Musa’s gift to Najib in exchange for another term as IGP packaged as “elixir of life” to win next general elections but may really be a “poisoned chalice”

Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s last month as Inspector-General of Police in his two-year renewed term is not to act as the country’s Top Cop to draw up a blueprint and National Action Plan to roll back the tide of crime in the past five years but as a politician to lobby for another two-year renewal as IGP next month.

In exchange for another term as IGP, Musa has cleverly packaged to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak an “elixir of life” to win the next general elections but it may really be a “poisoned chalice”.

Musa is offering something many Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders have been dreaming of – to finish off the Opposition in one stroke.

This is a prospect Musa is holding out to the Prime Minister – to knock out the Pakatan Rakyat leaders from PKR, DAP and PAS in one blow by arresting and charging Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Datuk Seri Hadi Awang and I for “masterminding” last Saturday’s peaceful gathering in Kuala Lumpur of tens of thousands of Malaysians demanding for the abolition of the Internal Security Act.

In the past five years, crime in the country has become so endemic that it runs the risk of becoming a pandemic like the current A (H1N1) flu pandemic, undermining the country’s international competitiveness and depriving Malaysians, tourists and investors the two most important fundamental rights – the right to be free from crime and to be free from the fear of crime as the streets, public places and the privacy of homes are no more safe and secure from crime!

But to Musa, the three biggest “crooks” in the country are Anwar, Hadi and Lim Kit Siang!

Recently, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz had his own list of the “three crooks”, viz former Prime Minister Tun Mahathir, former IGP Tun Hanif Omar and former Attorney-General Tan Sri Abu Talib Othman.

In another three weeks, Malaysians will be celebrating our 52nd National Day and it is tragic that Malaysian nation-building has come to such a pass that those whom the powers-that-be regard as “crooks” wield and command greater respect and authority from the masses than the formal leaders in government!

Musa is in the minority of those in the country who think that the future for Malaysia lies in turning the clock back, wipe out the opposition, and return to the era of virtual one-party rule of Umno hegemony under the pretence of a Barisan Nasional coalition.

The majority of Malaysians however believe that there is only hope for Malaysia in a highly competitive globalised world if the country evolves into a mature democracy with healthy and vibrant check-and-balance mechanisms for all the key institutions in the country as through the emergence of a two-coalition system.

The prospect that Musa is offering to Najib – the elimination of the leadership of the three Pakatan Rakyat parties – must be very mouth-watering and tempting, even quite irresistible to a few among those in power today but would be utterly abhorrent to the majority of patriotic and far-sighted Malaysians.

If Musa envisages himself as a great political strategist who could assure Najib’s victory in the next general election, he should all the more surrender all notions of wanting to have his term as IGP renewed for another two years and openly step into the political arena as an Umno standard-bearer in the next general elections and see how he would fare in the judgment of the electorate.

1. #1 by unknownboy on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 1:28 pm

Wiped him out before he wipes the Opposition Leaders away. What has he done for us in the last 5 years? If he is so good in politics, why not give up his tenure as the IGP, then join the politics then. Whip out his mastermind.

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 1:30 pm

To umno, the three biggest “crooks” in the country are Anwar, Hadi and Lim Kit Siang because

A.The above 3 each own RM24 million houses
    B.The above 3 are involved in the RM12.5 billion PKTZ scam
    C. The above 3 had c4ed the Mongolian lover of R. Bagind
    D. The above 3 have the potential to unseat umno in the 13 GE

3. #3 by LG on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 1:56 pm

If the service of IGP Musa is again renew, it plainly show there is a clear and evil conspiracy between UMNO and him to eliminate PR by brutal force and by all crooked means in the next election.

He has failed very badly both in the performance in the eradication of crimes and the improving of the police public’s image. Crimes has not only increased yearly but also increase in suspicous death of detainees in police custody and police brutally e.g. shown in firing so many tear gas, water canon, arresting so many people in the recent peaceful street demo on ISA. We innocent Malaysian citizens not only fear criminals but also the police.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 1:59 pm

k1980, you forgot a fifth choice, “none of the above”!

5. #5 by Joshua on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 3:44 pm

The crime rates sure to rise further when birds of the same feather flock together with so much already written in WWW.

Be reminded the scam of the indelible ink worth millions of Ringgit purchasedwhen the corrupted exEC Chairman Rashid announced the withdrawal together with the IGP and AG within a few days of polling. This idea of using the ink was declared months earlier. Why changed suddenly?

pw: Taublleb magill

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 4:27 pm

As I have said many times in Kit’s blog, a police official who is preoccupied or obsessed with politics is not fit to do policing. He should not “hog the seat” but step into politics and let others who are keen in policing to take over his place.

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 4:32 pm

Sooner or later, the “crooks” will be labelled as traitors of the race!!!

8. #8 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 4:34 pm

there are not many words in BN-UMNO dictionary. Either you are crooks or traitors!!!

9. #9 by k1980 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 7:42 pm

Crooks or traitors are for Opposition only. For umno, it’s either heroes or patriots, such as Saifool Pintu Belakang, Khir RM24jutaToyol, RazC4Bagond, ect.

10. #10 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 7:45 pm

Why Mr LKS you so concerned about this man. Your own house is in shambles. Let him do what he wants. As it is you already played into their hands with that stupid rally. What is you all are really taken away? Hero issit?

Look at that Black Blog? Its DEAD. Why? Because it was full of lies … you made a fuss about it but it died on its own within WEEKS. It was not because of you it died out. So you think this man will not die also on his own?

Go an get your house straight before you start to talk so much about others.

Where is your stand about the alcohol problem in Selangor? You have no guts to tackles problems within PR head on. You have never spoken up when such problems happen in PR.

You are very soon going to be like DSAI. Where is Karpal on this matter? You politicians are all the same. You wanna talk bad about BN but how much better are you, in essence you are all about the same! I feel disgusted, a vote WASTED!!!

11. #11 by AtoZ on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:17 pm

Dear SpeakUp, Uncle KS Lim has done Malaysians big favours by commenting on the Black Blog. Without logical arguments and backings from him on Malaysians’ additional comments, you think Black Blog would have died off within weeks? NO..!! We need Uncle Lim’s experienced political reasoning to tell us the truths and fakes.
    How do you know if Uncle Lim did not do anything in-house on PR’s matters, like the cases that you mentioned? He probably had his discussions with his collegues….
    Would you choose to discuss your family matters in the blog or aloud ? I don’t think so…I stand corrected. I see that matters within PR is similar to family matters to Uncle Lim. We would not choose to make public internal discussions…Can you see that ??~!!!

12. #12 by AtoZ on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:33 pm

I had several experiences with traffic polices asking for bribes. On these occations, there were no signboards stating no entry or do not turn here or there…but was then stopped by those monsters. They hinted for the money and we in the car were able to read between their lines. On one case, i later, stood at the site for 30 minutes to observe how that fella (i refuse to call them police as they don’t fit to be called police) decide on who to ‘summon’. Real enough, he is selective. I asked him – Kenapa ***this, this this*** people don’t get summoned? Tak adil-ya…- He responded to me…..
    The police force…sigh..sigh.
    If the police force is independent and effecient, the TBH case would not have taken so long to find the real murderer.
    Having being so long-winded here, Musa is wasting many of our tax contributions. Get loss…guy…

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:34 pm

AtoZ … please the Black Blog died once the so called proof of misuse did not make sense and better still when the DNA does not match those 2 guys who the Black Blog author tried to implicate.

How I know LKS done nothing? Simple … nothing has changed! Its happening over and over and over and over again …

As for your Family Problem argument, then I find it fun that we speak openly about other people’s family but not our own la. Hahahahaha … come on. LKS can make a simple stand based on principles and not insult anyone, this man speaks very well. He chooses to insult BN non stop but not tackles issues within. How long will people stand for that?

I told many here Hannah Yeoh’s please to stay true to PR is because she heard from grass roots that people are fed up with PR. RPK spoke on it too. Today the new fights begin on issues by PAS in Selangor about beer … DAP in Penang because Jeff Ooi said the wrong thing. When will it end?

Can you see that? Tell me how you feel if you sit in a plane and you see the pilot, co-pilot and engineer arguing la?

We want PR to succeed but how can it like this? Even racist ADUN in Kulim is rewarded and not reprimanded.

Read this:

http://www.thenutgraph.com/indiscipline-within-pkr

Fair is fair ok … no double standards. PR is starting to have double standards. Its slowly seeping in.

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:36 pm

AtoZ :
    I had several experiences with traffic polices asking for bribes.

All of us have! This is common … that is our force … how great right?

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 1:54 am

I believe Musa Hassan is not that hard-up for the IGP’s post. Only that now is not the time for him to leave as he has yet to get hold of the Eurocopter deal for his son’s company.

16. #16 by lesliefkh on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 11:42 am

I believe Musa Hassan has something evidence to blackmail PM & Govt. to continue sustain his position in future like Mongolian murder,corruptions at highers levels,contracts partners..etc.
    If he not succeed, he will threaten to expose all evidence against his BN…
    He just nobody but greedy person..