4. The Government had taken away lands from the aborigine. Stealing Reserved land from the Public, including water retention ponds, town parks, and other that should be be re-alienated public land.

5. Why cutting the possibility of learning more languages than Bahasa in the latest Development?

6. Had UMNO cronies be the one getting most of those “Benefit”? Leaving the words of “Bumiputra” for the sake of getting more votes?

Bumi-putra has kept Malays under the shadow of Drawback, the Blindness to vote UMNO even they have been bully with the Rights of most Malaysian, non-performing in most, if not all, of their Governmental duties!!

CAN ANYONE SEE WHAT MOST OF THE MALAYSIANS BEEN LOOSING WHEN ONLY A FEW OF THE “BUMI-PUTRA” ARE ACTUALLY GAINING!!

CORRUPTION HAD ALREADY FLOODED TO THE NOSE OF EVERY MALAYSIANS.
    a) Will “Bumi-putra” saved the Nation? or, even 2/3 of the Nation?
    b) Without the contribution of the 1/3 can those 2/3 be in the “Bumi-putra” position?
    c) Is UMNO creating Fortune to provide special terms for the 2/3. Or, just stealing from the 1/3 to the 2/3?
    d) Does the 2/3 get more from the Oil, or, most of the WHOLE is not benefiting much from the Oil?

Should “BUMI-PUTRA” be still in the Dream of any Average Malaysian loving their country?

23. #23 by rubini on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 1:16 am

Kepada Tuan Kasim Amat;

The constitution provides special privileges to the Bumiputeras under article 153. This is to ensure at the time in 1957, Bumiputera /

Malays will not be left out of the civil service.
    The same article also forbade these special privileges to prohibit any other persons from any trade or profession.

After 52 years, most Malays / bumiputera today knows that the Malays have come of age. There a lot doctors, lawyers, businessmen, traders, back peddlers, civil servants.

Furthermore, lets be clear, the original bumiputera of peninsula Malaysia are the Orang Asli who have been robbed, raped & pillaged by the BN government over 52 years.

24. #24 by ekompute on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 2:12 am

Kasim Amat’s post at #7 is a perfect testimony to the kind of indoctrination BTN is cultivating.

At the end of the day, money and personal interests overrides all religious considerations, no matter how much one brags about being religious and how many places of worship they built.

One thing is for sure, Kasim did not choose which race to be born into. If he had been born as a non-Malay, I can bet my last dollar that he would sing a different song. Obviously, I cannot imagine him saying the things that he is saying now.

25. #25 by johnnypok on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 3:26 am

66% are “handicapped” and still depend on clutches to move around.

26. #26 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 5:29 am

Aiyah…nor race and religion dirty politics…and corruptions…UMNO is finished.
    Totally cornered…now PM and PDM said…BTN course needed to be revamped or “renovated”…to give it a new look.
    Cannot say it straight..that the course is out-dated…do not contribute to “1Malaysia”…because it disunite the races.
    Now headline in all papers…will that stupid Ahmad Maslan offer his resignation?
    Not in a million years and PM will also not demand it..as he has no power to do so.
    BRAVO to Lim Kit Siang….never ending to serve Malaysians to our fullest satisfactions.

27. #27 by ekompute on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 6:56 am

“BTN course needed to be revamped or “renovated”…to give it a new look.”

Whatever look also no use, unless the core values are changed. A racial-based political party professing 1Malaysia is like a prostitute preaching the virtues of chastity.

28. #28 by Joetan on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 7:12 am

After reading the article and the comments above, I can only conclude that those thieves, robbers , racists and extremists in UMNO will never change nor will they admit their guilt. They will tried all sorts of tricks be it BTN or Ketuanan Melayu to garner support from the malays. They hoped to remain in power and continue to plunder the country’s wealth. They hoped to brainwash and blind ppl like Kasim Amat to get their support. They uses their tentacle in BN like MCA,MIC.Gerakan to blind the non-bumis.In return they give them a bit of their share. I am not from any political party and I will never be fooled by all those ROBBERS who uses all sorts of tricks be it 1Malaysia to fool the malaysians. My conclusion is that they dont care about UNITY nor the country except to fill their pocket.

29. #29 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 7:46 am

Are these robberies included in the btn syllabus?

• Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) swindle: US$1 billion.
    • Bank Negara foreign-exchange fiasco: RM20 billion.
    • Extra BMF bailouts: US$600 million.
    • Perwaja Steel bankruptcy: US$800 million.
    • Maminco tin market manipulation: US$500 million.
    • Bank Islam non-performing loans scam: RM2.2 billion.
    • Highway concessionaire bailouts: RM38.5 billion.
    • Mirzan Mahathir’s MISC rescue: RM600 million.
    • Port Klang Free Zone scandal: RM12.5 billion.

BTN’s syllabus propagates one-way version of unity and one mode of showing patriotism: embrace ketuanan Melayu and submit to Umno-BN power.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/118808

30. #30 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 7:50 am

The groups were weirdly distributed, with the non-Malays (including East Malaysian Bumiputeras) being put in one group. …

Our facilitators were racists. One bashed the Chinese and Indians as bangsa pendatang, making racist comments. He even called DAP a communist party which will only anger the Malays because of their principles.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/118632

31. #31 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 8:53 am

BTN is like a cancer that has spread to many areas in the establishment.
    How is the government going to “turn over” those who have been contaminated?
    Another series of week-end modules at nice hotels?
    Maybe that will be part of the next stimulus package – maybe the opposition should volunteer to show how it can be done?
    I suggest any revamp should be overseered by both BN and PR as we want to create Malaysians who are law-abiding and not just party supporters.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/12/malaysiakini-and-treatment-for-cancer.html

32. #32 by taiking on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 10:50 am

K1980, the btn course is umno’s way to tell their supporters like kassim and friends that all the losses were incurred for the advancement of the malay race.

33. #33 by cheng on on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 3:05 pm

Perhaps to be more effective, they (BN govt) should add the following:
    THAT NON BUMI SHOULD
    – surrender their assets and hard earned money to the Malays unconditionally;
    – not engage in any business activities;
    – not score As in all sort of examinations;
    – not make money that is more than the Malays are earning;
    – not advance to higher education; or
    – renounce their citizenships and go back to China / India, etc or migrate to some other countries?

BN govt should also consider ask China/ India/Thailand etc to slow down their development? If they refuse to listen, BN govt may make a complaint to the United Nations that China/India/ Thailand etc are developing too fast and this is very unfair to Malaysia, which adapts a more a passive approach?

34. #34 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 3:21 pm

Another thing UMNO would have perished if not for the non malays who worked their asses of increasing the nation’s wealth. Seriously if these minorities did not exist…this place would be papua new guinea…everyone would remain in the kampungs forever till the next penjajahan after the next..probably the new guineans might try their luck too. LOL

35. #35 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 December 2009 - 5:15 pm

BTN question:

Who is the greatest angkasawan of them all?

A. Yuri Gagarin
    B. Neil Armstrong
    C. Sheikh Muzaphar
    D. Yang Liwei

Woe betide the participant who did not choose “C” as the answer