2-Year power transition – “headless government” in Malaysia?

A jumble of thoughts. A mish-mash of questions.

These describe my feelings when I sat in the cavernous plenary hall of the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre for the official opening of the 54th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference this morning.

I made a special point to be punctual as the official invitation card asked all guests to arrive by 9.40 am, with the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi scheduled to arrive at 9.50 am to officiate the opening ceremony.

But Abdullah did not turn up. It was Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak who appeared instead.

Najib did apologise on behalf of the Prime Minister for being unable to attend the function but he did not explain what was the urgent business of state which had prevented Abdullah from fulfilling his long-standing engagement which would have been finalized well in advance with the Prime Minister’s Office.

One thought I could not push away at the KLCC this morning was whether we are witnessing a “headless” government in Malaysia – and whether this was the result of the two-year “power transition” plan announced by Abdullah on July 10 that he would hand over the offices of Umno President and Prime Minister to Najib in June 2010.

This thought gains traction from the following observations at the opening:

• The virtual absence of Cabinet Ministers in an international event which clearly deserves greater support. Apart from Datuk Shafie Apdal and Datuk Dr. Ng Yen Yen on the stage because of their “host” capacities, there was only one other Minister at the opening – Datuk Shahrir Samad. This does not speak well for the Cabinet’s commitment whether to the Commonwealth or parliamentary process. I doubt that there had been so many empty seats in the first few rows in other international conferences held in the country as compared to this morning.

• According to the programme, the Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin delivers a 10-minute welcome speech in his capacity as “host” followed by a 30-minute keynote address by the Prime Minister. In the event, the Speaker’s speech not only exceeded 10 minutes but was even longer than Najib’s unusually short speech. It would appear that it was the Speaker rather than the Deputy Prime Minister who had delivered the “keynote address”.

• The theme of the 54th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference is “Expanding the Role of Parliament in Global Society: Environment, Development and Security”. Nothing wrong with the theme. But there is something very jarring when in the past five months since the March 8 “political tsunami” which saw the historic firsts in Malaysian elections ending the Barisan Nasional’s unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and Umno political hegemony, nothing has been done on “Expanding the role of Parliament in Malaysian society” – whether on parliamentary reforms in general or establishing parliamentary select committees in particular!

• But there was a dark and most disturbing thought. What were the 600 foreign delegates and their spouses, and some 150 local Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) members, thinking when Najib took the podium to stand in for the Prime Minister? Were they honoured at being able to have a preview of the next Prime Minister of Malaysia or were their foremost thought wondering whether a person hounded by so many questions related to the murder of Mongolian Altantunya Shaariibu and private detective Bala Subramaniam’s Statutory Declaration 1 and 2 scandal could legitimately become the next Prime Minister of Malaysia?

• Equally troubling was the real reason for Abdullah’s last-minute non-attendance? Was this because he was too embarrassed by the latest Merdeka Centre opinion survey that his popularity rating had plunged from 91% in late 2004 to 42% early last month, despite his putting up a bold public front dismissing it as “the fate of all politicians everywhere”?

Of late, Malaysians are being bombarded with one example after another of a “headless” administration, and the two latest examples are:

1. The public lament by the Home Minister, Datuk Syed Hamid Albar about the pervasiveness of money politics in UMNO –that “money politics within Umno had become so cancerous that it had even affected the grassroots” –to the extent that he had denounced Umno branch meetings in his Kota Tinggi Umno divison as “tainted” with the terrible indictment: “I am not sure if we can heal this cancer, but the contest this time has reached an all-time low.”

2. The second closure with the reappearance of cracks on the Middle Ring Road 2 in Kepong, less than two years after an atrociously exorbitant RM70 million repair of the RM238 million project. The MRR2 has become a quadruple scandal for four reasons:

(i) Having to be closed down the first time in August 2004 because of flyover cracks within two years of its original completion, when it should be able to meet international standards and last for 100 years;

(ii) the four-fold cost overrun in its repair bill, from the originally estimated RM18 million to the final bill of RM70 million.

(iii) The personal and direct intervention of Abdullah to resolve the intense turf war between the then Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and the PWD, requiring the covening of a special meeting on a Friday on 3rd February 2006, which was attended by among others the second Finance Minister, Tan Sri Nor Mohamad Yakcob and the then Chief Secretary Tan Sri Samsudin Osman.

(iv) Another closure of the MRR2 after a RM70 million repair – when the amount approved by the 3rd February 2006 meeting chaired by the Prime Minister was for RM18 million!

Is the MRR2 Scandal 2, where Abdullah owes to Malaysians a direct responsibility to give full and proper accounting because of his personal involvement in the decision-making in the RM70 million repair, the cause for his inability to keep his appointment with the 54th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference?

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

I am very doubtful about Abdullah’s calibre in governing the country.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:13 pm

The country seems to be heading for a “free-fall”; even UMNO veteran lodges corruption report against party’s no. 1 and no. 2.

3. #3 by wizzerd on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:16 pm

PM AAB’s statement to the monthly briefing to the staff, ” We have to do our work properly otherwise will get angry at us”.
    Have you woken up from your slumber? Mr PM.. Rakyat has been angry with you and your group of half-six ministers for an awfully long time..and it is only you who didn’t realise it. Why??? Because you are sleeping on your job, figuratively and literally.

It seems that 308 political tsunami didn’t even wake you up cos you still think that you are enjoying your honeymoon.

The reason why the Sleepyhead didn’t turn up for the 54th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference this morning is he needs to get his beauty sleep or else he will fall asleep whilst giving his keynote address..zzzzz

What an embarassment to the country!!!

4. #4 by oknyua on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:21 pm

YB Lim Kit Siang, this article reflects my total feelings towards Abdullah and Najib. My only question now is why are they still holding on to their positions? Not only holding on, but using the machineries of the government to haunt their distractors. This is shameless government and we, the public are made partakers of their schemes.

We have said it before; Malaysia is not better than Myanmar, Zimbabwe or Sudan.

5. #5 by JeyS on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:24 pm

Too much for him to handle I think..with all these allegations and press exposure on his recent events.

LOL..he is still sleep-walking! Probably in daze….

6. #6 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:34 pm

Apart from the PM & DPM what are the ministers doing? The silence from our leaders is indeed very deafening.

When can the house be put in convincing order?

What are the perceptions of our foreign guests on the current situation in Malaysia? Issues parliamentary or otherwise?

7. #7 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:40 pm

Perception of a foreign guest on the current situation in Malaysia:

Bradley Clay: I would like to say, as an ongoing expatriate observer, that the mindset within this government is totally beyond reckoning.

To read now that Rafidah is finally stepping down is a relief – she really should have stepped down after all the AP incident issue.

But now I read that she is asking her fellow Wanita Umno people to not contest against her or her deputy in the upcoming Umno elections.

What right does any politician have in a democracy to choose their successor?

Is it not the right of the people to choose who will represent them? And in this case, should it not be the right of the party to choose who will lead them as well? Not the choice of the current outgoing leader.

The same thing is happening with Abdullah and his choice of Najib to take the position of PM.

This sort of behaviour by the leaders of any country would have me asking what has been promised or given to these outgoing leaders to pass the torch of leadership to a particular person.
    After all, the positions these people are being ‘given’ are powerful positions in government, positions controlling vast assets, public monies, and, of course, power.

8. #8 by rambo on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

what amuse me is Abdullah needs to read newspaper to get to know the news about MRR2 cracked. What a ‘apa-pun-tak-tao’ PM

9. #9 by k1980 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:04 pm

Selangor Umno leader Datuk Mazlan Harun today lodged a report with the Anti-Corruption Agency against Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Razak for alleged abuse of power…the two top leaders had been campaigning to defend their positions despite asking others not to do the same. He also wrote that the top two leaders’ actions were in violation of the guidelines issued by the party headquarters.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2588-umno-veteran-lodges-corruption-report-against-top-party-leaders

10. #10 by grace on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

The cabinet ministers are like headless chicken(RPK terminology) running aimlessly. How are they going to run the country.
    Honestly our government is lost for directions. Only God can save our derar country from going down the drain.

11. #11 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:14 pm

Dollah no more face la.
    First TErengganu..then Rafidah….now his own UMNO..ex Youth Chief…filed report to ACA….accusing Dollah bribing voters.
    I think he will fake a heart attack….and retire.

12. #12 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:34 pm

2 year power transition – that’s BeeEnd’s plan not the rakyat’s plan.
    The rakyat’s plan is 16 September 2008 for power transfer to DSAI.

13. #13 by yskong on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:35 pm

I know why he absent, he cant wake up this morning, he was still dreaming. Najis never wake him up cos he want Bodowi to ‘rest in peace’…

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

9.50 a.m. ? That’s too early lah. He’s still romping in bed with the housemaid.

15. #15 by melurian on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:00 pm

i don wan aab to step down and bijan step up. but i’d rather see both of them step down instead. rather to see bijan sit at that throne, i’d prefer aab.

please aab, don resign yet……

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:01 pm

Did he investigate the minister behind the Gerak 600 page report sent to him over a year ago ? Noooooooo. Did he investigate the Sun’s allegations over a multi-million sports contract given to a RM2 company ? Noooooooo. Did he investigate the probable abuse of wang ehsan from Trengganu ? Nooooooo.

Will he investigate the report made against him and his deputy by PJ UMNO ? Hahahaha….if he does, then pigs can fly.

17. #17 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:03 pm

Melurian:

That’s the smartest thing you have said in the past few days. Where did you get the inspiration from ?

18. #18 by taiking on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:17 pm

A long time ago as a child I used to derive an enourmous amount of pleasure from playing this little wicked game.

My partner in the game is usually the small little creepy thing called the ant – especially those with large heads.

I was old enough then to realise that human beings cannot live without a head. But could ants?

In my curiosity driven quest, I would decapitate the little creepy thing summarily by seperating its head forcibly from its body with my fingers.

I was overwhelmed by how little resistance the little thing gave me; and by how little effort I actually needed to execute the seperation completely and cleanly.

I then would place the headless ant on the table top and proceeded to observe a few things:

1) will it simply drop and die immediately?

2) if not, will it be able to stand upright?

3) if so, for how long?

4) and whether it could still move about and go places?

I discovered the following:

1) It did not drop and die immediately.

2) Instead it was standing upright.

3) It stood long enough to out outlast my patience.

4) And it could move its little legs although in no particular direction.

With regards to observation no 4 now with hindsight and wisdom I believe the movements were mere reflex action.

Could this little life experience my be applied to the now headless UMNO?

I would say that

1) UMNO is about to collapse.

2) Its still standing albeit rather floppily.

3) It is not going to last very long.

4) It is not going anywhere.

Tell our children to never give up learning.

They never know when knowledge they acquired would come into good use.

19. #19 by milduser on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:22 pm

The people and his bunch of cabinet and party members have all lost confidence in his leadership. He should quickly resign and apoligse for sleeping in his job and drawing ‘gaji buta’. If he continues until mid-2010, then he is doing a de-service to the rakyat. His latest advise to civil servants- don’t let the people hate the government through their inefficiency- yet, he as head of government is making people angry because he sleeps in his job! What a hypocrite.

20. #20 by Damocles on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 6:25 pm

Uncle, your article title says it all!
    For far too long, the BN has done nothing to benefit the people inspite of the fact that it has been getting strong mandates from the electorate.
    What they did was to make those who voted for it look like idiots.
    That’s why Anwar must do everything possible to wrest the reigns of government from them.
    That’s the only way we and the country can survive.
    Nothing else will do.

21. #21 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:05 pm

I view with utmost apprehension on the direction our country will be taking in the immediate future. With a government of limited calibre deeply distracted with the embroiling internal and external political threats they are facing, there is little emphasis on tackling the impending catastrophe that our economy is about to face.

I cannot forsee any solution to this dilemma unless MPs from BN jump ship. A mutiny in BN is inevitable for a directionless ship on autopilot. As the Rakyat we can do our duty by writing and texting our MPs in BN to do the right thing and do it fast. We need to act NOW before our ship sinks!

22. #22 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:07 pm

don’t forget the abdullah needs to feed the goats in his herb garden and mind the housekeeping functions of his home – those are definitely more important to him than running a country

23. #23 by gundam on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:29 pm

taiking,

vry scientific and logical observation.

24. #24 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:32 pm

Today, the NST reported that the Police lost RM1 million worth of syabu which was paraded with much fanfare in the war against crime some time ago. With the loss went whatever chances the police had on charging the syndicate involved.

What this means is that the criminals walk free. On top of that, some policemen are having a good time tasting the fruits of their labours.

How many people believe that it was pure theft ? Could it be bribery to ensure that the evidence disappears ? Who is going to investigate ? Who has the brains and the balls to investigate ?

The bottom line is this: Nobody can trust the police anymore. Trust them only if you are a criminal and needs to buy your way out of trouble.

25. #25 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:33 pm

In view of the imminent political tsunami on Sept 16 when the Federal Government may change hands, perhaps AAB and his Cabinet Ministers are in their counting houses, busy counting out their money.

This is also a good time for AAB to showcase NR to the 600 foreign delegates and their spouses, and some 150 local Commonwealth Parliamentary Association members. After all, all the people attending the 54th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference are aware of the ongoing C4 murder trial and the relationship of AR, AS, and NR.

It’s also timely for the 600 foreign delegates and their spouses, and some 150 local Commonwealth Parliamentary Association members to experience first hand the current ridiculous and shameless governance in Malaysia.

26. #26 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:34 pm

DPM said he did not know about the report against him and the still sleeping PM. How can he did not know when the report came from his own party. And he is in 2nd command. U can see what a mess is already in Umno. If a serious report like this occured in his own party and moreover against he himself, and he does not know in spite being noumber 2, that is indeed really… amazing..UNBELEIVABLE!!. I can understand if sleeping beauty does not know because i read that even our MRR2 issue he got it from thE newspaper. What a joke la!! I feel real sorry for the country run by people like this.

27. #27 by yuking on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:36 pm

New Cabinet:

Prime Minister – Anwar

Deputy Prime Minister – Lim Kit Siang

Agriculture Minister –

Community Minister –

Culture Minister – Farish Noor

Defence Minister – Azmin Ali

Education Minister – Nga Kor Ming

Environment Minister – Teresa Kok

Finance Minister – Tony Pua

Foreign Minister – Ramasamy

Health Minister – Tan Seng Giaw

Home Minister – Sivarasa

Information Minister – Jeff Ooi

Law Minister – Teng Chang Khim

Manpower Minister –

Sports Minister –

Technology Minister –

Trade Minister – Khalid

Transport Minister – Liew Chin Tong

Tourism Minister –

28. #28 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:36 pm

“Stop making people angry and hate the government.” AAB, 2008

“I have big ears.” AAB, 2007

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

“Work with me, not work for me.” AAB, 2004

All I can say is “Holy Cow !”

29. #29 by nkeng11 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:49 pm

The country lost its his head a long time ago. What is left is a artificial head which can think. It can only sleep to recharge the battery.

If it has a head, how can so many stupid things be allowed to happen in this country.

If you don’t believe me, just take a look at the newspapers and see what the police are investigating. Also look at what the hospital are looking at!

All other matters are sundry and incidental in Malaysia including murder by C4, child rapes, drugs, money laundering, corruption and gangsterism.

Malaysia Boleh, Tetap Boleh sampai bila?

30. #30 by xplora on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:52 pm

Only three possibilities of why he can’t come today:

1) Too tired of developing Malaysia (Do you think so?)
    2) Afraid of being questioned by journalist regarding the latest ACA corruption filled by their ex-UMNO member
    3) Counting how many of all our Rakyat cash (^^) in his Swiss Account<—-

31. #31 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:59 pm

YB Lim,

Datuk Seri Abdullah bin Ahmad Badawi dituduh secara bersama dengan Datuk Seri Najib Razak telah melakukan rasuah politik yang terhina dan terbesar dalam sejarah politik Malaysia dengan menetapkan sendiri tarikh peralihan kuasa jawatan presiden umno dan jawatan Perdana Menteri Malaysia yang disebut akan berlaku dalam bulan June 2010.

Mereka berdua didapati bersalah kerana cubaan menjadikan kedua-dua jawatan tersebut sebagai (macam) hak mak bapak tok nenek moyang.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/

32. #32 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 8:09 pm

it is like when u tender in ur resignation from work u start to hv the tidak=apa attitude already. You will come in late for work, absent with leave, go awol, go mia, go jln2 cari makan, go play snooker, go makan angin on super jet and super yacht.

and we hv to wait another 2 years for him to step down. in most cases, employers gv such ppl 3mths the most and some will fire them outright n pay him some compensation.

shld we rakyat fork out money n buy him a 1 way ticket to the moon so that he can have his honey there?

33. #33 by Blue.kinetic on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:00 pm

Off topic a bit. Wish YB to pass the msg to YB Guan Eng. Noticed that YB Guan Eng is keep complaining Federal Goverment on fund issue. I think for once or two is ok so that people knows the truth, but after the claim, YB should start to move on, look for innovative way to bring Penang to greater height. YB can’t keep complaining as people will fed up with kep-complaining-attitude. No choice, YB have to go independent now, govern like Singapore mindset, built Penang like Singapore,then you will earn Rakyat respect.

and for land scum issue, YB should stop challenging thru paper and put conditions for debat. Fear not, face them with brave and work out this to turn out into benefit to people. People wants to see the result.

my 2 cents. Thanks!

34. #34 by Anak_Penang on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:08 pm

Which party do you think will form the next government of Malaysia ?

Express your view @ votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

35. #35 by badak on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:09 pm

It looks like UMNO members do not have the guts to go againts the dinosaurs in the party.First it was the Pak Lah and Najib.Now it is Rafidah and Sharizat..Next it will be Pemuda and Putri.
    The only way to kick this dinosaurs out, is in the next GE.This bunch of thieves had been stealing from us for far to long.

36. #36 by boilingmad on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:20 pm

Godfather: “The bottom line is this: Nobody can trust the police anymore. Trust them only if you are a criminal and needs to buy your way out of trouble.” …Hmmmm … maybe we should all change our careers and become criminals, since we would be safer as criminals than innocent victims.

Yee Siew Wah: Of course he knows, I mean you don’t expect him to say he knows because that would mean he has to respond to that knowledge. By denying it, he can escape giving any explanation or response to it.

And as to the missing PM at the opening of the Commonwealth conference, perhaps it’s for the better. We don’t want to be embarrassed any more than we already have, do we?

37. #37 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:28 pm

Much as Mahathir was (and still is) vilified for his role in the corruption of the judiciary, the ACA and the AG’s Chambers, he still has some hardcore support. If you read his blog, you will cringe with the “Tun, you are the greatest”, “I love you, Tun”, or the “I am eternally your supporter” comments.

With Badawi, it is zilch. Zero. Big big zero.

38. #38 by The Enforcer on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:36 pm

Opening speech at 9.50am! No way. Sleepy head was still talking in his sleep!
    MRR2 problem from the MSM! He has to ask his SIL Kera Jantan
    Of course Najis will say he didn’t know of the UMNO report. He even said he didn’t know the late Altantuya!
    What else do we RAKYAT expect from the top two?

39. #39 by badak on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:59 pm

We all can see that we have one of the most corrupted police force in the world.In every police station you can find a few middle men ,who can get you out of anything.
    The amount to pay, is depended on how serious the case is.

40. #40 by aiD_kamikuP on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:15 pm

It is an irony akin to a paedophile teaching morality to children.

A ‘motley crew’ that is hardly practising parliamentary democracy (or at best being biasedly selective in its practice as evidenced in recent parliamentary ‘manoeuverings’) cannot be a proud host of Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference.

How hollow would it sound to the delegates on hearing the welcoming speech by the very Speaker whose conduct of late is a far cry from the best (maybe even average) parliamentary practices.

How inspirational would the keynote speech be?.. when a dubious ‘substitute’ takes the podium to cover for flipping, confirmed flop, currently flapping and almost decapitated ‘chook’. Substitute’s utterances, if not speaking in Mongolian tongue, would probably be gobbledegook anyway!

41. #41 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:17 pm

Promoting people in the name of political power. Malaysians cannot be that stupid not to see the real reason even though they are not told. So where is the credibility ? Where is the real respect ? There’s no real consideration given to the person and the suitability of the position. It is just because that person is one to be manipulated and to manipulate others. So in the end, there is actually nothing to be shown. Only mere preachings and the listeners just the chair warmers. We have so many examples of leaders who have forgotten his real duties to the citizens. Yet we have not learned. Without the head, the body naturally dies. The body is dying. Where is the resuscitation team ?

42. #42 by yskong on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:24 pm

smeagroo, you are definately right! usually resigned people will do nothing in the office, and leave a tonne of sh*t to his successor! najis will try to clean his sh*t but will fail in the end cos his body is full of sh*t also… let PR do the job, let PR clear all the sh*t left by BN!

43. #43 by nkeng11 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:59 pm

There is one Gold medal surely Malaysia can win!

Guess?

Pak Lah can represent Malaysia and win!

Sleeping on the job for the longest! Gold won by Pak Lah without competing!

44. #44 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 11:14 pm

It’s one thing to have a ‘headless’ government
    It’ll be worse to have a ‘brainless’ one
    When it fails to deliver what the people want
    When they can’t get basic food, water and garment

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 050808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 5th Aug. 2008.

45. #45 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:11 am

Ya, headless, brainless and whatever-less you people may label, the fact remains that he and Naj*b are still PM and DPM respectively and there is nothing that we have done that had brought an iota of change to the situation. See how far Malaysia has sunk into the odyssey of raw power and contempt. Is there still any hope of democratic change? I have inkling that we have joined the Zimbabwean league!

I have questions that I have no answers: 1. Are we saying that BN MPs will only cross the aisle when Anwar is elected into Parliament? 2. Assuming that Anwar is elected, would sufficient number of BN MPs change their allegiance? If so, how would BN handle that? Do you think BN will surrender the power gracefully to PR? What alternatives does BN have? Has PR thought about the possibilities that BN may embark on?

46. #46 by nafasbaru on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:41 am

Home Minister, Datuk Syed Hamid Albar:

“money politics within Umno had become so cancerous that it had even affected the grassroots”

and

“I am not sure if we can heal this cancer, but the contest this time has reached an all-time low.”

Time to join Pakatan Rakyat.

47. #47 by nafasbaru on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:45 am

Samuel Goh Kim Eng Says:

“It’s one thing to have a ‘headless’ government
    It’ll be worse to have a ‘brainless’ one.”

Haiyah! without any head how can there be a brain?

48. #48 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:17 am

I cannot dismiss the nagging suspicion I have that our Prime Minister was no longer the Pak Lah I know since his good wife passed away.

It is not easy to just grieve for a wife who has been with you through thick and thin for more than 25 years. Then again, he has to run in the new wife. Another tough job amidst the grievous loss.

Not easy. Can we Malaysians show some empathy and let him have some space for the transition, at the end of which will be another transition – from power?

49. #49 by nafasbaru on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:37 am

Tulip Crescent Says:

“It is not easy to just grieve for a wife who has been with you through thick and thin for more than 25 years. Then again, he has to run in the new wife. Another tough job amidst the grievous loss.”

and

“Can we Malaysians show some empathy and let him have some space for the transition, at the end of which will be another transition – from power?”

===========================

if the “head” of the nation has personal problems, and it affects the economy, then 2 yrs is too long a space for transition. He must empathise with the rakyat too.

50. #50 by doggone on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 4:08 am

There should be no doubt whatsoever to the unspoken fact that the PM has already thrown in the towel regarding his ability to run the nation. Do not expect a prevaricator like him to acknowledge it nor can we hope to see him resigning with an excuse of ill health. What we can be sure of is his pathetic ability to distribute the banes and blames to all and sundry, without shouldering any himself. One only need to look at those recent statements he made to understand his irrelevance to the nation and its people.

His absence at the KLCC is a clear reflection of a defeated man. Like a boxer who had caught too many left-jabs and right hooks and was floored 4 times (2004 to 2008). He knows he can still get off the floor before the count of ten but he won’t, knowing he’ll stagger straight into a right upper-cut that’ll turn his lights off. This PM is a clear and present danger to every living thing in Malaysia. Yes, including insects and trees with their swinging inhabitants.

51. #51 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 4:28 am

tulip crescent,

it’s the leader of a country we’re talking about here, not the boy scout captain of your local chapter. you’re asking for empathy for the pm, but at this point, he only gets sympathy, maybe. not from me though.
    you called into one more deficiency in the pm:
    weak in the emotions
    in addition to being
    weak in the talent department
    weak in the judgment department
    weak in the ethics department

52. #52 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 4:35 am

aab didn’t show up because he knows fully well what the delegates have in their minds. he’d be appearing naked, in the emperor’s new clothes’ sense, subjected to stares and smirks of ridicule. instead he sent najis, and najis couldn’t last 10 mins , which was still better than aab’s 0.

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 7:58 am

Taiking’s “headless” ant analogy (posting at 18:17.33 yesterday) is apt.

March 9th political tsunami evinces the need for UMNO/BN to reinvent or perish. The political organization steeped in feudal patronage values and practices that spawn corruption and abuse of power over 20 years finds it difficult to make the turn and change. Leadership is crucial in this respect to show the course – how and where to turn – to rank and file but this is wholly lacking when the moral legitimacy and authority of the top leaders needed to persuade and galvanise the following has been scythed by allegations that cannot be dispelled. And yet no new leaders can emerge to displace them because feudal deferential values of such an organization tolerate the top 2 to make a pact to stick together until 2010 by which time the baton supposedly passes to no. 2.

So meanwhile rank and file move hither and thither by reflex falling back on traditional communal appeals based on race and religion that younger and urban voters have already demonstrated rejection by swinging to the Opposition – whilst others openly rebel eg SAPP’s support of motion of no confidence, Terengganu state officials buying Mercedes instead of Perdana and now an UMNO veteran has lodged a report against top 2 for having abused government machineries to garner political support (developments unheard of before).

The lack of cabinet support for Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference evinced by PM’s absence and the desultory address by DPM in his stead, the absence of other minsiters other than Shafie Apdal, Ng Yen Yen and Shahrir in their hosting capacities are symptomatic of this state of demoralisation (as opposed to enthusiasm) at governance UMNO/BN level….

The critical issue that YB Kit should include in his “jumble of thoughts” and “mish-mash of questions” is whether at national level affecting the future of the country (1) Anwar Ibrahim (equally saddled with allegations of sodomy etc) could for long provide the leadership in Pakatan Rakyat (PR) in replacement of the BN’s and if for any reason Anwar falters whether there is another effective leader next in line to take PR’s political agenda further; (2) whether the component parties within PR will stay united for long having regard to disparate ideologies of PAS & DAP, with recent developments of PAS engaged in Malay unity talks with UMNO.

If (in terms of providing much needed strong and effective political leadership) UMNO/BN is no longer viable – and PR is equally not – then, it is not just UMNO/BN or PR but the entire country will be like a headless ant scuttling by reflex here and there with no direction in the face of a global economic maelstom looming ahead, a sure recipe for economic disaster with social and civil unrest predictably in its wake.

54. #54 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 8:17 am

It was reported in Malaysiakini (Chinese Edition) that prior to announcement of the power transition pact, AAB frequently participated in dinners and gatherings held for party elections. During the events, he arranged for party division presidents to stay in hotels and gave them pocket money, rugs (for sembayang) and sarong. The expense of these items was derived from public funds. Zahar Hashim said UMNO members had extensively discussed this kind of spending and he believed that this kind of spending had never occurred in UMNO history – at least in his 20 years as party division president. He believed that AAB and Najis had already violated UMNO code of conduct.

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 8:33 am

By way of follow up of what I said, it is regretable that the lack of effective leadership in combination with demoralisation at UMNO/BN level does not necesarily translate to all pluses in favour of Pakatan Rakyat which by virtue of its implosion in progress could expeditiously take over the Federal Government and lead the country merrily ever after.

This may be a fairy tale devoutly to be wished for by many fed up with present state of governance but reality may be different in sense that demoralisation/headless administration on UMNO/BN’s part can in certain eventuality cause damage to the Pakatan Rakyat’s cause.

An example : UMNO/BN is now clueless on how to diffuse Anwar’s political challenge – esp his talk of cross overs etc. Nobody on UMNO/BN’s side comes out with strategic mapping and thinking of how to neutralise Anwar at above-the-board political level. Even on whether to field a BN candidate to oppose Anwar in Permatang Puah is not a matter about which there is consensus let alone how to deal with him…

All they know and about which there is some consensus is that he is political threat to vested interests and the remedy is to destroy, eliminate, terminate with extreme prejudice him and his challenge, and if neccesary down to every aspect at personal level….. .

So even if there is insufficient evidence, there being no strategic direction, the likelihood is a reponse motivated by fear, that is to charge and prosecute, never mind what a trial on sodomy II will do to the country : it suffices igf some amount of filth is cast and could tarnish and if sodomy is insufficient, then some will seek to rake up the past, look for his alleged ‘war chest’ and rake up Murad’s SD etc. This will all happen in due course. It is a destructive course of both sides embarked on “kiiling” each other politically at whatever the costs to the nation.

Whilst it will do the UMNO/BN no good – this directionless mud raking search to sling mud – it will also equally do the Pakatan Rakyat’s cause no good if some mud manages eventually to cling on its defacto leader, of whom just like the top two in UMNO/BN, there is no effective substitute to carry on its agenda if the leader in front falls.

The absence of effective leadership is then a real (and not imaginary) prospect facing the country, whether short or medium term. Without strong leadership economic travails are difficult to manage and overcome.

56. #56 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 8:33 am

Malaysia – AAB style

“I won’t re-marry” – The next day, he announce marriage with Jean.
    “Parliament will not be dissolved” – Parliament was dissolved the very next day.
    “Price of petrol will not increase” – The next day, petrol soared to an all time hight.

Perhaps a day before the meeting, he might have said, “I will be there at the meeting”. So expect the reverse to happen and he did the best Houdini act of disappearance! I suggest he join the great magician now rather than remaining as PM of Malaysia and a self-proclaimed “religious” man!

57. #57 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 8:45 am

58. #58 by taiking on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 8:56 am

By the way has anyone seen the scientific report which our angkasawan said moons ago that he would publish on the experiment he conducted in a certain international space station?

59. #59 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:06 am

The lament this, they lament that, but what have they done? Really, open up the pandora’s box is all they have done and then stand around make excuses and look dazed when things go badly. Its not easy this, its not easy that.

IT IS NOT SUPPOSE TO BE EASY!!!!!!

In fact, its suppose to be very hard and what worries me more than anything else is the fact that Najib does not even think twice about NOT taking the PM job, that he assumes he is up to it when a vast majority of the public don’t think he is.

I say it again and again, Najib is not up to the job. Even before he becomes PM he has little goodwill of the public. His closets is full of skeletons and many personal enemies the no 1 being Anwar the opposition leader. He will paralyze this country further or tear it apart, he cannot bring it together and move forward.

60. #60 by oknyua on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:08 am

taiking, the priority wasn’t on any “scientific” reports. The most important report was on which direction to bow during his prayer time. That report has been sent to the Great Imam Hadhari and has been adopted as the standard for all future space tourists.

Go it? (Your headless ant was classic).

61. #61 by ch on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:18 am

Dear All,

It is sad to hear or see that Malaysia is heading towards such destruction as commented but I believe the government itself wouldn’t want the country to slide into such slippery path. However, they are probably facing a very daunting task to keep itself remains competitive in this fast changing economic environment, a new world economic order, so to speak. We are losing the confidence of foreign investors to competing neighbouring countries as the political situation in the country appears unstable. Such scenario has given a bad light on our country as a result. The legal pursuit against Anwar on the Saiful’s allegation has also taken a toll on the trust of foreign investors on Malaysia’s judicial system. They are now comparing our system to the likes of Zimbabwe or Burma and such notion in their mind is no compliment. The apparent lack of interest to pursue the whereabout of PI Bala and the Pusrawi’s doctor by the authorities left foreign investors with the notion that we are adopting a double standard legal policy. These are valid and potentially damaging issues which the Malaysian government must take proactive steps to address and rejuvenate the apparent downwards confidence of forewign investors had on our country.

The very recent reckless investment by Maybank on Bank International Indonesia (BII) also give rise to corruption? Maybank may potentially lose out RM3.5 billion if it was forced to dispose off the 20% stake in this bank. But the worse thing is that RM480 million Maybank had paid as downpayment to Temasik Holdings may be forfeited if they end up not buying the 55% stake owned by this singapore investment company. Another sore point for Malaysia after Pulau Batu Putih?

62. #62 by PHUAKL on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:18 am

Hi Friends

Take a look at this posting:

http://www.malaysiawaves.com/2008/08/pakatan-rakyat-more-popular-than-bn-now.html

P.S. Don’t forget that it is our money! We paid for it through taxes etc.

Phua Kai Lit

63. #63 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:23 am

I think let’s take one step at the time. Right now we are not even able to get rid of present leadership in the government, so let’s forget about whether Anwar will be effective or otherwise as their replacement. What we do know is that the present leadership and the system they represent are no longer working. As for PR and Anwar, we are not 100% certain they will be effective. But what choice do we have other than to complete the transformation and allow them the opportunity to govern at the federal level? The alternative is stalemate which serves this country nothing. I think it is too late now to hesitate and ponder what PR and Anwar will bring. We just have to move on and if PR and Anwar are found wanting, we shall cross the bridge when we come to it. Expressing doubts on Anwar and PR, while legitimate, is not strategic. Anwar and PR are the only alternative “force” the country has got right now. Because we have no record of change in government since independence, installing Anwar and PR into power is like a Caesarean birth. Right now, the energy and strategy should rightly focus on how to quicken the transformation process, not doubting whether Anwar and PR will be able to govern effectively. We have passed that since March 8.

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:49 am

Headless government?? When did Sarawak head hunters take over?

65. #65 by budak on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 9:53 am

maybe Dollah busy to officiate another Nasi Kandar stall…

Malaysia Boleh…! :-)

66. #66 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 10:20 am

/// The second closure with the reappearance of cracks on the Middle Ring Road 2 in Kepong, less than two years after an atrociously exorbitant RM70 million repair of the RM238 million project. The MRR2 has become a quadruple scandal for four reasons: ///

Kit, I don’t think UMNO sees this as a problem or as a scandal. To them it is an opportunity – an opportunity to milk it further with more exorbitant repairs, and more repairs, and yet more repairs…

Q: What is worse than a lame duck?

A: Those target ducks moving on conveyor belts at fun fairs for people to take pot shots…

67. #67 by gundam on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 10:32 am

sarawak headhunters would rather gain their independence.

68. #68 by Everbright on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 10:37 am

Nah, probably has to meet the SG to listen on their grand plans on how to nail DSAI. Also to botak Albar how to fast-track the DNA bill and to learn of the whereabouts of Dr. Osman as they have hidden him. Then meet the ACA man to discuss how to investigate the UMNO man who dare to lodge a complain about the UMNO President and his deputy. Then to have breakfast with his lovely wife. Then onto more meetings will SIL because Oil prices collapsing and it will be a mockery for thsi Government to be lowering the petrol price, maybe back to the Original RM 1.92/liters. After all, the cabinet with all the clever members did debate an awful lot. Where got time for this stupid meeting in KLCC, send the deputy instead.

69. #69 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 11:05 am

Kit:

Can you demand an explanation from the Sleepy Head as to why the bill for repairs to the MRR2 ballooned from the original publicised amount of RM 20+ million to RM 70 million ? Halcrow Engineering has now surfaced to say that they recommended against the type of repairs made but they were overruled.

Of course there’s the hoopla over the ACA’s sudden interest in MRR2 but given that the contractors involved were UMNO cronies and Semi Value cronies, we can assume that this is purely for show only and nothing will come out of the investigations.

70. #70 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 11:09 am

I have a 2 small request (standing order) from Pakatan Rakyat when they form a gorverment;
    1) Provide free medical service,first class one woh…in rewarding
    all malaysian who contributed topple the previous corrupt gorverment.

2) Provide the best education, first class one woh…for the future generation of Malaysian not malay-sian.

United generation of all races.

71. #71 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 11:18 am

Greetings!

Frankly, Headless or not, no body care because the AB is invisible. Let’s only concentrate on Anwar battle.

“The very recent reckless investment by Maybank on Bank International Indonesia (BII) also give rise to corruption?” by CH

One of my brothers who worked in MBB before and really disappointed with the top management way of recruitment. They’re still based on ‘skin type’ or ‘who you know’ in order to promote/climb and not you profession knowledge. Those who are not the above will eventually “sit & wait” for bait. In conclusion – mana ada talent!

Malaysia must move on for change for the better… Support PR

72. #72 by Captain on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 11:51 am

You all not fairlah. Say so many bad things about AAB. He must be not well lah. Too much stress.

He has alot of problem these days. ACA going around arresting or registering so many corruption cases that is mushrooming in every states everyday.

Then AAB has to worry about his erection….Ooops..election in Ptg Pauh.

undergrad2 Says:
    Headless government?? When did Sarawak head hunters take over?
    – Sarawak head hunters started work immediately after election.
    -Sabah headhunters are presently impotent.

Didn’t we say long long ago that the country in on ‘ auto pilot? Now headless?

73. #73 by ahoo on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

YB Kit,

Yes indeed they (govt) are on auto-pilot since 8th March 08 as they are unable to execute their plans thoroughly,…. no thanks to the Pakatan group. I’m optimistic that it can’t be any worse than before without any check & balance where they (govt) literally bulldoze their plans without blinking an eye and ultimately causing millions of tax payers money down the drain.

Just look around and see the many projects that are classify as ‘white elephants’ with millions pump in and yet it benefitted not the peoples but some cronies. Any of those involved in such blatant abuse of decision making for such projects been investigated for abuse of power or even for giving projects to their own cronies ?

Let me repost what I’d posted on YB Wee’s blogsite as follow :

While the poor and middle-class are squeezed, an elite group gets breathtakingly rich. We have the distinction of having the worse income disparity in Asean. A re-distribution of wealth is under way from the poor and middle-class to a select group of politically-connected elite.

The end result of this re-distribution will be a small group of super-rich while the majority are pushed into poverty and the middle-class shrinks. This is what happens when the rich gets richer and the poor get poorer.

There is much that is wrong with Malaysia . The responsibility for pulling the country backwards can be laid squarely at the door of the ruling regime. It is BN’s mis-governance, racial politics and culture of patronage which has seen the country regress economically and socially.

We seem to be sliding down a slippery slope, further down with each passing year of BN’s rule. Another five years of BN rule and we’ll be at Indonesia ’s standard under Suharto. Another 10 years and we’ll be touching the African standard. What a way to greet 2020.

Is there any hope for Malaysia ?

Faced with the reality that BN will never change, many Malaysians desperate for change turn their lonely eyes to Anwar Ibrahim.

Pakatan Raykat has promised to treat all races fairly, to plug wastage, fight corruption, reform the judiciary and make Malaysia more competitive.

But some have questioned whether we can trust Anwar and his loose coalition of disparate parties..

The question is not whether we can trust Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat but whether we can afford not to. Let the by-election in PP be the starting place of a new political tsunami ! People of PP, we need you to show the rest of M’sians that we have had enough of BN’s corrupted ways.

Can we afford another ten years of BN’s misrule to reach the level of an African state ?

74. #74 by AhPek on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:12 pm

Mugabe, the great buddy and guru of Mamak,wanted to get to the opening Olympic ceremony in Beijing but could only get as far as Hong Kong before he was sent back to Zimbabwe cos China could not stand the embarassment of having him there amongst civilised company.This should be also a forewarning to Najib (if he gets to be PM) not to harbour any thoughts of attending opening Olympic ceremony for he can get booted out as well.

75. #75 by AhPek on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:05 pm

Mugabe,the great buddy and guru of our Mamak, wanted to get to Beijing to attend the opening Olympic ceremony but could only get as far as Hong Kong on Sunday (3rd August 08) before he was unceremoniously sent back to Harare cos China would not be prepared for the embarassment of having him amongst civilised company! Could it also happen to some of our future leaders?

76. #76 by BioLovepulse on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

Questions are plunged when Abdullah made the decision not to attend the Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference. It is a disgrace to the hosting country. What was his reason? Nobody knows.

The Cabinet Ministers should give their full support to the Conference by showing themselves. I wonder why they shy away. Is there any other businesses which are more important?

BN has been holding onto power too much and too long. When the rakyat voted BN out, it will be needless for Abdullah to talk about power transition, since it is the public who vote him into power. Perhaps we need not wait for the power transition. He is just buying more time to sit on the chair.

Don’t forget that Anwar is in-waiting. Anwar just need another 30 more to form the Central Government. Abdullah has better pull up his socks before it’s too late.

77. #77 by nafasbaru on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 10:10 pm

so much for islam hadhari.

78. #78 by nafasbaru on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 10:17 pm

they would do anything to stop Anwar.
    God’s willing, all their evil deeds will backfire.

79. #79 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 2:50 am

AAB is running Malaysia as his personal fifedom, he has run UMNO to the ground and given the opposition a clear chance to seize power. However, those who are in power have gotten too used to the thirst for power and infamy so expect a hard and bloody battle ahead.

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 3:18 am

Expect a hard and blooooody battle?? Somebody has a crystal between his legs.

81. #81 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 3:18 am

ooops missed the ball

82. #82 by happytony on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:07 pm

is like that.
    U didnt see doesnt means no, May be Boar was issue a passport to pig .