Boycott the newspapers!

(Turned off by the mainstream media treatment of the Hindraf demonstration on Sunday, 25th November 2007, Malaysiakini columnist Helen Ang has made the following call for boycott of the newspapers.)

by Helen Ang
MalaysiakiniNov 29, 07

I feel like I’ve just been slapped, kicked and punched. And I’m neither Indian nor Hindu.

The way mainstream media (MSM) have painted our fellow Malaysians black makes me thoroughly sick. MSM have assaulted Indians through their derogatory portrayal of the community and it stings me. Aliran Media Monitor’s Diary has effectively dissected MSM spin on the Hindraf rally to show up how unconscionable their coverage has been.

When a community with its back to the wall takes to the street, I sympathise. I do not mock the melodramatic form of their lawsuit and petition. I understand that the massive turnout on Nov 25 was a cry of distress. Nathaniel Tan’s ‘Why I will walk this Sunday’ is an eloquent peroration on why all Malaysians must wake up, now.

I wish I had read Nat’s piece earlier but it was only uploaded on his blog Saturday — a mere day before the gathering was to take place. His exposition is something to turn over in our heads and help us in our soul-searching because Nat spoke straight from the heart. Mighty MSM, I’m afraid, speak from the pay pocket.

There was a dearth of information in the public domain running up to the Hindraf rally, and later contradicting accounts of what really happened. Which only indicates MSM have long since lost any right to call themselves ‘newspapers’. A fortnight earlier, the Star had quoted police on a crowd segment of 4,000 at the Bersih march. This small number is deliberately misleading.

And again with Hindraf, MSM deliberately omitted an accurate depiction of the massive turnout. They failed to credit why Indians streamed into KL from all over the country. All they did was spin for their political masters.

What’s important to MSM

The Star peddles itself as the People’s Paper. This People’s Paper gave the Bersih rally all of a single page’s coverage, reflecting how much The Star thinks of the Malaysian people — us. It did not carry any picture of the crowds or of human beings. It had one photograph of motorcars stuck in a jam.

When casino magnate Lim Goh Tong died, he was front page news. Bersih on the other hand was hidden away in the middle pages. The Star devoted seven pages to the late tycoon. And it talked about the Tan Sri for days after, to the extent of telling us how much his funeral wreaths cost.

Lim is not ‘people’, he’s one person. Instead of the People’s Paper, the Star might want to consider tagging itself ‘the Very Important Person or VIP’s Paper’.

Then there was that column in The Sun headlined “Not everybody needs to demonstrate, please” which implied the tens of thousands of Malaysians at the Bersih rally had turned out in support of “a group whose acronym could be mistaken for a Clean Toilet campaign”. Jacqueline Ann Surin wrote: “All I wanted to do last Saturday was go for a facial … ”

Almost everyone took Surin’s flippant column at face value. She’s a well-known journalist who has advocated working within the system. However, her own take on the Bersih march is surely an indictment of the system’s limitations. ‘Proper channels’ serve only to restrict the reporter and his report becomes equivocal. Surin is an assistant news editor no less; how would foot soldiers fare in trying to get their stories past the gatekeepers?

Meaningful access to the public is ever so precious in these our turbulent times; Surin wasted hers talking about her irrelevant Saturday. I am going to fight for the public space which will enable a write-up like blogger Nat Tan’s unflinching Sunday to get the widest possible airing.

Call for Hartal

‘Do we, the people, have it in us to bring the falsehood mongers to their knees?’

The above question was tossed by civil rights lawyer Haris Ibrahim in The People’s Parliament. What Haris asks is urgent in view of the general election coming up.

We need credible information. The public knew too little about Hindraf before last week and hence couldn’t make up our minds whether to support the march or not. So we don’t want to be confused by MSM lies when the election comes around.

We need credible reporters to seek and speak the truth, even if these are citizen journos in pyjamas. There have been three street walks, all of them ‘illegal’. The authorities have criminalised the freedom to assemble peacefully — a right guaranteed us in our Constitution. MSM is in denial by making out participants of the walks to be the bad guys.

Newspapers are nothing more than errand boys delivering warning telegrams from Umno and its lackeys: May 13, ISA, sack teachers who support Hindraf and other innumerable threats.

These newspapers do not have many credible news editors, only some incredible spinmeisters.

Not only does MSM keep us in the dark, they spooked us with Hindraf’s alleged sedition, left us wondering whether the gathering would proceed, and if another Ops Lalang was underway.

We buy newspapers with the expectation of reading reliable reports but if these are not forthcoming, why waste money? Or pay to have our intelligence insulted. The act of saying ‘No’ to newspapers is hardly taxing for those of you reading this now. The harder task is to spread it as a national message and convince others.

A cause everyone can support

We are not breaking any law by making a personal decision not to buy newspapers.

We are not causing trouble by refusing to read newspapers.

We are not promoting racial disunity by boycotting newspapers.

Religion is not in this picture frame.

We’re doing good by saving money, close to RM1,000, in fact, if we cancel two annual subscriptions.

Why do this? Because we are Malaysians with conscience and our conscience is troubled.

We’d like everybody — anyone who reads online — to hop aboard and join in our demand for an end to MSM spinning and spinning webs of deceit.

Connect with us on how to break the mighty MSM monopoly of the Malaysian mind. We’d like your participation at People’s Parliament.

Cyberspace is as real as you care to make it. We can do more than talk. We can act.

We will.

Hartal!

1. #1 by Libra2 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 7:35 am

Well written Helen,
    You said ,”When casino magnate Lim Goh Tong died, he was front page news.”
    In this country my dear, A dead rich Chinese or Malay is surely more important than 30,000 living Malaysians on the street.
    May I suggest each one of us send out SMSs to your friends and plead with them boycott the newspapers, except the SUN, which is free.
    A 30% drop is sale will affect their advertisements and bottom line. It may perhaps drive journalists and editors to the streets as well!

2. #2 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 7:48 am

“The way mainstream media (MSM) have painted our fellow Malaysians black makes me thoroughly sick. ”

How could anyone paint the Indians black??

3. #3 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 7:55 am

“When casino magnate Lim Goh Tong died, he was front page news. Bersih on the other hand was hidden away in the middle pages. The Star devoted seven pages to the late tycoon. And it talked about the Tan Sri for days after, to the extent of telling us how much his funeral wreaths cost.

Lim is not ‘people’, he’s one person.”

He’s not just any person. He gave jobs to thousands and is a legend. He began by collecting empty bottles and tins – a story of rags to riches!

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 8:52 am

http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/11/29/bloomberg/sxview.php
    The biggest source of discontent is race, a four-letter word in a country where three-fifths of the 27 million people are Malays, about a quarter of the population is Chinese and 10 percent is Indian….There was an uproar last year when a Malaysian economist argued in a study that the goal may already have been more than met and that it was time to dismantle economic policies based on race. The political rhetoric is still staunchly against any such dilution of affirmative action. At his party’s annual congress this month, Abdullah described Malay interests and the social contract between communities as “sacred.”

5. #5 by sparrow on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 8:53 am

I have stopped buying mainstream newspaper long time ago. Ever since the NSTP vs blogger saga. It is also good as we can help to keep more trees on the earth.

6. #6 by k1980 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:00 am

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1135947
    “What is happening [to Indians] in Malaysia,” Sharanya told DNA from her Chennai home, “is nothing less than formal apartheid.”

7. #7 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:04 am

Look! How does boycotting some newspapers solve anything??? They just resize their operations, kick some journalists out who then go on to start political blogs – and then what?? Families will have to starve?

Get real! You gotta do more than that to bring about ‘change’.

8. #8 by kktan9812 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:04 am

Totally supportive Libra2 suggestion. I myself stop buying Malaysia newspaper quite sometimes ago. We should all stop buying the local newspaper. Give a pinch into their pockets. If anyone still want to read the crap in the newspaper, just get online to read.

Newspapers are no longer newspapers. Journalists are no longer journalist. They are just a bunch or crap writer that write on crap papers.

9. #9 by mendela on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:13 am

Earlier one of the MSM echo a stupid UMO leader’s logic: Since the ballot boxes to be used for coming GE is transpant, the future GE will be totally transparent!

Transparent my foot!

10. #10 by mendela on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:29 am

Diaperhead said //He’s not just any person. He gave jobs to thousands and is a legend.//

Well said.
    But uncle Lim was also in sin business, just like Vincent Tan. Tens of thousands of Malaysians had gambled aways their kids tuition fees at Genting!

Many people committed suicide after losing big in Genting!

Many families were broken into pieces after people losing huge at Genting!

Did Star really need 7 pages for such sin people?

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:45 am

Even if newspaper sales drop to negligible, the papers here will not change. The only thing that will wipe them out is cheap quality broadband.

To me what is most disgusting and unapologetic is the irresponsibility and stupidity of fanning the words of right-wing politicians in what is already a volatile situation. While stupid politicians are plenty, the few editors we have, none of them had enough brainsto see that they could radicalize the Indians even more and practised restraint rather than parrotting and even sensationalizing the right-wingers views.

If Hindraf or any other movement going forward become violent, the media is as much to blame as the government for it.

I believe our PM is not very bright but our newspaper editors showed why they actually are worst them him.

12. #12 by borrring on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:52 am

No more papers for me as well….

13. #13 by St0rmFury on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 10:28 am

Bleh, I can’t boycott them because I still need them for business news in my line of work. Have to keep track of my competitors and what’s going on in the property market.

14. #14 by max2811 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 10:38 am

Stopped buying papers since last year. Saved me about RM40pm. There is so much news on the net. But it seems the Chinese papers are doing well. Can’t blame the editors or reporters. Warnings come from ‘DunnohowtospeakenglishZam’ not to write this or that.

15. #15 by wits0 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 10:41 am

I heartily agree with Helen Ang. Why pay to insult ourselves, furthermore?

I have boycotted ’em noosepapers for over a decade now except for rare picking up of the Sun, perhaps 4 times a month. Ditto the local TVs. Since the Net, both have become a serious irritant, an unnecessary angst and disgust.

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:09 am

I have always said, even though its another money maker for umnoputras largely, that broadband should be subsidized in Malaysia. Not about giving contracts to TM but the way AT&T was susidised for rolling out phones in rural area in the first half of the 20th century. Each broadband line connected outside a certain unprofitable limit is given a subsidy, the futher away, the higher the speed the more the subsidy.

17. #17 by Jackychin on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:10 am

YB Lim,

Give a specific time and period, I will heed the call…I read a lot of papers a day…

18. #18 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:36 am

I have stopped reading the MSM papers (even for free) for 3 years now, how about you?

19. #19 by LittleBird on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:44 am

Someone should just buy and scan all the pages and post it online. IS it against the law?

20. #20 by dawsheng on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:51 am

“Bleh, I can’t boycott them because I still need them for business news in my line of work. Have to keep track of my competitors and what’s going on in the property market.”

Are you sure? You can’t boycott even the papers are not credible, some kind of business you’re in.

21. #21 by dawsheng on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 11:53 am

Look! How does boycotting some newspapers solve anything??? They just resize their operations, kick some journalists out who then go on to start political blogs – and then what?? Families will have to starve?

Get real! You gotta do more than that to bring about ‘change’.

————————————————————-

Get real! Start with something, start kicking, like boycotting the newspapers.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 12:04 pm

“He’s not just any person. He gave jobs to thousands and is a legend. He began by collecting empty bottles and tins – a story of rags to riches!”

That is because he got the one and only casino license, further contributed billions in election fund (exclude undertable value and legal taxes) to to maintain BN as government so he can continue to monoplize the gambling business in Malaysia. Yes, Lim Goh Tong is a legend in business, but not in democracy.

23. #23 by wits0 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 12:21 pm

“Look! How does boycotting some newspapers solve anything???”

How does NOT boycotting the darn papers solve anything? The time has come to do so but it should have happened years earlier imo. The daily papers have lost their purpose and is now thoroughly the main enabler of lies and falsehood.

24. #24 by burn on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 12:26 pm

cyberspace? lu ingat semua orang mampu beli komputer! kalau ada pun, diaorang masih keno pakai phone line. lepas phone line, kena subscribe internet line. besides that, newspaper are still important for daily readers when having breakfast. true fact! some stories may be manipulate, but there are other things to read. well, i use to buy 3 papers, star, nst and mm. and get a free sun daily. but now, i only buy star!
    DAP/PKR/PAS should combine and go around di setiap kawasan penjuru perkampongan dan bandar kecil untuk menemui dan menerangkan moto pilihanraya mereka. not everyone know what was your moto for this coming election. soal ugama, ketepikan buat sementara waktu, sorry karpal! last election DAP make a lost. this time, DAP need PKR/PAS to move forward. DAP need to explains to its supporters the reason behind it. think as one, malaysian.

25. #25 by azk on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 1:03 pm

If we can rally tens of thousands of people to show up, I am sure we can rally more throughout the nation to observe a week of boycott on MSM newspapers.

One week, and we can show them that besides playing puppet to the government, they have to be responsible for the people too, their paying customer.

I myself has stopped buying TheStar for quite some time now.

Can Malaysian observe the week long boycott?

26. #26 by dawsheng on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 1:28 pm

Boycott the newspapers, boycott NEP products, boycott the court, boycott the general election, boycott all the way. Just don’t stop boycotting.

27. #27 by St0rmFury on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 2:25 pm

To dawsheng,

When it comes to general news, I rather read them from the internet. But business news and advertisements on the latest property launches I have to get them from the mainstream media. At least those news are credible.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 2:28 pm

So you guys want to boycott newspapers?? And it is a good start. And how does not boycotting help bring about ‘change’? These are smart questions by some smart people.

But never forget democracy is about freedom – including freedom to speak one’s mind without fear of ridicule. It does not include freedom to shout the other guy down! Aren’t some of you guilty of doing the very same thing as the BN gooks?? Remember Voltaire and his famous “I may disagree with you but I will defend to the death your right to disagree with me” shit??

Burn made a valid point i.e. until computers and the internet are within the reach of the common folks, they will need to depend on the print media for news about their children’s school, about relatives, about jobs, about universities and just about everything they need to know to get on with the mundane business of living their lives. It is naive to be thinking that newspapers are all about politics and political garbage manufactured by BN sympathisers to distort and to disinform and misinform readers. Those who go into business do so to support their families. They need to read to find out what is happening in the world of business.

So fellas! Like someone said, “Get Real!”

29. #29 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 2:40 pm

“How could anyone paint the Indians black??” – DiaperHead Says:

This is exactly why the Indians march, marginalisation of Indians not only comes from BN but also the society as a whole. This is a racist statement and should be retracted.

Seconly, Why does Helen still have faith in the MSM? I cancelled off my MSM 3 years back and I will be celebrating the the 4th anniversary next April.

that translate to …..

RM 1.30 x 365 x 4 = RM 1898.00

hahahaha, why buy shit when you can read shit from coffee shop?

30. #30 by swee_ann_tweety on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 2:40 pm

the boycott must be a sudden. If each and every individual boycotts at different times, there is no effect. Imagine slapping a person softly everyday. There is no effect. But if you slap a person 100,000 times strong in just one go, the person may die. Similarly, there is no point telling us to boycott. If wanna boycott, we have to do it TOGETHER!

Uncle Lim Kit Siang, perhaps you and other bloggers like Raja Petra, Jeff Ooi, Tian Chua, etc. etc. can write and tell people to boycott the press AT A PARTICULAR DATE!

Tens of Thousands of people should boycott in one go for about one week or so. Then we shall see how the press is going to survive.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 3:21 pm

““How could anyone paint the Indians black??” – DiaperHead says:

“This is exactly why the Indians march, marginalisation of Indians not only comes from BN but also the society as a whole. This is a racist statement …” Ihavesomethingtosay

Then say it!

Diaperhead could be using the term ‘black’ metaphorically – the same way the writer Helen uses the world ‘black’.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 3:21 pm

ooops word

33. #33 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 6:39 pm

We should boycott any products which have NEP elements….including graduates of UITM/itm (100% bumiputra students), Bank Rakyat -how many % non-bumi staff? , or any organisation which practices racial discrimination in hiring, directorship or policy…

Biased newspapers or TVs should be boycotted too.

Rakyat is the real boss…. we are the one that should shape the government and its policies…… not to be bullied by some individuals who are holding the power but not worth the mandate….

34. #34 by wits0 on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 7:43 pm

undergrad2 : “Remember Voltaire and his famous “I may disagree with you but I will defend to the death your right to disagree with me” shit??”

I think this is mis-applied here

The object does not reciprocate this noble observation but demonstrably and actively denied it instead.
    Secondly, e.g., who would have thought that the once venerable NYT would decline in circulation and profit, a decade ago from a combination of factors?

Not everyone has the Net access but is it necessary to wait till this happens?

35. #35 by mendela on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 8:53 pm

dawsheng said //That is because he got the one and only casino license, further contributed billions in election fund (exclude undertable value and legal taxes) to to maintain BN as government so he can continue to monoplize the gambling business in Malaysia.//

Very true.

People like Lim Kok Thay (son to Lim Goh Tong) and other billionaires do not do much for the people of Malaysia. If you take from the people, you need to give it back, at least 20%. Look at Bill gates and Warren Buffets, they are giving away 50% of their assets to the world!

This is especially true if you are in sin business!
    You must stop funding UMO regime millions of ringgits every year too. This regime is evil!

36. #36 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 1 December 2007 - 9:22 pm

Helen, I indeed had taken this step some time ago; the saving goes to my teh si, which I had offer to my friend, the Ancient Mariner. Talking about apartheid, the version practised here differs a little, even to the non-connected Malays, they had no chance, though for publicity sake the lucky ones would get a little, but not much. To these Malays, I ask them to try to get some kind of loans without reference. They won’t get it!!
    This form of APARTHEID is designed without conscience, aimed at cheating those purposely kept ignorant, including the poor Malays.
    For this forum to be sucessful, please refrain from getting religion and race into our discussions. It is too general and unfair to the majority of any race or faith who are totally innocent of all the wrongs that have been designed and implemented by BN leadership, of course supported by their cronies in the business sector , which to an extent could plead ignorance because without following the bidings of the political leaders, their interests are jeopardized. Hence the main culprits are the political leaders!! Since there is only one way to deal with such shysters, that is the poll, let us all try to convince say at least 20 to 30 fence sitters to vote wisely.

37. #37 by 9to5 on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 12:14 am

If you analyse the newspaper industry, a multi-billion business is very much dependent on a few indian newspaper distributors earning meager wages. It’s like a person with a lopsided heavy body standing on a twig. If these indian distributors or runners were to have a “civil disobedience”, the whole newspaper industry will suffer huge losses. There won’t even have to be a need for readers to boycott the newspapers for them to suffer losses.

The recent UMNO General Assembly where for the first time in history the leaders’ speeches could not be disseminated to the masses because the following day was deepavali and the indian distributors were on holiday. It showed the strategic importance of the indian community to the nation.

And further imagine, that the kereta api workers, bus/lorry drivers, sweepers, garbage disposers, rubber tappers, plantation workers, etc, who are predominantly indians were to engage in “civil disobedience”? That will bring chaos and huge economic repercussions to the country!

The HINDRAF could very easily mobilise the poor but strategic indians to show the world how important they are to the nation!

38. #38 by wits0 on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 7:34 am

The noosepapers tycoons are too conceited to imagine they have any Archilles heel as far as their rice bowls are concerned. They probably imagine that their circulation is guaranteed by the support from the business community.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 8:25 am

““Remember Voltaire and his famous “I may disagree with you but I will defend to the death your right to disagree with me” shit??” Undergrad2

“I think this is mis-applied here”

How so? (It should read “You may disagree” instead of “I may disagree…”).

I am referring to the rights of the others not to boycott the print media because it still serves their needs and that not everything we read is about politics.

In Malaysia internet penetration is nowhere near that of the developed countries. In developing countries the print media is indispensable as a tool to educate and to inform readers. I think the average Malaysian reader is matured enough not to believe everything they read – unless you’re suggesting they do. That would be condescending.

The New York Times may be less popular among the conservatives but not among the social progressives and liberals. It still is a popular newspaper. Otherwise you wouldn’t find O’reilly on FOX condemning it so much!

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 9:21 am

“Not everyone has the Net access but is it necessary to wait till this happens?” Wits0

No. I was drawing attention to the fact that there are many among us who cannot afford not to use the print media for information. Do not assume from among these readers that they are that naive as to believe everything they read. That would be condescending.

41. #41 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 11:15 am

My question is what does Abdullah big ear hear now? Does he hear that his problem has just started and its not with Hindraf and Bersih and the Bar Council?

My feeling is Abdullah don’t hear the likes of Nazri and Johari Baharom and Mat Deros. He think they are not symptomatic of a larger problem of culturally changing the Malay after decades of NEP and Ketuanan Melayu. The problems run deep and it can only get worst if he does not do anything about it.

Hindraf and before that Kampung Medan are shots across the bow that Abdullah should be grateful for in our generous society. But the problem lies within UMNO itself and not where it seems.

42. #42 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 2:06 pm

But never forget democracy is about freedom – including freedom to speak one’s mind without fear of ridicule. It does not include freedom to shout the other guy down! Undergrad2

In the context of you said, you are implying that main stream media (MSM) should be given the freedom to say what they want to say just like we should be given the freedom in the blog.

I think it is typical of you to indulge in hollow sophistication again. May be you just want to show who Voltaire was and what he said. Let me ask you a few simple questions:
    Are you not aware that MSM is government regulated and controlled? Are you not aware that there are no alternative printed media allowed? So, precisely what are you talking about when you said that the MSM are also entitled to freedom of expression? In any case, are MSM really highlighting news and views that they genuinely believe in, or are they merely mercenary and stooge? Your view is acceptable only if a society allows freedom of expression in the sense newspapers are allowed total freedom to support or go against the government. Otherwise you are talking cock again which by now you are famous for!

43. #43 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 2:16 pm

No. I was drawing attention to the fact that there are many among us who cannot afford not to use the print media for information. Do not assume from among these readers that they are that naive as to believe everything they read. That would be condescending. Undergrad2

Your logic is perverted again here. If the readers are discerning enough to know that what they read in the MSM are not true or have been doctored, then why would they want to buy and read those rubbish? If general reading public are as discerning as you alluded to, may I know why the oppositions are crying and fighting so hard for a more independent and transparent press. Sorry mate, you are illogical.

44. #44 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 2:25 pm

Wise up, MSM is never intended to champion for a cause. They are there to make money and to serve their political masters. It does not matter there are people who may need newspapers for reasons other than political news. The reality is we must do something that hurt their pocket. I think this is the only language they understand. Why must we continue enrich people who abuse and treat us like fools.

45. #45 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 2:32 pm

If you take from the people, you need to give it back, at least 20%. Look at Bill gates and Warren Buffets, they are giving away 50% of their assets to the world!

Please don’t compare Bill Gates and Buffets with Lim Goh Tong. Lim Goh Tong made billions out of miseries of thousand of individuals and families, Buffets and Gates create values that enrich the life of others.

46. #46 by ktteokt on Sunday, 2 December 2007 - 3:23 pm

As far as I am concerned, the newspapers in Malaysia are nothing but garbage. If everything has to be vet through by the government before it goes on the streets, there is nothing to see. I only take reading the newspapers as a pasttime and read it because it is distributed daily, not that I can obtain any fresh news from it.

47. #47 by Count Dracula on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 2:35 am

“Your logic is perverted again here. If the readers are discerning enough to know that what they read in the MSM are not true or have been doctored, then why would they want to buy and read those rubbish?”

Why?? They want to read about what is happening in the rest of the world, to look for information on what is happening in your neigbourhood, about jobs and about properties to buy, whether it is the right time to sell your properties, and who are being made bankrupts so you could go ahead and take steps as a bank officer to freeze their accounts with your banks etc.

Your haughtiness comes through like the sun through the early morning mist.

Your IQ cannot be much higher than 72!

48. #48 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 2:42 am

“Why must we continue enrich people who abuse and treat us like fools.” limkampueiiiit

You write like a failed journalist of some kiind. Why? Nobody reads the rubbish you write? Nobody is reading it here either.

49. #49 by limkamput on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 6:12 am

Dracula, why 72, is it because yours is 74? You fit exactly into two of Ghandi’s seven sins – politics without principle and business without ethics. You are the epitome of that. What else can I say? We support and do business with scumbags out of our own personal interests. What else is new? Didn’t we see enough of all these already.

50. #50 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 11:54 am

i did not buy mainstream newspaper since 7 years ago… what is the point in reading lies and spins?
    anyway, i would juz pick it up if it is free. i dont pay a single cent for it… heck, it is … waste of paper and ink.

51. #51 by St0rmFury on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 1:30 pm

It does not matter there are people who may need newspapers for reasons other than political news. – limkamput

That’s kinda.. selfish, don’t you think?

52. #52 by lakshy on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 3:57 pm

Good point Helen. I have stopped buying the Star from 1st Dec. Hope more malaysians can do the same.

53. #53 by lakshy on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 4:04 pm

Look, if you want the papers to wake up, you need to send them a message. And that message is going to be lower sales volumes. Star which boasts of being the largest english daily can take a major hit if we boycott it. Then when their circulation drops, the advertisers are going to go elsewhere too. A double blow!

That may make them what they need to do. We are the users of the papers. We need to show them what we want to read! the truth! Not garbage! You know how insulting it is to read about the bersih and hindraf rallies in these papers? Theya r emouthpieces of the bn. Well then they can dish out their news to the bn.

We need to act if we want change to happen. The change begins with us. And dont say that I am just one person and one person is not going to make a difference. We are all one person. Each one of us doing it will result in collective action.

Same with the elections. Your vote counts. SO does your convincing others and spreading the truth for more to know the realities of what is happening.

Thye bersih and hindraf rallies are good starting points to tell them the truth.

54. #54 by limkamput on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 11:05 pm

Godamn Singh Says: You write like a failed journalist of some kiind. Why? Nobody reads the rubbish you write? Nobody is reading it here either.
    You see, you can’t even see our own “oxy-moronness”. Who is reading my posting? For sure I know one of them read. It is just too bad this fellow is not too bright to read the stuff I wrote. Next time I will make it simpler for you. So just hand in there.

55. #55 by limkamput on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 11:12 pm

lakshy, well said, fully agreed with you. We need deeds not words. We are ways beyond indulging in intellectual “good for nothing” debates. We need to hear what strategies and measures that can bring about desired change, not contemplating whether the King has the legal power to accept the memorandum from the people, not arguing endlessly whether the demonstration is morally right and legally wrong.

56. #56 by limkamput on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 11:15 pm

It does not matter there are people who may need newspapers for reasons other than political news. – limkamput

StormFury said: That’s kinda.. selfish, don’t you think?

What selfish are you talking about? It is to bring about change for the better and I think everybody needs to make some sacrifice.

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 5 December 2007 - 8:06 am

Here is what Susan Loone blogging from Bangkok who once worked for Malaysiakini, had to say:

“Rather than boycotting, I’d really like to see more alternative news like Malaysiakini. If we want people to dismiss government controlled media as nothing but toilet papers, we need to give them an alternative. Until then, boycotting is a knee jerk reaction and will soon become a laughing stock as those newspapers continue to keep their readership, worst still, find new ways to increase them. Not because they have become more transparent or truthful, but just because, we Malaysians have nowhere else to read.”

It is time he who calls others “stupid” face reality.

58. #58 by darnielng on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:18 pm

The Mainstream Media is not to be blamed. They give jobs to people. If they don’t write/publish what they are supposed to, the consequences will be dire and disastrous. I don’t blame them, they have a family to feed as well just like you and me. We are just tax payers, giving our money away for the country to burn.

No wonder China wants to talk to Malaysia about space plans. Big spender coming up, tourist to space. Make Malaysia Angkasawan a HERO, let them have the glory. Does not matter there is always extra seats in the shuttle or rocket. More important is the money coming into the Country (China).

The people in working in the main stream media and the public just have to be wise on choosing who to vote in this coming election.

It’s their right to choose their future.

Competition always promotes positive progress.