From May 13 to 1Malaysia – The Future of Malaysian Nation Building

Sticky Post – Scroll down for latest posts.

Live webcast @ http://tv.dapmalaysia.org

Watch live video from DAP Malaysia on Justin.tv

Public forum: “From May 13 to 1Malaysia – The Future of Malaysian Nation Building”

Date : 13 May 2009
Time : 8.00 pm
Venue Civic Hall, MBPJ, Petaling Jaya, Selangor (MAP)
Enquiries: 016-323 1563/ 016-291 3453

Opening by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim
Speakers:

• Lim Kit Siang, DAP Parliamentary Leader, Ipoh Timur MP
  • YAB Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin, Menteri Besar Perak, Bukit Gantang MP
  • Tunku Abdul Aziz, DAP National Vice Chairman/Penang Senator-designate
  • Khalid Abd. Samad, Shah Alam MP
  • K. Ragunath, President of Bar Council Malaysia
  • N.H.Chan, Retired Court of Appeal Judge
  • Prof. Azmi bin Sharom, Law Professor
  • Tricia Yeoh, Research Officer to Selangor MB
  • Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad aka (Dollah Kok Lanas); Former NST Group Editor-in-Chief

1. #1 by chengho on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 6:32 pm

uncle Kit,

should invite Rais Yatim , Nazri aziz and Sammy Velu
    Anwar not in the list?

2. #2 by StevePCH on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 6:45 pm

YB Kit, got permit to hold this forum ? Later get arrested for illegal assembly.

Sit outside hall maybe get arrested also. Later maybe Police will impose curfew.

Now Police is just too unpredictable.

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 9:29 pm

uncle kit,

Not very polite of you to leave out OTK. We woulld love to hear from the president of \other community\ This forum is not a platform to question him on PKFZ. Ask him not to worry.

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 9:51 pm

Mahathir should be able to give a vivid description of the events that led to that unfortunate incident. He was then over 40 years old, able to understand the fact of the matter. Still a very active UMNO member after more than 40 years now. If invited, we expect Mahathir to arrive with Siti Hasmah in the middle of LKY’s speech!

5. #5 by cemerlang on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 10:14 pm

Change the political system of Malaysia. No one should be called an opposition.

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 10:33 pm

Badawi dissolved parliament on the 13th. Najib released 13 ISA detainees during the 2 Bukit by- elections when the odds of winning were against the BN. And now immediately after the imfamous (or famous?) wild,wild east Perak Assembly Meeting, saw the release of another 13 ISA detainees.

UMNO under Najib is still using the same old methods to hint out at ‘something’ to scare the rakyat. He is learning fast from his mentor whose speeches are known to have 2 meanings, a dangerous man

7. #7 by wearemalaysian on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 11:02 pm

again, don’t think to positively now. need to work on things below…
    A) defined previous meeting, and all resolutions during that meeting was illegal
    B) there is a requirement for perak assembly to call meeting within certain duration. if no meeting called, the assembly will be called off automatically.
    – try to drag it over that period, since the court decided nizar is the right MB, then previous assembly meeting should be defined as illegal, then this meet the requirement of \no meeting called within duration\….automatically dibubar

8. #8 by monsterball on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 11:35 pm

Look at those smart ass teaching DAP how to organize a public forum
    13th May is a significant day and month for freedom fighters.
    Nice to be inspired to talk Nation building…and see how far have we learn from 13th May 1969.
    All I know..it has shifted from race conflicts to money politics…to achieve same results by UMNO…spearheaded by Mahathir.
    UMNO will always be a racialist party…so sickening to be supported by scums of the earth…those MCA..MIC… Gerakan blighters..ready to sell their race ad souls to UMNO…..to disunite and hoping to be little Kings of their own race..combined to call it….”1 Malaysia”
    It is actually very easy to build Malaysian into a united country…and take not more than 20 years to achieve a Malaysian Malaysia. After more than 53 years…UMNO is still doing Nation building and nice to get DAP to teach them….with the coming forum.
    If chengho can get those Rais Yatim….Samy and “taxidriver” get OTK…DAP will be most grateful.
    Do not just suggest..get them and stop talking nonsense.

9. #9 by negarawan on Monday, 11 May 2009 - 11:43 pm

1Malaysia or C4Malaysia? UMNO is forcing its power on the people, using all the might of the police force and judiciary to accomplish its selfish and corrupt agenda. I believe the DYMM Sultan Perak was “ill-advised” by UMNO into making a mistake. The citizens of Perak have suffered long enough bacause of UMNO’s greed. May the DYMM Sultan make a wise decision tomorrow to dissolve the Perak state assembly and let the people of Perak choose the government and leaders they want.

10. #10 by stevelow on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 1:15 am

Interesting list of speakers, see you guys there!

11. #11 by a2a on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 1:56 am

Please remeber to mention this is the date the corrupted politician overthrown the Malaysia’s FATHER OF INDEPEDENCE.

Yang Teramat Mulia
    Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj ibni Almarhum Sultan Abdul Hamid Halim Shah

They held him in some sort like lockup.

You can imagine what type of people are they.

12. #12 by heromal on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 3:30 am

better do it on 10 may. because Mother is the most influent person to us. they guide us to be the future malaysia. even LKS be like this because her mother teach him like this. maybe.maybe.

13thmay, bz going pos office. sending mother’s day contest. happy living in KL. no noob politician.LOL

13. #13 by vsp on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 6:27 am

LKS:

You should also invite a dog, like chengdol or amat kassim to display their dexterity of barking at the wrong tree.

14. #14 by peter sng on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:56 am

DAP Video squad must be there to record this Forum. Then post it on Youtube for all Malaysians wherever there are, here in Malaysia or overseas to know what DAP/PR is doing for the welfare and good of the country.

[admin – http://tv.dapmalaysia.org – live webcast]

15. #15 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:37 am

If umno and najib are smart they should just accept the decision and not fight on. That is the proper way to back out of the mess they had created. By doing so they would at the same time control the damage they had inflicted upon themselves.

But of course being umno (which we must not forget is a party which is based on greed and (-)meritocracy) they will choose to inflict further damage to themselves. There are too much vested interest at stake and vested interest will simply blind them and erase all their common sense (having no merit they must rely on common sense).

Bad move for them. And what is bad for them must be good for us.

16. #16 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 11:09 pm

high court already said nizar is rightful MB
    COURT OF APPEAL should let nizar remain as MB. or both side also suspended as MB. SUK should vacated.

17. #17 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 11:15 pm

they can get fast track of application hearing within few hours but why so slow to fixed the date of hearing.
    would they to delay the case till next GE?
    so illegal zambry will act as illegal MB till next GE so?
    i so happy to see najis this never giveup action. because all these can kill himself in next GE.
    so soon he will be critised by tun M. too. and demand him to step down.

18. #18 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:09 am

How are we to build a true and great nation under the present Umno/Bn government ?. Take Perak for instance,they grasped it by force,although they claimed to up hold democracy. They stormed into the assembly,dragged the PR speaker out by force and installed their own so called speaker and claimed it’s legal and democratic. The high court confirmed the Umno/Bn MB was illegal according to the vast majority of the rakyat’s opinion but the illegal MB DR.Zambry was not interested and filed an appeal immediately. Now his # 2 boss has got the cheek to say ” people’s interest comes first or utamakan rakyat. Pm Najib and his deputy are you really serious and mean it when both you guys said “people interest first or utamakan rakyat?. If that the case, order your now illegal MB DR.Zambry to stop the appeal against the high court decision. The rakyat especially the perakians wanted fresh state general election to determine who’s they want to form the state goverment.Please grant them their wish and show you really care.Failing which ,you two guys will make your own slogan “one malaysia,people first and performance now ” looks stupid .

19. #19 by sightseeing on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:09 am

Someone by the name of Chong Leong commented on Malaysiakini that the Court of Appeal’s Datuk Ramly sat on his own when granting the order of stay against Nizar is in contravention of Section 38 of the Court of Judicature Act 1964, which provides that every proceeding in the Court of Appeal shall be heard and disposed of by three judges or such greater uneven number of Judges as the president may in any particular case determine.

Uncle Kit, please ask Justice NH Chan to give his view on whether the court order granted by Datuk Ramly is in contravention of Section 38 of the Court of Judicature Act 1964.

20. #20 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:45 am

Najib has no confidence in himself and this is obvious due to the fact that he is scared to contest by-election and Perak. It also shows that Najib doesn’t care for what the rakyat thinks, as long as it suits his personal agenda (1Malaysia – Malaysia for one person only?). Even MCA, Gerakan and DPM are for the dissolution of Perak assembly.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:47 am

Re posting of sightseeing above: The Court of Appeal normally sits with 3 judges or greater uneven number of Judges but in exceptional case when 1 cannot male it due to sickness or other reason, a minimum quorum of at least 2 can will sit to hear the appeal. (section 38)

However granting a stay (meaning suspension of the High Court Judgment taking immediate effect) is not same as the hearing the appeal proper regarding the merits as argued by Nizar or demerits as argued by Zambry of the High Court judgment. I call this the proper “Court of Appeal hearing on the Merits” that will or ought to happen (say) in 10 days.

In fact the stay is meant to take effect until Court of Appeal hearing on the Merits. When it comes to Court of Appeal hearing on the Merits the Court must sit with 3, and if 1 is sick then minimum 2.

It does not apply to Zambry’s application for a “stay” that can be made to and order given by 1 appeal court judge Datuk Ramly Ali.

This is because an application and order for stay is a mere “interlocutory” , interlocutory as meaning a procedural Temporary order issued during the course of litigation before the final hearing.

There’s clear provision on Judicature Act (44) to say that a single Court of Appeal judge can give interlocutory orders for stay. Look at 44 – the link is here for benefit of readers: http://www.kehakiman.gov.my/legislation/Court_Of_The_Judicature_Act.shtml

44 is for expedience – 1 judge of Court of Appeal to grant any interlocutory order that can preserve the integrity of any appeal pending before it soon.

[It is not unprecedented for other reasons. Ex Judge George Seah alluded/hinted that he was sent to Kota Bharu in 1988 so that 1 judge could sit and give some interlocutory orders back in KL to ring fence the case structured to contain Salleh Abbas. 1 judge can easier make decision whilst 2 spoil the broth when they don’t agree to take same side on an issue – all in the excuse of “expedience” that 44 supposedly promotes….!]

That’s why PR/Nizar is not challenging in direction argued by Malaysiakini Chong Leong looking at sections 38 without 44. It/he must seek other arguments resting on surer basis and foundations.

22. #22 by sotong on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:52 am

For decades, the goverment introduced race and religious division….rewarding mediocrity and penalising individual achievement.

Our so called ” leaders/politicians ” think that by acting irresponsibly is doing something good for the ordinary people and country…..thus, some considered themselves as ” heroes “.

23. #23 by ctc537 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 9:38 am

The government has not seemingly made genuine and sincere efforts in uniting the races since the the May 13,1969 incident. In fact, a former PM even used the May 13 incident to frighten voters into voting for BN before a General Election. The largest political parties are race-based parties implementing race-based policy, so how is it possible for the country to enjoy real racial unity and tap the talents of the people to build a successful nation? More and more Malaysians must be made aware and to look at the big picture of the futility of adopting race-based policy.

24. #24 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 11:18 am

QS Asian University ranking
    39 Malaya
    51 Kebangsaan
    69 U Sains
    82 U Teknologi
    90 Putra
    171 Multimedia

25. #25 by monsterball on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 11:52 am

Confirmed!! Will be there.
    Hope to shake hands with Anwar and LKS.
    Love to meet commentators face to face too.
    So many speakers…..start at 8pm.
    What time will it end?

26. #26 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:37 pm

Malaysia has been a peaceful, stable and prosperous developed nation for many many years. …. Its strange that after 52 years since independence….DAP starts showing their interest in ‘nation’ building….Would there be hidden agenda behind all these?

BTW, Taxi Driver……The great and respectable, Tun Dr Mahathir, who is admired as a nation builder, an international statesman and an effective leader, is the right aspirant to talk about Nation Building….. However, his presence will make Anwar feels unhappy….. A great leader knows how to inspire other people around him….

27. #27 by Thor on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:38 pm

Whatever we do, whatever we fight for, justice in malaysia will never be felt.
    Malaysia is unlike other countries because it’s multiracial and not many really even bothers to care about each other and the country’s welfare.
    Every races have their very own religion and various thinking and this causes us to be disunited at certain times.
    Though a handful are sincere in fighting for the rights but majority of them are a fearful lot and would only care for their welfare and family the most.
    “Selfishness” is the best word to describe and when asked, most were say “lu mati, lu punya pasal”.
    Also, Malaysia do have two or more sets of law imposed.
    One set is made for every rakyat to abide and the other set is for the ruling government to control and command.
    The ruling government knew the rakyat’s weak point and they use the police to suppress and to oppress those who’re against them. They’ve in control of everything, from the law enforcement agency, the judiciary and right up to the monarch.
    They can denied it but everything is happening right under our nose now and then. VVIP case are never truly solved and highly profile witnesses are disappearing without traces.
    Indeed the PM is the most powerful one of all in Malaysia and none can challenge him, once in power.
    I see no future for Perak cases to be resolved fairly in this coming times because even the sultan is not in favour of that.
    I could even bet that the sultan only wanted BN to control the Perak state and no one else.
    What else can we expect for the best of this country as corruption is very rampant and breaking every law here is nothing, only if you’re loaded and willing to give.
    In Malaysia, money speaks for everything and that’s how our entire system works.
    In the next GE, I foresee that BN will still continues to govern even if they may lose more votes.
    All those money lobbying and hanky panky will still ensure that they do stay in power and what the opposition can still do is to keep on creating all those hoo,hoo and haa, haa just to remind the rakyat to wake up and be more brave in handling our country’s future.

28. #28 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 1:26 pm

Nation building from a man who wants to get 30 MPs to cross over? I want his to state as to what he feels about his actions back then. Does he think its correct? Did he lie when he was so so so convinced?

Sorry … Anwar has always cared for his own butt only (no pun intended ok!). He was not even in Perak on 7th May ok. Say what you want, LKS did go la.

NH Chan a superb judge, he is meticulous and knows his law. I have seen him in action before.

29. #29 by DAP man on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 2:34 pm

Aren’t there too many speakers at this forum. Each will get hardly 10 minutes!

30. #30 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 2:38 pm

DAP man … maybe its a long night? :) They all have a lot to impart though.

31. #31 by monsterball on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:01 pm

cintanegara loves to talk cock and bull….with two hands stretching out….balls carrying Mahathir….hoping mamak will put a good word for him..to be coffee boy in the Prime Minister’s Dept?

32. #32 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:13 pm

monsterball … I love your command of the English language, I am sure you would be so proud to see your son or daughter speak as well as you! :)

33. #33 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:32 pm

It is too late to teach good manners to this grumpy old man…. His mouth pours out folly….

34. #34 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:05 pm

Eh … do the police kacau such forums, I am keen to go and watch all these people speak, each will have something really good to say for sure.

35. #35 by chengho on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:17 pm

generation x and y malaysia looking forward for 1 Malaysia….
    13th may non event for us….

36. #36 by ekin on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:21 pm

cintanegara has always been against DAP. he does not even know what are the blogs blogging about…

the only way of 1Malaysia is to have everything spread “EVEN”, if not, forget about it but usually they always argued about the meaning of “EVEN”. do you know how orange squashed? imagine we’re ‘the orange’. squeezing it till the very last drop..dried..and we’re towards the end of it…

Zambry appeals against Nizar, Nizar against Zambry…i strongly believe this wayang will go on and on until the highest court…

37. #37 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:22 pm

umno till today dare not contest in the Penanti by-election, so how to expect it to garner enough courage to contest in the 59 seats of Perak?

38. #38 by a2a on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:05 pm

Don’t worry about anyone or agencies stop you?

During the early days, they used blocked your voice and information.

Now, in cyberspace information age nobody can stop you to voice out your wills and information.

Please don’t be a loser like few people talk negative here.

Please think positive and dare to dream to be a winne, with people power we all can tear down the wall of corrupted politicians for our next generation.

39. #39 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:47 pm

The future of Malaysian Nation Building will be very different from current nation building if Najib succeeds in reaching out to the non-Malays by not getting MCA/MIC involved, and subsequently dissolves the two coalition components and alters the meaning of the abbreviation ‘UMNO’ to United MALAYSIAN National Organization (i.e. a non race-based party).

The ‘re-invented’ UMNO will pose a big threat to PR.

40. #40 by a2a on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 9:29 pm

A committed CROOK, it always a crook to face justice.

A pirates it always a pirates to face justice.

A robber it always a robber to face justice.

A thief it always a thief to face justice.

A THIEF, CROOK, ROBBER, PIRATE CANT JUST CHANGE A NEW NAME TO HIDE THEIR SINS WHAT THEIR DONE, THERE WILL BE JUDGE BY GOD/JUSTICE.

41. #41 by monsterball on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:11 pm

With hands extended to carry balls……not good enough…cintanegara’s mouth is available at the command of ..
    his master’s voice.
    Old man I am…grumpy…ney..idiot!
    Learn to talk like that…you will go far…..self employed only…hahahahahahaha

42. #42 by monsterball on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:47 pm

Najib……You performed to my satisfaction. You will be employed as Coffee Boy.
    Cintanegara……Thank you Sir!
    Najib…..Who will help you to push the trolly?
    Cintanegara….I have a juicy young man.. you will sure to like. His name is Chengho.
    Najib…..OK…make sure you teach him all the tricks to satisfy me. Okay?
    Cintanegara….Guaranteed!
    Najib…Bring him in!!!
    Chengho….Oh master..I waited so long to lick you up…to perform to your heart’s desires..to be your slave …day and night.
    Najib…..I like this young man already!!
    Performance counts!!
    PS: Grumpy old an you say? How about a creative old man..you idiot.

43. #43 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 12:33 am

Dollah Kok Nanas was the invited speaker in the forum held at Civic Hall, MBPJ, Petaling Jaya on 13 May 2009.

He was telling his version of “inside story” about 513 incident happened in 1969.

He warned: ‘Make no mistake, Najib is Razak’s son, he is groomed for the job. He is no Abd Badawi, he knows what he wants. Beware!’

Out of a sudden, the justin TV was blocked… A highly efficient censorship which came in just in time!

44. #44 by Jason Ng on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 1:01 am

any idea what happened after that? no update on Uncle Lim’s twitter after that. worry something bad happened there.

45. #45 by monsterball on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 6:37 am

Oh my God!
    I thought forum was 17th May….weekend!!
    Missed it.

46. #46 by a2a on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 8:17 am

Please everyone do not always worry.

Be positive that if we all stand up together to demand in vote, we have the power to tear down the hall of corrupted politicians.

Please believe you have it with unity. Don’t worry and be strong.

47. #47 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 8:56 am

The sudden stop was jarring! Someone pasted a late link to someone else’s twits that continue for a bit after LKS’ end:

http://twitter.com/edgemy

48. #48 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:27 am

The Perak Darul Twister circus
    should be kept going
    ding ding dong dong
    for the next couple of years
    till the next GE
    Then judgement day
    Send in the terminators n clones
    “I SHALL RETURN”

49. #49 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:30 am

Why the live broadcast
    suddenly si kiao kiao maaaaatiiii
    became dead broadcast?
    Tak puas lah

Was the exposure too hot n revealing
    X-rated
    Temperature naik?

50. #50 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:43 am

The future of Malaysia
    is in the hands of our young voters
    Youngsters who are now
    in upper secondary schools
    in universities n polys
    in the open job market
    struggling for a living

Please please
    Start educating these youngsters now
    Make sure they become registered voters
    Convince them to be masters
    of their own destiny
    Be the real bosses
    and cast their votes wisely
    in the next GE
    to appoint political servants
    who work for them n
    for the nation!
    Not to be seduced, conned n cowed by
    the BN ever again!

What is needed to be done now
    for the future
    should have been done yesterday.
    Just do it!

51. #51 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:45 am

ANyone video the whole forum and maybe put it up on YouTube?