Bukit Gantang by-election – three historic missions of the voters

The 55,562 voters in the Bukit Gantang parliamentary constituency have a three-fold historic mission when they cast their votes in the by-election on Tuesday, April 7, 2009.

Firstly, to vote on behalf of the people of Perak to reject the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak orchestrated by Datuk Seri Najib Razak sparking off a prolonged constitutional crisis with two Mentris Besar, a political stalemate and the grave erosion of the doctrine of the separation of powers, symbolised by the Democracy Tree in Ipoh which has entered into Malaysian political folklore and gained international recognition and admiration. Vote on April 7 for a return of the mandate to the voters of Perak by dissolving the Perak State Assembly and holding of state general election for Perakians to decide on the government of their choice.

Secondly, to vote on behalf of the people of Malaysia to send a clear and unmistakable message to Najib, who is to succeed Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Prime Minister of Malaysia, that to safeguard the honour of the highest political office of the land and that of the nation, he must address the many serious swirling allegations haunting and hounding him whether about mega-defence commissions or the C4 murder of Mongolian Altantunya Shariibuu as they affect public and international perceptions about his suitability, integrity and legitimacy as Malaysian Prime Minister – and public interests demand a Royal Commission of Inquiry to establish Najib ’s innocence and clear his name with regard to all these allegations; and

Thirdly, to vote on behalf of all Malaysians to endorse and reaffirm the March 8, 2008 general elections results to demonstrate that the political tsunami last year was not an accident or one-off phenomenon but represented the deep-abiding aspirations of Malaysians for political change and an end to Umno political hegemony and arrogance of power; that Malaysia can only move forward to become more democratic towards a two-coalition political system with effective checks and balances to prevent gross abuses of power and that there can be no retreat or return to the Mahathirism of the past under Najib.

(Speech at the Pakatan Rakyat Bukit Gantang by-election ceramah at Kuala Sepetang on nomination day, Sunday, 29th March 2009 at 10 pm)

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 2:23 pm

Foreign observers from the UN ect need to be brought in to ensure free and fair casting of votes

2. #2 by OrangRojak on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 3:16 pm

k1980 your suggestion is “too jewish”. The EC knows best!

Interested to know how a country goes about securing election monitors, I had a quick search of wikipedia and it says in the ‘election monitoring’ article:

The United Nations no longer provides monitoring services, instead it focuses on electoral assistance

3. #3 by yellowkingdom on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 3:41 pm

Yes, voters of Bkt Selambau! You must exercise your democratic right to send a clear and unequivocal message to the Perak and Federal Governrment. They cannot mess with Perakians and rob them of their rights.

4. #4 by Kelvenho on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 3:47 pm

I fully agree with LKS. I pray that the voters of BG will make BN lose its deposit. All the best to PR.

5. #5 by frankyapp on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 3:50 pm

Hey hey guys,don’t be worry unnessarily about these three by elections.The rakyat knows especialy the voters in the three constitueicies and comes polling day,these voters will know what to do.like I said b4,the rakyat will teach umno/bn leaders a good lesson by delivering a huge majority for all three PR’s candidates.Just have faith,confidence and the truth will reveal and that is PR ‘s candidates will win big enventually even if EC and umno/bn try to cheat. Just help whereever possible to bring the voters in your area in the three constitueicies if or when you guys are there to the polling station to cast their valuable votes. After that,just relax and enjoy your cup of coffee,I wouldn’t be wrong,you can be assured.

6. #6 by chengho on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 4:14 pm

uncle kit,
    any comment on bt Selambu too many PR candidates?
    For Bt Gantang BN will win again ,peoples knew Nizar is Nga and Ngeh candidate , Nizar always a moron and malay bigot
    With Najib as PM the economic and market will be very bullish again..

7. #7 by wanderer on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 4:21 pm

After looking at the some of the photos taken on nomination day, there were 30,000+ strong PAS supporters attended. We could only see, a sea of Green and White…Muhyuddin, register your first failure as a new DP…born loser! hahaha

8. #8 by shadow on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 4:44 pm

GOD BLESS THE THREE PR CANDIDATES IN THE COMING ELECTION. To me DS Nizar should win the election hands down. He is a good man. During the short period as a MB, he has done a lot of good changes in Perak. No one can deny that. He is humble, honest, sincere and a hardworking person. He should stay in politics for a long long time. People like him can bring changes. We need more politicians like him. Malaysians need him.

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 5:17 pm

The Bukit Gantang voters are all focussed. They would vote the UMNO/BN candidate OUT and show the power of Makkal Sakthi. UMNO/BN’s highhandedness in using the police as their official thugs is going to their downfall.

The EC too is assisting the Pakatan Rakyat candidate in UMNO/BN’s downfall. They have shown many a time that they are the lackeys of the UMNO/BN.

The MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and other component parties in Sabah and Sarawak would also taste the ire of the rakyat. The death knell of the MCA, MIC and GERAKAN in Peninsular Malaysia is assured in the 13GE. They are proving themselves as mongrels that cannot survive without the scraps from their UMNO overlords.

They are not fit to be the leaders and spokesmen of the non-UMNOputras when all they can do is to sing praises of their tuans thereby confirming their slave mentality.

The Indians who can’t accept the PKR candidate and those who offer themselves as independents are after power, position and money. If any of them win, they would be the potential frogs. Those frogs in the making should be thrown into the murky ponds from where they come. We have had enough of frogs.

Hope for these frogs come to their senses before election day and withdraw gracefully.They have to support the Opposition candidate to send the message that Malaysians do not support UMNO/BN anymore.

10. #10 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 6:01 pm

Why are readers here so certain that the voters will vote for PR candidates (regardless of who they are and their sincerity and capability) in the coming three bye elections?

Are the voters giving the PR candidates, if successfully elected, multimillion RM opportunities to jump, jump, jump later to the BN?

Hard times are here and some people make hay while the sun shines.

11. #11 by TTDI_KL on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 10:11 pm

chengho Says:
    “uncle kit,
    any comment on bt Selambu too many PR candidates?
    For Bt Gantang BN will win again ,peoples knew Nizar is Nga and Ngeh candidate , Nizar always a moron and malay bigot
    With Najib as PM the economic and market will be very bullish again..”

Let me answer on behalf of Uncle Lim. It is ok for those good for nothing soldiers of fortune in Bukit Selambau to resign, to jump or to shout. PR is going to win. It is good – those hypocrites have finally shown their true colour.

Nizar is going to be the next MP of Bukit Gantang and there is nothing eunuch like you can do about it.

Please go learn some English before coming here. A phua tang sai can only give phua tang sai comments.

12. #12 by Godfather on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 10:23 pm

You guys notice that all the UMNO cybertroopers who are sent here to make postings are generally very weak in English ? Probably all disciples of Mike “I no speak Engrish” Tyson. How can they hope to succeed with their diversionary tactics if they can’t even express themselves properly ?

13. #13 by monsterball on Monday, 30 March 2009 - 11:00 pm

Godfather…and TTDL-KL…I agree there are few UMNO and MCA supporters here.
    Lets focus on that…and not pick bad English as a reason.
    UMNO guys are experts to use personal attacks on me…for 5 years.
    Lets not apply what they are good at. It’s simply low class.
    Focus on their messages…insult them…and respond.
    Idiots like chengho….with a pea brain…so easy to identify who he is.
    Limkamput must be slogging and studying for his exams.
    Must have father found out he talked cock and bull in blogging…and cut down his allowances.
    No time for blogging.

14. #14 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 31 March 2009 - 2:17 pm

Boh liao, don’t you ever get it in your head. Umno/bn has been surpressing and terrorising the rakyat for more than half a century.The rakyat then and now are difference.Those days,we have had no choice but now we have an alterantive PR which promised changes and change we all wanted now. The rakyat wanted a 21st automobile not an old umno/bn junk car which appears to be new.Umno/bn is liken to sour old milk in new bottle .Do you get it now Mr.boh liao ?.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Friday, 3 April 2009 - 5:39 pm

By elections.
    Bye elections.
    Buy elections.

Three elections. Which is which?