Questions – will OTK present Ministerial statement on PwC report to Parliament followed by parliamentary debate on RM12.5 billion PKFZ Rip-off?

Acting on the public commitment of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak that every question on the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) Rip-off will be answered by the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, my three questions today to Ong (No. 22 to 24 of the series) are short, simple and straightforward,viz:

1. It is five days since I had asked for a set of the three-and-a-half high annexure of 20 appendices to the PricewaterhouseCoopers (PcW) audit report into the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) Rip-off, which are not accessible to the public except in the library of the Port Klang Authority (PKA) library.

Of course, if I can get a set of these documents for fuller study, I might have more ammunition to grill Ong and the PKA Chairman, Datuk Lee Hwa Beng about the PKFZ “mother of all scandals”, but this is what accountability, transparency and good governance is all about, isn’t it?

When will Ong declare whether he is going to direct the PKA Chairman to give me a set of the appendices or come out with a refusal publicly, without running away from the question?

2. Does Ong agree with my proposal that the PwC audit report on PKFZ currently available online at www.pka-report.com should not be for only a period of two weeks from 28th May to 10th June 2009, to be removed on Wednesday, but should remain on the PKA website so long as the PKFZ scandal is not resolved?
I had suggested that the 20 appendices of the PwC report should be uploaded on the same site so that all Malaysians can access them to find out why the interests and rights of present and future generations should be pawned away by a RM12.5 billion PKFZ Rip-Off. Has Ong or PKA any technical problems in putting the appendices on the website as the DAP IT team can volunteer free services?

3. Parliament is meeting on Monday, June 15. Is Ong prepared to give a Ministerial statement on the PwC audit report on the RM12.5 billion PKFZ Rip-off, to be followed by a parliamentary debate on the Ministerial statement and the PwC audit report on the PKFZ?

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 2:31 pm

OTK’s so called ‘TELL ALL’ is actually ‘TELL NOTHING’.

One should not pin too much hope on OTK that he will reveal the truth as BN is notorious for evading accountability.

2. #2 by the reds on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 3:27 pm

Not only majority rakyat is not happy about the performance of Ong Ta Kut, even MCA members themselves are not happy of their “kia si” + coward president. In the past, MCA is “strong” because they have competent leaders like Tan Cheng Lock and others. But more recently, MCA seems to be fading away with weak leaders one followed another, starting from Ling Liong Sik, Ong Ka Ting, and the worst, Ong Tee Keat!!!

3. #3 by m2molo on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 5:41 pm

Malaysian like to create white elephants. We had a university for ‘pertanian’ but later it was renamed to University of Putra Malaysia. Now, the new Menteri Pertanian proposed to build a university for pertanian again in Kedah. Do we really need a university just focus on pertanian? Why not spend the money to enhance the facilities or resources in other universities?

4. #4 by ekompute on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 8:57 pm

“will OTK present Ministerial statement on PwC report to Parliament followed by parliamentary debate on RM12.5 billion PKFZ Rip-off?”

I doubt he dare.

5. #5 by House Victim on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 9:43 pm

1. Since the Project involved Gigantic amount of public fund and the report was prepared by a Auditing firm other than those responsible Government Departments, should opinions be gathered from some Authentic bodies and the public before any Parliament Debate?

2. Should the responsible Departments in approving, monitoring the project make their “official” opinions?

3. Should at least the Finance Department or Auditor General made their comment?

4. When the problem came from the Transportation Department, should they be the ONLY ONE to investigate or report to the Parliament? How about the one from MACA (ACA)?

5. Where have all the procedures and responsibilities gone?

THE ROT IS NOT ON THE PROJECT ALONE BUT THE ADMINISTRATION WITHOUT PROPER PROCEDURES AND THE QUESTIONING OF RESPONSIBILITIES?

If the project does not involve GUARANTEE from the Government, how can it continues to be sucked!! If the Responsibility of such mess cannot be sorted out and go after administratively or legally on those responsible, the Parliament will be an additional party to contribute the faults!

BUT, SO WHAT!!
    MALAYSIA BOLEH!!

6. #6 by TomThumb on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 9:54 pm

“Acting on the public commitment of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak that every question on the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) Rip-off will be answered …” kit

if you say it is a rip-off why then should anyone answer anything??

7. #7 by limkamput on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:15 pm

TomDumb, don’t trivialise this blog, show your respect to the host. But then I guess a fool will never know.

8. #8 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:17 pm

When there is a major scandal of the greatest proportion with the obvious and commonsense approach for total accountability, disclosure hence finding the best way forward is the wish of all sensible Malaysians, the deafening silence of a minister who can be excused as he was not in charge then, suggests a pressing need to conceal, protect and forgive someone who enjoy privilege available to the very few and far between.

This can only happen in a country when religion is deemed very important part of nation make up.

9. #9 by limkamput on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:25 pm

Sdr Lim, I think it is pointless to pursue further with OTK. I believe he does not know much what is going on in PKFZ. Let’s face it; a Chinaman Minister in charge of transport ministry (but minus all taxi, bus and lorry licences and permits) is in no position to preside over a RM12 billion scandal. So you don’t have to give him more credit that necessary. The “government” is smart enough to push this hot potato to him and he is stupid enough to accept it. Sorry, I don’t think he is stupid, he is intellectually corrupt.

10. #10 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:30 pm

PwC reports have extensive exclusion clause

1) “the report is limited in scope”

2) “….restricted to a position review…”

3) “…not advised on strategy, valuation…operational
    effectiveness, staff competencies or process improvement…”

4) “..completeness and accuracy of information…is the responsibility of PKA and PwCAS…”

hence the report is a waste of money and purely sandiwara manner of showing accountability.

sure when you engage the audit firm that audits the World Bank, surely there is some credibility?

Not really because base on the 4 points above:

1) PwC admitted that their hands are tied

2) review of position means looking at reports, talking to management etc, high level stuff, but not involved looking into individual invoices which can produce stunning findings – remember the discovery of MAS’s purchase of expensive paintings to be hanged in the wall of some exclusive office kind of sh$#t?

3) not looking at these material aspect highlighted by PwC reinforces the fact that PwC hands are really tied and they all making it public. Why restrict PwC to this and that when you promise full accountability?

4) PwC have to rely on whatever sh@t, cr%p, right or wrong documents furnish to its auditors without given a chance to verify if all relevant information was made available to them (might show perhaps 50% of the whole story) or the information given to PwC was prepared correctly or not….

11. #11 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:45 pm

SO UMNO DOES NOT NEED MCA

A solidarity government can be worked out by Umno and PAS through talks conducted with sincerity and tolerance, and such a government can help revive the economy, Umno Youth executive committee member Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said today.

12. #12 by ChengHoi on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:52 pm

Here is a trivial quiz for TomDumb:

If Mother Angel grant Ong Ta Kut a (one and only) wish, what will he opt?
    (A) There is no one like LKS in Malaysia who is so persistent.
    (B) He got other portfolio instead of Transport Ministry.
    (C) He be given 3 wishes instead of 1.

You will find the answer at ongteekeat.net or at the back of this page by turning over.

13. #13 by TomThumb on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 11:52 pm

limkamput Says:

Today at 22: 25.50 (1 hour ago)
    Let’s face it; a Chinaman Minister in charge of transport ministry ..”

what’s being a chinaman has to do with anything? one racist mindset in exchange for another will not do.

14. #14 by ekans on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 1:17 am

Let’s face it… This PKFZ issue, even with the existence of this PwC report, is going to be spin-doctored in every direction, so that those who are in power and would like to remain in power & protect their vested interests, will some how escape punishment. Probably the best that can be done now is to ensure that the people know what is going on so that they can make the right choice during the next GE…

15. #15 by frankyapp on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 2:57 am

OTK is not qualify to reveal the truth of the PKFZ report by Pwc. He has no power or authority unless NR gives it to him. Najib is making fun of you guys when he ordered OTK to tell the truth.You guys should know that Umno/Bn leaders are all hypocrites.Scandal after scandal,investigation after investigation,charges after charges but still no truth reveal.Should all those scandals reports are reveal,Umno/Bn long ago would have lost it’s power.Hence I think this PKFZ scandal will be foregone .

16. #16 by frankyapp on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 3:54 am

Glad to know that Umno now needs Pas and do away with MCA. Vow that’s pretty good news .Pray to God Almighty that Mukhriz will succeed,my dear pulau sibu.Just pray that Mukhriz’s sperm is strong and trigger a conception immediately.Once the body is ready,let’s see how many fingers ,hands and arms would chop off under strict islamic laws.The first hand is likely that of Mukhriz,How would you do without hands and fingers MR,Mukhriz ? Please don’t ask me for not warning you okay .LOL.

17. #17 by Black Arrow on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 8:56 am

It’s always like this: report after report will be issued after some big fiasco but nothing comes out of it. No action taken, only a lot of talk and after that it dies out and fades away from the people’s memories.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 10:40 am

You want to read a set of the three-and-a-half (inch) high annexure of 20 appendices to the PricewaterhouseCoopers (PcW) audit report into the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) Rip-off to grill Ong and the PKA Chairman, Datuk Lee Hwa Beng about the PKFZ “mother of all scandals”…?? :)

Reminded me of “My eyes are glazed, my head swimming just from browsing through the 6,000 pages of report and Appendices” – what was attributed to your comment (as reported by New Straits Times, March 9, 1986 in relation to Committee of Inquiry’s Report) on the Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal (US 1 billion) then.

To Malaysia’s credit we have some infamous ‘firsts’:

– BMF Scandal (Loss more than RM2.5 billion) the largest banking failure in the world then;
    – Bank Negara’s huge losses of an estimated RM30 billion from foreign exchange trading, trying to speculate the British Pound (against Bank of England), then the biggest loss ever sustained by any Central bank in the world.

There were of course ‘smaller’ losses – eg RM600 million losses in a secretive but foolhardy and expensive foray to corner the international tin market in London via Maminco.

Once again these put into sharp focus that when government/government officials/politicians conduct business in semi government agencies – like (say) Port Klang Authority (PKA) – the economic rights and benefit of such entities are no sooner appropriated to serve the personal aims of individual officials, who made no distinction between their own interests and those of the official position they occupied. This an issue of values of politicians/ government officials.

All these – done ostensibly under auspices umbrella and excuse of NEP/patrimonialism/crony capitalism – have proven unworkable and soon need bail out from Tax payers moneys, Petronas, EPF, which of course is a form of socialisation of losses in service of privatisation of gains……a very imaginative adaptation (elevated to a state of art in Mahathir’s era of admin) of modern concepts of Privatisation to a throw-back of values of feudal past equating public position with private possession with those in authority not being questioned or held accountable.

Unless the above paradigm of soing business via semi govt agencies where politicians and govt officials having govt influence and authority can ‘ampur tangan’ (as has happened before in BMF Maminco etc) no lessons were learnt then, certainly none now, and whether there was Commission of Emquiry or Ministerial statement in Parliament etc makes no iota of difference to what had happened and what would recur.

For it all boils down to the general paradigm of govt involvment in business and specifically, the values and ethics of the person(s) in charge and making business decisions for these semi government agencies. Have they changed through the years? It transcends even the other question of who is in political power, whether BN or Pakatan Rakyat….

19. #19 by YK Leong on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 11:18 am

Ong Ta Kut, you just have to say “YES or NO” to LKS’s questions only. Very simple, isn’t? Will you get to “the bottom of PKFZ “mother of all scandals” since you had made a TELL ALL public pledge?

Ong Ta Kut, do you know that LKS is helping you by fielding 3 questions daily all this while to get to the bottom of PKFZ “mother of all scandals?” Likewise, the people also think like what LKS thinks, except that many people do not have an avenue to air their grievances. You should be grateful to LKS and the people for helping you on your PERFORMANCE NOW.

20. #20 by limkamput on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 12:20 pm

what’s being a chinaman has to do with anything? one racist mindset in exchange for another will not do. tomdumb

I am not being racist, i am being frank. Just look at key cabinet or civil service appointments. I wonder it is because non malays non muslims can not be trusted (for important positions) or is it because the malays muslims want to keep the goodies to themselves (knowing these positions are apportunities for them to solicit bribes). Of course i can’t expect a dumb dumb to know all these.

21. #21 by Godfather on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 2:09 pm

The Speaker will rule that it is not a matter of urgency, and not a matter of national importance. Never mind that the bailout of RM4.6 billion has been made with national taxpayers’ money.

22. #22 by TomThumb on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 9:40 pm

“Of course i can’t expect a dumb dumb to know all these.” limkamputt

another final notice to you. don’t trivialize this blog and disrespect visitors to this blog.

23. #23 by TomThumb on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 9:42 pm

\I wonder it is because non malays non muslims can not be trusted (for important positions) or is it because the malays muslims want to keep the goodies to themselves ..\ limkamputt

stop pandering

24. #24 by ekin on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 8:22 pm

MR. LIMKAMPUT,

“# limkamput Says:
    June 6th, 2009 (4 days ago) at 22: 15.40

TomDumb, don’t trivialise this blog, show your respect to the host. But then I guess a fool will never know.” – YES HE IS PLAIN DUMB AND STUPID. NO OTHER WORDS CAN DESCRIBE HIM AS HE HAS THE PEAK.

“# TomThumb Says:
    June 6th, 2009 (4 days ago) at 23: 52.09

limkamput Says:

Today at 22: 25.50 (1 hour ago)
    Let’s face it; a Chinaman Minister in charge of transport ministry ..”

what’s being a chinaman has to do with anything? one racist mindset in exchange for another will not do.” – HE DID NOT ADDRESS RACIST. WELL, DUMB PEOPLE LIKE YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHAT MR. LIMKAMPUT IS TALKING ABOUT.

“# TomThumb Says:
    June 7th, 2009 (3 days ago) at 21: 40.25

“Of course i can’t expect a dumb dumb to know all these.” limkamputt

another final notice to you. don’t trivialize this blog and disrespect visitors to this blog.” – A FINAL WARNING. DO NOT DISRESPECT OTHER VISITORS TO THIS BLOG. OTHERWISE YOU WILL BE DISRESPECTED, TOMDUMB.

“# TomThumb Says:
    June 7th, 2009 (3 days ago) at 21: 42.25

\I wonder it is because non malays non muslims can not be trusted (for important positions) or is it because the malays muslims want to keep the goodies to themselves ..\ limkamputt

stop pandering” – STOP FARTING.