A Plea for our Malaysian Indians

by Azly Rahman

The economic anarchy of capitalist society as it exists today is, in my opinion, the real source of the evil. We see before us a huge community of producers the members of which are unceasingly striving to deprive each other of the fruits of their collective labor–not by force, but on the whole in faithful compliance with legally established rules.

—– Albert Einstein. in “Why Socialism?” (1949)

What do I think of Western civilization? I think it would be a very good idea.

—— Mohandas K. Gandhi

Will Queen Elizabeth II of England pay for the 150-year suffering of the Malaysian Indians? How would reparations be addressed, in an age wherein we are still mystified by newer forms of colonialism — The English Premier League, Malaysian Eton-clones, Oxbridge education, and British rock musicians such as the guitarist-astrophysicist Dr. Brian May of the better-than-the-Beatles rock group Queen (recently appointed chancellor of a Liverpool university)?

Who in British Malaya collaborated with the British East India company in facilitating the globalized system of indentured slavery?

Will the present government now pay attention to the 50-year problem of the Malaysian Indians?

What we need

We need to untangle this ideological mess and listen to the pulse of the nation. We are hyperventilating, from the ills of a 50-year indentured self-designed pathological system of discriminatory servitude of the mind and body, fashioned after the style of colonialism.

We need a crash course in the history of reparation, slavery, and the declaration universal human rights. We need to understand the style of British colonialism as it collaborates with the local power elites of any colony it buried its tentacles in and sucked dry the blood, sweat, and tears of the natives it dehumanizes and subhumanizes. We need to calculate how much the imperialists and the local chieftains gained from the trafficking of human labor — across time and space and throughout history. In short, we need to educate ourselves on the anatomy, chemistry, anthropology, and post-structurality of old and newer forms of imperialism. British imperialism has successfully structured a profitable system of the servitude of the body, mind, and soul and has transferred this ideology onto the natives wishing to be “more British than their brown skins can handle”.

We need to encourage our children to read about the system of indentured slavery — of the kangchu and kangani and how the Malays are also relegated to becoming “reluctant” producers of the colonial economy. The Malay’s reluctance cost the people the British designation “lazy native”. We need to also learn from the “Orang Asli” and the natives of each state and how their philosophy of developmentalism is more advanced that the programs prescribed under the successive five year Malaysian Plans. A philosophy of development that respects and symbiozises with Nature is certainly more appropriate for cultural dignity than the one we have been subjected to; one that exploits human beings and destroys the environment under the guise of “progress”.

Our history lessons mask the larger issue of traditional, modern, and corporate control of the means of production of Malaya. We see the issue of race being played up from time immemorial; issue of convenience and necessity to the sustenance of the status quo and the proliferation of modern local oligopoly and plutocracy. Our history classes have failed our generation that is in need of the bigger picture; ones that will allow us to see what is outside of our caged construction of historicizing. Our historians, from the court propagandist Tun Sri Lanang to our modern historians written under the mental surveillance of the ruling parties have not been true to the demand of the production of knowledge based on social and humanistic dimensions of factualizing historical accounts.

We need study the political-economy of the rubber and canning industry and the relationship between the British and the American empire as industrialization began to take off.

The Indians in Malaysia have all the rights to ask for reparation and even most importantly they have the rights as rightful citizens of Malaysia to demand for equality and equal opportunity as such accorded to the “Bumiputera”. In fact each and every Malaysian regardless of racial origin must be given such rights. Failure to do so we will all be guilty of practising neo-colonialism and we will one day be faced with similar issue of reparation; this time marginalized Malaysians against the independent government of Malaysia. How are we going to peacefully correct the imbalances if we do not learn from the history of international slavery, labor migration, and human labor trafficking that, in the case of HINDRAF, involves millions of Tamils from the Tamil Nadu province?

Help the Indians now!

I once wrote a piece calling for all of us to help the least privileged of our fellow Malaysian — the Indians. The piece called for the leaders to stop fighting and to help each other as well.

I wrote a passage on the need to help each other in the spirit of selflessness and collaboration:

“It is time for the other races to engage in serious and sincere gotong-royong to help the poorest of the poor amongst the Indians. It is time that we become possessed with a new spirit of multicultural marhaenism. The great Indonesian leader Ahmed Soekarno popularised the concept of marhaenism as an antidote to the ideological battle against materialism, colonialism, dependency and imperialism. The thought that the top 10 percent of the richest Malaysians are earning more than 20 times compared to the 90 percent of the population is terrifying. What has become of this nation that promised a just distribution of wealth at the onset of Independence?”

Now we have a better scenario — we have the rights group that is beginning to pull together,close ranks, and demand for their basic human rights that have been denied. Not only their rights to be accorded places of worship and economic justice, but also the rights to look at history and ourselves and interrogate what actually happened and who actually was responsible for the misery, desolation, and sustained abject poverty they have been subjected to.

Not a Hindu problem

It is not a Hindu problem — it is universal problem that cut across race and religion. If we believe in what religion has taught us about human dignity and the brotherhood and sisterhood of humanity, we will all be speaking in one voice rallying for those who demand for their rights to live with dignity.

In HINDRAF, I believe there are Hindus, Muslims, Christians, Catholics, atheists, Buddhists, Sikhs, Bahais, Jains, etc rallying for the cause. In other words there are human beings speaking up for peace and social justice. It is the right of each and every Malaysian to lend support to their demands.

We have let the Indians in Malaysia suffer for too long. We ought to have a program of Affirmative Action in place. We ought to have a sound program for alleviation of poverty for the Indians and radically improve their conditions through political action, education, and cultural preservation. We ought to extract the enabling aspects of culture though and perhaps reconstruct the our understanding of the relationship between culture and human progress.

But can the current political paradigm engineer a solution to the problems of the Malaysian Indians, as long as politics — after 50 years — is still British colonialist-imperialist-oppressive in nature? We have evolved into a sophisticated politically racist nation, hiding our discriminatory policies with the use of language that rationalizes what the British imperialists brutally did in the open.

But our arguments cannot hold water any loner. Things are falling apart — deconstructed. The waves of demands, the frequency of rallies, and the excavating of issues drawn from the archaeology of our fossilized arrogant knowledge — all these are symptoms of deconstructionism in our body politics. It is like the violent vomit of a rehabilitating Cocaine addict undergoing treatment in a Buddhist monastery somewhere in northern Thailand.

We are social beings

We cannot continue to alienate each other through arguments on “social contract” that is alien from perhaps what Jean Jacques Rousseau the great wrote about some 300 years ago — a philosophy that inspired the founding of America, a nation of immigrants constantly struggling (albeit imperfectly) to meet the standards requirements of equality, equity, and equal opportunity especially in education.

How do we come together, as Malaysians, as neo-bumiputeras free from false political-economic and ideological dichotomies of Malays versus non-Malays, “bumi” versus “non-bumis’ and craft a better way of looking at our political, economic, social, cultural, and psychological, and spiritual destiny — so that we may continue to survive as a species of Malaysians the next 50 years?

As a privileged Malaysian whose mother tongue is the Malay language and as one designated as a “bumiputera”, I want to see the false dichotomies destroyed and a new sense of social order emerging, based on a more just form of linguistic play designed as a new Merdeka game plan.

Think Malaysian – we do not have anything to lose except our mental chains. We have a lot to gain in seeing the oppressed be freed from the burden of history; one that is based on the march of materialism. We are essentially social beings, as Einstein would emphasize. Our economic design must address the socialism of existence.

Let us restructure of policies to help the Malaysian Indians — they are our lawful citizens speaking up for their fundamental rights. Let us help restructure the lives of the poor before they restructure the lives of the rich.

1. #1 by liaw3003sc on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 7:43 am

Dear Azly Rahman, the ‘Botak Head’ and 30% of UMNOputra needs only to have 10% of your Malaysian mindset and the country will prosper like mad! These people are making use of the ‘NEP’ to protect their own interest; they shall not be at their current position if not for the political ‘sensitivity’ and sentiment they are creating to keep them there.

You are absolutely right; we shall all endeavor to help the Indian! They have been left to struggle on their own. I’m old enough to watch how the vast piece of ‘estate’ on where the current Subang Jaya, USJ, gleanmerrie and many new townships all over the country were located had progressed. Were the then Indian estate workers properly, systematically taken care of like having the FELDA scheme for our Malay Felda settlers (sorry to say that they were not even doing anything impressively productive in the kampung at that time compare to the estate workers)? Hold your heart and you know what I mean. The Indians who lost their estate jobs need governmental assistance to relocate them for long term career path, otherwise it would surely evolve into social problems like what we see today! The semi value, under the oppressive UMNO racist policy (to keep to its own position, of course) keep on denying the fact that Indian had been gradually left out of the mainstream of the economic development. Look around the situation of the Indian now, then you could realise for yourselve if the so called ‘compromisory negotiation within the BN’ worked! Yes, it worked so well that die-die the Umnoputras want it to stay forever. Wake-up lah, our non-Malay BN component parties’ leaders; don’t let the Umnoputras lead you to Holland. Your race will no more be blindfolded by your Umno narrated sweet talk forever.

Please have affirmative plan for our poor, irrespective of race and religion. Will those true ‘Muslim’ whose God abhor unfairness speak out for them within your community? We need your help for the long term peace of our loving country!
    Berjuang untuk negara dan agama!

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 8:07 am

I pay sympathy to the conditions of some Indians, but as I mentioned earlier, there are poor people in all races. The fight for the poor should be for all Malaysians. I wished some of you can see the living conditions of the natives in Sarawak. They are not having a good living, and yet their lands are robbed away. Look at those big taukays behind the timber companies and plantations. We know who are the real robbers.

When the gap between the rich and poor enlarged, and when most people became poor because of a small fraction of rich people, the best system will be communism. Communists were bad in China, but compared to the nationalists, they were better. They tried to fill the stomach of the poor instead of robbing away from them.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 8:19 am

“….//….We cannot continue to alienate each other through arguments on “social contract” that is alien from perhaps what Jean Jacques Rousseau the great wrote about some 300 years ago – a philosophy that inspired the founding of America, a nation of immigrants constantly struggling (albeit imperfectly) to meet the standards requirements of equality, equity, and equal opportunity especially in education…//…” – Dr Azly Rahman.

On our so-called “Social Contract”, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Nazri Abdul Aziz however said it would stay – as reported by Fauwaz Abdul Aziz on 3rd Nov in Malaysiakini.

This is what Malaysiakini reported.

When Nazri was asked his views on a survey commissioned by the Asia Foundation which found the majority of Chinese and Indian youths stating they were discriminated, Nazri ADMITTED that the incidence of inequality in Malaysia was undeniable but he rationalized and justified this ‘state of affairs to the social contract reached 50 years ago by representatives of the racial communities who agreed that Malays would enjoy certain privileges in return for the granting of citizenship rights to members of the migrant communities”. “The only way such an arrangement can be changed is if future generations of Malaysians decide on revising that contract. Until then, said Nazri, the government is charged with carrying out the agreement. It’s not just about what the Indian and Chinese (youths) want. You have to ask the Malays also, whether they want the social contract to be renegotiated. It’s up to them…. As of today, I know the Malays are not prepared to renegotiate,” he added.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 8:22 am

The voice of idealistic vision as expounded by intellectual Malays like Azly Rahman and Dr. Noor and others while it gives hope, I fear give false hope.

In the history of Malay, they have never been led by intellectual idealist. While there have always been Malay intellectual, the history of Malay have been almost exclusively led by more baser instinct of power, wealth, religion, even love (wars over princess are part of Malay folklore). Wherever a leader tried to leap for greater ideals, they have been punished and punished severely. As far back as Hang Tuah that was punished for advising the Sultan against his wishes. We all know the price paid by Dr. Onn and even our dear Tunku for their bigger ideals.

Whether or not these intellectuals like Dr. Azly can make a difference depend really on influence of new technologies and ideas on the masses. If not for the internet, Dr. Azly and Dr. Noor could have been almost entirely ignored.

No, I don’t put much faith in these expounding of ideals from Malay intellectuals. The likes of KJ, exploitative of old and new ways, has much more influence and there lies the real danger in Malaysian society.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 9:11 am

“Let us restructure of policies to help the Malaysian Indians – they are our lawful citizens speaking up for their fundamental rights. Let us help restructure the lives of the poor before they restructure the lives of the rich.”

Restructure or be re-structured.

There is more in common between Indians and Malays than our politicians would like us believe – language, culture, history. It is not a gross exaggeration to say that the lines separating the two may at times be so blurred that a Malay does not know when he stops being Malay and starts being Indian.

Watch a Malay wedding and you know what I mean. How many of us are able to separate Malay from Indian customs? Take for example, the ‘mandi lulur’. Like the Indians, a day before the wedding, traditional Malay bride and groom would take a special bath scrub. Then there is the ‘majlis berinai’ when the Malay bride has henna applied onto her hands and feet. Is that not similar to the ‘mehndi’ ceremony in an Indian wedding? During the ‘bersanding’ ceremony, guests and family members are invited to participate in the ‘tepung tawar’ or blessing, anointing the couple’s upturned palms with scented water, ‘pandan potpurri’ and rice. Is this not Indian in origin if not itself Indian custom? Then there is the practice among Malays of having weddings on Thursdays regarded by Indians as auspicious.

This bears testimony to the fact that Malays and Indians have a shared history, a shared culture and shared customs. Sankskrit words in the Malay language is further proof of this shared history. The Malays were Hindus before they were Muslims. Wasn’t Parameswara, Parameswara?

This is to take but only one aspect of Malay life – weddings. We are not even into cuisine yet!

So why are Malays and Indians so divided today?

Blame the politicians. They have vested interests in seeing Malays and Indians divided. The politics of race over some five decades have kept them artificially apart. How else could UMNO and MIC leaders both retain their jobs? Imagine for a second, the racial divide between the two races are to disappear overnight. What would happen to UMNO and MIC? Imagine Samy Vellu without his toupee! Imagine Abdullah Badawi opening his eyes!

So I say we shoot the politicians!

If HINDRAF goes ahead with their RM3.0 trillion class action law suit (I never could count the zeros), then the Chinese would go ahead with their God knows how many more zeros. Wouldn’t it break the bank? Wouldn’t it bankrupt the Bank of England? Did some guy from Hemel Hempstead, south of London, do just that not too long ago? What if the Malays were to commence their own class action law suit against the British government for allowing the hardworking Chinese and Indians to come to Malaya since ‘lazy Malays’ refused to work in tin mines and rubber estates?

Food for a lot of thought.

6. #6 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 9:50 am

I think we all do agree with undergrad2 that politicians are the ones who mess this country up. We can all thank Dr. Mahathir for that. It started the day he fancied himself emperor. Unfortunately our politicians are the most selfish bunch of people on earth. They lie, practice racism and steal us blind. Our nation must be cursed for us to be saddled with this bunch power crazed money grabbing bunch of nitcompoops.

Recently I went round with my wife and her colleages on her Hari Raya visits. I must say that my spirit was somewhat lifted in that in nearly all the households visited, the number of non-Malay visitors easily outnumbered the Malays. When I mentioned this to our hosts, they told me that this is a common trait every year. If fact, one lady told us that she even prepare special treats just for her non-Malay guests. However, one observation which is disturbing is that their children on the other hand do not seem to mix as much as their parents. During Chinese New Year, most visitors are actually our children’ friends of all races. In the Malay households visited, I hardly see this. Is our education system failing us?

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 9:55 am

Will Queen Elizabeth II of England pay for the 150-year suffering of the Malaysian Indians?

She will just point to the Afro-Americans in the US, Caribbean, Central and South America and asks, “Will these governments pay for the 300-year suffering of their Blacks? I shall pay up as soon as they agree to pay.”

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 10:11 am

In history, we learned that Chinese in Malaya were brought in as tin miners.

A group of Chinese in Sibu, originated from Foochow, were brought here by Wong Nai Siong, who signed an agreement with the white Rajah to bring in labours to cultivate the land. Wong Nai Siong is still treated as a hero by the ruling party, SUPP. He was also a missionary for the Methodist church.

I have been wondering if we should also ask the Methodist church for compensation. Our ancestors were brought in from China, some of whom died on their way in the boat. More seeking for compensation like this will arise from the Chinese communities.

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 10:13 am

Can there be a true liberal Malay ideal state give that PAS is their main opposition? PAS already have distanced themselves from Hindraf claims although they support the rally as means of voicing opposition. They don’t support the end of NEP and ‘ketuanan Melayu’.

Does UMNO really have a choice but pander to the right-wing of its party? I say no…

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 10:34 am

Please correct missing letter in:

“Not a Hindu problem
    (para 5)
    But our arguments cannot hold water any loner.”

I think if HINDRAF makes an appeal to all the poor Malaysians, KL will be in for another protest march as the Deputy Minister says more poor Malay households than Indian in Malaysia.

Is this one of the causes?
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/12/one-possible-cause-for-poverty-among.html

11. #11 by sotong on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 10:42 am

Unless you don’t care of your political survival, no UMNO or PAS politician will come forward to end NEP….no matter how damaging and unfair its exploited policies are to the country!

12. #12 by greenacre on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:11 am

I was watching aljazeera and heard a clear voice in the crowd stating (translated)’they are saying Bumiputra! Bumiputra everytime but brother we are the Bumiputras.”
    In a flat world (T.Friedman) many countries will be flattened whether one likes it or not. Malaysian government had been playing the race card all these years and successfully too. A paradigm shift has to take place. A level playing field with assistance to the needy has to be in place. Everyone need to be told they are citizens and nothing else matters. The birth of a Malaysian must be heralded.
    Despite saying all this I am pessimistic that such a change will be realized in the distant future. For far too long we had been stirring the Salad Bowl rather than the Melting Pot.

13. #13 by hutchrun on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:12 am

MEDIA STATEMENT
    3-12-2007

RE : 1. PEACEFUL ASSEMBLY CASUALTIES
    2. AT LEAST ONE ALLEGEDLY KILLED
    3. POLICE BEAT UP AND POLICE BRUTALITY ON
    PEACEFUL ASSEMBLERS.
    4. AT LEAST ONE SUFFERED FROM PARTIAL PARALYSIS AS A RESULT OF FORCED INHALATION OF EXCESSIVE TEAR GAS AND CHEMICAL LACED WATER CANON.
    5. ONE HUNDRED OVER BELIEVED INJURED.
    http://policewatchmalaysia.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1196673359&archive=&start_from=&ucat=9&

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:15 am

Will the Indians look at themselves first and ask what sort of leadership they have that allowed themselves to be marginalised to the point of no return ?

15. #15 by hutchrun on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:19 am

Godfather,

Hindraf has made those Indians do just that. For the first time MIC is rolling in the gutters. One reason why I support Hindraf. The staunch MIC chairman in my area was explaining to me the other day, that MIC will not get a single vote (though they`ll `pretend` to remain MIC members).

16. #16 by hutchrun on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:21 am

Hindraf-rightly or wrongly (and that can be debated till the cows come home) is the best thing that ever happened to the Indians.

17. #17 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:27 am

If Orang Asli and Iban/Dayak stand up, all the bumiputra will have to leave. No matter they are Chinese, Indian or Malay. They will have to get into the same sampan and leave. This kind of story is happening everywhere, from Uncle Sam to Boleh. You conquered the land and make yourself king, and name yourself bumiputra. Those who come after you will be nonbumi or illegal.

18. #18 by Jimm on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:33 am

A bridge too far ……..

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:41 am

“…//….PAS already have distanced themselves from Hindraf claims although they support the rally as means of voicing opposition. They don’t support the end of NEP and ‘ketuanan Melayu’…//…”- Big Joe.

Did PAS explicitly say that they don’t support the end of NEP and ‘ketuanan Melayu’? I don’t really think so but believe it is ambivalent on this issue, telling different people different stories.

What is PAS telling Non Malays – that race is not important but religion is? Does it mean an end of NEP, and as trade off, the establishment of an Islamic theocratic state? Is the theocratic state abandoned? – I don’t think so because if it takes away the NEP what’s the compensating advantage to its constituency if it is not the superiority and primacy of their religion upheld in a theocratic state? On the other hand if the theocratic state is upheld based on the supremacy of the majority’s religion, is there a change in ketuanan Melayu concept except that it is based then on ‘ketuanan’ of the majority’s religion instead of race?

In relation to Hindraf, “we believe that the demands and accusations made by the Hindraf leaders are extreme and we want the government to take action,” said PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang in a statement. He said if Hindraf leaders did make such extreme accusations, “they must be dealt with according to law”. Hindraf reportedly claimed that Indians had suffered ethnic cleansing in the hands of plainclothes policemen and armed Malay civilians under the instructions of Umno during the 2001 Kg Medan racial clash. Contacted later, Hadi’s press secretary Roslan Shahir said the allegation by Hindraf leaders that the Indian community is victim of a government-endorsed ‘ethnic cleansing’ was baseless and extreme. Hindraf legal adviser P Uthayakumar, when met last week, denied terming the Kg Medan incident as ‘ethnic cleansing’ but had called it’mini-genocide’ instead. (Source : Malaysiakini’s report Dec 3rd ).

So what exactly is PAS’s beef in asking government to take action against Hindraf’s leaders?

Certainly not the fact that Hindraf’s demonstration was illegal because the Bersih’s was just vas illegal with PAS’s supporters dominating the proceedings.

Does it not suggest that PAS is protesting because it implies that Hindraf’s actions are inciting on racist lines? Wouldn’t this imply further PAS supports government’s charging Hindraf’s leaders with sedition under the very Sedition Act that PAS has all along labeled as draconian?

As a measure of the extent of Opposition’s unity or otherwise, I call on the Alternative Opposition to articulate its stand in principle on this issue.

Do defacto leader of PKR Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and YB Kit of DAP agree or dissociate with Abdul Hadi Awang’s statement that government should take action on Hindraf leaders?

20. #20 by hutchrun on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 11:53 am

Malaysian Indian force to speak against HINDRAF to be at RTM 1 and 2.
    http://policewatchmalaysia.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1196676392&archive=&start_from=&ucat=9&

21. #21 by sotong on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 12:11 pm

Why Malays like Indian movies?? There are more similarity than differences.

Human decency is about leaving ordinary people to live their ordinary lives of ordinary aspirations….politicians get lost!!

22. #22 by rajanjohn on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 1:49 pm

I want the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$….

23. #23 by karlmarx8 on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 2:39 pm

“We need to encourage our children to read about the system of indentured slavery – of the kangchu and kangani and how the Malays are also relegated to becoming “reluctant” producers of the colonial economy. The Malay’s reluctance cost the people the British designation “lazy native”. We need to also learn from the “Orang Asli” and the natives of each state and how their philosophy of developmentalism is more advanced that the programs prescribed under the successive five year Malaysian Plans. A philosophy of development that respects and symbiozises with Nature is certainly more appropriate for cultural dignity than the one we have been subjected to; one that exploits human beings and destroys the environment under the guise of “progress”. ”

————————————————————–
    Orang asli is not a lazy race. Capitalism has never ever been in their history. There is no basis to make judgment comparing the British (or anybody of such “progressiveness”)capitalism to that of Orang asli and the fact also to the Malay in earlier times.

Orang asli life is that of nature…with the nature. There is no status of progress or priority in life other than the progress of the cultivation of the paddy. Whatever hard work is seen from the fruits of the harvest from the wild jungle.

Recently, they are complaining that the marrieds are given a designated plot of land, couple of acres which hardly can find foods around except some lalang! So, the chief old man of the village was telling that “sekarang dia orang bagi semua sudah khawin, kita tua taada, sekarang kita mau duduk mana? Taada tanah. Duduk atas batu ka? Apa dia orang mau buat sekarang”.

In contrast, the Indians and Chinese civilisations are more aggressive in their progressive society and that every structure of these peoples had been evolved through many centuries. Therefore, lazy is mean lazy per se if there is no production from ones hands, the mind and even in speech. There is always a benchmark in the progresses of these advance civilisations. Malay had only awaken in the 18th or so century(in economics term)and they had been sitting under coconut trees which is nothing wrong or uncivilised for that matter. Only when the British start to compare laze around with that of turning timbers into ships, and tin into holding “pots”, without mercy and understanding of the local “tribe”, they had been blamed for being lazy. The British then are not learned though, but roughshods to grind a few more pounds from exploiting the new found ventures.

This is just what we are watching right now of the new ruling class of the Malaysian politics. Opportunistic, piling up bank accounts but without knowing what’s “worth”. The recent new Chinese millionaires acted the same line of “lost soul” and there is one chap who bought 30 units of Hummer (I don’t know how much it costs, but its an expensive high end American 4wheel – maybe not less than half a million U$ per unit). Compare to both Warren Buffet and Bill Gates they have gone “underground” to do philanthropist work. It would be “hell” if you get the SatayMan to do these work and finish his RM for the welfare of the less fortunate. We cannot blame these “lost soul” for they are still learning what’s money “‘worth” for a RM!

So, when Indians (and others as well with the exception of the NEP beneficiaries)are deprived of the economics, social and cultural progresses, it very much that they have lost their soul entirely, like a zombie. Worst, they have been betrayed all these years they have been “sold” as a high earning and well-heel group of doctors, lawyers, architects, engineers but sad case the very displaced estates and the mass are not been given priority.

Do the “long walk” from the estates, new villages, kampungs to the town and tell your story!

24. #24 by LittleBird on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 7:12 pm

“A plea for OUR malaysian Indian” Azly Rahman.

If only we have more people like him. Thank you my fellow malaysian.

25. #25 by sumbiling on Tuesday, 4 December 2007 - 10:28 pm

as a bumiputra, i would like to say that i’m ready to “compete” with anyone. i’m ready for the bumiputra status to be taken away from me so that everybody in malaysia will play on an even field.

i’m saying this not because i’m rich enough to compete with the rich chinese, or capable indians or even the rightful malays but for the sake of justice and love. i’m just a normal man. i work for living and i’m only earning 600 per month. but yes… i say again… i’m ready.

why am i ready to face this whereas i myself not doing so well for my living? as i said before… for the sake of justice and love.

i was taught to be fair and to love everyone since i was small. my religion teach me to love everyone, even your enemy, even those who hurts you.. so i stood on that principle.

will the rich non bumis be ready to help the poor bumis? it is a fact that there are poor people in all races in malaysia… but it is undeniable that most of them are the bumiputras.

i have one chinese friend, a very close friend. he comes from a poor family. rm350 per month. what do you expect his mother to give to her 4 children with that earning? he is a smart student and he scored straight A’s for his SPM. his sister had to work after she finished her secondary school because of him although she had a very good chance to further her study. my dad always ask him to have a meal with us.

have u guys been to the remote areas of sabah and sarawak? have u seen children going to school without shoes? have you seen people that eats only rice and water? they are not crying anyway, they smile when they see you.

some people say they know that there a lot of poor people… but have they seen how the poor people live? if you are really care about these people, you will cry when you see them smiling to you..

a lot of people are using this poor people issue to show to people that they care.. but the fact is they dont do anything about it.

it is really touching to see people without houses and having just enough food for the day. it sadden me when a little boy crying for a toy when the mother have only enough money to buy a rice for the family.

so… my non bumi friends… are u ready to pass the ball to me if we are playing football on an even field so that i can score a goal that will bring us to victory? i say… i’m ready to substitute you if you experienced an injury for the sake of the team…

26. #26 by cheeran70 on Thursday, 6 December 2007 - 5:46 pm

My frens, Uthayakumar and Waythamoorthy sure know that the Queen won’t give us, the Indians, a single cent. If one only cared to see the depth of human psychology, these lawyers played a good and I would say, brilliant political game. How to make something deemed, insignificant looks significant? One must bring something significant to relate to that which is insignificant. So by dragging the Queen in, they managed to get the whole focussed their attention to us and what is happening here currently, leaving the ruling coalitions yelling racial slogans to protect their own interests.