Dr. Chen Man Hin

MALAYSIAN SPIRIT WINS OLYMPIC BADMINTON MEDAL FOR MALAYSIA

August 21, 2008

By Dr. Chen Man Hin

The whole nation is happy and proud that Lee Chong Wei battled his way in the Beijing Olympics and won a silver medal in badminton.

He has won honour and glory for Malaysia, and though we are a small country, we have people like Lee Chong Wei to strive hard and win a medal despite intense competition from bigger countries.

We must not forget that behind every athlete’s success, there is the guiding hand of the coach. The man behind Lee Chong Wei’s success is Misbun Sidek, the national badminton coach.

Misbun was also the coach who guided Hafiz Hashim to win the All England badminton triumph in 2003.

Misbun is the ideal Malaysian who rises above race or color and gives his experience and expertise to ensure that Lee Chong Wei would succeed. They worked as a team, a Malaysian team, with nary a thought of race.

It is the combination and co-operation of Lee Chong Wei’s skill and Misbun Sidek’s coaching that clinched the silver medal for Malaysia.

It is an inspiring example for all to follow – that Malaysians should work together to achieve success.

The lesson for Malaysians is to be united as one, irrespective of whatever race we may be.

With Unity and Solidarity, guided by the Ketuanan Rakyat philosophy, we can conquer the world.