PM speech to national unity panel

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

True to form, the PM talks on generalities such as we are all Malaysians. However what he did not say was worrying.

He did not say that Malaysians are equal and enjoy equal opportunities.

Did we hear about his views on Bangsa Malaysia? Or that Malaysians are one Bangsa Malaysia without differentiation of Malaysians into Ketuanan Melayu and ordinary Malaysians?

Did he say that there is only a Malaysian agenda and not something that Mmno wants — the Malay agenda?

If he believed in a Malaysian philosophy of a multiracial society that is multicultural and multireligious, then why after 50 years of Merdeka there is still classification of Malaysians into bumiputras and non bumiputras, quotas, racial preferences in politics, economics, culture and religion?

PM was quoted to have said the NEP has removed one of the two prongs of NEP, that there is no more identification of race with economic functions. So why did he not say that there is no more need for the NEP to continure?

Then again, mouthing a Malaysian philosophy and having an national unity advisory panel that is predominantly Malay are contradictory. It clearly shows the Malay agenda in practice. This truly reflect the political dilemma and hypocrisy that plagues our country.

1. #1 by JusticeII on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 11:56 am

There will never be one Bangsa Malaysia. Non Malays have suffered for 50 years and another 50 years will follow….

2. #2 by shaolin on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 12:21 pm

What National Unity our PM is mumbling about?? Malaysians’ Malaysia or Malays’ Malaysia?? We know this land belongs to ALL
    MALAYSIANS and NOT ONLY to MALAYS!! National Unity WILL go
    to no avail if NEP still EXISTS!!!

Happy 50 years of Independence,
    Leads Malaysia To Nowhere!

Apartheid Policy And Protectionism,
    Leads Malaysia To DOOM’s Day!!

If The Government Treassures Its PEOPLES,
    Discard ALL The UNFAIR POLICIES (NEP / WSP);

3. #3 by burn on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 1:07 pm

dah bosan aku dengan kata kata PM dan menteri menteri yang berpikiran telur separuh masak. tahukah diaorang, apa maknanya MALAYSIAN!
    apa gunanya bila menyebut kita MALAYSIAN, sedangkan kaum kaum lain masih diketepikan sehingga sekarang. ko PM dan si menteris separuh masak ingat, semua kaum kaum lain ni cop duit ka! beli rumah takdo diskaun, tu katakan MALAYSIAN.

4. #4 by KL Dude on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 2:22 pm

There will never be one Bangsa Malaysia as the Constitution prevails above anything when it comes to Bumiputera rights and freedom of religion for the Malays.

So no point talking about Bangsa Malaysia when it will never be realised here in the first place. Take a look at Indonesia as an apple with apple comparison for example, the citizens there, irrespective of race and religion are called Bangsa Indonesia but here in Malaysia the citizens are classified as bangsa Melayu, Cina, India, etc, etc…and not as Bangsa Malaysia. Very sad indeed.

So what does our 50th Independence mean to us after all if we can’t call ourselves Bangsa Malaysia and our identities here are still being referred to the name where our origin forefathers came from, i.e “Cina”, “India”, etc.

Therefore, to me the 50th Independence celebration may merely be just another political celebration of the ruling Government to gain more votes for the coming election rather than celebrating the true essence of Malaysia’s birthday with its citizen called “Bangsa Malaysia”.

5. #5 by trashed on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 2:51 pm

I would like to hear the phrase “All Malaysians are equal and enjoy equal opportunties” every time one of these politicians talk about unity.

As Dr Chen pointed out, what is not said is the worrying part. Perhaps this is the platform that the opposition should vocalise more especially in the upcoming GE. It might just be the appropriate cachphrase to appeal to the haerts and minds of Malaysians.

6. #6 by Jimm on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 3:28 pm

I always like to attend AAB’s public speeches events. He has a much lower control of his body language and normally doesn’t jive with his speeches. Comparing them with TDM charisma, 21-0.
    Seriously, AAB is an opposite character. Things that he is doing it in truth and honest, he is rather carrying a soft spoken character.
    Whenever, he tuned up in his speeches or having a lot of body movements then he is not talking with truefullness.
    Don’t believe me ?? Well, you can always observe him the next time you get the chance.

7. #7 by WFH on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 8:47 pm

He is at least being consistent, extolling the importance of Malaysian Unity, this unity being a very qualified one. It is correct of Dr Chen Man Min that what is very, very worrying is what the PM failed to say.

Will anyone disagree if I conclude that the PM clearly means :
    – All Malaysians should be united but only under Malay domination, solely? Pivotal Race, again..!!

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 10:53 pm

Dr Chen Man Hin :
    “True to form, the PM talks on generalities such as we are all Malaysians. However what he did not say was worrying.”

And very annoying too.
    Especially when the PM doesn’t know what to say!

AAB just doesn’t understand what’s important.
    SAdly, AAB can’t see the trees. Neither can he see the forest.
    It’s that pathetic!

Never in my wildest dreams would I have dreamt that a Malaysian PM can be so, oh, so simple-minded and so very under-achieving.
    Thanks to Tund Dr Mahathir. 22 years to find a successor and he gave us Pak LAH. Holy cow!

9. #9 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 13 July 2007 - 11:10 pm

i see your true colours……………. cyndi lauper

10. #10 by Leo on Saturday, 14 July 2007 - 12:50 pm

Frankly speaking, we have no rights to question what the UMNO or the BN coalition is doing. After all majority of Malaysian vote them into power. If we go to the international arena and claim that we are oppressed, unjustly treated, etc. We will be laughed at. What did the vote says? The fact remains, we (majority of Malaysians) vote them into power. We agrees to their actions.

We must ponder why we lose in most of our elections. Why did we lose out??? I’m really interested to see DAP can garner more votes and make a difference if not for the whole Malaysia, at least for the Chinese community.

I strongly feel DAP members should be actively involved in organising talks, raising awareness on certain issues, etc. At least at this juncture people will start voting for DAP with reinforcement that the party is not a seasonal party and are working tirelessly for their rights. Its not easy to convert the hardcore MCA supporter to vote for DAP. But this have to be done.

I really hope to see a more robust DAP that could obtain more votes in this coming election. I could not imagine another 2/3 majority for BN. Just a few short years under our current PM rule had done so much harm to Malaysia. I could not imagine another term.

One last point, at least it prove to the world that the non bumiputeras are oppressed and we can go internationally to declare our condition.