Can Abdullah’s last five months as PM survive the return of Mahathirism?

“Who is he, asks Abdullah” is the New Sunday Times headline for the report of what it described as “The gloves came off yesterday.”

The New Sunday Times reported from Kota Kinabalu yesterday that the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s “patience finally wore off and he lambasted his predecessor, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad”, viz:

Abdullah said Dr Mahathir was acting as if it was he (Dr Mahathir) who should determine who played what role in the party.

“Who is he? He has left Umno but he still issues orders to members of Umno. The party does not need to take orders from anyone who is no longer a member of the party,” said Abdullah who was here to attend the Hari Malaysia and closing of the Merdeka month celebrations.

“He is trying to create a rift and (incite) anger and hatred. What is wrong with people who work with me? He is trying to teach people to hate one another.”

The Umno president said this in referring to a posting on Dr Mahathir’s blog, calling on Umno to rid itself of all those who supported Abdullah, referring to them as “toadies”.

“Who is he when he is no longer a member of UMNO?”

Abdullah cannot be naïve in not knowing the answer to his own query, although his rhetorical question is meant to convey his frustration, impotence and bitterness than to elicit a real answer.

The answer is clear for all – the country is witnessing the return of Mahathirism with the former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad seen as having become the single most powerful and influential individual to UMNO although he is “no longer a member of the party”.

In fact it would be more congruent with the power reality for Mahathir to ask, “Who is he” when referring to Abdullah, than for Abdullah to pose this question vis-à-vis Mahahtrir.

This is because Mahathir was transformed from a gadfly into “king-maker” on October 8 the instant Abdullah announced that he had buckled down to pressures in Umno Supreme Council for an early exit as Prime Minister next March and would not defend the post of Umno President.

This is obvious from the following incidents:

· Cabinet Ministers beginning to distance themselves from Abdullah after the Oct. 8 announcement as observed and deplored by the Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Johari Baharom earlier this week;

· Overnight reversal of role with Abdullah’s son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin transformed from “top dog” to “underdog” in Umno Youth chief election – while Mukhriz Mahathir swept nominations including securing the requisite 39 nominations to contest Umno Youth chief in the first of four weekends for nominations while Khairy is still struggling to get his “passport” to contest even after a second weekend of nominations. Mukhriz would be in Khairy’s shoes, struggling to get the requisite 39 nominations, if not for Abdullah’s Oct. 8 announcement.

· The landmark Hari Raya Open House of Umno stalwart Rauf Yusoh on Tuesday evening, where the guests and guests-of-honour signal the real wielders of power in Umno and Barisan Nasional government today – Najib Razak, Muhyiddin Yasin, Syed Hamid Albar, Shafie Apdal together with Mahathir.

Abdullah also zeroed in on Muhyiddin in his lambasting in Kota Kinabalu yesterday, as the International Trade and Industry Minister had called for the Umno party elections to revert back from March next year to December, as it is also tantamount to forcing Abdullah to an earlier exit as Prime Minister in December as well.

In fact, Mahathir had never hidden his position that he wants Abdullah to step down immediately, claiming that there is nothing Abdullah could achieve as Prime Minister in the next five months.

Abdullah should know that his writ has now shrunk to very limited power, scope and effect – whether in government or even in Cabinet.

Although in response to Abdullah’s uncharacteristic outburst, Muhyiddin has backed off and denied that his call for early Umno party elections meant that Abdullah speed up the transfer of power to Najib, Abdullah should have a healthy cynicism and skepticism when his original June 2010 power transition plan had been scuttled repeatedly by the same tactics.

The question Abdullah faces is: can his last five months as Prime Minister survive the return of Mahathirism?

Will the Umno Supreme Council meeting tomorrow decide another modification of the power-transition plan, reverting the Umno party elections to December and shortening Abdullah’s five-month exit as Prime Minister by another three months?

Even if Umno Supreme Council just decide on reverting back the Umno party elections to December without any mention about the power-transition plan, what is there to stop a resolution by acclamation at the Umno General Assembly in December demanding the immediate transfer of power for Najib to take over as the sixth Prime Minister instantly after the Umno general assembly?

1. #1 by kanasai on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 2:56 pm

I believe self-expression thru this blog will be the past with the return of Mahathirism@ The disillusioned Malays have a wrong understanding that his dictatorship style is a must to revive UMNO to glory by nominating Mukhriz. UMNO has reformed to a ‘Ching dinasty’ empayar.

2. #2 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:02 pm

It’s back to the law of the jungle
    Whereby it’s survival of the fittest
    With so many strings to strangle
    There’s search for one that’s neatest

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 191008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sun. 19th Oct. 2008.

3. #3 by kftang on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:08 pm

Brave and explosive words from a PM who is going off in 5 months’ time! Is it a little too late? The PM should go on the offensive from the first instance he was ‘attacked’ and ridiculed. As one Asian leader once quipped: ‘To attack is the best form of defence’. But it is better late than never!

4. #4 by peterchiang on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:14 pm

Politics is an act of making impossible possible and it is generally perceived dirty and nothing short of unfairness.

5. #5 by Godfather on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:22 pm

Badawi clearly will not survive another 5 months. Come December, Najis and Muhyiddin will be nominated unopposed, Mukhriz will have the highest number of nominations as Youth Chief, and Kerismuddin will have the highest number of nominations as VP. Mahathir will rejoin UMNO, and they may even create a post as senior advisor to the party, but probably not in the same capacity as Singapore’s Minister Mentor.

The more relevant question is whether we the rakyat can survive another 4 years of Mahathirism. There may not be enough jails to put us under the ISA.

6. #6 by Damocles on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:38 pm

Julius Caesar had one Brutus, but this guy has a cabinet of them!
    At one time when he was under attack by his predecessor it looked like they were willing to die for him!
    But now, after he had so stupidly thrown away his chances at good governance, and in the midst of his death throes, they wanted to hurry him on. Talking about traitors!!
    That is a very fitting end for him; all his troubles are self inflicted and he doesn’t deserve any sympathy at all!!

7. #7 by mata_kucing on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:38 pm

He’s asking the wrong question. Instead he should ask “What the heck is he up to?”.

The evil empire is going to see a revival and we’re all going to be poorer for it.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 3:43 pm

Abdullah has himself to blame. If he is not doing the job of PM, he should not cling on to the PM post.

Though I may not like the way TDM does thing (e.g. lack of transparency), at least he brought progress to the country e.g. modernizing the Malaysian economy, improving the rakyat’s income, building LRT to ease traffic congestions etc.

9. #9 by Godfather on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:04 pm

“…builidng LRT to ease traffic congestions etc.” yhsiew.

Under Mahathir, we had 3 light rail systems – all using different technology and very poor interfaces. Interchanges are few and far in between, and there are insufficient carriages during peak hours. All the different systems went to different UMNO cronies, and all were only interested in the construction contracts.

Now, take a look at Shanghai and Shenzhen. Five years ago, the only public transport were taxis and buses. Now they have well integrated underground train systems that transport a million passengers per day. Look at what the lack of corruption and cronyism can bring to a country.

God help us all when Mahathirism is forced upon us.

10. #10 by elvieho on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:22 pm

I do not think badawi can last 5 months-the unseen hand that throw the stones is najib.He cant wait to be PM.when badawi is attack by mahathir and muhidin,najib stay silent-cowards like to play safe.

11. #11 by Loh on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:34 pm

///The landmark Hari Raya Open House of Umno stalwart Rauf Yusoh on Tuesday evening, where the guests and guests-of-honour signal the real wielders of power in Umno and Barisan Nasional government today – Najib Razak, Muhyiddin Yasin, Syed Hamid Albar, Shafie Apdal together with Mahathir.///

It is clear now why ISA has been used repeatedly of late. The ISA authority is taking instruction on how to destroy AAB through the misuse of ISA. AAB should have known better not to assign the Home ministry to his enemy’s friend.

12. #12 by James on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:34 pm

YB Kit

I have only crocodile tears to comfort aab; nothing more. If he had been honest to the Rakyat & sincerely work for their benefit instead of goofing off & doing all kinds of self-serving sins then he will NEVER have been condemned to this pitiable sotuation. In conclusion he deserves all the humiliations meted out to him. Such is justice.

13. #13 by max2811 on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:44 pm

Though a bit too late but better late than never. Somebody needs to keep in check TDM. Only DSAI or AAB can do it. AAB can do a reverse somersault and order the AG to rein in Najib and TDM for corruption. Then, AAB can still remain in power.

….just hoping!!

14. #14 by yhsiew on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:56 pm

Is Abdullah telling the truth when interviewed by CNBC last night?

…..Asked on what led him to make up his mind to retire in March next year, Abdullah said he had served the government in various capacities for the past 45 years and now that he was nearing 70 years old, he thought that it was about time to make way for the new and young leaders emerging in Umno.

…..When asked about his agenda for reforms and what he could possibly do over the next five months, Abdullah said, “I wanted to reform; people liked the idea of reform. I was not just responding to them because they need reform.”

The prime minister said that he too certainly thought that the country’s judiciary, police force and Anti-Corruption Agency needed reforms.

“I was not able to do it for the first four years (while in power); I was able to do it only after we had already been returned to power after the last election. So I want this reform in place and I can do it. Even in five months.”

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=365644

15. #15 by wanderer on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 4:59 pm

The print of TDM’s paws are all over UMNO’s den. In a recent interview made in Australia, Asia Focus, Mahathir did’nt hide the fact he wanted Abdullah to leave now as PM. He has cunningly used his protege Muhyiddin as his vehicle, to design his grand empire. He also mentioned that Najib if became a PM will require advisers around him. Who are the advisers? Your guess is as good as mine.
    Should Abdullah fail to act immediately, to counter his distractors’ ambition, he definitely will not last or stay in frustrations for the remaining 5 months.
    The ‘black and white’ Muhyiddin and junior have almost certainly established their positions in the new UMNO team after the transition. Old man, will soon realizes his dream…Anwar will be his next target, if he does not win the govt.

16. #16 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 5:06 pm

5 months? He will be forced out by December 2008, which makes it only 2 months

17. #17 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 5:25 pm

Abdullah should take disciplinary actions against those who are taking advice from a non party member. Instead of directing his scorn on Mahathir, he should admonish Najib, Muhyiddin who seeking advice from the old goat.

18. #18 by kutlakut on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 5:46 pm

Who is he you dare to ask!?

He is the one who is kicking you out.

Are you trying to be funny?

Just go in peace, we learn to expect nothing from you.

19. #19 by storm62 on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 5:48 pm

since pak lah says that Dr.M has incited hatred,anger and created a rift, why not the HM Botak arrest him for ISA?

YB Lim, tell Botak that he is not doing his work?

Botak should resign for abusing his power.

20. #20 by monsterball on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 6:02 pm

UMNO hantus are quarreling.
    It’s always themselves…their party and their benefits…totally disregarding the fact they are our servants…voted in… to work…not to keep talking cock and bull.
    But then..they have no shame nor concern of their dignity and reputations.
    Anwar said….they are in a state of denials.
    I say..they feel they own the country.

21. #21 by Jimm on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 6:44 pm

the done master are back to take care of this sons futures….
    and we all think that he still care for this country …. ha.
    umno have been using all dirty tactics to rule this country and they will never change that for sure.
    we, rakyat ..used to already …
    lets enjoy another round of being suckers for the done master.

22. #22 by justice6 on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 7:00 pm

sad that 16th Sept didn’t come into reality… hope and pray, pray and hope, make it happen fast…really want to see those scums in jail instead of innocent RPK and gang…
    DSAI and gang..don’t try your best, losers try their best, winners make it happen…

23. #23 by grace on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 7:01 pm

I am not a supporter of TDM nor Pak Lah.
    Pak Lah is to be blame for his fiasco. Given the strong mandate in previous GE, he never ceased to bask in his glory. he forgot that he really had to do what was promised.

24. #24 by bystander on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 7:10 pm

If we think under aab is bad, wait until tdm (no.1), najib (no.2) and muhyiddin (no.3) come to power. the nation will be scr-wed.

25. #25 by cazz on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 7:54 pm

C’mon UpDoLah, bring up your balls and lock Mahathir up at Kemunting! That would solve your problem! Oh yes, Muhyiddin too. You can spare Mukhriz though, as he is useless son without his father’s sarong.

Show your colours, RPK was not the correct person who threaten your throne, you caught the wrong guy.

Oops.. sorry, i have forgoten, UpDoLah has no balls.

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 7:56 pm

“Who is he, asks Abdullah”

He is the man behind the fall of 3 Prime Ministers (Tunku, Hussein Onn and now himself even as his anointed successor since fallen out of favour), two deputy Prime Ministers (Musa Hitam & Anwar) and strongman Ku Li……

By character Abdullah is not Mahathir’s match, so whether the former could last 5 months is doubtful when Mahathir is against it.

As Zaid said recently “He (Dr Mahathir) has a large group of friends, otherwise the Prime Minister (Abdullah) would not have been ‘thrown out’ just like he wanted.”

“Mahathirism was all control, control, control. He has a strong influence on the top Umno leaders who had to choose between doing his bidding or facing his wrath” Source The Star Oct 111, link –

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/10/11/nation/20081011165709&sec=nation

Besides network, Mahathir has a big edge in personality and charcter: (1) he understands like back of his hands the feudal mentality of UMNO’s warlords and their insecurities. Hence he could articulate and manipulate their fears and ambitions alike and galvanise them to act his bidding; (2) by character, he is relatively many times more aggressive, canterkerous and belligerent and willing to engage in a fight, if needs be, whatever the consequences; at the same time there’s strong Machiavellien streak, eg he used reverse psychology to gets desired result, saying that he thought Pak Lah would contest Presidential Election and that Khairy would get more nominations than his son Mukhriz when the contrary appears to be the result!

27. #27 by js on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:02 pm

PR should liase with AAB to take over the gomen. It is the golden opportunity for PR to do so as AAB is very upset now about Muhyidin and others.

28. #28 by hadi on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:03 pm

Pak Lah must remember in battle, he must know his enemy and preemptive strike is one of the elements in winning war and he has to be on offensive or otherwise his enemy will continue to trample him as what is happening now. Anwar and YB Kit is not his enemies. His bigger threat is within UMNO.
    The problem with Pak Lah is his refusal to listen to his advisers and his background as a religious guy is preventing him to retaliate in the manner he should have done earlier. He has forgotten that, this is UMNO culture and if he continues to be good and kind, then his premiership will be gone soon. After all he is already being humiliated and force to agree to resign.
    In politics especially UMNO, you have to be cruel in order to be kind. What a pity, Pak Lah oh Pak Lah, trying to salvage a party that is full of shits. He has to wake up now and fight or the best exit to hand over to Pakatan Rakyat. Whither Pak Lah and HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:04 pm

Dr Azly Rahman in his Papers “The Mind of Mahathir Mohamad: A Deconstruction” and his article “Brand new Malay dilemma
    Jun 12, in Malaysiakini quoted extensively of what Mahathir said and what others said of him drawing sources from Asiaweek interview, 1997 and Mitton, R in his “Paradoxes of Mahathirism: An intellectual biography of Mahathir Mohamad. Kuala Lumpur:Oxford University Press.. (1997).

Some of Mahathir’s quotes : On power, Dr Mahathir said, “ I am not saying that I enjoyed power but I find that it is useful in carrying out the things you want to carry out. If you don’t have power and you put out a very reasonable proposal, nobody will implement it. You have to have power.”

On giving up power (like what Abdullah is experiencing in this transition period), Mahathir (then) observed, “But one thing you can be sure of is that the certainty of your demise will undermine your ability to run the country. The problem with many countries is that their leaders are only allowed to do one term. People don’t respect that one term because you are going to go out anyway…” (Quotes from Asiaweek interview, 1997, p.9, 12 & 13).

[This explains Johari Baharom’s observation that “Cabinet Ministers beginning to distance themselves from Abdullah after the Oct. 8 announcement”].

One last quote about Mahathir taken from R Mitton’s “Paradoxes of Mahathirism: An intellectual biography of mahathir Mohamad–

“Hussein Onn, after his retirement, said that the greatest mistake I ever made was to make Mahathir my deputy … And the Tunku said many times that we have a diabolical PM [Prime Minister]; he is autocratic. … you have to agree with Mahathir on everything or he’ll try to destroy you. But with the Tunku, Razak, and Hussein, you could disagree with them and they still asked you home to dinner”. (Mitton, p.4)

In rough and tumble of UMNO cut throat politics, can attributes of traditional politeness, gentlemently conduct, fair play and respect for others match machiavellian, aggressive and canterkerous attributes???

The experiences of the Tunku, Hussein and (now) Abdullah show not.

Mahathir is ushering Abdullah and those of his “toadies” out from power, the sooner, the better, because he wants to protect UMNO under Mahathirism legacy from one person – Anwar Ibrahim.

Mahathir sees in Anwar a worthy Nemesis sharing and possesing some of Mahathir’s characteristics against which Abdullah is no match!

This is what it is all about.

You have to ask yourself what they (Mahathir & Anwar) have in common, different from Tunku Hussein, Ku Li, Abdullah and the rest to view each other as nemesis….. :)

30. #30 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:13 pm

The day of reckoning for UMNO may be near.

31. #31 by Godfather on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:14 pm

Mamakthir and Anwar have something in common ? Jeffrey, you are disappointing Mamakthir brown-nosers like Zak Hammaad. They think Mamakthir is one-of-a-kind visionary. Of course their noses are so far up Mamakthir’s a$$, they can’t smell or see anything.

32. #32 by Loh on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:28 pm

“Who is he”, AAB asked. AAB once asked who was Anwar, when Anwar was about to overthrow his government. Now TDM is going into UMNO to push AAB out. TDM declared it a few months ago, and it was not in his wildest dream that he sees realization within a year.

In case AAB really forgot in taking his Jingko supplements and his memory is failing. TDM was the person who handed over power to him, and with that TDM had no power, five years ago. It is Malay culture that one minta pada yang ada. When TDM gave up is PMship, he was the person who could not be said as orang yang ada.

TDM tried to make AAB orang yang tidak ada for the past four years. He went to hospital a couple of time, and many were hoping that AAB would hear the last of him. It might be the wish of Allah that because President of UMNO is such an important position, and unless Allah himself takes direct action, the undoing of one UMNO President should be undertaken by another UMNO President. We see that ex-Presidents of UMNO had the singular purpose in life, after their service to destroy succeeding one. The motive differs, but the current episode might have to do with building powers-that-be dynasty.

AAB maintained his elegant silence for too long. Granted that AAB did not was correct mot to dignify TDM’s accusation at the initial stages in the past, he should not have keep elegant silence when his party underlings were bent on undoing the understanding they reached with the component parties. It was bad recompense of UMNO in playing up racist politics and bit the hands that feed UMNO the political powers. UMNO needed its subordinate’s parties to claim the majority MP votes in parliament. Though they have read correctly that the non-UMNO BN members have to rely on UMNO to get elected and enjoy the little crumbs made available by UMNO, but to insult the common voters who are suffering at the UMNO discriminatory policies is like adding salt to wounds. AAB should have broken his silence but made his son-in-law observe elegant silence instead. But he allowed the son-in-law to show that he was a Malay hero to challenge TDM; and falling directly into TDM’s trap.

TDM’s son is running for UMNO youth, and so is AAB’s SILand also the ex-MB of Selangor. The non-Malays would want all of them to fail. But that is the type of leaders UMNO are grooming to take over. We can only wish that UMNO perish from this world. Of the three, who do we hate most? EX-MB of Selangor was following Najib and TDM’s example thinking that it was alright to be racist on the way up, and hope to be pardoned sometime in the future. He is a second generation Indonesian and does not have the benefit of advice from his father, so he sins less than the other two. TDM’s son should not be repeating the method used by his father, and his sin is more about the influence his father could have on him. So he should be removed soon, if he wins this time around. The worst sinner is AAB’s son-in-law. The person had made use of national resources to attend one of the few best universities in the world, and he has been exposed to the life of modern society, and democratic government. We would have expected him to bring in proper governance, and to move away from the politics of race and religion. Yet, he made used of his position as the son-in-law to get the post of deputy Youth Chief, and through that position promoted racists and divisive policies such as making the seditious statement that Malays in Penang are being marginalized. He set the worst example, and he is the cause of AAB’s downfall. It is his deliberate attempt to gain position of power through racist means that he should be taught a lesson so that people who have been educated with national resources would not resort to short-cut in climbing the political ladder. He should not be given a chance at all in UMNO politics. So Ex-MB of Selangor is the least not-preferred candidate for UMNO youth. It is sad that nothing good can be said about the future UMNO Youth Chief.

33. #33 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:47 pm

The opposition speak of ‘Mahathirism’ as a curse whereas many others speak of it as a blessing for the country. Mahathirism is no different than ‘Leekwanism’ where the control of state infrastructure needs to be controlled in order safeguard social security and economic stability. It may have become a political pseudonym, but the fact remains that means justifies the end. Some see heavy state regulatory control as a ‘threat’ to “freedoms”, others will see it as a boon

34. #34 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 8:58 pm

Godfather, i suggest you don’t waste time on mamathir worshipers. We are scr*wed simply because we have too many stupid people around.

35. #35 by Godfather on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 9:10 pm

Limkamput:

We still have to highlight the dangers of creeping Mahathirism. A lot of people are naive because they don’t see the short-cuts and consequent abuses of power that the old fox incurred over the past 22 years. Badawi may be useless (and dumb) but Mamakthir is downright dangerous.

A classic case in point is the Mamakthir supporter codenamed Zak Hammaad. In a posting elsewhere on this blog, he blatantly said that if they have to fabricate evidence to keep Anwar in jail, then so be it. These people will be above the law.

36. #36 by vsp on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 10:00 pm

Abdullah, listen: don’t remain in UMNO because you and your supporters will be buried alive and be chucked out mercilessly for the vultures to feed on. This threat came from none other than the mother-of-all-evil in Malaysia: Mahathir.

You are still the PM of Malaysia. Do you know that the PM of Malaysia has powers beyond what many leaders of other countries would love to have? Even the President of USA doesn’t have the sweeping power like you now possess.

You can still realize your dreams of reforms in these short months that you have. Don’t remain in UMNO because they will never reform. You have tasted their reluctance and rabid opposition to reforms during the last four years and now you have become the biggest fall-guy.

Be smart: get yourself and your supporters out of UMNO and align with Pakatan. With the powers that you still have you can negotiate your tenure for a bit longer for you to realise your dreams as the father of reform.

Do it quick, time is too short for you to dally anymore; not with an evil man such the cunning Mamaktahir.

37. #37 by wanderer on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 10:01 pm

Mahathir still command a strong following because his ‘cherry pickers’
    are queuing up for another round of rich harvest, if Old man’s plan came into fruiting…happy days are here again for these parasites.
    Abdullah is in dangerous water. He has not got the b*lls to confront his distractors.

38. #38 by luking on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 10:13 pm

tose people are really pushing aab to a corner.if i were aab,let them have the presidentcy.i will keep my PM,defence and home p.folio.leave only when all what u promised are done.mayb until the next ge.
    m sure 91% of the people will support u against those greedy people tis time.aab,keep it up.

39. #39 by katdog on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 10:16 pm

Well it seems like the power struggle within UMNO is over. AAB is all but beaten. Najib and Muhyiddin (and even Dr. M) are trying to pretend that they had no hand in the downfall so as not to stain their hands. They would like to take over smelling like roses claiming to have won based on the confidence of people had in their abilities etc.

Dr. M is probably grinning from ear to ear. Anwar has failed in his attempts to take over the government. His son Mukhriz seems to be have a firm position in the youth division and looks sets for a bright future in UMNO politics. Mahathir loyalist Muhyiddin looks set to be second in command.

I am not so sure about Najib however. I doubt Najib would enjoy being a puppet for the Mahathir faction, but so far, he appears to lack the cunning and intelligence that would be neccessary for him to outsmart Mahathir. Najib comes off to me as merely a simple straightforward thug, more used to direct threats and coercion and aggression to get what he wants rather than through clever manipulation and strategy. Najib to me is more of a follower than a leader.

40. #40 by Fair Play on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 11:14 pm

It’s good to see PM giving it back to Mahathir and Muyiddin at last . Tun Tan Siew Sin once said ” When they push you against a wall , you have to kick back . ” There is no more room for decorum now . Those who think the great old M is a friend should beware ! Today it’s
    PM. Who is next ? Big M will not RIP until little M is PM .

41. #41 by luking on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 11:17 pm

the next episode or move to be expected.mm is old and he knows he may not live that long to c his son to b the Pm,time is not on his side. both muhudin and naj are still young,but mukz can wait but his father can’t.So u can c the future fight?not unless PR took over,it’s game over and mm got to migrate.

42. #42 by luking on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 11:27 pm

do u think tis will b a last and best resort for aab since those people wants to kill u off immediately.dissolve parliement and call for a snap ge as u are still the PM.We support u,aab

43. #43 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 19 October 2008 - 11:57 pm

Why did Abdullah support Najix to be his successor? Abdullah better be honest by removing the person who has so many scandals as his successor. The most important thing he has to do is to tell the truth and act correctly on Najix based on what he knows.

44. #44 by patriotic1994 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:41 am

Every Malay friends I spoke to, they are support Mahathir and only Mahathir. Even their parents.

45. #45 by rider on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:55 am

Not another 5 months but AAB can be PM another 3 years provided he plays this game of chess well.. checkmate his detractors by siding with the rakyat; release ISA detainees, revamp police and ACA, then he will have time to reform the judiciary. Or if he is tired of serving, find ways to call for fresh elections NOW! We the rakyat will do the favor of dealing with AAB’s detractors for him.

46. #46 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:30 am

In view of what is going to happen here soon; we may ‘laugh’ at Thailand today for all the demonstrations which are holding back economic developments, give them another 5 years, they will definitely surpass Malaysia through their transparent approach in governence. As for the return to the previous regime of governance, the raayat will certainly be gauranteed years of excessess in every ‘project’ to be undertaken; wiithout proper coordination with one objective maximise the cost!! Hence the outcome of all the excesses in this forum will come to haunt all of us!! So be prepared, we all have fun bashing-up AAB, just wait when TDM does his remote control goverment!!

47. #47 by taiking on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:36 am

See how the noose was being looped around badawi’s political neck and tightened? He is a goner. The same will happen to najib by those within umno who is anti-him. Badawi has 2 basic weaknesses (1) sil + son and (2) indecision and not too many scandals (perhaps because he could not stay on long enough). Najib has plenty weaknesses and plenty scancals. He denied them of course. And dont forget. Mahathir is still around – the one who could support you in order to get rid of you. Sooner than we imagine, najib too could be a goner!

48. #48 by veddy.lum74 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:12 am

“gajah lawan dengan beruang,beribu-ribu semut dipijak mati!”

for the sake of the country,i hope the elephant and the big bear will stop fighting immediately!

elephant’s SIL and big bear’s son are not important,most important the two buggers really know how to tackle global financial crisis?

The malays should now realised who actually their UMNO leaders fighting for!

49. #49 by 318 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:14 am

Malaysia Today
    get vietnamese worker Dog missing
    get bangla Malay girl missing
    get chinese maid husband missing
    call the police evidence missing
    call d witness all the family missing
    found the medical report doctor missing
    government changed fund n documents missing
    vote Anwar as PM Mahathir will be missing
    forward this sms u may go missing

50. #50 by Bigjoe on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:23 am

Badawi best hope getting through his agenda actually rest with Sabah and Sarawak. The problem is the Sabah and Sarawak MPs are not a priority. What they want is just more money which Badawi is not in position to hand out.

So the short answer is not a chance in hell, he can’t get his bills through even if he gets the backing of MIC, MCA and the Pakatan Rakyat…

51. #51 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 10:56 am

limkamput Says:

>> We are scr*wed simply because we have too many stupid people around.

I hope you can see the irony of this statement of yours, lol.

52. #52 by dbrutal on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 11:43 am

What a great turning of event,
    Few months ago, you guys were lambasting AAB with all sort of accusations to bring him down and now you are screaming for him to cling on to his power. It’s actually too late and this will serve you guys very right since you guys know that AAB was only made the biggest scapegoat for the government failure to reform as the AAB successors will reform you guys also. Good luck to you guys and thank you very much for the awakenings. The red is still red and the black will remain black as you guys will sit back and re evaluate for what you guys have written in this blog and it’s implication on the Malaysian Political Field in the future to you and your generation. ADIOS

53. #53 by Loh on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:16 pm

The departure of AAB is certain but the return of Mahathirism depends on who the next PM is and whether he had to depend on TDM for survival.

It is almost certain that Najib will be elected, possibly unopposed, as the President of UMNO. Najib knows very well that people in Malaysia and others around the world are yet to be convinced that Najib had nothing to do with the murder of Atlantuya, and Najib has made statement in mosque to say that he never knew Atlantuya. He should be happy that a reputed authority in the country would be able to clear him of this doubt. But Najib had the inertia to request the PM to give him an opportunity to have his name cleared by the Police. PM AAB has chosen to claim Najib’s innocence rather than to act on statutory declaration of Balasingam, a private investigator who made two declarations which contradicted one another, and Balasingam is missing. When the government could act on a police report on sodomy, why didn’t the government act on a report which concerns murder? Even President Mugabee of Zimbawee would not claim that sodomy is a more serious crime that murder. That example could explain why AAB has to abdicate his UMNO presidency.

TDM claims that Najib is being demonized. It helps to support that Najib might not have a case to answer, though TDM had not claimed, like AAB did that Najib was a good man, meaning that he could not be involved with Atlantuya which only bad man did. Though UMNO members doing their election round are not questioning Najib’s involvement, Najib’s position in the party is not affected whether Najib proves his innocence or not.

Since AAB has chosen not to give Najib the clearance by the police of his non-involvement in the murder case, Najib will therefore have to depend on TDM to provide the guarantee, or more accurately, for TDM not to withdraw his confirmation when Najib becomes the PM. If Najib has to depend on TDM, can Najib claim that he is his own man? So, whether Mahathirism would return depends on whether Najib is cleared.

AAB should know what harms TDM can bring to the government, even when AAB did not have to depend on TDM’s guarantee. AAB should therefore prevent TDM from having any hold over Najib. It is the perception that counts. Najib is perceived to be involved until he is officially cleared by the police. It is understandable that Najib would not request an investigation on himself. Unless AAB does not want to be the only person to be brought down by TDM, and is keen to have somebody to cry over the shoulders in the future, he should do Najib a service by getting the police to investigate thoroughly on the murder. Only a PM perceived to be clean would be able to lead the country away from Mahathirism.

54. #54 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:26 pm

Zak., we are indeed screwed all the way to Timbuktoo! With a party created for the personal gains of the few ‘elites’ and their families, the Kampung folks will be continued to be brain-washed with all kinds of subtle fears through imagined dangers based on belief and skin colour. As I have noted, there is nothing wrong with the medium of instruction in teaching maths or science subjects; especially amongst the rural folks: what is wrong is the indoctrination of fears based on faith which also implies that certain language will eventually subvert your mind. Hence from a very young age, the mind is already shut up. No matter what knowledge or idea that such mind comes across, it will automatically shut it out. The brain will reject it even in its sleep!
    Hence the fun will come when all the resources from Petronas is KAPUT! And this is the very easy path to follow, the path to Zimbabwee!!

55. #55 by Godfather on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:55 pm

….and Zak Hammaad the foreigner and avid supporter of Mamakthir, will have to follow his hero to Harare !

56. #56 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 1:16 pm

Dear Vsp,

I am afraid it is not possible for Pak Lah to join PKR. First, as the response on the ground is that many malays regret joining PKR. But of course, you will not get this kind of info in this blog.

As for PKR, it is now he laughing stock after failed attempt by Anwar to topple Federal Govt. Another date is given. And Malaysians, ever being gullible, just love the soap opera.