Ali Rustam just don’t get it – he should seek enlightenment from Mahathir

Disqualified UMNO Deputy President candidate, Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam just don’t get it when he declared there was no reason for him to step down as Malacca Chief Minister after be was barred from contesting in Umno party elections for money politics.

He even came up with the riposte that “If that is the case, then they should also ask Lim Guan Eng and Anwar Ibrahim to step down as they had been convicted and imprisoned before”.

Ali has made himself into a laughing stock by exhibiting his shocking ignorance of the law, ethics, politics and the great difference between him and the cases of Guan Eng and Anwar.

Both Guan Eng and Anwar were victims of an oppressive and vindictive political apparatus which used the system of justice to do its dirty work through malicious and selective prosecution, jailing and disenfranchising them from elective office for five years.

Is Ali seriously suggesting that he is in the same shoes as Guan Eng and Anwar – a victim of a pernicious and vindictive political system as represented by Umno?

However unfairly and unjustifiably, both Guan Eng and Anwar had paid their price, not only serving their undeserved jail sentences but also the five-year disenfranchisement from standing for elective office from the date of their release from jail.

Is Ali in the same shoes as Guan Eng and Anwar in having served a jail sentence and been barred from holding elective office for five years thereafter?

If Guan Eng and Anwar are convicted and imprisoned when they are Penang Chief Minister and Parliamentary Opposition Leader respectively, there can be no doubt that they will have to step down from their respective positions. Why is Ali claiming an exception?

For someone who could emerge as a “hot-favourite” for election as Umno Deputy President next week if he had not been barred because of involvement in money politics (euphemism for corruption), it is unthinkable that Ali does not know that his attempt to use the cases of Guan Eng and Anwar to hang on as Malacca Chief Minister is completely misguided, frivolous and baseless.

Should Ali step down as Malacca Chief Minister after being barred from standing for UMNO Deputy President although he is the “hot favourite” because of involvement in money politics and corruption?

He should seek enlightenment from his old master, former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, who had described it most aptly, as reported by the Malaysian Insider, as follows:

He (Mahathir) said that Mohd Ali should be treated the same way former Umno vice-president Tan Sri Mohamed Isa Abdul Samad was treated in 2005.

”Isa was thrown out because he was involved in money politics but he also lost his position as a minister. But here we have a very strange decision.

“He was found to be corrupt but he can remain as the Chief Minister (of Melaka).Now we have a person who is confirmed corrupt but the party accepted him as the chief minister.

“If you pass judgment, you must be consistent. It must apply to everybody in the same way and in the same amount.

“You cannot say, well, he killed that person so he should be hanged. And then he killed another person but this other person is not important, so let him go,” he said.

What say you, Ali Rustam?

1. #1 by de_Enigma on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 11:57 am

In bolehland, double standard can be applied. No problem.
    The only condition is you must be affiliated with UMNO.
    Simple requirement right?

2. #2 by yellowkingdom on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:01 pm

Ibarat, “Kuman di seberang nampak tetapi tidak nampak tiang di hadapan mata “. Oi Ali Rustam, kalau tak suka keluar sajalah dari UMNO. Buat apa nak pura-pura senyum sambil menipu “…saya terima dengan hati terbuka…” Bahkan “….sanggup gadai nyawa dan batin untuk UMNO…” Saya binggung kenapa bukan untuk Allah dan agama?

3. #3 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:06 pm

The only conclusion we get from UMNO’s reform is that corruption is acceptable in Ketuanan Melayu, only this time with endorsement from the MACC.

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:06 pm

A Chief Minister and considered the hot favourite for the UNMO Vice Presidenc, albeit barred from contesting, with such low IQ? UNBELIEVBLE! It tells much about those people who support him.

5. #5 by DAP man on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:09 pm

But Kit, UMNO has given a new definition for corruption. It is called “going against party ethics”.

It’s time we too advance with the times.

6. #6 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:15 pm

Who says Ali Rusty doesn’t get it ? By agreeing not to make a ruckus in the UMNO General Assembly, he and his supporters will get “stimulated” by Najis’ stimulus package. As far as UMNO is concerned, there is a price for everything.

7. #7 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:16 pm

Don’t ever listen to this Ali. He is the political agent of Rahim Thamby Chik. The same kind of morally deteriorated peers are usually inclined to mess around among themselves together in order to commit some unethical or immoral wrongdoings.

Even though Ali might be saying that he wanted to keep the post of Chief Minister of Malacca but sooner or later his dictatorial boss Najib would cause the State Assembly of Malacca to impeach him by vote of no confidence. Let’s wait and see how many supporters can Ali still command among the BN State Assemblymen of Malacca after the Umno Party Election.

8. #8 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:17 pm

Ali Rustam, let me tell you what I think. You carried the balls of the wrong person. Next time, be smart. Choose carefully the balls you want to carry. Which type, you ask me? Well, the bigger and heavier, the better.

9. #9 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:36 pm

It is very simple in deed. You keep the CM post but do contest deputy post, simply they do not want him ad deputy and automatically DPM? As simple as that. This is a deal. If want him to resign as CM can you imagine what his supporters can do.

We have to be realistic in Malaysia BN never follow they rules they rule what to be rule.

10. #10 by One4All4One on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 12:55 pm

Someone should interview Mohd Isa Abdul Samad and ask him what his take is on Mohd Ali Rustam’s case. (oops, in hindsight, he may say nothing serious, because he is also contesting for a seat in the supreme council, after the lifting of the ban on him; so that question on his take may just as well be considered rhetorical! Shit.)

Why was he given the axe and suspension while Mohd Ali could go scot free, as far as the government post is concerned, let alone the suspension? Fear of backlash is written everywhere on the walls, and Muhd Muhd Taib could easily attest to that.

Indeed, UMNO does as it pleases. None of our business anyway. But then again, UMNO’s No. 2 gets to be our DPM. Shit, again. Damned if we care, damned even if we don’t!

This is a case in point as to UMNO’s die hard habit of supremacy and down right being the law unto itself. Anything and anybody in its way will be bulldozed wholesale, regardless of the consequences.

UMNO must always be seen as THE BIG BROTHER, wielding the sledgehammer and whip. Damned if you oppose them, damned even if you don’t. What matters is their whim and fancy. And their interests and agendas.

With so many hungry and down right self serving “warlord” delegates ever willing to choose only those who would scratch their backs, seems like the candidates have to please and plead with them at their mercy and whim. How could UMNO change its wayward ways? One wonders.

Dream on. The sandiwara would remain just a sandiwara. Mockery and jokes and wayang kulit are part and parcel of the assembly. We can only watch, giggle and sigh.

11. #11 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 1:03 pm

Kenyatta, Sukarno, Nehru, Mandela and numerous others had been imprisoned before they became leaders of their countries. It all boils down to whether their imprisonment is for vile crimes or for just causes. So, Ali Rustan, dream on. You can be appointed deputy sultan of melaka soon.

12. #12 by Jong on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 1:55 pm

I agree in total what Godfather just said:

\ By agreeing not to make a ruckus in the UMNO General Assembly, he and his supporters will get “stimulated” by Najis’ stimulus package. \ :D

This Mamak-kutty, at his age do surprise many of us; he does hit some sense sometimes, read what he said:

“You cannot say, well, he killed that person so he should be hanged. And then he killed another person but this other person is not important, so let him go,”

Well isn’t what UMNO govt has been practising all along – selective prosecution? The Parliament UMNO-alighned Speaker can do no wrong while Perak State PR-aligned Speaker Sivakumar, the MACC commented recently, has ‘elements of abuse of power’?

13. #13 by wanderer on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 2:10 pm

Ali Rusti, build yourself a monument first before Mongolia and gang bury you alive.
    Malu no problem lah, style ada. Bohonland sure have flowery characters holding top positions in govt. This is UMNO in action!

14. #14 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 2:13 pm

Ali had by estimation, far more votes than Muhydin and something had to be done. It’s interesting to note what Muhydin said today about his relationship with Najib: “We compliment each other”.

UMNO no.1 and no.2 positions were a foregone conclusion. Neither Ali nor Taib or anyone else can wreck this well-laid UMNO plan.

Ali was too ‘powerful’ and well connected to be be given a shot at DPM, as he would have competed with Najib rather than complimented him. A bit like Kalla and Susilo.

15. #15 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 2:59 pm

Does Ali know that there are prisoners whose prison terms are in fact badges of honour for them?Ooi Ali, have you heard of Nelson Mendela,JoseRizal,Mahatma Ghandi,Benazir Bhutto?
    For you Ali you are just like the rest of UMNO big time thug addicted to using Ketuanan Melayu to rob taxpayers.

16. #16 by One4All4One on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 3:16 pm

The goings-on in the political arena ala BN-UMNO is just like a Bollywood churned out production.

Don’t know whether to laugh, to cry, or to act stupid watching the sandiwara and wayang kulit unfolding.

Much ado about nothing, but putting the whole nation at stake.

Zimbabwe’s and DR Congo’s affairs, and even the world financial meltdown looks like nothing in comparison.

Malaysia sure boleh!

17. #17 by homeblogger on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 3:54 pm

This is UMNO attitude. They can commit murder and still be let free but others donate cows to the poor must be investigated.

UMNO, BN, Najib and Badawi, I like many millions used to give you the benefit of the doubt. But today, I am praying for the downfall of your corrupt ways.

Come judgement day, YOUR wrongdoings will NOT be hidden anymore. You can fool the rakyat but you cannot fool God.

18. #18 by frankyapp on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 4:20 pm

Ali Rustam,chief minister,vice president and hot spot favourite deputy president umno nominee and still just don’t get it.You guys know why ?. It’s because he has been over stimulated by what you you guys know what …ha ha ha…When some one was being over stimulated say in pub or in parlour,you guys should know what would happen,right ! . But in the Ali Rustam case,I think he’s being over stimulated by NR’s RM 60 billion package.Who’s wouldn’t under such circumstances ?.

19. #19 by limkamput on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 4:40 pm

Power is a very funny thing. We can all understand now what Mahathir is saying. I did not understand him for 22 years when he was PM.

His son will be the next UMNO youth chief, trust me. He is too smart. Even Sdr Lim also buys his argument now. Hello wake up lah you fellows.

20. #20 by limkamput on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 4:45 pm

Hello wake up lah you fellows. We no need Mahathir to tell us those baloney. Are you saying none of us here can not analyse the way he did. He wants his son to be the next UMNO youth chief and so the history of Malaysia will repeat for another 22 years.

21. #21 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 5:40 pm

this is the form of intellectualism UMNO has offered until recently as part of its national level leadership.

one wonders about the level of intellect level of the people below him.

I fear for the future of Melaka and Malaysia as he still have a role at leadership level.

it also shows that UMNO cannot tolerate a stained leader within its rank but it is ok for the person in question to continue to hold a position of great responsibility, trust and duty to the tax payers. It just shows how much UMNO cares for the tax payers

22. #22 by Ramesh Laxman on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 5:52 pm

This is OK if we all acept the following definition of corruption; It is like pying an advance to an author before his book is published. More important the author higher the payment.

23. #23 by carcinoma on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 6:30 pm

is ok for ali, he need not worry . this is boleh land. after a while people of malaysia will somehow accept whatever he did in the past or gonna do in future. is just certain not-same-wavelength species will not be forgiven even no mistakes being conducted. this is certainly the act of bolehland. boleh lah tu…….

24. #24 by lopez on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 6:57 pm

this bloke is famous for the wrong things….but he aint broke
    so you can say and do what you like….he already has his pawns all over kanchil land in a tight grip.

so it will be sticky sticky to tear the seat off the buttocks….what would the tourist think when they visit malacca land

25. #25 by yhsiew on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 7:40 pm

When is UMNO ever serious in fighting corruption?

When do they ever have consistent policy – the same rule applies to everybody inside and outside UMNO equally in the same way?

26. #26 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 8:16 pm

Umno is never getting serious in fighting corruption. Barring Ali from contesting the post of Deputy President of Umno is just a dirty trick to stop such Pak Lah’s right-hand man as Ali from becoming the successor of Najib.

Many analysts are having high confidence in Muhyiddin Yassin for winning the seat of Deputy President of Umno. However, I believe that Muhyiddin Yassin is not the choice of Najib even though Muhyiddin Yassin has openly received the blessings from Dr. Mahathir in Muhyiddin’s contest for Deputy President post. Why should Najib as the practitioner of Machiavellianism choose someone who has a much stronger political influence than Najib himself to become a deputy cum a heir-apparent of his own political position? Does anyone of the Malaysian public really think that Najib will be so dumb to succumb to Muhyiddin and be turned into a puppet of Mahathir-Muhyiddin coalition?

My prediction is that Najib will turn in the last minute to put the candidate who has two words “Muhammad” in his name at the top of the party election menu during Umno General Assembly. Later on, Muhyiddin’s think-tanks will finally have to pack their backpack in order to go back to their respective kampung to raise Boer goats due to their dilly-dally delay in trying to convince Muhyiddin for taking on Najib in a direct fight in the post of Umno National President during the process of Umno nomination.

Muhyiddin will never be an intended choice of Najib as candidate of Deputy Prime Minister. Hishammuddin Hussein will always remain as the most favourite choice of candidate for the post of Deputy Prime Minister when Najib has become the Prime Minister.

Muhyiddin should blame no one for putting an end to his personal political career after the March 2009 Umno party election for he himself is too indecisive in the will of exposing his political ambition to the public for scrutiny by the Umno central delegates. One shall not pretend that he has no ambition to become the No. 1 man when in actual fact the time has already come to the maturity stage for him to tell all people that he is ready to become the No. 1 man. Anyway, he has already lost the chance of becoming the No. 1 man. It will be too late for him to tell people that he really has the ambition to become the No. 1 man now because by making a comparison in the age, he is definitely a loser to his strong competitor, Hishammuddin Hussein.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 9:24 pm

“You cannot say, well, he killed that person so he should be hanged. And then he killed another person but this other person is not important, so let him go,” Mahathir

What’s the point of hanging a dead man?

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 9:28 pm

“His son will be the next UMNO youth chief, trust me. He is too smart. Even Sdr Lim also buys his argument now. Hello wake up lah you fellows.” limkaput

Why are we not surprised that you should be taking Kit’s words at face value??

29. #29 by limkamput on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 9:47 pm

I don’t care whether it is face value or deep value. I just hate his bullsh!t is being quoted here and there. As if we do not know he is the greatest baloney in the world. You quote him more, you only give him and his son more credibility. Do you want another 20 years of mamakism?

30. #30 by monsterball on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 11:15 pm

The one who said….”UMNO will rule forever” found guilty of corruption…..was immediately approved by Najib to continue a CM of Melaka.
    It is absurd and ridiculous ……so said the crook ex leader.. to his god son..who abandoned him.

31. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 11:36 pm

I don’t believe that Najib will keep his promise to allow Ali to continue holding the post of CM of Malacca.

Najib’s political foster parent Tun Dr. Mahathir already warned Najib that Tun would be the first one who would go all out to remove Najib from the post of the Prime Minister if Najib took in any corrupted leaders as the cabinet members or as the key government officers.

Najib’s promise will simply be a lie to buy time for himself in order to make sure his camp will win in the party election. If Najib was really a man of his own words, then Altantuya would probably be able to enjoy herself in Ulan Bator with her RM500,000 on hand. Why should she die with a regretable leftover small debt of a taxi fare owing to the taxi driver?

32. #32 by Jason Ng on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 1:20 am

C4 champion as PM, Bribery Master as Melaka CM, khairy, muhammad taib (australia dollar cash master) all rule in Malaysia. we are like a mafia country. Malaysia Boleh!

33. #33 by frankyapp on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 2:09 am

Hey guys,what a joke TDM ‘s advice to NR regarding umno would lose the 13th general election should NR continue to support and appoint corrupted umno leaders to ministerials level once he becomes the prime mininster.TDM should know pretty well,what choice NR has since he can hardly find a clean and honest umno leaders who are qualify to hold ministerial positions. Muhidin was right saying umno must clean up or else lose the 13th general electon.I think there’s none yet a kind of detergent capable to clean up umno as it has corroded to the lowest core.It’s also like umno a sinking age old ship and no where in the world can you find a captain to keep it flooding,main reason why many umno members are jumping to opposition ships. Sorrylah Muhidin,cos you are not the right detergent.

34. #34 by Godfather on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 2:19 am

Mafia Country ? Why do you think that the underground economy is a lot bigger than the legal economy ? Whether it is drugs, women, liquor or illegal DVDs, all in Bolehland boleh kowtim.

35. #35 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 7:20 am

Is Ali Rustam trying to the people that:

1.His agents use their own money to buy support for him
    2.His agents are act own their own capacity -and not on his instruction.

Or

3. He need to spend money to buy a position/support to serve the rakyat

4. In Umno, support need to be bought ….not earned.

5. He is following the tradition and ‘the normal procedure’ to get elected ?

6. Though the position is bought, he would still put the interest of the people ahead of his personal interest.

7. That he would not try to get back ‘bigger personal profit’ from this investment money spend to gain support to get elected.

Let the people ‘think’ about that!

36. #36 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 7:21 am

Correction:

2.His agents are acting on their own capacity -and not on his instruction.

37. #37 by lopez on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 9:20 am

this guy and his cronies must consult a psychiatrist , including those who would not deseat him for his deeds

38. #38 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 9:55 am

The fact Ali Rustam can equate his case with LGE and Anwar shows basically perversion. The man really believes it. Its no different than Josef Fritzl believing he can rape his own daugther and committing incest – except that Fritzl finally pleaded guilty which Ali Rustam will never do so..

Ali Rustam – our very own political version of Joseph Fritzl…There are many like him which is why the only thing that must be done to them is to throw them in jail and throw away the keys…Reasoning is futile..

39. #39 by blablowbla on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 10:58 am

cintai negara and ahmad kassim,

pls give some valueable comments for ali,one of the UMNO powerfull warlords!

he really looks like undertaker’s(wwe) former manager,right?

RIP,ali!!!

40. #40 by blablowbla on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 11:11 am

he is william alvin moody,also known as percy pringle!

41. #41 by blablowbla on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 11:18 am

42. #42 by voice out on Monday, 23 March 2009 - 12:51 am

Always double standard !!!!!

It think is time for International Law take over from Malaysia Law

We are sick of this BN political fiasco….

ALi Rustam, if you feel you no wrong, you dont need to appeal at all…Lets the people decide..Put up a survey in Melaka itself and you will know the result….

43. #43 by voice out on Monday, 23 March 2009 - 12:54 am

OBAMA make a mistale and he make a public appearance on TV saying that he make mistake…..

If any minister in Malaysia make mistake, either they are oversea / business trip, sick or MC, the will not admit but worse they pinpoint others

44. #44 by Toyol on Tuesday, 24 March 2009 - 9:44 am

Just goes to show that UMNO is a strong proposer of corruption. No wonder that they are also strong advocates of racism and everything bad that this country do not need.