Permatang Pauh by-election – turn it into a mini political tsunami

The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.

The stakes involved in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not just about an individual and a constituency but the future of the Malaysian people and nation.

The issue in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not whether Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim can win but whether he can achieve a thumping and landslide victory with a majority bigger than the 13,388-vote majority won by PKR President Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election.

If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.

If the voters of Permatang Pauh can speak up on behalf of the people of Malaysia to express their disgust at the worsening political, economic and nation-building crisis in the past five months and send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the continuing loss of national confidence at his failure to learn the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami’, then the Permatang Pauh by-election will assume a far-reaching national importance and not be about an individual or a constituency.

DAP is fully committed to ensure that the Permatang Pauh by-election can create a mini-political tsunami with far-reaching implications to the healthy democratic development of Malaysia.

I call on all Malaysian organisations and individuals to unite behind the banner of Pakatan Rakyat to ensure that Anwar not only wins the by-election but with an even greater majority of 13,388 votes won by Azizah on March 8 to make the Permatang Pauh by-election the most historic and important by-election in Malaysian history.

(Speech at the conference of Perak DAP State leaders, MPs, State Excos, State Assembly members and local councillors in Lumut on Sunday, 3rd August 2008 at 9 am)

1. #1 by boilingmad on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

Yes, vote for PR and you will go down in history as the people of Permatang Pauh (PPP) who brought down BN!! You will show the world that you have matured politically.

And if you are given monetary rewards to vote for BN, take the money and vote for PR. After all, the money BN may give you is yours to begin with. They are just returning what belongs to you, and silently hoping that you will vote for them. Don’t let them laugh behind your back.

2. #2 by hiro on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

If BN is smart, they should not contest Permatang Pauh, which can only give the perfect platform to Anwar to shore up the credibility of not only himself, but Pakatan Rakyat.

3. #3 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:07 pm

The foreign press will be focusing on this important by-election.

Let us wait and see what monkey tricks the National Front will come out with.

It should be an easy win, with one analyst I know already expecting Anwar to net 35,000 out of the 54,000 votes if the turnout is 80 per cent, leaving the National Front with less than 10,000 votes.

Make sure that the National Front candidate gets less than 10,000 votes. If it is Firdaus again, that is a certainty. If it is Ezam, make sure he gets less than 5,000 votes. That is the only way we can show our disgust.

4. #4 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:12 pm

Sorry for the typo. The constituency has 58,500 voters.

Assume that the voter turnout is 80 per cent, and assume that Anwar gets 35,000, the National Front candidate will get only 11,800.

Make it happen … that is message loud enough for Pak Lah to lose sleep.

5. #5 by lhslhv on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:20 pm

This is a fight between the civilised with wisdom and the uncivilised without wisdom.

I believe Permatang Pauh, where my aunty is staying, belongs to the civilised with wisdom.

6. #6 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:25 pm

Yes, don’t be bothered with “THEIR” BUTT’S THE RAGE,

ENJOY THIS BUTT——- POETRY

7. #7 by dawsheng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:34 pm

I think Permatang Pauh voters can create not only a mini political tsunami, it is also like a prelude to the perfect storm that will bring down the BN government. UMNO has no chance in winning the Permatang Pauh by-election, UMNO also realized the implications of losing, it is a matter of life and death. Remember Abdullah said the government will not stop Anwar from contesting the by-election but the due process of law cannot be ignored? Confusing statement isn’t it but that is the best part, what if Anwar is arrested and denied bail but still managed to win by a landslide majority? Either way, UMNO’s fate and future is sealed in this by-election.

8. #8 by nkeng11 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:35 pm

The Raayat of Permatang Pauh must now realize that BN is just an opportunist political group out to benefit themselves and NEVER the Raayat.

Come byelection day, and even way before that, they will misuse all the government’s machinery to tar the roads, clean up the longkangs, feed the poor, give out aids, light up the roads and bring cheer to the homeless.

If there were no byelection, nothing happens!

Take all the goodies BN can dish out, say thank you and vote for DSAI to be in the forefront of change.

Change must be brought to the Raayat everyday not only during elections. Changes must be positive changes, life changing and lasting, not lip service.

Please, the Raayats of Permatang Pauh!!!. Vote wisely and send a strong message to the Monkeys in the BN.

Hidup Raayat, Hidup Raayat, Hidup Raayat. Never, never given in to communal politics these idiots in BN preach day and night.

9. #9 by Kasim Amat on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:37 pm

Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall!

10. #10 by nafasbaru on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:42 pm

I don’t know if international independent observers are allowed in by-elections. Should be great to have them around, to keep an eye, in case there are irregularities.

11. #11 by dawsheng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:44 pm

Anwar will definitely win and UMNO will definitely fall.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:49 pm

Watch out, UMNO may bribe voters of Permatang Pauh as the by-election result can ultimately effect a change of federal government.

UMNO may use all kinds of tactics (including dirty ones) to ensure they do not lose easily.

13. #13 by lhslhv on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:51 pm

Malaysia is blessed with so much natural resources: minerals, ocean products, fertile soils, habitable lands, plenty of sunshine, petroleum, natural gas, drinking water everywhere, human talents, multi-cultures, and multi-racial population.

Unfortunately Malaysia is also blessed with an UMNO to destroy them.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:59 pm

Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said Sunday he was bracing for “massive” vote-rigging by the government to block him from winning a key by-election, which could propel him back to power. – YAHOO ASIA NEWS

15. #15 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:16 pm

“Come byelection day, and even way before that, they will misuse all the government’s machinery to tar the roads, clean up the longkangs, feed the poor, give out aids, light up the roads and bring cheer to the homeless.” – nkeng11

But the people of PP should thank Anwar for all this, not BN. If Anwar doesn’t contest there, there would be nothing of this sort.

16. #16 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:18 pm

Anwar cannot afford to lose this by-election any more than BN can afford to let him win. If he cannot win a safe seat, his political plans will be seriously derailed. If he wins, he may go all the way to Putrajaya.

An epic battle will be fought on the padi fields of Permatang Pauh. It is a battle for the political future of the country, of Anwar’s multiracial politics for the good of all against BN’s racially divisive politics for the benefit of a few. The people of Permatang Pauh will decide the future direction of the country. Never in the field of political conflict is so much at stake for so many depending on so few.

17. #17 by oknyua on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

Kassim Amat, hey, no sizzling steak in Kelana Jaya kah?

Today Tan Yee Kiew brought in 2,000 MCA. Soon Sabah MPs leave. 8 MPs from Sarawak. Taib Mahmud hurriedly resuffled his cabinet and promised more resuffle in January 2009. In W Malaysia, some 15-20 UMNO will leave.

Then BN “tumbang.”

Siapa yang akan tinggal dalam UMNO? Who wants to be caught with stash of illegal treasures inside UMNO? Kapal tenggelam, lipas dan tikus semua keluar. UMNO will live forever, of course, but it will a pathatic life with barah of corruptions, smelly with puss oozing, “hidup segan, mati tak mau.”

Thank you Kassim, I am off to Kelana Jaya.

18. #18 by pkrisnin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:27 pm

You know the only reason PR won the 5 states is because UMNO never expected it. Now with just this 1 election where Anwar would win hands down if it were a fair election but I think Anwar should have waited until the current EC resigns by end of this year.

19. #19 by catharsis on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:32 pm

A VOTE FOR ANWAR IS A VOTE FOR A CLEAN, TRANSPARENT AND ACCOUNATBLE GOVERNMENT-

A GOVERNMENT ……FOR THE PEOPLE…..BY THE PEOPLE……..AND OF THE PEOPLE………..

**** AGAINST THE CURRENT BN GOVERNMENT WHICH IS ……FOR THE SELF…………..BY THE SELF ……..AND OF THE SELF

THIS ARROGANT AND CORRUPT GOVERNMENT HAS TO GO………..WHAT SO BIG ABOUT THEM IS THEIR EGOS

20. #20 by haveaview on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:33 pm

BEWARE !! ELECTONS in the FUTURE post MARCH 2008 : NEW CHALLENGES ahead.

The race-based parties are cultivating NEW WAVEs of zomby
    voters :

– Battalions of of NEW young VOTERS, via 1-3 years of brainwashing.
    – RURALS of exisitng older voters, reawakening and brainwashed, and financed..

21. #21 by wanderer on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:43 pm

Oi Kasim, you Umno sh*thead. I never have a doubt Anwar will win the seat, hands down. It will be my wish, he can turn the tide and form a new PKR govt and put all the corrupted Umno monkeys in the cage!

22. #22 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:48 pm

However dirty the National Front wishes to plays, let us pray that they do not use the television to send “sublimal messages” to the rakyat as the rakyat unconsciously enjoy their programmes.

To Kasim Amat-

. Sorry, but a fullstop is all you are worth.

23. #23 by catharsis on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:49 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

………………………. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do…….YEAH YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN………”NUDE SQUAT THE DEATINEES, GIVE THEM BLACK EYES

……UMNO will never fall!….YEAH YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN……BN ALREADY LOST PENANG, PERAK, SELANGOR AND KEDAH……………….

KASIM ARE YOU FROM MARS……….

24. #24 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:56 pm

Will MCA be frightening the Chinese voters with the PAS bogeyman again? A vote for PKR is a vote for PAS, etc. After the PAS-Umno talks I suppose it’s not the politically correct strategy to play but in their desperation who knows? MCA has nothing to woo the Chinese.

The only way for BN to have a shot at Permatang Pauh is to put Saiful Bukhari as the candidate, hoping he can get some sympathy votes. It will also be a test of how many people believe Saiful which can be used to decide whether to charge Anwar.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:56 pm

The voters of Permatang Pauh are given an historic opportunity. Their votes will determine the eventual passing of the reins after 50 years of unchanging BN rule, and it will be theirs to now accomplish what large sections of rakyat – despite the pledges that were made to themselves for change – have almost succeeded but still failed to do as they stood in awe surprise and hope in the morning after of 8th March.

We can celebrate the political tsunamy that swept the nation 5 months ago and the hope of a further momentum in that direction that Permatang Pauh by-election will generate.

We have yet to celebrate the dream of change and reform.

26. #26 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:03 pm

I completely agree with YB LIm.

We have to treat this BY-Election very seriously. In fact it is not a matter of winning but winning very big. I’m planning with my friends to go to Permatang Pauh, to extend our support to Anwar.

27. #27 by dasty on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:22 pm

I won’t be surprised if BN send 20,000 mighty troops marching into Permatang Pauh to ensure the safety of the particular area (as an excuse) and get the votes from the armies. Anything is possible with this government in charge.

They will do anything to ensure the victory is theirs, not to mention the “impossible”. Nothing is impossible for BN. They can fabricate false evidence against Anwar, so can they make false votes. Their actions are beyond reasonable so we can never expect what they will do.

No matter what, I will support Anwar and wish him luck. Hope that he will not crumble under the massive pressure from the BN government.

28. #28 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:27 pm

An Anwar victory, no matter small or big majority, will be an embarrassing humiliation for the idiot PM. There will be more calls for his resignation and possibly see an exodus of UMNO members (including MPs) to PKR.
    All economic and political indicators point to that. (Please refer to the Merdeka Center Poll).
    Since March 8, what has UMNO done to win back its support? Nil. In fact it has slid further in its credibility and popularity.

29. #29 by Dr. W on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:43 pm

BN needs Harry Potter’s magic power to touch Anwar in Permatang Pauh if not, massive of HANTUs’ votes. .

Godspeed Anwar! Godspeed Pakatan Rakyat!

30. #30 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:46 pm

Is BN going to let Anwar win uncontested? That may save UMNO’s face instead of letting UMNO itself lose face. This is about UMNO and not Anwar. What will Abdullah decide?

31. #31 by tourman53 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:48 pm

If the BN is smart they shouldn’t take the challenge knowing very well BN going to lose very badly. If they take the challenge they lose money and time and worse giving chance to PR to campaigne. Even if you put Mahathir with his ‘Malay Delima’ in there, he will also go bongkok.

32. #32 by StevePCH on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:21 pm

Kassim, even if Anwar does not have a chance to open mouth, he only need to prove 1 thing…. Rakyat is still with him. Not UMNO.

Anyway, PR will need to be very careful with dirty tactics which is being done now.

Be Careful ….. BeEnd will be going all out to sabo this mini tsunami.

33. #33 by badak on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:35 pm

End of the day money will win.That is the only thing our UMNO led BN Government is banking on. Other then that they have nothing.The rakyat had lost its faith in PAK LAH and his gang.

34. #34 by mohrafael on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:38 pm

PR has to be very careful of BN’s dirty tactics, as you can see how they have been serial liars. it’s a foregone conclusion as majority rakyat will support PR. let’s be extra careful, as they play dirty football…

35. #35 by penang308 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:40 pm

Let BN bring in whoever they want, we will “HANTAM” them KUAT-KUAT!

36. #36 by Jameswong on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:47 pm

Let’s not celebrate now!!

Hope PKR will not take it lightly and should work together with DAP and PAS to ensure DSAI win the BE, then only celebrates.

For us outside PP, wonder what can we help ?

Let’s pray hard and PR will be the winner.

37. #37 by despin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:50 pm

YB Lim, may I suggest that you start a donation drive like the last election. Since most of us are not eligible to vote, we can at least show solidarity with Permatang Pauh electorates by contributing some election funds. The funds will come in handy considering the monkeys at Putrajaya will use every dirty trick up their sleeves in this mother of by-elections.

38. #38 by Godson on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:53 pm

umNO-BN…give me another round of voting $$$…,
    I WILL VOTE FOR PR.

umNO-BN..anymore election??? Let me know…i love $$$.
    I WILL VOTE FOR PR.

umNO-BN…..money money come……
    I WILL VOTE FOR PR.

I DONT CARE WHO OR WHAT ANWAR IS…..HES STILL MY HERO.
    JUST CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT TO PR.
    JUST DO IT.

39. #39 by dapsupporter8888 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:54 pm

Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall! – KASIM AMAT

Yeah, maybe. UMNO will never fall —– for now.

But we, the rakyat, will MAKE DOUBLY sure UMNO falls in PRU13.

To the people of Permatang Pauh, please vote wisely in this coming by-election. Your vote will determine the future of this country!! Be proud of the golden opoprtunity given to you to bring a change to Malaysia – for most Malaysians are crying desparately for a change NOW!!

With the vote given to the hands of about 58,000 people in Permatang Pauh, it will change the lives of 26 million Malaysians!!

40. #40 by just a moment on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:57 pm

Greeting folks, Great news- Former MCA Wanita deputy chief Dr Tan Yee Kew today crossed over with 1,700 others to PKR in Klang. This is just the appetizer. Much more great news coming. Time is crucial now and ‘mohrafael Says’ is right on!.
    Just a point to release – Tak boleh tahan with this ‘evil’ fellow Ezam Mohd Nor. A traitor and down right ungrateful scumbag by all accounts and talks about going after public justice.I believed he’ll be the last to go to hell – Simply because Satan would not allow such competition.Ok lah, syabas now.
    All the same, pray for a total whitewash of BEnd during this coming tsunami and the rakyat just have to believed that “We Can Change This Gov’t” ITS NOW not a moment later.Just Believed & Act on it. Vote for DSAI PR, no one else!

41. #41 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:03 pm

The MalaysianInsider reports the following:

“The state party chief Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, who is also MCA Youth chief, said that although it was traditionally an Umno seat, the party wanted to air its views before the top BN leadership made any decision (on candidates)”.

Is this guy for real? He seems unclear on the concept. Umno can put its hand and foot into any candidacy from MCA but not the other way around. Get it, fool? Now I’m waiting for slap for him from Umno for overstepping his boundary.

42. #42 by Godson on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

Hey Guys….i enjoy reading all your blogs and i would like to welcome Kasim Amat to join us.
    Kasim Amat is here to share his point of view about umNO-BN…and many of us reacted on his comment….but i found out that he is a good supporter of PR. WHY? The more he praise umNO-BN the more we hate umNO-BN….right? So..Kasim Amat is actually trying to create more hatred towards umNO-BN. In fact we should thank him.

Kasim Amat….anymore??? Bring it on. Welcome to PR.

43. #43 by badak on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

EZAM said that he wants to challenge DSAI in PERMATANG PAUH.EZAM EZAM EZAM.. He is the biggest liar in my book.. For some one who wants to fight for corruption.What happen to that,ever since he joint UMNO not once did he talk about corruption.As far as i am concern he had been bought off by UMNO,s band of thieves
    Any way it is good .If EZAM stands in this BY ELECTION he can kiss his deposit bye bye.

44. #44 by ahpiow on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:11 pm

Recent polls on the rakyat’s confidence level on AAB’s premiership shows a significant majority of the people against him and the BN UMNO govt.

The people’s sentiments are obviously with PR. DSAI will win big in Permatang Pauh, and this unlikely because of sympathy votes. The people are simply sick of the present adminstration.

The people will speak out loud and clear this time. Hopefully UMNO candidate will also lose his deposit, if there is one.

45. #45 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:24 pm

Saiful Bukhari for Umno candidate!!

Face it, BN needs sympathy votes to win. Who else can deliver the sympathy votes by crying that he has been sodomized by a 61 year old man with a bad back?

46. #46 by milduser on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:27 pm

This by-election would be symbolically an end to the era of UMNO_BN if and ONLY IF it’s a landslide victory- nothings less than a resounding victory for PKR! So lets make it a RESOUNDING VICTORY!!!!!!!!!! Hidup PR, Hidup DAP, Hidup PAS, Hidup….. oops Mati Umno … mati Bn…

47. #47 by moomin.ng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:35 pm

I vote for Anwar, even tho I am from Selangor.
    Not only Permatang Pauh vote for Anwar, the whole nation vote for him.

48. #48 by James on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:39 pm

Hear ye, hear ye – All right thinking members of the Rakyat in PP constituency.

Please heed YB LKS call and give BN a sound thrashing that will shame each component of the evil gang. Please deliver much more votes for DSAI than the 13,388 majority casted earlier. We all owe it to PR to demolish BN gang of corrupted thieves once & for all. The shameless BN parties are all desperate and cheating Rakyat every way they can because they know they will not last.

Please send a super strong signal and a loud hard slap to bodohwi as he is still in deep slumber and maybe having delusions in his make believe world. We must shove him to wake him up and expel him from power. He is getting too scared of his SIL and is obeying each & every whim of this Oxford trained power hungry corrupt moron. It is our sacred duty to save Malaysia and its honourable reputation before it is forever destroyed by bodohwi & gang at the behest of his greedy SIL. No time to waste …..send BN to hell.

49. #49 by fighter on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:45 pm

YB Lim,

Please caution Anuar to have a stand-by candidate on the day of nomination as there is a strong possibility that on the day of nomination, Police will arrest Anuar to prevent him to file his nomination paper. If that happen the stand-by candidate will take his place thereby preventing BN from being returned unopposed.

A further precaution should be to get Anuar sign the nomination paper as soon as possible
    in case he gets arrested before nomination and the Court refuse to grant him bail thereby preventing him from signing the nomination form. In case of this nature, a worst case scenario should be thought of and actions taken immediately to overcome them.

50. #50 by grace on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:53 pm

Hishamuddin criticised Anwar for choosing a safe seat. Well said.
    He challenge anwar to a more difficult seat.
    Hey Kerismudin, why not you pit yourseld against Anwar at Ptg Pauh if you think that you can be a hero by choosing a difficult seat?
    I dare bet him, he will be trounced!!!

51. #51 by Steven on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:06 pm

Hey, all good people out there…with all these excitement and hysteria about the BE and all…let’s not forget about DS Dr Wan Azizah, a truly remarkable lady of the highest esteemed. We have in her, a brave, loyal, dedicated, intelligent, honest and upright person. The push for true democracy cannot succeed without her. I am sure all Malaysians (except for the UMNO goons that is) would be mighty proud to have her as our first lady. Let’s ensure this becomes a reality. People of Permatang Pauh…we are looking to you to trash those BN morons!

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:18 pm

“If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.” Kit

I see it differently.

If Anwar is able to win by the smallest of majorities, it is a testimony to the fact that despite the best of efforts by the powerful UMNO machinery against which Anwar has had to do battle with single handedly, he wins! That speaks volumes!

53. #53 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

The people of Permatang Pauh is given a golden opportunity to make history.What would be better than if you could kick the BN candidate out ignominiously by making him lose his deposit sending the message emphatically that the time has come for them to pack off from Putra Jaya.

54. #54 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:20 pm

WAN AZIZAH

Wan Azizah is the Perdita of the Shakespearean world. She can found movements by her very character. Throughout history, the world has never been endowed with such people.

Perdita is just a Shakespearean invention. But she lives in the person of Wan Azizah.

Having seen her in her recent performance against the Member from Rembau, Wan Azizah is no ordinary housewife. She has comes into her very own as a politician.

I am sure this will not be the last we hear of her. And it is good for Malaysia that we have people like Wan Azizah. We can sleep easier.

The same cannot be said of …

HISHAMUDDIN HUSSEIN

Considering his illustrious progenitors such as Onn Jaafar and Hussein Onn, Hishamuddin is a poor caricature of his whakapapa.

Onn Jaafar died with 300 ringgit in his pocket. Hussein died a rich man, but Hishamuddin will die an even richer man, except that he cannot match his progenitor in terms of contribution to the nation.

Sad remark, but true.

55. #55 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:27 pm

Good luck Malaysia & DSAI, not that you need it but knowing BN scumbags, you’ll never know what’s next on their dirty sleeves. Be very careful and stay alert at all time. The nation supports you, I simply can’t wait to see the new wave drowing all the corrupted Umnoputras! The time has come!!!
    Kerismuddin – shut your stinky mouth, wash it and bleach it thoruoghly. You stink!!!

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:28 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

Today at 18: 37.05 (4 hours ago)
    Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do…”

Yes, the Deputy IGP has decided that the subject of police investigation is guilty. He is guilty though the AG has yet to make up his mind if there is sufficient evidence to prosecute, guilty when the person accused of a crime has not been formally charged and before he could nominate counsel to defend himself!

What kind of justice is that?? We have had enough of UMNO justice. We want real justice!

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:30 pm

Looks like the deputy IGP is also judge and prosecutor all rolled into one.

58. #58 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:31 pm

Walk over maybe the option for Umno instead of getting embarassing defeat.

Save everyone’s money, just walk over Pak Lah.

59. #59 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:33 pm

Well said Tulip Crescent. Truly Hishammudin is a total disgrace to both Onn Jafaar and Hussein Onn cos for the life of both these noble gentlemen drawing the kris out like what Krisammuddin did would never have entered their mind.Inciting racial discord would be most unthinkable for both of them.

60. #60 by devilmaster on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:34 pm

Kasim Amat Says:
    UMNO will never fall!

Try to clean up all the electoral rolls and see whether Umno will fall or not:rolleyes:

61. #61 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:37 pm

I just can’t take all this UMNO gibberish anymore. Kasim Amat has done UMNO a good favour by hinting that there will be a dirty Plan B if DSAI wins. There is no JUSTICE in Malaysia and it is a real SHAME! Being abroad in a REAL DEMOCRATIC country now, I feel so helpless looking at my fellow Malaysian suffering with such a retarded government. There is no chance in hell Malaysia can be saved under BN. The people have given them too many chances but all they do is taking each and everyone of us for granted..but there is a limit and it is PAY BACK time now..

62. #62 by IloveDAPforever on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:46 pm

Let us all rally behind Uncle LKS’s call to ensure PR wins really big at Permatang Pauh to teach the arrogant BeEND idiots a lesson …. that they are now just trash of the nation.

Please do your part by reaching out to the voters in PP whom you know to ensure the fence sitters vote for PR. We are aware how powerful & enormous the BeEND’s machinery is. Of course the whole BeEnd batallion will be at PP & all the cost (good food, grand hotel & M$$ claims) will be at the expense of the Rakyat.

This is an opportunity for the PR members, Keadilan, DAP & PAS to prove their unity and ability to work closely together towards one aspiration which is to kick-out the BeEnd Govt.

Long live PR!!

63. #63 by cucu adam on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:17 am

As in the previous by elections, it will be DSAI against the BN/UMNO, and entire Federal Government of Malaysia and the state governments dominate by BN/UMNO. It will also be against the prime mass media – TVs and mainstream newspapers. As other bloggers had said massive amount of money will be spent and on spot approval of grants are to be expected. The entire leaders of BN/UMNO and components parties are expected to camp at Permatang Pauh.

It will be a difficult task for BN/UMNO to pick the candidate to stand in the by election against DSAI, and the much said will be Ezam, Firdaus and some local UMNO leaders. But as said by some bloggers, Saiful should be serious considered as a candidate to contest the Permatang Pauh by election, as he will have much more to say than any other inspiring candidates especially on the part of sodomy that was forced on him by Anuar. Does it makes sense that a 61 years old man can over powered a 23 years old lad, unless of course the lad is a pondan. Surely he could resist if he wanted to.

Should Saiful accepts nomination, would it not be proper to hold a debate between Anwar and Saiful. What better way to televise it live to the nation, to disgrace DSAI and end PKR to govern the nation.

Only idiots will expect BN/UMNO to win in this by election. As for Ezam who is one of the favourite to contest the by election, that Anwar should choose other places and leaves Permatang Pauh showed his shallow thinking and bad taste. As a matter of fact if indeed Anwar should choose other places for a by election, you could expect Ezam to have said Anwar as an opportunist and only care of his family, and would question why not Permatang Pauh or Lembah Pantai.

As many have said this is the mother of all by elections. It will be history in the making, and let pray DSAI will win handsomely and perhaps caused the BN/UMNO candidate to lose his deposits. Many had said that it is in the interest of BN/UMNO not to contest the by election to save face and to avoid the embarrassment. Should
    DSAI win only 1 vote it is still a victory for him and Pakatan Rakyat.

http://www.positivecriticism.blogspot.com

64. #64 by m.hwang on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:17 am

‘undergrad2 Says:
    If Anwar is able to win by the smallest of majorities, it is a testimony to the fact that despite the best of efforts by the powerful UMNO machinery against which Anwar has had to do battle with single handedly, he wins! That speaks volumes!’

I understand where you’re coming from. It’s tough pitting oneself against the might of the BN machinery who gets to use our money (That’s why DSAI always say take the money and vote for PR). Imagine the entire gang of goons will swarm into P.Pauh and millions (if not billions) will flow in to ensure BN will not lose too badly.

However it’s imperative that DSAI gets a huge majority to proof to all BN supporters including the 50-50 MPs that the Rakyat is no longer taking all the bullsh*t being served to them all these years. With a bigger majority comes a clear message to these people that it’s time to jump ship. Hang on at your own peril!

65. #65 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:39 am

Strategy-wise, Anwar has seized an important initiative of getting Dr Wan Azizah to resign to pave way for a by-election in Permatang Puah in which he would contest.

The initiative is a politically deft move by him. It took maximum advantage of the prevarication and dissembling on part of authorities weighing whether or not or when is the best time to arrest and charge him for sodomy II, if at all this needs to be carried out.

That the authorities should prevaricate & dissemble is understandable. They know what is at stake. Apparently it would appear that the evidence against Anwar is not that full proof or else surely he would have been arrested and charged earlier.

For one thing, the first medical report of Hospital Pusrawi and the second from the government KL General Hospital are not likely of much evidential value to prove sodomy having occurred. If they had the solid evidence they would not be trying to get Anwar’s DNA. Then we have the much publicized meeting of Saiful with the DPM prior to Saiful’s making the police report. More important is the current public skepticism of the political neutrality of the entire administration of criminal justice system.

The authorities are aware of the importance of the psy-propaganda war in such a case where ‘perception’is more important than the truth; and the Court of Public opinion holds as important if not more important a card than the actual opinions of the courts of law, especially in light of doubts cast on judiciary independence in the wake of the royal commission’s findings from the Lingam video clip public enquiry.

So there is a delay to arrest and charge him : they are not sure they have got everything to make the arrest and charge credible in the eyes of the public.

However this delay is costly to BN’s leaders that works to Anwar’s benefit. Once he has declared his intention to contest the Permatang Puah parliamentary (before arrest/charge), he has already seized the most important initiative advantageous to him : any arrest and charge after his announcement of candidacy would straightaway send the message to rakyat that the BN fears him winning, and that the arrest and charge are motivated by political considerations. Much more would this perception takes greater hold if the arrest and charge come after his victory in the Permatang Puah by-election : the public would think that his taking the rightful place as Opposition head in Parliament is feared by the BN!

As I commented before any rest and charge would not mark the end but would actually mark the beginning of the competition for public opinion as to whose story to believe – Anwar’s or Saiful’s & the government.

Trial that comes from an arrest and charge is not a matter that may be resolved in one or two months : it takes years during which time where the public support increasingly leans is decisive to determine whether more and more defections would occur to bridge the gap of 30 over seats for a vote of no confidence to pass in the Dewan Rakyat. (Once the vote of no confidence is achieved leading to the fall of the federal government and Pakatan Rakyat taking over, further prosecution of the sodomy II charges will be academic, and be dropped….)

Already former MCA Wanita deputy chief and Ministry of International Trade and Industry parliamentary secretary Dr Tan Yee Kew has just anounced today that she has crossed over with 1,700 others to PKR in Klang – the constituency which she once represented for 13 years.

This is what Malaysiakini reported of what Dr Tan Yee Kew said : “The BN just doesn’t get it,” she said. “The March 8 election was a warning to them to act quickly and take steps to tackle issues like rising costs and crime, restoring the judiciary, and bringing equitable development for all,” she added. “But the BN has not only lost its sense of priorities, it has also lost its direction”.
    The country needs new leadership,” said she added, turning to look in the direction of PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim who was seated on the stage in the hall. “All of us here respect the leadership you can provide,” she remarked to applause from the crowd.

So will an arrest and charge thrown at Anwar now whip up more sympathy and accelerate other crossovers from other BN components unconvinced like the public that the arrest and charge are bona fide???

That is the question the BN leadership has to weigh deeply. Meanwhile Anwar is, up to now, still having the upper hand and advantage greatly bolstered by the strategic move to contest in Permatang Puah.

66. #66 by hkh on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:48 am

Everyone please pray that BN will lose their deposit.
    It will be a perfect gift to the nation.

67. #67 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:50 am

Why, BN MPs will only cross the aisle after Anwar has become MP? Why so no bola? So far only the “has been” politicians from BN are crossing over to PR. So while we want change, I think the journey is till long and winding.

68. #68 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:55 am

“The March 8 election was a warning to them to act quickly and take steps to tackle issues like rising costs and crime, restoring the judiciary, and bringing equitable development for all,” she added. “But the BN has not only lost its sense of priorities, it has also lost its direction”. Jeffrrey

Coming from someone who was in MCA and BN for more than 20 years, i think it is a little too late. I also wonder would she say the same thing if today she is a sitting MP and holding a executive position. The same goes to Tan Kee Kwong of Gerakan. It is just too difficult to me to buy story like this anymore.

69. #69 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:55 am

“With a bigger majority comes a clear message to these people that it’s time to jump ship.” m.hwang

Kit,

Talking about jumping ship, BN politicians holding government positions should be given a choice.

Cross over now or face prosecution for corruption and abuse of power later under a Pakatan government to the full extent of the law. That way we can ensure immediate victory for the opposition and we do not have to wait until September! Of course they would have to surrender their ill-gottens wherever they are located in caves in Afghanistan or in numbered Swiss bank accounts and vaults of banks in tax-free havens and shelters.

The offer should be made immediately after Anwar’s election victory or as we go into the by-election.

70. #70 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:57 am

ooops ‘ill-gotten gains’

71. #71 by Kathy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:37 am

Let us hope that BN would not be sending in the phantom voters. If yes, the phantom voters should vote for DSAI!!!!!

72. #72 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:54 am

Kathy Wrote:
    Today at 07: 37.14 (4 minutes ago)

Let us hope that BN would not be sending in the phantom voters….
    —————————————————————-

If I am not wrong, Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail obtained a majority votes of more than 10,000 in the 12th GE. If UMNO were to bring in phantom voters, their number will have to exceed 10,000, which is not practical for UMNO to do that.

I suspect UMNO may resort to vote-buying.

73. #73 by Malaysian Mummy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:00 am

Salam Bloggers and LKS,

Permatang Pauh by-election is a mother of all by elections when Sdr Anwar wil turn it into a biggest political tsunami to change the government in Malaysia.

Malaysians will witness money politics and corruption of buying votes from millions are pouring into Permatang Pauh to influence Malay voters and other Non Malay voters in Permatang Pauh. Do ACA ( Aku Cari Angin) team ready to trap the money corrupt politicians in the by election ? As mentioned by Tun Dr M said previously that Malay voter maruah valued RM200 to buy vote for BN victory . Let us see whether Tun claimed hold water in Permatang Pauh.

This by election is the last bastion for Sdr Anwar political survival and also for Malaysians last change to push political tsunami to sink the titanic BN to BE END forever and remove UMNO leaders and cronies responsibles as mentioned in Tun Che Det’s blog.

Happy Voting for Pakatan Rakyat. Bravo !!

74. #74 by Bigjoe on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:10 am

Permatang Pauh already have an impact on the country at least on UMNO given that there are several calls by UMNO leaders to boycott it. They are already giving up before the fight!!

This whole boycott call reveals the very poor quaility of UMNO bench of leaders. It will change nothing because Anwar will simply turn it into a very long celebration leading to his victory on election day that will be riotous. But it betrays the mentality that fills the rank that constantly seek underhanded ways and fear of competition, transparency, accountability and meritocracy.

Clearly they have not got the message of 308 and this election is important because they did not get the message…

75. #75 by js on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:18 am

Hopefully Anwar will be our next PM soon to bring back the mega project for Penang.We Penangites, definately will give FULL support to make sure Anwar wins.

76. #76 by 318 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:20 am

to voters of PP pls vote wisely to mca liow tiong lai consult other bn component party who you think you or mca are? remember gerakan beggar’s minister you mca are running dog minister LTL WHY THE MCA SAY NOTHING WHEN UMNO PAS HAD A SEEEEECRET MEETING

77. #77 by AhPek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:22 am

Undergrad2, you might have a point there in suggesting the offer ‘cross over or face prosecution for corruption and abuse of power’ and perhaps to add teeth and urgency to the matter the offer must also have a time factor, say a six months expiry or maybe even a year.

78. #78 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:29 am

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said he will definitely contest in the by-election for the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat even if he were to be locked up behind bars…..

Anwar said the question of his wife, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, betraying the Permatang Pauh electorate by resigning as the member of parliament for the constituency should not arise because she had explained from the beginning that she would make way for her husband as soon as he was eligible to contest…….

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=350351

By the way, PKR said if BN thinks that the Permatang Pauh by-election is a waste of public funds and inconveniences the people there, then they (BN) should let Anwar win contested and save the money.

79. #79 by mohrafael on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:44 am

BN’s major milestones:-
    1. Has mismanaged national economy and finance;
    2. Neglected its responsibilities in managing the needs of rakyat like society safety, crime prevention and independence of natural justice;
    3. Being serial liars (eg. no fuel increase, but deep increase next day; many others, I think everyone knows)
    4. “Legalising” one-sided unruly behaviours to its advantage;
    5. Leading Malaysia backward;
    6. Wasting resources by unfair allocation and abuse;
    7. Talk more, do less (or never do at all)
    8. Not listening to public grievances and rakyat’s basic rights.
    9. Its component parties, are equally weak supporting weak BN leaders (except those crossing over or quiting soon who are brilliant/talented ones)

As a qualified professor in economics & statistical science, I have observed and computed carefully, the probability of next general election is a definitely a >2/3 big win for PR. PR is expected to initiate many reforms for the benefits of rakyat. PR will send BN leaders to Bodohwood (new “bollywood” for malaysian best actor roles)

80. #80 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:49 am

Let us show those clowns the 308 tsunami is no freak flash.
    Re-stamp it – this time with a larger majority.
    Make 26,000 majority PR’s target.

What is this call by some within UMNO not to contest?
    Too afraid to challenge the obvious and unstoppable winner?
    Or too embarass to play the opposite-losing part of the re-stamping exercise?

PR need not re-cycle any of the old tsunami election issues in this election.
    PR can just concentrate on the new ones.
    Three are enough of them.

So what are the clowns afraid of?

81. #81 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:52 am

BY THE WAY, MRR2 KEPONG ELEVATED HIGHWAY CRACKED UP AGAIN.

82. #82 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:16 am

Kassim Amat, urgent, read Syed Hamid’s comment on “cancer in UMNO..” I didn’t say it, but Syed Hamid said it. -Bernama report.

83. #83 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:23 am

Kasim Amat, my Ali-Baba biznes partner, after all the secret meetings at Mike Tyson’s house in Kelana Jaya, all you can do is to threaten those who speak the truth ?

Will you threaten to sue me if I call your party as the den of thieves ? MRR2 built by an UMNO crony for God-knows-how-much, fell apart at the seams, needed another RM70 million of taxpayers’ money for repairs, and now falling apart again ? You seriously think that we are stupid ? You seriously think that the rakyat will vote the BN thieves again ?

Go back to Mike Tyson’s house, discuss with your masters (and RealWorld) and come back to us with something more original. Boleh ?

84. #84 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:24 am

I quote kassim from another thread:

“… I am tasked to post my comment here …”

Tasked to post his comment here in uncle lim’s blogsite, he said.

So its just a job huh.

How much they pay you?

85. #85 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:26 am

Don’t send BN leaders to Bodohwood! Send them to Pusat Pemulihan Akidah bootcamps to teach them racism does not pay!

86. #86 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:32 am

AhPek Says:

Today at 08: 22.52 (50 minutes ago)
    Undergrad2, you might have a point …”

Having said, we do not practice plea bargaining. So whatever arrangement or agreement made will have no binding effect – legally speaking. It is all based on trust.

In the U.S. such plea bargaining is legal and thereforce binding and legally enforceable.

But it is worth giving a thought.

How else do we recover the ill-gotten gains which in the aggregate could add up to hundreds of millions except to make a bargain with them in return for their ‘immunity’ from prosecution and at the same time ensure an early victory. But like I said. Would they be so naive as to buy it? I guess some would, simply because they have no choice.

87. #87 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:32 am

My writing on this issue:
    Anwar in Permatang Pauh, PAS Will Not Join BN, Ex-MCA People Leave BN

Link:
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/08/pas-will-not-join-bn-ex-mca-people.html

88. #88 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 am

I believe most would wait until the last minute and then run helter skelter to the exits and leave the country.

89. #89 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 am

“Recover ill-gotten gains” is but a distant dream. The funds have long been transferred to London, Sydney, Perth, Singapore, even Jakarta. Those UMNO goons who are stupid enough to leave their ill-gotten gains in Bolehland deserve to be caught and their gains confiscated.

90. #90 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:39 am

We know that. Hence the offer. Choose between prosecution or ‘immunity’ from prosecution but hand over the ill-gotten gains wherever situated.

91. #91 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:41 am

even those transferred out of the country, we still have to get them back!

92. #92 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:43 am

Many still have properties worth millions in landed property which could be identified and confiscated.

We have legislation to recover assets of drug dealers but is there legislation in place to recover assets accumulated through abuse of power and corruption?

93. #93 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:43 am

It’s far easier to take a boat in the middle of the night to Riau and from there to Surabaya or Medan. If the money is already out, they will just “disappear” and knowing the efficiency of our immigration people and our police, you can almost guarantee that they won’t be caught.

Poor Kasim Amat and RealWorld are nothing more than paid employees of UMNO.

94. #94 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:44 am

And we must seek to punish those who abused, corrupt and mismanaged. This must be the clear message to BN and also PR members of administration if they come into power. Otherwise I think it will always be one tyrant replacing another – the common adventurous story.

95. #95 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:45 am

Landed property will be in the names of their third or fourth wives, or of their thirteenth or fourteenth children.

96. #96 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:45 am

limkamput Says:

Today at 09: 41.34 (1 minute ago)
    even those transferred out of the country, we still have to get them back!”

Not that simple. Jurisdictional problems. They need first to be charged, tried and convicted. Hence we need to enter into some informal plea bargain with the individuals concerned. Hand over in exchange for immunity from prosecution.

97. #97 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:47 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 09: 45.20 (19 seconds ago)
    Landed property will be in the names of their third or fourth wives, or of their thirteenth or fourteenth children.”

But these are only legal problems. Assets accumulated through fraud could still be recovered using common law principles.

98. #98 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:50 am

Dinner times chaps!

99. #99 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:51 am

The Philippines tried for 20 years to go after the Marcos loot. It was rumoured that secret bank accounts in Geneva, Luxembourg and Singapore held billions. After 20 years, what did the Philippine government get ? About US$200 million in agreed repatriations back to the Philippines ? Most of this was already spent on legal fees chasing the Marcos family around the globe.

100. #100 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:52 am

I am disappointed that four months have past and there is hardly any change or improvement in the administration of local authorities – still the same haphazard, dirty and disorderly towns and cities around the country. May I know when we can see some improvement?

If we use this as an indicator, am I justified in saying that when PR takes over the Federal government, there may not be much of the change? Sorry for being sceptical but I am beginning to see lots of rhetoric but not much of real strategies to enable this country to move toward better governance that makes a difference to people’s life.

101. #101 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:53 am

Most of the international banks are prostitutes. Banks in Switzerland still do business with corrupt officials around the world. Banks in Singapore and Thailand still do business with the Myanmar regime.

Where do you think Mugabe and his generals keep their money ? Not under their pillows !

102. #102 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:56 am

Limkamput:

The problems in the local councils are so deepseated that it will take much much longer for improvements to come through. Changing the official mindset will take years. For the past 30 years it has always been “makan, makan, makan” or “gaji buta”. Getting rid of the “makan” mindset is much easier than getting rid of the “gaji buta” mindset.

103. #103 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:05 am

Sometimes I think no need to talk too much law and legality with all these bast*rds. Just ask them to account for their wealth (all members of the family, include wives and mistresses and children (adopted or otherwise)). If they can not explain, just confiscate them. Prevent all of them from leaving the country. They still can hold on to their Swiss accounts, but they will not be able to enjoy it, how nice. All these must include not only the present administration, but also those during Mahathir’s adminstration and also future PR government, if they come into power. This country has suffered enough of the third world tribal leadership – real m*nkeys, everyone of them.

104. #104 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:06 am

Most of the international banks are prostitutes.. Godfather.

You want contacts for Negeria? I have been recceving e-mails from Negeria and England, wanting to wash “black money white” through Malaysia. Defintiely attracted by the reputation of this country, where UMNO man can walk in and out of immigration with bags of hard cash.

105. #105 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:10 am

Limkamput, remember the case of one Harun, swindled Bank Negara, caught and convicted. Part of the loot recovered. After 3 years, released and now living like a king in Indonesia. I suppose there are more Malaysia black money stashed up in Indon than elsewhere.

106. #106 by wizzerd on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:10 am

Hope that BN will lose by a big margin and the candidate to lose the deposit. That’s the biggest cheer!!!

That will send an unmistakable chill down the BN spine. Let us show them that the PP by election is a microcosm of the next General Election. A comprehensive wipe-out of the corrupt regime.

Ong Tee Keat, Koh Tsu Koon.and MIC (minus Semi Value pls)…and other components of the BN,, what are you waiting for??? Leave the sinking ship..do you want to sink together with BN???

107. #107 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:12 am

To attract crowds to its ceramahs, BN might resort to exhibiting coffeeboy Saifool and ordering him to remove his pants showing the audience his smelly rectum which had been supposedly buggerized

108. #108 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:15 am

Godfather says:Changing the official mindset will take years. For the past 30 years it has always been “makan, makan, makan” or “gaji buta”. Getting rid of the “makan” mindset is much easier than getting rid of the “gaji buta” mindset.

Sorry, it is difficult for me to accept although many share the same views as you. I believe, PR must provide the leadership and the firmness to impose change. It is time to kick butts if all these civil servants can’t move fast enough. I suspect the PR government especially at local levels are also indulging populist tendency. There are no urgency and the will to change things around. The same haphazard hawkering, illegal parking, uncollected garbage, clogged drains, and stupid traffic light and traffic system are everywhere. May I know when we can see some changes, another 5 years?

109. #109 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:17 am

The Altantuya case was always about money – illegal commissions made through the structuring of a deal with the vendors where the vendors pay the commission, and the not the buyer.

110. #110 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:30 am

An issue on recovering ill-gotten gains hidden outside jurisdiction seems to have taken root here.

Our problem is actually far worse then in the Phillipines during the marcos era.

Then the filipinos had to deal with only the marcos family.

Here we have the whole ship-load of people to investigate, and including investigators themselves.

The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me.

The simplest and quickest way to deal with the problem I suppose is to swat them like flies with a giant swatter.

111. #111 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:40 am

“The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.” – YB
    ———————————————-

A mini-political tsunami that has mega-tons of explosive fire power that will start the chain reaction that will trigger triga-tons of explosive fire power across Malaysia that will destroy all the BN-UMNO and all its cronies, partners etc. once and for all!!!

112. #112 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:40 am

You guys missed the point. The point is to ensure a victory for the opposition and not having to wait for the next general elections.

113. #113 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:41 am

Offer immunity from prosecution in return for cross overs now!

114. #114 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:44 am

Yes, a victory for the Opposition so that the changes can be made to the judiciary, the ACA, the PDRM, the AG’s Chambers. Once there are people with integrity in these institutions, it will be far easier to put the country back on an even keel. It’s been tilting for so long that many people don’t even realise it !

115. #115 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:47 am

The CJ in waiting should do the decent thing and decline his nomination for the post.

116. #116 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:52 am

Does he really have a choice ? He’s been swept along by events not necessarily within his control !

117. #117 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:54 am

When PR comes to power, the first thing they should do is to force the resignations of the members of the Federal Court, the AG, the IGP, Deputy IGP and the head of the ACA. The shock waves generated will be much higher than anything Bolehland has ever seen.

118. #118 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:59 am

If Rehnquist could be the head of the US Supreme Court well into his 80s, there is no reason not to recall Salleh Abas or Steve Shim to the Federal Court – at least for a fixed duration, until a truly independent judicial commission is set up (not the half-baked one proposed by UMNO).

119. #119 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:06 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 10: 54.27 (10 minutes ago)
    When PR comes to power, the first thing they should do is to force the resignations of the members of the Federal Court, the AG, the IGP, Deputy IGP and the head of the ACA.”

Expect resignations en masse.

120. #120 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

taiking Says:

Today at 10: 30.55 (9 minutes ago)
    An issue on recovering ill-gotten gains hidden outside jurisdiction seems to have taken root here.

Our problem is actually far worse then in the Phillipines during the marcos era.

Then the filipinos had to deal with only the marcos family.

Here we have the whole ship-load of people to investigate, and including investigators themselves.

The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me.

The simplest and quickest way to deal with the problem I suppose is to swat them like flies with a giant swatter.
    —————————————————-
    “The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me”- Taiking

The answer is very simple, it is something like using one credit card to cover the outstanding amount of another credit card until there’s no more credit left!!!
    Due to our rich natural resources, hard working people of marginalised races and lots of FDI in the past plus the corrupted money was kept circulating in our own country and not siphoned out of the country like now, we are able to have excesses and losses running into hundreds of billions!!!
    Why the people are making so much noise now is because they are affected by the hyper inflation!!! If the BN govt is as smart (for the wrong use) as TDM time, no one will notice anything wrong on the outside e.g. just like the wooden door eaten by the termites, it looks perfectly ok on the outside, but it is completly rotten inside!!!
    Just take Trengganu for another good e.g. , when it was under BN govt in the past, they got all the royalties from Petronas oil, but what did they do for Trengganu? nothing!!! But they kept Trengganu people felt happy (no money spent and yet people were feeling happy!!! that’s the greatest management Guru the world ever produced) all the times and the MB was the longest serving MB in Malaysia’s history!!!

121. #121 by AhSeng on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

wahhhh , AhPek , come come jiak kopi jiak kopi. Bravo. I like your comment , i agreed what u said. I buy u drink if i got the chance to meet u.

122. #122 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

Federal court justices should have security of tenure. They should not be afraid of being forced into early retirement.

123. #123 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:09 am

Nah, expect them to brown-nose Anwar with the typical suggestions that they can do for him what they have done for Mahathir and Badawi. These people are not very smart so they will continue to do what they know best.

124. #124 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:11 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 10: 52.24 (16 minutes ago)
    Does he really have a choice ? ”

I assure you that the CJ in waiting is too rich to care for anything but the respect that the highest judicial office holds for him! He is not about to decline the offer.

125. #125 by StevePCH on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:16 am

UMNO will never fall …. PR will make it crawl !!!
    AG or SG …. samalah … want it to be fair, then get a independent judiciary team. Not from Malaysia. Where got integrity & credibility ? Lingam case had proven that judiciary is not independent from executive.

Saifool for UMNO !!! yeah. or Maybe Najis should step down and fight like a gentleman at PP. Not Ezam, he is not qualified. Even a cat will do better than Ezam.

126. #126 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:23 am

Actually, there is no necessity to force judges out if PR gained control.
    Without the comfort of UMNO’s protection, then the bunch of umno judges would just have to do what they are suppose to do i.e. to adjudicate based on facts and law. In fact, some of them may even want to distance themselves from umno and politics.

Some of them may not be as good as we would prefer but then again they enjoy security of tenure. Let them continue till retirement. PR must refrain from repeating mahathir’s 20 year-old stunt unless there is a genuine case which demands removal like say, fairuz.

AG and IGP of course may be replaced.

Printing Press Act, ISA and OSA must be repealed.

Press freedom must be ensured.

127. #127 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:25 am

“Without the comfort of UMNO’s protection, then the bunch of umno judges would just have to do what they are suppose to do i.e. to adjudicate based on facts and law. In fact, some of them may even want to distance themselves from umno and politics.”

I think the point is that the public no longer has any trust in these people, and instead of a witchhunt to figure out who could be truly independent and fair, the simplest way is to remove all the federal court judges since they were all appointed by Mahathir and Badawi in the first place.

128. #128 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:27 am

Fair observation godfather.

129. #129 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:29 am

I think the worry is that if we take the drastic step of removing all the top judges, then would there be sufficient and capable replacements. The answer to that is yes, as a number of ex-judges are still around, and even though they are of relatively advanced ages, their minds are still sharp.

130. #130 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:33 am

All those who were part of the conspiracy to convict Anwar in 1998 – the prosecutor, the investigating officer, the judge, etc – were all promoted literally to the highest positions in their professions. I don’t share Undergrad2’s views that if PR seizes federal control these people will resign en masse. I think these people will need to be pushed out.

131. #131 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

If PR seizes federal control, these people will not resign en masse. They would had emigrated en masse for fear of retribution and being hauled up to the courts.

132. #132 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

Godfather says: I think the point is that the public no longer has any trust in these people, and instead of a witchhunt to figure out who could be truly independent and fair, the simplest way is to remove all the federal court judges since they were all appointed by Mahathir and Badawi in the first place.

I don’t think we should do what you suggested. Even in the US, they don’t and they can’t replace the Supreme Court justices when a new government is formed. I still feel that there should be investigation, and if some are guilty, then only they are removed. However, to quicken the process, we should give them the opportunity to go quietly if they do not want to be embarrassed (provided the wrongs committed are not too severe). Those did not do any wrong should be allowed to continue. If we simply remove everyone, then what make you think that the new ones we appointed will not be unduly pro-PR. What we want is judges who are pro truth and pro public good, not pro BN or Pro PR.

133. #133 by Razor Ramon HG on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:28 pm

Say~! Say~! Say~!

I would never vote for a guy who likes backdooring. Cause the only person who should backdoor here would be me!

I’m sorry but I still think that BN deserves to rule.

BN Hoooooooooooooo~!!!

134. #134 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

Ah, another paid UMNO cybertrooper ? The only people who needs backdooring will be the UMNO people. With my toilet plunger.

135. #135 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:54 pm

How to create sustainable project?

You must have a concept. Any concept. Say, a bridge.

There you have the first project – design the bridge.

Then, the second project is to construct the bridge.

It is important to underdesign the bridge slightly and to cut corners in terms of construction materials and procedures. Say specify Grade B steel instead of Grade A and then use Grade C steel instead of Grade B, specified. In other words, ensure that the bridge show signs of failure.

When that happens, the third project will kick in. Engage a team of consultants to study the failure.

Then engage another team of consultant to study the report by the first team of consultant. This is the fourth project.

After that engage a specialist consultant to propose remedial works – the fifth project.

Then engage specialist constractor to carry out repairs – the sixth project.

In the execution of the fifth and sixth project the steps in project one and two must be followed. That way, the cycle can be perpetuated.

This is sustainable project.

136. #136 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:03 pm

Razor Ramon, backdooring is UMNO past-time and your confession you should be bakdooring, you are one UMNO man.

Compare backdooring with C4 or David Copperfield disappearing Immigration record, I take backdooring anytime. That makes two of us, but I can never take UMNO as bedfellow. The cancer of coruption is oozing puss and it stinks (as per Syed Hamid’s analysis).

137. #137 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:08 pm

The rakyat just can’t wait to get rid of the bumbling, corrupt and incompetent Barang Naik administration. March 8 didn’t get the job done, so we have to ensure that the job is complete this time.

138. #138 by Jamesy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:19 pm

Don’t rest on your laurels. Don’t over-confident. If Anwar is defeated in the by-election, UMNO will say its another political tsumani (on BN’s side) as now the rakyat has come to their senses.

UMNO will use either the sodomy charge or eliminate Anwar via the Permatang Pauh by-election (using money politics, bribes, wide accusation stories and etc). Either way, Anwar stand no chance to become the Prime Minister.

I suspect UMNO has something up its sleeve in this by-election. A dirty one, of course.

139. #139 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:22 pm

You know why some BN goons are calling to boycott the election in Permatang. Well the reason I can think of is that they do not want the rakyat to know how unpopular they are for what they have done to the rakyat and country.
    But also they do not realise that by boycotting, the rakyat will hate them even more for not having any courage and integrity to face PKR. They know they are going to get thrashed to the garbage bins. Really shame on them.

140. #140 by badak on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

Todays NST EZAM said PKR is undemocratic all party decisions made by DSAI and his wife..YEAHHH would all believe him if not for the inter-net.
    What bull is he talking about,From day one,way back in 1999 GE Dr Wan Azizah, had always said that she is keeping the seat for her husband,and she will vacate her seat when DSAI is eligible to stand.
    Talking about being democratic.How democratic was UMNO when it started talking to PAS without the knowledge of MIC,MCA PPP or GERAKAN.Any way EZAM is the one that can not to be trusted by BN or PR. l

141. #141 by trublumsian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:32 pm

so all the hoopla is on whether the igp finds the evidence at hand, or lack of, is enough to charge anwar. what many westerners finds baffling, though, is the illogicality in the whole purported crime. how did a 63 year old man with a bad back get a 23 year old guy to strip, bend over, and succumb to the dildo?? IF the whole boopah did happen, either a gun was to saiful’s head, or he played the willing!

142. #142 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:38 pm

CORRECTION:

yhsiew Says:
    Today at 08: 29.13 (5 hours ago)
    “…..they (BN) should let Anwar win contested and save the money.”

should read:
    “…..they (BN) should let Anwar win UNCONTESTED and save the money.”

143. #143 by trublumsian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:46 pm

Godfather,

The BN appointed judges can only be removed if there is evidence of crime. I’m sure irregularities are abound, but the process of putting together a case to nail a judge would do more harm than good to an already fragile political landscape.

144. #144 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

Bad news!

Nanyang Siang Pau today exclusively reported that the police are going to push for a new law to be passed by parliament this month to compel DSAI to give DNA samples.

The police may also consider using his 1998 DNA sample. Should any argument arise due to the use of this old sample, the police may force DSAI to give new DNA samples.

Even though DSAI may win the Permatang Pauh by-election, he can be disqualified as MP if the DNA-probe, conducted after the by-election, indicates that he is guilty and is fined more than RM2,000 or jailed longer than 2 years.

145. #145 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:26 pm

trublumsian:

My suggestion was not to “nail them”. My suggestion was to “let” them retire with their pensions. Put people who are beyond reproach in their place, at least temporarily until a truly impartial judiciary commission is in place. Limkamput thinks otherwise.

146. #146 by son of perpaduan on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:40 pm

Statistically are proven permatang pauh is belong to PKR. It is really a big news if PKR not winning, whole world is very well aware of BN will paying unlimited price to jeopardize our future leader. In order to save our future generation out of debts, I’m willing to draw my blood if neccesarry. GOD SAVE THE COUNTRY. Anwar deserved this change…

147. #147 by somaris on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:22 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    Let”s go all out to tell the people of PERMATANG PAU to vote for ANNUAR IBRAHIM for our PRIME MINISTER for all MALAYSIAN.Its time to CHANGE for the better future for our children. HIDUPDAP>PAS.
    MAY DOD BLESS ALL OF US

148. #148 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:29 pm

A corrupted judge whether for money or power or other forms of corruption or didnt standup for the truth and justice should not be allowed to continue to serve no matter under which govt. as they are people without principles and didnt carry out the duties which they are entrusted in the first place to uphold the laws etc etc!!! Moreover, who can ensure their impartiallity in the future when under different govt???
    If we allow them to continue based on the assumption that they will repent of their wrong doings or inaction when actions were demanded, we should give the same treatment to criminals who claimed to have repented of their wrongs and be set free, but first have to go to the jail for the wrong done!!! All men are born equal, except in our beloved country Malaysia!!!

149. #149 by somaris on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    Let”s go all out to tell the people of PERMATANG PAU to Vote for ANNUAR for our future PRIME MINISTER for ALL MALAYSIAN.
    KICK all UMNO-BN,MCA,MIC,PPP,GERAKAN OUT.
    VOTE PKR.
    LAWAN TETAP LAWAN.
    FOR OUR FUTURE AND FOR OUR CHILDREN.
    GIVE BIG ANGPOW FOR ANNUAR
    SMASH,SMASH the UMNO.
    PERMATANG PAU SHOW UR POWER
    Long live ANNUAR.

150. #150 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:38 pm

“3 Kingdoms in Malaysia” @ sonofpenang.blogspot.com (???????)

151. #151 by AhPek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:39 pm

Whether they will resign en masse or has to be forced out when PR comes in to take over the reigns of government is currently of no concern for the ordinary Joe Public.What i think he wants is to see the removal of BN from Putra Jaya soonest possible and certainly not wait till the next general election.For this reason I see merits in undergrad 2’s suggestion in offering them an opportunity to cross over to avoid prosecution.That way it may trigger enough cross-oversto effect a change of government at probably a much earlier stage than the 13th GE.Thus it is worth serious consideration.

152. #152 by Cinapek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

The biggest danger PKR needs to watch out for is voter complacency.

With the general consensus that DSAI would be a shoo-in for the byelection, many PKR voters might not bother to turn up to vote thinking their man would win anyway. It could backfire if too many PKR voters stay away. Pakatan should drive this message across to the voters clearly and work out their butts off on polling day to make sure each and every possible voter is accounted for and arrange for them to go to the polling booth.

You can bet UMNO will be coming at DSAI with vengeance and will leave no stone unturned to topple him.

153. #153 by Vidya Young on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:10 pm

Kassim Amat – “Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall!”

I know very little about Malaysian policitics or the law but I am as passionate about my country as the next man/woman. However, have a very horrible picture in my mind – after Anwar wins in PP, what if the Bodohwi government arrest and jail him after the by-elections? Does not that mean that Pakatan Rakyat would have lost 2 MPs i.e. DSAI as well as Datuk Seri Wan Azizah? Can someone please help me understand the situation.

154. #154 by Richardqed on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:33 pm

“Sebenarnya masalah ini boleh dielakkan jika sekiranya pihak yang bertanggungjawab berhati-hati dalam memastikan apa yang telah dibaiki itu sudah teguh dan tidak akan berlaku lagi sebarang keretakan atau kerosakan dalam masa yang singkat,” kata Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi pada perhimpunan bulanan Jabatan Perdana Menteri (JPM) hari ini.” — from malaysiakini website.

Another typical BN statement — stupid, vague, empty, meaningless, and achieves nothing. All talk and no action (and most importantly, no one has to take responsibility). So, who is this “pihak yang bertanggungjawab” he is talking about? You can bet he wants to be as vague as possible about that.

He should be questioning his own the Works Ministry. If the ministry had bothered to make sure to verify that the faults were correctly rectified, then this would not happen. But I don’t think the joker is talking about the ministry. Blaming contractors as usual? He talks about reform and changes, but the new Works Minister does not bother to check on the shoddy work done under Semi-Value and AAB does not tick him off? Whether the former minister is at fault or the new one is, both of them reported to AAB, and no action was taken. AAB has to take the blame.

155. #155 by boilingmad on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:45 pm

If what ‘yhsiew’ says is true about the police wanting to push a new law, then this is where true Malaysian unity will be critical. We must ALL (irrespective of race) join in to demonstrate that we are against this act. I don’t know how this can be done, but is there’s someone here with legal knowledge to advise? Will a petition signed by millions of rakyat (again I don’t know how this can be achieved) here asking for international help or intervention be valid or gain anything? Because in desperation, BN (or should I say UMNO) will stoop beyond hell or sell their soulds to the devil (if they haven’t already done so) to stop Anwar from winning.

156. #156 by FY Lim on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

Let Permatang Pauh be the watershed in Malaysian political history with the start of the fall of BN into oblivion and the rise of PR as the new Federal govt. Malaysians will see a new generation of political leaders alive to the needs of all Malaysians with all the transparency, efficiency , accountability and competence.

DSAI will lead all Malaysians in their march to Putrajaya.

Malaysians can then hold our heads high among the best in the world and march into the new era with renewed vitality.

The truth will eventually triumphed over lies. The forces of evil cannot and wil not have a place in our Malaysian society.

Syabas to DSAI ; your sacrifice and patience is worth every second you put in.

157. #157 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 6:00 pm

Thanks to UMNO-PAS talks. MCA, MIC and Gerakan are now embarrassed to “remind” non-Malays voters of Permatang Pauh that voting in PKR will help PAS turn Malaysia into an Islamic country.

158. #158 by KennyGan on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

Vidya Young, to answer your question, if DSAI is convicted, he will not lose his seat immediately. There is still the appeal process and he will only lose his seat if he exhausts all appeal.

Due to lack of evidence, the trial will have to be a shameless sham trial which any honest judge will overthrow. The trial judge can of course be handpicked like Augustine Paul who was specially promoted to hear the 1998 case. For appeal judges, I think it is harder for BN to control. There are 3 judges per appeal and 3 appeals possible. Only 2 judges need to agree to overturn a conviction.

A lot will depend on the integrity of the Chief Justice. Let’s hope that if the PM wants to appoint a tainted man as CJ, the King will block it. It has happened before when the King refused Mahathir’s nomination for CJ and had Dzainuddin appointed instead.

159. #159 by thepriest on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:32 pm

why PE Am used we do not fear Anwar. Why dont he say I do not fear Anwar. having also from Penang should resign and brave enough to face DSAI and PP votes will make sure you lose your deposit,, welcome Najz , krisamuddinand AND saifool…. so that will be so do mee by raayat in this BE.

Ezam called DSAI a traitor. He is truely a TRAITOR why bcos he joined back dens of thieves and arrangont corrupt moron when he aware and knowingly when he left them JUST FOR HIS OWN BENEFITS. A traitor to Umno and a traitor to PKR and now a traitor to the raayat who had voted for PR.

160. #160 by katdog on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:35 pm

BN is definitely not going to go down without a fight. Expect all sorts of Hanky panky to go on. Everyone in Permatang Pauh needs to vote PKR if not, for sure BN will try something sneaky.

After that, BN can still resort to throwing Anwar into jail and throw away the keys. What happened to M Manoharan the Hindraf leader who ran under the DAP ticket? Still in ISA?

If Anwar misses his 16 Sept dateline, this may scare the ‘kataks’ to lose confidence.

161. #161 by Vidya Young on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:47 pm

KennyGan, thank you!

Good, since he may not lose the seat but if DSAI is incarcerated while awaiting trial, does that not mean “… he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament” as maliciously put by Kassim Amat?
    As a result of which Pakatan Rakyat could lose 2 voices in Parliament?

162. #162 by js on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:55 pm

Be more optimistic. DSAI will not be charged and he will be our next PM soon.Let’s talk something good for DSAI. The law of attraction!

163. #163 by thepriest on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 pm

REMEMBER 400 FORIEGN INVESTER promised to come inonceDSAI took over the FG. passthis news around..

164. #164 by mohammadharrisjalil on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:01 pm

Aku berdoa sentiasa agar tiada apa apa helah dari pihak UMNO Barisan Nasional untuk pilihanraya kecil Permatang Pauh kali ini… Sama sama lah kita berdoa…. janganlah tiba tiba isu baru cuba direka oleh pihak Sleepy Pak Lah untuk mengkucar kacirkan situasi dan menggunakan media mereka untuk menyalahkan Pakatan Rakyat. Ayuhlah Bangsa Malaysia!!! Amen….

p/s: Kasim Amat… please do your own blog or just give comment on Racist UMNO Youth Keris Dagger Blog. Shame On You!

165. #165 by I Malaysian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:55 pm

Without doubt BN would import its’ entire government machinery in Permatang Pauh. Though we know Anwar could win easily, it must not hamper our efforts to garner huge majority for Anwar. We have to treat this BE a do or die battle of every single right minded Malaysian.
    We have to go the extra mile securing every single vote that would determine the future of Malaysians who yearn for good governance in this country.

166. #166 by pjboy on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 12:28 am

In perspective, whether or not DSAI did or didn’t allegedly do, does not change the fact that BN-UMNO is only interested to make sure DSAI does not get elected to parliament at all cost, even if it means to bankrupt the rakyat-tax-$. This is the attitude of BN-UMNO so long as they get to remain in power, as they know they are weak now – especially losing 5 states. The cash-cow for their personal bank account has been reduced only to Terengganu-Johor-Sabah-Sarawak.

DSAI going into parliament will send shivers down the BN-spine. Having our honourable Wan Azizah stepping down was a noble sacrifice – not for husband or as a loving wife as TDM put it with usual sarcasm – but for COUNTRY! If it were someone else, then this gives room for BN-UMNO to use more slander by saying 3 family members as MP…the rest is self-explanatory. So, DSAI is putting words to action. Not mere rhetoric.

BN-UMNO is also provoking PKR members. Thus, BN-UMNO is ever ready to send in the FRU/PDRM & declare state of emergency with the slightest display of chaos. Abusing the ISA again like ops lallang. BN-UMNO is just waiting for that chance. Do not fall into this trap. Better strategies need to be deployed. With so many brains & think-tanks within the P-R ranks, surely P-R can show voters what P-R is all about & what makes P-R different to BN.

Yes, & the rakyat already knows that BN has over 50 years experience…in sodomising the country & its tax-payers! Highlight all the scandals, all the funds lost in scrupulous tradings, mismanagement of the petronas funds, oil-royalties missing, cracks on MRR2, roller coaster highways, corruption, injustices to locals & foreigners (eg Mongolian girl)…etc etc. There’s 50 years of it.

167. #167 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 2:17 am

AhPek Says:

Yesterday at 15: 39.01
    …..I see merits in undergrad 2’s suggestion in offering them an opportunity to cross over to avoid prosecution.That way it may trigger enough cross-oversto effect a change of government at probably a much earlier stage than the 13th GE.”

If it did cross Anwar’s or Kit’s minds they couldn’t acknowledge it in public because it would be illegal! But it makes a lot of sense. Offer immunity from prosecution in exchange for their loyalty. Cross over now! They are free to leave the country when Pakatan takes over but first return some of the millions they took out of the country.

168. #168 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 2:53 am

While Anwar was giving his speech, his former assistant turned BRUTUS was accusing his ex-boss in another place. I heard he had more than 2000 audience attended. Is it true?

I’m just curious? Any Penangites with information?

169. #169 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:36 am

At all cost, BN politicians and their cronies and also civil servants who are used to corrupted practices to enrich themselves MUST not allow BN to collapse and to be out of power.

At all cost, they must keep the goose that lays the golden eggs and they must maintain status quo the inefficient and corrupted practices that enable them to continue to siphon large amount of money into their pockets.

Surely most of us know or have heard how some civil servants bought a certain item from a supplier for, say, RM300, and asked the supplier to bill them, say, RM600 or 1,000. Easy money into their pockets. How many such incidents occur everyday in Malaysia at all levels and involving much higher amounts of money? If at least 1,000 cases per day per state or WP, then we are talking of at least 16,000 corrupted cases per day! The scary fact is that the number is much much higher!!

No wonder with a country name like Malaisie (French), we are stuck in a malaise condition!

170. #170 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:51 am

TO ALL VOTERS IN PERMATANG PAUH,

DO NOT TO ALLOW AN UMNO/BN CANDIDATE TO WIN IN PERMATANG PAUH !

WHY ?

HIS PARTY UMNO/BN’s PRESIDENT AND ALSO PM OF MALAYSIA WHO IS A LOCAL PENANGITE DOES NOT EVEN CARE FOR HIS HOME STATE.

HE SAID HE WOULD NOT EVEN GIVE ONE SEN FOR THE SECOND PENANG BRIDGE , PORR AND THE MONORAIL WHICH ARE ALL IN HIS HOME STATE OF PENANG.

HOW SAD LAH .

AT THE SAME TIME HE POURED BILLIONS OF RINGGIT ELSEWHERE.

NOW, THE PM IS KACANG LUPAKAN KULIT. BOLEH KITA TRUST DIA LAGI ?

VOTE WISELY – ALL PENANGITES

171. #171 by jennifer cheong on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 12:12 pm

Dear YB Lim Kit Siang,

I saw the photo of PKR’s body guard – a few black sheep jahat one beat up a Chinese reporter. it is not fair for some strong jahan men to beat up an innocent reporter who try to cover the news help promoto Dato Sri Anwar ! not fair lah! pls investigate to give us Chinese woman the right – the basic human right! not to be beat by PKR body guard jahan men again! they maybe send by UMNO to turnish and destroy PKR or PR’s good image! thanks.

172. #172 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 1:17 pm

Today our Baldie said in his MSM STAR papers that the Permatang election r going to be very EXPENSIVE la. Doesnt that rings a bell?? This will give our rakyat a hint that the BN goons are going all out with their ill gotten gains to get the rakyat to their side. They have billion$$$$ to give.
    PK, PAS and DAP officials and supporters got to be on their toes to counter these wealthy goons.
    Perhaps, we can tell the rakyat to accept whatever the BN goons offer, but vote for PKR when the time comes. The rakyat did just that during the last GE12. This is what u can called a WIN-WIN situation. Of course for PKR.

173. #173 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:04 pm

Najib won’t stand against Anwar. He hasn’t got the guts nor the charisma of a born leader. AAB would not want to be humiliated in his home state.

What about the minister in AAB’s cabinet who got in by the back door? With his track record, he might buy the voters with the money he tried to smuggle into OZland. The PP voters might just take his money, say terima kasih and voter for Anwar.

What are the chances of KJ , the richest sil in the land without a job until recently? Or for that matter, what are the chances for the mamak’s son? One is an oxymoron who needs his fil to feed and clothe him and the other is trying to impress his devilish dad.

UMNO is sure to lose. No doubts about it. Its dismal performance after the 12GE in governing the country and the numerous obstacles it has been putting in the PKR controlled states, it might as well not contest. A walkover might save face and is the best alternative.

Should UMNO insist on contesting against Anwar, then the prudent choice of a candidate is EZAM or SAIFUL.

Rest assured. Both will lose their deposit. UMNO is in for a royal thrashing.

The day Anwar walks into parliament as leader of the PKR, the disgruntled and disillusioned MPs from UMNO, and others from its component parties especially from Sabah/Sarawak will cross over to form a new government and unsher in a new era of intergrity, transparency and accountablity – an ERA OF AWAKENING OF THE RAKYAT.

174. #174 by dapsupporter8888 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:10 pm

I quote kassim from another thread:

“… I am tasked to post my comment here …”

Tasked to post his comment here in uncle lim’s blogsite, he said.

So its just a job huh.

How much they pay you? – taiking

RM80?? Just like the amount they paid those UMNOputras for the stupid blardy NEP gathering in Penang when DAP first took over the government??

Eh..eh.. Where is our Kasim Amat friend?? Lost in space kah?? Or too busy posting in other sites? How much you get in total every month, ah, for doing this job?? Or you have no BALLS to post here? Or those UMNO goons have not written the script for you??

175. #175 by cheng on on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:31 pm

Feel that, Wan Azizah announce it a little late, she should have announced it within 2 weeks from 4 June, 08 (day when petrol naik 78 sen), then Anwar chance is even better ?

176. #176 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:53 pm

Mongolian beauty asked for RM5 million. She got plastic-bombed.

Now the stakes are Putrajaya and the control of the nation’s billions.

No need to use plastic bombs. Like Benigno Ninoy Aquino. One bullet in the head.

Then, emergency rule declared. No people power. No Hindraf. Only dandruff.

177. #177 by yankeeboy on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 2:31 am

I hope the government would not charge Anwar, this will be bad for Malaysia. It would be worst than Thailand. The foreign press will be upon Malaysia and it won’t surprise me if Anwar gets the Nobel Peace Prize. Anwar will be sent to jail, (since sodomy is not baillable offence)
    a whole lot worse than being put under house arrest. The PM must consider Malaysia first and justice second. After all a person is innocent till proven guilty and not the other way around. The burden of proof is on the crown. Foreign Direct Investment has been cold to Malaysia, lets not make it worst. A lot of Malaysians depend on this “investment”, this will hurt all of us. Please think of this Mr. PM. Do you love Malaysia?

178. #178 by dat2108 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 7:23 am

Hidup pakatan rakyat!

179. #179 by boilingmad on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 3:42 pm

Yankeeboy, since when does the PM think of Malaysia first, if at all? Ever since Tun Mamak, most politicians (including MCA, MIC n Gerakan) are all in for the money, even if they be crumbs on the floor (for MCA et al). Running the country was never on the agenda, and they never possessed the qualifications for the task. That’s clear for all to see, even among the blind.

180. #180 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 3:48 pm

Just to clarify that I posted in this blog out of my own interest and wish. No one pay me to do this and I am not in anyway related to UMNO. Please take note.

181. #181 by AhPek on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 1:42 pm

Kasim Amat,

You have just not so long ago said that you are tasked to post comments here and also have warned bloggers of consequences your bosses are intending to take for unflattery remarks on them.

Now tell me are you not lying to the teeth like your bosses?