Call on Cabinet to set up an independent public inquiry into the BTN “brainwashing” to have public airing of its racist, anti-national and anti-1Malaysia courses over the years

Pretender Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir hit today’s New Straits Times front-page headline: ‘Disclose BTN course syllabus’ – Perak MB: This will allay doubts about its objective”.

Zambry said it is time for the government to make public the contents of the Biro Tatanegara syllabus to dispel suspicions by certain quarters about its objective.

Claiming that he had himself attended BTN or National Civics Bureau courses, Zambry said these courses were about educating public servants, students and other participating groups on their roles and responsibilities towards the country.

Zamry is creating a red herring. The issue is not so much the BTN syllabus, but the more than ample evidence that BTN courses pump communal poison and incite hatred in plural Malaysia.

In Malaysian Insider yesterday, a former BTN participant who was a student from a local public university Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani testified that he “learned the meaning of hate” from the BTN course he attended.

Asrul wrote that BTN brought in “intellectual” speakers who were supposed to enlighten the students about the meaning of being a Malaysian but instead it felt more like a communist propaganda camp brainwashing those attending about the importance of “Ketuanan Melayu”.

He wrote:

One speaker began with the history of Malaysia and how much the country had gone through, always emphasising the May 13 riots.

He stressed the point of how much the Malays had sacrificed and how the community should be united especially from outside threat — the Chinese community.

“He said that the Chinese community were “the Jews of Asia” and were just itching to take over when Malays were disunited and broken.

The speaker also revealed a greater Chinese conspiracy where the Chinese Malaysians were working together with Singapore to topple the Malay government.

“Do you want to become like the Malays in Singapore?” he asked.

He also went so far as to criticise Malay girls for dating boys from other races.

He added that they should not be cheap and embarrass their families.

The Cabinet should take a stand at its next meeting by setting up an independent public inquiry into the BTN “brainwashing” to have a public airing its racist, anti-national and anti-1Malaysia courses over the years.

Public outrage at the defence of the racist BTN courses by the Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin is matched by the thunderous silence of 1Malaysia PKI Minister, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, the four MCA Ministers and other Umno/BN Ministers on this issue.

The Cabinet should either close down the BTN or the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should publicly acknowledge and announce the failure and abandonment of his 1Malaysia slogan and programme, which becomes a total mockery with the continuation of the racist, anti-national and anti-1Malaysia BTN indoctrination courses.

1. #1 by k1980 on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 4:14 pm

Zambry’s favorite karaoke song:–

Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
    Pretending that I’m Perak MB
    My need is such; I pretend too much
    I’m Perak MB but no one can believe.

Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
    A drift in a world of my own
    I play the game; but to my real shame
    I can only be MB till next election.

Too real is this feeling of make believe
    Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal.

Oh yes I’m the great pretender
    Just laughing and gay like a clown
    I seem to be what I’m not; you see
    I’m wearing my heart like a crown
    Pretending that I’m Perak MB.

2. #2 by taiking on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 5:22 pm

Plain stupid. BTW who is this samli guy?

3. #3 by Godfather on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 5:52 pm

By all accounts, they never followed the “syllabus”. We all know the den of thieves never follow the rules. They are above the law, so they do what they like, and eunuchs like Koh Tsu Koon, Semi Value and OTK all owe their allegiance to the den of thieves. They are not about to rock the boat.

4. #4 by taiking on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 6:09 pm

Umno’s weapons:
    1. isa protection
    2. may 13 fear
    3. macc’s murderous actions
    4. btn brainwashing
    5. msm
    6. judiciary police ag
    7. government machinery and funds

isa – so far they hv refrained from using isa. They knew that it is an extremely unpopular move. In short, this threat is under check. No certainty that they would not use it. But fair to say, the people managed to check umno on this one.

May 13 fear is now known to be unfounded. It was not a racial thing as umno has already put it. It is now common knowledge that may 13 is a mere evil manouevre by umno to retain political power at the expense of common malaysians. May 13 is an issue not usually raised by umno now. Losts its utility, perhaps.

Macc’s threat of arrest, harrasment and thrumped up charges. They have themselves to blame. Scored a bad own goal here. Killed beng hock. A great thank you beng hock. Hope you could hear me from where you are now. Macc is now under severely bad light. The stupid allegations of petty corruptions hurled at pakatan seems to have died down somewhat of late. Anyhow, with the mother of all scandals still not resolved, macc would certainly look extra bad if they pursue petty cases with great energy. BTW the pkfz is one nice own goal.

Btn brainwashing. Lets see how umno get out of this one. Reiterating btn’s goals will not do. Its what the invited speakers/lecturers said during the course over the decades that matters. Look at the war trail now going on in cambodia. Would it help if Duch recited the orders that were given to him? What matters are the number of people he killed. Likewise here, btn is umno’s direct and active effort in creating racism in the country and umno can never get away with it. Umno can never clense itself of the Tuan Rempit McBully image. Good job people. This is our ace. Hammer it all the way into umno’s coffin cover.

Msm. Oh just forget them. They are useless. We have WWW.

Judiciary, police and ag and government machinery and funds. Now these are their only weapons left.

Economy in a mess. Employment bad. Prices up (gst coming). Buildings, roofs and bridges collapsing. More mega corruptions popping up. More dubious directly negotiated mega projects popping up. Mca in a mess. Mic in a mess. Gerakan gone and under. Bn gone and under too realistically speaking. All of these would only stoke people’s anger.

Look at the whole pic. Umno is sinking. Rahman legacy must end soon. Rahman is a good guy. Its just umno, those buggers who hijacked his good legacy for their selfish needs.

So stay our course fellas. Keep it steady.

5. #5 by ekompute on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 7:06 pm

Truth be said, 1Malaysia itself is a red herring.

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 8:58 pm

//The speaker also revealed a greater Chinese conspiracy where the Chinese Malaysians were working together with Singapore to topple the Malay government.

“Do you want to become like the Malays in Singapore?” he asked.//

The Conspiracy Theory of Singaporean Fever (a term being borrowed from “Yellow Fever”) has been in existence in Malaysia since Dr. Mahathir’s reign as the Prime Minister. Most Umnoputras are indeed bankrupt in commendable new political idea. Therefore, they like to make use of Singapore as an imaginative enemy in order to stir up the hatred among the Malays and motivate the Malays to unite under Umno in order to fight against Singapore. These tricky tactics sometimes looked quite effective for Umnoputras to achieve the goal of winning political support during Umno party election. However, the incitement of hatred against Singaporeans had also caused the psychological problems among the Malays. Most Malay businessmen would find that they had good excuse to explain off their business failure in international business competition by putting the blame on Singaporeans. For instance, Dr. Mahathir would put the blame of his failure to prevent currency crisis and failure to prevent stock market collapse during 1997-1998 on the unproven accusation of Singapore Government’s lending Singapore facilities to foreigners for use as an international foothold for carrying the activities of currency trade and for launching the currency attack on Malaysia’s Ringgit.

Nevertheless, Dr. Mahathir should have had the opportunity to prevent drastic collapse of Malaysia’s Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange Market during 1998 if he were to give advice or instruction to KLSE to avoid over-intervention in KLSE trade that was caused by KLSE’s adopting the measure of barring shares trade of 100 KLSE-quoted companies through the practice of black-listing 100 companies and calling them “designated shares”. The designated shares measure had caused many Stock Brokerage Houses to exercise margin call on the retail investors who borrowed to buy shares, and hence caused fast collapse in KLSE market. On the nation’s financial predicament during the 1997-1998 financial crisis, Dr. Mahathir did not put blame on his subordinates’ stupidity in over-intervention in the stock trade. He only found two good scapegoats, namely the Singaporean Government and George Soros,
    both of whom were good choices of imaginative enemy for purpose of diverting Malaysian people’s attention from fighting in Umno’s party election to fighting against George Soros and the perceived Singaporean Threat.

Due to the Umnoputras’ fonding in citing Singaporeans’ success in international business especially in the sector of international financial services as the reason for the Malays’ failure in banking and monetary management, it is no surprised for us to find that many Malaysian Malays hate Singaporeans due to their jealousy on Singaporeans’ national infrastructural success and Singaporean individuals’ personal wealth show-off by travelling frequently world-wide including within Malaysia’s boundary. The irrational jealousy among the Malaysian Malays is indeed a severe psychological sickness which requires much attention from Najib if he is to shape up an enviable nation of 1Malaysia.

7. #7 by taiking on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 9:16 pm

Onlooker Politics, the bit you quoted struck me. I suddenly realised the reason why those umno cyber-trooppers who post comments here once in a while are so anti-singapore.

Simple minded folks they must be and were obviously swayed by the btn.

8. #8 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 9:39 pm

Indeed, Lee Kuan Yew once disclosed that both Umno and PAP had a mutual agreement on non-intervention of each other’s internal affairs through news media of each other’s country. Within this mutual agreement, PAP is free to incite Singaporeans’ sentiment through Singapore’s mass media by citing the event of Singapore’s being forced to leave the Federation of Malaysia by Tunku Abdul Rahman as a reminder of the possible bad consequences that can be caused by Non-Malay Singaporeans’ disunity.

Likewise, the Singapore’s PAP political leaders will try to keep their both ears closed and to keep both eyes closed when Umnoputras are trying to incite the Malays’ emotion towards hating the Chinese Malaysians and towards hating the Singaporeans, as a way to keep the mutually agreed promise of non-intervention in the neighbour’s internal affairs. The pacifism being practiced by Singapore’s PAP is a dangerous thing to see because by keeping quiet on Umnoputras’ racist incitement, PAP leaders are indeed encouraging the planting of a racist time bomb among the Malay community of Malaysia, which will pose threat to the personal safety of Singaporean tourists travelling in Malaysia.

Malaysia will never achieve far in the goal of 1Malaysia if the Umnoputras are to continue to cling on the conventional tactics of raising racist issues against Singaporeans as the political capital to win vote during Umno party election. These old tactics have always been adopted by Dr. Mahathir. And we sometimes find that the same old tricks will be used also by the politically ambitious son of Dr. Mahathir, namely Mukhriz Mahathir. Apparently, 1Malaysia will remain as an unachievable dream if the Umnoputras such as Dr. Mahathir and Mukhriz Mahathir are continually given political power to influence the politics of Malaysia.

9. #9 by Godfather on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 9:47 pm

Why would Najis do anything to correct the psychological sickness or irrational jealousy ? Which UMNO politician would want to be the person who finally allows the Malays to wake up and ask the most basic question of why Malaysia with its vast natural resources could not keep pace with a little barren rock down south.

Would Najis close BTN ? You must be joking. It is as likely as him agreeing to a full forensic trace of where the PKFZ funds have ended up. It is as likely as him revoking the NAZA real estate deal and re-offering the deal via public tender.

Stop dreaming. Just act in 2013.

10. #10 by Winston on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 10:04 pm

Why should anyone keep quoting 1Malaysia?
    It’s nothing but 1Cock & Bull.

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 10:34 pm

I believe YB Kit keep mentioning 1Malaysia because he has the genuine intent to see all Malaysians united in the name of Malaysia, regardless of their racial backgrounds. YB Kit surely does not want Najib to make use of the “1Malaysia” slogan simply for the sake of Najib’s personal gain by making a fool of all Malaysian people.

If Najib has the true intent to unite all Malaysians regardless of races, then Najib should also permit all Malaysians to unite under the rule of Pakatan Rakyat! If the ultimate rule by Pakatan Rakyat is the real case to be happened in Malaysia, by then Najib should be contented to give up his political fight against Pakatan Rakyat and choose to have an enjoyable vacation in Paris bringing along Rosmah! Hopefully that vacation will heal him from continual suffering the nightmare of Altantuya’s haunting! Najib should realize that most Malaysians would not tolerate Rosmah and he himself any longer because the political images of this couple has been so bad to the extent that they can be even condemned to eternal perishment if they are to hang around one minute much longer in the political scene of Malaysia.

12. #12 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 10:37 pm

BTN inciting the Malays to hate the Chinese, calling them the “Jews of Asia”? But didn’t the Malaysian leaders give the Chinese leader Hu Jintao a rousing welcome just recently? ( OTK was the minister-in-attendance } I am wondering what Hu Jintao said or did to Najib and the Malays to make them so angry.

13. #13 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 10:50 pm

Even though we noticed that Dr. Mahathir hated Singapore PAP very much, we still found that Dr. Mahathir was always the loser in his negotiation with Singapore’s PAP leaders. For instance, when Daim Zainuddin was the appointed non-portfolio minister who was given the power to represent Malaysia for negotiating with Singapore in the pakaged deal of developing KTM land along the railway in Singapore and of switching the Singapore’s railway Custom, Immigration and Quarantine Checkpoint from Tanjong Pagar, Singapore to Woodlands, Singapore, both Singapore’s government and Daim as a person managed to bag home huge gains at the expense of Malaysians’ interest in 999 years landownership. This was because no matter how much Dr. Mahathir hated Singapore, Singapore PAP leaders still found his fatal weakness, i.e. Dr Mahathir quietly permitting and tolerating corruption among his subordinates and among his cronies.

14. #14 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 28 November 2009 - 11:26 pm

two rejects one called hisap-u-dink! and another called shut-real-mutt perfect examples of dumb-ass bird brainers with free TV coverage compliments of ownage by the BN!

The first dink held up a keris and yet is still a minister(Doink!) and the second is an immortal minister(immune to the balot papers)..talk about self respect or something called dignity after losing the seat, yet still summoned from the dead by yours truly. What a joke!

These and another clown called Some-prick from perak are the first batch of clowns to turn up on TV defending the BTN. This says a lot about these distinguished(actually extinguished) pathetic reasons of the very existence of the human race. From tomorow onwards i ain’t buying anymore ‘the star’ and ‘the new straits times’! i can’t deal with stupid people anymore, it’s not funny at all.

15. #15 by cintanegara on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 1:13 am

First, determine why that ‘person’ was your enemy. Did you do something bad to him/her/it? Or did they/he/she/it do something bad to you? How could you claim a Rambutan Tree yours, when it is located very much closer to your neighbor’s house?
    Above all….. Tun Dr Mahatir is the man behind Malaysia success…Many Malaysians regardless of race and religion regard the National Statesman with great respect…. for the economic achievements under his administration ……….

16. #16 by frankyapp on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 1:49 am

Why wouldn’t malaysian malays want to be like singaporean malays ? Though the singapore malays are the minority,they enjoy a higher standard of living.well educated,given good jobs and live in good local housing. Whereas the vast majority of the malaysian malays get only the bits and pieces which were left over by the Umnoputras.Ordinary malays must wake up,tell Umno leaders,no more lies,demand transparency and accountability why umnoputras and ministers are filty mega rich and that why most ordinary malay folks still living in sub standard houses,unemployed,drug addits,school dropouts,mat rempits, and remain pretty poor after 52 years of independence.

17. #17 by Godfather on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 7:52 am

cintanegara the village idiot is still sore at “losing” the rambutan tree to his Chinese neighbour.

What he is saying is that he will keep telling his kind that the Chinese must be treated as the real enemies, and that if the Malays are not careful, they will lose all the rambutan trees outside their houses. That’s the unwritten message in the BTN syllabus – and a true UMNOputra like cintanegara will not deny it.

18. #18 by Godfather on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 8:03 am

Mamakthir squandered somewhere between RM100 – 150 billion of the country’s money. If a village idiot like cintanegara cannot comprehend the magnitude of this crime, we can tell him that it is the equivalent of RM 4,000 per person, and that can buy a lot of rambutan trees.

The biggest crime perpetrated by Mamakthir is that his methods of allowing UMNOputras to steal from the rakyat continue to be used by his successors – the billions continue to be stolen in broad daylight with PKFZ sovereign guarantees, with Matrade getting an expo centre “for free”, without counting that developer gets millions of rambutan trees in return.

Stupid is as stupid does.

19. #19 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 9:43 am

kassim amat and cinta negara might just be the same person. LOL

20. #20 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 9:46 am

Mahathir squandered billions, people like cintanegara got spoonfed, automatic promotion and bumi discounts, so truly mamakthir is his childhood hero, the no-brainer probably has a action figurine of his idol under his pillow. LOL

i pity the fool!

21. #21 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 9:52 am

…In a recent interview with American journalist Tom Plate, Mr Lee said Singapore would be “happy” to go back to Malaysia should the latter practise meritocracy.

When Mr Plate asked Mr Lee who he thought would “come after” Singapore, the Minister Mentor said: “We are a standing indictment of all the things that they (Malaysia) can be doing differently.”
    “If they would just educate the Chinese and Indians, use them and treat them as their citizens, they can equal us and even do better than us and we would be happy to rejoin them.”

22. #22 by limkamput on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:22 am

Don’t be stupid, the course content and syllabus will always be inclusive and beautifully done. I am sure some of these lectures are tape-recorded. Demand these tapes and listen for ourselves what this group of bigots have been preaching all these years.

By the way, it is not about revamping BTN. WE have pasted that. I have a better idea – shut it down and don’t ever run any national building course again. Any form of “national ideological training” program is a hot bed for indoctrination and brainwashing. So today it is UMNO’s ketuanan Melayu. Tomorrow it will be someone else’s. Simple question: Does USA have any national ideological training camp?

Racial unity and integration can not be promoted by formal training or by asking people to give up their identities for some illusionary notion of commonality. National unity and integration is brought about by genuine desire of individuals to sacrifice a little of themselves in exchange for the greater common good that they CAN SEE happening in the society and country they live in.

23. #23 by Godfather on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:24 am

Meritocracy ? You mean no more stealing ? No more disputes over rambutan trees in no man’s land ?

24. #24 by Godfather on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:26 am

Ok, ok, we can tell the village idiot cintanegara that if the rambutan tree in no-man’s land is closer to his house than mine, then I can let him have it. So, cintanegara, can my descendants not be labelled as “enemies” or “Jews of Asia” ?

25. #25 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:28 am

MM LKY can say that cos he knows
    Without de educated n talented nonMalay Malaysians working in Sg, Sg would not b what it is today
    Sg is happy M’sia continues 2 go down de slippery slope
    As it guarantees de constant supply of nonMalay talents fr M’sia 2 Sg
    Yeah, Sg is most happy with de most stupid neighbor fr de north
    Chasing nonMalay talents away after having spent a huge sum 2 educate them while keeping de monolingual bodoh in de civil service
    With our RM sinking vs S$ n our population balloning
    Sg is looking forward 2 de day 2 employ maids cheaply fr M’sia
    MM LKY is still very much in demand by all nations, including de Middle East nations, 4 his advice n sharp thoughts
    While our no-principle MMK, rambling mindlessly at his blog, is shunned like a pariah

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:41 am

kassim amat and cinta negara might just be the same person
    No la. cintanegara pleads same old excuses, same old treasured mistakes, but I get the feeling one could quarrel face-to-face with cintanegara at the kopithiam and still part as friends.

I think the “Jews of Asia” thing deserves greater attention at a later date. It’s possibly only distracting to dwell on individual perceived insults when BTN is the topic of the day. The Chinese diaspora in South East Asia has been punctuated by genocides, with Malaysia being a ‘luckier’ destination than most. The toxic ‘positive affirmation’ policies that are so problematic now were brought in as an incompetent response to a problem that appeared to be racial decades ago. Even if the failed remedy is undone, it remains to be seen what the status of the original problem is. And let’s be clear about this: it’s a local problem, not one that exists in any other country, so not by any means ‘normal’ nor ‘natural’.

While it’s important to deal first with the most outrageous, most overt racism of the day, we mustn’t forget that it’s not the only brand of racism that is retarding Malaysia. I think it’s important – while militating against racism – to avoid any parochial responses that involve neighbourhood, practise or lineage.

27. #27 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 11:47 am

Just in case anybody fancies a “Jews of Asia” themed kopithiam meeting, it’s not all BTN:
    Hornbill Unleashed has this (I can’t find proper attribution for it):
    http://hornbillunleashed.wordpress.com/2009/08/16/3211/
    And the Lonely Planet has it in their guidebook:
    http://www.lonelyplanet.com/shop_pickandmix/free_chapters/destination-se-asia.pdf
    I think evocative labels are handy as a literary short-hand, but can be extremely dangerous when used carelessly – regardless of whether they’re used to exclude or include.

28. #28 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 2:01 pm

I find it ironic that we, the rakyat, have to remind and teach the government on unity, good governance, transparencies and all forms of accountancies.

It is a disgrace that umno with its silent partners are behind this apartheid indoctrination.

While the rakyat are trying to unite, they are busy doing the opposite. What pariah govt is this? Moo-hate-din and Himmler-mudin, where are your brains and conscience?

29. #29 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 2:06 pm

..I find it ironic that we, the rakyat, have to remind and teach the government on unity, good governance, transparencies and all forms of accountancies.

It is a disgrace that umno with its silent partners are behind this apartheid indoctrination.

While the rakyat are trying to unite, they are busy doing the opposite. What p@ri@h govt is this? Moo-hate-din and Himmler-mudin, where are your brains and conscience?

30. #30 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 2:41 pm

Obviously there is a grand canyon btwn d minds of Umnoputras n nonUmnoputras
    Shahrizat said d BTN cos was all abt positive thinking, patriotism n no racialism
    Very good contents 1, 4 ppl who love d 1M’sia concept
    Noh Omar said LKS hv eyes that see not, blind 2 d good stuff dished out in d BTN cos
    Sayang saja, LKS didn’t attend d BTN cos
    Miss learning how to transfer RM million to London through a money changer

31. #31 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:09 pm

Money changer thing not new, most UMNOputras have frequent flyer membership with them. LOL

32. #32 by mendela on Sunday, 29 November 2009 - 10:26 pm

The evil that Biro Tata are poisoning Malaysian minds are just tip of an iceberg!

Go look and compare our school history texts between 30 yrs ago texts and today’s texts. They have been shamelessly re-written to beautify the keturunan and Malay race. It is plain outrageous!

33. #33 by GreenBug on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 12:14 am

YB Kit, you need to widen the exercise to register the voters to Penang and Selangor without delay. Not just register, what is more important is for those to update their details since many have shifted and have not updated their registration. Thus, they might not vote because of distance and inconvenience. Do expand the exercise beyond Perak!