Muhyiddin should stop gimmick of playing “bad cop” to Najib’s “good cop” making the most outrageous statements

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin should stop the gimmick of playing “bad cop” to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s “good cop”, making the most outrageous statements which are a total mockery of the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” slogan.

Muhyiddin is already notorious for his comment on the A (N1H1) pandemic, which has rapidly raised the death toll to 17 fatalities after the first death two weeks ago with the total cumulative cases mounting to 1,525.

Malaysians will long remember his “Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety” remark just as they will not easily forget Muhyiddin’s open admission after being appointed Education Minister that he did not know that English was not a compulsory pass subject for Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) although he had been Cabinet Minister for 14 years and Johore Mentri Besar for nine years!

Muhyiddin’s latest outrageous statement is the one from Perth that the death threat made against the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief is politically-motivated and an attempt to bring down the institution and cause the people to lose confidence in it.

I condemn in no uncertain terms the death threat made to the MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said over the death of DAP political aide Teoh Beng Hock, just as I condemn in the strongest possible terms those responsible for Teoh’s mysterious death at the MACC headquarters on July 16 and demand that those who cause Teoh’s death be brought to justice.

But Muhyiddin was acting in a most irresponsible manner and completely unworthy of a Deputy Prime Minister in making baseless allegations of a political conspiracy to destroy the MACC by causing the people to lose confidence in it and portraying the death threat to Ahmad Said as the centerpiece of such a political conspiracy.

Does Muhyiddin has any evidence to justify such irresponsible allegations apart from the figments of his fevered imagination?

If Muhyiddin has evidence that the death threat to the MACC Chief Commissioner is politically motivated designed to destroy the MACC, why hasn’t he lodged an official police report and named names?

DAP and Pakatan Rakyat leaders do not want to destroy the MACC as we want it to return to its statutory objective to be an effective and credible commission to declare war on corruption and not deviate from it and instead is declaring war on the Pakatan Rakyat
There can be no doubt that public confidence in the seven-month-old MACC is at a nadir, even lower than the lowest point ever plumbed by its predecessor, the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) in its 41-year history from 1967-2008.
This public crisis of confidence marking the very birth of the MACC is largely the MACC’s own making and has nothing to do with any politically-motivated conspiracy by the Pakatan Rakyat to cause the people to lose confidence in it.
There are two primary reasons for the crisis of confidence faced by MACC viz:
• MACC’s partiality and bias against the Pakatan Rakyat and its record of being highly protective of top Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders; and
• The mysterious death of Teoh Boon Hock at MACC headquarters for which no single MACC officer from Ahmad Said downwards have shown any remorse or compassion.

DAP and Pakatan Rakyat want a MACC which is independent, efficient and professional in spearheading the war against corruption to place Malaysia among the top-ranking nations internationally recognized and respected for its integrity and anti-corruption prowess and not one which has degenerated into a catspaw of Umno and Barisan Nasional to wage war against the Pakatan Rakyat while “grand corruption” in high political places remain unchecked.

1. #1 by GreenBug on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 4:01 pm

Do no forget that Muhyiddin was also the main perpetrator who pressured the ex-PM Pak Lah to make a hasty retreat. Therefore, he is also in a hurry to have his time sitting on the PM’s seat.

Muhyiddin was also known to have paid a visit to Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim after the latter resigned as DPM in 1998 saying “I am a friend not on during good times…”

Be careful of this man, he has not demonstrated food principles, be very careful fellow Malaysians.

2. #2 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 4:16 pm

3. #3 by ekompute on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 4:17 pm

The sound of the name “Muhyiddin” makes me want to vomit. So also many Johorians who know his background. Sounds like “Mujahideen” but he is more well-known as the guzzler than ahem…

4. #4 by vsp on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 4:44 pm

This shows that Najib’s authority is very weak because he has a lot of very heavy baggages to carry. His deputy, Muhyiddin, with every opportunity will spout out a completely different version of what Najib is trying to promote. He is sensing blood and he knows that Najib has a very difficult task to win confidence from the people. He is just one step away from the top post and what better way to claim the prize than to act in a racialist manner? This is a proven method of rising to power the UMNO way. Mahathir has proven it.

The fact that Utusan Malaysia has been acting seditiously and mockingly against the “1 Malaysia” concept has not moved the hands of Najib.

Another matter is the extension of the IGP which Najib will buckle to the pressure exerted by Musa Hassan. Musa Hassan has done many yeoman services for Najib and now it’s payback time. Remember Musa Hassan is privy to the many secrets of Najib and I think he is reminding Najib that he should enjoy another second term as the top man in the Police force, failing which, mysterious news about Najib will start coming out in the blogsphere and the gossip mills.

I say, Najib is in deep trouble and his very own people are playing games in front of his face and not at his back and he could not do anything about it!

5. #5 by ekompute on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 5:10 pm

Wow, VSP… that was a fantastic piece of analysis. Never crossed my mind that he had his foot caught… no wonder he is being led by the nose.

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 5:36 pm

A death threat has been made against the MACC chief and yet the country’s top cop is saying nothing and doing nothing. Or maybe he knows that that the DPM is sprouting nonsense like when he was MBJ?

7. #7 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 5:49 pm

The government of the Little Red Dot is made up of disciplined and no nonsense leaders. Malaysian government leaders tell jokes and spin stories. There is the difference, why? Could it be that they were all taught by the same spin doctor-MM?

8. #8 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 6:03 pm

Heard from quite a number of Malays in Johor Bahru that Haji Muhyiddin Yassin will soon take over from Najib Razak. The reason they give is that Najib is not fit to be PM because of his “bad record. Orang Cina Tak tahu. Bukan Kapal selam atau Altantuuya saja. Lebih banyak dosa yang dia buat……………….”

What kind of other dosa, I wonder.

9. #9 by rabbit on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 6:11 pm

hahaha.. good story man.. ghost play ghost now. anyway.. chinise ghost mth is coming lor/

10. #10 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 7:48 pm

I am back

11. #11 by yhsiew on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 8:29 pm

The more Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin opens his mouth, the more I find him unsuitable to be the Deputy Prime Minister.

12. #12 by Ellis on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 8:42 pm

It doesn’t make sense for one to play bad cop especially when he has ambition to become the country’s number one.

13. #13 by DAP man on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 8:54 pm

I was told Muhyiddin was a mere technician in an electronics company in the 1970s when his mentor, the late Tan Sri Othman Saat invited him to join UMNO and taught him the ‘tricks of the trade’. He later went on to challenge Tan Sri Othman and defeated him for the Pagoh UMNO divisional post.
    Othman once described him as an ungrateful person who would do anything to gain power and fame.
    Remember he also humiliated Abdullah and made him step down. Now he is eying Najibs post and hoping if Najib is forced down he can become the next PM.
    His statements since becoming DPM has turned his non-Malay admirers away from him.
    This is a very ambitious man.

14. #14 by c730427 on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 10:10 pm

His comments only put himself, UMNO and the people he represent into shame!

DPM is a very important man in this country. Example, what if a mother tell his children the same statement.

What a pariah.

15. #15 by limkamput on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 10:41 pm

Sorry, off topic.

//Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said today he would have no further meetings with the residents of Kampung Buah Pala after they rejected an offer of a double-storey terrace house for each family.//

Yes, this is the way to go. Do what is reasonable and leave the rest. The government must do what is right and not what is most popular. I think all PR leaders should read Lee Kuan Yew’s memoir on the initial years of Singapore.

16. #16 by chengho on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 10:43 pm

T S M the best deputy for Najib , their role play is perfect infact Anwar missed TSM intelligent

17. #17 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 11:12 pm

chengho says:

“TSM best deputy for Najib”

This time I agree with you. They sure make a good team because both are branded by MM as half-past-six.

18. #18 by GreenBug on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 11:23 pm

Its good there is ‘mistrust’ between the two top honchos, let them spend more time and energy outguessing one another so that the rest of the PR team can focus on running the states. UMNO can implode for all I care…

19. #19 by GreenBug on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 11:28 pm

The latest that Penang CM LGE washed his hands off the Kg Buah Pala case is really the right thing to do.

Some of us have slogged blood, sweat and tears to go thru varsity and worked like a cow for 30 years and we barely have paid for our terraced house. These Kg Buah Pala residents have been offered a terraced house and now they demand the 2.4 acres land next to their kampong to rear cows and further compensation of RM3.5 million each family??? Hey ello, most of us don’t even have RM1 million after slogging 30 years…

Good decision YB Lim GE, you have done what is right and done your best. No one will blame you now for trying to help…

20. #20 by ablastine on Sunday, 9 August 2009 - 1:27 am

Good work LGE for not submitting to the blackmailer of KG Pala and their cronies at Hindraf. You may have offended them but you have gained the respect on an entire nation. RM 3.5 million compensation drawn from the people’s coffer for not squatting on illegal land is simply ridiculous. Rejecting a free double storey terrace house which cost hundreds of thousand ringgit is equally disgusting. Please do not look
    back and let them rot. They do not deserve the sympathy.

21. #21 by ablastine on Sunday, 9 August 2009 - 1:34 am

Muhyiddin taking over from Najib? I think not so soon. All Najib need to do is to give that fella enough rope and he will hang himself.
    Everytime this Muhyidding chap opens his stupid mouth, the noose becomes tighter.

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 9 August 2009 - 1:36 am

Did you hear the latest news about how parents and teachers are being treated like kids by the Ministry of Education?
    I guess MY has lost a lot of support from the more influential groups with this moronic decision to ban a meeting.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakini-suggests-ministry-of.html

23. #23 by boh-liao on Sunday, 9 August 2009 - 9:20 am

MY is in a hurry
    NR has completed RAHMAN
    MY wants to start MMKUTTY, cepat cepat
    MY is takdir to be the first M

24. #24 by novice101 on Sunday, 9 August 2009 - 11:13 pm

Moderator, please delete my earlier posting as it was incomplete.

I don’t think Muyhiddin has taken on this role willingly for he obviously harbours ambition to be the PM one day.

It is obvious that he has been asked to assume the role so that Umno can protect its stff with the Malay rakyat.

This is a devious ploy cooked up by Umno to hoodwink both the non-Malays and the Malays. Najib now plays the stateman and play to the non-Malay and international galleries. Muyhiddin plays to the grassroot Umno members so that Umno will appear to be their champion.

So be beware of Najib!!!