We need people to assist in the following:
(A) Ipoh Timur Elections Operation Centre Administrative Assistants
Volunteers will work in shifts of 9am to 1pm; 1pm to 5pm; 5pm to 9pm
(B) Polling and Counting Agent
Job description:
- Polling agent sits in a polling stream (the classroom where the voting takes place) and observes the voting process. Each school may have a different number of polling streams (saluran mengundi) depending on the number of voters in that area.
- Counting agent observes the counting of the votes when polling closes at 5pm. Two counting agents are needed for each saluran.
Minimally, 300 personnel are required for the above two jobs.
Schedule:
- 7am – 1pm (morning shift) and double up as counting agent from 5pm – 7pm
- 1pm – 7pm (afternoon shift and double up as counting agent)
- 7am – 7pm (full day and double up as counting agent)
(C) Financial contribution
- Cash contribution – please walk-in to our operation centres, we appreciate your cash (every ringgit counts!) and please ask for a receipt from the person on duty. During ceramah and function, we will send our cadres down to collect donation from the public. WE HAVE NOT AUTHORISED NOR DO WE SEND ANYONE TO SOLICIT FOR CASH DONATIONS!
- Cheque – make payment payable to “LIM KIT SIANG” and hand the cheques to us at our operations centres or bank into Lim Kit Siang’s CIMB a/c No. 14080048869005.
(D) Sponsorship:
- We need plenty of drinking water; (27 Feb 08 at 1pm, 40 boxes donated by a supporter; 27 Feb 08 8.30pm, another 10 boxes arrived at ops center)
- Stationary such as pencils, rulers, erasers, sharpeners etc for polling agents during polling day;
- Food and beverages for personnel on duty everyday.
How to reach us:
- Come and fill up the Volunteer Form at the Ipoh Timur Operation Centre (No. 61 & 63 jalan Kampar 30250 Ipoh, Perak; Tel: 05-2533096)
- Email us at ipohtimur@gmail.com
- SMS us at 012-4383060, and give us your name and contact number.