Damned, damned, damned…

Damned if we do and damned if we don’t…

This is the lament of Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithaudeen, chairman of the Umno disciplinary board, for disciplinary action meted out to Umno members.

But shouldn’t the Umno board also be damned for being able to take action only against 15 Umno members, when the number should be in hundreds as UMNO is “awash” with money politics and corruption in the Umno party elections, running into hundreds of millions of ringgit.

This is the question I posed in Parliament this morning during the 2008 Supplementary estimates committee stage debate on the Education Ministry.

I started my speech by reminding the House that there had been various proposals that anti-corruption should be made part of the school syllabus to bring up a new generation of Malaysians who develop a strong antagonism towards corruption and who could distinguish between right and wrong on issues of integrity.

The question being asked today, not only among Malaysians at large, but even among thinking school-children, is best captured by the theme of the Malaysiakini email column today: ‘Why is Ali Rustam still Malacca CM?’ – “A ‘corrupt practice’ is an act of corruption, period. Yet, this Ali Rustam is allowed to remain an Umno member and chief minister of Malacca.”

The Education Minister, who is UMNO Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein has said that there is no need for Ali to resign as Malacca Chief Minister.

Do we have a young generation of Malaysians in the schools who could distinguish between right and wrong and can think for themselves that the Education Minister is wrong in this regard?

Will they be able to see the validity of the stand taken by the UMNO MP for Gua Musang Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah as reported in the Utusan Malaysia report “Gantung jawatan parti – Ku Li”:

KUALA LUMPUR 18 Mac – Calon-calon jawatan tertinggi parti yang didapati terlibat dalam politik wang perlu digantung daripada sebarang jawatan parti dan bukan sekadar dihalang bertanding.

Ketua UMNO Bahagian Gua Musang, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah berpendapat, Lembaga Disiplin parti patut bertindak adil dan tidak membezakan hukuman ke atas para pengamal politik wang sekalipun mereka memegang jawatan berlainan dalam parti.

“Kalau benar bersalah patut dihukum, tidak boleh diberi amaran saja. Jangan pilih ‘ikan bilis’ saja, ‘jerung’ lepas,” katanya kepada pemberita di lobi Parlimen hari ini.

Beliau mengulas kes politik wang melibatkan Ketua Menteri Melaka, Datuk Seri Mohd. Ali Rustam serta ejen-ejennya.

UMNO MPs were up in arms when I made these points in Parliament, with the MP from Jasin misquoting the Standing Orders in trying to stop me from proceeding.

1. #1 by Hasbullah Pit on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 12:46 pm

Melaka akan juga berpelung mempunyai 2 Ketua Menteri?

2. #2 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 12:51 pm

Do a leader need to ‘buy a position’ to serve the people?

IN UMNO, IT IS NEEDED!

IF A POSITION NEED TO BE BOUGHT IN ORDER -WILL THIS LEADER SERVE THE PEOPLE INTEREST? VOTERS……be wise to make your judgment.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 1:08 pm

After coming to power in the 13 GE, PR must ban umno for practising money politics

4. #4 by mata_kucing on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 1:20 pm

Corruption and umno is so entwined that it’s impossible to separate them. They are like conjoined twins. But you know what? The more dirty they are the better chance it will be for the opposition to form the next government. So I say let them have their merry ways and go for each other throat. In the mean time, the opposition should consolidate and put into action their future plan. The people are with you and so far in your short stint, you have shown to all Malaysians that you are the better alternative. Just don’t let personal problems get in the way. Stay united and stay true to your promises.

5. #5 by ktsk88 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 1:51 pm

Dear LKS mentor, kindly inform your son LGE not to bowed to pressure from those Gerakan’s monkey asking him to relinquish his CM post because of some teething problems with some corruption/abused of powers by some members of his administration.

Since the same monkey from Melaka can still keeps his post despite clear evidence of money corruption, why should the CM of Penang follows suits. They sets the precedent, we just follows them.

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 2:48 pm

Kayves is laughing through his backside now

On 15 October 2007, Ali Rustan, the self-proclaimed ‘Senior Vice President’ of Umno, stood on stage in front of the entire hall attended by the PPP President and Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Kayveas and other leaders and members, and with fingers pointed said that PPP can leave Barisan Nasional. Leave today, or even tomorrow, said Ali Rustam, just don’t wait for the next election before leaving.

7. #7 by Ken G on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:07 pm

Tengku Ahmad Rithaudeen should be aware that selective enforcement of the rules is NOT upholding the morality and ethics of the party, it is nothing more than odious political power play aimed at denying the democratic rights of certain Umno leaders who fall on the wrong side of the political divide. How come all those disciplined by the disciplinary board or investigated by MACC are from Badawi’s camp?

8. #8 by SameSame on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:19 pm

Thanks to mahathir, UMNO is where it is – THE MOST CORRUPTED PARTY in Malaysia, Next in line MIC and towing closely i think MCA. It doesnt just stop there i suppose.

9. #9 by JACK NG on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:32 pm

I m sure no much changes this issues, this is non-stop issue, no matter who is the leader.

10. #10 by democrate on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:40 pm

In umno, first you need money then you have power then you make money then you buy more power and with more power and money,u are extreme and you will have supporters even that u r corrupted………..all bcos of money…….

11. #11 by Toyol on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:54 pm

On one hand they want to show transparency…on the other hand they do not want to offend members! UMNO is really a confused party led by confused dictators!

12. #12 by One4All4One on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:54 pm

A sandiwara is being played out. UMNO’s interpretation remains their very own, no matter how others see them.

They are the law unto themselves. Above reproach. Above rebuke. Above the country’s laws. They do as they wish, as they like.

They are oblivious to reality. They are living in castles built in the air.

Or, are they living in glass houses?

Only time will tell.

13. #13 by ekans on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 4:04 pm

Damned if we do and damned if we don’t…”

This is the lament of Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithaudeen, chairman of the Umno disciplinary board, for disciplinary action meted out to Umno members.

But shouldn’t the Umno board also be damned for being able to take action only against 15 Umno members, when the number should be in hundreds as UMNO is “awash” with money politics and corruption in the Umno party elections, running into hundreds of millions of ringgit.

Party of the damned???

14. #14 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 4:26 pm

Such a filthy political party as Umno shall sooner or later be reduced into an Opposition Party who is good for nothing in the eyes of majority Malaysians.

Will the think-tank of Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi please be prepared to advise AAB to make a request to the Yang Dipertuan Agong in order to seek approval for dissoultion of Parliament. There is only one future PM candidate who can be expected to treat AAB’s son-in-law Khairy fairly and righteously without much prejudice. The candidate is Anwar Ibrahim.

Khairy will most likely be further persecuted by Najib if Najib is allowed to take over the premiership by next month.

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 5:57 pm

” For God loved the world so much that he gave his only begotten Son…………… ” ( John 3:16 )

For UNMO leaders loved the rakyat so much that they are willing to part with millions of ringgit in order that there may be GOOD UNMO LEADERS TO SERVE THEM ( THEMSELVES? ) – UNMO 2008

16. #16 by KennyGan on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 7:11 pm

Now is the time to appeal for Badawi to rescind the power transition plan and stay on as PM. There is certainly enough justification with Najib’s reputation and popularity plunging by the day.

All that Badawi has to do is to refuse to resign as PM. There is no constitutional requirement for the PM to be the Umno President.

If Badawi refuses to resign, he can only be removed by a vote of no confidence. With the opposition backing him, he is unlikely to lose.

Trying to pull him down by a vote is also risky. If he loses, he can advise the Agung to dissolve Parliament. The last thing Umno wants now is snap general elections.

17. #17 by AhPek on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 7:23 pm

But seriously what can one expect of the party whose ranking officials have no qualms in wanting to have as its President a man whose name is perceived to be so tainted that it smells to high heavens!Imagine this French reporter spinning stories about our would be PM connecting his name with the murder of Altantuya and HE DOES NOTHING TO CLEAR HIS GOOD NAME!! Would it be any wonder that the perception has gone world-wide!

18. #18 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 7:53 pm

UMNO have a bad habit—-money politics (or political bribery)

And the people must remember…..bad habits die hard.

So if a person buy support to enable him/she to hold certain position in the party…. guess what else this politician would buy in the future?….Not just buy…….. sell too!!

Buy support…. sell contracts…. buy ‘frogs’……sell timber concession…..etc

19. #19 by Jong on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:01 pm

Watch Astro 513 Aljazeera’s “101 East” on Sarawak, corruption and Taib Mahmud – tonight 8.30 pm. Soon!

20. #20 by yhsiew on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:03 pm

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein has said that there is no need for Ali to resign as Malacca Chief Minister.
    ====================================================

It is clear from Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein’s statement that the purpose of taking action against Ali Rustam was NOT because he was involved in money politics (UMNO has never been serious in wiping out the menace), but rather, his rival was using ‘money politics’ as an excuse to stop Ali Rustam from contesting in the upcoming UMNO election.

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein would have not said these words if he knew that the action against Ali Rustam was a punishment for taking part in money politics.

21. #21 by AhPek on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:29 pm

KennyGan, what you say about the possibility of Badawi staying on to avert the ascendency to the PM job as an option to save Malaysia seems viable.However a lot has to depend on the gumption of that man,and because of that I have grave doubts.The man has no leadership qualities and incapable of making decisions,a completely weak personality.In fact if you ask me he hasn’t started his job as PM yet although officially he is for the last 5 years!

22. #22 by distantmalay on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:35 pm

if only the flip-flop PM decides one more time, to flip-flop his decision to quit.

23. #23 by catharsis on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:41 pm

TYPICAL BEHAVIOUR OF THE LAW MAKERS FROM “BODOHLAND” PERIOD. YOU KNOW WHOM I AM REFERING TO……………….

24. #24 by monsterball on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:52 pm

Yes…dammed Mahathir supporting corruptions for 22 years.
    I sincerely believe Rithaudeen answers to no one in UMNO….and surrounded by blood suckers….he is doing the best he can.
    If we are not seeing the hundreds in UMNO that are corrupted……not exposed…it is because corruptions is still supported by Najib….the tonque twister….who obviously supported corruptions…..no matter how much he is saying…to please Malaysians.
    Imagine a proven crook.Ali Rustam….and he said…Ali can continue as CM in Melaka.
    Everyone knows..he needs Rustam for 13th GE…and that braggart said….”UMNO will rule forever”.. and delivered Melaka.
    You see…UMNO’s double standards and interpretations of laws….with no shame….have made so many young Malaysians….best in shop talks…brag and no productivity….no manners ..know nothing.
    As they grew up ….mixing around other races and are married…these young Malaysians can see it is Mahathir 22 years…teaching youngsters how to lie….cheat…pretend to forget..and the art to accused others…..before being accused.
    Commercial firms are experiencing all these tactics.
    Dollah is a liar..Najib is a bigger liar.
    The show must go on for UMNO leaders…….or else so many will land in jail…including themselves.
    Rithaudeen depends on more and more UMNO members dare to change for the better and be counted as true Malaysians…no more racialists.
    So many are feeling so shameful to be UMNO members….lead by big time crooks…on and on.

25. #25 by yhsiew on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 12:13 am

It seems that the only time when UMNO is quick to take action against “big fish” for committing corruption is during UMNO election time and the old guard (Tun M.) is most happy to see corruption crackdown at this time!

26. #26 by rocket power on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 12:15 am

mca=malaysia cina angkat……………this is call mca

27. #27 by Old.observer on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:06 am

Sigh! It’s obvious that if the corrupt act is deemed strong enough to stop someone from contesting for an UMNO position, then, it should be strong enough to also remove such persons from continuing to become the Chief Minister. To allow him to remain CM is absolutely hypocritical!

Imagine if other CM were found to be guilty of corruption. Isn’t this a dismissable offence?

What kind of a country are we living in, if such rules become arbitrary? Where the CM is found to be engaging in corruption and money politics. Shouldn’t the MACC investigate him deeper to ensure that he is also not misusing State funds as well? Or is State funds already being misued to fund these UMNO Money politics?

MACC is completely incompetent and useless!

28. #28 by Old.observer on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:11 am

“The Education Minister, who is UMNO Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein has said that there is no need for Ali to resign as Malacca Chief Minister.”

Hishammuddin is obviously being HYPOCRITICAL again! If he supports the position that Ali cannot contest because of corruption, then, logically, he cannot also support Ali to continue to be CM.

Explain to me please how is it logically consistent to stop Ali from contesting, and yet, to have him retain his existing positions, due to proven corruption.

On the other hand, if there is no proof of corruption, then, Ali should not be prevented from contesting.

And if Ali is SUSPECTED of being corrupt, then, isn’t Najib in the same boat, that he is also SUSPECTED of being corrupt, as well as SUSPECTED of being a murderer as well?

What Double Standards and so full of HYPOCRISY by UMNO!

29. #29 by Godfather on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 8:16 am

UMNO does everything backwards. This is mainly due to their inability to think properly after decades of reliance on crutches decreed by Mamakthir.

So you want money ? Let me get you some concessions. So you want some people disqualified ? Let me place some money in their drawers or in their cars.

We should use UMNO’s tactics to hasten their own demise. So we all want UMNO to disintegrate ? Campaign for the non-English speaker Mike Tyson to be UMNO’s No. 2. Dig up more dirt on Muhyiddin. Dig up more dirt on Kerismuddin. Promote KJ for the UMNO Youth position.

30. #30 by taiking on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 9:50 am

I am very pleased with the going-ons in and by umno recently including the perak power grab. All these are like tying themselves in knots – like scoring own goals in football. All acts and all words by them inevitably turned out to be disastrous and fatal political mistakes. As if the economic problems are not enough for the country and for them politically.

Really I personally would like to see khir toyo go the ali rustam way. But I suppose he is too much of a troublemaker (I mean look at what he did to teresa and khalid) for anyone in umno to touch. So perhaps Rithaudeen had no choice but to leave him alone. Stupid fool. A troublemaker is no asset. He should have realised this.

But seriously, if money politics is pursued with utmost sincerity and earnesty by rithaudeen wallooow eh umno sure straightaway boh-liao. Finisto. Instant death or slow death orso never mind lah. Asalkan will die. So still good for the country lah politically. But if instant death at least economy wont be so bad.

31. #31 by Bigjoe on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 10:36 am

Honestly speaking, Najib again proves he a f*** up. He does these ‘cloak and dagger’ stuff and think he is so smart but it in fact really is just one big f*** up. It blows up in his face again and again. The submarine-Altantuya stuff, NS, Perak mess, now this. All of his ‘machiavelli-Mahathirist in reality’ is just crappy copies of the real stuff…

The man is just not as smart and more a coward than he think himself to be.. Najib disqualifies himself from PM job not because of his scandals, but because he is just not good enough….

32. #32 by Godfather on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 10:46 am

….but surely the new leader of the den of thieves has the right to decide on the new composition of his 40 thieves. Just tell him to stop the charade of democratic elections, fairness, etc.

33. #33 by LBJ on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 12:00 pm

Do you know if the UMNO disciplinary board takes action on all practicing corruption – ahem, money politics, there is no one left in the party.

So how can they take action! I can only pity TR.

34. #34 by AhPek on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 1:27 pm

No, the UMNO disciplinary board has no intention to take action on all practisioners of money politics.surely it is all quite clear that it is only doing the bidding of the incoming boss and selectively weeding out Badawi’s man.Why do you think,even in their assessment Toyol is clean?In the process we hope to see the rate of implosion of UMNO going many notches up!

35. #35 by frankyapp on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 5:05 pm

Some if not most umno leaders managed to reach the top level through the corrupt door .That’s why you guys can hardly find a top umno leaders who are poor and humble. bUT you can easily find many top umno leaders and members who are very wealthy doing all types of state and federal project/contract/busisnes .This is the core reason for money politic. You give some to gain popularity,support in oder to win a place in the top position.Having won a top spot,you have all the opportunity given to you to enrich youselves.Good examples are the chief minister of malaca,the sarawak and sabah chief ministers. Reference to malaysia reformer,no one will give a dollar in return for ten cents.Similarly those umno leaders who bribed and won top level spot,in return reap millions for just a fistful of dollars given in the first place. Who doesn’t want it ?

36. #36 by Yee Siew Wah on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 9:29 pm

What was happening in UMNO now is all sandiwara. The bums they penalised recently are just small to average fishes. The great, big white shark and the other big fishes were left untouched.
    What disciplinary board are we talking?? That guy who heads the board should be retired to his kampong for good.
    Just put Tengku Razaliegh in his place, UMNO would have at least earn some respect from the rakyat.

37. #37 by frankyapp on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 5:37 pm

No use yee siew wah, putting him there,then history will just repeat by it’s self. When you look at umno’s history,you find repeatation after repeatation,ie repeating almost all the bad things against the rakyat again and again .The only way out is to rid them off ,come the 13th general election.

38. #38 by anna brella on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 11:37 pm

Didn’t someone say that the keris-waving incumbent in the role of Education Minister is….er…somewhat dim-witted?

Perhaps that’s why he keeps failing to see that ever lengthening rope or that tightening noose.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

39. #39 by carcinoma on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 9:58 pm

why khairy is allowed to contest? this is everybody’s question. it is a Q that all malaysians want to know. so this is the bolehland. boleh untuk berkuasa maharajalela tanpa undang!