Malaysia’s loss of face past two years in being totally excluded from Top World 200 Universities retrieved somewhat with University of Malaya ranked No. 180 but still a long way to go

Congrats to University of Malaya (UM) for making a come-back in the THES-QS World Universities Rankings 2009 to be among the world’s top 200 universities – climbing 50 places from last year (No. 230) to rank No. 180 this year.

Malaysia’s loss of face in the past two years in being totally excluded from the Top World 200 Universities ranking has been retrieved somewhat with UM’s return to the Top World 200 Universities bracket but there is still a long way to go for Malaysian universities to establish their excellence and international competitiveness for at least six reasons:

1. This is still a far cry from UM’s previous rankings in the THES-QS Top World 200 Universities – 89th in 2004 and 169 in 2005, before falling to 192 in 2006 and out of the Top 200 bracket in the following two years (ranked 246 in 2007 and 230 in 2008).

2. In June 2005, at UM’s centennial celebrations, then Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak challenged UM to raise its then 89th position among the world’s top 100 universities in the THES-QS ranking to 50 by the year 2020. After four years, UM had fallen 91 rankings although this is not as bad as falling 157 rankings in 2007. Is Najib’s challenge for UM to be among the world’s Top 50 universities “an impossible dream”?

3. UM is being left far behind by Thailand’s Chulalongkorn University, which made giant strides from No. 223 ranking in 2007 to 166 in 2008 and 138 in 2009.

4. Singapore has two universities in the Top 200 ranking for the past five years. In 2009, National University of Singapore remains at 30th ranking while Nanyang Technological University improved four rankings from No. 77 to No. 73.

5. Not a single Malaysian university in the separate THES-QS 2009 rankings of Top 50 universities for five disciplines – Engineering and Information Technology; Life Sciences and Medicine; Natural Sciences; Social Sciences; and Arts and Humanities.

In the 250 slots for the 50 Top Universities in the five disciplines, 49 are taken up by Asian universities with six Asian universities ranked in all the five disciplines for Top 50 Universities – University of Tokyo (ranked No. 22 in Top 200 World Universities), University of Hong Kong (No.24), Kyoto University (No. 25), National University of Singapore (No. 30) and Peking University (No. 52). Thailand’s Chulalongkorn University is ranked No. 49th in the Top 50 Universities list for Arts and Humanities.

6. Poor ranking of the other Malaysian universities, with adverse placings as compared to last year for Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) and Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) except for Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) viz:

Universities 2009 2008
    UM 180 230
    UKM 291 250
    USM 314 313
    UTM 320 356
    UPM 345 320

If Malaysia is serious in wanting to create a world-class university system to transform the country into a knowledge-based innovative economy, it must end the New Economic Policy (NEP) in the universities and fully restore the policy of meritocracy and academic excellence coupled with social need to provide university education opportunities to economically-backward Malaysians regardless of race.

The government must recognize that so long as the NEP is kept in place in the universities, there would be no way for any Malaysian public university to compete with other universities from other countries.

If Malaysia is to get back to the trail of world-class academic excellence, all universities should be allowed to enroll the most qualified students, employ the most competent professors and researchers with competitive remunerations and restore a culture of academic excellence and freedom.

Furthermore, the Higher Education Minister must ask the Cabinet to end the present fraudulent meritocracy using both STPM and matriculation by having a common university entrance examination.

This is the recommendation of the World Bank study on “Malaysia and the Knowledge Economy: Building a World-Class Higher Education System” submitted to the government in 2007.

Otherwise, the Higher Education Ministry is only continuing to pay lip service to university excellence and quality without the political will to bring about the institutional changes without which there is no way for UM to meet the challenge to be among the World Top 50 universities and for other Malaysian universities to be in the World Top 100 or 200 universities.

1. #1 by johnnypok on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:17 pm

50% are HP6 and certificates can be bought, even Phd has no value, tak lama hilang dari screen lagi.

2. #2 by Tonberry on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:23 pm

we are still better than most of the African universities..

3. #3 by GreenBug on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:23 pm

Looks like the eduation system / standard in this country has gone down the drain. Thats what happens when everything is not based on meritocracy but on political considerations. Even lecturers are not ashamed to commit plagiarism!

How can this country progress any further when human capital are churned out from the local universities more by quantity than quality?

I just read that the top creme de la creme of our student with 17A1s failed her 1st year medical exam in University of Edinburgh? A scholarship holder with 17A1s fail? Whats going on?

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:27 pm

You must look behind the figures to see why MU crept up the rankings.

It went on a big time admission of foreign students mostly from the Mid-east, Central Asia and Africa to boost its international student figure.

It then went on to employ alot of international lecturers from these areas especially to boost its international faculty figure.

This resulted in a good staff / student ratio figure as well.

So it made advances (more than 60 /100) in three areas out of 5.

BUT if you look at its citation figure, it is a LOW 21 / 100, indicating poor academic standards especially on the research output part. Its VC Jasmon said as much today in his comments.

So what really is this 180 ranking? Its kind of hollow don’t you think? No substance where it counts.

5. #5 by k1980 on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:47 pm

A PMR student, fearful of flopping in the exam, burnt down the exam hall in his school. Luckily no students were inside when it caught fire….

Look forward to the day when an exam hall in a Malaysian university is burnt down because some students are fearful of their university exam

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:50 pm

Even if the above student is caught, the PM will insist on giving that son of a b*tch a second chance (so that he can burn down the exam hall during his SPM exam in 2 years time)

7. #7 by yhsiew on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 1:58 pm

Those should be in local universities are shut out. Those should not be in are invited in. That is why you have such poor ranking of Malaysian universities.

8. #8 by raven77 on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:00 pm

Yep UM did it the cheap and effective way….fill up academic posts with many Indian expatriates and offer all PHD and Masters student places to any Iranian, Iraqi, Sudanese, Nigerian, Mauritian, Yemeni, etc etc except the unwanted pendatang who somehow are citizens of this country.

I bet if LKS applies to do a PhD at UM, he will be turned down flat.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:40 pm

I remember attending a University Council meeting at a top-ten UK Uni some years ago. The rules over funding had been changed again, and there was a scramble to make sure that the Uni would take advantage of whatever benefits the change brought. The VC had a background in Marketing and promoted the idea of “Recruiting students from those sectors of the community which do not have a tradition of Higher Education”. A prof from Physics put his hand up, and when invited to, asked “Do you mean stupid people?”

I know, I know, not really relevant.

10. #10 by ban ban on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:40 pm

Put away the ranking, UM’s score is 56.5.
    What does 56.5 mean?

In Malaysia, general passing marks are 40 for C.
    UPSR: 56.5 -> C
    PMR: 56.5 -> C
    SPM:56.5 -> C
    STPM/University (50 marks for C)
    56.5 -> 2.50/4.00 -> C+

In Westerns, though varies, general passing marks are (50 for D) and (60 for C).
    A-Level: 56.5 -> D
    ECTS: 56.5 -> D

We can’t blame the others but ourselves!

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:53 pm

What will the UMNOputras say about NUS being in the top 30, and Universiti Malaya at 180 ? The mainstream press predictably harped on the “success” of UM moving up 50 places, but never said anything constructive about the other universities.

If you are not in the Top 100, you are not a sought-after university. That’s the stark reality of today’s educational demands and standards.

12. #12 by Godfather on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:55 pm

The rankings are acceptable for Bolehland because that’s all they aspire to be. They all aspire to be jaguh kampung. Big fish in a (very) small pond. I tell all my friends that even if they have to beg, borrow or steal, they must send their children overseas.

13. #13 by Godfather on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 2:57 pm

Leave the local universities to the small-minded people – small-minded lecturers, small-minded administrators, small-minded ministers. Amongst the blind, the one-eyed is king.

14. #14 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 3:28 pm

small-minded people
    I don’t think you’re being entirely fair. When I came here, I did look into applying for a job at a local Uni. I put in a lot of work into trying to get a flavour of the research that was going on in all the Universities, and what working for one might be like. There was this one guy working in a Uni in Sarawak, I think, who seemed to be an excellent academic. So they’re not all small minded. I just had to stick up for him, just in case he’s offended by your generalisation.

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 3:51 pm

I was in town and got an invite to visit MU on this well, exciting day for them. I was greeted with news upon my arrival that MU “made it” into the list and my host was somewhat overjoyed.

There is a carnival of sorts taking place in the Varsity today the whole day and things are a bit relaxed for everyone.

First there was this big food fair all around the students building area with lots of food, food, and more food, crafts and ornaments. Must be about 60 stalls run by students from all faculties showing off their entrepreneurial and cooking skills. Very persistent and enthusiastic lot, having lots of fun. Some even dressed up for the occasion. Good for them.

There was just about all kinds of food from all over the world, Japanese, Korean, Middle Eastern and of course from all parts of Malaysia. I had the opportunity to savour something from Uzbekistan, Iran and Lebanon. Also Miss Chan sold me some of her “special” home-made puddings and sweetmeats which her mother taught her. Not bad. Really. And Miss Sabah asked me to try their round ball ‘krupok”. Some stalls specialised in “environment friendly” and “healthy” food and drinks which came in all sorts of colours, green mainly.

The students were really enjoying themselves. Somebody told me its on again tomorrow so I might drop in again if I can find some time and an excuse. And readers who might be interested, hey, give these kids a chance and come patronise them today or tomorrow.

Next was a visit to the main library which was having its “Open House cum Hari Raya” celebrations. There were lots of events organised by the staff and department all day long.

There was a very big crowd starting right from the entrance from about 9 am onwards. Many must have “skipped” lectures, a forgivable offence today . This place was more like a busy fish market today with music blaring out of speakers instead of being a quiet library but, hey, its their Open Day.

You could literally take away books for free, albeit books that they don’t need or are a bit dated. Lots of old medical journals and reports and books with Cyrillic script if it takes your fancy. I got a copy of The Journal of the Royal College of General Physicians, Volume 38, Number 307 from February 1988, still in MINT condition. Somebody picked up a book on “The Millionaires of Sabah”. I wonder who wrote it, and why. Then there were a lot of economic reports and journals etc etc from waaaaaaay baaack then.

There were traditional local games demonstrated by some school girls, games and lucky draws (I didn’t win) and also film shows – Braveheart, Titanic and Forrest Gump. And a photo exhibition and Info-Hunt in the library.

Then you have the usual operators trying to get you to sign up for their internet and handphone packages. (Rascals). I had a chance to speak to a hippie looking Iranian lecturer and supervisor who seems to be a mentor for the Iranian crowd who are kind of cliquish and keep to themselves. But don’t we all flock together when we are way on our own? We tend to find and form our own support groups don’t you think? They look harmless.

Then, taddaaaaa!! There was a message. Come and join us for (free) lunch at the car park. Boy, was the place full of hungry students of all nationalities and staff enjoying the Hari Raya Open House makan. Plenty of food and drinks and the hosts were very hospitable. I spied Prof. Khoo KK making a pass-by looking surprised if not amazed.

Ah well. The lion dance then started at the student’s food fair side which caught the attention of many. Some left after their food to go to the other celebration.

Well, it was time for me to say my farewells to my friend and his friends. And as I left the campus and the celebrations behind, I just thought. It must be a coincidence that they have some sort of celebrations on today. Number 180? Ah. It’s just a number, for today.

16. #16 by Cinapek on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 4:47 pm

Too early to rejoice. Could be just a flash in the pan. Believe it only when you see a sustainable improvement. Because knowing Bolehland style, they will think they have conquered the world and will sit back and brag about it. They will fail to realise it gets harder as you go up higher and it is even harder to stay there.

17. #17 by pgsilai on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 5:00 pm

http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/Rankings2009-Top200.html go here to view the ranking. Not too bad but still far compare to our neighbour down south.

18. #18 by GilaPolitic on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 5:41 pm

Rank 2009 2008
    UM 180 230
    UKM 291 250
    USM 314 313
    UTM 320 356
    UPM 345 320

Overall, you can read the entire universities ranking have declined except UM. What a shame ?

A survey conducted by independent pollster Merdeka Centre showed that the number of Malaysians satisfied with Najib’s performance had dropped to 56 percent from 65 percent in mid-June 2009. What a BIG SHAME ?

Malaysia Mana Boleh -1Malaysia Cakap Kosong !

19. #19 by boh-liao on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 6:08 pm

The former lady VC and current VC did put efforts in improving UM’s ranking
    Up 50 spots, quite a quantum leap, congrats
    If BN politicians don’t campur tangan n kacau
    There may be hope yet for UM
    Anyway, we will see what’s next in 2010
    Mana apa itu only-Bumi-students-or-over-my-dead-body UiTM?

20. #20 by digard on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 6:38 pm

With mixed feelings that I read this. The local IPTAs have spent millions, and much worse, created a frenzy about so-called ‘quality measures’, that the staff has to prepare and undergo one audit after the other. At least, in the case of UPM it has shown its limited effect. Though also UM does not rise through those so-called quality assurances, but by twisting the student-staff ration, get plenty of foreign students, etc.
    Quality measures for the sake of conducting them hasn’t helped a single one of the IPTAs; rather brought them down further. No wonder, if the academicians have to do chore administrative work daily, they have less time for academic work.
    Yes, Nik Mustapha, I talk to you. For example. Among others.

21. #21 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 8:55 pm

How to change the proportion of various races in boleh universities? Unless the government started firing some of the bumi professors, else where do they find the spots for the non-bumi? Singapore and China, for example, are primarily one race in the universities, yet they have a better ranking.

22. #22 by monsterball on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 9:07 pm

Under UMNO..educational system is like a yoyo…….up slightly…down so much…..but never up and be constantly upwards..getting better and better. It is very inconsistent and unreliable.
    If ever UMNO wins 13th GE..lecturers that are loyal to UMNO…more important than qualifications.
    It all depends on 13th GE result..to change the government and stop all race and religion…double standards way of governing.
    You can say…the improvements are due to strong oppositions….watching UMNO like a hawk.

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 9:52 pm

one thing i know, i wudn’t send any of my sons or daughters or grandchildren to any institution that is below 100 placings.

Why? Waste of time if u spend so many years lkearning from inferior teachers.

After all u hv only 1 Life to live. & U only do yr particular degree once. Right?

24. #24 by alikim on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 10:17 pm

Don’t you think it is easier to fool and get support from “not so well trained” graduates ?
    It does not worry Umnoputras at all as long as they can send their children to oversea-universities and continue to rule.

25. #25 by casper on Thursday, 8 October 2009 - 10:23 pm

Solution to the malaise is simple isn’t it ?

UMNO often likes to regale itself for giving the opportunity to students(Malay especially) to proceed with their education up to tertiary level.

Often, tales of hardship from past generation is highlighted ie. walking 20 miles to school and back, no water/electricity, no food during recess etc. And for that, we should all say “terima-kasih” to UMNO but unfortunately, the growing numbers of discontent works against the interest of UMNO.

Many students have come to realise(albeit too late) that there is no security once they graduate and try enter the job market. Worst case, no job opportunity coupled with student loan that needs to be repaid. Alamak Alapak !!!!

Proof of pudding is in its eating as they say. The rankings mean nothing if students can’t find gainful employment and try apply what they have been trained for through the years and on both counts, the many institutions of higher learning fail miserably. It is time to separate politics from the business of education.

UMNO’ s influence has been all encompassing and if we were to chart the downward spiral of UM’s ranking, the chart moves downwards just as UMNO’s influence increases. Not hard to fathom isn’t is ? What more proof do we need ? And just to add salt to the wound – how is it that Mrs.Najib Gasak is a Chancellor ? If I’m not mistaken, Mrs.Dollah Badawi nee Jeanne Danker is also a Chancellor of some institution.

There lays the problem folks !

26. #26 by raven77 on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 12:08 am

KPI is met. Switch off the lights and wait for next year.

27. #27 by johnnypok on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 3:13 am

Previously we had a VC who looks like a “mat salleh” and he must be the only qualified one so far.

And, previously, most of the lecturers are genuinely qualified, but NOT now!

And, previously, all the intakes are real good students, but not now!

And, previously, free from politics!

28. #28 by Joekl on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 6:40 am

What happen to USM, our APEX University after one year receiving the APEX status? Remember the goal of APEX University is to reach Top 100 in 5 years time. Now after one year, instead of improving, USM is declining from 313 in 2008 to 314 in 2009 in THE QS world university ranking. If the trend continues, I am not surprised to see USM to drop outside Top 400 in 5 years time.

29. #29 by monsterball on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 8:38 am

Only University of Malaya improved from a Tong sampah university…..leaving 50 behind….but it is still a tong sampah university.
    The others have gathered more tong sampahs …as all increased the rank to be a better tong sampah universities.
    Yet…our tong sampah PM wants to teach the world how to unite.
    Anyway…the whole world knows majority Malaysians are no more fools..to be fooled by a corrupted weird fool.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 9:29 am

NR n MY must pressurise the THES-QS people to include ISO certification into consideration of World Universities Rankings
    Unlike Harvard & Cambridge, most, if not all, public universities in Malaysia have o-la-la ISO
    UM has MS ISO 9001:2000 certification, quality ada man, superior one

31. #31 by Loh on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 11:15 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL :one thing i know, i wudn’t send any of my sons or daughters or grandchildren to any institution that is below 100 placings.
    Why? Waste of time if u spend so many years lkearning from inferior teachers.
    After all u hv only 1 Life to live. & U only do yr particular degree once. Right?

I suppose that is the reason why opposition to racist intake of students to Malaysian universities is not as keenly felt now than it was when NEP started. The only university then was of international standard. With the racist policy in both students and staff intake, the ranking of the universities in Malaysia can only fall. Yes, it might be more beneficial to do something else rather than spending time in local universities and ended up as unemployable graduates. In that sense the opportunity denied in entering local university is not that valuable. The university can try what they please, but eventually it is human resources that determine the quality and hence the ranking. It is good that racial discriminatory policy has a price, and the tormentors do not win them all.

Is that Ah Q talking?

32. #32 by taiking on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 12:45 pm

Loh, that is pragmatism man. Pragmatism. Not Ah Q. Your horse is dead and your only option is to walk on without the horse.

33. #33 by limkamput on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 1:38 pm

Ranking ratings are lagging indicators not leading indicators. By the time a rating with more than 100 comes up, the university is as good as gone. So what if we have a university that is ranked better than Timbuktu University or Idon’tgo University?

In addition to universities, I think we should closely watch those half baked private colleges churning “qualified” nurses and pharmaceutical assistants. Someday, someone is going to die for this. Please also take note of private medical colleges who accept students to do medicine with Biology 7, Chemistry 8 and Physics 8 in their SPM results. If you think I made this up, please check it out.

34. #34 by taiking on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 4:19 pm

Idiots. Dont they know anything about data packaging and presentation? Ban publication of the entire ranking list and block all access to sites showing the list. Then through umno’s faithful msm publish the fact that MU is the third best uni in south east asia (after nus and ntu). That way I would bet my last sperm that umno would go on ruling the country for the next half century.

35. #35 by katdog on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 6:50 pm

This shows you what an incredible difference the right leadership makes.

Prof Gauth Jasmon is an excellent academic administrator. Under his care MMU became one of the leading local universities producing some of the best graduates i have met.

See what a remarkable difference he has made after taking over UM. UM has jumped from 230 to 180.

This is the same guy that tried to rename the indian studies department to department of Indian and South Asian studies to broaden its scope but was unfortunately blasted by useless MIC goons for that.

And to think that LKS had opposed the appointment of Gauth Jasmon to UM back then.

36. #36 by Joekl on Friday, 9 October 2009 - 11:15 pm

Well, whatever it is, the Universities need to show their results to the Malaysian public since research money come from the taxpayers. What is the use if so much money goes to our APEX University in exchange of drop in ranking and production of unemployed graduates? I think they will continue to question the methodology of THE QS ranking and never acknowledge that their standard is low. Every year, USM said they would look for ways to improve their ranking but why they keep on declining? Why? We want the answer as most research money will go to the University. In 2007, 2008 and 2009, USM was ranked 307, 313 and 314 respectively. So what about in the future? 320 to 360 to out of Top 400? Any solution to stop the decline?

37. #37 by usmstudent on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 3:00 am

the ranking is nothing for me.. apex is nothing, what i want is learning, who cares the bumiputras’ result. i just hope someday when i graduate, malaysia have stable economy, everyone is not in poverty, everyone has job, no war, only peace… and stability of politics is achieved. By the way i like USM, i love USM… im proud of getting in. i experience differences here… and its just the 1st year intake of apex students, and im one of these APEXs, i believe we, APEXs can improve USM ranking as well, for those who are insulting local universities, just go to oversea, but with condition you or your children are really good enough, else, shut the hell up…

38. #38 by taiking on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 10:11 am

Wow usmstudent. Lets put a pin in that statement of yours: “we, APEXs can improve USM ranking as well”. We shall revisit this statement one year from now. Deal?

39. #39 by boh-liao on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 11:03 am

Student from apex
    So much bitterness, venom, pride n prejudice, boastfulness
    No good, no good
    Pride goes before a fall, no hear this before ah

40. #40 by boh-liao on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 11:26 am

Watch out, UM n apex USM
    Universiti Tun Abdul Razak was commanded by NR, numero uno Umnoputra, to be second to none
    Be a boutique university n focus on producing a small number of students of high quality
    Boomz, just like that, so easy to be the 1University

41. #41 by Joekl on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 11:36 am

This is the attitude of what we call ‘Jaguh Kampung’ students. Being proud and boastful despite the fact that his University is declining. If you are really good, then you have to prove it. Don’t just ‘cakap kosong saja’. Ranking is a way to show the result. University of Indonesia is at number 201, Universitas Gadjah Mada is at 250. Ateneo de Manila and University of Phillipines are within top 300. Tell me is our APEX University worst than these Universities? When we fail, we have to find the solution not to be so boasful and never recognize criticism. Every year you say you will improve but where is that? This is a very serious issue and unless we arrest the decline of the University, this will go on. Plus a bunch of boastful students will make matter even worst. Forget about next year ranking with such a boastful attitude.

42. #42 by boh-liao on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:19 pm

“By the way i like USM, i love USM… im proud of getting in. i experience differences here… and its just the 1st year intake of apex students”
    Is this a frog singing underneath a tempurung?
    Young guy, lots of ppl feel so sad for you
    While we rejoice with you for getting into, ahem, the Apex ranked-below-300 uni
    We are saddened by the fact that you have such a blinkered attitude n vision
    Just less than 6 months into your new uni n with no experience in other truly top uni
    You seemed to be over the moon for your good fortune to be in the Apex uni
    Superiority complex at work eh
    You experienced differences there
    Compared with what other experiences – school, asasi sains, polytechnic, community college, matriculation
    OR Harvard, Cambridge, ICL, UCL, HKU, NUS, NTU
    LOL grow up, be humble, n get out of your tempurung
    Go n do an exchange semester in a truly top uni n see if you can still sing your ‘I like USM, I luv USM’ OB Cha Cha

43. #43 by Joekl on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 4:08 am

It is so sad to see students who still live in ‘tempurung’. The frogs prefer to sleep inside the ‘tempurung’ and ignore what happen outside the world. He thinks that the world is as big as ‘tempurung’ only. Since he can jump inside the ‘tempurung’ from a small flower pot, he feels that he is the best of the world. I wonder if a student from Cambridge read the comment, will he reply ‘the ranking is nothing for me.. who care about the negro results’? So immature and racist. Learn to accept constructive criticism for future improvement, young boy.

44. #44 by grkumar on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 4:07 pm

These are highly subjective ratings and rankings which do not reflect the reality on the ground but the need to reinforce popular perceptions of greatness where it may not necessarily exist anymore.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6694143975371488739#docid=5843581086919765634

There are many flaws in the THES results. For instance their ranking of the LSE and Kings College separately when these are but colleges within the University of London says something about their idea of what constitutes a university.

Additionally they rank and rate universities for their contribution in monetray terms towards research rather than for the outcomes in practical terms they produce with their educational strategies.

Reputations are all about “Good Reputations” and not about their hidden failures. Neither is reputation about genuine seminal contributions to society but of populist perceptions about the quality of universities that enjoyed a reputation created by dominant powers when they had charge. Their historical reputations and maintaining it.

Check out the Youtube of a 60 Minutes documentary about one of the world’s best universities in practical and proved terms.

They now have special departments in the world’s largest and most powerful businesses to recruit students prior to their graduation from this institution.

Goldman Sachs, Bechtel, Exxon Mobile, Caltex, Citibank, Pepsi Cola, Microsoft and Apple and many others including NASA where 32% of its engineers for a while have come from this particular institution.

Harvard won’t for instance tell you about Warwick Fairfax of the Fairfax publishing empire who graduated from their institution with an MBA then bankrupted his family empire from a $2 billion inheritance to a minus $2 billion tragedy in 1990. All of this with the benefit of his Harvard MBA. His bankers were likewise Cambridge, Melbourne, Monash and Harvard graduates.

Neither will they tell you that Dr. Tim Marcus Clarke formerly of the State Bank of Adelaide likewise had bankrupted a state bank of one of the richest countries in the world, Australia with his Harvard Phd when bankruptcy was an impossibility then. The story goes on a on if you have the time to research.

So don’t be too tough on yourselves if you are not recognsied by what may be a mediocre money ranked clique.

Professor Robinson 5 years ago the Vice Chancellor of Monash University was convicted of academic fraud through plagiarism of somene elses work.

Many Asians dominate that university. Says little for the university and even less for the students who continue to slavishly enroll there.

Gopal Raj Kumar

45. #45 by Loh on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:51 pm

With the examples given one might feel relieved no being a graduate of Harvard, Cambridge, Melbourne or Monash.