What a shame, would Muhyiddin be another “Nero playing the fiddle while Rome burned” if he had been Health Minister and faced with two killer epidemics, A (H1N1) and dengue?

What a shame! The MCA Health Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai has to seek refuge in an UMNO leader to come to his defence in the face of criticism of his playing truant from his ministerial duties when Malaysians are faced with two killer epidemics – A(N1H1) and dengue – to the extent that there are people who liken him to “Nero playing the fiddle while Rome burned”!

And what a poor, outrageous and unprofessional defence.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin defended Liow’s Ministerial performance with the declaration: “Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety.”

Is this an admission and even confession by Muhyiddin that he would be another “Nero playing the fiddle while Rome burned” if he had been Health Minister and similarly faced with two killer epidemics, A (H1N1) and dengue?

Is this meant to be a testimonial that Liow had not fallen too far below the standards expected of the Ministers in the Najib Cabinet?

If so, the Malaysian Cabinet must have the lowest standards of performance expected of Ministers – no wonder the portfolio of KPI (Key Performance Index) of Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon has rapidly become a national joke!

Muhyiddin and Liow must be reminded that the two killer epidemics are no trivial matters to the people of Malaysia, especially as the death toll of f A(H1N1) flu has risen to eight from zero in a matter of two weeks, with the total number of recorded cases having shot up to 1,446 – with 574 imported cases while the rest being local transmissions.

The seventh victim was a 24-year-old native woman who died at the Miri Hospital’s intensive care unit, two weeks after giving birth to her first child. She was the first A(H1N1) fatality in Sarawak.

The eighth victim was a 51-year-old school teacher who died in Seremban on Sunday.

Let Muhyiddin, who is the chairman of the inter-ministerial committee for A(H1N1) and Health Minister Liow be deadly serious about the two killer epidemics as no Malaysian will take kindly to their taking lightly their responsibilities to protect them from the ravages of these two killer epidemics.

, ,

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 4:35 pm

Where can guarantee? What for? What can DPM or Health Minister do when the Sabah DCM sends his son to Austraia for holiday and comes back with the AH1N1 flu. So many Malaysians still went to Australia and HK etc for holidays knowing its bad enough there. You think as Malaysians we really care?

Then we have Health Ministry that says to doctors, if you report a positive AH1N1 case you need to be quarantined for 1 week. So close the clinic … then when not infected open clinic, then another one comes and is positive the clinic closes again. Bankrupt la … so you think the doctor will report? Not bad right? We have great ministers!

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 4:59 pm

KTKoon the Key Performance Index Minister is going to give A1s to all the ministers, just as the Exam Syndicate produces thousands of A1s SPM candidates year in and year out.

3. #3 by malaysia born on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 5:37 pm

I am frequent traveler and I would like to share my observations here.

In the beginning when the H1N1 virus struck, there was about 6 persons manning a few tables at the KLIA terminal. There was even those machines where our body temperature was measured. However wasn’t sure how effective the machines was though.

Another point that I wasn’t sure of was whether any of those 6 persons was medically qualified. Need not be a doctor, at least a nurse would do. If they was medically qualified, they sure wasn’t dressed like one.

A couple of weeks passed (4 weeks to be exact), the machine was gone and there was only 4 persons manning the few tables (and i am not even calling them counters).

One was standing at the front collecting and distributing those yellow forms that we were required to fill in on board the plane. Another person (a lady) was also doing the same thing a few meters behind.

The amazing thing was that these people was blindly collecting those yellow forms WITHOUT checking with the passengers details!

And oh yes! There was no machine to be seen at all.

So how does those Health Ministry staffers know who is having a high temperature? By looking at the forms?

For all you know, anyone could have had filled in the form with fictitious name and address!

Other countries that I travel to, we was also required to fill in those health declaration forms and the only difference was that it was collected by some officers who ACTUALLY took the trouble to double the details with our passport details!

On top of that, once we reached our overseas destinations, Health officials ACTUALLY boarded the plane and checked EVERY SINGLE ONE of the passengers!

Do we have it here in KLIA?

And Malaysians are scared of traveling because of contacting H1N1 overseas! Should have had banned Malaysians and foreigners from traveling to Malaysia with such pathetic checks at the airports!
    Now that’s what I call VIGILANT CHECK !

4. #4 by chengho on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 6:19 pm

Kit,

give your input not only critise….

5. #5 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 7:57 pm

Muhyiddin is more fiddle than Nero. He gets played (out) all the time.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 8:20 pm

“Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety.”
    =======================================

I am very surprised by Muhyiddin’s argument.

As Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) he should not have said these words – it is very unprofessional and it merely shows the DPM is trying to evade responsibility.

7. #7 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 8:35 pm

“Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety.”
    – before he was DPM was not required to speak a lot, I thought he was ok

– the more he opens his mouth, the more wanting I found him, from “ungrateful Chinese” to this….

I do not expect my ministers to issue guarantees (except perhaps letter of support to some obscure port thingy) but I expect the second top person in Malaysia to be more sensible with his words in a life and death issues

a simple, “we will take all necessary measures and while it may not guarantee 100% safety for all Malaysians, we as trustee of Malaysian voters and tax payers, will do our utmost to ensure we do as much as we possibly can.”

8. #8 by mut on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 8:43 pm

Well, here’s how NOT to do it as R Nadeswaran explains :

http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=36060

The article was a good laugh if the pandemic were not so serious.

Uncle Kit is right. BN Ministers fiddle and talk cock while the virus runs riot. Useless doesn’t even begin to describe Muhyiddin’s riposte. He must think the health authorities in other (developed) countries must follow the Malaysia Boleh way of filling forms as health precautions against the spread of H1N1.

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 8:53 pm

Well, Muhyiddin is a short-term DPM, so he can say what he likes and flex his muscless for as long as Najib wishes to humor him….just for a little while longer till Kerismuddin appears with his political dagger and then ascends to take over.

It’s Macbeth for you, Muhyiddin. So jangan cakap besar like u r d permanent DPM. For most malaysians wud remember this DPM was something like a bag carrier of little note when Anwar was the DPM.

10. #10 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 9:11 pm

On another topic:

“Selangor PAS wants the Pakatan state government to implement a blanket ban on the sale of alcohol in all Muslim-majority areas.” Malaysiakini

He says the ban applies only to Muslims. But why the ban? Muslims are not supposed to be drinking liquor to begin with? This interferes with the free speech of non-Muslims. Being non-Muslims and beer guzzlers they should be able to buy and drink beer anywhere.

Rural Malays have been drinking ‘beer’ made from nipah since time immemorial.

For non-Malays it is not the drinking but the intoxication and the disorderly behaviour and what it does that is the issue. We have laws for that.

11. #11 by raven77 on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 9:40 pm

Actually what Muhyuddin is trying to say is…what’s the big deal…let lah Rome burn for a few more days while Nero negotiates the contracts….

Remember…you are talking about a guy who virtually sold the whole of Johore when he was MB there….

Authorities in those countries initially affected by H1N1 distributed rapid test kits which have a 60% sensitivity and also the antivirals to all doctors.

Those testing positive are sent off to do the more sensitive PCR or viral culture tests. Depending on symptoms and if the test is positive even for the rapid test, antiviral treatment is given. Even those with symptoms, highly suspicious and the tests are negative are given antivirals.That’s how Mexico stopped the swine flu in its tracks although it woke up late….

In Malaysia…semua case mesti hantar Sungai Buloh or some GH..no rapid test available…all must wait for very very very accurate test done by IMR which can only do a couple of hundred cases a day…although it means you may be dead by then.

No rapid test kit…No antiviral medication…WHY?????

BECAUSE….KKM, Merican, Liow, Najib, EPU, Muhyuddin, Treasury, UMNO, MCA…all discussing which crony should get to supply the rapid test kit, Tamiflu and how much to mark up….they already closed the deal with India Ranbaxy’s Fluhalt…the first ever generic in the world which actually costs more then the original……

So be patient lahhhhh….

What are a few hundred H1N1 deaths while waiting for their decision…..

Meanwhile please follow the sandiwara story spun by their two specialist clowns from Sungai Buloh covering their DG’s asses in the NST, Star and Utusan Journals of Medicine….

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 10:36 pm

“Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety.” Muhyiddin.

What a pessimistic and defeatist attitude and person. He won’t even try. To think he might become PM.

The more he opens his mouth, the more worried I become. Do we have any confidence in this person?

13. #13 by yewming on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 10:49 pm

Dont worry…! muhyiddin will no more longer as DPM
    in the next 13 PRU…….

14. #14 by the reds on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 10:49 pm

Muhyiddin is so lame!!! When he campaigned for deputy president in UMNO, did he ever tell the UMNO members, if I were elected for the position, i cannot guarantee UMNO will not fall down in the next GE?

15. #15 by Jong on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 10:55 pm

“Even if I am health minister, I cannot guarantee your safety.” – Muhyiddin Yasin

– This idiot should have said, ” See like me even as Education Minister, I cannot guarantee our children a good education”.

Since becoming Deputy PM he has been a real irritant, nothing soothing, pleasant or sensible comes out of it whenever he opens his mouth.
    Malaysia will definitely be down the chute of doom with ‘leaders’ like him. He has provened to be no better than that Perak Snake Oil/Gambir salesman!

16. #16 by yewming on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 11:10 pm

I wander if he(muhyiddin) dare to say, even if i tourism minister,i cannot guarantee your safety to
    foreigner.(TOURIST)..
    I been observed him quite long,since he elected as DPM,he talk a lot than PM and kerismuddin,
    What kind leader of this…
    Did the Malaysians want this man future leader..

17. #17 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 11:47 pm

First of all i knew that the cabinet was a circus, they got all the underperforming, backbenchers, spineless, jokers, clowns, rejects to head the departments. Therefore you people should have seen it coming.

The education system is doomed in malaysia thanks to the above. Last i heard, a lot of well to do malaysians are sending their kids overseas for highschool itself, for obvious reasons.

the only solution to this parody is get the general election dates sooner and lets just get these dummies out for good! and hope for the best with whatever opposition talents available!

18. #18 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 11:53 pm

AnifaH said, “DPM post is a lucrative business”

19. #19 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 12:16 am

Muhyiddin? He used to be the Menteri Besar of Johor. Do you know why he was pulled away from the state to Federal?

20. #20 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 12:19 am

Jong says: “Since becoming Deputy PM he has been a real irritant, nothing soothing, pleasant or sensible comes out of it whenever he opens his mouth.
    Malaysia will definitely be down the chute of doom with ‘leaders’ like him.”

Hahaha, he will sell Malaysia like he sell Johor.

21. #21 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 12:36 am

Well he is doing as much damage to the education system as A(H1N1) fever is doing to the health system.
    And that affects hundreds of thousands of children who will end up with a poor grasp of English.
    So maybe he is trying to tell us he can’t guarantee a good education as the Education Minister.

22. #22 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 12:59 am

If Muhyiddin makes it to become Prime Minister of Malaysia, I would not be at all surprised that he becomes the Marcos of Malaysia. Marcos shifted the Central Bank of Philippines, or rather its contents, to Switzerland, LOL. It is therefore heartening to note that the RAHMAN Prophesy ends with an N and not an M.

23. #23 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:20 am

“Would Muhyiddin be another “Nero playing the fiddle while Rome burned”?

I doubt so. I heard he is Muslim.

24. #24 by Jong on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:43 am

Muslims don’t play fiddle or don’t makan suap, which is which? :D

25. #25 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:47 am

SpeakUp says: “Then we have Health Ministry that says to doctors, if you report a positive AH1N1 case you need to be quarantined for 1 week. So close the clinic … then when not infected open clinic, then another one comes and is positive the clinic closes again. Bankrupt la … so you think the doctor will report? Not bad right? We have great ministers!”

Well, that’s how the BN government reduce the number of reported cases of H1N1 and “solve” the problem.

26. #26 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:50 am

Jong :

You didn’t get the message. The Cantonese says: “When drawing a picture, you don’t have to draw every detail.” Don’t tell me every hair he has also I need to draw, LOL.

27. #27 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:58 am

Jong :

Okay, on a more serious note… I never heard before that he took up fiddle lessons. But I do know that my ex-company had to pay RM10,000 in cash just to make an appointment to see him when he was then the Menteri Besar of Johor. No cheques allowed… just solid cash. The company was reluctant to pay… so no appointment. Anyway, the secretary who scheduled the appointments said the money is for UMNO funds. So how can anyone say he makan suap, rite?

28. #28 by Jaswant on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 4:34 am

Najib plays his own fiddle when Rosmah is around. Rosmah likes to makan suap.

29. #29 by Jaswant on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 4:38 am

“The Cantonese says: “When drawing a picture, you don’t have to draw every detail.” Don’t tell me every hair he has also I need to draw, LOL.”

Chinese where got hair??

30. #30 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 5:25 am

Hi Jaswant, you are right… if by hair, you mean like baboons or orang utans.

31. #31 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 5:27 am

Jaswant :
    Najib plays his own fiddle when Rosmah is around. Rosmah likes to makan suap.

Can’t be true, Jaswant. Rosmah is a woman.

32. #32 by taiking on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 8:16 am

Listen to this oddity.

Government cannot guarantee our safety.

Yeah yeah. Who can guarantee anything anyway.

BUT dont forget. The umno gobermen guarantees profitability of all umnoputra privitisation contracts. Whether those contractual undertakings succeed or not, umnoputras’ pocket are sure to be full always. So where got incentive to work hard and to ensure good results.

Tak apa lah. Itu cara umno.

33. #33 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 8:29 am

chengho :Kit,
    give your input not only critise….

LKS has been giving much input to all the problems faced by the country. If all the solutions were given by the opposition, what is the point of having the BN govt, why not just let the opposition taking over and save all the troubles and money paid to BN guys for not doing enough to protect the Rakyat!!!
    Chengho, you seemed to be confused who is the federal govt of the day!!!

34. #34 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 8:49 am

At least MY was honoust enough to tell the Rakyat that he and BN govt are not competent and cannot guarantee anything!!! And if the Rakyat still wanted to vote them in the next GE, they should not blame BN govt if they died of diseases, hunger, floods, thefts, under police/MACC custody, accidents, air polution, robberies etc and all the crimes and evils of the land!!!

35. #35 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 11:06 am

Honesty is one thing but if MY were in Singapore, he won’t last one more minute as Minister after saying what he said, LOL. Whatever we may say of LKY, he did keep Singapore in good hands.

But in good old Malaysia, even monkeys qualify to be Ministers so long as they are BN, more particularly UMNO, members and know how to bodek. And if we, the rakyat, still doesn’t wake up and continue to vote them into power, we have no one else to blame but ourselves.

36. #36 by ekompute on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 11:08 am

Soli for the glamar. I note many glamatikal mistakes in my last post, LOL.

37. #37 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 11:43 am

I Love Malaysia … eeerrr … this time ChengHo is correct, I have stated it MANY MANY times in the past. LKS DOES NOT always have input. Its 75% challenges and putting others down, not that LKS is wrong but can he be MORE constructive?

For the AH1N1 I have not seen any proposal by LKS at all. Let’s be fair to ChengHo on this one.

38. #38 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 1:53 pm

Muhyiddin’s brain is filled with shit.

All his policies and statements is trying to please Najib. He knows Najib likes to read so he proposed setting up a Booktown(Kota Buku). He knows Najib loves English so he tried to make a must-pass subject in SPM.

On the other hand, he defamed Anwar and acted as the hero of Malay. Shame on you, DPM of Malaysia.

39. #39 by charlieKC on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 7:35 pm

When I was bitten and sufferred Dangue. First time in my life, I admitted myself to GH-KL emergency, Paid RM1/= and was told Dangue had no cure. No Admission, practised Doctor told me midnight, I check in the next day, and i should drink plenty of water. My blood counter was not considered deadly low. But rashes and fever….I had gone through that without paying 2000RM private treatment, all in RM3/= for three visits, then I realised many issues among us, among our Local govt (not doing their cleaning and control jobs), Our non-serious of medical cares (one assume i may go private clinics because the life death option), I trusted the Govt Hospital!!, simple facts I was poor.
    H1N1, H3N2 is airborne, even many countries had gave up screening and control. it is indeed a very costly exercises, All HUMAN BEING must accept the fact that, Human Race and Bacteria-Virus and co-exists, and over years, the massive human death is unavoid, simply as you study the historical epidemic tranding since 1819…Many web articles we can read. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Influenza_A_virus_subtype_H1N1
    Govt and Oppositions should work hand in hand, People are judging from what MPs are doing.
    I happened to compliant to PKR-MP, but he blames Datuk Bandar KL, so the football games among them, will just pissed off with me, the next round I vote.

40. #40 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 10:43 pm

Gov wants to sabo the Opposition, the Opposition wants to hammer the Government … like someone said in this blog … Gajah lawan … guess who is in the middle la.

41. #41 by charlieKC on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 8:23 am

some issues can hentam, some issues must also work together to find the right way to solve the problems.
    We need to have a Mature Politics, afterall whatever the civil servants in POWER do nothing, the people anger will accumulate. If i elect the BN or PKR, i aspect the MPs to do their job with intelligence and strategies, you had won the seat and must work for the people, not go to the street and demo every now and then. I want tien chua to know, he must come and look at sentul more often….