Permatang Pauh by-election watch – three intriguing snippets

Today is no different from the past 11 days – the media awash with news about the August 26 Permatang Pauh by-election battle royale since Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail’s resignation as Member of Parliament on July 31 to pave the way for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s return to Parliament after the lapse of a decade.

There were three intriguing snippets today.

1. UMNO Youth leader Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein’s statement that it will be a moral victory for UMNO if the Umno candidate in the Permatang Pauh by-election can keep the deposit! He was commenting on a Parti Keadilan Rakyat boast to make the Umno candidate lose his deposit in the by-election, when attending the Spell-It-Right National Challenge in Kuala Lumpur yesterday. (Sin Chew)

2. Report that Hishammuddin and his Deputy UMNO Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin may be declared “persona non grata” and banned from campaigning in the Permatang Pauh by-election so as not to drive away Chinese votes – the former because of his previous three “keris-wielding” episodes and the latter for his previous allegation that “Malays in Penang have been marginalized”. (Kwong Wah Yit Poh)

3. Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir said in a forum on current challenges faced by the Malay community in Kuala Terengganu that he would rather migrate if Anwar topples the Barisan Nasional and becomes Prime Minister.

Mahathir was confident that Anwar will not become Prime Minister by September 16 although he was sure the Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser would be victorious in the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election this Aug 26. (Mingguan Malaysia)

These three snippets appear to bear out the validity of the forecast of a Yijing scholar, Dr. Chuah Chong Cheng that the rare phenomenon of the solar and lunar eclipse occurring twice in the same month this year – the first time with a solar eclipse on the first day of Chinese New Year in February and the lunar one on Chap Goh Meh and the second one falling during the Hungry Ghost Festival with a solar eclipse on August 1 and lunar eclipse on August 15 – portend turbulent times for the Barisan Nasional. (The Star 2.8.08)

Dr. Chuah said “This can be reflected in the general election in March when Barisan Nasional suffered great losses” and that “It would be a turbulent time leading up to National Day on August 31”.

The Election Commission should have consulted the Yijing before fixing the August 26 polling date for the Permatang Pauh by-election!

1. #1 by StevePCH on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:29 pm

winning is already not an option for BN, only what margin they are going lose… at least that’s what my friends in Butterworth told me.
    PR still need to be careful and not over confident. BN can still repeat Ijok.

even without kerismudin, KJ … we will still see despicable Mike Tyson SHA , Shaby and gang. makes no difference.

TDM really should decide on which country to migrate to , Maybe Zimbabwe.

BN definately going to be “sueh” this time around. like it or not … eclipse huh !!! major calamities also believed to happen during eclipse. be careful.

2. #2 by boleh-an on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:35 pm

TDM obviously wants to migrate if DSAI becomes PM due to fear of investigations on corruptions.

3. #3 by izrafeil on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:36 pm

there is a hairline crack in Pakatan Rakyat with yesterday’s Bar Counsel incident. PR must come out with a stance compatible to its promises. No doubt Ameno will use this incident to their advantage.

4. #4 by Loh on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:37 pm

///Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir said in a forum on current challenges faced by the Malay community in Kuala Terengganu that he would rather migrate if Anwar topples the Barisan Nasional and becomes Prime Minister///–Kit

That explains why Ministers in BN government have been busy creating wealth all these years. They have been preparing to migrate if a new government is formed, and it chooses to look into the cupboards.

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:45 pm

Where can Mahathir go? I am sure it will not be one of the western countries. He may go to Africa or the Middle East. Southern Thailand (closer to Langkawi) and Southern Philippines may also be a solution.

6. #6 by lhslhv on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 6:50 pm

TDM has been conferred a title of Tun. There must be a reason. He cannot be prosecuted in court.

7. #7 by Godfather on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:01 pm

UMNO understands that it will lose. We can’t be complacent. We have to campaign as though we could lose, and ensure that the Barang Naik candidate gets a real thrashing.

8. #8 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:01 pm

So Umno acknowledges that the antics of Khairy and Hishamuddin has affected minority races sensitivity. Why weren’t they disciplined when they committed their racial taunts? Umno only cares about the other races when there’s an election?

9. #9 by Godfather on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:02 pm

Anwar must win by a much bigger margin than Azizah did on March 8. Then the message to the den of thieves will be very clear.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:16 pm

If they lose in August 26 Permatang Pauh by election it is due to decades of neglect and default in rule. To even hint that their expected defeat has anything to do with astrology ie the “solar and lunar eclipse occurring twice in the same month this year” is to indirectly give them an undeserved excuse for losing as if it has nothing to do with their years of misrule.

11. #11 by wanderer on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

Tun Mamak, better start scouting for piece of land in India, your motherland. Have a holiday home in Zambawe, you and Mugube can talk to the animals. No sodomy there please!

12. #12 by boh-liao on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:40 pm

Mahathir was confident that Anwar will not become Prime Minister by September 16.

What to do, MM has to keep hoping lah, otherwise he has to start packing and migrate to Zimbabwe to be with his old pal M. Who knows, there might be more sodomy cases there!?

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:45 pm

Hishammuddin Hussein’s statement about moral victory for UMNO if the Umno candidate in the Permatang Pauh by-election can keep the deposit suggest already Bn expectation of a big loss. This, after the sodomy charge. According to polls only 11% believe the allegations. In many ways Permatang Pauh’s contest is a symbolic of the larger contest to come – whether there will be sufficient cross overs to bring about a fall of government by such an unothodox means. It is symbolic of the contest for Court of Malaysian Public Opinion – of perception not necessarly facts.

Anwar being an individual is more dexterous in re-inventing his own image than BN. Being osctraized by UMNO/BN, he galvanises all other disparate forces on the other side, meld them together to put up a united front against an UMNO/BN monolith that is to huge, laden with fats, ingrained in habits to trinm the fats, make the turn, and re-invent.

In last election March 8th electors/voters were voting for Opposition without even bothering about track record or credibility of Opposition candidates. They would have voted for a monkey or dog if it were put up as candidate. Much more a charismatic leader whose oratorical skills keep audience spell bound. In truth if people are willing to vote for a dog or monkey you think they would be bother whether sodomy allegations true or not? They neither want to know nor believe. Such is the mindset the BN is up against.

They should look inwards on how to correct extensive public disaffection and regain their trust – rather than carry on with same depredations but hope to triumph by bringing the opponent down by tawtry allegations, never mind true or not. It will be an exercise in futility because one cannot convince someone who does not want to be convinced.

If supporters of Anwar have closed mind and view him as cult leader it is because 50 years of record of rule by the opposite side is enough for any change, whatever it may be, is better than no change. The usual axiom of better sleep with the Devil one knows than the one unknown no longer applies. The Unknown is now better. Especially when the known Devil with whom one sleeps with has committed so many repeated acts of sodomy that allegations of the new one doing the same is still worthwhile trying! (No pun intended) How does one beat that kind of mindset?

14. #14 by smeagroo on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 7:57 pm

TDm,

Migrate atau lari? Takut kena lokap?

15. #15 by yhsiew on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 8:03 pm

3. Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir said in a forum on current challenges faced by the Malay community in Kuala Terengganu that he would rather migrate if Anwar topples the Barisan Nasional and becomes Prime Minister.
    ——————————————————————-

If Anwar becomes PM, Tun Dr. Mahathir will lose face and get embarrassed especially if Anwar exposes all UMNO misdeeds (land scams, corruption, secret contracts etc) during their 51 years in power. That could be the reason why Tun Dr. Mahathir wants to migrate to another country!

16. #16 by 1to1 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 8:21 pm

08.08.08 was the auspicious date selected for the opening of the Beijing Olympics and everything proceeded smoothly between the two eclipses.

From the article in The Star:

“It would have been better if the election had been held after September or next year,” Dr Chuah said.

Time is the essence in this by-election and the EC does not believe in the Yijing!

Que sera sera?

17. #17 by haris01 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 8:23 pm

pakatan rakyat will become the next pm….
    tdm knows about it….try reading his blogs….
    now tdm is just trying to twist story…
    so that in future,he will have a reason to say something….

18. #18 by black crow on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 8:42 pm

Whatever the outcome of the bye election or the possibility of PAS merging with UMNO or even PKR joining BN (in the event there is a pow-wow offered to DSAI) we the ralyat has our hope in DAP to continue the fight for Malaysian for Malaysia. It may take a long time more but it is better to trust an old trusted horse than an untested one. Please be prepared for the worst always comrades.

19. #19 by cvl on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:00 pm

BN is thinking to go in and to maximize the associated advantages of being an underdog. Suckering up to the underdog is a typical pheno anyway. And to many Malaysians underdogs hold certain aura.

20. #20 by negarawan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:02 pm

The very act of the EC setting the polling day on a Tue clearly shows the impartiality of the EC. The EC and Rashid are mere puppets of UMNO. I challenge the EC and Rashid to justify their reasons for choosing Tue as the polling day, instead of a weekend.

21. #21 by Anak_Penang on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:05 pm

What would be the vote margin between PKR and BN in the coming Permatang Pauh by-election ?

Test your judgment @ votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

22. #22 by Blue.kinetic on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:17 pm

is this so call patriotic example set by TDM, ie. Migrate to other country when PM is not his favorite? Shame on him!

23. #23 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:26 pm

Yes, the head-Mamak can migrate to Zimbabwe and join in the power sharing with the hare-lip ape.

Bad-weed can migrate to S’pore and begin his Statistics 101 course.

Bijan can migrate to Mongolia where he can ride on the ‘happy hunting grounds’ of Altantuya’s ancestors.

Son of keris can migrate to neraka … thus fulfilling his ambition.

SHA Botak can migrate to Arab land where swords of justice await his return.

Tyson can migrate DownUnder where he can have a re-match…this time with a container load of banana republic currency notes.

AyeGee and IGP cannot migrate anywhere..for they are neither free nor brave…so no home for them.

And poor Sai-Full, he will probably be in for more stuffing.

My apologies if I miss out anyone.

24. #24 by kopi kau kau on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:26 pm

Yb,

We vote for Pakatan not because we like Anwar, or likewise we vote for DAP because we love DAP….. We do not have any other alternative…..

Therefore, Pakatan have to work hard to gain the raykat’s heart and not to behave like BN when you are now in power.

The chance have been given to you….. perform well and cherish the faith that the raykat have given you… do not let us lose faith on you and come the next election, you would be sitting on the other side as Opposition again.

Showtime….. Anwar versus Najis…… I bet my last dollar for Anwar’s victory and hopefully with his ascending the PM throne… we can see some hope to the poor raykat…… Corrupt as you may but do not follow UMNO greediness and swallow the whole cake…..Take as you may but please also look after the common people like you and me…. We are not there to share the wealth of the Nation but at least have a heart …. to ensure that our basic daily necessity is taken care of …. eg petrol, rice, cooking oil, basic schooling etc…. WE are happy you are happy ……

We do not expect Anwar to be a SAINT ….. He is not send by the almighty GOD to save us….. He has his strength and weakness… At least for now we have a choice… and we hope for the best…If you want to enjoy your little game …. do it discreetly …. who cares ????? so long as your family can support you and allow such little game … that is enough for us…. We want you to govern the Country to your best ability and do not fail us……

25. #25 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:28 pm

Hishamuddin’s statement that BN will have a moral victory if the Umno candidate in the Permatang Pauh by-election can keep the deposit may be designed to create a feeling of over-confidence in PR.

It is very dangerous to be over-confident as BN in cahoots with the Election Commission has lot’s of dirty tricks up their sleeves. Voters may not bother to vote thinking the Anwar will surely win and this is very risky. This attitude almost lost Kelantan for PAS in 2004.

PR should treat this election as hard fought as any other. Nothing should be left to chance. If Anwar loses, it’s the end of the road to Putrajaya until the next elections. BN wlll do everything in their power to make him lose.

26. #26 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:04 pm

lhslhv

Who told you that a Tunship confers legal immunity for any offence? There is no such thing. The rule of law means everyone is equal before the law.

izrafeil

PKR’s Zulkifli Noordin’s participation in the anti-Bar Council forum demonstration is a worry. Hope something is done to clip his wings. He is a liability as he went against the PKR stand on demonstrations by preaching violence.

Kenny Gan

You are right about the BN sowing the seeds of over-confidence. I am sure the PKR and Pakatan have taken heed of that.

All Others

Prof. Chong is known to me. His predictions are very reliable. I Ching or Yee Ching is a very sacred book. Contrary to popular belief, it originated from the Jews.

27. #27 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:05 pm

I Ching or Yee Ching is neither Indian nor Chinese although popular Chinese folklore says that it originated from Thai Seong Loh Koon or Lao Tse. Another view is that it originated from India. The Indians practise it, but it came from the Jews.

28. #28 by nkeng11 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

Dr. M,

You should have migrated back to where your father came from long time ago. There would be much less problems for the Malaysian Raayat.

Just take a drive and look around. Are the Raayat today better off today?

Wherever you go, Dr. M, God is watching. God is preserving you for a purpose. There will be pain for you. Much pain.

I dreamt about it last night. You would regret that you live so long time to see the changes you believe won’t happen.

It is painful for you to see all the races living in harmony with everyday talking about Malay Dilemma, Malay supremancy and Indian povertylah.

It is happening lah. Everyday. Dopid

29. #29 by just a moment on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:17 pm

The cost of moral with Umno is worth the value of its deposit? Thats a bit too high I think. This coming election is not just about loosing deposit, Im sure Datuk Seri Hishammuddin knows it and the rest knows it too.Its not about moral rather than ego.
    TDM predicting his own destiny, lets hope his right this time.
    All the same, PR should not be complacent. Just be vigilent and not over confident. There’ll be plenty of party to celebrate after the lelction.

30. #30 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:27 pm

Friends,
    Off-topic but relevant to our discussion here.
    These were the very words uttered by Chandra Muzaffar against UMNO dirty politics in 1984. Now please judge (or condemn) him for what he is.

======================================
    1. “Everything considered, it is perhaps not wrong to suggest that UMNO politics have become dirty. ……….. Why have dirty politics become so pervasive? A direct answer would perhaps be that the desire to seek and to retain power has become so great an obsession that all scruples have been sacrificed. But what one has to find out is why it has become such an obsession.”

2. “In a sense, this blatant abuse of state power is nothing new. In the past it was used, more often than not, against opposition parties.”

3. “It is ironical that the unscrupulous methods it has always used against other, are now beginning to affect our solidarity and stability. It is as if one’s sins are finally turning against oneself.”

4. “Concerted attempts were made to vilify an opponent’s political career through cleverly manufactured rumours supported by a craftily orchestrated “whispering” campaign.”
    (Chandra Muzaffar -“Dirty Politics”, The Aliran Monthly, Vol IV: N0. 8 Aug 1984. (pages 1-3)

Call him a turncoat, a chameleon , an opportunists or even an intellectual prostitute. The fact is he is now on the side of the very institution he once condemned. Ironically, he has not criticised UMNO for a very very longtime.
    Wonder what he has got to say now.
    Is he also a party to UMNO’s dirty politics?

NOTE: I have the original hard copy of Aliran Monthly with the above quotes. More to come at http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com

31. #31 by Captain on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:32 pm

Do no trust Kerismuddin. He is buying sympathy votes.

TDM will migrate to Zimbabwe. Recall that he gifted millions of Ringgit worth logs and timber for the Mugabe Palace. Probably, one part of the palace is reserved for TDM.

Anwar must win this election. But some trouble makers should be watched out. Like the PKR idiot Kulim MP. PAS cannot be trusted also. They are chasing for an impossible dream ..Islamic country. If I were Malaysian PM, I would give temporary independence to Kelantan and ask all PAS members to migrate there. Let them run the tiny Islamic Country. Even Saudi Arabia and Iran, both having almost 99% muslim population also don’t practise islamic law, these PAS people think they come from heaven?

UMNO must not win. Just yesterday some gangsters sent by Badawi secretary abused non malay rights by saying ‘You Indian, chinese, go to hell’.

So UMNO must be sent to hell.

32. #32 by tourman53 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:51 pm

Mahathir has no future , he’s bad gambler. He cheats the kampong Malays. See what happen the his so call Malay dilema and his vision 2020 both failed. He don’t even have confident with his own form ‘UMNO’ . What is he good for?…..

33. #33 by digard on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:53 pm

Godfather, you really want to be charged, so it seems!

black crow, yes and no. DAP might be my preferred choice, but, similar to Zulkifli, there are still too many members who believe in Chinese supremacy in DAP.

Tulip Crescent, I hope to be allowed in here without believing in superstition?

34. #34 by Malaysian Mummy on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:02 pm

Sdr LKS,

The behaviour of Zulkifli Nordin, MP for PKR -Kulim is a useless and hopeless member in Pakatan Rakyat.
    His action at the Bar Council forum reflects he is a RACIST mind. If Pakatan Rakyat continue to keep such idiot racist MP, then other Malaysians prefer to vote BN candidates rather than PAS and PKR racist MPs.

Sdr LKS and Sdr Anwar must ensure such “talam dua muka” or racist members should be punished and rejected by DAP and PKR. Similar PAS secret talks with UMNO showed PAS is “duri dalam daging” Pakatan Rakyat.

It is time that PKR rejected and kick out racisr members in PAS and PKR. Rakyat has enough is enough for those irrational and racist members in Pakatan Rakyat. Similar like Ezam and Shaiful are two betrayals in Pakatan Rakyat that Sdr Anwar must be careful in dealing with Zul Nordin and Pas Leaders who talked to UMNO leaders.

35. #35 by alancheah on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:05 pm

We need to change the whole country’s situation
    to a better future, not only for ourselves, but
    most importantly, for our future generations.

I will predict that Anwar Ibrahim will win
    by even higher majority votes (more than
    what Wan Azizah got) in this by-election.

Good luck to Malaysia.

36. #36 by chongs on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:08 pm

Calling all Penangnites, go back to P. Pauh to vote if you are working out of town. Take vocation leave, take sick leave, take emergency leave, take maternity leave or whatever, please return to exercise your civil right !

Anwar has to protect himself from now till nomination day. His enemies may put poison in his food, create an accident to knock him out, spray something onto his face, so that he cannot be present to submit his nomination form. Have Plan B, some one to stand by in case he cannot make it.

37. #37 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:28 pm

It’s amazing to see how Chandra Muzzafar can do a complete 180 degrees turnaround after getting a nice cushy job in a public university. It’s one thing to keep quiet and enjoy your perks, it’s quite another to become a willing tool of the regime and start shedding all the principles you espouse. But most likely he never had any principles at all just like Rais Yatim – a fake liberal when it suited him.

38. #38 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:34 pm

“PKR’s Zulkifli Noordin’s participation in the anti-Bar Council forum demonstration is a worry. Hope something is done to clip his wings. He is a liability as he went against the PKR stand on demonstrations by preaching violence.” – Tulip Crescent

Let’s not blame the whole party for one renegade MP. Zul was there representing another NGO, not PKR. The party has condemned his action and may take disciplinary action against him. That’s good enough for me. Zul must be an ex-Umno guy and unable to shed his Malay supremacy arrogance. In that case, he may as well go back to Umno. I don’t mind PR losing an MP like him.

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:35 pm

Sdr Lim, may I know what are you talking about again? Please be more scientific and rational, ok. What are all these solar and lunar eclipses to do with anything? Why they affect only BN and not PR? Please doesn’t waste time on all these indulgence.

40. #40 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:38 pm

sorry mistake: ….please don’t waste time on all these indulgence

41. #41 by nafasbaru on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:15 am

Sdr Lim (kamput), the sun and moon represent the people in power.

the sun gives the order, and the moon reflects the order of the sun.

solar and lunar eclipse symbolizes conflict between top ranking and lower ranking leaders.

multiple eclipses means escalating conflicts.

now you know why umno have yet to name a candidate for PP.
    it is due to conflicts.

42. #42 by boleh-an on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:19 am

Mamakthir being filthy rich, he may be welcomed even by the western countries like Australia.

43. #43 by limkamput on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:22 am

I know UNMO is in conflicts and i think i also know the reasons why. They are not due to sun and moon. Do eclipses cover other nearby countries like Singapore? Does Myanmar has permanent eclipse there?

44. #44 by limkamput on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:24 am

Mamakthir being filthy rich, he may be welcomed even by the western countries like Australia.boleh-an

Fearing revenge, he may be giving you early indication he is running away.

45. #45 by miles on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:34 am

Haa..haa.. No matter how clever Mahathir can be, certainly he never thought there is a possibility Anwar can become PM, his intention to run away says so much about all his dirty past records and also how true was Sodomy I.

46. #46 by carboncopy on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:47 am

# limkamput Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 35.25

Sdr Lim, may I know what are you talking about again? Please be more scientific and rational, ok. What are all these solar and lunar eclipses to do with anything? Why they affect only BN and not PR? Please doesn’t waste time on all these indulgence.

====

Do you honest believe Uncle Kit believes in those astrology? It was obvious that Uncle Kit is poking fun at BN especially Abdullah whom is known for consulting fungshui experts in selecting election dates.

47. #47 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:54 am

> No matter how clever Mahathir can be, certainly he never thought there is a possibility Anwar can become PM

may be there was a secret agreement between the Tun and some one else, such as the IGP or Abdullah. That is what they are trying to do now on Anwar with the continuation of sodomy charge. Just a speculation

48. #48 by nafasbaru on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:07 am

haa..haa..haa, Sdr Lim kamput, you are still thinking astrology and astronomy.

it is neither.
    it is the meaning being conveyed by an analogy.

for example, tradition says, Laozi remained in his mother’s womb for 80 years.

of course that is an impossibility.
    but the meaning behind this impossibility is, Laozi was born wise.
    when he was young, he was already wise, like an 80 year old.

it’s all analogy.

49. #49 by ahpiow on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:23 am

Guess where TDM will migrate to if DSAI becomes PM? My guess is to Israel. Think very carefully why I have suggested Israel!

50. #50 by sheriff singh on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:26 am

The I-Ching came not from the Chinese, Indians or the Jews.

It, in fact, came from the ancient Sumerians around 3000 BC when they first started permanent settlements around the Euphrates River and started organised agriculture etc.

Some historians and writers say this knowledge came from the Gods from the heavens.

But them UMNOians and BuNians only believe in ka-ching, ka-ching. Thats why they will fail and fall.

51. #51 by nafasbaru on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:39 am

oh sherif singh, it thot you meant ka-ching as in “bontot” in the hokkien dialect (alluding to their belief in the sodomy of saifool).

later i realized you meant the sound of cash registers….ka-ching, ka-ching.

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:55 am

Mahathir is free to leave. Interpol is free to pick him up.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:57 am

“Mahathir was confident that Anwar will not become Prime Minister by September 16 although he was sure the Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser would be victorious in the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election this Aug 26. ”

Is that what the crystal balls between his legs are telling him??

54. #54 by Anba on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:59 am

Dear Malaysians,
    I’m not too concerned about the by-election but was very disturbed by the comments by Dr.Mahathir ( Bapa Ketuanan Melayu Malaysia) that was posted in this blog that he would rather migrate to another country if Anwar Ibrahim comes to power. The quote :
    ” Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir said in a forum on current challenges faced by the Malay community in Kuala Terengganu that he would rather migrate if Anwar topples the Barisan Nasional and becomes Prime Minister.”

With all the discrimination thrown at the Indian, Chinese and other minorities in Malaysia for more than 30 years since the adaptation of NEP, every Indian and Chinese should have considered migration. Dr. Mahathir’s remarks makes my stomach feels sick and makes me want to throw up. When one Malay group ( Anwar and his supporters) opposes another ( Badawi and Dr. Mahathirs’s supporters), the group thats afraid of being questioned plans to migrate to another country. I didn’t know Dr. Mahathir was such a coward.

These remarks should be a reminder to all minorities in Malaysia that the Malays ( the racist one) will do anything to protect their so called birth right. If Dr. Mahathir of all people wishes to migrate if Anwar Ibrahim comes to power, should not all minorities be pissed with the Goverments NEP’s discriminatory that denies tertiary education thats based on the quota system?

When Dr. Mahathir wants to migrate when Anwar comes to power, should not the minorities also begin to think about migrating to another country, where, although you may not be able to vote when you become a Permanent Resident of another country, but you will get to become what you wish to become with all the privileges for education and living with dignity. But as a Malaysian, although you get to vote, but you are denied life’s most basis necessity, which is the opportunity to be educated.

Is this country taking a road towards a frightening dark path?

May truth and justice set us free.
    God bless.
    Anba

55. #55 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:05 am

“…rather migrate if Anwar topples the Barisan Nasional and becomes Prime Minister”

No need to migrate Anwar is not that revengeful

56. #56 by I Malaysian on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:34 am

I think Anwar would become PM, and we may expect another premature GE soon.

Everything seem to be in favour of Anwar, including his court case that is being handled so sloppily.

Audie 61 has some interesting numerological theory.

Anwar’s date to take over federal gov – 16 @1+6 += 7
    if you add date and month – 16-9 @ 1+6+9 = 16 (7)

Permatang Pauh Nomination date – 16 @ 1+6 = 7

Anwar was charged in court ( successful bail) on 7th – 7

Anwar turn 61 years today – 6+1 = 7

Permatang Pauh election – 26 @ 2+6 = 8

Permatang Constituency no 44 @ 4+4 = 8

Past gen election with huge success 8th march – 8

57. #57 by kerajaan.rakyat on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:46 am

Dear YB Lim,

Pls convey this to Tun Mahathir,
    “He want to migrate?, hell is the rite place for him”

Regards
    http://kerajaanrakyat.com/

58. #58 by monsterball on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:00 am

What Mahathir really mean is…if Anwar becomes the Prime Minister…he has to migrate….to avoid going to jail.
    He may even go to the extreme…applying political asylum.

59. #59 by monsterball on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:06 am

There you see….Mahathir is never afraid of UMNO stooges.
    He is always afraid of Anwar.
    Now Dollah is afraid of Anwar..toppling him too.
    I keep thinking…of the Malacca Chief Minister…Rustam…said…”UMNO will rule forever”
    We are now seeing…a glimpse of what he meant…..by all the stunts UMNO tried…all failed..so Rustam..dare not brag anymore.

60. #60 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:50 am

//Prof. Chong is known to me. His predictions are very reliable.//

Can you ask you friend Prof. Chong to predict the Empat Ekor numbers for the next draw?
    To play safe he should predict 100 sets of possible numbers. No need to be 100% reliable. One percent reliable is good enough. If we bet evenly on all the 100 sets of number, it is still very profitable if any one of those 100 numbers draws the first prize.

61. #61 by anna brella on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 5:02 am

Like many others here I too am not a fan of Dr Mahathir’s.

That’s beacause I have a natural aversion for people I consider to be hypocrites, Machiavellians, Nazis, fascists, religious zealots, xenophobes or racists.

But my question is this.

If I were to tar the entire global Mamak (Indian Muslim) commnunity with that same brush that I may wish to use on say, someone like DrM, would that not be unfair of me and make me into a xenophobe or racist?

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon

62. #62 by ttc on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 5:38 am

:) Captain, my captain….agree with your logical assertions and find particularly interesting that bit about what you would do to PAS and Kelantan if you were the Malaysian PM….

WE SAY YEAH! :)

63. #63 by lew1328 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 7:19 am

Greetings! All

See, even the astrology signed for a change of Malaysia government to PR. So, so those who’s still stubborn and challenge the “Will of God” shall think of the punishment when the days come.

Anyway, we should continuing concentrate and focus on the grounds to ensure “Rakyat” Permatang Pauh supports. Let’s campaign starts from “You & Me”… Together.

64. #64 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 9:02 am

Abdullah should just let Anwar be PM for a day so that Dr. M have to keep his promise to migrate….

65. #65 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 9:11 am

Permatang Pauh Voters decide for Nation? – Appeal by Nostradamus.
    Pengundi Permatang Pauh tentukan untuk Negara? – Rayuan oleh Nostradamus.

1. Voters of Permatang Pauh will vote come 26 August 2008. Who to vote for and What to vote for?
    Pengundi-pengundi Permatang Pauh akan undi menjelang 26 Ogos 2008. Mengundi Siapa and mengundi untuk Apa?

2. 50 Questions to test your Conscience at http://www.patek1472.wordpress.com
    50 Soalan untuk menguji Suara Hati anda di http://www.patek1472.wordpress.com

66. #66 by moomin.ng on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 9:18 am

If DSAI become PM, TDM will emigrate. That men TDM thinks DSAI will become PM. Full stop. Otherwise what for thinking of emigrating? Start packing, it will become reality soon.

67. #67 by Damocles on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 10:48 am

“TDM obviously wants to migrate if DSAI becomes PM due to fear of investigations on corruptions.” – Boleh-an

Don’t worry, when the time comes, Malaysia will get Interpol to ferret him out and repatriate him to this country!

68. #68 by taiking on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 10:51 am

UMNO is playing the underdog trick.

So to them, anything other than an extremely bad performance like losing deposit would be worthy song and dance.

Ong Ka Chuan was reported in the papers as saying that the election would be down to anwar’s sodomy case and whether the people of PP believed the charge or not. If they do not then, anwar would win. If they do, then anwar would lose.

MCA is misreading voters sentiments yet again.

Before the recent GE, MCA worked on the assumption that english educated chinese and urban chinese would support DAP. Therefore they would have the support of the chinese educated chinese and those living in new villages. How wrong.

Now, MCA believes that the current sentiments is all about anwar and anwar only. Show MCA that it is wrong again.

69. #69 by k1980 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:26 am

In last year’s Kenyan rigged elections, President Kibaki ordered the policemen on duty at the polling stations to stuff inside the boxes thousands of voting slips pre-marked in favour of his party’s candidates. Will this happen in Permatang Pauh?

70. #70 by Anti_NEP on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:58 am

TDM migrates to Zimbabwe. Join Robert Mugabe’s league.

71. #71 by Jong on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:33 pm

TDM most probably will migrate to Zimbabwe. The Malaysian govt under Mahathir had invested considerable amount of money transporting hardword timber to build buddy Mugabe’s residence!

72. #72 by Jong on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

Yeah Mahathir is trying to run away and keep out of lockup and as Undergrad2 said, “Mahathir is free to leave. Interpol is free to pick him up.” – very true.

73. #73 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

MM has no choice but to emigrate when the BN federal government falls. He knows he has to account for all the dirty transactions that went on since 1981.

MM will follow the footsteps of Thaksin and his wife, Potjaman, who are rumoured to skip bail and not to return to Thailand again to face corruption charges.

There is afterall a divine purpose to keep MM alive – for the nation to seek justice from this maha megalomaniac who wrecked all the principles and conscience of the nation during his PMship.

74. #74 by IbnAbdHalim on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:41 pm

Well, if he wants to migrate what can we say? Good Riddance! Actually TDM is scared stiff if Anwar ever become PM. That’s psychological.

75. #75 by Loh on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

///MM will follow the footsteps of Thaksin and his wife, Potjaman, who are rumoured to skip bail and not to return to Thailand again to face corruption charges.///– boh liao

It is confirmed that Thaksin did not appear before the court this morning, and arrest warrant is out for him.

Thaksin may be negotiating to buy an island somewhere, and he will surely like to have wealthy neighbours. TDM can always migrate to Thaksinland, since he hates UK and USA. Putin might offer him PR status in Georgia.

76. #76 by newchief on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:46 pm

PKR don’t celebrate the win yet because tis may happen :
    Anwar can smile & be proud to go all the way to nomination & going for bla-bla campaigning talks . Suddenly, the Court finds him GUILTY though documents proved otherwise which is un-acceptable or hearsay by the judge !! When this happens, the seat will AUTOMATICALLY GOES TO BN!!!

77. #77 by newchief on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:56 pm

Let’s play acting : If u ppl are either bodowi , najib , the AG , Musa Hassan or Mahatir or the most devilish Saiful in the name of his religion & i am anwar, would anyone dare to come and tell me that i am not guilty and & can walk free to become the most powerful man in malaysia i.e i becoming the Prime Minister ??? If so, do you think i will let by-gones be by-gone ??

If the answers to both my questions are a BIG NO!! then, i as anwar, should have leave malaysia secretly when i still can or to stay back in malaysia to hang dry you ppl to pieces if is given the chance .

so who is running or losing in the end, its anybody’s guess. If justice is played out right, anwar wins. If not, anwar goes to jail for 20 years only.

78. #78 by mauriyaII on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:10 pm

Mr. Smith,

What can you expect from another mamak? Chandra Muzaffar is a pure bred mamak just like mamak a/l mohamad kutty whose father hails from the Indian state of Kerala. Only he was able to convince the gullible Malays that he is pure Malay.

I have always wondered why the mamak denied the same status and privileges to the KIMMA members.

79. #79 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 5:47 pm

Tulip Crescent Says:
    10.8.08 at 22: 04.02
    Prof. Chong is known to me.

Are you referring to Dr. Chuah Chong Cheng? If he is known to you, why are you calling him Prof. Chong? Is his surname Chong or Chuah? Of course, each of his names can be used as a surname.

80. #80 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 10:13 pm

BN can win in Permatang Pauh (P44) …

http://www.votingmalaysia.blogspot.com/

81. #81 by ReformMalaysia on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:15 pm

“““
    #EXCERPT from MALAYSIAKINI:

Beh Lih Yi | Aug 11, 08 12:12pm
    # exclusive updated 7pm

Umno ordered to pay RM218 mil.
    In the March 2004 general election, Umno received campaign paraphernalia worth hundreds of millions ringgit including posters, badges, banners and caps, which it had refused to pay……
    ““““

SUCH A BIG election campaign bill….. did UMNO under-declared their election expenses in 2004? or was there election offenses committed?

82. #82 by Samsul Ghazali on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:21 pm

Anak_Penang Says:

Yesterday at 22: 13.08
    BN can win in Permatang Pauh (P44) …

Dear Anak_Penang.. This is anak Permatang Pauh..wake up please… Come down to Permatang Pauh and have a look.. whats actually happened here..

83. #83 by law1999 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:16 pm

En Samsul Ghazali (BN can win in Permatang Pauh (P44) …)

LET SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN.WISH YOUR DREAM COME TRUE.

Tuesday August 12, 2008 MYT 11:51:20 AM
    150 Umno members join PKR
    By ELIZABETH LOOI

PETALING JAYA: Two former leaders of the Bandar Tun Razak Umno division led 148 members to cross over to PKR.

Norasida Silam, who was the deputy chairman of the division, and Azmi Hassan, a former deputy chairman, handed over application forms to Bandar Tun Razak MP Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, who is also Selangor Mentri Besar, at the division’s PKR office on Monday.

“Norasida wanted to join us because he said he could no longer tolerate the non-existence of democracy practice in Umno, for instance the quota system for party elections,” said Bandar Tun Razak PKR deputy chief Othman Karim.

“He said … he prefers to work for the people, not only for the Malays,” said Othman.

84. #84 by huatung7 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:44 pm

Lets NOT argue, Just wait Patiently for the Permatang Pauh, by-election ! See how it turns out…..