Call for special parliamentary meeting before Parliament dissolves in 70 days for general election

Every day there are new and increasing pointers that the next general election is very close – in fact, I expect Parliament to be dissolved in less than 70 days for the 12th general election to be held.

This is the reason why the MCA President and Housing and Local Government Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting has been appointed Acting Health Minister after the sudden demise of the meteoric political career of Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek in the national landscape.

Is there no one in the current crop of MCA deputy ministers like Ong Tee Kiat, Donald Lim, Dr. Ng Yen Yen, Fu Ah Kiow, Wong Kam Hong, Hon Choon Kam or Liow Tiong Lai who is qualified to be appointed Health Minister to replace Chua that the MCA President must recommend himself to the Prime Minister as the Acting Health Minister?

The ulterior objective of such a move is clear – to keep a Ministerial seat open for his brother, Ong Ka Chuan after the general election!

The timing of the very organised, orchestrated and systematic campaign to destroy Chua’s political career in a blitzkrieg five-day operation is also linked to the fast approach of the general election, to wipe him out once and for all from the political scene!

Chua knows that he had been “killed” not by the Opposition, but by his own colleagues in the MCA. Yesterday, I had said that there could be no doubt that the “black hand” responsible for the “ninjas” who successfully carried out the political assassination of Chua could be traced or linked to person or persons sitting in the MCA Presidential Council which had with great hypocrisy “regrettably accepted and respected” Chua’s resignation from all government and party posts!

This is the Malaysiakini report this evening:

Former health minister Dr Chua Soi Lek has accused his political rivals of wanting to see him “completely destroyed” even though he has quit all posts after being embroiled in a sex scandal.

“I have been stripped bare of everything, but they (detractors) want to see me completely destroyed,” he told Malaysiakini when contacted today

He did not elaborate on his remark today as he declined making further media comment.

“I’m not meeting the press today, let things cool down first. I have been interviewed by too many media lately and (detractors) said I kept talking to the media as if I was very proud,” said Chua over the phone.

Who are these “political rivals” of Chua who want him “completely destroyed” although he had quit all government and party posts? Clearly not DAP or any other Opposition party. I do not believe they are from UMNO or other Barisan Nasional component parties but are “big guns” from the MCA!

Another pointer of the closeness of the next general election is the sudden possibility of the re-opening of the Damansara Chinese primary school in Petaling Jaya, Selangor after arbitrary and high-handed closure for seven years – a hint coming from none other than the Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hashim himself.

Asked by the media today whether the Damansara Chinese primary school could be re-opened this year, Hishammuddin replied that such a possibility exists.

This shows the power of an approaching general election – things which are otherwise unthinkable and impossible suddenly become thinkable and do-able!

The new year 2008 was ushered in with the strongest pointer, when the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting announced a RM10 million “angpow” to Chinese schools nationwide at a ceremony at the MCA Headquarters, as if public funds come from the MCA coffers!

The MCA leaders are hoping that the people will not ask too many questions, for instance, objecting to the paltry sum of RM10 million when compared to the RM4.6 billion squandered away in the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal – as without the PKFZ scandal, the bulk of the RM4.6 billion could be disbursed to the nation’s 1,500 Chinese primary and 60 Chinese independent secondary schools for their development to make up for the decades of government neglect and discrimination suffered by Chinese schools!

The MCA Central Committee is meeting on Tuesday on Chua’s resignation and I call on the MCA leaders to take a stand on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, as it is the first mega financial scandal to involve a MCA Minister in the nation’s 50-year history.

The MCA Central Committee should direct the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy to set up a public inquiry to establish his innocence of any abuse of power, misuse of public funds or any Ministerial wrongdoing in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – failing which Chan should be instructed to emulate Chua’s example and tender his resignation as Transport Minister and from all government and party posts.

Parliament is now in adjournment and its next meeting is scheduled to begin on March 17, which will be officially opened by the Yang di Pertuan Agong for a 23-day meeting for the Dewan Rakyat till April 23, 2008.

If general election is held within the next 70 days, then the 11th Parliament will not be meeting again.

I call on the Prime Minister to convene a special four-day meeting of Parliament within the next 30 days so that the Malaysian Parliament will not become a laughing-stock of the world, especially as Malaysia is to play host to Parliamentarians from Commonwealth countries for the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) annual conference to be held in Kuala Lumpur in September this year.

If Parliament is dissolved without a special meeting, the work of several Parliamentary Committees would be aborted, wasting months and months of public hearings and meetings, resources and money without any result.

This is because three Parliamentary Select Committees, on National Unity and Integration, on Integrity and on a Code of Ethics for MPs, would not be able to complete their work and submit their report and recommendations to Parliament.

This would mean that the months spent by the Parliamentary Select Committees on National Unity and on Integrity, holding public hearings in various parts of the country in the past two years, would all go down the drain as their life-span automatically terminates with the dissolution of Parliament.

I will ask for a meeting with the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to suggest a special four-day meeting of Parliament within the next 30 days to dispose of all outstanding parliamentary business so that they will not lapse when Parliament is dissolved in less than 70 days for the 12th general election.

(Speech at the DAP Bagan Solidarity Dinner in Butterworth on Friday, 4th January 2008 at 10 pm)

1. #1 by iweepformalaysia on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:03 am

So things are clear now. Interesting.

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:14 am

Should Chua just retired as such? Did MCA and BN provided him a platform to serve the people right? Putting aside this unfortunate incident and I agreed that he did the right thing by quitting all the positions. I think if he still thinks that serving the people was/is his job, he should come out in the coming election as independent. Let the people judge him. It is fair and he should be subjected to the judgements by the people.

The BN leaders seemed happy that you stepped aside. But I thought otherwise although I don’t know you. I only read that you are a different minister who cared about the people and seem doing a real good job.

Dr. Chua, I think you or your Batu Pahat supporters must be reading here. Please give the coming election a second thought. Don’t consider it as your chance to continue serving the people, but by standing in the coming election, you give the people a chance to judge you using their votes.

Even your pants had been taken down completely by the opponents in MCA, your spirit should not be destroyed by them. So the only way to prove it is to let the people decide whether your pants should be on or off!

3. #3 by miwaki on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:20 am

You are right Mr Lim,anyone of MCA members can be Minister of Health but none is qualified.Not even Yen Yen.In fact,there is no quality people in MCA except Soi Lek !

4. #4 by csl on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:41 am

I partially agreed with miwaki. For me, Chua’s performance can consider acceptable. But, He had the same weakness as all ministers, who unable to lead the whole team and keep on focusing the target. Only 1 day, MP is MP, minister is mister, no position overlapping, and give us back our 3rd vote, then problem will be slowly solved. That’s why I still support LKS’s blog, although I have something that disagree with him sometimes.

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:42 am

RM10,000,000 disbursed to the nation’s 1,500 Chinese primary and 60 Chinese independent secondary schools for their development

= RM6,410.25 for each school assuming equal distridution

Not enough to pay their monthly utility bills

6. #6 by The_Dude on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:19 am

My advise to everyone is not to be fooled AGAIN. We’ve been cheated again and again and again. Forget about the last minute “sweetener” just before the election. We don’t need this so that we can suffer for another few more years.

Wake up my fellow Malaysians. It’s time to change !!!

7. #7 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:31 am

A special gift to the Prime Minister–“Teruskanlah tidur wahai PM”

http://blackinkorea.blogspot.com/2008/01/special-gift-to-prime-minister.html

8. #8 by Jong on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:42 am

Miwaki, you are wrong. No one else is ‘capable’ except Ong Ka Ting!!! He thinks he’s superman.

YB Lim has exposed him and his motive is suspicious! If he brings his brother up, that will be disaster for MCA. Perakians know cunning conniving Ong KaChuan too well but luckily Perak is so blessed to have DAP’s cili-padi Fong Po Kuan to replace him in Batu Gajah. She easily put him in her pocket despite his connection, threat and protection of thugs!

9. #9 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:48 am

The man in the street is facing major economic challenges as the prices of all essential goods and serivces including petrol, housing, water, milk powder, flour, rice, cooking oil, fruits and vegetables have increased by more than 10% over the past year. …the oil price rise is a double-edged sword for we remain a net-oil exporter at least for the next few years. Hence it is critical for the Government while taking the necessary steps to restructure our economy, to also look into the plight of the urban low and middle-income earners.

While the rural population benefits from record high commodity prices for example, for oil palm, rubber, coconut and cocoa, the urban middle and lower class benefits little from it while at the same time faces the brunt of inflationary pressures.
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/741/36/

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:48 am

OKT is just 51. I think there is a problem with him leading MCA, and becoming a full minister. Sometimes age is important because it is tied to experience. I am sorry to say that 51 is still young in politics. I prefer some one older than 60 but less than 70 as full minister, but just one or two terms. No overstay, please.

11. #11 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:50 am

With fuel prices hitting record highs, the government cannot afford to keep prices artificially low for too much longer. So, chances are elections will be held before any fuel price hike. And that means it is going to be soon.
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/738/39/

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 11:00 am

“….//….Who are these “political rivals” of Chua who want him “completely destroyed” although he had quit all government and party posts? Clearly not DAP or any other Opposition party…//…” – YB Kit.

Well I can think of one Opposition Party : PAS!

What is this that I read from more than one blog that PAS’ Information Chief, Mahfuz Omar, in what I assume is representative of his party’s views, has urged the police to investigate and charge Dr Chua Soi Lek and his ‘personal friend’ for Oral Sex under secular law?

The greatest ally the BN has, in this coming or any election, is PAS : it is always there to cast doubts to Mainstream Malaysia on the viability of an Opposition led by PAS!

Whilst supporting the right to peaceful assembly PAS is the first opposition party to criticise Hindraf and urged the government to take action against it for its “extreme accusations”. I don’t mind if PAS does not agree with the accusations but to urge the government to take action? There is no empathy at all!

Neither does it come out to say anything about the government’s restrictions on the Catholic Weekly the Herald’s issue over printing in its Bahasa Malaysia section the use of the world ‘Allah’ for God.

Many of us apologise for PAS and even express our inner hopes that it will change with more professionals on board. But hope is hope, reality is reality and it is dangerous of us to selectively ignore PAS’s ambivalence and rationalize in its favour a position based on our innermost hopes that BN be evicted, than the facts as they really are!

I frankly don’t think it will. It is just biding time occasionally saying the right things to assuage non muslims fears so as to use the democratic process to gain power. In fact I think it will show its true colours in the very unlikelihood of the Opposition led by it succeeds in evicting the BN and form the government.

I have said in before and I would say again that it is theocratic party of similar mindset – espousing a government based on sovereignty of God’s laws – and no matter that it is fully entitled in democracy to pursue its political agenda, this just cannot be reconciled with mainstream’s position on the form of government that we have come to accept based on sovereignty of man and man-make laws in Parliament. Ideologically and in practice, the twain will never meet! PAS’s is advocating a form of government which is attempted in large swathes of West Asia that has proven a clear failure with no prospects of alleviating people from poverty but with every prospect of curtailing civil liberties and freedom in the name of God and fomenting internecine conflict and civil strife.

The dissociation of DAP from PAS is imperative and should stay that way.

I hold Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim responsible for not taking the high road to ally with DAP and dissociate PKR from PAS based on political expedience and oportunism – what he perceives is political realities of Malay ground opposition support – than principles that he espouses openly, not backed by credible action!

So the election may be eminent (within 70 days?) but if the choice is between BN or a PAS led Opposition, what hope of change is there to look forward to?

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 11:40 am

Everytime MCA throws out money to the Chinese, we need to remind ourselves that most of the taxes AND EPF funds comes from the Chinese in the first place.

So to the Chinese who think PKFZ is not about Chinese interest, think again. Sdr. Lim is right, MCA “balance sheet” with the Chinese community have to include the PKFZ vs what they give out.

14. #14 by greenacre on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 11:46 am

Last week a Chinese carpenter told me that the MCA needs people like Uthayakumar of Hindraf and stated that the present bunch are like the dog with the tails between it’s legs. That was before Minister Chua’s revelation.
    I must ask again.

15. #15 by Tickler on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:00 pm

It is equally possible that no other party wants to touch the jinxed ministry, and OKT is unsure of his own position in the Team A/B situation as either way it can split support so he decides to hold it for awhile.
    Which hopefully suggests that the jinx will work on him.

16. #16 by budak on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:12 pm

MCA begging UMNO for RM10million & reopen a SRK (C)…

i think we should celebrate it…
    after 4 years of shooting, MCA finally got something useful for Chinese communities… after all that’s our blood & sweat $$$…

but…
    next election must vote this bunch of doggies out…
    they are most f..k-up MP in M’sia 50 years history…
    RM10million for 26% of Chinese population in M’sia…

MCA please keep this $$$ to buy more “boots”…

17. #17 by Tickler on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:22 pm

Badawi gave 22 million to his own former school. MCA very very very grateful for 10million (for about 50 schools). OKT must have kissed and licked badawi`s shoes for that pittance.

18. #18 by Tickler on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:23 pm

Lulu Hates It When The MCA fellas Grovel And Make Such A Big Deal Over Meagre Allocations To The Chinese Schools
    http://whatalulu.blogspot.com/2008/01/lulu-hates-it-when-mca-fellas-zgrovel.html

19. #19 by sonet on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 1:17 pm

With Ong Ka Ting, Ong Ka Chuan, Ong Tee Keat … of course Dr. Chua got wiped out. Clinton survived during the impeachment, cos judge voted by senate. Dr Chua voted by OKT and Dollah just act on his wishes.

20. #20 by wizzerd on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 1:26 pm

It disgusts me each time BN uses the Chinese school issue to fish for votes come every General Election. Damansara school for e.g, in my hometown in Nibong Tebal, the local Chinese school was promised tens of thousands in funding. Eventually the UMNO guy won at the expense of the incumbent Opposition..Sadly, the public bought his promise. This overused ploy work each time with the Chinese community without thinking about the repercussions. Now I am not surprised that there were no allocations for new Chinese and Tamil schools to be built in the 9MP. The funding will only surface before every GE.

21. #21 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 3:21 pm

If only Dr Chua would join DAP and stand for election in Labis under DAP ticket, not only will he be back as Labis MP, but would gain back his integrity and manhood. I bet you with my pants (oopps Hands) down. This will vindicate him against those running dogs in MCA

22. #22 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 3:51 pm

I am just about to ask myself what message that I want to put across to the voters so that they will realize what a bunch of idiotic Ministers we have voted in during the last election.

Maybe I should think of a slogan or a few of them, so that I can have it made into a car stickers. I will have it stuck to my car windows for everyone to read and to remind all those who have voted for these idiots.

Maybe this will work “Votes for MCA, MIC, Gerakan = Votes for UMNO”

Anyone care to add on?

23. #23 by ktteokt on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 4:55 pm

Despite the miserable “charity fund” of RM10 million, MCA is still going to say “we fought for it”! That is their usual statement after receiving sweets from UMNO. It is a degrading statement to make in the face of all Malaysian Chinese!

24. #24 by Jonny on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 5:44 pm

The dogs licked their master. And manage to get RM10million.

What is that compared to RM4bilion + in the Port klang scandal.

Zakaria is from Klang. no wonder he is so rich. We must ask him … does he has a lot of sex DVDs of other culprits? holding them tightly by the balls?

That the authorities can just close one eye on him?

That must be the truth. He is keeping cards close to his heart. Waiting for the right time to release.

It is no coincidence on timing of Lingam Tape + CSL sex DVD.

All has got to do with TIMING, ELECTION.

25. #25 by kritikus on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:29 pm

what guarantee do you think the perpetrators will have that the similar incident will not befall them and probably may even be more serious and scandalous.

what goes around comes around and it is a matter of time and soon and within the 70 day period another couple of scandals will certainly surface. Just a premonition.

due respect must be given to CSL for his gentlemanly admitting and resigning. NOBODY HAS THE GUTS LIKE CSL.

THE GUILTY ONES WHO ARE STILL AROUND SEEM TO BE HIDING BEHIND THEIR RESPECTIVE FLAGS AND THE CORRUPTED GOVERNMENT. WHAT A SHAME BUT WAIT THEIR TURN WILL BE NEXT.

concerned citizen

26. #26 by EARNEST on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 12:10 am

Dr. Chua Soi Lek’s confession was the right thing for him to do for setting the best standard for owning up and taking responsibility for one’s action and accountability.

His response is laudable, so unlike and putting to shame those who knew the laws inside out and sought self-preservations in not making self-incriminating statements, denying what were seen to be undeniable and causing great wastage of time and resources paid for by all of us as taxpayers.

But Dr. Chua’s biggest mistake was to abruptly resign as MP for his Labis constituency and shirk his responsibilities to those who voted for him.

He might have acted rashly in resigning from even his MP post after being convinced that he had lost the support of the public basing on results of 2 opinion polls showing 91% and 99% of people polled (how representative were they?) wanted him to resign, and probably unfavorable opinions of OKT and the PM who had subsequently readily accepted his resignation.

But, there was no evidence that after his public confession and apology, the majority of the people in Labis did not want him as their MP anymore. Most of them might have identified with him, being humans born with the weakness of the flesh. After the scandal, he could be more approachable and humbler. By resigning as their parliamentary representative, he had forsaken them. Theoretically a by-election need not be conducted for up to 2 years upon his resignation even though in reality it could be about 3 months. To them with Dr. Chua soldiering on, something might be better than nothing, more so now that he had relinquished all his other responsibilities, he could have concentrated full time as their dedicated representative to attempt to solve whatever woes they might have.

Even if there are replacements, in the form of OKT doubling up as temporary Health Minster and tripling up as a temporary MP for Labis, the people there may prefer the devil that they knew than the angel that they do not know. It is for the people of Labis to judge whether Dr. Chua had done enough for them and want to reelect him in the coming general election.

Almost all of us are the products or byproducts of millions of years of the sex act. Most of us do not realize that nature has been playing games with all forms of life, which were designed to obey the cosmic laws which ordain procreation and other actions for the purposes of continuation of species’ survival. The homo sapien is the only species to regulate behavior to prevent chaos using religions and laws otherwise broken families, unwanted babies and diseases may get out of hand.

In nature’s sex game, testoterone, a male sex hormone is so powerful that no religions and laws can suppress the commissions of inappropriate sex acts. Attempts at suppression can lead to undesirable consequences. Abstinence may lead to priests turning into paedophiles, and normal humans turning into gays and lesbians. If a normal person does not engage in sex and masturbation, he can not prevent wet dreams, which are usually accompanied by erotic dreams and orgasms. I just can not figuring out how normal celibate holy people cope with the cosmic laws on sex without engaging in surreptitious and inappropriate sex acts. Intelligent people tend to have very strong libido, which is part of nature’s plan for natural selection. The late President Kennedy was reported to have said that if he did not indulge in frequent sex, he would suffer from severe headache. Former President Bill Clinton could not find a better explanation for his inappropriate sexual relationship with Lewinsky than to say “I did it because I could”. It is impossible for normal people not to participate in nature’s compulsory sex games without serious undesirable consequences. Sigmund Freud the world-famous psychologist knew it when he posited that sexual deprivation could lead to mental illness.

High levels of testosterone besides being recognized as the hormone of sexual desires, has been attributed to criminal tendencies. Effects of serial rapists’ high testosterone levels on their conducts can be so overpowering that their biological urges may only be controlled by chemical castration using Depo Provera to suppress their testoterone productions.

Women’s bodies also produce testosterone, but in about 20 times lesser amount than those of men. That is the reason why all the time men rape women; we seldom hear of women raping men. It is extremely rare. A couple of years ago, the NST reported that a few women forced their male victims to take Viagra before raping them. Studies have shown that high testosterone levels are linked to violence in female inmates.

Following nature’s sex game, after women have given birth, their breast will be full of milk and they have to breastfeed their newborns, else they will feel great discomfort and even fever. They have to do it to relieve themselves because it is nature’s plan to force them to breastfeed babies.

Similarly, after mother hens have laid eggs, their breasts will feel so uncomfortably warm that they had to cool themselves by sitting on the eggs. They have to do it to relieve themselves because it is nature’s plan to force them to hatch the eggs. The mother hens will be totally surprised when little chicks emerged.

All of us will indulge in the sex act because we have to obey the cosmic laws on procreation. Nature has a way to make sure we participate in her game by enticing us with libidos and orgasms, like forcing certain actions for relieving discomforts for breastfeeding women and the egg-laying mother hens.

Then why was the sex act so wrong that Dr. Chua had to forsake those who had elected him before his term was up? Some people might reason that if he could betray his wife’s trust, he could also betray the people’s trust in him. This kind of rationalization may be flawed because the two kinds of betrayals are governed by different laws, the former by cosmic laws, the later by man-made laws. It is almost impossible to defy cosmic laws whereas it is much easier to comply or seen to comply with man-made laws. If the glaring RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, etc., etc., etc. can hitherto be condoned, why can’t a personal scandal between two consenting adults be condoned? Furthermore, if his wife could forgive him and stood by him, why can’t the people do likewise? We do not know anything about his relationship with his wife, and why he had strayed. It is for him and his wife to examine factors which could affect marital disorders, one of which is sexual incompatibility, which could develop with the aging process without their realizing it.

Sexual incompatibility may develop in marriages and many couples accept it, though not at all happily, without allowing it to endanger their marriages. In some marriages it appears to be the primary cause of deepening marital conflicts when widening differences in sexual drives due to hormonal changes from aging give rise to disillusionments and frustrations in sexual relationships. As women age, their levels of circulating testosterone gradually decline, along with sexual desires around menopause. It’s understood that testosterone also contributes to the health of a woman’s vulva and regrowth of the vital tissue of the clitoris. The option for testosterone replacement therapy is available, for both women and men. The idea is not to make women super-sexual, but to tailor the therapy to individual needs. Admittedly, stress, anxiety, exhaustion, the various ups and downs of life and relationships can also reduce sexual desires besides critical reduction in testosterone production. Further discussion on how to deal with sexual incompatibility and how to improve sexual relationships between partners may be beyond the scope of this blog.

However as for the sex scandal, it is pertinent to note that the personal friend was a willing partner, not underage and not someone’s wife. Not suggesting there was engagement of oral sex, imho laws against consensual oral sex done in privacy between consenting adults are bad laws and should be repealed, because they could easily be abused for malicious destruction of partners’ lives in relationships gone sour. If I am not mistaken, Singapore had already done it a few years ago. Hence, Dr. Chua should be judged only by the people in his constituency for only they would know if he had done enough for them to justify his staying on as their MP, and whether they wished to reelect him in the coming general election.

Dr. Chua was a victim of criminal invasion of privacy. Apparently it was the leadership in MCA — who could condone the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, etc., etc., etc. — who wanted him out, and not the people who mattered most to him, his family, his supporters and the people of Labis. He may need to seriously consider standing for reelection in Labis to stage a political comeback to restore honor and dignity to himself, his family and all those who still support him, perhaps with the support of the opposition party DAP or as an independent.

27. #27 by smeagroo on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 12:28 am

IF AAB can hold 3 post why cant OKT? Orang Kuat Tau!

28. #28 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 12:38 am

To: EARNEST

What has women giving birth and milk, mother hens laying eggs, priests turning into pedophiles, sexual deprivation and mental illness, health of a woman’s vulva and clitoris got to do with the resignation of a politician who is a Cabinet Minister?

LOL

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 12:46 am

…ooops who held a Cabinet post.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 12:49 am

Chua was forced to resign his cabinet post but did not need to resign his other posts. It looks like he was very disappointed with the MCA leadership.

31. #31 by Colonel on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 1:13 am

“I hold Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim responsible for not taking the high road to ally with DAP and dissociate PKR from PAS based on political expedience and oportunism – what he perceives is political realities of Malay ground opposition support – than principles that he espouses openly, not backed by credible action!” Jeffrey

If he were to do that he might as well forget those Malay votes which could still go to him. He is walking a fine line – and a difficult one. His balancing act could come crushing down with one mis-step.

I don’t think Anwar could overcome his loss of credibility in time to win this GE. A long process of rehabilitation is necessary. His party could still win seats based on non-Malay support.

32. #32 by EARNEST on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 2:26 am

DarkHorse,

Just like people who are biased who would only look at evidence they want to see, and declaring anything else against their preconceived opinions as irrelevant, we have people here who have very parochial and blinkered views, who can not figure out the relevance of wide-ranging matters beyond their comprehension.

33. #33 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 3:45 am

EARNEST,

I’m sorry but I do not mean to ridicule you. I could not help laughing as to how a pedophile who is a priest, a mother hen laying eggs, a mother’s breast milk, and a woman’s vulva and clitoris could have any relevance to a Cabinet Minister having been forced to resign!

A Cabinet Minister’s sexual indiscretions have led to his resignation from public office. And all you have to say is about a mother hen laying eggs and a woman’ vulva?? C’mon be serious!

Don’t insult ladies in the room.

34. #34 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 5:02 am

“Dr. Chua should be judged only by the people in his constituency for only they would know if he had done enough for them to justify his staying on as their MP, and whether they wished to reelect him in the coming general election.” EARNEST

Yes, but there is no GE right now! He can do that if he is nominated by his party again to stand in that constituency.

Meanwhile, like all members of the Cabinet he owes his appointment as Cabinet Minister solely to the PM.

He should have been asked to resign by the PM but Abdullah apparently wanted to be seen to be ‘fair’ and left it to the MCA party leadership.

Chua should have continued as MP because his constituents elected him to represent them in Parliament. He could have left MCA and became Independent. Instead he chose to let those who elected him into office down.

You see. There is nothing here that has anything to do with the woman’s vulva and clitoris as you said there is.

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 7:58 am

“//…I could not help laughing as to how a pedophile who is a priest, a mother hen laying eggs, a mother’s breast milk, and a woman’s vulva and clitoris could have any relevance to a Cabinet Minister having been forced to resign!” – Darkhorse.

What Earnest is taking pains to explain within a short space here is dealt with in a sub-field in biology called “evolutionary biology”.

It concerns the biological imperative of sex and, in a nutshell, how it is important and natural in God’s plans (if one is religious) or Nature’s plan (if one is atheist or agnostic) for descent and propagation of our species to be ensured; how sex is therefore always lurking in the lives of all living things (that propagate other than singularly as certain plants), from animal kingdom up to homosapians, much like a big lion in a small cage always about to break out but as a phenomenon is largely ignored or denied by us like an elephant in a room that is said to be not there; and how homosapians is the only species to deny this fact due to his separate evolution of social, cultural, moral and religious norms to regulate, as part of social engineering, the natural sex drive to buttress the family institution of monogamy or limited polygamy, prevent chaos from unaccountability of free sex such as rapes, unwanted children etc.

Based on the above there is a need in ordering the affairs of man to always strike a balance between concessions to the sex imperative on one hand and not allowing it to get out of hand on the other (using both laws and morals to regulate it).

Criminal laws draw the line at harm : if one forces sex on another and does it with minors, it is unlawful as in rape, statutory rape, Pedophilism etc. Morals (as distinct from criminal laws) also disapprove sexual profligacy and licentiousness to prevent unwanted babies and spread of sexual diseases etc from too liberal a sexual expression. Morals therefor require conventional marriage marital fidelity and prohibition of adultry to buttress mariage institution but as no respectable sociologist or divorce lawyer can deny, divorce and serial monogamy is on the rise and for many within marriage, marital fidelity is more honoured in hypocrisy than reality. However that is another subject.

Suffice to say the drift of what Earnest says is that in not extending an understanding to the so called “wrong”, Dr Chua had committed in his private life, we are tilting too much off balance in not recognising how the powerful factor of sex affects a person and in terms of public office how that is not as important as his faithfulness, competence and diligence in discharge of his public duties rather than his unfaithfulness in private marital life to his wife, and even here we really don’t know whether the wife condoned the situation.

For what good is there in a incompetent Minister who puts his finger in the pie (I mean public pie) or can’t articulate English on international media or were extreme in their racial and religious views and agenda, even if he had done no wrong of getting caught for extra marital affairs with his pants down?

This kind of thing has been going on since time immemorial – it is so because sex is natural, though often we deny it – and only difference is that for the rest, they were not caught or entrapped or even if accidentally caught, they have evinced no redeeming quality of accountability and have used all powers to deny and sweep it under the carpet, unlike the case of Dr Chua.

The difference in opinions reflected in this forum are very much indicative of how many of us have different values and expectations of people who hold public office. In this respect what EARNEST propounds is basically in acord with what I think, as is apparent from my previous postings.

After seeing the goings ons in this world, I readily admit, without apology, that my expectation of what public office stands for is decidedly lower by several bars and notches from many of you who hold otherwise that it should not be “tainted” by such scandals. :)

This is what I said in earlier thread which I wish to repeat : ” Some of the widely perceived good leaders who served nation and people – the “alpha males we call them – have committed adultery, cheated on their wives, had personal scandals, but stayed above-board in their roles as leaders keeping faith with their public responsibilities – for examples: American presidents Dwight Eisenhower, Franklin D. Roosevelt (1932-1945) with at least two mistresses, John F Kennedy (Marylyn Monroe), New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani (?) French Prime Minister Francois Mitterand, Canadian PM Trudeau, even Martin Luther King etc whose good fortunes was that they were never filmed on video clip and distributed”.

36. #36 by Colonel on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 8:04 am

You may be a dirty old man but at least show some decency and not be too over the top with your lurid details of the female anatomy!

Jeffrey could do it without reference to vulva and clitoris.

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 8:18 am

EARNEST – the only thing in what you have expounded that surprised me – which I have much to learn – is your statement “mother hens have laid eggs, their breasts will feel so uncomfortably warm that they had to cool themselves by sitting on the eggs”.

I have never known hens had “breasts”!

To me breast is lactation gland found on the chest wall; a mammary gland for feeding young, which I find it inconceivable that little baby chicks with “small beaks” could have much use, in nature’s terms, for a “lactating breast”!

I have heard of “pigeon breast” or “chicken breast” but that is more a chest deformity in humans marked by a projecting sternum, often occurring as a result of infantile rickets! :)

38. #38 by ktteokt on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:24 am

If at all they were sincere in “fighting” to re-open SJK(C) Damansara, the huge billboard in front of the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall would not be counting the days it has been closed for the past seven years! Why wait till the GE to bring up the issue? This is very obvious and it is nothing but another gimmick by MCA to threaten the Malaysian Chinese to vote for it! Malaysian Chinese have had enough of these gimmicks and will not fall for it this election.

All these talk about the possibility of re-opening SJK(C) Damansara started with the election heats and the Chinese know this as another gimmick by MCA. It should have made noise right from day one the school was closed down and not at this crucial time. And when the thousands of Chinese schools in Malaysia were given the miserable allocated funds, MCA will stand out and claim “We fought for it!”. What heroic act! Isn’t it the duty of MCA to look into this DUTY? So what credit is it claiming? Do you claim credit when you are compelled to look after your children as a parent? If so, then we should perhaps propose a “CARING PARENT AWARD” and a “NON-CARING PARENT AWARD” to be given on a National basis.

Holding on to the name “MALAYSIAN CHINESE ASSOCIATION” is not just for namesake. MCA should hold on to the objectives set out by its constitution as approved by its original founder in ensuring the interests of Malaysian Chinese, but the truth is, it has been selling out the interests of Malaysian Chinese to gain political mileage.

It has deviated from its original objectives as a political party which should have focused on the interest of the nation, interest of the Chinese community, interest of society as a whole and other political interests (except personal ones) but instead for the past decades, we see MCA stepping into non-political waters. Setting up KSM, Kojadi, issuing shares and stocks, promoting perpetual learning, organizing karaoke contests, taking over a newspaper etc are beyond the original objectives of MCA and ultra vires.

MCA was incorporated as a political party to represent the Malaysian Chinese but its involvement in these non-political activities made Malaysian Chinese wonder if this is the same political organization which its founder has established. The latest comment by the head of Wanita MCA for women to dress sexily in bed has received much comments from the Malaysian community. Since when are political party high official interested in the personal lives of the people to the extent of how they dress themselves up? Furthermore, even if such a topic is not “ultra vires”, it should have been made by the Minister of Women Affairs and definitely not the Deputy Minister of Finance!!

And it is one of the grand finale events of all MCA events that the famous song “Tuan Jie Jiu Shi Li Liang” (Unity is Strength) is sung by MCA big shots on stage, holding each other’s hand but look at the state of MCA itself. Can MCA claim to be a united organization when back-stabbing is so rampant? The downfall of Chua Soi Lek as a result of the sex scandal is a good example and the fact that there are two factions, Group A and Group B, within the same political party is good evidence of this “SPLIT UNITY” or “UNITY SPLIT”!

39. #39 by Jong on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 10:19 am

My or my that DOM Earnest must have been drinking when he wrote it, so mabok that his imagination just went wild! He should have posted it in http://www.talkingcock.com

40. #40 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:14 pm

Now what you all done?? You guys frightened him away just like what happened to his old kaki! We’re going to miss his DOM jokes.

41. #41 by Jong on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:53 pm

DarkHorse, You miss his SICK jokes?

42. #42 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 10:35 pm

EARNEST says, “If a normal person does not engage in sex and masturbation, he can not prevent wet dreams, which are usually accompanied by erotic dreams and orgasms.”

EARNEST says, “..a few women forced their male victims to take Viagra before raping them”

EARNEST says, “…after women have given birth, their breast will be full of milk”

EARNEST says, “…after mother hens have laid eggs, their breasts will feel so uncomfortably warm”

EARNEST says, “…testosterone also contributes to the health of a woman’s vulva and regrowth of the vital tissue of the clitoris.”

Now who can dispute the truth of most of what he says (though after reading what Jeffery has had to say about hens having breasts, I’m no longer sure if only chickens have breasts) but hard as I tried I fail to see the relevance of the “regrowth of the woman’s clitoris” to the resignation of Malaysia’s Cabinet Minister! Is there a disconnect somewhere??

Jong,

Have you ever seen “the regrowth of the clitoris”? I must remember to check this up with a lady friend who is a doctor next time I meet her.

43. #43 by EARNEST on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:10 am

Jeffrey,

Thanks for the explanations. I won’t be surprised if you scored distinctions for English and Biology from secondary to tertiary educational levels, excelling in comprehension. Also, I won’t be surprised if DarkHorse, Colonel and Jong failed their English comprehension and Biology during their Secondary schooldays.

The hen’s breast is the same as the chicken’s breast, which we buy from KFC.

You have probably succeeded in setting DarkHorse’s cloistered mind free.

Please help me to clean up Colonel’s dirty mind and cure Jong’s SICK mind, for their own good.

Colonel,
    Don’t tell me you do not learn those words in Biology. There is nothing dirty in those words. Only a dirty-minded person would think they are dirty words. Read the context where they were used.

Jong,
    Please tell me where you find SICK jokes? Jeffrey knew that what I said were based on Biology, the effects of hormones on behavior. Perhaps you have a SICK mind to see SICK jokes where there are none. A repressed and unhealthy mind could get intoxicated with wild and erotic fantasies at the mention of some biological terms of the female anatomy.

I would like to hear if ladies felt insulted by what I wrote, which were based on scientific facts, not imagination.

44. #44 by DarkHorse on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:32 am

The question here is not why hens do not have breasts and chicken have breasts!

The issue here is not about “mother hens laying eggs” or “women raping men” or a “pedophile priest” and the “the woman’s vulva and regrowth of the woman’s clitoris” – all of which have nothing to do with the resignation of a Cabinet Minister.

So I think your own description of “A repressed and unhealthy mind could get intoxicated with wild and erotic fantasies..” best fits yourself.

Meanwhile, Jong, I’m still waiting for my lady friend doctor to return so I could check with her the truth about what Earnie here says about the woman’s “regenerating vulva and clitoris”! I’ll report to you later.

45. #45 by EARNEST on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:58 am

Jeffrey,

I always order for chicken breasts from KFC.

Try to google “chicken breast”, you may get 2,680,000 hits, including chicken breast recipes.

You are right that chicken breast is also a medical condition (pectus carinatum) referring to “abnormal protrusion of the breastbone caused by rickets”. It is also known as pigeon breast.

The first time I came across “pigeon breast” was more than 15 years ago from a friend whose wife gave birth to 2 male stillborn babies with this dreadful condition. His daughter was okay. I do not know if it was a sex-linked genetic problem due to defective gene/s in his Y chromosome.

46. #46 by EARNEST on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 1:14 am

DarkHorse,

Thanks for perusing what I wrote and listing out what you think may be controversial statements.

Check with your lady doctor friend the veracity of those statements and report back to us.

Do not distort my statements, e.g. I did not say “regenerating vulva and clitoris”. I did not say “the regrowth of the clitoris”?

I mentioned that “It’s understood that testosterone also contributes to the health of a woman’s vulva and regrowth of the vital tissue of the clitoris.” basing on internet research.

47. #47 by DarkHorse on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 2:29 am

Yes, but what we all would like to know is how your “woman’s vulva and regrowth of her clitoris” connects to the Minister’s resignation from the Cabinet. This is a serious issue here that we’re discussing.

Why are you so fixated on the female breast?

48. #48 by Colonel on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 3:39 am

Why?? EARNEST is a dirty old man – like Jong said?

49. #49 by Jong on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:07 am

Guys, let’s be a little considerate and sensitive towards Dr Chua SL while he and his family is experiencing a most difficult time. I am sure he must have already felt all so rotten inside and angry at the same time to the despicable act of having his privacy invaded. What Dr Chua did was inexcuseable but to err is human, he just lost himself and has to pay for it dearly.

All these discussion here simply has no relevence, no connection to the topic of this thread. Let’s not have good laughs at the expense of another. Show some understanding and let’s be a little forgiving. I believe kinder words from us will help ease his pain and embarrassment in his hour of need.

Earnest, it’s just wrong taste, wrong place and wrong timing.

50. #50 by Jong on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:09 am

sorry, correction: “…while he and his family are experiencing..”

51. #51 by DarkHorse on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:08 pm

There are consequences to your action. Chua knew it and Earnie here knows it.

52. #52 by DAPHNE on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 2:11 pm

Jong,

You have a dark side to your seemingly righteous disposition, which you try to portray outwardly but failed miserably.

A serious discussion on the effects of hormones on human sexual behavior and certain private part of a woman’s body is not a sick joke to any normal human being except to one with a sick mind with questionable perverted taste.

Imparting scientific knowledge to people who may benefit from it is a noble endeavor. You may not appreciate certain kind of knowledge, but you are being selfish in trying to curb freedom of opinion in stupidly saying “Earnest, it’s just wrong taste, wrong place and wrong timing”.

What Earnest said could save marriages if heeded by affected people with open minds who should not be denied the opportunity to learn something useful in this blog. If you do not like what EARNEST wrote, you need not read it.

Please refrain from being holier than thou when you yourself could be rotten inside-out.

53. #53 by ktteokt on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:53 pm

DOG?? Not just dog, running dog to be exact!

54. #54 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 12:16 am

Thanks, DAPHNE.

55. #55 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 1:12 am

You know what?? What I hate is people talking to themselves. Pathetic!

56. #56 by DAPHNE on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 8:05 am

What useful contribution has DarkHorse made to this blog thus far?

He jumped to weird and twisted conclusions.

He has no originality. He even plagiarized what EARNEST said of Jong
    being “A repressed and unhealthy mind could get intoxicated with wild and erotic fantasies..” verbatim, and use it without permission on EARNEST.

57. #57 by DAPHNE on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 2:21 pm

DarkHorse,

Try to emulate Jeffrey. He has positive values. When he was in doubt, he asked, and his doubts were cleared.
    He was never sarcastic. He never perverted scientific facts into something dirty or sick. Remember this…

Luke 11:9 -10 “So I say to you:
    Ask and it will be given to you;
    seek and you will find;
    knock and the door will be opened to you. “

Do not laugh at someone while awaiting confirmation of a biological fact from your lady doctor friend. Try to have more than professional interest in members of the opposite sex, and you will learn more about their mysteries.

Another thing, do not develop hatred in your heart for your fellow human beings. Remember this…

“Always give your best [in this blog], never get discouraged, never be petty; always remember, others may hate you, but those who hate you don’t win unless you hate them, and then you destroy yourself.” (modified from President Richard Nixon’s farewell speech)

58. #58 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 5:42 pm

Well said, DAPHNE,
    Jong, DarkHorse, pay heed.

59. #59 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 6:42 pm

Jeffrey,

Since you asked, the word “breast” does not only refer to something which DarkHorse and Jong might have been itching to lay both their hands on. Besides that, there are
    at least 9 other definitions for breast (as nouns) as follows:

1. organ on chest: either of two soft rounded organs on each side of the chest in women and men. In women the organs are more prominent and produce milk after childbirth. (Example: “He beat his breast in anger”)

2. zoology animal’s chest: the chest of an animal, especially a mammal or bird

3. zoology mammal’s milk gland: a milk-producing gland in mammals that corresponds to the human breast

4. somebody’s chest: the front of the human chest

5. dress garment section: the part or section of clothing covering the front of the chest

6. food meat from animal’s chest: meat from the chest of an animal, especially from a chicken or other poultry

7. rounded part: a part that is rounded or projecting, or in some way resembles a breast (Example: the breast of a hill)

8. seat of emotions: the chest regarded as the place where human emotions reside ( literary ) (Example: with pride filling my breast)

9. font of nourishment: a source of sustenance or protection ( literary )

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 9 January 2008 - 6:01 am

EARNEST: noted, thanks for the comments.

61. #61 by Colonel on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 7:41 am

Says Earnie aka Daftnee about Dark Horse,

“He has no originality. He even plagiarized what EARNEST said of Jong
    being “A repressed and unhealthy mind could get intoxicated with wild and erotic fantasies..” verbatim

Poor Earnie. He must be getting senile not to see or see but not understanding that it was in quotations! LOL