Trend of greater official secrecy under Pak Lah government

The third front where I had hoped would be special mention of new policy initiatives in the Royal Address is in connection with Abdullah’s pledge to lead an open, accountable and transparent administration — in particular a firm government commitment to introduce a Freedom of Information Act to replace the Official Secrets Act (OSA) and the removal of the OSA and declassification of all privatization contracts, whether toll contracts, power and water concessions, to put them in the public domain for the scrutiny of the Malaysian public.

The Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu was recently very incensed and hurt. He appeared on the front page of New Sunday Times (Feb. 25, 2007) with blaring headlines: “‘Works Minister, still smarting over being accused of ‘going for blood’, says… ‘I’m no Dracula'”.

Samy Vellu accused me of calling him a Dracula.

He said: “Lim Kit Siang said I was going for blood. He was indirectly saying I’m a Dracula. Only a Dracula goes for blood. A man and politician of his age and experience should be more cultured when he talks about other people.”

I said he was “bloodthirsty” and I stand by what I said. But I never said he is Dracula. If he is a Dracula, then it is his own self-description!

LDP OSA

Let me state in this House that “Dracula” had never entered my mind when in my statement of 3rd February I had demanded to know why Samy Vellu was “suddenly so ‘bloodthirsty’ as to want four Opposition leaders, namely Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and Tian Chua of PKR, Ronnie Liu of DAP and Dr. Hatta Ramli (PAS) jailed for at least a year under the Official Secrets Act (OSA) for revealing that the government had guaranteed profits to Litrak in the Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong (LDP) concession agreement?”

This is what I said in that statement:

“What have the four done that they must be treated like ‘highway robbers’ and must be made to suffer the most severe form of punitive punishment, of being jailed for at least one year, if they are charged under the OSA and found guilty of unauthorized communication of an official secret?

“Have they done anything akin to sabotage or imperil the national economy, subvert the national security or undermine national stability?

“I do not believe that Samy Vellu, even in his most creative best, would be able to make out a prima facie case that the four Opposition leaders had done any of these terrible things in connection with he publication of the Litrak LDP concession agreement.

“I went back to the news reports as to what was revealed about the Litrak LDP concession — that the LDP concession:

• was “lopsided and not done in the best interest of the people”.
  • allows the concessionaire to continue collecting toll irrespective of whether the company is reaping profits or making losses.
  • that the government has very little power under the agreement as the concessionaire can continue to collect toll regardless of how much collection it has made.

“Are these revelations so earth-shattering as to shake the government, society and nation to their very roots as to require invocation of a draconian and repressive law to jail the four for a minimum term of one year each?

“In fact, astute Malaysians would have guessed the lopsided contents in the concession agreements and privatization contracts, even without sighting them.

“The question is what has made Samy Vellu so ‘bloodthirsty’ that he is behaving as if he has usurped the powers of the Attorney-General or had arrogated to himself the powers of a Super Attorney-General on toll concessions and OSA prosecutions? Why is he demanding his pound of flesh, muttering that ‘they will have to pay the price’?

“Samy Vellu should know that anyone charged and convicted under the OSA would be mandatorily jailed for a minimum of one year, regardless of whether the offence is grave or trivial, or the motive — whether it is to betray the country by selling national defence secrets or in the exercise of the highest form of patriotism to uphold accountability, transparency and integrity and to expose corruption and abuses of power.

“This was because Samy Vellu is one of the few remaining Cabinet Ministers responsible for the most shameful, undemocratic, repressive, draconian and pernicious pieces of legislation in the land – the 1986 amendment to the Official Secrets Act imposing a mandatory minimum one-year jail sentence on conviction, regardless of the gravity of the offence or the noble motivation for the disclosure. ”

Samy Vellu had lost out the public argument for his “bloodthirstiness” in wanting the four Opposition “whistleblowers” jailed for at least one year under the OSA while being blissfully unconcerned of similar breaches of the OSA by the concession companies, equity analysts and rating agencies which had freely made use of “official secrets” in the highway concessions to publicly flog their shares, loans and bonds.

I welcome Samy Vellu’s recent changeof-heart to fly the standard of a reformer and advocate for government openness, accountability and transparency over his efforts in the Cabinet to declassify the highway concessions.

Let me tell Samy Vellu that he cannot make the transformation from his self-description of “Dracula” to a saint unless he publicly apologises for his earlier “bloodthirstiness” in demanding that the four Opposition leaders be jailed for at least one year for “blowing the whistle” about the lopsided Litrak LDP concession.

This act of remorse and contrition must be followed up by his public advocacy, starting in the Cabinet, that all OSA investigations and proceedings, including against the four Opposition leaders over the toll concessions, should be halted until the OSA is phased out and replaced by a Freedom of Information Act.

But instead of abolishing the cult and infrastructure of secrecy, inimical to the principles of openness, accountability, transparency and good governance espoused by Abdullah, there is the reverse process of greater secrecy which must be deplored and halted — as evidenced by the New Straits Times report of March 11, 2007 in the expansion of the ambit of the OSA to cover several documents related to claims by contractors for extra funds for government projects, such as:

• The assessment report by the officer in charge of overseeing a government project;
  • Comments by the government Claims Committee;
  • Minutes of the Claims Committee’s meeting;
  • The document stating the decision of the Claims Committee; and,
  • The document which proposes the ex-gratia payment to be paid.

However, my hopes that in at least three areas of anti-corruption, police reform and freedom of information there would be new government initiatives in the Royal Address have been proved wrong as there was not a single new government initiative for the new year.

[Speech (10) on Royal Address debate in Parliament 21.3.07]

1. #1 by smeagroo on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 5:01 pm

It would be a nice change from all the usual drac movies i have watched. the dracs all very pale, fair and white. Kind of stereotyping them. So if he is game for it, he shld be a movie star. I will buy the first ticket.

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 5:21 pm

No No not Dracula as our Info Minister will tell you that monster is from Translyvania – somewhere in central Europe.

We must use local talents and so the star should be Pontianak!

3. #3 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 6:51 pm

I will ask him to suck something else other than blood and he will still be in a movie… although of a different sort.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 7:11 pm

There is no doubt that the Royal Address was dissapointing and its highly important to highlight its shortcoming and the issues. However, its no more than usual and Malaysians like voters everywhere are apathetic to a great degree.

In order to move the voters sir, require media savvy. While the net afford intellectual and detailed delivery of facts, ultimately its soundbites that will change votes. All these issues need to be turn into memorable sound bites.

May I suggest that you tape a rebuttal Royal address on video and load it up on the web? It will catch the imagination of the voters much better..

5. #5 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 8:34 pm

I don’t see this as a “trend”. Why can’t we accept that the guy at the top is so incompetent and paranoid that his first answer to anything would be “I don’t know” and the next answer will be “no”.

Even the civil service knows the incompetence of the guy, so they run rings around him. The cabinet ministers run rings around him too.

Jimmy Carter wrecked the US economy when he came to power. AAB will similarly wreck Malaysia through his bumbling incompetence.

6. #6 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 9:19 pm

“Samy Vellu accused me of calling him a Dracula.” LKS

He should be happy to be referred to as Count Dracula. The Count is of royal blood. Sammy Vellu is a commoner – under the Hindu caste system he is at the very bottom.

Count Dracula is now turning in his grave at the mere thought of such a comparison.

7. #7 by dawsheng on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 10:05 pm

Official secrets no more, thanks to you Uncle Kit we no longer in the dark. Is the system that we have to beat now, I wish DAP all the best in coming GE, I am sure you have my full support.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 10:19 pm

Through the magic of ‘cut and paste’ and the internet:

Official Secrets Act

“UK act of Parliament 1989, prohibiting the disclosure of confidential material from government sources by employees; it remains an absolute offence for a member or former member of the security and intelligence services (or those working closely with them) to disclose information about their work. There is no public-interest defence, and disclosure of information already in the public domain is still a crime. Journalists who repeat disclosures may also be prosecuted.

The 1989 act replaced Section 2 of an act of 1911, which had long been accused of being too wide-ranging. Prosecution under criminal law is now reserved for material that the government claims is seriously harmful to national security. Any service member wishing to complain of misconduct within the service is allowed access to an independent counsellor, in turn with access to senior ministers. Investigations under special warrants, issued by the secretary of state in such cases as terrorist acts and organized crime, are also to be regarded as absolutely secret, but the act limits the circumstances of their operation, and there is an independent commissioner and tribunal to prevent abuse of such powers. ”

Does anyone here think that our own version of legislation like the OSA serves all these objectives??

9. #9 by mob1900 on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 4:46 am

10. #10 by sotong on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 9:43 am

” I am no Dracula ” – Samy.

How do you explain the many blood sucking toll gates all around the country?

11. #11 by lakshy on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 10:20 am

Sotong is right. With us all paying taxes and road tax and drivers licences, why are we still paying tolls to these blood suckers? These should have been provided by the Govt to the rakyat because we pay various taxes.

But now these same culprits are given sooooooo attractive agreements and we still pay tolls. Way to go dracula!

12. #12 by lakshy on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 10:21 am

Must buy shares in these blood sucking companies. Cannot lose mah!

13. #13 by HJ Angus on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 12:44 pm

PLUS is quite a good company.
    It pays reasonable dividends.

RUBHD should be avoided like the plague. It has not paid one sen even though the company is making good money for the directors. Just wonder how the SEC allowed this company to be taken over within 2 years of an IPO without the MGO. Now minority shareholders have to lose money.

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 1:26 pm

Samy Vellu revealed in parliament a few days ago some of the huge profits raked in and to be raked in by the toll concessionaires over the concession period. Some sectors of the public have been enraged.

Rumour has it that the media have been “advised” not to play this up. Anybody can confirm?

15. #15 by DiaperHead on Sunday, 25 March 2007 - 7:47 am

“Samy Vellu revealed in parliament a few days ago some of the huge profits raked in and to be raked in by the toll concessionaires over the concession period.” Singh

What are you mumbling and grumbling about la Singh?? No cows milk today arr?