Election

“Pondan” – An open letter to Nazri

November 14, 2007

Letters by TT

13th November 2007

Dear Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Prime Minister’s Department, Bangunan Parliament, Jalan Parliament, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Subject – : Parliament on 12th November 2007 And Bersih Rally.

Dear Datuk Seri,

With reference to the above subject, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, if allowed and with much due respect, would like to comment on the words you used in the august hall.

Be it for opposition parties/people and/or to any other people who are gifts fm The Man above, words like ‘pondans’, ‘wimps’, ‘wires in their heads are severed’, ‘bodoh’, ‘racist’, ‘perkauman’, etc., to my honest opinions, should not be used in the august hall where people all over the world are watching us, especially with what is happening in our country lately. Also, especially coming from someone who is serving the country and her citizens under the prime minister’s department. Those kind of words like ‘pondans’, ‘wimps’, ‘wires in their heads are severed’, ‘bodoh’, ‘racist’, ‘perkauman’, etc., are, to my honest opinion, definitely uncalled for.

Yes, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, know those may be one of the spur-of-the-moment kind of thing, but those kind of spur-of-the-moment thing has been happening very frequently lately and has been repeated time after time. Perhaps Malaysiakini and Youtube have tons of the articles and video recordings to prove it.

Datuk Seri, for your information, the 100,000 Bersih Rally was not a political gathering and there was nothing political with that gathering. It was meant for the concerned rakyat from various backgrounds to gather and march to the Istana Negara to submit a memorandum to the King and to ask His Majesty for a massive reformation of the electoral roll which is tainted with smears of negativities.

With much due respect, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, would also want to know why are there no action/s being taken by the election commission in hearing what the rakyat want which the rakyat have been longing for?. Is this democratic or is this democracy? The rakyat have definitely spoke in one loud voice.

On the same subject, you may ask us, the rakyat to dissent our anger via the ballot boxes, speak our mind via the ballot boxes, let our feelings be known via the ballot boxes, etc., but, if the whole electoral roll is tainted with smear of negativities, how can the rakyat put their trust in believing their votes will not be tainted with smear of negativities?

Malaysia is a democratic country as many leaders in this country would put it, but what is happening currently definitely proves otherwise.

I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, would appreciate if you, as the minister in the prime minister’s department, could personally look into the interests of the rakyat, as the rakyat are the greatest assets of this lovely and peaceful country, definitely not any natural resources which will ‘dry up’ in due course of time!

Pls assist and let the voices of the rakyat be heard and together we shall bring Malaysia back to her feet competing with the best in the world, where the countries were once behind us in everything went ahead of us in everything.

Have a good and productive day ahead!.

Thanking you in advance.