Anwar Sodomy II – challenge to MCA, Gerakan, MIC leaders to declare stand

Two days ago, the MCA secretary-general Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan said that instead of development and prosperity, the key issue during the Permatang Pauh by-election would be Anwar Ibrahim’s Sodomy II charge.

He said:

“Permatang Pauh will be a battle of public confidence. The winner will be the side that most convincingly explains the situation surrounding Anwar’s charge.

“If the opposition succeeds in painting a picture that Anwar is a victim of some government conspiracy, then they win. But if the Barisan Nasional can convincingly explain to the grassroots that what’s happening to Anwar is just a criminal justice process, then we win.”

Ka Chuan should not be so fast to jump the gun.

Before MCA leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs go down to the hustings in Permatang Pauh to woo the support of the 14,846 Chinese voters (comprising 24.8% of the 58,459 voters), they should publicly declare whether they fully support the latest persecution of Anwar and the gross abuse of the legal process to further the petty interests of Umno leaders.

After the March 8 “political tsunami”, MCA leaders have been declaring that they have learnt the lesson and would no more be “dumb puppets” of UMNO whether in the Cabinet or the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council.

The first question MCA leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs must answer before they start their campaign in Permatang Pauh is whether they have kept their post-March 8 pledge to speak up for justice and fair play in the Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council, or whether they are no different from the MCA of pre-March 8 “political tsunami” in being mere subservient puppets of Umno “Big Brother”!

The same political challenge applies to the Gerakan and MIC leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs – have they spoken up in Barisan Nasional government and Supreme Council against the Sodomy II persecution of Anwar or are they in full support of the obsession of the top Umno leadership with one person regardless of the national trauma and international infamy it is creating?

1. #1 by sani on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 2:55 pm

YB

I had always think that MCA, Gerakan + MIC is nothing more than social clubs.

Better leave family matters + Ah Long problems to them, as long as they keeps their hands off the national coffer.

2. #2 by gundam on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

dear sani,

dun u know who is the biggest ah long in the country?

3. #3 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:20 pm

4. #4 by Godfather on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:23 pm

Hahaha…these minor partners of UMNO have been sodomised by UMNO for so long, they have become mute and impotent. They can’t even sit properly and we want them to take a stand ?

5. #5 by PureMalaysian on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:29 pm

They are still puppets … how much can they change afterall? Do you expect Ka Chuan to stand up for the Chinese community? WOuld you dream of Ka Chuan speaking up in the Parliament to abolish NEP? He is more concern of whether he would be the next MCA chief, he wont even give a damn for Chinese community! Who cares!

6. #6 by MyPeoplePower on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

The MCA, Gerakan, MIC leaders are all don’t have Conscience!
    As long as they have incomes, position, power under the BeeNd Govt, they can remain silent! They can’t distinguish the Right or Wrong, the God and Evil! For them, money, status and position are more important than everything!
    This kind of human being are not qualify for us to known them as human being!
    These idiots can compromise on the govt wrongdoings(abuse of legal process, abuse of power, destroy the judiciary system of the country), this meant these idiots can also compromise on the life of any innocent citizen like us!
    For Permatang Pauh voters, pls utilise your ‘holy vote’ to DSAI and send DSAI to Dewan Rakyat and once and for all the Nations say ‘Sayonara’ to BeeNd federal govt!

7. #7 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:35 pm

The Permatang Pauh by-election is the first test for MCA to prove that they have any political courage to speak up for justice. If the MCA leaders could not see the perversion of justice in the selective prosecution of Anwar, they have forfeited their right to ask the Chinese to support them. If the Chinese were to follow leaders who are blind they will eventually fall into a ditch.

8. #8 by badak on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:00 pm

MCA,MIC PPP and GERAKAN leaders are all spineless.They are more afraid of getting in the bad books of UMNO then fighting for the rights of the down trodden.
    The only reason why Keaves fights with UMNO is because of seats.The reason MIC fights with UMNO is because it wants more funds,not to help the INDIANS but to fill their own filthy pockets.
    The reason MCA fights with UMNO not for the poor chiness. but because they want more gorvernment contracts for its memers.

9. #9 by trublumsian on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:07 pm

the opportunist rais yatim went to the press telling the united states to stay out of its affairs. yatim said al gore and the u.s. president are mere mortals and even the u.n. sec gen didn’t utter a word in the anwar procedures. he said Malaysia’s Criminal Procedure Code and Penal Code originated from Common Law and there was no reason for any other power to criticise the country’s administration of justice.

rais, o, rais, it is not the law of Malaysia that’s under international scrutiny, rather it is the fumbling in executing the law. u n the puppeteers u serve interprete the law any which way it serves u. prime example, anwar vs. saiful.
    no, it is anwar vs. bn and it is laid bare for all to see.

rais, u r treading with fire. aab and najib r dooms in the making. but now u r getting on our nerves. do urself a favor n shut up!!

10. #10 by grace on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:41 pm

I wonder those Gerakan, MCA and MIC members have a mind of their own? Inspite of the fact that most of the Malaysians do not believe in the charges against Anwar, none of those MCA or Gerakan or MIC come out with the same opinion.
    They seem to agree with what UMNO say. What type of leaders they are la???
    Back boneless and no mind of their own. Come on, at least some of them are not that Zhambies like. And where are they???

11. #11 by Freddy on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:56 pm

I’m glad that MCA is still led by idiots like Ong Kah Chuan!

hahahahahaha

Oi bodoh punya MCA … sekarang harga minyak mana ada subsidi lagi? Gomen sucking us todaylah.

Oil now US115/barrel X RM3.3 = RM379.50.

1 barrel = 159 litres. So, 1 litre petrol now = RM2.39.

Oklah, tambah transport tiga puluh sen = RM2.69 a litre.

Turunkan harga minyak hari ini juga!

Vote for Anwar! Petrol RM2.00 a litre!

12. #12 by wanderer on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:01 pm

When will these political beggars ever dare to open their mouths…they are more concerned with their pay packets, than the morality of the nation. “They are no good to anyone, they are no bloody use at all!”

13. #13 by malaysia-united on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:02 pm

I really can’t remember when was the leaders from MCA,MIC,Gerakan speak for the truth. If they really did, once the UMNO head said STOP! sure they will hide their tail and walking heads pointing down. No guts to make any sound anymore… Until now I haven’t heard any leaders of these rumah kebajikan sound something to AAB, Najis, Botak Headmid, or Rais. UMNO veteren already lodge report to ACA againts our top leaders, wake up lah kiasu guys!!!

14. #14 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

“If the opposition succeeds in painting a picture that Anwar is a victim of some government conspiracy, then they win. But if the Barisan Nasional can convincingly explain to the grassroots that what’s happening to Anwar is just a criminal justice process, then we win.”

So what is the problem here? UMNO-BN is going to lose, that is for sure.

15. #15 by kutlakut on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:13 pm

I wonder those Gerakan, MCA and MIC members have a mind of their own? Inspite of the fact that most of the Malaysians do not believe in the charges against Anwar, none of those MCA or Gerakan or MIC come out with the same opinion. … said Grace.

Yes they do! The appropriate question is, ‘what is their interest in politics?’ It is self gain – back the wining horse, don’t care whether the cat is black or white. Morality, integrity, self honour, and all the universal good character Must Not Divert Themselves from the first intention – financial gain through political largess.

Begging that is. And they show a proud front because we don’t see the humiliation – but money and positions to make money over ride self pride.

We don’t understand their self debasement just as they don’t understand that we hold certain universal values.

UMNO know that weakness and trade from a superior position.

Will MCA, MIC Gerakan change ? _ how can that be when the motivation is primary Business and Money Making by whatever the means.

Sorry mate, thats the quality of the men who helm the parties. If only you will look into the sharing of government contracts among the BN. There is a ratio.

Incidentally some say that Deng’s catch phrase, any cat will do, turned the populace into a money seeking people – to hell with fairness, justice and whatever. Get the money is all there is.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:32 pm

Now, MIC and MCA want to work for and to look after the welfare of all ethnic groups!

Anything and everything is possible in politics.

Can we believe what a politician tells us all the time?

A most recent example: John Edwards (at one time tried to be the Presidential Candidate of the Democratic Party, USA) admitted Friday, 08.08.08, to having an extramarital affair in 2006 with a woman who worked on his campaign.

David Perel, editor-in-chief of the National Enquirer, said: John Edwards says his statements were 99 percent truthful and yet he told the American public while running for the highest office in the land that he did not have an affair, that these were lies, lies? This is a character issue, and he still insists he’s 99 percent truthful?

17. #17 by malaysia-united on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:40 pm

Freddy Says:

Oi bodoh punya MCA … sekarang harga minyak mana ada subsidi lagi? Gomen sucking us todaylah.

Oil now US115/barrel X RM3.3 = RM379.50.

1 barrel = 159 litres. So, 1 litre petrol now = RM2.39.

Oklah, tambah transport tiga puluh sen = RM2.69 a litre.

Turunkan harga minyak hari ini juga!

Vote for Anwar! Petrol RM2.00 a litre!

Freddy, USD115 is price of cride old. crude old only can produce around 50% petrol. And you also never include the process cost.

18. #18 by Freddy on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:44 pm

malaysia-united,

the calculated price of RM2.69 inclusive of delivery is correct. in malaysia, petrol is considered subsidised and hence taxes are not considered in my calculations.

you may google and find the formula and hence work it out. even thestar did a calculation last week based on oil price of UD130 per barrel ….

hahahaha we are taken for a ride by the BN government and so few are aware!!! OMG!!!

TURUNKAN HARGA MINYAK HARI INI JUGA!!!

19. #19 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:46 pm

Hmmm, must be the coming election again, why suddenly turn the cannon to MIC, MCA and Gerakan again? Do they really matter in the Malaysian scheme of things? It is the “philosophy thing” if most of us not already know by now – they are in politics to make money and seek comfort, period, everyone of them. So it is pointless to waste time over them.

20. #20 by alphoti on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:48 pm

Though I agree that MCA, MIC & Gerakan should make clear their stand in DSAI’s case, I feel that all BN components should make their stand. If their stand (if they dare, except perhaps SAPP) is different, then obviously it’s UMNO against DSAI & not BN against DSAI. Of course they have a ‘good excuse’ now that it is a court case.

DSAI case of whole nation concern.
    I hope Uncle Kit, or PR should not commit the same mistake of BN in forgetting about Sabah & Sarawak
    . Actually Sabah & Sarawak has more BN parties (albeit smaller ones) in BN than in WM. Though these parties are not campaigning in Permatan Pauh, they should make clear an issue of national interest.

21. #21 by Anak Msia on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:50 pm

i once believed Ka Tin is a good leader which has principle but i changed my mind now. As for Ka Chuan & Liew CL, sigh! forget about them lah.

let’s not forget the parties from East Malaysia, don’t they also have the responsibilities to shape our future, don’t they also part of BN ?

22. #22 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:51 pm

But if the Barisan Nasional can convincingly explain to the grassroots that what’s happening to Anwar is just a criminal justice process, then we win.” Ong Ka Chuan

Talk like hero, what heinous crime has Anwar committed? …

23. #23 by Freddy on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/8/1/nation/20080801200213&sec=nation

Quote thestar:

World gasoline price was at US$129.19 per litre Friday. If the Government were to readjust the petrol prices immediately, pump prices will go down by 6 sen.

=====
    That was 1st August 2008 ….

24. #24 by malaysia-united on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:04 pm

gasoline price was at US$129.19 per “litre”?? or barrel??
    usually price is for crude oil, not gasoline, still need to process to gasoline (around 50%) and some other product such as diesel, tar, carosine… I also confuse now after reading the news from The Star…

25. #25 by ktteokt on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:14 pm

What can a whole group of useless “eunuchs” do when Taiko say something, even to the detriment of the various communities they represent? They are all “yes men” and can never say “no”! And UMNO has the guts to say “it shares power with component parties in BN”! What a big joke.

26. #26 by Freddy on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

malaysia-united Says:

usually price is for crude oil, not gasoline, still need to process to gasoline (around 50%) and some other product such as diesel, tar, carosine… I also confuse now after reading the news from The Star…

===========

hahaha don’t blame you. welcome to malaysia if you are already NOT familiar with this country!!!

anyway, the rough calculation for price of petrol is approximate my calculations. hence, the current pump price, if the 30sen subsidy is taken into account, then pump price should be at RM2.39/lit today.

27. #27 by KennyGan on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:38 pm

But if the Barisan Nasional can convincingly explain to the grassroots that what’s happening to Anwar is just a criminal justice process, then we win.” Ong Ka Chuan

Then explain the following to us, Ong.

1) Why wasn’t Anwar given a copy of the police report according to the due process of the law?

2) Why is the whole BN leadership so obsessed about one case of sodomy when there are far more serious crimes?

3) Why was the hospital which found no evidence of sodomy threatened, harassed and blackmailed into publicly retracting the report?

4) Why after 50 years of independence has only one man been charged for sodomy although this happens everyday in seedy backlanes and brothels?

5) Why did the PM prejudge Anwar’s guilt by taking Saiful’s side and saying it is rape?

6) Why isn’t Chua Soi Lek charged for consensual oral sex as provided for under the same act used against Anwar?

Any idiot can see it is a stupid conspiracy and only a bigger fool will believe they can fool the public with half baked explanations.

28. #28 by badak on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:47 pm

LINGAM LINGAM LINGAM…CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT WHAT HAPPEN ALL FORGOTTEN ALREADY.BALA OHH BALA WHERE ARE YOU.
    BAR COUNCIL WHAT ARE YOU DOING ,IS LINGAM STILL A LAWYER OR HAS HE BEEN STRUCK OUT.
    WHY NOT HAVE A FORUM ON ABUSE OF POWER AND CORRUPTION.

29. #29 by catharsis on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 6:50 pm

COULD THE COMPONENT PARTIES COME OUT CLEAN AND DECLARE OUT LOUD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A “HAND IN THE KITTY”

PAKATAN RAKYAT CAN – BECAUSE THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE IN CORRUPTION AND SUBSCRIBING TO THE PRINCIPLE OF GOOD CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

THE MOTHER OF ALL IRONIES IS WHEN WE ACCUSE THEM OF CRONYISM, NEPOTISM AND CORRUPTION THEY CANNOT REBUT

30. #30 by Tantech on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 7:05 pm

Hahaha, a new Penang is on the horizon. A bigger majority vote by Anwar will show the people of Penang wanted more changes.

Don’t force Ka Chuan to condemn the move of UMNO in Sodomy II plot, God wanted to make use of MCA’s, MIC’s and Gerakan’s silence to harvest for a bigger win.

31. #31 by haris01 on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 7:07 pm

stand““M,,C,,A,,A will stand!!!
    duduk““M c a a will duduk!!!
    like dog,,no brain to think….

32. #32 by lew1328 on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 7:11 pm

Greetings!

How MCA can talk the truth of issues happening in Malaysia when they are parking in the Bodowi umbrella? They care more their own pocket and with pecuniary motives don’t they’ve care for the nation? I personally doubt it.

This is the sad thing happening among Malaysian Chinese and sound like political asylum. These are the real fact faced by most of the Chinese community and they called this business adjustment I guess.

33. #33 by ybk on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 7:43 pm

Uncle Lim, no point asking them to state their stand. They have been all these years the running dog of UMNO and will continue to be until UMNO/BN collapsed in the near future. MCA has been claiming that they are the “CHAMPION OF THE MALAYSIAN CHINESE”. Champion my foot. Ong Ka Chuan is mentally unsound,
    that’s why he is talking nonsense. MCA now, is not relevant to the Chinese Community and their campaign in the Permatang Pauh election will not get votes for the BN.

34. #34 by AA234567 on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 7:55 pm

MCA PJ UTARA 7 BRANCHES

PRESS CONFERENCE

THE SAIFUL BUKHARI MEDICAL REPORT

TUESDAY 29 JULY 2008, 11AM

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Press.

We meet here today because we, being members of 7 branches of MCA PJ Utara representing more than 1000 members of MCA, wish to do our civic duty to the Rakyat.
    We note that MCA cannot remain silent anymore, lest we be accused (if not already accused) of being accomplices to diabolical conspiracies.
    In particular, we refer to the medical report widely publicized on the internet by Malaysia Today, malaysiakini and countless other blogs. We had also taken the liberty to check on the comments contained in the medical report dated 28 June 2008 conducted on Mohd Saiful Bukhari Bin Azlan by Dr Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid, the Medical Officer at Hospital Pusrawi Sdn Bhd. Three doctors we have checked with have stated that the comments meant that the results for the alleged sodomy is ‘negative’. They also confirmed that a Doctor can never change a medical report.
    Assuming that the said medical report is true – and we call on Hospital Pusrawi to confirm or deny this – then:

We call on the Police, the Attorney-General, the MCA top leadership and the UMNO top leadership to immediately reveal in full all the evidence against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and stop withholding vital evidence and decide to charge, or not to charge, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. The Deputy IGP Tan Sri Ismail Omar should also refrain from making statements that the internet reports on the said medical report were aimed at confusing the people when, in the same breath, he declines to comment on the medical report. Such statements by the Deputy IGP only serve to further the perception that the police is pulling out all stops to withhold evidence crucial to the innocence of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, a fellow citizen of our country, while at the same time fabricates, or attempts to fabricate, evidence against a fellow citizen of our country.

This “bogus charge” fiasco is also causing untold damage and hurt to our economy, our integrity as a nation. Daily, we are being compared to countries like Zimbabwe and other countries where despotic rulers reign. We cannot in all conscience be a party to the machinations by executive arms of the government to withhold/fabricate evidence against a citizen of our country.
    Therefore, we urge the Police, the Attorney-General and the government to treat all our citizens fairly, with transparency, without withholding of crucial evidence and with the proper application of the rule of law.
    MCA PJ Utara Branches:

MCA SS2 Town Centre
    MCA SS2
    MCA SS4
    MCA Taman People’s Park
    MCA Gardenia Centre
    MCA Taman Mayang
    MCA Damansara Baru
    Contact Persons:

Mr LEE CHONG BENG [Chairman, MCA SS2 Town Centre] at 012-3987851
    Mr PETER CHEN [Legal Advisor] at 012-6824902

04Aug08 Press Statement by MCA 7
    post info
    By Anwar Ibrahim
    Categories: Sidenotes BY MCA 7
    [7 BRANCHES OF MCA PETALING JAYA UTARA]

Dateline: 1st August 2008

1) We refer to our Press Conference on 29 July 2008 and our Press Statement issued on the same day. We note that as of now, there is no response from the MCA top leadership or BN top leadership to our said Press Statement. WE CALL UPON THE MCA LEADERSHIP ESPECIALLY TO MAKE A STAND. MAKE CLEAR YOUR POSITION.

2) As an aside, we also deeply regret the news blackout / news spin by the mainstream print media on our Press Conference. In particular, we would like to cite the Star for their news blackout, and the New Straits Times for the report dated 30 July 2008 on our Press Conference. The NST report on our Press Conference read as if their reporters attended a different Press Conference from that which we gave! We have taken this unusual step of censuring the NST because their article is so misleading, and the Star for not publishing the Press Conference despite having a reporter present, that the Rakyat from all over the country have been calling us to find out if the actual Press Statement put out by us at the Press Conference (subsequently published on the internet) is genuine!

3) We also note that since the Press Statement was published on the internet, our Mr Lee Chong Beng and Mr Peter Chen have been inundated with thousands of sms’es and phone calls and blog comments from the Rakyat from all over the country supporting our stand in the Press Statement. The most surprising thing for us, however, is that a huge number of these sms’es, calls and blog comments are from Malays! And the gratifying part of it all is they are all unafraid to identify themselves and give their handphone numbers. To us, this shows two things:

a) The Rakyat is truly evolving into a true Malaysian race!, and

b) The Rakyat as we said is not stupid, and they are courageous as well in speaking their minds openly without hiding their identities!

4) Also subsequent to our Press Conference, we were interviewed by Mr Robin Brant of BBC News on 31st July 2008 for their BBC News Radio program on the BBC News website. In preparation for the interview, we were asked a few pertinent questions and we believe it is in the interests of truth, fairness, transparency and justice and all Malaysians to now publish our answers to some of his questions:

Q1: Why you have chosen to criticize the government and the police over the anwar ibrahim case.

A:

Well, we must make it clear that we are acting on behalf of the grassroots. We represent 7 branches of MCA Petaling Jaya Utara and the members tell us like it is, and we want the MCA top leadership, the government, the police and the A-G to listen to the grassroots!

The medical report is now widely acknowledged to be authentic as evident from the interview with the General Manager of Hospital Pusrawi yesterday. No matter what spin they try to put on it, the fact remains that the good doctor, Dr. Mohd Osman, ruled out sodomy. The grassroots are not stupid. Third-world politics can no longer work in this day and age. The medical report is now proving to be the TIPPING POINT – the grassroots can stand it no more. The grassroots know that today it can happen to DSAI, tomorrow it can happen to you, me our sons, our daughters! Since the press conference on Tuesday 29th July 2008, we have been inundated with SMS’es FROM ALL OVER THE COUNTRY. Some examples are:

• “Bravo MCA. We praise your action to safeguard our integrity which is now being chewed to pieces …[deleted] If only my bangsa Melayu have got spirit like our forefathers!”

• “Salam sdr.Lee & sdr.Peter. I read your statement regarding ‘liwat case’ dated 29/7/08 with enthusiasm and proud to be fellow Malaysian. I agree with the notion that all this crap should stop pronto. Allow me to thank you for the courage & bravery to stood up for fellow Malaysian ie. DSAI & for the betterment of our nation. Terima kasih saudara.”

• “I am a Life Member of MCA. I am sad that very often MCA has no guts in telling the Big Bully off but a Yes Man in BN. Most of us are now shy to associate ourselves with MCA. Either we speak up or Get out of BN.”

• “I’m a Malay and I’ve lost sleep over what’s happening in our country. Malay leaders (Umno/Pas)* have no conscience”.
    *( editor: the author of the sms perceived that there was muzakarah discussing merger of PAS and UMNO. PAS already made a statement that the party unequivocal commitment to Pakatan Rakyat)

• “PETER CHEN, AS AN MCA MEMBER, U HAVE MY SUPPORT FOR YOUR FAIR STATEMENT ON FICTITIOUS CHRGES ON AI. HE IS A HUMAN BEING WITH DAUGHTERS AND SON….”

• “Congrate to all MCA members about PC today at 11am! thanx bcos support rakyat. tqvm…”

So it would appear that the grassroots is calling on the politicians to stop playing police, and the police to stop playing politics! Therefore we urge the MCA top leadership, the government and the executive arms of the government to WAKE UP and LISTEN to the grassroots, LISTEN to the people, or we will all become IRRELEVANT when the next elections rolls around because the TIPPING POINT is here!

Q2: what you believe motivated these allegations against Anwar Ibrahim

A:

Well, it has been highly publicized that DSAI intends to form the government by 16th September. The grassroots is indicating that this sodomy case against DSAI looks to be a reactionary measure to counter DSAI’s avowed intention. We are telling the top leadership that such reactionary methods are playing right into DSAI’s hands, making him more and more popular with the now increasingly restless masses! So we call on them to stop such self-destructive political strategies! They are making DSAI into a hero of the masses, a lone star against the relentless apparatus of the state.

Q3: what effect you think this is having on the reputation of the BN and Malaysia internationally

A:

BN’s reputation: This sodomy case is the TIPPING POINT. This knee-jerk reactionary strategy of shooting the messenger has been employed too often by BN and the police. People are not stupid. BN is fast becoming alienated from the populace by the minute.

Internationally, this is seen as selective prosecution and denial of basic human rights and will set Malaysia spiraling backwards! Malaysia is becoming a laughing stock, we are becoming known as the “Sodomy Nation”! It is utterly embarrassing, although being embarrassed seems the least of the BN government’s concerns.

This Press Statement is issued by:

MCA PJ Utara Branches:
    1. MCA SS2 Town Centre
    2. MCA SS2
    3. MCA SS4
    4. MCA Taman People’s Park
    5. MCA Gardenia Centre
    6. MCA Taman Mayang
    7. MCA Damansara Baru

Contact Persons:

• Mr LEE CHONG BENG [Chairman, MCA SS2 Town Centre] at 012-3987851
    • Mr PETER CHEN [Legal Advisor] at 012-6824902

35. #35 by wanderer on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 8:16 pm

The action taken by the 7 branches of PJ MCA Utara was very commendable but, will have no bearing on their Umno master’s objective. If these people have principle, they should en-mass resign from the MCA and move away from BN. Action speaks louder than words.The time is now riped for a ‘change’ so why not, move with the wind of change.

36. #36 by AA234567 on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 8:21 pm

Wanderer, agreed

I’ve written advising to them to do so!

37. #37 by lovemalaysiaforever on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 8:44 pm

I totally agree to what Freddy said…really a bunch of clowns and jokers for MCA, MIC & Gerakan…malaysia-united Says:

===========

hahaha don’t blame you. welcome to malaysia if you are already NOT familiar with this country!!!

anyway, the rough calculation for price of petrol is approximate my calculations. hence, the current pump price, if the 30sen subsidy is taken into account, then pump price should be at RM2.39/lit today.

38. #38 by badak on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 8:47 pm

Way to go ….. 70% Malaysian believe that DSAI is beiing frame..Everyday the persentage increase.The more UMNO bigots and the police try to explain .The further their foot gets into their mouth..

39. #39 by hkh on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:38 pm

Is the beehoon lady still boss of MCA PJ Utara or is it a sort of rebellion happening with the 7 branches? I read it as a Vote of No Confidence to the chairperson. And there was dead silence from all the rotten fish heads. Why aren’t the reporters asking their comments on this uprising??????

40. #40 by humanly on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:39 pm

Posted comment in chua soi lek’s blog with regards to his MCA presidential bid. After more than 24 hours, my comment still hasn’t appeared.

Based on his heroic stand, I questioned why he failed to stand up to UMNO pre-Mar 8. Also said MCA had been an apologist for the latter’s racism and religious card. Trust once lost is very hard to regain. MCA must evolve with the time and its portrayal to rep Chinese will only harden Umno’s racism.

41. #41 by milduser on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:48 pm

My guess is that MCA knew all along that the sodomee is an UMNO scam. But being in the BN they cannot openly voice their view. If they support DSAI openly, they will be seen to be supporting the oppositions side. So they have to keep mum, for now. The comments by Ka Chuan is basically irrelevant because public opinion so far is that the charge is a scam, no doubt about it. Looks like the UMNO people are smart by not taking up this issue in this by-election. They also know that it’s a scam. So what.

42. #42 by alphoti on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:50 pm

The actions of the 7 MCA branches are really commendable. Congratulations!

But I do not agree that they should leave MCA. They should continue their struggle from within. We need a healthy 2 party system in Malaysia & when MCA is strong, it will represent a good opposition when PR takes over in September. We has DAP in PR & MCA in BN. Good check & balance. But of course MCA must be led by someone like Mr Lee & Mr Chen. Good work, MCA duo.

43. #43 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:56 pm

MCA is busy with party elections, Gerakan is arguing relentlessly with Guan Eng over Penang land scams and MIC is faced with Middle Ring Road (MRR) 2 scandal, how can they find time to meticulously look into Anwar’s plight??

44. #44 by Loh on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 10:46 pm

Ong Ka Chuan has said what was left unmentioned. BN governemnt would have lost hands down when the election was based on performance. So UMNO chose to fabricate the sodomy case against Anwar. It just hopes that the people can be fooled. To UMNO, the desperate attempt can’t be worse than losing the by-election without a fight. The BN fights dirty.

45. #45 by wanderer on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 11:04 pm

Alphoti;

I have waited for the last 50 years, they (MCA) have sold their souls to the devils. I am not prepared to wait for another 50 years! Two parties system is good but a middle ground third party, should be formed to do check and balance of the two more powerful or the controlling parties.
    It is pointless to flog a dead horse…nothing will happen. So members still have principle in them, who have moved out from MCA, MIC and Gerakan should form the third party….neutral to either side.

46. #46 by StevePCH on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 12:00 am

at least the PJU members declaration shows that there is still light at the end of tunnel for MCA.
    MCA has done a lot for setting TAR College n UTAR but past leaders sold their soul to Devil. To make ammend , they really have to stand up and speak out.
    Gerakan, I cannot think of anything good about them . They are really doomed together with Samy’s MIC 08 shot down by DAP’s rocket !

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:33 am

These MCA leaders should be made to spend the night with baboons in the wild – and let these baboons show what an*al sex is all about!

48. #48 by punithan shan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:47 am

Dear YB,

I have always admired your courage and responsibility as leader who keep a “check” on the government’s move.

For your call on BN’s component party to declare their stand on the matter above… hats off….

only a question can deliver answers.

Now, DAP is not really an opposition. So its time for us to shoot our questions to you.

Ref the Matter “Teachers utter racial remarks to student”, Why there is no official statement behalf of DAP. why the silents in the opp camp sir?

49. #49 by m.hwang on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 2:17 am

punithan shan, what official statement should there be? An isolated act from a government servant and the school has promised to investigate and take action. If after a reasonable period no action is taken then you can make noise.

If the act is of a teacher who is also revealed to be the Ahli Jawatankuasa of DAP or PKR and no statement then not only you can make noise, a lot of people here including me will make noise!

50. #50 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 4:10 am

…//MCA has done a lot for setting TAR College n UTAR//… StevePCH

It would be a big deal if you were a beggar. But it is an insult if you consider yourself the representative of the 7 million Chinese citizens in the BN government for the past 50 years. We have to think beyong the beggar mentality.

51. #51 by ablastine on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:09 am

I simply wonder whether the average IQ of MCA members is less than 50. We all know that they have sold their souls and people for self gains. Do they know that their master who has been sodomizing them for the past 50 years is going to fall. Their perverse and filthy control of the important institutions in the country is not going to save them from the wrath and fury of a people awaken. Stupid MCA, there is nothing to be had anymore with a sinking ship. Maybe those with IQ slightly more than 50 will see that and jump ship become they perish. MCA, you do not represent the Chinese. You are a disgrace to the community. Nobody respect you. Definately not the Chinese and of course your master whom you beg from and who sodomizes you everyday. So keep your mouth shut, imbeciles.

52. #52 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:40 am

If the component parties in the BN especially the MCA, MIC, GERAKAN AND PPP had any brains and guts they would have realized that they had been buggered by the UMNO controlled BN for the past 50years and would have either stopped being lapdogs or would have walked out of the BN.

Don’t expect such decent behaviour from self-serving beggars who are getting ready to campaign for the UMNO racists.

September 16 is just round the corner. Would they listen to the rakyat and cross over when DSAI walks into Parliament as victor of the PP by-election?

53. #53 by k1980 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 12:54 pm

no national leader is going to champion the cause of non-Muslims and risk alienating the Muslim constituency. Certainly not the man who once said that he was the leader of all Malaysians. That claim rings hollow among many non-Muslims today.
    http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11125/84/

54. #54 by Rocky on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:12 pm

ka chuan is way out of touch with malaysians like his other friends in BN. we do not believe the Anwar charges and we can see that from the survey. Ka chuan is out of topic, he can’t bash PAS cos UMNO is wooing PAS thus PAS is no loner evil..Ka chuan has not balls to tell UMNO that PAS is evil

so Ka chuan, you talk a lot. why you run away from Batu Gajah in 2008 election? well wait la, soon MCA will also kick you out like wat your bro kena.

BTW MCA plse do not talk about cross overs cos you accepted cross over from Bahau MP last term so you do not have the moral right to talk!!!

55. #55 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:25 pm

MCA has no place for conscientious people who genuinely want to do some good for the community. The whole party is filled with self-serving politicians who carry Umno balls just to get some crumbs from the gravy train while selling out the Chinese community. Witness all the racist policies in education, employment and economy which were all done under the nose of MCA and its companion dog, MIC.

The 7 branches of MCA PJ should just quit MCA and join PKR. Their leadership has paid no heed to their concerns as if they don’t exist; they are just an embarrassment to the MCA leadership who have made sucking up to Umno a fine art.

In any case, the trend now is to multi-racial parties which fight for issues for all race instead of race based parties which fights for its own race. History has shown that this does not work – the dominant race will always get the most under this flawed system.

56. #56 by StevePCH on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 5:23 pm

kanthanboy Says:

Today at 04: 10.30 (13 hours ago)
    …//MCA has done a lot for setting TAR College n UTAR//… StevePCH

It would be a big deal if you were a beggar. But it is an insult if you consider yourself the representative of the 7 million Chinese citizens in the BN government for the past 50 years. We have to think beyong the beggar mentality

Yes, I am a beggar. I did not make it to the local u. I got the offer from Singapore U instead but did not have money to futher. I HAD no choice but to study at TARC college for a degree. If that is your narrow definition of beggar, I am. There are so many like me being beggers unlike you kanthanboy graduating from Harvard or MU. Those without better results but not making it to our courses of choice due to the quota system.

Your insult does not really make you better than a beggar though but I guess you are not since you make “marvelous” comments huh ?

57. #57 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:45 pm

StevePCH, i am experienced enough to know you are promoting MCA here.

58. #58 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:40 am

StevePCH,

I did not call you a beggar. I was referring to the MCA and NOT you or anyone who has to study at TARC or UTAR. Read my statement //.. if you consider yourself the representative of the 7 million Chinese citizens in the BN government for the past 50 years.//

If I understand you correctly, you were trying to say that MCA deserves our praise for setting up TARC and UTAR. I disagree with you on this point. You could have enrolled in courses of your choice at a local university but you were denied your rightful opportunity as a consequence of the beggar mentality of the MCA. Lim Keng Yaik of Gerakan disclosed that MCA and Gerakan ministers are beggars of BN. MCA always like to brag about TARC and UTAR as proof that BN’s educational policy is fair to all races. We need to think beyond the beggar mentality of the MCA.

59. #59 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 9:18 am

Oh. Its quite clear MCA is still a puppet. Any protest is just for show out of desperation because they know the PM is weak…

60. #60 by StevePCH on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:41 am

limkamput/Kanthanboy. maybe u are right in one sense but promoting MCA ? sorry lah. I am totally against these puppets but what am I to say ? I am a beggar ! of education — you see. I have no choice but to stick to these mentality. Many are also still stuck.
    Without TARC, I would probably still be selling kacang putih or tending my estate and not commenting on this blog.
    Have I ever voted for MCA,MIC ,BeEnd hell never. Why should I ? Their leaders are the ones whom betrayed Chinese/Indians/minorities in the first.
    Like it or not, PR/DAP will have to fight for equal business/education rights for all based on merits. Entry into courses via “backdoor” matriculation had also reduced our quality of graduates and entry opportunities. Else, they will end up like MCA too. Engrossed in ammassing wealth.
    Indians are even in a tougher situation but lo…. survival of the fittest. We have thousands of professional Indians that came through via private colleges.
    That’s why PR provides the best platform for these desperate communities to act in Parliament.
    PKR – major Malay / multiracial , DAP – Chinese/Indians , PAS – “islam inclined” Malays.
    As for Gerakan,MCA,MIC with Ameno as master , what can they do other than BEG. They totally deserve their current state as they had not spoken out in public and societies biasness always end with political death.
    Failure to make strong stand in Anway case is also a prove that they are still afraid and still behaving like beggers.

61. #61 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:50 am

One sure way for BN to win in the coming Permatang Pauh by-elections would be to repeat what happened in the March 08 elections. i.e. delay ballot counting until 4 a.m. in the morning when everyone will be too sleepy to care. The NTV7 camera man will forget to switch on the microphone when the election commission announces the results and what will go on air will be like the Beijing Olympics opening day fireworks – a pre-recorded perfect win for BN.

62. #62 by Pak Long on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:26 pm

Saya rasa Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan dah terlalu makan.. sampai tak tahu apo nak makan.. “makan tulang”. If you got nothing to say, please don’t talk rubbish and made stupid statement like this, just keep quiet and do something more meaningful to the citizen.. thank you