Najib and Cabinet should do what is right – honour the Hatyai Agreement and allow Chin Peng home to visit his hometown in Sitiawan

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, should do what is right – honour the Hatyai Agreement and allow Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) leader Chin Peng home to visit his hometown in Sitiawan.

It reflects most adversely on the credibility and international standing of Malaysia for the Malaysian government to renege on its solemn commitments and undertakings in the Hatyai Agreement.

When the Hatyai Agreement was signed 20 years ago, both signatories agreed to move on and this is what the Malaysian government and country should do – allow Chin Peng home to visit his parents’ graves in Sitiawan.

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 6:02 pm

If Najib do that…he will loose alot of Muslim votes.and gain nothing from the Chinese as Chinese know him through and through…no matter what other stunts he plan to do now or later…working towards fooling Malaysians for the coming… 13th GE.
    Star big photo …front page saying no Bangladashi workers allowed int Malaysia in the Commonwealth meeting…shows very clearly..all important counties avoid talking to him..just like his visit to USA.
    This is clear sign..the whole world knows…who Najib is.’But yes…if he have any decency left…he should use his power to let Chin Peng come back.
    The question is…have he got any guts to do the right thing …for once.

2. #2 by chiakchua on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 6:06 pm

The UMNOputras are showing their arrogance again. They want to play up the issue, sway it towards racism to gain support of Malays, also to frighten them ; you see, now the non-Malays are asking for everything. What will happen if the PR take over in the next GE?!
    Surely later they will allow him in; then they start to claim credit, see how kind are we to him! This is 1-Malaysia! They are too simple minded, they think the rakyat can’t judge.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 6:34 pm

oNE OF the signatories to the Hatyai Accord has spoken. He believes the government is not keeping its side of the bargain. Not that I’ve always thought highly of Rahim Noor but this time his common sense speaks louder than his words.

Besides, why begrudge an 80+ yr old man his dying wishes. If the other CPM leader can even have an audience with HRH Sultan of Perak, if this were true, then I think denying Chin Peng the opportunitry to return on a social visit is callous.
    What is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander. That’s 1 malaysia- unless of course, Najib speaks 1 Malaysia but practices 2 and 3-Malaysia!

4. #4 by frankyapp on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 6:49 pm

What’s wrong,allowing a pretty old citizen,though he committed sins to come home.Chin Peng is a freedom fighter just like the Palastinians fighting and killing among themselves for freedom and interpendence. Arafat,others,including Hamas leaders in the name of freedom also killed their own race yet the palastinians forgive them ,sighting Islam as a peaceful religion. Tunku ABD.Raham even met him to talk peace,hence could forgive him ,why not NR now ?. Historians should not forgot that Chin Peng had play some role to the nation independence.My goodness,an old and dying man,NR and others in his cabinets would not let him home just because he’s not forgiven.For God’s sake,forgive him and let me home so that he can spend the rest of his dying days at his own home and place peacefully.What can an old dying man do to harm you Mr.Prime Minister ?.

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 7:00 pm

Just as the BN leaders will not allow him to return in peace, we too should not forget the deeds or misdeeds they have done to the nation.
    If one evaluates the “evil” BTN indoctrination program, that has caused more damage to the nation than Chin Peng’s years as a terrorist.
    Remember how the BN leaders all clamoured to help Noordin Top’s family get his remains back to Malaysia?

6. #6 by ekompute on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 7:20 pm

“Najib and Cabinet should do what is right – honour the Hatyai Agreement and allow Chin Peng home to visit his hometown in Sitiawan.”

Errrr, don’t you know that Chin Peng does not have the same skin as Noordin Mohammed Top. In Malaysia, skin is very very important, in fact, it is the only thing that is important.

That’s why the government can honour anything except this. By the way, is honour important to the government?

7. #7 by AhPek on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 7:31 pm

The Hatyai Peace Agreement is an International Agreement brokered by Thailand between 2 parties, the Government of Malaysia on the one hand and on the other the Communist Party of Malaya,and like any agreement once signed has to be carried out.The CPM carried out their side of the bargain ie stopped all armed conflict against the government and surrendered her arms but Malaysia has reneged on their part of the bargain by disallowing Chin peng’s return.Muhyiddin even went so far to justify breaking of the agreement saying Chin peng cannot be forgiven and therefore cannot be allowed back.Muhyiddin,forgiving or not forgiving has nothing to do with the agreement.An agreement is an agreement and has to be honoured.Don’t try to hoodwink by introducing something which has nothing to do with the agreement.Allowing Chin Peng back is about legal obligations,it is about honouring a contract,an international contractsigned between the government and CPM for which CPM has carried out their obligations on their part,and by your refusal in allowing Chin Peng back are you not putting shame on the country for blatantly reneging on the agreement.In fact Chin Peng need not request,it is within his rights to come back to his home town.

8. #8 by ekompute on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 8:40 pm

If the government is forced to take Chin Peng back, you may see him end up like Teoh Beng Hock, LOL.

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 8:43 pm

YB LKS, can we have something on the oil royalty for Kelantan.

“Razaleigh stressed that the oil royalty issue was bipartisan because it involves public interest.

“I don’t have to think too much about it. I am already an adult; I can think for myself.”

Of course, Ku Li was speaking of TPM’s ‘warning’ to him! Hello, TPM, just in case u don’t know, Ku Li is well respected even if he is an UMNO-ite; about the only one, the other was Zaid until he chose to drive out of UMNO because of the stench and filth in the party.

Now we are speaking of Ku Li as Malaysia’s elder statesman. he was the Prime Minister malaysia never had because of the meanderings and draconian manouvrings of the erstwhile PM, Tun M. Today, Ku Li can stand tall, sparkling clean conscience and can sleep easy whilst some former PMs toss in their beds and possibly will still turn over in their graves in the future.

As for TPM, just in case u dont know – whilst Ku Li’s reputation is rose-scented and sparkling, we cannot say the same for u. I wud liken u to a guli-guli politican, one who rolls around and knocks-about with little if any consequence. As for statesmanship, hello, please go to Ku Li for some 101 tips, ok.

10. #10 by ringthetill on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 8:46 pm

The CPM is history and means nothing to me. However, I would humbly wish to state my view. What happens now and going forward is important to Malaysia.
    This is another case of the Government relegating past agreements/contracts, including blatantly ignoring ALL things enshrined in the Federal Constitution.
    There is little point in the leaders going overseas on field trips and making ‘great and visionary’ statements when upon their return to the home soil they impart different language skills.
    Government and leaders can come and go, but any MOU/MOA/Agreement/Concorde, once signed and agreed on behalf of the nation must be honoured and respected. Otherwise, don’t ever sign anything in future (or do your homework first). Then and only then can we be respected as a people, a nation and can gain recognition in the civilised world community.
    Now, going back to Chin Peng’s case. Filial piety is still an important aspect of Asian thinking and culture. Why can’t the Govt allow him to pay homage at his parents’ graves at his age, even if it is just for once? We all do grow old and should understand. What say you PM?

11. #11 by ekompute on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 9:15 pm

If Chin Peng becomes a Muslim, maybe still got chance. Lim Goh Tong, I was told in an email, is supposed to be Muslim. Judging from the way he pre-arranged his graveyard and his funeral, I am sure he is one, LOL.

12. #12 by Dap man on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 9:58 pm

Only a pariah state will renege on its agreement. Man of honour need have to put in print. They will honour their words, even if it is made orally.

13. #13 by House Victim on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 11:51 pm

Credibility is what makes one stands and be qualified to be called a “MAN”. Much much so for anyone to be respected and much much much more for a respectable Country.

The Oil loyalty can be ignored or reconsidered as only a Good Will!! The Peace Agreement can be ignored!! Morally, these already had torn down the Credibility of the Government and faces of every Malaysian!! Most probably those “top” UMNO officials have no more face to be torn and they do not have “Government” in mind!!

They think they can demonstrate that they have the POWER. But, do they know, these also show that they are COWARD, BULLY, SHAMEFUL, UNETHICAL, UNHUMAN…..

LAW & ETHIC ARE ONLY FOR DISPLAY in Malaysia!! “King with his New Clothes” is on the Political and Social stages almost daily!!

The Whole Malaysian Government cannot stand even before an 80+ old man!!
    The Malaysian Government crushed their Own Agreement!!
    Can they Guarantee their Billions of Bonds, or the Provident Fund or any Trusty they have in their hands!! DON’T THEY KNOWN THEY HAVE ALSO SHATTER THIS TYPE OF “PAPER GOLD” IN THEIR HANDS!!

MOH ALREADY SHATTER their credibility on the enforcement of Housing Developer Act,
    Land Offices shattered the Firmness of the Land Titles or Land under Trust to the State for the Public!
    State Assembly men shattered the Public Trust on their being appointed and in Public Services!!
    Police, KUP/AG shattered Public Trust on enforcing the Laws on Public Security.
    Judiciary system shattered Public confidence!!
    ………..

WHAT ELSE CAN ONE THINK OF MALAYSIA being intact??

14. #14 by AhPek on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 1:24 am

“What’s wrong,allowing a pretty old citizen
    though he committed sins to come home?”.
    frankyapp.

You seem to be buying all thosebrainwashing
    from the powerful propanganda machine of the British Empire.Chin Peng’s CPM has no such financial power to have one to counter and therefore the British’s terming him and his group terrorists has no rebuttal from his side! Chin Peng was invited to National University of Australia in Canberra to give a talk on his fight against the British.He said
    “When I fought with the British against the Japanese I was awarded the highest order of the British Empire but when I fought the British for independence for my country,I am termed a terrorist!”.
    In war or armed conflict it is inevitable that deaths occur on both sides but the war machinery of the British has always painted innocent victims killed by CPM without mentioning the worst massacre has in fact been perpetrated by the British….a platoon of Scots Guards opened fire cold bloodedly on a group of 24 unarmed rubber tappers in 1948.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batang_Kali_massacre

15. #15 by ekompute on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 3:50 am

““When I fought with the British against the Japanese I was awarded the highest order of the British Empire but when I fought the British for independence for my country,I am termed a terrorist!”.”

Truth be said, there is no contradiction. If a person is a hero to one party, then he must be a villian to the opposing party. In other words, there is no difference between a hero and a villian. It all depends which side is saying it.

All I do know is that killing is wrong, except in self defence. Empire builders like Alexander the Great, Genghiz Khan and such are nothing more than big time gangsters who go round robbing and killing people. What is so great about Alexander the Great? What has he contributed to mankind? Nothing, right? His empire collapsed after his death anyway.

16. #16 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 5:39 am

Hello Najib, apo ‘ni?

Bernama: “304,358 M’sians Migrated To Other Countries From March 2008 Till Aug 2009″.

If 300k people leave whilst government spends a few measly ringgit to get 70+ Malaysians to return under its ‘Brain Gain” program, it simply means BN govt is a dismal, abject failure!

It seems the best & the brightest are leaving or have left, so the rotten idiots now sit in Putrajaya! Well, that’s d implication too from the ‘Brain gain’ i.e. there just aren’t enuf brains to pass around d corridoors of power. Yuks!

Wanna sum advise, sir? Stick to meritocracy. Nothing works better than nature. Nothing tastes sweeter, is more fragrant and digestible. Try nature’s produce from mother Earth versus GM produce. The principles r d same-lah. It’s time u hv some real advisers, not some sham and charlatans from some fancy universty who hv vested interests rather than the nation’s weal.

17. #17 by Comrade on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 7:54 am

“If you forgive others the wrongs they have done to you, your Father in heaven will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive the wrongs you have done.” (Matthew 6:14-15)
    So, forgive Chin Peng and allow the old man to return home.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 8:13 am

Hello Najib,

Just a quick thot.

It’s ok to meet with Saiful…ahem..ahem…
    But it’s no0t ok to meet with Chin Peng.

U’ve got lots to learn & teach Saiful….but nothing of interest from Chin Peng…..ahem…

Either u hv a marbled brain or a garbled cranium…or both!

19. #19 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 8:34 am

Can you imagine if the DPM had been one of those who represent the government at the peace talk and tell right in the face of Chin Peng that he would not be forgiven?
    He’s a pure politician without stuff! I’m starting to lose hope on this fellow. Yes, I did think he could be different from other UMNOputras when he was politely and humbly pressuring Abdullah to resign.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 9:03 am

“I’m starting to lose hope on this fellow”
    Ha, ha, LOL, only starting – kena conned lah, not too late 2 start

21. #21 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 9:45 am

Razak and son embraced china – the largest communist country in the world today – but rejected chin peng. Well of course. Chin peng is but a mere Hamba deBully.

As a malaysian, I would support his return. He is an old man and a part of our history. Isa the corrupt guy was given a come-back chance. Mike Tyson and many other expired/rejected umno/bn politicians too were given such a chance.

22. #22 by pakmang on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 9:51 am

I think most our “Top Gun” had failed their Sejarah (History) subject……they only know how to corrupt, create racism and ruin the country….sigh….sad to see these people in positions…

23. #23 by raven77 on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 9:58 am

No point …you are talking to Najib…a dead man walkin.. shunned by the entire world because the world knows just too much about him and the wife…Probably Singapore, US and France even have pornographic evidence against him….

With a PM like that…Malaysia sure mampus….

As for Chin Peng…it’s because UMNo dont know the meaning of cricket, fair play or sticking to rules or agreements….they are so used to winning by pasang kaki (taught well by Mahathir)….it is now ingrained in them to win everything by cheating….

Malaysia’s failure to adhere to the Haatyai agreement will send a message to every country in the world that this country cannot be trusted….

24. #24 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 3:02 pm

Between two illegal hawkers, an Indon and a Malaysian Chinese, whom would the police go after? Your guess is as good as mine, even road side uncles and aunties know the answer. This is what has been happening in the bolehland, malaysians of non-malays are being taken for granted while others of their same skin color are well received. Sad!

25. #25 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 5:03 pm

If President Hu Jin Tao from China was received with such grandness during his recent visit, why should Malaysia reject Chin Peng? Isn’t China a communist country and President Hu the head of this communist country? If Malaysia is not afraid of the largest communist country in the world, why should it be afraid of a communist party which has been disbanded or its leader who is now in his eighties? What’s more, Chin Peng just wants to come back to where he belongs as he is still a MALAYSIAN citizen!

All these questions simply goes to show that the BN government of Malaysia is such a HYPOCRITE!

26. #26 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 4:49 am

To #5

Once the Agreement is signed, the deeds and misdeeds are no longer the issue. The BN government just have to deliver its part of the bargain, otherwise why sign the Agreement?

Is the BN government going back on it words?

27. #27 by Dipoh Bous on Friday, 11 December 2009 - 1:25 pm

Is it possible for some one to post/share the content of the Hatyai Agreement? That should give us a clear understanding of the issue before so as to forward a meaningful comment/suggestion. :(