If Prime Ministers do not know, then who does?

by Amigo

A parallel can be drawn between the problem or problems facing the Malaysian government and that of the United States over what to do with the presence of millions of illegal aliens within its borders, working illegally and sending billions back to their home state — the only difference is that in the case of the U.S. it represents a national problem whereas in the case of Malaysia it is looked upon by some as a panacea to a “national problem”.

In the state of Sabah today, with the presence of “foreigners” more appropriately referred to as illegal aliens working illegally within its borders, outnumbering its citizens, the problem over time has been compounded many times over. Since its “inception” there is no government attempt to calculate in terms of costs how much it is costing the country and Malaysian taxpayers in terms of jobs lost, medical costs, education and the strain on its existing infrastructure — and the crime rate in the country.

In the U.S. even if you are an illegal alien, you are entitled to the protection afforded by the U.S. Constitution under the First Amendment; the children of illegal aliens have the right to educate their children by sending them to public schools like any of its citizens, and when they get sick they cannot be refused medical treatment at hospitals. These costs are borne by its citizens when they pay their taxes.

One cannot even begin to compare less still fathom the depth of the problem posed by illegal immigrants in Malaysia, and in the state of Sabah in particular.

Where do these “foreigners’ send their children to be educated unless they have red ICs? Are we not condemning them to a life of criminals? How do they get driving licenses to drive without documents to prove their presence? Never mind the lives lost in motor accidents because the driver is not insured. Never mind the hospitals since even its citizens are not entitled to medical treatment they could not afford to pay.

No official studies has been made to study the impact the presence these “foreigners” better referred to as illegal aliens or “undocumented’ workers, has on the local economy e.g. the impact it has on the demographic landscape of the state of Sabah, their implications on the planning and development of not only physical infrastructure but also socio-economic, all essential indicators for a meaningful economic planning under the country’s Five Year Development Plans.

On the other hand, the BN or national coalition-run government is guilty of breaches of human rights in treating its “foreigners” as sub-humans when refusing them the right to education for their children and medical treatment especially while allowing them to do lowly-paid menial jobs that locals are unwilling to do or do for the same pay. Never mind the presence of Islamic extremists and would-be terrorists among them since Malaysia is already acknowledged by many as a potential training ground for Muslim terrorists.

Over decades the nature of this mostly unofficially-acknowledged migratory but officially-sanctioned flow of mostly Muslims who may or may not be refugees or who may or may not meet the definition of “refugees” given under the 1967 U.N Protocol relating to the Status of Refugees” (to which Malaysia is not a signatory and is, therefore, not bound by the 1951 U.N. Convention), has gone from a trickle to a wave.

One is left to wonder since the BN run government based in Kuala Lumpur is aware of this problem, if it is not also UMNO-condoned and UMNO-sanctioned migratory flow of Muslims of another sovereign state into its territories as part of the national effort at Islamization – and in this particular case to Islamize what was predominantly Christian territory before it joined Malaysia in the early 60s.

In the mid-70s, after only a decade or so since joining predominantly Muslim Malaysia it was fast becoming common knowledge even then that red ICs issued to its permanent residents could be purchased by Indonesians for RM120.00 in Sabah; and there are Indonesian agents working for some Dato offering this “facility” only to Indonesian Muslims at a time when Indonesian Christians legally working as teachers in West Malaysia for some twenty years and have developed roots in this country, have had their applications for permanent-residents status turned down because they were not Muslims.

My Indonesian wife whom I married legally was called by Special Branch for a ‘routine interview’. The Special Branch officer was particularly interested in the red IC that was issued to her as he was going over it as if he was looking for tell-tale signs that it could be a ‘fake’ IC. I have seen fake ones and they look exactly the same. The government was aware even then of these unofficially-issued official ICs. Still decades later no one was ever arrested and tried for documentation fraud which is a crime in any country.

For Dr. Mahathir to say that he does not know, or is unaware of any involvement by UMNO politician or politicians in the illegal issuance of legal red ICs to “foreigners” during his tenure as Prime Minister is not only an insult to the intelligence of the average Malaysian but a slap in the face of all Sabahans.

Dr. Mahathir may not have been the mastermind behind the conspiracy to import what are essentially BN voters from adjoining territories which happen to be foreign territories, but he must have known of it. It may not have been his Project or his brainchild but it certainly is an unofficial UMNO project to which the inner circle of its senior leaders must be a party for the “problem” to continue this long and on such a scale.

We are not only entitled to know directly from the former Prime Minister but also from the sitting Prime Minister or is he going to put forward his by now predictable response of “I do not know and I am not aware”.

If Prime Ministers do not know and are not aware then who does?

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:26 am

For all the religious fervour that they profess to have, they will still lie through their teeth. The consequences are for the afterlife.

2. #2 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:29 am

TDM own version of “Believe-it-or- not” . Malaysia BOLEH

3. #3 by winc on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:35 am

This has not been uncommon.

Malaysians are forgetful lots. We can complain for years and decades about an issue but in the end, we tend to get settled by “I dont know and neither am I aware of it” syndrome. At times, we think the Select Committee and play an independent role to seek for more reveals and information but the Committee itself is being sanctioned to come into role when it thinks necessary and selectively choose their agendas to be addressed.

It will be just like asking the impossibles to perform the possibles. If you are talking about Sabah, it only takes one to look into the Sipadan development which was once debated furiously over the impact on environment; whatmore now about ICs.

4. #4 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:21 pm

They will act only when there are significant interest drawn to the subject, be it for publicity ot personal gain. Politicians are also businessmen with ‘aided’ advantages. They ‘supposed’ to give back to the countrymen good courses and deeds in the name of development.
    Most of us are not very ‘good’ in certain times of our life too. We just did not went overboard with things that eventually ‘damaged’ our own livinghood.
    Politicians businesses can be very ‘handsomely gains’ in monetary and power aspect of things. At times, everything happens so ‘fast’ that they failed to realised the ‘returns’ that they have ‘created’.
    Most of the politicians ‘buy’ their way up there and pay enough more to make sure that they can continue sitting in that seat.
    So, it have become like a standard ‘course’ to take.

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:28 pm

The top-man not only does not know, he does not care. Otherwise why has he and his government not taken immediate action to get to the bottom of it and get rid of the illegals who are affecting the security of the country?

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:40 pm

Will Dr. Mahathir say that he does not know when asked why he gave orders to shoot on sight Vietnamese ‘boat people’ fleeing communism for the simple reason that they were non-muslims?

7. #7 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:52 pm

illegals are easier to control for it is the govt that gv them the “rights” to stay. With them being absorbed into the society, they can manourve and dictate their voting trend. You cant expect us to vote for the same BS govt everytime but for these ppl, their lives depend on it. Their balls are literally in the govt’s hands. So they hv no choice but to vote for them each time to maintain their identity. And while this is going on, the robbers will continue to plunder the nation in the name of democracy.

8. #8 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 2:00 pm

thief n murderer calling someone else a thief.
    he is the WORST of the lot and yet he still condemns others.
    Bodoh-land is really giving muslims a good name for the world to see..

9. #9 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 2:04 pm

After the Nasi Kandar Perth had gone bankrupt, now
    “…barang-barang kawalan seperti beras, susu pekat manis dan daging yang sepatutnya tidak naik kerana dikawal kerajaan. Tinjauan Utusan Malaysia di beberapa kedai runcit … mendapati harga barang-barang tersebut naik antara lima hingga 20 peratus ataupun penambahan antara 10 sen hingga RM2 sen.”

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2007&dt=0516&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Muka_Hadapan&pg=mh_08.htm

10. #10 by Jonny on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 2:31 pm

In fact, the price in Nasi Kandar Perth increase much more. I guess inflation rate in Australia is much higher???

Anyway, sideline story. Probably juz to open biz and legally transfer money around and claim losses. Ask the tax agent …

11. #11 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 2:46 pm

I do agree with you, Jonny.
    We have a very great system to facilitates personal request for such industries.

12. #12 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 3:00 pm

Sabah issue are just one of the state that ‘used’ to gain control from opposition. We have not study others in Peninsular whereby the ‘truth’ may put us all in IJN beside TDM ….. ha ..ha .. ha ..

13. #13 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 3:09 pm

Welcome to malaysian-style sham democracy which would make Robert Mugabe blush like a virgin bride

“…those seats with Chinese-majority have an average 20,000 voters while the Malay-dominated constituencies have an average of 11,000 voters – for example, the Chinese-dominated Paya Terubong is the biggest state seat with 23,490 voters while the largest Malay seat, Permatang Berangan has only 14,049 registered voters.”

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/index.php?itemid=4688

14. #14 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 3:11 pm

All those top veteran in UMNO knew about these systemizing plots since 1969 incidents. Each of everyone of them were well taken care and given immunity.
    All their next of kins are truly blessed with great opportunity to excel in businesses under NEP and other priviledged packages. They are protected by the system to make sure that they can reach the top.

15. #15 by Sintiansai on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 6:41 pm

—-The reason why malaysia is going down—-
    Below is a conversation with the wife of one of the best businessman in malaysia today(the english used is casual between 2 good friends, hope you guys do not mind the grammer):

Secret says:
    mostly he use all project all over the world to dump at china project’

~SECRET2~ says:
    china got what project?

Secret says:
    charity and electric pump station

~SECRET2~ says:
    wow

Secret says:
    make highway…north western and southwestern of china

~SECRET2~ says:
    wahhhhh… now I know why malaysia is going down the drain liao

~SECRET2~ says:
    all money go china

Secret says:
    but mostly he make charity more

Secret says:
    ya

Secret says:
    that day have some MCA people come to look for my hubby

Secret says:
    Ask my hubby to switch some project back to Malaysia

Secret says:
    But

~SECRET2~ says:
    hahaha

Secret says:
    My hubby scold them

~SECRET2~ says:
    GOOD!!

~SECRET2~ says:
    haha

~SECRET2~ says:
    happy to hear that

Secret says:
    Because government make my hubby lose of 400m of transport fee to make the 2nd Penang Bridge

~SECRET2~ says:
    MCA very chicken… now they need people’s help

Secret says:
    Government actually accept to let my hubby do de,but last minutes reject

Secret says:
    Stupid Samy only let Malays tender

~SECRET2~ says:
    very bad larr

Secret says:
    So my hubby just let all the malays tender and do lo

~SECRET2~ says:
    oooo means the 2nd penang bridge will be made by malays?

Secret says:
    YA

Secret says:
    so my hubby just make money from oversea and without going through malaysia

Secret says:
    all money save at China Bank or Swiss Bank

Secret says:
    Make government cannot charge tax from us

~SECRET2~ says:
    now I know how to do buSecret2ess in malaysia… haha…

~SECRET2~ says:
    ooo like that one horr…

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 6:57 pm

“Will Dr. Mahathir say that he does not know when asked why he gave orders to shoot on sight Vietnamese ‘boat people’ fleeing communism for the simple reason that they were non-muslims?” k1980

He didn’t say”Shoot” but “Shoo shoo!” so he claimed. He ‘clarified’ this with the Far Eastern Economic Review (FEER). Now who would believe the guy?? After he said “Shoot them” or words to that effect, it was all damage control later. But the message was clear to the ‘boat people’ who would rather find other avenues of escape from the killing.

He’s been all along ‘very creative’ when it comes to words!

But I must give it to him here. He did not say you can shoot “because they are non-Muslims”.

17. #17 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 9:19 pm

This is not just any other allegations, someone is selling away our country, this is an act of treason, this is the worst of all kinds. This is something no one dares to know, so no one is going to get any answer.

18. #18 by Loh on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 9:51 pm

///For Dr. Mahathir to say that he does not know, or is unaware of any involvement by UMNO politician or politicians in the illegal issuance of legal red ICs to “foreigners” during his tenure as Prime Minister is not only an insult to the intelligence of the average Malaysian but a slap in the face of all Sabahans. ///

He might not know if it was 50 persons, or even 5,000 persons. But a million have come in and helped UMNO won the state election cannot escape his notice. He claimed to be a capable leader, and for a capable person, the obvious could not escape his notice. He knew about it, and he did not object to it, if not actively encouraging it. The project might have started as a small scale corruption. But when UMNO leaders considered it as meeting their long term objectives, then that is the results we see.

AAB will not take any action against those who have come in. Would he stop the practice?

19. #19 by dawsheng on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 12:53 am

The issue now is not who done this or who done that. What is the country going to do with them? How is the govt going to deal with them? Is more coming? Should it stop immediately or let it continue? What do the Sabahans want? What do the fake IC holders want? There is more questions about the future then it is about the past.

20. #20 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 1:15 am

Believe me, Mahathir would know if somebody farts. He may not know who.