Call on Najib and Hishammuddin to respect public opinion on the need for a new IGP who can translate the Police Royal Commission’s vision of “an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service” into a reality

Yesterday, I said that the country needs a new Inspector-General of Police to provide new leadership and vision to regain public confidence in the ability of the Malaysian police to live up to the benchmarks set by the Police Royal Commission Report in 2005 to be an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service with the three core functions to reduce crime, eradicate corruption and uphold human rights.

Instead, the current IGP, Tan Sri Musa Hassan, is lobbying support for another renewal of his term as the No. 1 police officer of the land instead of gracefully allowing a new IGP to take over the Malaysian police force.

No Minister or MP disputed me when I said in Parliament earlier this week that it is easy to give more than a hundred reasons why the country needs a new IGP and why Musa should not succeed in his lobby to get another term of renewal as IGP.

Foremost among the reasons, undoubtedly, is the burial of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) proposal, the key recommendation of the Police Royal Commission set up by former Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to create a people-friendly and effective police force to keep crime low, clean-up corruption and protect human rights.

The funeral rites for the IPCMC were performed when Parliament passed the Enforcement Agencies Integrity Commission (SIAP) Bill on Tuesday – creating a completely diluted, powerless and visionless Commission as far as creating a world-class police force is concerned.

The call for a new IGP to lead a completely make-over of the police, whether in terms of effectiveness in fighting crime or its public image as a friend and protector of the people, has struck great resonance from the people.

One visitor to my blog, for instance, has volunteered 12 “not exhaustive” reasons why there should be a new IGP, viz:

1. Imagine an OCPD shouting through a loud hailer, 1, 2, 3, tangkap, tangkap, tangkap.
  2. Storming the Perak State Assembly with firearms and dragging (Perak Speaker) Sivakumar like an animal out of the assembly hall and illegally detaining him for more than an hour.
  3. Attending Fathers’ Day Dinner without invitation and bringing along 2 water cannon water trucks.
  4. Arresting lawyers who act for their clients.
  5. Arresting people wearing black attires.
  6. Arresting people holding a birthday party.
  7. Arresting people holding and presenting birthday cake.
  8. Not allow to direct traffic.
  9. Lighting candles.
  10. Arresting people attending Hari Raya Puasa open house.
  11. Arresting elected representatives who attend to the people in time of need.
  12. Creating unnecessary roadblocks causing traffic jams.

I call on the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein to seek and respect public opinion on the need for a new IGP to translate the Police Royal Commission’s vision of “an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service” into reality.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 1:41 pm

Another strong reason why the IGP’s service should not be extended again is if he stays on, he will deprive other deserving and more capable police officers of climbing up the ladder for promotions.

Let’s do away with ‘dead wood’ in the police force. If one can’t perform and lack the confidence of the public, he MUST go! There are no two ways about it!

2. #2 by carboncopy on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 1:48 pm

I wonder whether he is holding the BN govt ransom with the information of Anwar Sodomy I case?

After all he was the “mattress police”.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 2:08 pm

Hmmmm. Then they will need to employ a consultant to locate another obedient, subserviant, yes-man lackey who can be counted on to do their biddings. Then again it might not be too difficult as we have many talented citizens.

4. #4 by OngTuaKang on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 2:32 pm

http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2009/07/03/4.html

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????“??”?

Ta Kut Ong was seen laughing in the picture with the Penang TalKing Ong.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????3???????????????????

MCA also into “Safety with Public in mind” but never see the need for new IGP.

5. #5 by mendela on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 3:05 pm

This IGP is not a “dead wood”. Dead wood won’t do much harm to the public.

He is a scumbag, a pest and a money sucker. He brings only shame and pains to Malaysians!

6. #6 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 3:28 pm

Yes the police force has MAJOR issues, the BN government got even more issues BUT Mr LKS … there is nothing you can do but only publish articles here.

Many out there who are anti BN die hards are sick of PR. Go and read in Malaysia Today yourself, read the responses. Anyone who even hints that BN is good there is verbally lynched but the tide has turned today.

So Mr LKS what changes etc will you propose to instill confidence in these people who backed you all that PR is a viable option at the GE13?

Can you perhaps for the sake of those who have voted in PR, have a 1-Pledge-A-Day article for us all to see that you are spending your time working on fortifying PR and making sure that BN will be routed in the next GE? That I am sure is much better than barking about PKFZ and everything else that we know for sure is ROTTEN to the core.

Let me make some suggestions that ARE WORKABLE to instill confidence for those who support PR:

i. a gathering of PR members and head honchos whereby they pledge to serve the nation and its people irregardless of race, creed or religion;
    ii. a press release stating their stand on building ONE Malaysia, that Malaysia is for all Malaysians;
    iii. a pledge that all PR officials and politicians will no longer be concerned with race and religion nor just try to champion for their own race/religion or to raise issues that concerns their own race/religion;
    iv. that PR will perhaps e.g field a Chinese in a predominantly Malay constituency and push the voters to realise the fact that if in America there can be a Negro President then it is time Malaysian’s learn to accept an MP or ADUN that is not of the majority race in that constituency.

Since you have a batch of so called ministers to be can you:

i. have the new Shadow Ministers of the Education Ministry state that all bumi quotas will be removed, entry is only by way of MERITS whilst a quota is set aside for the less fortunate;
    ii. the have the new Shadow Ministers of the Finance Ministry state that there will no longer be anymore bumi assistance but assistance is to build a nation and its given to those who are less fortunate or financially challenged;

If you can do that … if … Dare you face the truth? You cannot do it and DSAI will never let it happen. What you have is a mere marriage of convenience. BN is not really scared of PR now. Not with the recent showing of dissent within.

7. #7 by cintanegara on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 3:46 pm

Chief Minister Mentor (Self-appointed) is trying had to divert focus to non-issues…..His son must step down immediately as Penang Chief Minister for having failed to serve and help the people in Penang…Kg Buah Pala for instance…He was not able to discharge his duties and keep his promise….Of course…everybody knows that .he got the CM position on the basis of him being LKS’s son….not because he is qualified….

8. #8 by the reds on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 3:53 pm

Musa Hassan, i guess it’s time for you to retire and enjoy your life! Malaysia needs a new IGP to ensure our rakyat’s safety! Look at the statistics, what has Musa done? He has done nothing, as the crime rate keeps increasing! No one feels safe anymore in Malaysia! Perhaps, the safest place in Malaysia is Musa’s house!

9. #9 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 3:58 pm

Cintanegara … are you from Penang even? Do you really know what LGE is doing or trying to do? Do you know the facts behind the Kg Pala case of you reading headlines only? Know before you speak. Anyways,I am not a member of DAP nor a member of LGE’s family la … hahahahaaaa

At present from a kaypoh layman’s point of view (me I mean), Penang has done best out of all the PR controlled states (Kelantan exempted as Nik Aziz is doing great there as always).

Also, you are mistaken about LKS diverting interest, he is NOT doing that. He is not that dirty ok. He just cannot face it openly.

10. #10 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 4:10 pm

“he got the CM position on the basis of him being LKS’s son….not because he is qualified….” (cintanegara)

cintanegara,
    So what? The Chinese Confucian Philosophy does not specifically say that a son of a successful Politician cannot join politics. When an Emperor consulted a Senior Government Official and sought opinion about the possibility of appointing the heir-apparent Prince to assume some official duties in the Government, the Senior Government Official answered, “His Majesty does not need to purportedly bar the name of the princes from appearing in the list of potential candidates during the selection process of the Key Government Officials, so long as the namelists are based on the merit of Meritocracy!”

Lee Kuan Yew believes in that Philosophy. Dr. Mahathir believes in that Philosophy. George Bush believes in that Philosophy. Then cintanegara, who are you to say that such a philosophy is wrong when being adopted by some DAP leaders? Lim Guan Eng is an accounting-trained professional. What profession do you hold which makes you eligible to evaluate and make such a comment that Lim Guan Eng is not qualified to be a Cheif Minister? Do you have a set of KPIs to tell that who is better qualified to be the Chief Minister of Penang? Please give us the supporting data about your personal finding about Lim Guan Eng’s competency as the Chief Minister! Otherwise, please comment prudently and don’t resort to name-calling here!

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 4:27 pm

cintanegara,
    By the logic which you rely upon for conducting a logical reasoning on the qualification of Lim Guan Eng as the Chief Minister, you may probably obtain such a biased conclusion as follows:
    “Lim Guan Eng is not qualified to be the Chief Minister because Lim Guan Eng is Lim Kit Siang’s son and because Lim Kit Siang used to be the Secretary-General of DAP.”

By borrowing the same logic which you rely upon, we may also come into the conclusion that “Najib Razak is not qualified to be the Prime Minister because Najib Razak is the son of Tun Razak and because Tun Razak used to be the Prime Minister of Malaysia cum the National President of Umno.”

Do you want to adopt such a logic?

12. #12 by artemisios on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 4:28 pm

Hello Onlooker,
    There’s no need to use such mature explanations on Cintanegara. He won’t understand. At least not until he hits puberty.

And Cintanegara, your name is misleading. Try ‘insecuremanchild’ or ‘ineedattentionandwilldoanythingtogetit’

That’ll be slightly more accurate

13. #13 by HJ Angus on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 4:46 pm

Guys
    Let’s try not to get personal but argue the merits/demerits of posters.
    We will never progress if all we simply knock people for \skewed\ opinions.

14. #14 by cintanegara on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 5:16 pm

Mr Onlooker…I respect your views, but beg to differ on a key point….DS Najib’s political career began after the death of his father Tun Abdul Razak Hussein in 1976…Likewise DS Hishamuddin’s political career began after the death of his late father …Dato Mukhriz on the other hand, ventured into politic after his father no longer held any position in the party/cabinet….while LGE got a chance to contest in Kota Melaka at a very young age (1986)……That time, his father was one of the top man in DAP… Two different scenarios, making it easier to understand

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 5:29 pm

Cintanegara … what you say above is true BUT it does not change anything. You made allegation of nepotism and that LGE is incompetent. Why not state why and not a mere sweeping statement? I mean then we can understand your point of view. Faliling, which its a Tin Milo Kosong la …

16. #16 by majis on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 7:21 pm

LKS, do you know why crime and corruption in Malaysia can’t be eradicated. This is because the real crime bosses sit in Putrajaya.

17. #17 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 10:04 pm

“….while LGE got a chance to contest in Kota Melaka at a very young age (1986)……That time, his father was one of the top man in DAP…” (cintanegara)

cintanegara,
    For your information, my dad got me to help him to verify his workers’ payroll when I was only 13 years’ old. My dad’s workers never complained about the nepotism of me being temporarily appointed as a payroll clerk at my young age because their payroll slips had always been accurately verified. I believed it was alright for my dad to put his trust into my mathematical capability even though I was only a 13 year-old child.

I didn’t see there was anything wrong when Lim Kit Siang nominated Lim Guan Eng to stand and contest for the MP seat in Kota Melaka Constituency when Lim Guan Eng was very young (26 years’ old, I guess). Anyway, Lim Guan Eng did win the MP election contest in Kota Melaka Constituency. Of course, Lim Guan Eng was and still is the most trustworthy person in this world to Lim Kit Siang because Lim Kit Siang knew much better about the capability and competency of his own son than anyone else. Clearly, there is nothing wrong about nominating a leader’s own son to assume some responsibilities and obligations in order to share the burden of the father.

What is your complaint actually, cintanegara? Please be more specific!

18. #18 by anna brella on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:25 am

Okee dokey.

In that case moi’ll get into that time machine and fast forward it into the correct space time continuum dateline in the future to grab that available (surely by then) cure for leukaemia and heart malfunctions and then whiz back into the past and cure the health ailments of the (now deceased) second and third PMs of Malaysia which would mean that when I zipped back into the present reality of the present here and now I wouldn’t have to put up with the nauseating presence of the two terrible cousins in today’s politics.

So without further ado, if that is the good end and final reality to be achieved by the application of that novel logic that has been stated here, I’ll go hop to it then, so ciao for now and see you folks soon in that hopefully altered present reality where there is a different current PM and HM.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

19. #19 by House Victim on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 3:52 am

“The funeral rites for the IPCMC were performed when Parliament passed the Enforcement Agencies Integrity Commission (SIAP) Bill on Tuesday –”

THIS FUNERAL THE RITES OF THE PARLIAMENT TO EXERCISE THE MONITORING FUNCTION OF THE PARLIAMENT TOWARDS THE GOVERNMENT!

What else can the People say??

ANY MP VOTING IN FAVOR, OR, WITHOUT STRONG DEBATES ON THIS RIDICULOUS ACT HAD BETRAYED THE VOTERS WHO HAD ELECTED THEM INTO THE PARLIAMENT!!

A BLACK DAY FOR MALAYSIAN CONSTITUTION – The funeral on Malaysian Constitution was done in Tuesday!!

20. #20 by cemerlang on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 7:49 pm

How to be genuinely efficient if things are done only for the top people and does not include the ordinary, everyday Malaysian ?
    How to be incorruptible when oneself is always thinking of money ?
    How to be professional when self interests come first ? The people who talks about efficiency, incorruptible and professional are also people who are inefficient, corruptible and unprofessional. In this case, how can there be any improvement ? Throw away the not efficient. Throw away the corruptible. Throw away the unprofessionalism. Throw away too the people who think so cleverly of themselves, preach about these things but never practise themselves. Some of those who read and comment on Malaysia Today are no better. How can there be any improvement ?
    In the end, it is all empty tin banging. And just gossips.

21. #21 by johnnypok on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:04 am

Make some noice, they will give you some sweets, just like that guy from Sabah who rejected a deputy post and later given a senior post, talk about \lucrative DPM post\, and created a national embarrassment. This is how it works. Make more noise, and threaten to join the opposition, guarantee you will get million-ringgit contract plus immunity from being charged in court! Shout at the top of your voice, and threaten to bath your kris with Chinese blood, wow, instantly become unelected PM.