Slim majority in Manek Urai – Pakatan Rakyat parties and leaders must go back to drawing board to sustain public confidence, support and hope

Although the formidable Umno challenge has been fobbed off, the slim Pas majority in Manek Urai by-election in Kelantan yesterday is nonetheless a shocker.

It is a salutary warning to Pakatan Rakyat parties and leaders who think that Pakatan Rakyat can indulge in the luxury of excesses and internal strife, mistakenly believing that Pakatan Rakyat is riding on such an irresistible political wave that it could not possibly lose in any by-election or in the next general elections.

Pakatan Rakyat parties and leaders must go back to the drawing board to sustain public confidence, support and hope which suffered grievous blows particularly in the last month.

Pakatan Rakyat’s string of by-election victories in Permatang Pauh, Kuala Terengganu, Bukit Gantang, Bukit Selambau and Penanti have fed a false sense of security and worse, the notion of the inevitability of Pakatan Rakyat victories in the next general elections.

If Pakatan Rakyat parties and leaders do not immediately pull themselves up by the bootstraps, public confidence, support and hope will be the major casualties.

The Pakatan Rakyat leadership council meeting this Friday can be a turning point. The slide in public confidence must be acknowledged, checked and arrested.

An immediate mechanism must be established to end the internal haemorrhage from self-inflicted wounds arising from inter and intra party differences irresponsibly aired in public instead of seeking to address and resolve them in Pakatan Rakyat channels, demonstrating a lack of cohesion, coherence, unity, discipline and common sense of purpose which can only redound in the loss of public support and confidence in Pakatan Rakyat.

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 3:39 pm

Mr LKS I wish you all the best in making the above happen. Time to stop all the bickering and work for the people who voted in all PR members. Give us some confidence.

Limkaput? Apa macam sekarang la? :)

2. #2 by Joshua on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:09 pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/108516

The pro-unity faction within PAS, led by Abdul Hadi Awang, Nasharuddin Mat Isa and Mustafa Ali, would no doubt blame the ineffectiveness of two of the Erdogan faction’s leaders, Tok Guru Nik Aziz Nik Mat and Husam Musa, to protect the electoral turf on their own backyard in Kelantan. Nik Aziz and Husam will counter by accusing the pro-unity faction of giving Umno the opportunity to exploit the schism within PAS using the façade of unity talks.

Rather than schism, it is best for all that all race and religious based parties be dissolved now.

so the implication of broken necklace in Maneh Urai.

pw: valenti’s pincus

3. #3 by japalang_guy on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:11 pm

Mr.LKS,

Actually on last week also I had send e-mail to your DAP HQ which had mention lately Pakatan Rakyat really dissapointed us alot.

We need changes,that what we want but seems that lately alot of PAS,PKR and DAP party member or exco are CRAZY FOR POWER.

Yes,we actually feel hopeless to BN but still there are some place for them to change but it seems that PR just 1 year old already fighting internally.

If PR, next GE want to win,pls all the top top ppl discuss with solution.I think all of the PR top member cannot control your party member.

Most of them want to become HERO,never discuss internally and just shoot the other party member openly.This is not only hurt PR but also the rakyat who vote you all…

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:12 pm

“Rather than schism, it is best for all that all race and religious based parties be dissolved now.”

Joshua … if that can happen then I think this weekend I would strike Sports Toto, Pan Malaysian Pools, Magnum and whatever else in one weekend. :)

5. #5 by Ramesh Laxman on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:35 pm

PR do not do what big brother is doing. The constitution states that Malaysia is a multi racial country and is run by the rule of law. All actions taken by the PR in the states which are under their control must be in accordance with the rule of law. Otherwise the people will have no confidence in the front.

6. #6 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:36 pm

Okay … everyone let’s all say a BIG TQ to YB Wee Wee and YB Assmin for this episode:

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/108557

I agree, we should all allow more dissent so that BN can load up their guns to shoot the daylights out of PR. Great job YB Wee Wee and YB Assmin. Hahahahaahaaa …

7. #7 by Joshua on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:38 pm

SpeakUp,

Why have that attitude?

If we study the Federal Constitution, the word and the spirit of that is for the unity of the nation in the people irrespective of races and religions.

When some people have applied that in the wrong direction even after 513, it must be corrected rather than piecemeal like social contract, rukun Negara, all the rhetoric such cekap, amanah & bersih ; cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang, or Islam hadhari, or 1Malaysia all into futility in the context of national unity.

The way forward is People Perpaduan ..rather than using race and religions to fight for whatever intention including hidden agenda of certain items which can be stretched unending..

We must make the effort…now.

pw: shoves 3.40

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 4:47 pm

Joshua … is not meant to belittle what you proposed. I whole heartedly agree that what you posted is true but because of certain people it will only be a dream. It should be what you say, that is the way but it will remain a mere dream. Something illusive.

See what Wee and Azmin have done, they do not deserve the title YB. Yang BerHORMAT? Nak HORMAT orang bodoh tu? Takde otak, takde hormat untuk perpaduan parti langsung! Call them YANG BERKHIANAT

9. #9 by siamo on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:00 pm

In my opinion, it is the stand of PAS has resulted in lost votes.

The wavering stance of “unity talks” and “no Unity talks” is a great of weakness of PAS. PAS is not united. In fact, I think there is group of power hungry PAS members who wants to work with UMNO to get positions and power. Khairy certainly capitalised on when the came to speak just before the vote in Manik Urai.

The question is this, “Is PAS a dependent and long term partner for Pakatan?” PKR and DAP need to think long and hard on this.

10. #10 by DAP man on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:10 pm

I have been one of the staunchest supporter of the DAP since 1969 and have voted for it in every single general election since 1978.

I was elated when the DAP and PR did well in 2008 and well on the road to Putrajaya but alas the leaders in PAS and PKR have been causing alot of problems and giving fodder to the BN media to go to town with negative news about PR.

Kit, your advice here is very timely and please get your message across to those stubborn nuts who think that our votes are a blank cheque.

Sparing publicly does not reflect political maturity. It is fuel for self-destruction.

Please Hadi, Nasarrudin, Azmin, Wee etc, please remember that without we voters you are nothing.

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:36 pm

Look at what LGE is saying, sounds very very promising and realistic. Hope both father and son can nip the problem at the bud. Looks like rest of the PR members are not saying a thing.

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/24359/84/

12. #12 by newchief on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:36 pm

the way i see it, pas has LOST manek because its their stronghold!!! pkr and dap has nothing to do with it because its not their call !!!

howver,pas might have lost because of un-proven dirty tactics by bn & ec. i say that its because on election day, we can see pas supporters / voters out-numbered bn. if not, its because manek is now really bored with low life and is taking a bold chance to vote for bn to bring in wealth to their pockets.

bn has WON indirectly so bn should now PROVE they will help the +5,000 bn voters to a better life as promised / threatened by muyhiddin. let’s now see whether bn will really WALK THE TALK!!!

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:47 pm

newchief … trust me BN will pour some money into MU soon. They will do this and that with billboards that read “Satu Lagi Projek Keranjaan BN”. That they will do. PR must understand that MU has given BN a foothold into Kelantan. They will dig and claw until it becomes their stronghold. This is just the beginning for BN in Kelantan.

I like this Sin Chew article:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/24360/84/

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:48 pm

On July 13 I said “I am reliably informed that as of this morning, this by-election will be very close which will catch many by surprise.”

That was why there was a last minute frantic push by BN leaders as they smelt victory by a very small margin. But they failed.

PR must learn that all is not well in its partnership and also within its own individual parties. The BN knows this. Their “intelligence network” (you know what and who I mean) can be very accurate and they know the “soft spots”. Expect them to capitalise on these. PAS, DAP, PKR all have internal and external problems, court cases, MACC investigations etc etc.

And I would like to share again what a “friend” told me last week – “September 16”. That’s when PR falls. I hope he will be wrong. There’s still 2 months to go. The BN is working hard in the background to ensure this. Be forewarned and expect the unexpected. Najib’s government can play hard ball and dirty too. Expect BN to apply pressure on all fronts at one go. Can PR defend, withstand and counter attack?

You are all fast becoming drained of all resources. You have to firefight all the time. Hindraf wants to put you down. Your own MPs, SAs and local councilmen criticise their own government. There is no discipline as you rightly pointed out. Your chances of survival don’t look good. The people are tired.

Good luck.

15. #15 by newchief on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:51 pm

after viewing the much awaited results which shock everyone especially the spiritual leader, will pas fellowmen of pk component now dares to say if oppositions become government of the day, they want to put hadi or any pas member as PM!!??

i feel pk is a team of also useless politicians who only care for themselves or their party. they are very much different than bn but at least bn has THE MAN to control everyone!!! pk is not playing team spirits as the days are going by and all they do is bark bark bark at either bn or even own’s alliance.

i feel anwar is now very buzy with his case so at least, pk should find a replacement NOW just in case. this guy should rule with a tight fist ( learn from bn please ) or even hitler or genghis khan. if not, not only bn will shreg pk to pieces but the RAKYAT will DISSOLVE PK!!!

16. #16 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 5:53 pm

Sheriff … can I get your personal email? So at the next by election you can tell me which side to put my money? Hahahaha … just kidding.

Sept 16th? I wonder what will happen?

17. #17 by newchief on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 6:00 pm

Speakup…i hope you are right that bn will make kelantan alive and not a dead city like sabah. a lot of sabahans ( except me )has been fooled by bn for rapid developments but even until today, we only have 2 flyovers!!! public transport is terrible and there’s no mrt, no new CITY public general hospital, our mechanics love bn eapecially because bn gives them business for the rotten roads our cars has to endured, electricity and water on and off and so many more complaints that i wish you must be here to experience it yourself because bn rules sabah.

i hope kelantan will be an exemption though so signal me the changes from today onwards.

18. #18 by freehand68 on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 6:40 pm

Mr. Lim,

Please ask your son to explain the rental issue since he is the one that initiate the CAT. He can’t just remain silent and ignore all the calls and query. Else how would and should ong tee keat respond to your quest since your own fellow are not responding? Lately we notice there are so many commentary against PR and it’s time for PR members to behave.

19. #19 by sirrganass on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 6:47 pm

Hello everybody! Only 398 PAS supporters betrayed and vote for BN yesterday. A number of 5,348 voted for PAS again. Unfortunately, BN brought in from somewhere a number of 369 new voters (that’s why the total number of voters yesterday increased dramatically). Because of that, BN won extra 800 votes, but PAS lost 398 votes only due to “Jambatan 10 Juta”.

No! We don’t loss too many voters. Some voters just tried to gain the “Jambatan 10 Juta”. That’s all. A vast majority of PAS voters (5,348) in Manek Urai are STILL WITH PAS – no matter what promises BN made! Don’t worry too much! Please sleep well tonight – “yamseng” if you must!! A Fish-monger in Kelantan, under PAS, has just won the war with all the government/BN Machineries! Cheers!

Hidup RAKYAT and SEE YOU AT THE TOP! Don’t cry, baby!

20. #20 by tchow on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 7:50 pm

Dear YB,

Just refresh you memory on what is the reason of PAS captured Terengganu in year 99, but loss embarassingly in next two GE. Rakyat are support PR, or just oppose to BN.

To representatives of Penang and Selangor,
    please think deeply. Think deeply what the consequence of weak, irresposible and inefficient of PAS Terengganu state goverment. Did you imitate them in order to draw a fullstop on your politic career?

21. #21 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 7:53 pm

Bn was able to hold strong bond simply they have the share the same characteristic ie corruption and their belief in robbing and and sharing the wealth among them selves, so come what the difference they will compromise and settled in door.

PR was different, the form an alliance out of the need arise from the circumstance ie the people want an alternative. Now this coherence belief can not over night turn into a political ideology where all PR parties can share over night.

It was difficult to have long term alliance unless all parties must learn to give and take and have strong belief in fighting the same goals, all this take times. BN formula works simply over the time they can rob and share out what they have rob.

PR must sincerely belief in returning what the people want.

PAs has also gone over their head when they get popular and more popular and start deviate by talking another partnership with the most hated party now in Malaysia though no doubt they are the main component party/ They are many people have fight all these while to bring changes and try to discard the corrupt practices by BN and out of the sudden PAS was talking forming the possible alliance with UMNO? This move has make many disillusion. UMNO was not sincere what they want is to see a split among PR and weakened them off.

It was not easy and it time and efforts to make PR works, and it need strong leadership to make PR formula works.

22. #22 by Loh on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:04 pm

The performance of the Penang and Selangor governments has nothing to do with the results in the Manik Urai election. BN usually has an egde in buy-election when they can afford to corner the market.

It was said that only around 400 PAS voters decided to honore their promise to vote BN; the promise made by Hadi Awang for unity talk, and that votes were to show sincerity.

The election in MU was more on local issues with the people being offered good documents.

At least 50% of 99% Malay voters still stay with PAS. If that trend continues, BN will have to carry out real reform, to convince non-Malays that they have equal share of Malaysian sunlight.

23. #23 by Woof on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:19 pm

“BN will have to carry out real reform, to convince non-Malays that they have equal share of Malaysian sunlight.”

Equal share of Malaysian sunlight?? I don’t mind giving up mine for some shade.

24. #24 by Tonberry on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:27 pm

i have expected Umno to win this by election based on:-

a) The Mongolian 65% popularity rating
    b) Abdul Hadi & Nasharuddin – Malay unity talk
    c) the bridge (which i believed is the main issue here)

Now let’s see whether Umno will keep its promise to build the bridge or not since an overwhelming of voters in that paricular area had voted for Umno; or will Umno just take those voters for a ride?!

25. #25 by Loh on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:43 pm

Woof :“BN will have to carry out real reform, to convince non-Malays that they have equal share of Malaysian sunlight.”
    Equal share of Malaysian sunlight?? I don’t mind giving up mine for some shade.

One is free to give up whatever he chooses, it is only when he is denied his entitlement that is a problem, sunlight for example. Got it?

26. #26 by chengho on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:53 pm

Not to worry as long as Rakyat Kelantan see TGNA crying poster they will support Pas…

27. #27 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 8:55 pm

It is good news that PR finally wakes up to its senses – better late than never!

The rakyat are watching; they want to see a united and harmonious PR before they make further commitment to support the party.

28. #28 by raven77 on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 9:14 pm

PAS is deep..deep trouble….and it may take the DAP and PKR down with it…..

29. #29 by tsn on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 9:33 pm

PKR was riding high on BN’s weaknesses, not on their own track records, strength and creditability. Perhaps this by-election is a reality check to PKR. Regardless what you think, Najid defintely is more capable than Abdullah. What we really hope for is both camps must gentlemanly observe to the rules of democratic politics.

30. #30 by vsp on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 9:47 pm

Malaysians who have hoped for a better Malaysia are now in an unenviable situation, placed between a rock and a hard place.

The BN which has gone on an orgy of looting and abuse of power for the past 50 years has driven many Malaysians to place high hopes on the Pakatan for deliverance. Therefore in 2008 the voters have given the Pakatan a bit of power and clipped the wings of the BN by denying them the traditional 2/3 majority and kicked them out in 5 states. Pakatan was given a probation period to prove themselves. Initially the Pakatan was on a bright learning curve but within a short period of time they are beginning to disappoint.

For the past 1 month, the Pakatan itself went on an orgy of infighting, mistrust and warlordism. Promising leaders such as Lim Guan Eng, Teresa Koh, Jeffery Looi, Azmin and others have degenerated into fourth-grade leaders of gutter politics and cheap heroism. Instead of being level-headed in consultation and solving problems together each group begins to act unilaterally. They justify their individual action of “trashing out the problems in the open instead of sweeping them under the carpet”. This transparent policy was proudly trumpeted by PKR’s Tian Chua and DAP’s Lim Guan Eng. But what we are witnessing for the past weeks was more of personal attacks and washing of dirty linens in public instead of trying to sincerely solve problems. This “transparent policy” is being used merely as a cover for engaging in unbridled madness and immaturity that threaten to go uncontrolled if not check immediately.

If these leaders cannot agree with each other in a limited capacity now, how are they going to perform as actual Ministers in the event that Pakatan capture the Federal government? Wake up Pakatan, the people are watching and they don’t like what they are seeing now. If you keep on bashing one another with total abandon you are going to lose the plot.

If Najib were to spring a surprise of a snap election you would be left licking your own wound and wonder why you have squandered a golden opportunity of doing a noble job for the country. You have been warned – wake up and start working!

31. #31 by cheong on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 11:03 pm

Dear uncle Kit:

1) Manek Urai’s result no doubt came as a surprise to many, it could be due to over confidence and the threat from bn been taken too lightly. PAS is fortunate this traditionally stronghold had not fallen under bn’s fierce attack.

2) Looking back, PR actually did quite well for they almost swept all the past by- elections. Manek could be a temporary setback in confidence

3) On the strength of PR, I think some credit should still be given to the leaders for what have been done so far. They still be able to manage with limited resources (as compared to the formidable bn machinery).

4) We must not forget that this loose alliance (PR) was formed after an unexpected performance during GE12, frankly one will wonder if they could really cope in forming government in the few states. With due respect, I think some of their lawmakers may not be that competent in terms of experience and capability (again as compared to some in bn). In fact some of them would not have been there if not because of popular uprising at that time.

5) It is important PR must from now stop inflicting self injury as the vultures are always hovering over them and will strike on smell of blood. PR should instead concentrate on how to strengthen themselves for there are still numerous urgent tasks ahead.

6) Yes, lets take Manek as a wake up call. You still have my support as a voter.

32. #32 by niknik on Wednesday, 15 July 2009 - 11:44 pm

my take on this? …

The Malays in the heartland are generally good and fair people. But they would still rather vote for the party that has the Malay interest at heart (And that would be the same for Chinese or Indians in the interiors). Remember, most of them are not like you and me who surf the net and are trying to see pass race and religion. The read the Malay newspapers, watch and listen to RTM for their news.

So what perception has changed between PAS & UMNO since March 08?

Before March 08 – UMNO was arrogant and not subservient in BN. Today – UMNO has improved and NOT subservient in BN.
    Before March 08 – PAS was solid and not subservient to PAKATAN. – Today – PAS appears to be split and NOW subservient in PAKATAN.

The difference is
    UMNO – the evil boy yesterday has improved to become UMNO – the bad boy today. This equals to a big improvement plus master to non-Malay parties.
    PAS – the good boy yesterday is still good but appears to be PAS – the confuse boy today. This equals to a drop plus appearing to be subservient to non-Malay parties.

I don’t like the way it sounds but i think it could be close to this …

Solution? PAKATAN or PAS should conduct a survey on 100 people (remember, chances are 50% voted for BN) in Manek Urai and ask them even the difficult questions and let them put it back in a box anonymously. I think you will find a lot of truth and reasons in that box on what happen to lead to PAKATAN’s disastrous day at Manek Urai. We may not like the truth but it will help us understand and gradually win over all Malaysians.

33. #33 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:14 am

Yes, YB Kit.

It should be time now for you to launch a moral rectification campaign like the “Cheng Feng” campaign which had been launched by China Communist Party during 1930s for purpose of purging off those members of immatured political thinking. DAP’s members are those who are immatured politically and who always like to politicize the issue of pig farm location dispute or pork abbatoir location dispute at the expense of greater good of Pakatan Rakyat as a whole.

What is so great about maintaining a pig farm or a pork abbatoir at a particular location in Malaysia when the non-muslim Malaysian people are permitted by law to source pork from foreign countries? I believe a lot of non-muslim Malaysians will not want to see the endemic tragedy of Nipah Virus to happen again in Malaysia.

Don’t forget that a lot of victimised families of Nipah Virus outbreak at Bukit Pelandok and Sepang have not been able to get complete emotional healing and financial healing from the endemic disaster for almost one decade. If DAP is committed to cooperate with PKR and PAS, then the dispute on pig or pork issues should always be avoided. If Singapore Government could demolish all pig farms at Pulau Tekong, Singapore and could invest in pig farming businesses in Thailand and Indonesia, then Pakatan Rakyat state governments should be allowed to do so too. This is the only sensible way to permanently avoid the politicizing of sensitive issues such as pig and pork issues. DAP should take the courage to face the possible intensive condemnation from MCA about DAP’s rational political stand on pig farming and pig abbatoir sanitary control!

DAP should avoid the sensitive quarrel on pig farming issue and pig abbatoir issue because the Malay votes will eventually be the most decisive factor on the mandate of Pakatan Rakyat in taking over the Federal Government by the 13th General Election.

34. #34 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:16 am

DAP’s members who are needed to be purged off are those who are immatured politically and who always like to politicize the issue of pig farm location dispute or pork abbatoir location dispute at the expense of greater good of Pakatan Rakyat as a whole.

35. #35 by raven77 on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:48 am

Perhaps the passion of RPK was missed…..

Please WAKE UP!!!!!

36. #36 by House Victim on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 3:31 am

1. ALL PK members should learn to be a REAL Public Servants towards the People Declaration as declared during the 12th GE. To learn to work collectively and harmonically for a lists of Tasks with schedules with some indicators of how they can be measured as performance.

People are looking for Real Public Servants who can Walk and not only can Talk.

2. When PK is still a minority, a lot of Talks cannot be Walked should be expected. But, all these MUST be provided with sufficient explanation to the People. Such as CAT in Penang. PK must improve their Comminication with People.

3. Pig Farming and abattoir issue is an important issue as it is an important Agriculture activities in Malaysia.
    a) Any country MUST find a way to solve the problem and not just by Relocation to other countries.
    b) The endemic tragedy of Nipah Virus should be regarded as due to the Overlook or ignorance of the Health Department and the Government in identifying and acting efficiently on the matter.
    c) The Government did not and does not have a long-term and supportive Policy towards scientific and healthy Pig Farming is the main cause.
    d) The recent Swine Flu is because sizable US Pig Farming were relocated to Mexico who has not properly run the Pig Farming and now causing the whole world in Panic!
    e) Malaysia should have better experience in Pig Farming than Indonesia and Thailand, if the Government give a Fair and Support Policy to those Farmers. And Malaysia should work towards exporting than importing Pork!
    f) Some of those Big Pig Farmers had invested considerable and therefore, they have the Rights to Voice!! Basically, it is not just a Political issue.
    g) Anyone with Research in Pig Farming and the subsequent possible industries will not lightly dump this topic for Social, Economical and Environmental consideration.

3. In many parts of the Western world, People are still very concern about “Mad-Cow” disease. Should Malaysia relocate cow or cattle raising?

4. Malaysia is already dam wrong in depending a lot in Importing Rice and Vegetables!!
    The problem remains with the Bias policy of the BN Government.

PIG FARMING CAN UPGRADE THE AGRICULTURAL AND LIGHT INDUSTRY SECTOR AND BOOM THE ECONOMIC IF HANDLED PROPERLY!! Government MUST provide Land and the Right Policy!

37. #37 by Saint on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 9:45 am

Manek Urai is a blessing in disguise. It will now make all in PR to shut up and start thinking and working how to move in solidarity.

38. #38 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 10:51 am

newchief … the reason why Sabah and Sarawak is under developed is because it is huge BUT the reality is, why bother when the people still vote for BN? Get the picture? East Malaysia is getting the raw end of the deal.

freehand68 … if I am not mistaken LGE’s salary is RM40K a month, so what is the issue with renting? He can easily spend RM10K on rental. Any issues there?

Limkaput, Munster … where are you guys la? No time to post issit?

39. #39 by AhPek on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:29 am

The primary reservoir for Nipah virus has been identified as Pteropid fruit bats including the Malayan flying fox and the Island flying fox both of which occur in Malaysia.
    The transmission of Nipah virus from flying foxes to pigs is thought to be due to the close proximity of fruit orchards to the piggery allowing the spillage of urine,faeces
    and parially eaten fruit onto the pigs.
    Before this incident in Malaysia,an outbreak occurred amongst horses in Australia where transmission to horses occurred via exposure to bat urine.And humans are infected through the horses,an intermediate host.A pattern of outbreaks relates also to the seasonality of fruit bat birthing.
    Since 1998,we have 8 outbreaks of Nipah virus all within Bangladesh and India.Some of these cases involved person to person transmission which had not previously known or confirmed.
    In the case of Malaysia,the outbreak was originally mistaken for Japanese encephalitis
    even though physicians in the area noted that persons who had been vaccinated against JE were unprotected.Despite the fact these observations were recorded in the first month of the outbreak,the Ministry of Health failed to react accordingly and instead launched a nationwide campaign to educate people on the dangers of JE and its vector,Culex mosquitoes.
    In the case of Nipah outbreak in Malaysia,it is the pigs.It is the Ministry of Health going on a wild goose chase in spite of having the right feed-back from the local physicians!!!

40. #40 by AhPek on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:31 am

correction: In the case of Nipah outbreak in Malaysia,it is not the pigs!

41. #41 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:50 am

Nipah was a problem due to the jumping of species. It came from FRUIT BATS to the pigs. Fruit bats are the natural host for the virus. Its weird how it got to the pigs.

AIDS is the same but there the consumption of bushmeat is suspected.

42. #42 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:58 am

“c) The Government did not and does not have a long-term and supportive Policy towards scientific and healthy Pig Farming is the main cause (to the outbreak of Nipah Virus disease).” (House Victim)

House Victim is telling us the truth. No government in Malaysia, whether a BN Government or a PR government, will want to take the political high risk to commit and offer a long-term and supportive policy towards scientific and healthy pig farming in Malaysia because the pig-phobia Muslim population, which consists of the decisive majority of the voters in Malaysia, will not give their consent to such a much-needed policy.

Even though Barisan Nasional Government has been allocating a piece of land in Negeri Sembilan for use as pig farming purpose, the high investment cost expected (about RM1 million per acre land) already caused delay for about a decade in the construction of infrastructure work at the designated farm site. The stringent rules and regulations of the Department of Environment also shooed off many prospective pig farmers from this farming activity in Peninsular Malaysia.

The BN State Government of Sabah also tries very hard to look for a investor who can afford to spend RM100 million to develop a piece of 500-acre land in Kinabatangan (the constituency of BN MP Bung Mokhtar) for pig farming purpose. However, the high political risk involved in pig farming business in Malaysia has made this farming activity not financially viable in Malaysia. DAP leaders should learn to be much more pragmatic like Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew in the respect of pig farming and pork abbatoir issues.

If the Malaysian People are not going to see the leniency being given unto the sanitary and hygienic control of pig farming activity, then this economic activity will eventually has to be relocated to a neighbouring country like Indonesia, Thailand or Vietnam, where the political risk involved is relatively much lower and the return on investment can be much faster there in relation to pig farming.

43. #43 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:16 pm

“Fruit bats are the natural host for the virus. Its weird how it got to the pigs.” (Speakup)

It seems that Speakup has no strong evidence to confirm the source of Nipah Virus. Some people suspected Nipah Virus was caused by virus pathogen mutation in relation to the long-term farming activity in Bukit Pelandok, Sg Pelek and Sepang Areas. A swine expert, Dato Dr. Vincent Ng, suspected that Nipah Virus had been brought in to Malaysia from Australia through the importation of Nipah Virus carrying horses. Speakup suspected that Nipah Virus came from Fruit Bats Keluang.

However, all the suggested causes here were just the suspected reasons which had never been scientifically confirmed with empirical data and replicable research model.

If we want to discuss about the issues of pig farming, please try to restrict the topical scope within the capability of scientific proof and do not rely simply on hearsay! We should take the financially feasibility of pig farming in consideration too even though pig farming can be proven technically feasible!

I am of the opinion that pig farming is not financially feasible in Malaysia in view of the high overhead costs involved in modern farming method!

44. #44 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:17 pm

Pig farmers are scumbags that is what I will say. They will not use the latest techniques whilst the all drive in big European cars. That says it all. Look at the issue in Kedah, once the site was approved they say, NO MONEY TO BUILD TRAP … that is the problem.

Look at the food for the pigs … leftovers from eateries, putrid food … so when illness happens who is at fault?

45. #45 by taiking on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:32 pm

65 votes victory is not insignificant although the victory itself is no comfort. Najib dished out 11 goodies. The by-election was timed such that it would take place just after his first 100 days. The media was asked to paint him in gold against the background of sunshine. And locally (i.e. local to the manek uria) more local made sweets were given out to voters. In order to ensure victory, he used both federal and party mechanism to move voters to the voting booth, esp voters from areas known to be pro-umno. Although they play it down to a 50:50 fight before votes were cast, I believe, they anticipated nothing less then a victory. In fact they are quietly confident of it esp when pas was engrossed in internal squabble and certain keadilan member was making unnecessary statements which umno’s controlled media zoomed in and concerntrated their firepower thereat. This is one by-election where they devoted so much money and effort in the hope of ensuring (not securing) a victory. Yet they could not swing the result to one that favours them.

At the same time the slim victory must be taken as a reminder to pakatan that good work must continue without let up and effort must be sustained. A reminder that umno would spare no effort in its quest to regain control (which I still believe firmly that it is an uphill task for them). Otherwise 308 will just be a aberrant blip on the political radar screen.

A failed political party like umno can never re-group itself quickly nor re-gain lost grounds easily. Pakatan must not lose focus and must stay on track. Najib will soon run out of sweets and worse in time (which will be sooner and not later) voters would discover that those sweets he promised or handed out actually taste awful or are not edible at all.

46. #46 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:57 pm

“Look at the food for the pigs … leftovers from eateries, putrid food … so when illness happens who is at fault?” (Speakup)

Speakup is a bit biased towards the pig farmers. He should have also condemned the cow farmers who feed their cows with pig bone marrow powder and pig intestines, pig internal organ wastes, and restaurant and canteen garbages, which are suspected to be the source of mad cow disease.

Speakup should have also condemned the Keli (catfish) fish farmers who feed their fish breeding stocks with ovines and bovines from swines or cows because the animal faeces are said to contain a lot of pathogen-carrying germs such as viruses and bacteria.

Anyway, if we are to upgrade the farming standards of Malaysian farmers, we should not tolerate any kind of unhygienic and unsanitized farming practices such as feeding animals with ovines and bovines!

47. #47 by peter sng on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 1:44 pm

Imagine a stronghold of PAS like MU is won by such a slim majority whereas only last year PAS won by 1,300votes. What a difference a year make.

The main cause is the split of PAS into 2 camps with the Abdul Hadi Awang, Nasharuddin Mat Isa,Mustafa Ali and gang causing CONFUSION amongst the voters.

Place myself as a staunch Pas voter in MU, I will vote BN to get the Bridge & other goodies being offered; and let the different factions in PAS to fight it out-I am just a common folk and want my daily conveniences whereas PAS bigshots talk and promises grandiose things which is beyong my comprehension.

So if PAS don’t close rank, forget about even denying BN the 2/3 majority in GE13; let alone capturing Perlis,Trengganu, Pahang and retaining Kedah.

Hope Najib don’t contemplate to bring forward GE13 to prove his rising populartiy. Wait for another by-election in W Malaysia and he will decides whether which direction is the wind blowing.

48. #48 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 2:59 pm

On Looker … we were talking pigs la so I used example of their food for pigs. Of course it applies to rabbit farmers, ostrich famgers, duck farmers and crocodile farmers. Not to forget the bayam farmer, tomato farmer … heheheehehee

p.s. I am not against pigs ok … only the PIGS.

49. #49 by newchief on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 3:26 pm

i appreciate Speakup to my respond, as expected, he reads through blindly and make comments when his brain is at his a**

i heard over the radio today mustapha (kelantan umno) saying there will sure be developments in kelantan PROVIDED THERE IS SUFFICIENT FUNDS!!! care to comment???

if he has uttered these during campaign time,what’s the result then?? so, i might be right here that bn has ‘swindled’ the +5000 manek bn voters just like they did to sabah and sarawak people!!! manek vote FOR A CHANGE but statement like this is a slap / punishment to manek for letting bn to LOSE!!!

when Speakup says ‘ get the picture’ , insult is already made to sabah and sarawak people who vote for pk. its not because we love them or that we are anti-bn bu because the present give too much sweet promises for such a long long time. i fear kelantan will also now be like us.

to conclude, if bn is short of people like ahmad ismail,zambry abdul kadir or even rais yatim who says swine flu and not H1N1, i hereby recommend strongly Speakup as the best replacement for bn to be the punching bag :D

50. #50 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 3:54 pm

newchief maybe you should read my reply properly. It basically says BN is screwing East Malaysia over because they could not care less since they still get voted in over and over again. Is that clearer now?

I would not make a good punching bag … not enough meat. :)

51. #51 by sirrganass on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 4:19 pm

Hello, pls. We don’t talk about “pig” in this column. The title here is “Slim Majority in Manek Urai”, ok?

By the way, are you people rather fighting for PIG instead of other things? Come on – a lot of works to be done!

52. #52 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 5:43 pm

“Hello, pls. We don’t talk about “pig” in this column.” (sirrganass)

YB Kit warned Pakatan Rakyat leaders on the possibility of decadence in the inter-members relationship among all the component parties of Pakatan Rakyat if no action is to be taken as a remedial measure to patch up the cracking holes! To avoid talking about the pig issues will not do help to anyone within Pakatan Rakyat. It is much better for Pakatan Rakyat leaders to talk about these controversial issues and reach a compromise solution now than to quarrel over it when the next general election comes near at hand. It won’t help anyone in Pakatan Rakyat either if we try to hide the issues by adopting the tactic of sweeping the rubbish under the carpet.

Since there is no by-election or no general election in the near future, all component parties of Pakatan Rakyat have to take the initiative to discuss about the pig issues now before the issues get unleashed out of control during the next election campaign period. It is good for Pakatan Rakyat to prepare and get ready a set of standard operating procedure for use as a reference by the Pakatan Rakyat intermediate level leaders in order to provide a standardised answer for responding to the sensitive and disputable issues on pig farming or pig abbtoir operations in Malaysia. Otherwise, it is quite embarrassing for the PR supporters to see a quarrel happening among the members of DAP, PKR and PAS whenever the pig issues are being raised up and exploited by Barisan Component parties in order to shame DAP leaders.