Unlike BN, PR is not based on “fear of the master” but partnership based on equality, mutual respect and commitment on agreed principles

In recent weeks, Barisan Nasional component parties, particularly Umno, MCA and Gerakan had tried to fan discord and engender distrust among Pakatan Rakyat component parties but so far to no avail.

One favourite gambit of Barisan Nasional component parties is to accuse the Pakatan Rakyat component of being subservient to the other parties – betraying a mindset ingrained for over three decades of the real relationship in the Barisan Nasional between Umno and the rest in BN as well as reflective of a modus operandi in the BN which could not conceive of a coalition of political parties based on equality, mutual respect and commitment on agreed principles.

In recent weeks, different language media will carry statements like Umno accusing PAS of being afraid of PKR or DAP, of DAP being afraid of PAS or PKR, as well as of PKR being afraid of DAP or PAS.

This is course the only relationship the BN component parties could understand in the Barisan Nasional – the political hegemony of Umno over the other BN component parties with Umno undergirded by the factors of “the fear of the master” and greed.

DAP is not afraid of PAS and PKR, PAS not afraid of DAP and PKR and PKR not afraid of DAP and PAS. This is not the basis of our co-operation and understanding in Pakatan Rakyat formed after the political tsunami of the March 8, 2008 general election to end Umno political hegemony and BN misrule.

Clearly, UMNO and BN component parties particularly MCA, Gerakan and MIC are very upset that Pakatan Rakyat component parties have been able to address teething problems in the new coalition, particularly in Penang and Kedah..

Pakatan Rakyat must demonstrate that it is different from Barisan Nasional and that problems in PR among component parties, national or state, and concerns and aspirations of the people are promptly addressed in a frank and forthright manner by PR leaders.

With the spirit shown by Pakatan Rakyat component parties to address the problems in Penang and Kedah, Pakatan Rakyat is sending a clear message that it is in the Malaysian arena to stay until the great political mission and the political yearnings of Malaysians for change are accomplished.

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 3:23 pm

PR based on MUTUAL RESPECT & EQUALITY? You have to be kidding me!!! This is the most stupid article from LKS. Does LKS himself write all these articles?

Yes, BN tried to fan discord but its because you all gave them the opportunity to. Wow Mr LKS, you are truly delusional!

I shan’t go into the details, let’s be frank, even Malaysia Today forumers are criticising PR, even RPK has criticised PR, Sin Chew criticised PR … still wanna say there is no problem? Oh man …

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:04 pm

“Unlike BN, PR is not based on “fear of the master” but partnership based on equality, mutual respect and commitment on agreed principles”.

I don’t think many will agree with this statement. “Teething problems”. I think a lot of time has passed for this.

As I see it and ignoring the main stream media spin, there is alot of in-fighting in PR whether within the individual component parties or among yourselves.

Last night some PKR members in Ampang handed a grievience memo to Anwar. You have the problem in Kedah, Seberang Prai, in Perak, Selangor. Hindraf is putting pressure on you with their demands. You have loose cannon MPs in Kulim and in Ibrahim Ali. Pas is in disarray, there a more rumours of your SAs jumping ship, court cases aplenty etc etc.

Man, you are all fire-fighting all the time, do you all realise that?

September 16. That’s what my friend said to me the other night. That’s when PR breaks up, he said.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:08 pm

SpeakUp, maybe you can tell us how PR as a coalition is supposed to govern without criticisms?

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:13 pm

We are given to much spaces for criticisms we took it for granted.

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:16 pm

Dawsheng … constructive criticism is great, its about making the public aware. Again, if there is rot … LKS highlights it but if he is a really concerned politician why does he not lodge a police report?

Want me to teach PR what to do? What for? They will have to pay for it. They are too arrogant. I know some who are well ranked in PR, was willing to give free assistance but they are too arrogant. They know better. I seen this happen too often when some people who have the right stuff and they want to give free assistance its always turned down. Why?

Because political parties are scared of outsiders. They want only insiders, many of which are too dumb. That is a fact.

But I shall give 2 tips:

i. fortify the coalition by showing the Rakyat who voted for PR that they did the right thing, that PR is NOT lip service and is ONE; and
    ii. care for those who voted for you by SERVING them, service is not spending time BLOGGING. Learn from Gandhi.

Let me state what Hannah Yeoh just wrote and this is MOST appropriate:

“So many people have been telling me just how frustrated they are with the current political situation in our country. Some have told me that they regretted voting for change because of the political instability now and would prefer returning to their old style of voting – vote for stability and forget about having a stronger opposition and greater check and balance.”

People are telling Hannah Yeoh this … so am I still a loose canon or an UMNO goon or MCA b@ll carrier?

6. #6 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:21 pm

“We are given to much spaces for criticisms we took it for granted.”

Dawsheng … to a certain extent your comment is very true but maybe the real problem is … we are a complaining society.

We complain the neighbour is noisy or dirty but dare not tell them openly. We complain that BN is dirty but we dare not lodge the police report. We complain that PAS is wrong to demolish an illegal structure that is a health hazzard. We complain that we have the right to live on a land where we have no rights. We complain that the local council head should only be from PKR and we boycott.

Too much complain … its not constructive. This is what Gandhi said: We must be the change that we want to see in the world.

Means it starts with us first. Has PR really changed to the tune it was playing before GE12?

7. #7 by dawsheng on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 4:49 pm

Just admit it, you don’t have any clue about running a political party let alone how to govern, at the very best, you are just one of those confused Malaysian whose expectations can be describe as unrealistic.

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:01 pm

Dawsheng … tell me if the 2 things I stated are wrong? All you say is I am ignorant, clueless etc. Please, tell me that the 2 items stated are totally inane. Can you perhaps do that? I would be happy to listen. If not, please do not use harsh words and grandiloquent sentences to mask your lack of advocacy skills.

Do you realise the three basic tenets of a government is simple:

i. providing opportunity for employment, allowing the citizen to have wealth;
    ii. providing opportunity for owning homes … a natural progression from (i);
    iii. providing opportunity for education of which supports item (i) above.

Maybe I am dumb huh?

9. #9 by dawsheng on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:08 pm

I have to admit my command of English is poor.

10. #10 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:11 pm

Dawsheng … I did not say your command of English is poor la. That is not what I mean ler …

11. #11 by Tonberry on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:26 pm

Well said, Uncle Kit.

Blog visitors should just ignore cintanegara…er, i mean SpeakUp, as he is only interested in championing Umno’s racist policies and master-slave relationship within BN component parties.

12. #12 by Saint on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:33 pm

Problems will always arise. The most important factor is to have it solved amicably, with the rakyat’s interest in mind.

13. #13 by limkamput on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:39 pm

Sdr Lim, you should have written this piece long ago. Yes, equal partners are not afraid to speak their minds. Equal and enduring partners are also not afraid to discuss dispute in the open. It is better this way so that all the stakeholders will know upfront what they are getting into. Only feudal mentality and subservient culture would base their relationship on dominance and subservience. It is not just BN parties having such mentality. Many so-called liberal and educated people here have also portrayed the same mentality, perhaps through years of indoctrination and culturalization. Usually stupid people are easily subjected indoctrination.

14. #14 by limkamput on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:55 pm

//People are telling Hannah Yeoh this … so am I still a loose canon or an UMNO goon or MCA b@ll carrier?// SpeakUp

You really want to know who you really are? Well, all of the above and more – a hypocrite, an imposter and a mega sucker!

15. #15 by chengho on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:55 pm

uncle Kit,

why u support Anwar and Pas to abandon PPSMI….

16. #16 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:56 pm

I love this place … you can learn so much about how to insult fellow forumers, curse at others and name call. Is this what Malaysians are made of. Malaysia Boleh!

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 5:58 pm

Limkaput … come on, tell me even Hannah Yeoh feels the feedback … come on. Deal with that okay. Why can’t you? Unable or incapable of dealing with the substance? Go for it … you seem so fiery!

18. #18 by limkamput on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 6:09 pm

//Do you realise the three basic tenets of a government is simple:
    providing opportunity for employment, allowing the citizen to have wealth;
    ii. providing opportunity for owning homes … a natural progression from (i);
    iii. providing opportunity for education of which supports item (i) above.// ShutUP

You see, you can’t differentiate the difference between the statements of intention and the means to get there. I have better statements of intention than you like:
    “The country must harness its growth potential to create jobs, generate income and wealth for its people. We must have social programmes to ensure that income and wealth so generated are fairly distributed and those that need helps are given.

Now, smart ass, tell me what specific policies we must have to achieve these objectives. Tell me also what implementation weaknesses you are likely to face to prevent you from achieving those objectives, assuming that the policies you have formulated are correct.

Sorry, I have to remind you: I don’t call you a loose cannon for no good reason.

19. #19 by johnnypok on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 6:25 pm

All the BN reps are low-class idiots with low IQ which is why the reason why the country is left far behind Great Singapore.
    We are heading for a total collapse, but Sabah and Sarawak will be ok.

20. #20 by Sunny on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 7:14 pm

Well said limkamput. Some like to think they are smarter than they actually are.

21. #21 by monsterball on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 7:35 pm

Lim Kit Siang is talking about DAP….spelling it out clearly…what the party is.. and what the party stands for….and it needs an idiot like SpeakUp…to insult LKS.
    If you notice…..whenever truths hurts MCA supporters…they get irritated for nothing..
    I always knew what DAP stand for….and it needs LKS from time to time…to remind Malaysians. That is good.
    “Most stupid article”..so said SpeakUp….who keep proving he has cow sense……competing with chengho for the coveted title in this blog.

22. #22 by johnnypok on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 7:37 pm

Under BN there is no such thing as ‘EQUAL’ . This is a fact.

Maybe, under PR we can see some fairness.

23. #23 by artemisios on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 8:46 pm

I think it’s really simple,
    Speakup is the kind of person that will always have the opposite view – Just to get attention

Suppose everyone is criticizing the opposition, Speakup will jump out to defend them,

Now that everyone is behind the oppisition’s back, he wants to criticize the opposition.
    Speakup will then lace his argument with some fancy words he finds from thesaurus to “sound” smart. & he will also try his best to suppress his anger when someone points out his insecurity (like what dawsheng did) in order to appear mature.

These kind of people are so insecure that they have to always take the opposite stand just to get noticed.

Why not you post something that is actually useful (don’t give me any intellectual babble please. I can grab a book). You don’t have to always disagree with the majority to get attention. Disagree only when it is actually your stand.

24. #24 by DAP man on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 9:33 pm

limkamput,
    Please don’t waste your precious words and time on that guy whom you have aptly described as “a hypocrite, an imposter and a mega sucker!”.

Why debate with simpletons?

25. #25 by thguan on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 9:57 pm

I strongly believe there is no dispute among BN component parties, very simple they always :-

1. You jaga my back side & I will jaga your back side ;
    2. Kita sama-sama “masuk”, rasuah itu patut ;
    3. What to arguewhen there is only “Yes, Sir, Tuan sentiasa betul !”.

26. #26 by johnnypok on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 10:46 pm

All major contracts are distributed among the component parties, with UMNO getting a bigger share, while MIC and MCA fighting for the scraps and left-overs.

27. #27 by rabbit on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 11:24 pm

hey guys, ignore that tedpole ok!. he is so red eyes to PKR. BN only ghost hit ghost, see how they treat MCA deputy? super porno Mr is on the show! the GGerakan Mr KPI know how to sell penang land n said I DUNNO not mY business!!! SO many ghosts in the BN! Mr Toyo can so rich ! why? PKFZ mother of scandal who? mongolian lady who kill? why he can go UK doing his Phd? Macc do what? IpG side who? Uwno ULF how? hahaha speakup ! tolong ok!!

28. #28 by Bigjoe on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 8:28 am

In signal processing, we call what is happening ‘noise’. It happens when the system is not finely tuned or there is interference and you get ‘garbage’ signal. There are basically only a few way to solve the problem

1) Raise the signal strength, which is what Sdr. Lim is trying to do, and is finding out it takes a lot of juice to overcome noise this way and it can create more noise.

2) Reduce noise, this is usually through what is known as filitering. Filtering has many techniques. You can filter it at the source or end, you can filter it with differentiation, integration, multiplexing, encoding, etc.

Chances are PR need to do more on filtering rather than try and out-amplify the noise. It takes better system, better understanding of the techniques not only of PR leaders but also their officers. Its incredible to me that LGE had a potentially volatile meeting with High Chapparal folks and the protocol was not established by his officers BEFORE the meeting. How is it possible that Kedah thing happened without DAP HQ clearing it first or at least was informed of it in detail before. All these thing should be telling you your system is not strong enough, need more maturity…

29. #29 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 9:27 am

Yeah … no one can oppose the opposition. Come on guys, stop name calling and insulting. Just show that my facts are wrong? None of you are doing it.

DSAI according to limkaput is an ASS because DSAI agrees that English should not be used. Since PR agrees too then LKS is an ASS too. Any comments?

Hannah Yeoh already stated she feels disappointed that supporters are now feeling discouraged with PR, she wrote an article to encourage them to stay the course. Wow … maybe Hannah Yeoh is getting feedback from BN undercover agents.

RPK, many months ago has stated that PR is heading for disaster with all its bickering. So RPK was paid by BN to write that article ya ..

Sin Chew has articles on PR and its bickering and other nonsense that has been happening recently. Guess, Sin Chew has been infiltrated by BN covert members.

Just deal with these 4 issues and that is enough for me.

Also, I have stated before elsewhere, people like LGE are doing a great job and that many occasions I have stated BN is mucking about sucking the juice out of our country. I guess none of you can read that because you only will pick on anyone who makes a dissenting remark. Pack mentality huh? Low … very low … come on, bring some meat and not just gnaw at the bone.

30. #30 by ktteokt on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 10:25 am

I think there is at least some mutual respect among component parties in PR, much unlike that of BN where only UMNO has the final say in everything. For one, at least they hold open discussions and not “closed door” ones like BN. Component parties in PR can proudly say they “share power” but not BN where only UMNO dictates and the rest of the component parties just take orders!

This can be evidenced from the resolving of the Kedah issue lately.

31. #31 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 11:13 am

Kedah issue was never a problem, it became national news because of unreasonable businessmen (new site approved but now they say no money to build the trap pool) and an immature ADUN.

When we say we believe in allowing open squabbles it erodes public faith. A government is built on a perceived stability. It sounds hypocritical but its real. We can call it what we want, but if open dissent happens it really erodes public faith. This is the latest from HINDRAF. If unhappy speak in private, no need to show who is stronger:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/24150/84/

32. #32 by the reds on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 1:27 pm

I must admit that Pakatan Rakyat leaders are all fighters! More importantly, they do not concede defeat easily! All of us want a better future, right? We have been ruled by BN since independence! What have they brought to us? Nothing but deep sh*t!

Can MCA work efficiently? If Tee’s PTPTN issue was sent to MCA, I believe that they will not entertain him/her, even if they entertain, it will take months or years! MCA simply dare not to speak up, because they are only a beggar/slave party in BN. Also, MCA leaders only deal with people or rich people who have connections with them. Do they care poor people? No.

PR may not be the perfect coalition, but I believe they are much better than current BN!

33. #33 by newchief on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 2:07 pm

until today, i find it amazing that pk is still made up of pkr,dap and pas even after so much internal quarreling. to me, it shows these 3 parties, at the end of the day, sit down and compromise and do the ‘kiss n hug’ .

it certainly surprise me that bn has so many different parties but it seldom has quarrels. why?? my answer is ….umno is a dictator and all other parties are kept quiet with gula-gula by the big daddy.

its like running your own family (in bn style ) . sometimes, you can play money politics and er kids will be very very obedient to you. if you don’t have ( i pity Speakup bcs he STILL IS LOOKING for money under bn’s rule for 50YRS already!!), you must be a dictator with firm rotan on your side to control the kids.

(in pk style), the parents just ignore the kids & let them do whatever bcs they are out to make ends meet to feed the kids. only when the problem arise, these parents come in to find the way to solve the problems.

so, whether its bn style or pk style, they have their ways just like u nd me, Speakup, correct???

34. #34 by cto on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 2:55 pm

SpeakUp Says:
    July 9th, 2009 at 16: 16.36

Dawsheng … constructive criticism is great,

and SpeakUp Says:
    July 9th, 2009 at 15: 23.10

PR based on MUTUAL RESPECT & EQUALITY? You have to be kidding me!!! This is the most stupid article from LKS. Does LKS himself write all these articles?

————————–

Is this constructive?

35. #35 by cto on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 2:57 pm

SpeakUp Says:
    July 9th, 2009 at 16: 16.36

…..

Want me to teach PR what to do? What for? They will have to pay for it. They are too arrogant.

——————–

Who is too arrogant?

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 5:18 pm

CTO … arrogance in PR is seen each day since GE12. Examples:

i. DSAI saying he got 41 MPs – he got a kick in the ass
    ii. DSAI saying he will see the Agong to take over the nation – no appointment was given
    iii. LKS articles on PM such as PM got no guts to call for vote of confidence – LKS did not bother to call for a motion for such a thing
    iv. comments by LKS that PM is involved over C4 issues and that it will shame Malaysia in the international scene – Obama did not bother neither does France, where the article actually was published
    v. Kulim PR MP who is totally racist speaks openly telling everyone not to question Islam – DSAI did nothing
    vi. LKS articles about PKFZ – if he feels so strongly then lodge a police report, I agree PKFZ is a total con job and that many need to be charged for treason, taking national money should be treated like in China, one bullet to the back of the head and send the bill to the family
    vii. PR claims massive election fraud just before GE12 – there was no fraud as BN got trashed real good

Look at most of the articles here that is only here for one reason. to BELITTLE. Is this how we run a nation? By belittling? BN has done that for over 50 years. They belittled and bullied to maintain a dominant position so they can fatten themselves.

This article is clear evidence of LKS not facing up to the cracks. Many have spoken against this but he calls it, FREEDOM TO DISSENT. Wow … I like this. Hence, I call this article stupid. Because it is.

Also, you ask if I were constructive … look at my 2 tips above, is it not? Anyone can come out with the 2 tips I stated because its so so simple, BUT will PR do it?

PR sold itself as the saviour of the people, PR says NO MORE RACIAL POLITICS, there will be MERITOCRACY we are not like BN! Ask DSAI, LKS and Hadi to release a press statement or pledge that:

i. NO MORE NEP style politics favouring any race;
    ii. No more privileges for any race in education;
    iii. PR will only favour meritocracy;

If they can do that I in 30 days time chop off my hand ok. Over this week I bumped into a PR component party member, now this guy sits on something like maybe equivalent to some party national executive council. He told me this, in closed doors they know if PR takes over there will be hell as to who gets what posts. They know it will happen.

But then, maybe I am making up stories huh? When will our politicians face up to reality. Meaning, time to make Malaysia great and not squabble. When?

37. #37 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 5:42 pm

Latest for all to read and please read it carefully:

Ean Yong, who is DAP Selangor chief, also maintained that the party wanted to see closer cooperation among the PR parties in Selangor rather than a “culture of accusing each other like the BN”.

Full article is here – http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/24171/84/

Oh man … those are the words I have been speaking. Stop the squabble.

38. #38 by lkt-56 on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 8:25 pm

SpeakUp,
    You got whupped real bad… I feel for you. Honestly I do not believe that you are an MCA man in disguise but rather feel frustrated and fearful that our beacon of hope, PR, is facing so many problems.

My advice is simple: “Don’t worry… be happy.” Malaysia has reached the critical mass in terms of awareness that there much be a change from our old styled, raced based politics.

Out of these seemingly petty squabbles within PR will be born a true national party where genuine consultation and mutual respect among members will take place.

I believe in what Kit said and I see that the PT national leaders have the wisdom to ensure that Malaysians get what they deserve: TRUE NATIONAL UNITY.

39. #39 by cto on Saturday, 11 July 2009 - 1:03 pm

SpeakUp Says:

July 10th, 2009 at 17: 18.35
    CTO … arrogance in PR is seen each day since GE12. … and a lot of other things

——————————

I have not made any statement about PR being arrogant or not

I have also not mentioned if this particular LKS’ article is stupid or brilliant.

I am just merely making my point that you speak of constructive criticism yet you do not do so. You speak about PR being arrogant yet your writings reveal your own conceit. You criticize other for complaining but you whine.

Just trying to lead you down the path of self enlightenment.