Abdullah Badawi As “Practise Prime Minister”

by Bakri Musa

In his novel Gadis Pantai (“The Girl From The Coast”), Pramoedya Ananta Toer revealed a quaint custom in ancient Malay culture. That is where the lord of the kampong upon reaching adulthood would grab the prettiest village virgin to be his “practise wife.” Then when he becomes sufficiently well honed in his “husbandly” skills or when he gets bored with her, he would toss her out like a piece of soiled rag. He with his now enhanced skills would go on to marry a lady of “proper” background.

I believe that Fate has gifted Malaysians with a “practise prime minister” in the person of Abdullah Badawi. He is so inept, so spineless, and so lacking in ability to make decisions that he practically invites scorn and contempt. Or in Tengku Razaleigh’s words, Abdullah showed a “stunning ineptness in managing … straightforward functions of government.” Today, in the kedai kopi (coffeehouses) even taxi drivers are not hesitant in ridiculing Abdullah.

Granted, some of the criticisms leveled at Abdullah are crude and clumsy, but then so would the village nobleman’s initial experiences with his “practise wife.” The concern is less with finesse and artistry, more with getting it done! With time and practice, rest assured things would only get better!

Once Malaysians have become accustomed to being critical of Abdullah and are unafraid to criticize or even challenge him, then we would toss Abdullah out, as the village nobleman would of his “practise wife.” Malaysians would then be ready for a proper leader.

Consequences of Uncritical Citizenry

Fate has blessed Malaysia with capable leaders in the past. There was Tunku Abdul Rahman, the Father of Independence, who successfully led us out of colonial rule without shedding a drop of blood. However, as Malaysians had not yet learned to be good followers, we were not sufficiently critical of him. Thus he got carried away with being the “world’s happiest prime minister” while letting problems fester away until they blew up in his and our collective faces.

He was succeeded by the able Tun Razak, but his life was tragically cut short by cancer. As such he was spared from being spoiled by an adoring and uncritical populace. His reputation remains intact and unblemished.

His successor Hussein Onn may not have been the most capable but at least he knew his limitations. He was wise enough to voluntarily relinquish his position. He also took his oath of office seriously. Thus he was meticulous and unusually astute in the choice of his successor.

In Dr. Mahathir Malaysians had a leader of exceptional brilliance, unorthodox convictions, and courageous innovations. He transformed Malaysia. Like any other mortal, he too had his share of mistakes. Unfortunately his uncritical and unabashedly adoring followers were equally blind to his mistakes thus preventing him from recognizing and rectifying them.

Had Malaysians generally and UMNO members specifically been more critical of Mahathir in his choice of a successor for example, the nation would have been spared the current political muddle.

This uncritical and sheep-to-shepherd dynamics also characterize other Asian and Third World societies. Indonesia was blessed with the charismatic and brilliant Sukarno. He united those polyglot islands into a cohesive nation while bravely taking on the Dutch colonialists at the same time. China has its Mao. However, as their uncritical followers did not rein in their leaders’ initial excesses, those leaders got carried away.

Making Malaysians More Critical

Malaysians are excessively deferential to their leaders, rarely challenging or even criticizing them. Our leaders are always clad in the finest fashion even when all they have on is a piece of tattered, stained loincloth. The relationship is akin to that of a flock of sheep and its shepherd, of blind obedience.

That may be fine for a flock of docile sheep but it is hardly the recipe for a progressive society. Nor is it the recipe for a competitive society, or at least one that would merit the adjective “modern.” In such a society, leaders must be held accountable, and followers in turn must not hesitate to hold their leaders to exacting standards. This reciprocal relationship means that followers must be willing and not fearful to criticize and challenge their leaders. That is the best way to ensure accountability. It would also discourage these leaders from being led astray by their blind ambition or abusing the trust we grant them.

Without being unduly Pollyannaish, the only way to make sense of the current political mess is to believe that this is part of a divine design, of Fate providing Malaysians with a “practise leader” in order to better prepare us for a real leader in our future.

There are two towering personalities in the horizon that fit my characterization of a real leader: Anwar Ibrahim and Tengku Razaleigh. In their previous incarnations, these two had their share of fawning followers who egged them on to make unwise decisions. For Anwar, it led to his imprudently challenging Mahathir. He (and us) knows only too well the disastrous consequences of that fateful decision. Tengku Razaleigh, again at the behest of his admiring supporters, left UMNO briefly to form the Semangat Party.

The problem is not with Anwar or Ku Li challenging Mahathir, rather that we as a society have yet to deal with or learn the art of challenges and criticisms. Our standard response then was either to split the organization or riot in the streets. Enter Abdullah as “practise leader;” now we have learned at least not to riot, a significant advancement.

I believe that Anwar and Ku Li are now wiser. They would be even better leaders if we let them be, meaning that we should not let our guards down lest they would be tempted to be led astray by their uncritical admirers.

On the personal side, I note a certain humility and magnanimity in both Anwar and Ku Li. To them, the travails and weaknesses of Abdullah Badawi truly pain them. To these two nationalists, challenging Abdullah is not a route for the fulfillment of their personal ambition, rather a patriot’s obligation.

To young readers who may not yet quite grasp the “practise wife” concept, let me substitute a sports metaphor. Abdullah is a convenient punching bag for Malaysians to practice on how we should learn to handle future leaders. For now, his ineptness and incompetence make those lessons easy for us, though not for Abdullah.

In Pram’s novel, the young nameless lady who is the nobleman’s “practise wife” returns to her village. Only through her strength of character could she maintain her dignity and respect in her village.

When Abdullah gets tossed out, as inevitably he would, lacking strength of character, the public scorn heaped upon him would be merciless. Abdullah’s predictable humiliation would not arouse any pity from

me, but his destroying what was once a fine Malay institution – UMNO – would.

The only redeeming part to the whole ugly saga would be that Abdullah would also bring down with him the “practise pundits” and “practise editors” in the mainstream media, as well as the “practise academics” and “practise intellectuals” in our universities.

1. #2 by lakilompat on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 12:58 pm

Look at Datuk K, no longer love his wife and children, divorced them then get Siti Nurhaliza young & talented artist. All the rich and powerful attended the wedding ceremony. This is good moral? this is a role model for Malaysian young childrens?

If u r rich, religion come 2nd. Pak Lah wife died not even a year or two, got a fresh new wife to enjoy. On losing a few states to opposition, he’s relax to say “Kalah Kalahlah” mean “Mati Matilah” “tiada a pak lah attitude.” No wonder billionth dollar of contract can easily masuk pocket. “Makan Makanlah” “Rasuah Rasuahlah” “Tangkap Tangkaplah” most important statement uttered from this old man, “Saya Pantang Dicabar.”

2. #3 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:02 pm

uncle lim,

why DAP practice favourism and sideline experience and caliber leaders?

3. #4 by kingkenny on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:29 pm

Most interesting piece of article by Mr. Bakri.

In another sense, Malaysian society, our culture, our mentality was exploited. That is why I don’t consider Malaysia to be a developed country, on a level as Singapore, like what many of our own politicians think or believe.

But now I can see and FEEL the winds of change. The older generations are passing us by, and because of their wisdom, a new breed of Malaysian society is coming through. A society of which will form the core struggle and silent war of our forefathers. But we will not be silent, anymore.

We will be bold in our own special way and find a way to trounce dirty and corrupted ‘minds’ from this country if we are to PROGRESS as a NATION.

The founding fathers of UMNO gave us Independence, but if our future lies away from it’s tainted methods, then be it so that UMNO will ceased to exist for a more progressive nation.

I am not a religious person, but I will pray hard and fervently that come GE13, the government that is in power today will vanish and to be replaced by a new government which will put our ‘resources’ to the benefits of the Rakyat.

Corruption is bad enough, but outright ‘taking, cheating, stealing’ are unbearable to me. I will do all in my limitations to help and support DAP and the new Pakatan Rakyat!

4. #5 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:32 pm

PM – Platitude Minister

5. #6 by lakilompat on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:36 pm

Don’t just pray, u must proceed to preach those who still believe in BN to switch camp. BN’s no longer relevant, their refusal to reinvest Petronas revenue back into Penang state has indicated they are interested for their own personal agendas.

6. #7 by tsn on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:40 pm

In a single simple statement, “Malaysians, majority of us are hopeless blokes, no amount of potion can cure us”

Just look at the joke of countless traffic compound discounts granted by traffic department, good enough to tell our quality. We are deserved to what we are. So Abdullah is a god sent leader to Malaysians to mirror theirs own arrogance, ignorance and innocent.

7. #8 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:46 pm

This is interesting:

“Mahathir is deep set to be the Kingmaker in UMNO but UMNO’s influence and authority seems eroding so fast that if you look at the 600 over comments flooding Khir Toyo’s blog, you’d read comments from UMNO grassroots who lambast him and the party for the way they mistreated their own UMNO members?”
    http://mahaguru58.blogspot.com/2008/04/umno-pow-wow-goes-ballistic-because-of.html

8. #9 by wag-the-dog on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:52 pm

Combating “Fitna”
    By Ibrahim el Houdaiby

Last week, Dutch MP Geert Wilders released his movie Fitna, attacking Muslims and the Quran, amidst wide international worries that airing the movie would only lead to further cross-cultural tensions, and perhaps violence. Influential Muslim figures, including some Salafi Saudi scholars, had threatened to boycott the Netherlands while official figures in Iran threatened to review diplomatic relations with the country if the film was aired. Once again, the overall cross-cultural scene seemed less than promising.

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

9. #10 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:04 pm

it makes reading interesting. it makes a fiction novel sells.

BUT MALAYSIA CANNOT AFFORD AN ” APPRENTICE PRIME MINISTER”. or “PRIME MINISTER ON PROBATION ”

the premier holds an all powerful portfolio in managing the country, the assets, the raayat. he has to be on the job ,feel the job and gets things done.

Mr. bakri, your article on practising ‘sex” on virgins girls to honed his development is not ONLY SEXIST but a wrong choice of example used to describe MR. ABDULLAH BADAWI.

(ABDULLAH BADAWI, have god knows, decades of employment experiences with the civil services. Served as Deputy Prime Minister, served as cabinet minister, and even kicked out of cabinet once.) AND IF HIS STINT AS TIMBALAN PERDANAN MENTERI HAS NOT BROUGHT HIM ANY WISER TO MANAGE THE COUNTRY MALAYSIA -WE LOVE, HE SHOULD HAVE GRACIOUSLY DECLINED THE OFFER OF DPM SERVED TO HIM BY MAHATIR.

in the fables of developing manhood and practises, THE VIRGINS WOULD HAVE BEEN THE INNOCENT RAAYATS. how MANY more corrupted leaders get away free ? how MANY more scandals are to exposed ? how much more discrimination are to be tolerated ? how much more must the ordinary raayat suffered from inflation and hoodwinked by the false report of mere 2% inflation rate for year 2007 BEFORE WE MAKE THIS GUY A EUNUNCH.

sorry bakri. DAH CUKUP RAAYAT SUFFER . DAH CUKUP RAAYAT DI TIPU. DAH CUKUP . before we run out of virgins, I CASTRASTE HIM. THERE ARE BETTER MAN OUT THERE . and btw, virgins may not make good lovers. ( MY APOLOGY TO ALL WOMEN ) .

10. #11 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:13 pm

i like a.b, it is thru him that we’ve got so bold in our action.it is his inaction i think that gave us so much freedom* today,
    *—-relatively speaking

if we r still under m,i think half the comments in this blog would not appear at all,or maybe with something like this
    =========================

[your comments has been deleted]

your ip has been logged to facilitate futher investigation. :-(

11. #12 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:20 pm

Thank you Pak Lah for destroying BN.
    Thank you Pak Lah for giving us an alternative government.

Sincerely from the bottom of my heart.

12. #13 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:23 pm

oh,btw, a better title translation for the novel would be

“the daughter of the beach”-pun is optional.

and to wagthedog,stop spamming us with ur blogsite pleeesessss.

13. #14 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:27 pm

Haiyah, cannot like dis one lah. Me cannot step down just because you want me to. Me have got to ask Ah Khai, my son in law first. If Ah Khai says ok, then no problem with me
    http://sg.yimg.com/xp/afp/20080403/03/1733340169-embattled-malaysian-pm-says-won-t-quit-report.jpg?x=205&y=308&sig=t5SMPDm33xF.lepRjIyVaw–

14. #15 by lakilompat on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:28 pm

Pak Lah onli 5 yrs, but Tun Dr. Mahathir 22 yrs, not even a quarter, Pak Lah have yet make Khairy or his son Kamaludin richest man in Malaysia, Mahathir son Mokhani now is top 22 richest Malaysian businessman, but Khairy and Kamaludin not yet in the ranking in Forbes.

15. #16 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 2:38 pm

Talking about criticisms (taxi men) leveled at Abdullah being crude and clumsy, the educated are more “refined” in criticisms???? So if the PM were a “practise wife”, the rest of us would be “lord of the kampong” who “upon reaching adulthood would grab the prettiest village virgin to be his “practise wife” to hone our “husbandly” skills and afterwards “would toss her out like a piece of soiled rag”. Must say Bakri’s example very respectful of women.

“Had Malaysians generally and UMNO members specifically been more critical of Mahathir in his choice of a successor for example, the nation would have been spared the current political muddle” – so Bakri said.

But what political muddle? I thought we just had a Political Renaissance on 8th March 2008 that none of the earlier great Prime Ministers could effect in last 50 years!

16. #17 by Just_True on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:00 pm

As usual, I am amazed at your ability to convey complex things in such simple terms. I am watching the scenes played out by the different actors in the Malaysian political landscape this week, last week. I watch and observe the hidden motives of those who speak out and speak against the present and past leaders.

You are right about how as we watch the past and present leaders handle the country and the rakyat – we become wiser and bolder. We become less naive, less intimidated by threats from those who hold positions of authority but who have no moral guts to show at the end of the day.

I look back now – twenty over years ago – and I remember what Mahathir said and wrote. I protested over what he said then and how he dispensed his brand of logic. I hated to listen to his chauvisnistic statements. Only towards the end of his tenure did he seem to mellow. But for me, it was too late – this man had done marvels in putting Malaysia on strong economic standing BUT he did TERRIBLE things too. He silenced the conscience of the nation through his policies. Today he criticises the current UMNO leaders and other BN leaders for the things he had himself had started. I hope the present generation of disillusioned UMNO members do not follow him blindly and trust him blindly.

Otherwise, we continue to have to live with “practice leaders” recommended by Mahathir.

17. #18 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:03 pm

He is not a “Practise Prime Minister”.

He thinks he is the finest footballer on the UMNO soccer team, so he picks himself for every match. The other 10 players on the pitch are appalled, but since he is the team captain, they say nothing as typical “yes-men” would. During the game, they don’t pass the ball to him for fear of him screwing up the game. Then when the game is over, Badawi congratulates himself for playing a good game, even though his team lost. Of course, the mainstream press also try to put a positive spin on the loss.

18. #19 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:05 pm

Taking Bakri’s logic further, I say if someone has been abused as a “practise wife” and then tossed away like a soiled rag, then it is only common compassion and decency that we Malaysians, attributed with these qualities, should support and help redeem the one abused and soiled – and stop being that tyrant lord of the kampong, repent, learn a bit of gratitude and take back the “practise wife” that has given us such “husbandly” advantage and skills and let her have a chance to be a proper wife before looking for another one!

19. #20 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:21 pm

It is an interesting argument. Of the two leaders Mr.Bakri referred, possibilities are that Ku Li could be exploited by Dr.M’s with his agenda and we must not let that happen. The current political climate favors more to Anwar as he continues to build good relationship with DAP and PAS. For many Malaysians this alternative group is the new sun promising better future.

20. #21 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:42 pm

when Mohamed Nizar of PAS said that Chinese in new villages will get permanent land titles, MCA politicians realised how dated their party looks and how hollow their warning about PAS being an Islamic party is going to sound from now on. They are stumped. Paralysed.

The MCA is dealing with political opponents who do not have the same hang-ups over religion and race that Umno, its partner in the Barisan Nasional, has. Ka Ting had to plead and seek the intervention of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi before the former Selangor Menteri Besar Dr Khir Toyo agreed to give farmers in Ulu Yam a 30-year lease.

It was the same in Perak where the MCA has to persuade MB Tajol Rosli to agree to give farmers in Bidor a 30-year lease. And even then the gesture was celebrated as a major concession given by the Barisan Nasional to the farmers.
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/mni/mca-finds-its-relevance-diminishing-by-the-day.html

21. #22 by max2811 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:53 pm

Msia will and can never prosper under BN/UMNO rule anymore. After reading what the Perak MB did, I made the right choice in the GE.

I hope in future, there will be no more land applications. But State land can be sold and at a cheaper price to poor people.

22. #23 by lakilompat on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:56 pm

State land should be given at cheaper price to poor, this will make them rich when big MNC or foreigner investor come to invest. This is one way, how we can prosper and make these poor become rich. If the poor become rich then only everyone can have more economic power to stir the economy.

23. #24 by Loh on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 4:00 pm

///But what political muddle? I thought we just had a Political Renaissance on 8th March 2008 that none of the earlier great Prime Ministers could effect in last 50 years!///

Even though PM AAB did not intentionally will the results, he was lucky enough to have brought it about for the good of the nation. He should therefore be rewarded.

We know why TDM wanted AAB out. But TDM should not be allowed to have his way, or else a repeat performance similar to the infamous NEP after the 1969 election would follow. The people would then be winning the battle but lose the war.

24. #25 by lextcs on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 4:03 pm

If a brother hits you on the right cheek turn the other cheek….quotes a teacher. The world looks upon ‘turning the other cheek’ as a weak and inept gesture. They say he who makes you angry controls you. But truly it takes great strength to turn the other cheek. Despite all the criticism and riddicule AAB has choosen to draw strength from his God Almighty. And this I have seen unequalled strength in our PM Badawi. To this I salute you and may Allah bless you for if He is with you who can be against you.

25. #26 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 4:23 pm

THE TOURISM MINISTRY IS TERMINATING ITS MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING ON TOURISM WITH THE OPPOSITION LED STATES WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT. so said azalina othman tourism minister.
    (nst report dated 3/4/08 page 7).

tourism minister said,the respective states tourism action councils will have “OUR OWN PEOPLE who will communicate directly with the ministry.

seems like the prime minister’s cabinet is dividing Malaysia into pro bn and pro br states. I THOUGHT HE SAID I AM THE PRIME MINISTER FOR ALL MALAYSIAN. so i thought.

whats next.

health ministry:- will have “OUR OWN PEOPLE” to dispense medicine .

defence minstry :- relocate lumut navy base out of Perak ?

internal security ministry :- ISA/OSA not applicable in the pr controlled states. YES.

education ministry :- different syllabus or “OUR OWN PEOPLE” to set examination papers.

information mininstry :- channel PR ALLOWED in opposition controlled states. YES.

PAK LAH,PAK LAH. you are alienating the raayat further and further away from yourself and the bn. point taken.point noted. elegant silence again?

i agreed with TUN mahatir, that you should resign.

26. #27 by lakilompat on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 4:31 pm

It is not a surprise, in the coming 5 yrs, there will be more drastic change to alienate the opposition state from BN state. This is just a beginning. He will make sure his statement is supported “Saya Pantang dicabar.”

27. #28 by Blind Faith on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 4:33 pm

Far from being like a virgin “practise wife”, I think PM Badawi is well drilled…. in the ways of UMNO way before he became PM. You can call him useless, inept, stupid, etc,etc,etc…, but guess who’s laughing all the way to the bank eventually.

28. #29 by drlimsc on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 5:02 pm

If only a ‘Practice Prime Minister’ then I dont think he is going to lead us to a new malaysia with good governance,racial equality and freedom of speech etc. will the next few months a true and real PM be there to lead us and to turn Malaysia to a liberal modern global nation?

29. #30 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 5:12 pm

edivid reuqnoc

30. #31 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 5:44 pm

When will these words be directed to umno in Parliament?
    You have sat too long here for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!
    Cromwell addressing the Rump Parliament, 20 Apr 1653, as quoted by Leo Amery to Neville Chamberlain in the House of Commons, 7 May 1940

31. #32 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 5:58 pm

YB LKS, you are simply too kind and magnanimous to Tun M. What you call ‘exceptional brilliance”, many Malaysians now know is “evil genius’, having had the benefit of all recent revelations and the iceberg of unrevealed, unorthodox, unabashed machinations of frankenstein proportions!

I think God has been gracious…and Malaysians have been treated to a fare of unorthodox theatre unfolding before our eyes where truths once hidden are now shouted from rooftops. They say ‘walls have ears’ and somehow cameras emerge from the most unlikely places. So we are eager to see and hear more!

32. #33 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:05 pm

Sorry, YB LKS. This piece is written by Bakri. So, BAkri, ol’ chap, you’ve been too kind to the other ol’ chappie.

33. #34 by alancheah on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:11 pm

Sad case….

34. #35 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:22 pm

qoute :

# jetaime Says:
    Today at 17: 12.56 (1 hour ago)

edivid reuqnoc

— esaelp cificeps erom eb

35. #36 by Menang atau mati on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:26 pm

I am no fan of Pak Lah.

But Pak Lah must stay!!!!

Pak Lah please don’t resign.

36. #37 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:34 pm

Hi allasstra

epoh uoy era eht ko dnik. ylno dog swonk. yawyna….

gnisu edivid dna reuqnoc ygetarts

:)

37. #38 by ktteokt on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:36 pm

In fact, land in Malaysia has been put to waste for a long time. We can see unused land, which are probably “reserved land” which has not been cultivated upon. Had all these land been utilized for agricultural purposes, Malaysia would be self-sufficient in terms of food. Rice, sugar-cane and many other crops can be planted and we do not have to depend on imports. That is the very first step to be taken in trying to become a “self sufficient” nation and not as Dr. M had said when our currency was “goreng” by Soros years ago that we “close doors”. How to close our doors when we still have to depend on the outside world for our supplies?

Giving land to those who deserve it, and not otherwise, would ensure full utility of this factor of production and self-sufficiency of the nation. It is a pity to find that Malaysia still has to import sugar despite the fact that we had our own sugar factory (Gula Perak). But in fact, Gula Perak did not produce sugar. It merely imports sugar for repacking. And the sugar cane planted in Malaysia is hardly enough to meet the demands of sugar-cane water sellers. The weather of Malaysia is excellent for planting sugar cane but our government has so far not encouraged the cultivation of this crop. This is one of the factors contributing to “sugar shortage” which occurs frequently.

I therefore fully support the provision of land to those who are genuinely interested in agriculture and for increasing production of the nation, but I am strongly against those who exploit others with their connection with “senior government officers” for obtaining land so that they can rent these land to farmers. So in the provision of land to farmers, the state governments should ensure that no malpractices exist and the applicants are the ones who will work on the land for production.

38. #39 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:44 pm

Farish A. Noor:

I am having a tough time writing this particular article as I am absolutely consumed by anger at the moment. In fact, I am livid as I have never been for such a long time.
    [ ]
    So this, apparently, is what the great minds of IKIM and the religious departments have been cooking up and intending to serve to us, the Malaysian public, all along. While Muslims are angry about the portrayal of Islam and Muslims in the film ‘Fitna’ by the right-wing Dutch politician Geert Wilders, one is left with the question: As long as Muslim leaders and intellectuals remain stuck in their morass of outdated conservative thinking, would it not remain the case that Islam is seen as a religious of violence? How, pray tell, can scholars like me defend the image of Islam and Muslims when Muslim governments like ours allows such outlandish and dangerous ideas to spread, and harbour such proponents of conservative-fundamentalist Islam in the very same institutions that were meant to open up the minds of Muslims and lead us – and Malaysian society – to a more modern, progressive and liberated understanding of Islam and religion in general?
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5449/1/

39. #40 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:48 pm

The question is not how long Pakatan Rakyat will last. The MSM is out of touch with the man on the street.The question is how long before the BN Govt. is relegated to the opposition bench. The PM`s future itself is uncertain, some say he has only 2 months left. Others give the BN an implosion within 6 months.

It’s quite easy for the Opposition Alliance to attract 10 MPs each from Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia.

The BN has been thoroughly exposed for what it is. Takes just a litle more time for the facts to sink in more with more people.

40. #41 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:48 pm

Sometimes I wonder why we are all asking Badawi to go ? UMNO will still have the same composition – Najib becomes PM, Muhyiddin becomes DPM, Kerismuddin becomes VP, the Fat Lady stays as Wanita Chief, Mike Tyson stays as Information Chief, Nazri, Tengku Adnan, Noh Omar stay as Supreme council members. How can the Supreme Council with these people ever reform itself ?

Practise Denial is more like it.

41. #42 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:51 pm

Even though Confucius lived long ago, many of his great political quotes are timeless, and so are applicable to today’s umno which should take heed of them.

“An oppressive government is more to be feared than a tiger.”

“Never give a keris to a man who can’t dance.”

“The strength of the nation derives from the integrity of the home.”

“Men of principle are always bold, but those who are bold are not always men of principle.”

“The superior man understands what is right; the inferior man understands what will sell.”

“Settle one difficulty, and you keep a hundred away.”

“He who exercises government by means of his virtue may be compared to the north polar star, which keeps its place and all the stars turn towards it.”

“In a country well governed, poverty is something to be ashamed of. In a country badly governed, wealth is something to be ashamed of.”

“The superior man is modest in his speech, but exceeds in his actions.”

“Study the past, if you would divine the future.”

42. #43 by mycuntree on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:53 pm

When TDM chose AAB to take over as PM, he must have thought that AAB will be in his pocket, like coins; for him to jingle as he wanted. But then AAB did not play to TDM’s tune, and that is why AAB is in the hot gun sight of TDM now. That’s the good part of AAB.

However, AAB does not have what in takes to effectively manage a country, and this weakness allow him to be manipulated by the people around him, to their own selfish advantage. Perhaps his love for the good life, and retinue of ambitious advisers also put a blind on him to the nonsense that were going on. His complete failure to step in to rectify any of the actions of his goverment servant’s doings which greatly distressed many sections of the public certainly did nothing to endure him to the people. His Elegance In Silence is perhaps his greatest failure. Just look at how he is being attacked now by TDM, and his continuing silence to know what I mean.

43. #44 by year of snake on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:54 pm

Recently the PM had a so called High-powered Meeting with some of his colleagues to discuss measures to Curb Inflation. These so-called experts are only from UMNO. It is high time MCA, GERAKAN, MIC and the rest of the component parties of BN realise that UMNO is treating them as LACKEYS and are only fit to attend meetings on matters which are trivial.

44. #45 by Bobster on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 6:58 pm

Correct correct correct, Pak Lah must stay! PR dont follow fraction of anti-Pak Lah BN goons. Do you want fall into Dr M’s chess game again and next you see everyone in PR and bloggers get into ISA? Pls, dont follow Dr M foot path. Dr M go left, we go right. Dr M playing some chess games to get what he wants. Today he says he support Najib, tomorrow he said he support Ku Li, next week he says he support Muhiddin. Well, next yr who know may be his son will be the PM. Everything in this country has been arranged by the you-know-who, from executive to judiciary, all set up by the man. So now the country is in a mess and the very one man speaking very loud as if doing us a favour.

Bakri Musa giving credit to Tun Razak in his article. The very fact is NEP and Keturunan started from Tun Razak era. Wasn’t Tun Razak involved in the ‘plot’ of Tunku downfall in the first place, was he?

45. #46 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:10 pm

Semi Value and Ong Ka Ting do not have any job now, [deleted]

46. #47 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:25 pm

47. #48 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:31 pm

“# year of snake Says:
    Today at 18: 54.17 (31 minutes ago)

Recently the PM had a so called High-powered Meeting with some of his colleagues to discuss measures to Curb Inflation. These so-called experts are only from UMNO. ”

—what part of “hi powered” that is confusing u ?

48. #49 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:37 pm

49. #50 by Tickler on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:46 pm

50. #51 by grace on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:47 pm

Honestly Pak lah is very dense upstairs.
    Just imagine BN got slightly more than 50% voters and less than 2/3 majority, he still said that he had a big mandate. Ha!Ha!Ha!
    As if that is not enough, he created history when he lost extra 4 states to the opposition. Still he said he has the support!
    To cap it all, he lost his home state Penang. Still a big mandate ha!
    Pak Lah must be a good joker – sangat pantang dicabar!!!
    Big words but kosong in meaning!!!

51. #52 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 7:49 pm

52. #53 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 8:15 pm

When UMNO falls, all power will be gone. When power is gone, wealth is also gone. Only then the parrots in UMNO will start to act on their leader, in order to selfguard their own interest. Parrot No 1 Najib, followed by many others, so that they can hold onto their posts as ministers.

In my opinion, all these parrots should go. They are really opportunists. If a change occurs, the parrots will sing a different song with a different tone.

53. #54 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 8:52 pm

hey allasstra
    how did you manage to snap that up before “ADMIN” deleted that. unbelievable admin!!!!!

54. #55 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 8:59 pm

qoute :

“# jetaime Says:
    Today at 20: 52.52 (2 minutes ago)

hey allasstra
    how did you manage to snap that up before “ADMIN” deleted that. unbelievable admin!!!!!”

i finished replying oredy,just didnt press submit button,watching tv,repling only when tv becomes lame.

55. #56 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:02 pm

ooo.. tv becomes lame??/ must be as lame as a duck :)

admin’s gonna have a headache tonite, if the adrawkcb text continues :)

as old as a century egg :)

56. #57 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:04 pm

Most of you does’nt understand the actual facts that why Pak Lah has to go.
    His SIL is now vying for Umno Putra presidency and if Pak Lah will to stay any longer, he’ll use every opportunity to achieve his goal.
    As that SIL of his is some sort of a racist, it is better to see him Pak Lah off.

57. #58 by harrisonbinhansome on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:07 pm

I hate to say this openly, but M. Bakri Musa is a Mahathir loyalist. His finesse of criticisms against AAB does not justified his tacit approval of Mahathir’s administration. I admire Bakri’s writings but I have not fall into his bluff of pro-Mahathir policies. A lame man is better than a venomous man.

For thsi matter, I thank AAB for the March 8 “election Tsunami”. Had it been the administration headed by Mahathir and Najib Razak, we probably won’t have a free forum to express our universal right to emancipate freely or we may share the same toothbrush with the ISA detainess.

58. #59 by pohwatchdog on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:10 pm

Popular policy for the people in Perak such as

i. frequent rubbish collection
    ii. time to clean up Ipoh city
    iii. make DBI workers to do their work
    iv. forbidden cyber cafe near school

59. #60 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:21 pm

Can’t bother to think of who’s next!
    Having his SIL as PM in future is worst than living in hell!

60. #61 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 9:24 pm

Would you want a Prince of Mat Rempit to be your PM one day?

61. #62 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:00 pm

jetaime,

wat language is that?

62. #63 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:02 pm

hi ric :) how are you

mixed….

63. #64 by winterman05 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:13 pm

Well said. Congratulations ! Any player in any game must PRACTISE very hard and for long hours and even then may lose several matches before he is truly tuned up become a great player, a CHAMPION!

So, he has to warm up; but must not take too long to do it. Then he goes into the Court and meets his opponent. It is a knock-out match: either he wins or he loses. And it is a 1-1 match. Head or tail ?

That is how the great orator, Datuk Anwar Ibrahim, engineered the recent General Election. His strategy was to first negotiate with DAP which could not see eye to eye with PAS. Once he had settled with DAP on the seats to contest, then the remaining seats were left to him to negotiate with PAS. That was his strategy. Of course, it was not a perfect one in Sabah and Sarawak, where some ex-DAP and DAP leaders wanted to contest in the same seats! With a three-corned fight, BN just sailed through! This is a lesson the leaders there should learn.

Overall, PAKATAN RAKYAT ( the tripartite group) won FIVE States, won 10 out of 11 Kuala Lumpur seats, and to top teh score, took 82 out of 222 Parliamentary seats! An outstanding achievement, never dreamt by even the most optimistic leaders!

This was a PRACTICE run; a dry run, if you like. Once he has mastered it and honed it, he will be ready for the next battle. But, many BN apples are about to drop , especially in Sabah and Sarawak! 30 sour apples will do the trick; and Anwar becomes the incoming Prime Minister!

Of course, in the wings is Tengku Razaleigh. He had enough PRACTICES in the past. Now he is ready to do battle with the Badawi-Najib. Will he get enough support? Or will sufficient MPs cross over to Pakatan Rakyat and make Anwar the Prime Minister ?

The race is on! Time is short! Who will breast the tape first ?

S.H. Huang

64. #65 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:17 pm

mixed? wat mix wat? doesnt look like hokkien … doesnt look like spanish also …

65. #66 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:20 pm

ric jumbleglish, got it?

66. #67 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:22 pm

jetaime,

i guess u gila alredi :p

67. #68 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:24 pm

ric, drat. no….. use your creativity….like when you are doing a crossword puzzle :)

68. #69 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:26 pm

shhhhh!

at this rate,ppl who chat here’re gonna get banned….

the admin has been very clear on this oredy

69. #70 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:29 pm

jetaime,

i guess durian not suitable for u anymore … may be i send you to tanjong rambutan … i heard rambutan there very fresh … :)

70. #71 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:32 pm

ric…..durian is always the one….. :) no durian here….. OMG…we’re gonna get bashed….hey…the form…did you have any complications?

71. #72 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 10:35 pm

jetaime,

the form is quite simple, just some part to fill out for branch … not sure which branch should i fill in … If u r member, may be i join ur branch, at least got somemore for me to argue with :)

72. #73 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:02 pm

jetaime,

why got strawberry 1? what is that?

73. #74 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:08 pm

How do you compare TDM and AAB? The first was certainly CUNNING and In control of the whole situation of the country, by permitting ALL his cronies to swallow both the hook and the sinker; he would ensure they all dance to his tune!
    Then comes AAB, he could not have planned anything his predecessor did. He inherited the scheme; all he needed to do was to ask the same cronies to continue the dance while siphoning away the same gravy. This is why TDM is disturbed! taking away his plot and gravy without any returm on his trade mark!
    As we are entering a new chapter in the history of the country, let us all forget about this bunch who had raped the country blind. So blind that they forgot they were still at it when the tsunami hit them on Mar.8th. They have lost whatever little trust we have for them . Let all Malaysians start off with a new 50 years to come!!

74. #75 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:19 pm

huh???

75. #76 by ric23_my on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:24 pm

jetaime,

so r u a dap member or not?

76. #77 by jetaime on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:33 pm

uh huh….get it off dap…i think other blogger’s have conjured up some misconception….whatever that is…sounds negative, so get it off dap…

77. #78 by leeann on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 12:15 am

anwar is going to be the next pm in april?
    raja petra said maybe.

78. #79 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 12:24 am

With BN in internal strife, it just might happen.

I have a quick rundown here on how disjointed the Barisan Gang is.

http://myoe.wordpress.com/2008/04/03/ready-set-scramble-for-the-top/

79. #80 by Jeffrey on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 12:58 am

///There are two towering personalities in the horizon that fit my characterization of a real leader: Anwar Ibrahim and Tengku RazaleighI note a certain humility and magnanimity in both Anwar and Ku Li. To these two nationalists, challenging Abdullah is not a route for the fulfillment of their personal ambition, rather a patriot’s obligation///- Dr Bakri Musa.

I don’t know about whether Ku Li has the kind of following within UMNO that he could pose a credible leadership challenge to incumbent UMNO president. So far only Dr. Mahathir appears to be the main one backing Ku Li for his own agenda. Whilst some – and maybe even many – within UMNO may want to see Pak Lah deposed, they do so not for rakyat’s interest but their vested interests threatened by his pro-reform rhetoric against corruption (never mind very little of that is carried out) and his certain lack of action to clamp down on critics of BN leading down the road to BN’s dismal performance in the last election and showing signs of implosion in the aftermath.

As for Anwar, I don’t know on what basis Dr Bakri Musa concludes that his challenge of the premier is not for personal ambition but patriotism. Anwar also challenged Dr Mahathir whom Dr Bakri Musa describes as a transformational “leader of exceptional brilliance, unorthodox convictions, and courageous innovations” – was that earlier challenge also based on patriotism and not personal ambition?

Much of the seeds of malaise the country now faces – racial and religious polarization in part accelerated by aggressive pursuit of the NEP & 20 year aggressive islamisation programme to outdo PAS, mega projects with corruption elevated to state of art via privatization to cronies, and emasculation of the Judiciary – were laid down under Dr Mahathir’s watch with Anwar being supporter as second in command. Does that show much of patriotism or personal ambition on Anwar’s part?

Even when Anwar was out of UMNO, did he side with DAP when it could not ideologically reconcile then with PAS’s Islamic state and had to leave Barisan Alternatif? Unless one thinks that PAS’s Islamic state is better for the country and the rakyat than DAP’s pluralistic secular agenda, how could Anwar tagging along with PAS instead of DAP (for the benefit of PAS’s Malay Muslim bloc of votes not otherwise given to UMNO) be construed patriotiosm and not personal ambition? Just like now his receptivity to welcome crossovers from political opportunists to hasten fall of BN’s government before the next election – is that more of personal ambition or patriotism unsullied??

One recalls that when Abdullah took over the helm, reprieve was extended to Anwar who received a favourable judicial decision that freed him – likely because the premier did not go out of the way to influence the judiciary to nail him and ensure that he remained incarcerated and posed no political threat – much to Dr Mahathir’s chagrin.

I don’t know about “humility and magnanimity” but certainly I see no sign of personal gratitude – gratitude being a universal virtue.
    Dr Bakri says “Malaysians are excessively deferential to their leaders, rarely challenging or even criticizing them… The relationship is akin to that of a flock of sheep and its shepherd, of blind obedience”.

If this were true, would it not serve the cause of democracy less when there emerges a capable and strong leader like Dr Mahathir??
    As Malaysians get more educated and politically matured, the truth is that we need less and less strong iron will leaders who emerging from within the ranks of UMNO will only reinforce and buttress the perpetuation of the patronage system than implode it.

What we need are a stronger civil society movement, a more independent judiciary and greater check and balance between state and Federal government, Parliament and Executive, Opposition and ruling coalition, a greater liberal atmosphere for public debate and criticisms of government leaders, in short a greater decentralisation as opposed to centralisation of politival power – all of which the so called lame down Abdullah has (whether intentionally or unintentionally) help to advance as the political tsunami of 8th March 208 evinced.

Sadly, he does not get credit for it and in the face of no support from any quarters is humbled to having to say, “I am not going to resign” in the face of widespread speculations of its imminence to the contrary. He is called sleepy PM as if he has no interest or understanding of what is going on around with no one giving him the benefit of doubt that he might have a medical condition for that!

We will need a strong and capable leader only if the nation faces a national crisis or some form of national or external grave danger that requires a strong and capable leader to pull us through.

Now is not such times.

80. #81 by Jeffrey on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 1:03 am

Sorry for typo error – “the so called lame duck” – not lame down per last posting (under moderation)

81. #82 by harrisonbinhansome on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 1:32 am

COMMENTERIES NORMALLY BYPASSES THE MODERATION, BUT HAVING POSTED 2 HERE FOR 3 OR MORE HOURS, IT’S STILL HANGING. THIS IS NOT A COMPLAINT, BUT HAVE I MISS ANYTHING?

82. #83 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:56 am

YB LIM KIT SIANG.

your blogsite have been “infested” by bloggers who are keen on ( knowing if the other party is guy/gal and their age ).

I think politics is a serious business, and i certainly hope that blog.limkitsiang is serious of the inputs that are made here.

thank you.

83. #84 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:04 am

I think jeffrey, godfather, limkamput, grace, lakilompat,k1980, sotong ( some which i may miss out )are serious contributors to this political blog.

cina apek has not posted for a long time.

YB, please do not turn this good blog into a circus arena.

raja petras’ have some guidelines for those who wish to post comments.

84. #85 by kickbutt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:03 am

“…before we run out of virgins, I CASTRASTE HIM. THERE ARE BETTER MAN OUT THERE . and btw, virgins may not make good lovers.” ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

No obscenities please. Politics is a serious business. Don’t turn this blog into a circus.

85. #86 by lextcs on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:35 am

while many of us are still engulfed with the political debates and discussion the world out there is moving at an incredible pace. I think we have exercised our responsibility i.e. to vote and yet most of us are still not satisfied with the results achieved for or against. Meanwhile prices of comodities are shooting up to the ceiling and here we are having a false sense of security that all will be well thinking that the govt will continue to grant subsidies. Take a good look at the african nations, practically a piece of bread could buy a bag of gold! Nearer inflationary pressures have put our Indonesian brothers at risk of another economic draught.

And what are we doing here? Some are trying to get back the powers lost, some are calling for resignations, some are wanting to be No1, some are digging out old graves and files, some are resorting to finger pointing etc etc etc…..In the end if economic activities are not quickly orchestrated we will go down worse than balik kampung tanam jagung.

So let us stop all the squabling and get back restoration for the good of the RAKYAT.

86. #87 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:59 am

kickbutt.

my remarks were made parellel to those of Musa Bakri.
    nevertheless, i sincerely apologise to you and others for such crude wordings.

i had my say, and i had voted for change.

btw, there are other like dawsheng and menang atau mati who makes good contribution to this blog.

YB . LIM KIT SIANG.
    i wish you well and may you be there to lead Malaysians to a better future. to YB BETTY CHEW ( SYABAS FOR RETAINING KOTA LAKSAMANA ) to YB SIM TONG HIN ( SYABAS FOR CAPTURING KOTA MELAKA ) and ESPECIALLY YAB LIM GUAN ENG. ( you deserved this chief minister position of Penang. you had gone through HELL , and look forward that you will continue to serve for many terms to come.AND IF THE POLICE IS TO ARREST YOU FOR SAYING CORRUPTION IS BAD, count me in as your cellmate.

i apologise for my remarks that have offended kittbutt and others.

lakilompat. you had the last say in the matter of religion, and it remains that .

thank you YB lim for allowing me into your home. and i bid goodbye now. and you have my mobile number , so if you need funds and polling agents for the next ge. i am always there for you. ( ANTI CORRUPTION, ANTI CROYNISM, TRANSPARENCY ).

no further posting. till the next general election.

87. #88 by pjboy on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:25 am

Enough talking about our soon to be past PM…let’s move on to other more important national issues. Now that parliament has just begun !!! If more & more critisms are being hurled, sympathy kicks in.

88. #89 by Bobster on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 12:08 pm

IMO, the rating of this article is 2/10 ie FAILED.

Reasons:-
    1. It does not uphold the very basic fundamental principle of humanity ie love, trust and respect. Imagine if the whole society follow the same path, everyone in the kampong just wanna get the prettiest virgin as “practice wife” then cast it out later as worthless piece of junk, imagine your boss adopting the same principle, hire the best, later cast you out as after getting what he wants irrespective years of contribution to the company, well, I can only foresee the whole society soon going haywire. Everyone just living under own selfish desire, no string attached, no social responsibility. Get married today, divorce tomorrow with no string attached.

2. Article mentioned “Tun Razak reputation remains intact and unblemished”. As far as I know, Keturunan and NEP started during Tun Razak era. Mandarin and Hindu tv and radio channels were banned from broadcasting. Racial policies than sub-divid the nation started during that period after the fall of Tunku then intensify during Dr M leadership. Kissing kris and shouting blood shedding, these two prominent figures are the by-products of Tun Razak family tree. So why give so much credit to Tun Razak??

3. “AAB is so inept, so spineless, and so lacking in ability to make decisions.” That’s good for the nation, else rakyat will not see historical victory in 8 March 2008, continue to be pinned down by the autocratic minister, using blunt force to sack and jail the oppositions without trial including his right hand man with false accusation, that’s the law of the jungle! Accusing and sending men to jail and ISA and falsify a ‘criminal case’ against men. That’s autocrat, not democracy. Overall, I still thank AAB for the freedom in the net, that’s the least we can have credit to AAB. AAB – 5 ISA detainees. Dr M – ? hundreds ISA detainees?

4. “Tun Hussien was meticulous and unusually astute in the choice of his successor?“ – Was Dr M his choice? Or he got no choice but to step down? Till todate can anyone recognize the mark left behind by Tun Hussien?

5. “Dr. Mahathir Malaysians had a leader of exceptional brilliance, unorthodox convictions, and courageous innovations. He transformed Malaysia.” – That we recognize.

6. “Unfortunately his uncritical and unabashedly adoring followers were equally blind to his mistakes thus preventing him from recognizing and rectifying them.” – His adoring followers were equally blind??? Yes, if you refer to the UMNO ball carrying chaps. No, if you refer to those who were out spoken against him, all gone into ISA and jail. That’s Dr M’s style. People’s voice has been oppressed and ignored before AAB’s days, since Dr M’s days to be precise. Words like ‘cronies’, ‘money politics’ and ‘nepotism’ already surfaced during Dr M era but all have been swept under carpet. That’s the damages that Dr M left behind. People are still blind to Dr M’s blunders and blame his successor.
    7. “Had Malaysians generally and UMNO members specifically been more critical of Mahathir in his choice of a successor for example, the nation would have been spared the current political muddle.” – That’s utter joke, how many of his deputy right hand men were sacked? Those who oppose him got kicked out? Only Yesmen stayed, Gaffar Baba, AAB and the like. In fact most of the old guards in current and previous cabinet are Dr’M Yesman. His Yesmen still around. The only way to heal the country is to restructure the whole cabinet ie replaced most of the Yesmen; select rational thinkers, corporate/NGOs figures with solid principle of integrity, fairness and justice, well traveled with global mentality, no more Yesmen that pure followers living under coconut shell refuse to know what happens in the global context.
    Rising fuel price, inflation of household products, rising construction cost all due to globalization, current government should not bear the only blame. Even Singapore Government has always recognized this challenges that affect their country. Unfortunately Malaysian Government still refuse to learn how to tackle this major issue of Globalization, kept harping on internal struggle, personal gain, racial and religious issues. Globalization? Apa tu? By then will be too late. Ya, you might choose kampong lifestyle, refuse to chance. But when wind of globalization taking its toll, kampong folks also not spare. Price of daily products, fuel all related to global demand and supply. When China sneezes the whole world rocks.
    8. “Abdullah’s predictable humiliation would not arouse any pity from me, but his destroying what was once a fine Malay institution – UMNO – would??” – UMNO – fine Malay institution??? Since when, before AAB era? Money politics, nepotism, cronyism already happened long before AAB. AAB era things blown out of proportion thank to his SIL. When AAB gone, so will his SIL. So he is not a big threat except people just has to stop his SIL from siphon .. out of the country. Well, kicked AAB out now, same thing going to happen, who else in BN eligible as PM? Anwar not in BN, so his is out. Ku Li, oh well he will probably strengthen UMNO and bring us back to the old days. Dr M once said Najib the next PM. Looking at his current track record is sufficient to explain abt his character. When rising fuel price, Najib said ‘adjust you lifestyle’. In UMNO assembly he illustrated [deleted] increase your family tree to strengthen your power. In kampong he asked kampong folks to vote blindly for BN, ‘setia kepada parti’ – utter crap. If parti corrupt to the core, rakyat still want to setia?? What kind of future PM is this?
    Hope people like Raja Petra and Raja Nazrin can be the next PM. But due to some circumstances think it might be difficult. Do have some reservation with Anwar, there are certainly risk for choosing him, hoping that he has learnt his lesson and be a change man. But at the present moment, with his international experience think he is the most eligible man as he can draw the most support from the rakyat.

That’s my 2 cents worth observation. Feel free to rebuke and correct if wrong. Thanks!

89. #90 by k1980 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 12:53 pm

Time to bury the MCA ( and MIC, Gerakan, ect )
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5433/84/

90. #91 by lakilompat on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 2:50 pm

MCA Micheal Chong in Action (M.C.A.) Keep seeing this old man solving weird Malaysian case everyday on the star. Gaining sympathy from Malaysian. It is too late, MCA will be history.

91. #92 by pjboy on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:30 pm

Actually wrote to Michael Chong for help once…he never replied. Perhaps he is only interested to solve cases that would attract media attention. Maybe I am no 455,999,023 in the list…

92. #93 by lakilompat on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 7:43 am

MCA is good to perform little stunts to attract publicity and sympathy.

93. #94 by allasstra on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:28 am

# ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:

“YB LIM KIT SIANG.

your blogsite have been “infested” by bloggers who are keen on ( knowing if the other party is guy/gal and their age )…….”

to yong abdullah and the like, in what ways does this constitute a violation of democracy ?

democracy,as i understands it does indeed stands for,and upholds one’s :
    [a] freedom of speech
    [b] free will
    [c] free and fairshare of information
    [d] freedom of expression
    [e] freedom to be stupid.

so,i find it very disturbing to hear such a comment in a blog that is *supposedly* to be a blog that promotes,honor,protect and serve the idea of democracy….

so;
    have i been misleaded in my ideology
    OR;
    indeed,there has been some hypocracy ?

“I think politics is a serious business, and i certainly hope that blog.limkitsiang is serious of the inputs that are made here.”

—call me naive,but the only way you are going to hear only what you want to hear and see only what you want to see is under ABSOLUTE TYRANY,which,from what i know is *not* something that DAP stands for…….go set-up your own T.A.P[TYRANY ACTION PARTY], or just join “quack-chin….” where tyrany and hipocracy walks hand in hand.

freedom of speech cuts both ways,as you are free to subject your opinions,offendsive or not, onto the others,and that makes u liable to others opinion,either u like it or not, so bear with it….

simply browsing around,i have found alot of stupid comments too which i did not like to be exposed to,but nevertheless,i bear with them,such as the [dismembering ppl’s genetilia],while some other CLAIMED there’s kampong in singapore,but were unable to name the said kampong,u know who u are,right ? wink-wink…
    —did i just tell these ppl to stfu and esad ?
    nope,…i bear with it….

had the admin not deleted my previous comments, the context of my question could clearly be seen. when a person refers others as older,it’s simply normal to ask what’s his/her age

as a kid,i grew up watching,learning,and admiring lim kit siang as he endures thru the hegemony of ridicule,harrassment,mockery and insults,not to mention being called ‘der clown’ and being told to stfu by the MPs of the rulling coalition whenever his opinions differs[which is almost all the time]

and from there that i learned the difference between hipocracy,tirany,bigotry,and true practitioner of democracy.

and so,i can only relate too well when a few comments that contains “creatively arranged words” were deleted,and it shocked me to my core….

which brings my attention to the ADMIN;

now ADMIN,i kno that u have a tough job to do,and it’s not an easy one considering the quantity of dolts here who constantly post comments that’ud breach “the article”, but tell me how,and in what ways does this,and i quote “sdrow hcus sa hist” constitute a violations of whatever in your minds that needs deletion ?
    nowhere did i see any faq/terms of use/disclaimer or even fine print that prohibits such an act that would justify your deletion.

seriously,your indiscrimate deletion of post could result a severe miss-understanding. i could now be seen as having said something that had breach “the act”,and that’s something that i certainly *did* not…..

stupidity is a condition,not a crime,……as long as it is not illegal to be stupid,treating stupidity with comtempt and discrimination is simply just un-just,and un-democratic…which is why we have consumer’s right association to defend stupid consumers when they have been conned.

unless u can come up with an adequate explaination, please…..oh no,…wait,let me rephrase,…I DEMAND that all of the deleted comments[which did not contravene “the act”] be restored to it’s original bits and bytes. either they are stupid or otherwise.

u kno,altough you are an admin with ommipotent admin-superpower,bear in mind that u r administering blog.limkitsiang,and not yours,and your action could be seen as his,which he might or might not agree…….

or maybe the admin might be indeed uncle lim himself, in which case it will be a sad day as i will have to denounce one of my favourite idol….hmmmm…..

it’s a really tragic irony,
    when the very sanctity of democracy,
    had been violated,in the hands;…..
    the hands of dee;-aaa;-pee…….

94. #95 by novice101 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:16 pm

Evil over good or Good over evil?

It is indeed sad to see the people who have facts or know events and incidences in our history are not coming out with them to put our history right. Instead, they allow others to pervert the facts of events and incidences for their own benefits.

Why do they not speak up – what fears do they have or do they know that are preventing them to speak out; what apprehensions do they harbor in their hearts; what do they know that their other brethens do not, that cause them not to divulge the details. Why are they prepare to remain silent while the ‘perverters of truth’ continue their merry ways? Surely, they know they will be judged as people who are afraid to stand up for the truth.

The nation needs more people like Param Cumaraswamy and Karpal Singh. Is the nation to continue to have its history twisted and distorted? Where have all the brave citizens gone?

95. #96 by novice101 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:22 pm

Ladies and gentlemen, speak up and let not the historical facts be perverted. Let justice be done to those who had suffered injustices done to them, let their deeds be rightfully recorded and their names be recognised.

The nation needs you at this juncture, let you be counted!

96. #97 by lakilompat on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 3:31 pm

When i was kid living in Johor, my relatives will stop me when we start talking abt. politics, they are scared the police will overhead them and put them in jail. The police always stop a group of friends because they thought it is an illegal gathering, when it is just a gathering of friends for supper. Life is pretty dull in Johor, as at night there are not many nightspot we can visit. Most of these places are expensive, and not healthy. So, what is the govt. doing in this area to promote more healthy nightlife? in US or Canada there’s night basketball, skateboarding, or futsal.

97. #98 by mark53 on Sunday, 13 April 2008 - 9:51 pm

Pak Lah is not a weak leader. In fact, he understood the ground well and used it decisively for Malaysia.

He could not get the BN house in order for there was far too much vested interested of the established few. What he could not do single handed, he got the Rakyat to do – i.e throw out those whom he wanted to rid the BN off without damaging the country.He has received the mandate to clean up BN.

He sacrificed BN for the sake of the country! As for TDM, he must be best remembered for decoupling the Ringgit peg to the USD – that was his finest moment. In so doing, he sacrificed the Country’s international image to save the country. There are parallels, albeit under different conditions.

The sad parallel of Asian politics, is the uncanny influence wielded by the people pheripheral to the powers at hand – the sons, daughters, wives, inlaws, siblings, etc..you name any Asian country from the North to the South, you find them all – past, present and future. Lest we forget, the “Ang Mo’s” countries also have its share but in a manner that is checked to some extend by virtue of its Constitution and the make up of politics and media exposure. Their societies are less tolerant of nepotism, but nepotism does exist, surely and in degrees of gray.

Pak Lah, is a good person, a strong leader who knows, he has done what TDM has refused to admit was wrong – interference of the judiciary, that’s TDM’s undoing of all the goodness that he has done in earlier years. As for Khairy, an Oxford graduate, he has the brainpower, but like all immature wine, it’s sour in taste. With time, he would have better understood, he did Pak Lah a disfavour in coming on too much of a hurry and was ill advised by the pheripheral of his orbiting confidantes.

98. #99 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:50 am

Khairy – Scorpion will never change its sting.

Pak Lah family are worth billionth today. SCOMI, Abad Naluri, ECM-Libra.