Last Chance To Save Malaysia

by M. Bakri Musa

Before last March 2008 elections, I urged Kepala Batas voters to perform a great national service by booting out Prime Minister Abdullah. That would have triggered a seismic shift in UMNO’s leadership. With its ban on contesting top posts effectively circumvented, the party would get to preview other potential candidates.

If Kepala Batas voters were to shy away from exercising that historic opportunity, I suggested that Malaysians could still teach Abdullah a lesson by substantially reducing his coalition’s victory. That would also trigger a challenge to his leadership, and we would have the same effect as with the first scenario.

Alas, Malaysians did teach Abdullah a hard lesson, but not hard enough. Besides, being a slow learner, Abdullah did not get the message. Now voters in Permatang Pauh, practically next door, will get a chance to deal Abdullah a third and final knock-out blow, one he would surely get.

This upcoming by-election will be more than just electing the area’s representative to Parliament. Permatang Pauh voters will get the unique opportunity to decide on behalf of entire Malaysia on who will lead our nation. It is as much an opportunity to vote for Anwar Ibrahim as it is against Abdullah Badawi, and to vote for Malaysia’s future – on whether she would progress to join the developed world or continue its present path to join the likes of Zimbabwe.

Anwar Versus Abdullah

In Abdullah we have a dull and apathetically detached leader who exploits the differences among us in order to remain in power. In Anwar we have a charismatic leader well regarded especially internationally. He nurtures our commonalities and challenges us to rise above our differences.

Abdullah’s “I am Prime Minister for all Malaysians” utterance rings hollow when he allows, nay encourages the racist taunting of UMNO Youth leaders. Again illustrative of his opportunistic and exploitative character, right after the March elections when his party’s position was threatened in many states, he initiated a series of secret meetings with the opposition PAS. In so doing he showed contempt for his Barisan coalition partners.

Abdullah was also insensitive, or more accurately contemptuous of the feelings of those non-Malays who voted for his Barisan candidates, UMNO and non-UMNO alike. The rewards he dangled must have been quite substantial to tempt the otherwise self-righteous PAS leaders to participate in those talks. Fortunately wiser heads prevailed in PAS; the futile discussions were aborted.

Anwar does not have as yet a formal leadership role. Yet as adviser to PKR he successfully created a viable coalition effective enough to deny Barisan its two-thirds majority in Parliament and dislodge it in five states, including such major ones as Perak, Penang, and Selangor.

It is a testament to his leadership skills that Anwar could forge an alliance comprising the DAP and PAS, two parties that represent the polar extremes of political views in Malaysia. Anwar was successful because he builds on their commonalities, their yearning for a clean, efficient and transparent government, one not blighted by cronyism and corruption.

It is also the wish of all Malaysians, whether they embrace “Malaysia for Malaysians” or the “Islamic State of Malaysia” political ideals. It should also be the theme and aspiration of any government.

I am also impressed with Anwar’s ability to attract many young talents. While UMNO had to content with such worn-out retreads like Ezam Noor, Anwar managed to attract many young educated individuals like Nik Nazmi and Sim Tze Tzin.

It reflects the priorities of Abdullah and more importantly, his lack of diligence as a leader, that on such important matters as our energy policy he remains blissfully detached except for making empty silly remarks. With rocketing oil prices threatening the global (and Malaysian) economies, Abdullah and his deputy Najib are content busying themselves that Saiful would swear on the Quran that he had been sodomized.

It is the height of obscenity to see this young man wearing his songkok and Baju Melayu, symbols of everything pure and pristine in our culture, entering the sanctity of the holy mosque in the heart of Malaysia to utter, “… telah memasukkan zakarnya ke dalam lubang dubur saya.”

All so clinical, and so well-timed politically! It would have been obscene even without the ugly smirk on Saiful’s face after he blurted his utterance. Thankfully, he spared us the lurid details. One’s fantasy can get quite vivid, especially when given some attention and encouragement. As for the frequency, he has yet to decide on that. He is waiting to see Anwar’s diary first!

With his hands above the Holy Quran, witnessed by the Imam and nationally televised, those crudities issued forth from his sullied mouth. Obviously the cleansing ablution he took only minutes earlier before entering the mosque was merely a ritual, and a meaningless one at that. Surely Saiful, and others beside him including and especially the pious Imam, realized that by just uttering those crudities he had effectively nullified his ablution. Yet there he was, piously declaring Allah hu Akhbar (God is Great!), and then proceeding to his prayers.

I cannot imagine a more despicable sight of desecration of our Holy Book. I would not stoop to this college dropout’s gutter level to even translate the obscenities coming forth from his soiled lips.

Someone had put a microphone on the young man so the world could hear his filthy utterance. How thoughtful! The event was broadcasted at prime time! I pity those parents who would have to explain to their young children on what had transpired.

Such are the priorities of this dysfunctional duo of Abdullah and Najib. And they want Permatang Pauh voters to endorse their leadership!

Contrast that with Anwar’s statesmanship. The day he forms the government, he declared, he would lower gasoline prices and release those prisoners of conscience held under the ISA. Regardless whether one agrees with his policies, there is no denying that Anwar has set his priorities and the national agenda right.

Respecting The Quran

I am appalled that many Malaysian Muslims are calling for Anwar to debase himself to the same sewer level as Saiful by swearing on the Quran. If the truth could be had so simplistically, we would not need the court system and extensive police force.

Those Muslims’ commitment to things Islamic does not extend however to their suggesting that the Sharia Court takes jurisdiction over this case. After all both participants are Muslims, and Anwar has already lodged a complaint to the religious department. Somehow at this particular instance and circumstance, those Muslims suddenly have more faith with our secular criminal justice system than with the Sharia.

I would rather Anwar swear on the Quran to commit that, on becoming Prime Minister, he would uphold the constitution and lead a government that is efficient, not corrupt, and has the interests of the people uppermost, as encapsulated in his Ketuanan Rakyat declaration. I also challenge Abdullah and Najib to do likewise. That would be the proper and dignified use of our Quran, the symbolic enactment of the phrase, “Let Allah be my witness!”

It would also have been more meaningful and dignified had Saiful taken the oath over the Quran committing himself to be a diligent student when given the rare opportunity for a precious slot in a local university. And had he followed through with that and studied hard, he would have achieved something for himself and be of service to his nation. Saiful should have known that he was given an opportunity denied to too many other young Malaysians. Instead, he blew that chance for a moment of infamy.

A few years ago former Deputy Prime Minister Tun Ghaffar declared that UMNO could be had for a few billion ringgit, at most. He was referring to the endemic corruption in the party. Apparently that price has gone down considerably since. Today, a local college drop-out with only a promise of a cheap scholarship to a lousy local institution could derail the whole UMNO government and paralyze the country.

I would have never imagined that the future of our Prime Minister and his Deputy would hang on whether a young man’s posterior had been violated. That is what Abdullah’s and Najib’s leadership has been reduced to, and how it will end, on Saiful’s end.

If a struggling failed-freshman like Saiful could create such a havoc, I would not dare imagine what a smart, savvy, rich foreigner could do to UMNO and our country. There is one sure way to spare our beloved nation such a fate: get rid of UMNO and the incompetent and dysfunctional team of Abdullah and Najib.

By voting for Anwar in the upcoming elections, Permatang Pauh voters get to do just that, and thus protect our country.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:43 am

Saiful used Koran to ask the people to believe in him, instead of believing in Allah/God.

Abdullah is basically mortgaging UMNO (and BN) for his own benefit. He would not want to let go himself in saving UMNO. A very selfish person. This is the same as Najib. He needs to stay on in saving himself from the scandals.

2. #2 by queequeg on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:15 am

We have reached the proverbial crossroad. On the left side – preserving the status quo. On the right side – a new Malaysia. UMNO is hell bent on fighting a losing battle and never learned the March 8th lesson:
    1. Racial based politics is no longer relevant here.
    2. Money politics will only lead to destruction.
    3. A leader without a vision & charisma will only lead the nation to nowhere.
    4. Malaysia is akin to a country run on autopilot and there’s a mountain looming ahead. AAB’s advice? “Everyone for himself!” and “I’m outta here!”

I wish DSAI will win handsomely in Permatang Pauh. We rightly deserve a true leader who can rescue Malaysia from this quagmire engineered by BN for the last 51 years.

3. #3 by StevePCH on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:25 am

Najis’ move had apparently backfired.
    Why should Anwar swear on Quran ? He should move around PP explaining his move not to swear.
    Even Hadi said it is not required under Islam.
    Let the civil court prove it. Or else, everyone can swear and get away with it.

It is AAB , Najis , SHA ‘s contention that Malaysia has got a fair judiciary. Are they even turning their back from what they had said.

Shame Shame……

Go Anwar !!!!

4. #4 by hadi on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:26 am

perfect yb kit. for all this it proves my prayers for people like you all these years are not wrong. Sometime I just wonder if the country continues to be lead by these people, one day it will be self destructive. The remarks by Lee K.y was not wrong either, I put it not even 3rd division team in fact lower than that. Tell A kadir jasin dont rest his case yet and let us do it together. As the country is on auto-pilot which may fail anytime due to wrong data input to the system. the PR is the only override system available to avoid from crashing. PP show us the way. something must be done, if it does not work kita pun ikut policy Mahathir lah cabut luar negara balik Malaysia untuk minum Teh Tarik saja.

5. #5 by lkc57 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:31 am

Malaysia is ill-fated to have morons as leaders. If only these “leaders” had the future of the nation and interests of the people as top priorities, they would have no worry of the opposition defeating them in any elections. Why have they stooped so low to invite shame upon Malaysia?

A rat who had wasted every chance to pursue tertiary education, knowledge and skills, has chosen to take a short cut in life, lured by instant wealth and infamy. Had he shown any shade of pain (if he had actually been sodomised by force from a frail and sick 61 year-old senior), any tinge of guilt and shame for wrong doing during his swearing (on the Qur’an) lived telecast at prime time to the world? At least I could not see that.

How much he had to pay the television station? Who had arranged and paid for that? It will be interesting to know.

Why has our PM talked as though Annuar Ibrahim has committed and is guilty the sodomy? He can’t be really so stupid to utter that. He has time and again voiced out strongly in support of Saiful while every conscientious man on the street can see wickedness flickering in the latter’s eyes. There must be a reason for him to do so. The people are stupid no more!

While we respect PAS leaders to denounce the swearing on Qur’an, the old man (whom Malaysian politics has sent to oblivion) is “challenging” Annuar to also swear on the Qur’an to prove his innocence, clearly berating the existence of the judiciary and court systems! Who is a better man in the eye of the religion? Is he so blind to his own conscience?

Nothing can be more sad than seeing our present and past “leaders” behaving like walking skeletons, passing incoherent statements, ignoring the image and welfare of the country. Why can’t they let the courts do the job?

6. #6 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:40 am

Let’s hope voters in Permatang Pauh bring back Anwar to Parliament so he can start turn this year of perverted fixation on the anus to an annus mirabilis.

7. #7 by MPSPK on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:43 am

I think Malaysia now is no better than Zimbabwe… Zimbabwe already got gold medal in Olympic…

8. #8 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:51 am

Zechariah 8:17 TNIV • Read this chapter
    do not plot evil against each other, and do not love to swear falsely. I hate all this,” declares the LORD.

Matthew 5:34 TNIV • Read this chapter
    But I tell you, do not swear an oath at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne;

Matthew 5:36 TNIV • Read this chapter
    And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black.

James 5:12 TNIV • Read this chapter
    Above all, my brothers and sisters, do not swear—not by heaven or by earth or by anything else. All you need to say is a simple “Yes” or “No.” Otherwise you will be condemned.

“http://www.ibs.org/bible/word/index.php?word_request=do%20not%20swear&selected_version_word=tniv&current_result=21&limit=10&match_type=all&whole_word=&limit_select=span&sortby=bookorder&start_book=1&end_book=73”

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:59 am

Kerismudin is remembered for contributing to the March political tsunami & Saiful may be remembered for bringing down UMNO one day. Just like the song goes, some of them (BN UMNO) want to use you (Saiful) and some of them (BN UMNO & AAB & Najis) want to be used by you (Saiful)!!! Win Win situation!!! UMNO’s cause of downfall will be remembered forever as it is caused by an a**hole!!!

10. #10 by Jimm on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:07 am

UMNO have been taking the shortcuts of fame by putting up a almost similar faith practices to Islam to the Muslim in Malaysia.
    We all knew that the Muslim in Malaysia have been always put into several challenging ‘victim of circumstances’ by UMNo in claiming the right faith of Islam against PAS all these while.
    Strangely, now they intend to form a new Islam faith between both parties to help the Muslim and to strength the country Islam direction. Believe that ?????
    I just found these stories are very astonishing and true enough to ‘conned’ the Muslim in Malayisa over and over again. Saem tactics in different forms.
    Is that true ?

11. #11 by boh-liao on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:07 am

We will soon C a prominent politician swearing: “I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, nothing but the truth, that I have nothing to do with the C4 of AS, so help me god.”

12. #12 by newchief on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:17 am

Frankly speaking, i have no problems with BN . i think the real reason SABAH MADE THE BIGGEST MISTAKE of VOTING BN is ACTUALLY VOTING for the 2 MOST TOP POSITION LIARS like raising fuel hikes & saying ‘i don’t know mongolia girl or syaitan saiful !!’

why they really want to become defenders of saiful especially bodowi is anybody’s guess. tis big mouth says he will reduce fuel when it hits below US120 but now it is already US113 !! he kept on giving excuses that IT WILL BE REVIEWED by September 1st!! Where is that Shahrir now !!!???

I heard that Permatang Pauh especially chinese schools will be granted fund prior to the election by BN. Isn’t tis like rasuah politics? why no ACA report on them? for PP residents, don’t be fooled by BN bcs sabah chinese school has also been granted by these goodies in the last election. However these grants are only in the form of a voucher from them!!!

To say if BN wins in PP, it will be developed just like KL. BULLSHIT !! Just look at Sabah who has all along been BN & it still lacks so many things!!! So PP ppl, plse don’t believe them.

There are still many Sabah PPL who still thinks BN is the best choice but mind you, they are mostly been ‘conned’ or ‘rasuah’ for voting BN. I plea to PP pple to has the courage & the bosses of private companies to let their workers to go vote for a different but better government for the future!!

13. #13 by taiking on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:30 am

Those clowns slammed the media door shut. With that, they thought the people would become ignorant and hence gullible and easy to fool.

Of course like mr english, the well trained MI7 agent who got his suit stuck to the door on his way out, those clowns got their willy caught by the door on their way in.

It is now hurting them to no end. Come what may and say what they can, nothing that comes through the mainstream media would ever be believed. What was once a powerful and very useful tool is now a completely powerless and useless tool.

Serves them right, I say. And vote them out we must.

Anwar for PP and PM.

14. #14 by Jimm on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:31 am

YB, I believe we should changed this title to Last Chance To Save UMNO. It does sound right and looking at what both of PM and DPM trying to do lately to DSAI ….. ha ha

15. #15 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:54 am

The ballot box appears to be the last chance
    Yet a song reminds me to ‘save the last dance’
    The question is whether to prance or not to prance
    From this part of the world right up to gay France

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 180808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 18th Aug. 2008.

16. #16 by wanderer on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:57 am

“I will forgive and not forget” quoting Anwar. Yes, forgive is devine.
    Forget, obviously NO. We must not forget that this mob from Umno has brought us to the level of a almost non-functioning govt. Repeating the cheap trick as sodomy, making Malaysia a laughing stock of the world. A murderer/s will not testify as witnesses, thanks to our corrupted and incompetence judiciary. AG and IGP serving the executives, instead of up holding the laws of the country. A Home Minister playing politics most of the time, feeding the public with false information. An ACA net in only ikan bilis.
    If Malaysia allows these two, Abdullah and Najib to continue running this country, only Allah can help us.
    If Malaysia is not prepared for a Change, we have ourselves to blame.

17. #17 by Captain on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:57 am

Penangites must be reminded over and over again NOT TO VOTE UMNO candidates in election because these people are openly fighting to cancel all vital projects Badawi promised to penang.

Voting another MP from them will only make it worse for Penang people. They will go to Parliament only to further sabotage future development for Penang.

Recall that immediately after march 2008 election, all UMNO leaders asked the Federal Govt. to cancel all projects promised to Penang saying Penang people do not need the PORR. Monorail and 2nd Bridge. Is it true?

UMNO leaders are traitors to Penang. If now they come and promise projects at Permatang Pauh campaign, they will be speaking with forked tongue. These are people who kept destroyed 50 years of malaysian unity and continue to sabotage our ‘perpaduan’.

UMNO leaders are thieves. DO NOT VOTE FOR UMNO.

18. #18 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:58 am

Nostrdamus Predictions on Possibilities In Malaysia.
    Ramalan Nostradamus atas Kemungkinan-kemungkinan di Malaysia.

1. Is it possible that DSAI wins the Permatang Pauh elections and become the next Chief Minister of Penang as a stepping stone to becoming Prime Minister?
    Adakah mungkinnya DSAI memenangi pilihan raya Permatang Pauh dan menjadi Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang sebelum menjadi Perdana Menteri?

2. Is it possible that DSAB resign as PM of Malaysia after the Permatang Pauh elections and handover to DSNTR earlier than expected?
    Adakah mungkinnya DSAB meletak jawatan sebagai PM Malaysia selepas pilihan raya Permatang Pauh dan menyerahkannya kepada DSNTR lebih awal dari jangkaan?

3. Is it possible that UMNO and PKR will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya UMNO dan PKR akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

4. Is it possible that all other component parties of BN without UMNO will combine with PKR to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya parti-parti komponen BN lain kecuali UMNO akan bergabung dengan PKR untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

5. Is it possible that PKR and PAS will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya PKR dan PAS akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

6. Is it possible that PKR, DAP and HINDRAF will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya PKR,DAP dan HINDRAF akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru.

7. Is it possible that TDM and all other Little Napoleons knows of these possibilities and are preparing to migrate?
    Adakah mungkinnya TDM dan semua “Little Napoleons” mengetahui kemungkinan-kemungkinan ini dan sedang bersedia untuk berhijrah?

To be continued…….
    Akan disambung……

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

19. #19 by js on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:11 am

Heard that there are total of 50K-60K supporters during the nomination on 16/8 BUT the press only published 5-15k people only. We, Penangites should not vote for BN bcos it does not keep its promise to carry on the mega projects. THis is the time where we can teach them a lesson.

Let DSAI win BIG.

20. #20 by yhsiew on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:26 am

Saiful is being manipulated like a rotten stooge by UMNO. I wonder how much UMNO paid him!

21. #21 by RKP on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:48 am

DSAI is not here by chance.Neither are you and me.We are not here in this generation by chance.But, we are together going to bring changes for the next generation and many more generations to come.

One day,when they would turn back and say,if only,DSAI and his generation did not rise up and make that stand,we would not be enjoying this peace,stabilty,fairness,justice,unity and good governance.

22. #22 by AhPek on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:50 am

Mamak should be starting to prepare for migration to Zimbabwe where his buddy Mugabe is.It’s the best place in this whole wide world to live out his remaining days.

23. #23 by limkamput on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:55 am

AhPek, who say so? Both of them may have to migrate again soon! Put two of them in the Arctic would be nice. They can keep each other warm.

24. #24 by AhPek on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:06 pm

Yeah, you could be right,limkamput.

25. #25 by StevePCH on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:27 pm

they don’t deserve Artic, it’s too peaceful. they should be sent to Mount St Helens or Anak Krakatau crater to appease the volcanoes.

26. #26 by ktteokt on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:50 pm

Start packing up TDM, your days are numbered and the countdown just started!

27. #27 by grace on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

“Those Muslims’ commitment to things Islamic does not extend however to their suggesting that the Sharia Court takes jurisdiction over this case. After all both participants are Muslims, and Anwar has already lodged a complaint to the religious department”.

You are spot on Bakri Musa. I was having the same idea too!!Both of them are MUSLIMS. I thought that when both of them are Sharia court takes precedent over ciivil court!!!

28. #28 by taiking on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:27 pm

Star Online today, Aug 18, 2008:

“Khalid had on Wednesday defended his statement and said he would not apologise for his suggestion and the university then decided to initiate legal action against him.”

I wonder what sort of action can be taken. Perhaps they should seek legal opinion first before firing off such statement.

29. #29 by budak on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:50 pm

how to save wor…???

UMNO-BN planned to use RM16million to fish votes in P44… :-)
    too bad, now the $$$ stuck in HK Airport…

Source: http://malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11529/84/

30. #30 by moomin.ng on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:14 pm

We endorse the Petisyen Kepada KeBawah Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang DiPertuan Agong berkenaan pemulihan Badan Kehakiman Petition to Malaysian citizens.

To sign the petition, click the link: http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?6ai18u26

31. #31 by Elwin Heng on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:15 pm

Dirty dirtier dirtiest!
    ‘Blue’ = dirtiest politic body!

Always emphasize or object ‘money politic’, but worried and concerning ‘katak’ shift to PR!

Illustrated MPs and YBs equal to ‘katak’, says Njib! Should he must said so, treat ‘blue’ administrator like this manners? Have you, ‘blue administrators’ understood and realize your own leadership by impolite respect? Isn’t it worth to support or continue staying in ‘blue’? You know the answer, don’t you!

‘Blue’ please respect to our country, all registered citizen, stop play cheat or dirty politic threats by wasting taxers’ money to fulfill your greedy (in own pocket) and buying heart and fish votes! Use smart, spend smart, utilize tax payers’ money on food-&-petrol subsidy rather than unnecessary wastage (such as 4millions spent on by-election)!

Kepala Batas voters, appreciated your votes and understood your status! Anyhow, why not give a chance to yourself or your next generation to have more fortune or opportunity in next coming GE? Think about it, you know the answer, don’t you!

Permatang Pauh voters, by-election to authenticate and permit En. Anwar back to parliament to contribute and service our country towards international standard! Appreciate and thank you for your kindly understanding.

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

32. #32 by lextcs on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

the kampung Jias story is one of the many incident that goes unnoticed by folks down here. Are we so blind that we are hoodwinked by kit and gang that its ok to be strange bedfellows with hadi and gang?

please help them(orang asli) to help us!

http://www.gospel2poor.org/

33. #33 by lhslhv on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:47 pm

I saw a Malay man eating roti canai for his dinner at a mamak store.

I believe there are thousands more like him somewhere in Malaysia everyday.

Here they have RM16 million held up in HK custom. Surely there are more stacked overseas by other UMNO and UMNO-linked crooks.

Why are we so stupid to put UMNO-led government in power for 51 years?

34. #34 by lakilompat on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 4:42 pm

What Malay in Malaysia has achieved so far in 2008?
    In Sport, In business, In politic, In international stage?

Malay in Sport
    – None of the Malay earn Olympic medals
    – FAM is governed by Malay not professional, now is worst politician Curry is involved in Soccer.
    – Sport funds has gone to politician pocket rather than developing Malay athletes.

Malay In business
    – Maybank tried to divert billionth of ill gotten money to Indonesia Bank, as long as government feel nothing is wrong they will continue to diverst to individual Malay pocket.
    – Proton, and Malay owned business very seldom profitable most funds channeled to individual pocket.

Malay in politic
    – Sodemy charges against own race
    – Destroyed national unity by embracing race based politics.

35. #35 by cheng on on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 4:53 pm

lakilompat Says:

Today at 16: 42.52 (7 minutes ago)
    …..in 2008?….., In politic, In international stage?

Malay in Sport
    – None of the Malay earn Olympic medals….
    You are wrong !, Sidek brothers did bring back Olympic Bronze medal in, 1992, & 1996 games

36. #36 by m.hwang on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 5:54 pm

And Chong Wei’s coach is Misbun. Come on lah people…stop this racist bullshit. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

37. #37 by m.hwang on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

And Chong Wei’s coach is Misbun. Come on lah people…stop this racist b@llsh*t. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

38. #38 by boh-liao on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:01 pm

People may vote AI in as the MP of PP to retain the total number of PR MPs in the parliament. However, most likely the total number of PR MPs in the parliament will be reduced by one soon – Zulkifli Noordin disappeared for a number of days and resurfaces now; most likely he has successfully negotiated for a switch to Umno.

39. #39 by boh-liao on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:07 pm

Yeah, in fact if all Malaysians (Malays and nonMalays alike) can have the same attitude and fighting spirit as the Sidek bothers in a badminton court (like starting each game 0-0, rather than demanding to start 7-0, ie 30% discount or advantage) against any opponent, we would be in good shape!

40. #40 by taiking on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:13 pm

In a political scenario where popular support matters, the political rot of a ruling party is an irreversible phenomenon. When it begins, it will be unstoppable and the process would continue until the diseased political party is crippled and finally disabled. Party members would slowly be forced either to abandon the sick party or to re-group themselves somehow.

One critical sign of the rot is the lost of trust by the general voting public in the ruling party. This happens initially with a general and unspecific sense of distrust and unhappiness. This general and unspecific sense of distrust would slowly deepen and would eventually attach itself to specific issues. When that happens the rot would gather pace.

That event marks the crossing of the Rubicon for then everything and anything concerning the sick party would be disbelieved and they would be assigned immediately by the voting public to the rubbish bin. At the other end of the same stroke, every bit of negative news and rumour about the out of favour party would be welcomed and cheered and accepted as true and accurate.

UMNO has been infected with the rot-bug. UMNO members are becoming disgruntled. Its an internal mess. Some of them would leave the party. Those who stay would eventually be forced to re-group themselves. A very large segment of the public has lost all faith or trust in them. Everything and anything that UMNO does would be seen as wrong and not to be trusted.

We must stay on-course. The future is ours. Its a certainty.

Vote anwar for PP and PM

41. #41 by shadow on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:12 pm

Malaysia is made of one race, that is BANGSA MALAYSIA. To achieve this DSAI must become the Prime Minisdter. Let us wish and pray that he will win the PP seat hands down. The person who is really worried is TDM. He has to leave Malaysia otherwise he’ll be in real hot soup.

42. #42 by shadow on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:15 pm

DSAI must become the Prime Minister for the benefit of all the Malaysians.

43. #43 by cancan on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:34 pm

Wise man says,only fools do not follow

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

44. #44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:05 am

“Khalid had on Wednesday defended his statement and said he would not apologise for his suggestion and the university then decided to initiate legal action against him.”

Ask the university to go ahead to take legal action so that counter legal action can be taken. If they can talk about special privileges, we can talk about legitimate interests of others. As far as I know, we have only one consolidated fund, the money of which has come from all Malaysians and from all economic activities including the non halal. Surely if money is gathered from all, it must be spent for the benefits of all. By the way, I am not talking about non Malays hard up for the 10% places in UiTM. It is about inculcating the right national ethos, national integration, cosmopolitanism and mutual respect.

45. #45 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:29 am

UMNO -United Malays National Organisation; MCA – Malaysian Chinese Association; MIC- Malaysian Indian Congress, should all change their names to truly reflect their composition and purpose. Follow PKR’s lead if you don’t have a clue – People’s Justice Party.

Party Ketuanan Melayu
    Change Shoulders Party (If the burden is too heavy)
    Dog Eat Dog Party

46. #46 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:48 am

removal of the handicap Ameno place on Malays will help Malays to progress. Just like the May13 fear instilled into every Malaysia had created distrust and fear among races.
    Now we can hug each other with confidence knowing that May13 is no more. It’s a ploy by BeEnd.
    PR is our last chance truly because if BeEnd continue, we will be dead soon with our main source , Petroleum depleting fast. How fast is the development of alternative fuel sources these last few years ? SLOW !!!

47. #47 by jeremiah on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:23 pm

While I am in favour of a decisive PR victory in Permatang Pauh, the country is facing intelectual choices that are more complex than just choosing between PR and BN.

Internally, both these parties will continue to be divided and weakened by two paradoxical political philosophies: individualism and statism.

There is a middle way, which is distributism. Could this be the answer to a stronger and more stable coalition for PR? More thoughts at http://[email protected]