MCA blames Malacca State Secretary as “Little Napoleon” – another sandiwara

MCA Youth leader and Deputy Youth and Sports Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai yesterday launched a ferocious attack on the Malacca State Secretary, Datuk Ismail Salleh, labeling him as a “Little Napoleon” responsible for the unilateral, arbitrary, high-handed and insensitive 2,000-strong operation to forcibly cull tens of thousands of pigs in Malacca, forcing a nine-hour standoff with defenceless men, women and children in Paya Mengkuang on Tuesday, Sept. 4.

Liow claimed that Ismail launched the massive multi-agency operation without approval by the Malacca State Government. He described what happened on Tuesday as a blot to the 50th Merdeka anniversary which could not be tolerated.

In a speech in Kuala Lumpur yesterday, Liow put the whole blame on Ismail in unilaterally resorting to force against defenceless men, women and children when the state government was still discussing how to resolve the pig-rearing problem, stressing that such insubordination by Ismail should not be allowed to recur. (Sin Chew)

Liow’s speech has come as a shock for two reasons:

Firstly, why he is blaming the Malacca state secretary as “Little Napoleon” for the unilateral, arbitrary, high-handed and insensitive 2,000-strong operation to forcibly cull tens of thousands of pigs in Malacca on Sept. 4, mobilizing Police FRU, water cannons and even police helicopter, resulting in a nine-hour standoff with defenceless men, women and children, when the whole operation was clearly on the directive of Chief Minister Ali Rustam?

Secondly, if Liow absolves Ali Rustam from responsibility (which cast a severe aspersion on his competence and capability as Malacca Chief Minister), are the MCA leaders both at national and state levels demanding that serious disciplinary action be taken against the Malacca state secretary — at minimum his immediate removal?

Clearly, a person who could act in so unilateral, arbitrary, high-handed and insensitive a fashion, committing gross insubordination as well completely heedless of the sensitivities of a plural society, is not fit to continue a single day in such a high office as the No. 1 civil servant in the state government.

Or was Liow merely indulging in the latest MCA “sandiwara” to deflect public attention from the latest MCA political failure and irresponsibility despite their representation in all three tiers of government — national, state and local?

1. #1 by MY VIEW on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:29 pm

Remember my prediction in this coming general elections. MCA WILL LOSE A LOT OF THEIR SEATS CURRENTLY HELD. THANKS TO UMNO. If UMNO’s intention is to make MCA lose face and thus lose their seats, I must say they have been successful in doing that.

2. #2 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:35 pm

Stupid liow, what this idiot should do is to organize their youth wing and march up to the melaka state secretariat’s office with the constitution held high.

this is one stupid coward, TV3 should give him wide coverage for this masquerade.

3. #3 by toniXe on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:41 pm

the sandiwara shows just how the non malays are being treated like dirt ! shame to non-malay bystanders ( including ourselves )

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 3:00 pm

The mca youth leader knows which side of his bread is buttered— that’s why he deliberately avoids blaming ali rustam; else he won’t be allowed to contest in the coming GE

5. #5 by badak on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 3:27 pm

BN leaders favourite phrase “‘ Will discuss in the spirit of BN”” (READ UMNO )

UMNO,s favourite phrase “”being part of BN”” MCA should not highlight the issue to the press ,its sensitive..
    (READ SENTIVTIVE TO UMNO)

Component parties favourite phrase “‘ After speaking to BN leaders ( read UMNO) We agreed to follow what the leaders said (read UMNO leaders)

Do you think that components parties leaders dare go againts UMNO,surely not because, its UMNO who decidewho is chosen to stand for the GENERAL ELECTION

The component parties only sent in a list of short listed candidates ,but its UMNO who chosess the candidates,and all this is done by the M.B of each state.so do you think this spinless BN politican dare rock their own boat ,I think not

6. #6 by Joetan on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 3:56 pm

The MCA should asked the Malacca government whether they will be culling the cows as well in order to check the pollution in that state. Why it is only the pigs can pollute the enviroment and not the cows?

7. #7 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 4:13 pm

I think we should cull all the two-legs pigs in the BN government so that we have a cleaner political environment.

The environment has been made so dirty by corrupt politicians, lets cull them in the next general election.

8. #8 by Libra2 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 4:59 pm

ToniXe said “the non malays are being treated like dirt”.
    I say they are being treated like pigs by UMNO and they seem accept it.
    Only a gullible fool will believe that the State Secretary acted without orders and greenlight from the Chief Minister.
    It is safer for MCA to attack a civil servant than an UMNO strong man.

9. #9 by Jong on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 5:18 pm

Why only now, is this MCA Youth Leader Liow Tiong Lai speaking up? Are the top MCA leaders deaf, dumb and mute? Or are they hiding with tails between their legs, huh?!

Why attack the civil servant – State Sec, who act on the instruction of his boss? Tak berani hentam that bastard? Comeon Liow, don’t take us for fools and insult the intellect of pork eating Malaysian.

10. #10 by Jong on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 5:19 pm

“Malaysians”

11. #11 by AhPek on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 5:44 pm

Liow, stop your bloody acting.Nobody is going to give you Grammy award.You think we are all bodoh that you can bullshit wholesale.Blaming a civil servant for carrying out his orders is downright cheap way to score points amongst those who don’t know who the real culprit is.If you have balls try going for the big political boss there.
    You are a despicable cheap skate trying to redeem your bosses in MCA.It won’t work this time.Just wait for GE results.

12. #12 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:02 pm

If Ismail can resort to use force without any MCA ministers knowing. This only prove one thing – Ismail is more powerful than any MCA minister!

MCA always blame the opposition for “scolding” and not contributing anything to the country. While what they contribute is just to “negotiate” so as to extend the deadline to cull the pigs.

If it is not the opposition standing at the front line blocking the FRU with their bodies, do you think the culling of the pigs would still not take place by MCA merely negotiating?

No matter how MCA tries to negotiatewith UMNO, the outcome would always be an unfair one!

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:03 pm

I don’t get it! Why this obsession with “Little Napoleans”? Have they managed to extract Napolean’s DNA after all these years and have recently cloned him?

14. #14 by 4th_wife on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:22 pm

After spending RM100 millions on the 50th Merdeka feel good celebration and telling how ‘Maju’ and ‘Cerminglang’ this is what is in reality.

15. #15 by sean on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:36 pm

Ok….from now onwards lets call them Malaysian chinese “Actors”….spread the words around :)

16. #16 by voice on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:44 pm

another 漢奸

17. #17 by wtf2 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 8:41 pm

when one does not have the balls to bring the top guy to task they can only go for the 2nd in line

18. #18 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 9:50 pm

NEGARAKUKUKU -NEW!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZW9DZV5RRg

I wish someone will write a song about this stupid liow dog

19. #19 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:06 pm

YB Liow is doing what he could possibly do under the circumstances, and he is doing a good job considering the constraints, at least he has identified some one responsible for the flip flop policy, be him the SS or the MB of Malacca State.

We should be overly enthusiastic in condemning for the sake of condemning, but also give credit where it is due sometimes.

At least we hear some sombre voices from MCA albeit a faint one, but he must have mustered substantial courage to do so as the ramification on him and his political career could be far reaching.

20. #20 by babique on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:37 pm

yes i agreed, what else can liao do? perhaps mca should re-consider their political partnership with umno. join force with others.

21. #21 by Jong on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:45 pm

shortie kiasu,
    You got the point there but Liow should have given a good hard kick at the MB and not the SS who was only doing his job as instructed by his boss.

Why was Liow afraid to aim his ‘attack’ on the MB? As I see it, whichever way his(Liow’s) political career is already finished, so why not expose that bastard once and for all to see?

Had Liow done that, at least he would have earned the respect of pork-eating Malaysians in the country, rather than being toasted here.

22. #22 by badak on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 11:19 pm

Bravo YB LIOW,Wanna join DAP Ahhhh you got balls to be an opposition politician,Not like all the other MCA POLITICIAN,who lick the shoes of UMNO

23. #23 by naked taliban on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 11:40 pm

MCA to the rescue ?? , another sick ploy . KICK them out in the next election.

24. #24 by ablastine on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 11:45 pm

I personally don’t think the pig culling incident is orchestrated by BN to gain votes. For one it is far too elaborate and another it is far too dangerous because it is over a very sensitive issue with deep racial undertone. I agree with Shortie Kiasu that we should not go overboard condemning YB Liow for his effort in resolving the matter.
    We should not be overly critical and simply ‘hatam’ just because they are from the MCA camp. I am sure they too have good intention and wanted to resolve the matter in the best way they see fit.

The MCA was in fact present at the stand off and did in fact negotiated a deal although it may not be in the best interest of the pig farmers. However, at the heat of the moment, the most important thing to do was to prevent the culling because once the pigs are culled, the damage done would have become irreversible. The damage is not only monetary and confined to the pig farmers but may in fact aggravate inter-racial relationship in the entire country. Worse still if blood is shed with the pig farmers desperately protecting the pigs against the overzealous and fully armed raiders. The compromise was just a temporary solution to prevent the culling then. With the passage of time and when more responsible people come to their senses, I am sure a more feasible solution can be reached.

Finding a solution is in fact very simple. Just take the example of our neighbour Singapore. They have no problems moving their fish farms and pig farms to the periphery of the country to make way for central development. They simply have to give ample time and warning, provide designated area away from the city and provide whatever incentive and assistance necessary for the affect farmers to relocate. Some things cannot simply be rushed. If I were in charge, I would simply slowly relocate all the pig farms far away from Malays villages and put them near the Chinese ones. Not only will I do that, I make sure the husbandry grow from strength to strength by encouraging and supporting its growth and modernisation so that it can become another pillar in our agricultural sector. We are now living in the 21st century. We cannot simply cannot afford to have too many hangups.

25. #25 by Jonny on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 11:50 pm

Behind our backs, probably, Liow will brother brother again with the State Secretary for putting blame on him. Just a show biz only la.

Whatever he alleges I’m also scratching my head. He meant to say the State Secretary is such a powerful man to command all the other forces to take action?

It reminds me of the powerful Razak who can have the Mongolian girl’s immigration record erased. And even can control the special branch police and get C4 easily. Who is this Razak guy anyway? So POWERFUL?????

They must be kidding us rakyat for being dumb and dumber.

26. #26 by negarawan on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 12:52 am

Let’s be reminded by this ugly incident and others to cull the pigs in UMNO, MCA, and MIC in the coming GE.

27. #27 by Godfather on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 4:19 am

It is very clear what UMNO’s strategy is going to be at the next GE. Sacrifice the Chinese vote, and attract more Malay votes at the expense of PAS.

http://aisehman.org/?p=289#comments

No point discussing anything with UMNO – just vote opposition. Any opposition.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 4:45 am

“Let’s be reminded by this ugly incident and others to cull the pigs in UMNO, MCA, and MIC in the coming GE.”

Please don’t insult the real pigs that could not fly. These pigs fly business class.

29. #29 by Godfather on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 4:55 am

The sh!t of these pigs smell to high heaven.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 9:05 am

YB’s questions are intended to needle/vex the MCA’s hypocrisy of defending Malaysian Chinese’s interest and its denial of master-servant relationship within BN.

Of course, everyone knows who is ultimately responsible : only last month MB said that Malacca did not want to emerge as Malaysia’s biggest pig producer, with a swine population estimated at 160,000 – thus laying the ground for the “insensitive 2,000-strong operation to forcibly cull” the pigs.

It may seem cowardly to just attack the State Secretary (a government servant) and by default appear to absolve his political boss – but Liow is realistic of the parameters with which he could “sandiwara”.

One can’t say he is stupid. He may be the smartest of the lot. He understands that the controversy in Malacca generated for political leverage in the coming election by the UMNO bigwig has major political repercussions that might adversely affect MCA’s constituency nationwide.

It is more than the issue of pigs, pork eaters, the livelihood of Chinese farmers and the sum of RM50 million involved based on retail price of RM1000 per pig times 50,000 pigs to be culled withion such a short time if dead line of 21st Sept is to be kept to uphold UMNO’s pride that it meant business.

He and even the government would know that the standoff was dangerous. When you threaten the livelihood of these people and push them to the corner, they have no choice but to bring out their able bodies men, their women folks and children to barricade and fight if necessary – which in the worst possible scenario, may explode into violence leading to bloodshed, and even spread to a wider racial conflict with disastrous effect for the government of the day, the nation, let alone the imminent election.

Liow also knew that pinning blame on someone in the administration for such a dangerous standoff was important if anything to demonstrate that MCA was not in a master – slave relationship in relation to UMNO that recent spate of issues like humiliation of MCA’s leaders in last UMNO general assembly by waving of the keris, rejection of their leaders petition on the controversial article 121(1)A conversion cases and declaration of the Islamic state would generate perception of amongst its traditional supporters.

More important Liow intuitively grasped the wider political implications of the PM’s more liberal leadership style (as compared to TDM) which has rightly or wrongly been perceived weak by all quarters – by detractors as well as those within the power circle – which has necessarily resulted in not only civil society and critics being more vociferous but also Islamists, political opportunists and rivals within the political establishment more daring and outspoken in pursuit of their individual ambitions and agendas respectively.

At the rate things are going, the “Napoleons” whether big or small pursuing their private agendas based on the well tried methods of race and religion will lead to MCA being perceived spineless and impotent and a major loss of political support and votes amongst its constituency, therefore striking at the very raison de etre of developing one’s political career within the BN’s firmament – to attain high public office to reap the rewards of patronage and contracts and other benefits.

So he has to posture to say and do something but being a deputy minister he has to show sensitivity by not making it too overt that he is attacking his political partners in UMNO. That’s all.

If one asks him to show spine, leave the MCA or get the MCA to leave to stand up for his community, he being a realist, will turn around and ask why should he do it.

For the Chinese community?

The proportion of Chinese population has dwindled from 33% to about 25% and still dwindling because: (1) Chinese are having fewer children to leverage on quality instead of quantity in the face of no assistance from the government on education : compare to the other side where even a bus driver having meager income can produce 5 to 8 children confident that the State would help support them ; (2) thanks to many who fight with the feet by flight (emigration).

It is a population – number of votes game. No matter whether you fight for your rights or you keep quiet, the inevitable result of this is that you are outvoted and only get 25% of total seats in parliament to be taken all by MCA or all by DAP or shared between MCA, DAP and Gerakan! So what voice have you got? Eventually it’ll be 20% and diminishing.

So to Liow, why really fight against that reality? His young critics, whilst lambasting him or the MCA are themselves emigrating on premise that its a lost Cause!

So what is wrong with him feathering his nest? At least he is a Datuk and Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports; at least he dares to speak up more loudly than his other compatriots within MCA, never mind he hits out at the State secretary instead of the MB.

I think he’s doing OK, and quite smart actually, deftly balancing what he needs to do against what he cannot push over the limits within the operative realities of dominant-subservient paradigm of the BN component relationship!

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 9:58 am

“…RM50 million involved based on retail price of RM1000 per pig times 50,000 pigs ..”

Wow! That’s a lot of pork chop.

32. #32 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 10:05 am

I agree DAP is spending way disporportionate time attacking MCA/Gerakan, these issues can be re-highlighted during election campaign period.

Issues like the PKFZ is more relevant. Its a BN issue and the Malay populace is more concern about that issue. DAP need to admit it it must deliver votes to Keadilan, not the other way round. Its unfair and its a tall order but that is the reality of DAP challenge.

What is a few pigs that can be imported vs. PKFZ RM5billion loss to a bunch of civil servants that is not going to get a bonus? Remember there is nothing like a shafted civil servants who taught he was getting a pay increase and suddenly found out he actually was getting the same as he was last year.. There is also a big possibility in 2008 they will not get what was before given the announcement they are going to tap Petronas for more money…

They will blow more money for sure. Abdullah is trying to do this very difficult balancing act that does not get him far with any constituency. He will have to spend a lot before the election to make sure his Malay votes come in or he is in trouble.. If he were smart and strong enough he would blow all of it in Kelantan and get back that state and it would not matter if he backtrack in all other states….

33. #33 by smeagroo on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 10:15 am

Between now and GE, they will create lots of problems for chinese and then MCA will swing into action as the saviour. BUt we hope those people wont be fooled!

Come on even pigs know what was happening that day and they didnt even flinch!

34. #34 by BobSam on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 10:49 am

This is a fantastic tactic. Attack the CS, put the blame on him.
    Everyone who are in the know, knows that it was on the directive of the CM himself. But by attacking the CS, the CM is given “FACE”. But the CM is put on notice, becareful. Now they have to ensure that the CS is disciplined.

But the original intention is even better. This is an attempt to say that the Social Contract is no longer viable. Why? How?

MCA is part of the original duopoly of the Alliance. With MIC, they drew up the initial Social Contract. MIC is almost dead in the water, cannot survive without Malay voters.
    MCA needs its Chinese voters and the support of Malay voters to win the elections. Now if the powers-to-be or the “Dark Forces” can alienate the main support base of MCA. Just imagine, if MCA looses all their seats, then they loose their voice & their value.

It now becomes clear the MCA is no longer needed, and if MIC & MCA are both impotent, then UMNO no longer needs their support in the BN. With UMNO or its affiliates running both Sabah & Sarawak, then UMNO will no longer need BN.

If BN is no longer needed, then the Social Contract as Muyhiddin has suggested can be renegotiated or reimposed with Ketuanan hardcoded into it.

Beautiful plan. Everyone is falling for this, hook, line & sinker.

35. #35 by ablastine on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:18 am

Yes, the chinese can at max get 25% of the votes but how about the Indians, the other minority races, those disillusioned with the present government, the PAS, PKR and others. A coalition of all these groups is still very intimidating and stands mighty against the incumbent, BN. I find it so tiresome to measure everything in racial terms. What we really need is a good Malaysian Government where those in charge are there to serve the people and country and not themselves which unfortunately has become the case now after so many years of nuturing under the racist dictatorship of Mahathir. It is important to have a reflection of the racial composition amongst those in the corridor of power but the number one priority got to be ABILITY.

I think our present Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi is a sincere person but he unfortunately inherited the entire mess and all its baggage from the dictator. What’s worse is, he is surrounded by some of the most egoistic, self-serving racists around one of which is his SIL. I think he will need a very long time to the clean up the mess and get the country going. First he got to slowly get rid of the dead wood and the parasites in the government. This is not an easy task because these fouled creatures have been there for eons and firmly entrenched in the corrupted system. They are at all levels of the government and in great numbers. He got to replace them with able, fair and learned men and women who can be in short supply if he only looks towards one race for them. He should have taken the opportunity with the landslide victory and mandate from the people to do just that but looks like he is not coming along.

Therefore I think deep in his heart he knows that the fastest and the only way the country can be saved is to have a complete change of government at one go. This will serve to wipe out completely the inapt,defiled and corrupted in his present team. However, he will need to loose the election with that and how can he see the Alliance loose after 50 years during his watch. He indeed is in a dilemma.

In any case I think the BN will be in a very precarious position this coming election. Anwar will be out in full force (whether or not he is eligible to stand), the MCA is going to be trounced by the DAP because of its perceived malaise and the Chinese community getting tired of its servant-master relationship with UMNO, the PAS is as strong as ever with resurgence of conservative Islam. The electorate are better educated, holds a wider world view and have better choices. Complete blacking out of the media to prevent the oppositions message from reaching the people is also not as effective as during the time of the Mahathir dictatorship because of the internet. In any case I do not think Prime Minister Badawi is one given to dirty tactics such as this to tip the balance to his favour in the election contest. He is still very principled and for that I respect him.

36. #36 by Lee Chee Lek on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:32 am

I think itis a catch 22 situation for the MCA and the State Govt. of Malacca. It all started with the namewee issue being suddenly blown out of proportion and handled by the Govt. and then UMNO riding on the issue to do something. What is the one thing which is indirectly associated with Chinese. Of course la, the pig issue. Why. Because it also involve religion for the Moslems. So to appease the rascists and religious bigots, get TV3 to talk about pig farms and raising the public awareness about pollution. It was just a matter of time before the State has to step in to do something to act on this issue.
    To prevent the issue being further aggravated because a large number of pigs needed to be culled as the solution in which the authorities pretty well know , so, as a prevention you would need about 2000 enforcement personnel.
    There are several things here which needs pondering about.
    1. Why wasn’t the namewee issue handled properly in the first place?
    2. Why must the issue of pollution by pig farms not handled by the State Govt. without using TV3 if it is already illegal?
    3. Now that all these have become a national issue known to everyone, why climb down the rhetoric by using MCA to assailed a poor civil servant who can only follow orders from the Govt and not create his own policy orders.

Answer to all that Why is because:
    1. In the first place, some politicians decided to be heroes because of the impending election and needed to be publicly known as champions.
    2. Some politicians always look at things from a rascists and religious point of view. These can then easily score points with the villages or IT illiterate people who can only access TV and newspapers or hear their election ceramah.
    3. All of us fell for it by following our own emotions on the issue when all that is needed is-

AN APOLOGY FROM NAMEWEE IF HE HAD HURT ANYONE ON THE SENSITIVE ISSUE OF RELIGION.

DID HE APOLOGIZE ON THAT?

If YES he did, then why are the JEWS still asking for a pound of flesh?
    Why bring up pig farm pollution? What about chicken farms, duck farms, cow farms, factories, plantations etc. Are they legal or illegal in discharging all those pollutants?
    The surest way to blow up any issues is to associate it with religion not discussing on aspects of religion but by criticizing the practices, their beliefs and so forth. Don’t you think the following people know it?

1. Very senior and bigoted or opportunists politicians.
    2. Namewee?

So, what happens if everyone get emotional and associate everthing with an answer that associates with their religion? Whether it is Buddhism, Islam, Christianity or whatever?

I bet sure to get some votes because religion is so close to most people in Malaysia. That’s what George Bush did wasn’t it?

37. #37 by Lee Chee Lek on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:44 am

Oops. I forgot to add to the last line and so did Osama Bin Laden.

38. #38 by badak on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 12:21 pm

Just think do the UMNO lead Goverment worried of the chiness votes ,,NO THEY ARE NOT, Whole of Malaysia chiness votes is less 20%,They are more worried of lossing the Malay votes.

Voting trends has showed that 65% of the Indians ,votes for BN,Because come election time the BN Goverment will promise the indians heaven , and have a beer drinking session with the estate workers ,I know because i have been to afew.

The UMNO led goverment ,is saying that we are a muslim state , just to win back the MALAY VOTES FROM PAS and PKR. With the NEP its stupid for the MALAYS to vote opposition,

The MALAYS are not lazy and stupid ,but its the goverment that made them so,From primary school the UMNO led goverment is telling the Malay students you are stupid that is why we need the quota system ,because we the MALAYS cannot advance if the goverment don,t help.

Even in business the goverment is telling the MALAYS with out the help of the goverment we the Malays cannot compete with the chiness,

Thank you UMNO, for all your help in making all of the Malays look stupid in the eyes of the world.

39. #39 by Godfather on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 3:33 pm

Ablastine said:

“….I do not think Prime Minister Badawi is one given to dirty tactics such as this to tip the balance to his favour in the election contest. He is still very principled and for that I respect him.”

If you are Chinese you will understand the meaning of “Fat Pig eats the Tiger”. Very appropriate since we are on the subject of pigs.

40. #41 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 6:29 pm

There’s no “Fat Pig eats the Tiger” : Its feign a pig to eat the tiger! Notwithstanding, you may still be right in relation to the person you describe. :)

41. #42 by devilmaster on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:21 pm

扮猪吃老虎 – the correct chinese term.

42. #43 by hermes on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:29 pm

Quote:ablastine

“I think our present Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi is a sincere person”

Please clarify the basis and the facts on which you can defend this statement. You have not provided any evidence to support this statement. Even an opinion must be supported and have a basis.

43. #44 by hermes on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 11:36 pm

ablastine. The more I read your posting the more convinced I am that your entire posting is an apology for Badawi to excuse him for his incompetence!. Basically, your arguement is that Badawi wants to do the right thing but he cannot do it because he is obstructed. If he cannot do his job he should quit! That is what an honourable man would do. Not sit to collect the benefits of his office without performing.

Who should come first Badawi or the country?

44. #45 by Godfather on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 12:37 am

Fat pig eats the tiger is the most apt description. All of them are fat through ill-gotten gains.

45. #46 by takazawa on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:03 am

I just read this latest article from the Star and I find it very perturbing especially when hypocrisy is the order of the day. Here it is:

“Nation

Sunday September 9, 2007

Respect the law, Najib tells opposition

KUALA LUMPUR: Follow the law or else the country would plunge into chaos – this stern warning came from Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

“Groups, organisations and members of the public, regardless of their political leanings, must respect the law or there will be chaos,” he said.

Najib added that any party, even members of Barisan Nasional, must obey the law.

“If they hold public gatherings, they must first obtain permission from the police. If any law is broken, the police are empowered to act. That is their duty. They do not have to refer to the Government first,” he said after playing in the Business Times Golf Tournament 2007 at the Saujana Golf and Country Club in Petaling Jaya Sunday.

In Jitra, Internal Security Deputy Minister Datuk Mohd Johari Baharum said the government would not allow any open-air ceramah to be held before the general election.

He said no ceramah can be organised without a police permit and any gathering without a permit was deemed an illegal assembly.

Some people were hurt in the incident. This might not happen if the ceramah was held in a building where the organiser could control the crowd.” Mohd Johari said a permit was not given because the ceramah was being held near the Sultan’s palace and government quarters.

He said police would be more stringent in issuing ceramah permits so that the Batu Burok incident would not recur elsewhere.

He said an organiser must ensure that the event would be held in an enclosed area otherwise the permit would not be issued.

Parti Keadilan Rakyat secretary-general Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim has asked for a thorough inquiry into the rioting especially the shooting incident.

The ceramah was organised by Bersih, a coalition of 60 NGOs pushing for electoral reform.

Terengganu Pas Commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali said the opposition coalition would hold a press conference at 3pm Monday in Kuala Lumpur to clarify the issue.”

46. #47 by wtf2 on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:11 am

now lets just wait for the show to continue.
    let’s hope the MCA mouth can walk the talk.

AAB will never quit. Nor will anybody in the BN ( voluntarily ). Simply because the additional bonuses from the sidelines are too attractive.

So if there’s any real serious need to ask him to quit, start a PETITION!!!

47. #48 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:29 am

ablastine, cute oof you to try to be a Bodopologist, and these Bodohpology won’t go anywhere with us, if he can’t do his job, he should just jump into the sea and go back to his ancestral land.

48. #49 by ablastine on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:58 am

Indeed, Badawi’s action or rather lack of it do reflect poorly on him as a person holding the leadership position in the country. He scores low on leadership and decisiviness. In all probability he is not be as competent as his predecessor and probably also his successor but still these inadequacies do not by themselves disqualify him from being sincere and wanting to do something useful for the country. To resign and enjoy life is the simplest thing in the world to do. In fact I have a hunch such idea may have crossed his mind after reading some of the things said about him here are everywhere lol.

Sometimes calculated inaction is better than action. For instance he has so far not taken any adversaries to court yet for sodomy charges, has not gone against the wishes of the rulers on the choice of judges, has not bankrupted any opposition candidates. Namewee is still happily creating more videos in Taiwan. He has not accused Jews for stealing money from the nation, has not culled a single pig yet and has not close down blogs and websites which by and large are very critical of him (although he has threatened to). As Jeffrey pointed out, whether by design or otherwise, this has allowed civil society to flourish and critics to become more vociferous which of course is important for a Parlimentary democracy to function. What he did in fact succeed in doing is to become George Bush good buddy to the extent that George Bush thinks the opposition in Malaysia is just a frustrated bunch of people and that Malaysia is a shining example of a successful and properous state notwithstanding its islamic or non-islamic status. The Mahathir dictator couldn’t even get into the oval office to shake hands with Bush.

Could he be so stupid as to engineer Anwar premature release so that Anwar can come after his chair as what is happening now. This is of course still my opinion but if Badawi does call election after Anwar becomes eligible I think we should at least give him some points for being a good sport. As I have stated earlier, there is every chance the Alliance may fall this coming election. I just feel that his standard ‘I don’t know answer’ has more than meet the eyes or ears. I think it might be safer to overestimate rather then underestimate him for he may indeed be a tiger feigning a pig. Really for one, he keeps you in the dark so much with his plea of ignorance sometimes you don’t know whether he is your friend or foe. Being a shadow in the dark, nobody really knows who pulled the trigger and in any case much easier to find scapegoats for any undesirable outcomes.

So far all the failed megaprojects including PKFZ was conceptualised and initiated from the time of the megamaniac Mahathir dictator. Perhaps he has not being given enough time for big screw ups (totally attributable to him) to emerge yet, but as far as I know the only one he has his finger on is the IDR and we may not know the verdict of that for sometime yet. Again I think the IDR has already been quite well thought out, modeling after the Suzhou project in China allowing Singapore to play a large if not instrumental role in its development. It takes a fool really not to know that the NEP is killing the country. I am still inclined to believe that he hasn’t the power yet to be at liberty to dismantle the NEP and the IDR may well give him an opportunity to initiate it and doing it piecemeal. If the IDR is a great success, he has greater moral authority to push the envelope a bit further.

What I really think he should have done of all things is to kick all the religious bigots, racist, supremacist and corrupted parasites out of UMNO and the government and replace them with the best of the best in the country irrespective of race and creed. But that of course is a tall order for a person of his build. .

49. #50 by undergrad2 on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 2:19 am

Stop the pig bashing! Pigs have rights too.

50. #51 by takazawa on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 3:00 am

To all BADApologists, the Mamak has retired and is now history. No point flogging a dead horse. Why cry over spilled milk? Let bygones be bygones (just as Telekom be Telekom) Bodowi just has to fulfill what he promised to do in his 2004 GE manifesto – to establish a clean, accountable and transparent government. However, he has disappointed and fooled those who gave him the largest mandate in history. Now, the ball is in his court and the onus is on him to decide what to do with the ball. No point cutting him so much slack by saying that he is only 10 minutes on the football pitch and needs more time to warm up. Now he’s into injury time (preparation for the GE) and it’s only a matter of a few minutes before the referee blows the final whistle (Parliament gets dissolved).

51. #52 by sotong on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 7:31 am

This is the direct consequence of decades of bad leadership and governance of the country.

The ordinary people cannot trust the government and politicians to take proper care of their welfare and their future. They must take total control of their future.

52. #53 by sotong on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 7:46 am

The buck stops with the MB and State Secretary.

If they have any pride or dignity left, after putting innocent lives including women and children at great risk, he should apolozise to the people for gross irresponsibility and resign immediately.

If one is responsible, one is accountable for one’s decisions/actions.

53. #54 by Counterpoint on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 9:37 am

Just sit back and watch how Liow take his balls out from his mouth soon. He’s pretty skillful at this technique. Won’t recommend anybody to try it at home.

54. #55 by anakbaram on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 10:05 am

This is clearly an act which carried out by men who are so insensitive that they are worst than being blind and deft to the right and dignity of others. These type of people are not fit to be anything let alone lead the country. I am a native of Malaysia. My people were here long before Malaysia was formed and much longer than the days when all foreign religion reach our shore. But why is it I am made to feel as an outsider by all these fanatics each day. I am a pork eater. But why am I made to feel like a criminal when I want to eat my normal diet? If they are so intolerant let them get lost but do not force me comply to their ways.

55. #56 by RealWorld on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 10:13 am

Poor MCA. When they be quiet, they be hammered for being afraid to come forward. And when they come forward, it is all ‘sandiwara’.

I guess you can never win em’ all. There will always be a minority who will never be happy no matter what. I guess it is easier to whinge and rant. However, the important thing here is the majority. So, to all my fellow MCA friends, do not despair as the majority is with us.

56. #57 by RealWorld on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 10:19 am

“I am a pork eater. But why am I made to feel like a criminal when I want to eat my normal diet?” – anakbaram

It has nothing to do with you being a pork eater as it is your personal choice.

It is about the pig farmers breeding above the quantities allocated for them. It is about hygiene, cleanliness and the environment. And I am sure if you are living nearby the area, you wont be happy with the stench either.

57. #58 by undergrad2 on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 10:37 am

“It has nothing to do with you being a pork eater as it is your personal choice. ”

Please leave the pigs alone. Those that fly business class I mean.

58. #59 by sotong on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 11:51 am

Decades of religious extremism and fundamentalism are doing enormous damage to the country and her ordinary people…there is no quick fix.

59. #60 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:43 pm

UMNOPOLOGIST becomes MCA machai, apologizing for Malaysian CANINE Association, polluting environment my foot, peharps the cows and goats feeding by the roadside does not pollute the environment? having no proper farm and treatment for their waste, do they have plastic bags to pick up all the cow pies and goat droppings? aren’t these polluting our environment too? stop this pretentious BABI politics.

Chopping more trees and wanton waste of natural resources is what Barisan Najis is all about, now they talk environment, wanna talk environment on a bigger scale? stop Indonesians from burning forest, or is it that we musn’t meddle in other country’s affair? silly pendatang apaologist.

talk some sense.

60. #61 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 1:53 pm

MCA lost its credibility a long time ago, not only amongst Malaysian Chinese but among all Malaysians.

No one has any doubt that MCA is a fawning, servile lap dog, a poodle that is always licking around UMNO’s behind!

MCA must be dealt a severe blow in the next GE.

And UMNO too for keeping a divide-and-rule policy and keeping human ‘poodles’, a policy which degrades an entire race and riles against all basic human morals and decency.

61. #62 by RealWorld on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 2:33 pm

“UMNOPOLOGIST becomes MCA machai, apologizing for Malaysian CANINE Association, polluting environment my foot, … ” – ihavesomethingtosay

Dude, on wanting to talk sense, please put your money where your mouth is. Do away with your usual tirade of petty insults and name calling first. Lets put facts on the table.

You need to understand simple logic here. Those pig farmers are allocated a certain number of pigs in their farm. And since they exceeded the numbers allocated, that itself is wrong. Put in the potential health threats, environment we are potentially looking at a serious health issue if some JE virus come into play.

And what has the Indonesians gotta do with the pig farmers? You mean the opposition has a better way of getting those Indonesians to stop burning their forests??? Care to enlighten me how as I am indeed curious to find out??

62. #63 by Zeebra on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 2:53 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,
    Why are we still exposing the wrong doing of the BN.
    Please tell us what you’ll do if you win the election?

63. #64 by RealWorld on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 3:08 pm

Dear Zeebra,

Very good question indeed!

All I see here is the usual tirade of petty insults, the name callings, whingeings and rants. What are the alternatives out there other than BN??? I mean you aint gonna change the government or the rakyat mindset with those whingeings and petty insults.

I have been asking and asking, what are the alternatives?? PAS & DAP are not in agreement. One is for Islamic State, the other is not. Their previous marriages of convenience all ended in disaster. PKR is neither here nor there with PAS / DAP. Msian Malaysia is supposed to see all Msians regardless of race, but in DAP, I see mostly chinese. PKR is all about one man.

The Opposition contest under various banners. They are not united. And if they are not aligned or united, how can they govern or adminster the country?? Who is gonna be PM , say the Opposition wins the next GE?? Are we gonna take that risk that vote for PAS/DAP/PKR and hope and pray that their marriage of convenience will see things thru??

With BN, we have a proven track record. A track record of progress and development.

64. #65 by cheeyong on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 3:38 pm

Hey real world, what proven track record you talking about? Look at the state of the country today. Msia is 3rd in terms of FDI in 2006. Msia foreign direct investment steadily declining from US$5.5 billion in 2001 to US$3.9 billion in 2006. An average of 8.2 rapes each day in 1st half of the year. UM university ranking slipping.This is called progress? Progress is not about having your own car, or sipping teh tarik at mamak stall. Progress is about numbers, statistics. Statistics and numbers point Msia is heading down south.

And please dont comment about the pig farmers here. First of all we all know overproduction is an issue. But so what if there is demand in the market? The govt if they r sympathetic should lend a hand in making sure this is not an environmental issue.Spare some thought for pork lovers out there in Msia. Plus the deadline itself is 21-Sept. So high handed way of handling a problem is barbaric when the dateline is not even near uet.

What can opposition parties do? Read the recent shadow budget released by DAP. Read their manifesto when the election draws near. Instead of throwing cold water, the alternative you looking for is here. Opposition parties are not perfect to, so as BN.

But if you watch the movie, Man Of The Year, Tom Dobbs quoted Politicians are a lot like diapers. They should be changed frequently, and for the same reasons.

65. #66 by ablastine on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 6:50 pm

Realworld where have you been all this while. What track record of progress and development are you talking about. You must be kidding us. Go take a peep at our Southern neighbour or drop by China, India or Vietnam and you see what real progress and development is. The Kampong I stayed in is still the same old kampong after 30 years. Nothing changed except that that most of the younger fellas have all gone overseas for good leaving behind just the senior citizens.

I personaly would take whatever risk there is voting in the PAS/DAP/PKR rather than sticking on with the corrupted BN government. What nonsense are you talking about PKR being just a one men show. I know of a few quite capable fellas there. Maybe you should find out more before shooting your mouth off something you cannot support. Don’t really understand what’s wrong with DAP being a mainly Chinese party. Isn’t MCA also a Chinese party or PAS a malay dominated party or UMNO a malay dominated party. The name of the game is call racial politics. So we get racially dominant parties. What is the big deal.

66. #67 by Godfather on Monday, 10 September 2007 - 8:17 pm

Never mind the UMNO apologist RealWorld. He is out to sidetrack all the discussions. He will say “why look at everything from a racial point of view?” Then UMNO comes up with a racial profiling for all publicly-listed companies as part of the new budget. What does RealWorld do ? He keeps quiet. UMNO and MCA steal from the rakyat on the Port Klang scandal. What does RealWorld do ? He keeps quiet. The police bash up an innocent Indonesian by mistake. What does RealWorld do ? He keeps quiet. The UMNO leadership rants and rave, and waves the keris, threatening the Chinese explicitly. What does RealWorld do ? He says we are the ones who rant and rave.

Yes, RealWorld is a reality for Bolehland – what we can’t do, they can do. What we should not do, they would just go ahead and do.

For those of us who don’t want to keep quiet, we should just leave him alone.

67. #68 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 11 September 2007 - 9:32 pm

Dear Realworld,

It saddens me to read your outburst, I would like to point out a few things to you.

1. In our political world, name calling appears to be the norm, didn’t you know that bloggers, non bumis are called all sorts of name by the ruling party? they’re printed on the mainstream media and all, so name calling is the norm, and if you feel that is disgraceful, then you should consider an alternate parliament, I will return to this issue of name calling laterr.

2. I was merely stating my observation that in most kampongs, goats and cows grazed by the roadside, not penned up like pigs, if environmental pollution is a problem resulting from their feaces, shouldn’t the cows and goats be penned up just like pigs?
    and shouldn’t the government look into ways to dispose of their waste.

3. when we talk about pigs carrying diseases, lets look at some other animals such as bovine related disease, there’s foot and mouth, there’s mad cow disease also, and for your information, JE is spread by mosquitos. JE outbreak is not that often in comparison to our rising dengue figure.

4. I was merely offering another pollution which is more pressing and does not seemed to reduce which is “HAZE”, as we know, haze is an annual occurance, and when haze blankets peninsular Malaysia, governmental warnings, advice are being issued to all to stay indoors, and respiratory related sickness increases, this affects the whole country whether you’re living in the city or the kampong.

5. I am merely pointing out that our government offers swift justice on certain issues whereas other more pressing issues
    are being ignore, note that I did not comment on the conditions of the pig farms; unless we have visited the farms and stay there for some time or even living at the surrounding, we really can’t complain or comment on that can we?

6. And I noted that our government has always been reluctant to tell indonesians to stop the open burning.

I offer the more explaination to appease your anger.

I was wasn’t calling anyone (including you) names, unless, if I was to say “REALWORLD, you’re a UMNOPOLOGIST” then I would be calling you name by calling you, realworld an unmnopologist, I really see no reason why you should challenge me to “put your money where your mouth is” whatever that challenge is, it’s not important, it shows that you’re angry and I cannot comprehend why you are angry. I really am shocked by your outbust as others in this blog has always been at the receivingg end of your name calling, so you ain’t an angel compare to me.

Infact, I was looking forward to your word of thanks and thank yous now that people are noticing you again, people are writing about your comments. Where will you be if I had not written something about UMNOPOLOGIST and MALAYSIAN CANINE ASSOCIATION? to which I am still puzzle why you reacted strongly.

Well, I shall be expecting your outbust again anytime soon either in this or other postings, since you cannot understand these simple logic or explanation that I offer.

I shall be looking forward to your reply might just decides to heed others’ advice “ignore him and just leave him alone”

maybe we shall look forward to the day when your IP is blocked just like it was blocked in Malaysia Today.