Malaysia 2007 – export brains, import brawns

Malaysia is celebrating 50th Merdeka anniversary – half-a-century of nationhood. But things are going wrong all over us, whether macro or micro, from long-standing protracted ones to unheard-of scandals and outrage of public services.

The cry of Ooi C.H.’s plaintive email can be summed in one sentence – why is Malaysia continuing to export brains and import brawns? Read Ooi’s cry of a Malaysian patriot and nationalist:

I’m a former student from a famous high school in Bukit Mertajam. Each year, my school ‘produced’ many excellent students and intellectuals such as doctors, engineers, lawyers, etc, for the community and nation.

This year also the same. My school achieved most satisfactory results in both SPM and STPM. But sadly, among those ‘good’ students, more than half will pursue their studies at private colleges, such as Inti, Nilai.

After 1 year of study at these colleges, they will further their study overseas if their financial situation allows them to do so. It’s not only loss of human resources, it also a huge loss in terms of money. Let’s say, if a student spends RM200k to go to Australia, Canada, etc. Imagine how much it wil be if this involves 1000 students a year?

When the STPM results were announced, yes my school did it again. 6 students got 5As and 1 of them was among the best candidates in the country. 38 students gained 4As.

Most of them have done the same thing after receiving their results. Guess what? Yup, they applied for Singapore’s universities. I guess about 15 people got the offer from Singapore. I think all of them will accept the offer, no doubt. What is so surprising about the small number of 15 students?? All of them are top students in my school!! According to the Singapore government’s policy, they will be bonded for 3 years. As they will receive attractive salaries and stable permanent jobs in Singapore, few of them will come back to develop their career in Malaysia.

This is what my friends told me. Why this situation is repeated every year but neither our government nor our ministers can solve this problem. Sigh. What is the main cause of this situation, you may try to find out. There are many benefits to be developed in Singapore but many disadvantages in Malaysia.

Malaysia has achieved a high international trading figure months ago. But we are losing the intellectual human resources which is the main asset to develop a country. We export the intellectuals to Singapore, but meanwhile import building workers from Indonesia. What is the “loss and profit” business of the government. Please look into it seriously.

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 7:32 am

That’s what they want – for you to leave and hopefully never come back. If all the bright students stay on here, then the pressure to excel will be immense – why the need for pressure to do well, when a less pressurised system is already in place? Furthermore, the bright students will just make the rest look a little bit more stupid.

I’m not sure if the feelings of both sides – the BN government and the bright student fraternity – are that far apart. The government doesn’t really want the students to stay, and the students also don’t want to stay anyway given the tilted playing field and the limited opportunities in Bolehland after graduation.

2. #2 by 4th_wife on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 7:38 am

In a few years Sg GDP will overtake Msia, so they really need the best brains from Penang year after year. Their Health Minister is one of you too, from Penang. If he is left in Msia I don’t think Msia can make good use of him, isn’t it better to export him and the best brain to some other countries that can allow this top brains to maximize their potential? I think this also agure well within UMNO because it will make them feel comfortable and look better when the best are not around to compete with them, they really stand tall and look good when the others are Mat Rampet…just like Mat Keris.

3. #3 by Tai Lo Chin on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:01 am

What Jerai Member of Parliament (MP), Badruddin bin Amiruldin said in the Dewan Rakyat sometime back (“Malaysia ini negara Islam” and that “you tidak suka, you keluar dari Malaysia!”) summed it all. It is an ethno/religio centric view that is a cornerstone of UMNO’s political philosophy.

Many like him within UMNO hold the entrenched view that it is better for Malaysia to be another Zimbabwe or Nigeria if being in the ranks of Singapore (nurturing human capital) means malays losing out to the others.

The prevailing view is that export of brains and import of brawns is ok because it is easier for UMNO to maintain political power secure and unchallenged and more satisfying to dominate brawns than to have brains around to measure against or to challenge them for their “bochor” remarks.

This is how they view the “loss and profit” business of the government!

4. #4 by Woody on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:08 am

I have an uncle who has three sons and is a Branch Chairman of MCA. Do you know what he do??? Sent all his sons to Singapore to study. Two of them have already started to work in Singapore. What does mean???? Your guess is as good as mine?

5. #5 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:10 am

Uncle LIm, I almost fainted when I heard the tuition fees to send a student for a 4-yr Degree in Nursing (locally) its RM72,000/-. No way a salaried man earning RM8k with 3 kids can afford this in KL.

6. #6 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:19 am

hey hey… i am also one who went to sg after my spm. did not even bother to apply for a local u. what for? juz to get a reply saying tt my application was rejected or giving me some crappy course.
    my country’s gov is treating me like trash while sg gov is willing to pay for my a-levels and uni studies. serving them for 3 years is a small price to pay as compared to having been born n lived in bodoh-land for 18 years and still treated as 3rd or 4th class citizen.
    let all the brains leave bodoh-land and mat rempits come in… let them rob and kill all the bn blood suckers n then die a horrible death themselves. then e brains come back n heal e land

7. #7 by Jimm on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:51 am

BN Masterplan to weed out those brains to another country to keep competition off their own back. They won in this areas whereby most of our ‘brains’ are comfortably residing elsewhere except here. This country is full of natural resources to tap among themselves. No need education background to get these “ATMs” into their own pockets.
    Did we done enough to prevent this ????

8. #8 by sotong on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:56 am

This is good news for the government, in particular UMNO.

Decades of shallow and grossly damaging politics of race and religion had done enormous damage to the country.

It is too late to reverse this trend and the far reaching impact it would have on the country….another good news for the government, in particular UMNO.

9. #9 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:00 am

little kid, please don’t think in a selfish way. it is the era of globalisation. think globally, please. all human belongs to this earth. whatever good things you do, the results will be beneficial to all mankind. nationalism is promoted in the third world and under-developed countries. we don’t want it continue to exist in bolehland.

10. #10 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:19 am

more brawns so that no one in 50years could figure out how the govt plunders the nation and question them. They wont be able to think and figure out that they are being robbed in broad daylight on a yerly basis. It is not about the malay agenda. It is more about the “I” factor. Me! Me! Me!

And speaking of education, can someone please look into the Bahasa Malaysia syllabus for year 1 onwards. Why is it so difficult? HOw can you start a year One pupil on peribahasa and what not crap? Are they doing this on purpose to kill off their spirits and thus when they move into Secondary they will find it hard to adapt? As I look at their syllabus it is mind-boggling. Any teachers out there who can assess this?

11. #11 by lakshy on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:26 am

To make your voice heard at the next election, make sure you are registered to vote and in which constituency. Please check whether you are registered to vote following this link…

http://daftarj.spr.gov.my

12. #12 by bbtan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:27 am

Dear Ooi,
    Why this situation is repeated every year? Well the umno people dont care a hoot. The leader of all Malaysians may talk about human capital but he wont walk the talk. He would rather that Malaysia’s progress crawl at a snails pace than allow the tetuan concept die out.

13. #13 by sotong on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:37 am

Who says the government doesn’t know what they are doing?

This is one of their great achievements……getting rid of the country invaluable human resources essential to the country’s growth and progress and welcoming large numbers of illegal migrants and provide them with schools and other facilities from the tax payers money….and eventually made them a citizen.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 9:56 am

Better to import prawns.

15. #15 by bbtan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 10:02 am

Dear Ooi,
    A Singapore leader revealed that the second PM of Malaysia said that brain drain = trouble drain for umno. Dont be dishearten by all the discriminations. They will strengthen your resolve and you will be successful in life.

16. #16 by Taiko on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 10:49 am

Good choice for the students. Moreover, a qualification from Singapore universities is of world recognition. Much better than Malaysia’s.

Our loss is other people’s gain but it’s not their problem. It’s OUR problem. A problem which the ministers seems willing to ignore.

In the end, I think Singapore saved the best of our brains from being wasted!

17. #17 by Orangutan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 10:58 am

Since the topic is about brain drain I would just like to pen my thoughts and some facts, since it is something that has changed my life for being part of it.
    15 years ago, I rejected UM’s offer to study the course of my choice in order to pursue my university studies in Singapore. It was a huge risk for me to take then and a lot of my friends told me that I was stupid.

But now, in retrospect, I have no regrets at all comparing my achievements now with my friends in Malaysia.

The meritocratic system here does not reward or promote a person base on race, nationality or religion. There is personal satisfaction, appreciation and recognition for one’s achievement. Citizens and non-citizens alike, are given equal opportunity to compete and develop one’s potential. I have met so many Malaysians holding senior management positions in the private and government sectors here. And please don’t get the wrong picture, these opportunities are not only offered to Malaysians (or Chinese Malaysian) alone but to people from other countries too, ie the Middle-East, China, India, Europe and etc. Of course, certain high level and sensitive positions in the government departments are for the best qualified Singaporeans only. This is understandable and acceptable to me, as I would expect all governments in other countries to do likewise for national security reasons.

If Malaysian government really wants to stop the brain drain, there must be serious efforts to create a similar environment. The Singaporean model is there for you to study and adopt. And please, please put your ego aside as there is nothing wrong in learning from your younger sibling who is more successful than you.

One last request to the Malaysian government, please improve the public security and cleanliness in JB and the conditions of its custom complex. The driving experience into JB from Singapore everytime makes one feel that the environment is transformed from first to a third world country. If I can feel it, all other tourists can too.

18. #18 by ah lau on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:11 am

Brains and brawns are all very important to develop the Country.

There is no ratio of brains and brawns for a SUCCESSFUL country

Malaysia is said to be an islamic country so you know what they cherish loh !

19. #19 by anakbaram on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:49 am

Attitude of the Malaysian Government with respect to places in Institude of Higher learning for the ones they cosider “second class citizen” is just another prove of their “scarcecity” mentality. The work very hard to save places for their own by pruposely depriving others who deserve the place. This is the practice is seen in almost everything that the government does, e.g. job opportunities, propmotins in government jobs, even jobs in the National Oil Company. Go and check at any of their offices and work-sites, you will find that this practice is done there; even in Sabah and Sarawak where the majority population are the natives of the two states. What is happening to Malaysia? Where is she going? If she is going to where I think she is, let’s do something fast to save her.

20. #20 by Taiko on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:52 am

Orangutan: “please improve the public security and cleanliness in JB and the conditions of its custom complex”

Rest assured that as a citizen of this city, this is what I’ve always been fighting for.

21. #21 by Taiko on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:53 am

Am I being moderated?

22. #22 by Toyol on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 12:08 pm

Do mediocre/HP6 leaders want smart people under them? No way, I say…simply b;cos it is easier to hoodwink the poorer and less qualified people than it is the well educated. So they want less educated people in the system. Simple. Which means at the end of the day, Malaysia will never be developed. As long as they continue to profit at our expense, education policies will not change.

23. #23 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 12:34 pm

Even if you are the best student and graduate from the best universities of the world, you will never be number 1 here. Or no 2 or 3. These positions will be filled by people who have IQs of 74 and have the work ethic of sloths. So you brilliant and capable fellows will just degenerate. So go and stay overseas. Nobody loves you here.

24. #24 by grace on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 12:48 pm

Top student here could not even qualify to be chief clerk!
    But in Singapore they are made CEO of big companies.
    Shows that we are much way ahead of Singapore!!!!

Our top posts are held by people with super brains, namely Pak Lah, Najib and so forth. Our law makers , like Bung Mokhtar can make a good clown in a circus as well as parliament. Show how brainy he is!

Can you beat that? We export brain, but import clowns!!!

25. #25 by paix on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 1:02 pm

life is not a dress rehearsal. it is a great tragedy for anybody who is being held back and not being able to pursue their dreams. escape to somewhere, anywhere, to be free; to achieve and reach for the stars without being fettered by some racist and unappreciative govt. your future generations will be forever grateful.

26. #26 by loud8 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 1:30 pm

I thought I had read papers, that Malaysia would like to export their professionals to other countries.
    Hmmm, this could be part of the idea Malaysia have.. They know that talented people will leave Malaysia and work in other country. While their family is still in Malaysia. Thus they will send back millions of $$ back to Malaysia and support their parents and family in Malaysia..
    I sent back ten of thousands every year to my parent. I am not competing with those in Malaysia.. Hmmm, they are smart in implementing this policy..

27. #27 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 1:34 pm

I completely agree with Godfather with what he says. This is exactly what UMNO is aspiring, but at fortunately they have not gone to the extent like the Nazis or the Khmer Rouge communist regime who murdered all those intelligent Jews and Cambodians. Here they subtlety and systematically eliminate the intelligent by giving all type of frustration to the nons, thus dismantling their desire to return.

As a father, I am speaking this from my personal experience with both my sons who encountered the same difficulties with JPA who will exercise its Machiavellian policies to its fullest. In other words will do everything they can to frustrate you. In my case when they find that everything is in order, they will derogate by changing the policy mid-way to eliminate you and all riposte will be met with deaf ears as changing of policies as and when they like are their rights. These are all happening right in front of my eyes and I being civil servant together with the help of top MCA leaders can’t do anything about it, what hope do others have under the same circumstances. They will frustrate you to the bone and will also try to be nasty when you go and see them purposely create an aura of hatred but they really do not care because they know we cannot do anything.

We really want to be loyal because we are born here and by default our motherland but they will push you to the end so that under such circumstances there is no more will to return to serve the country but to them they are happy because that is their aim. We know we have been lured into their trap but is there a better choice for this young crop of talents who has felt the pains of discrimination. Those who had experience with them will never want to believe their rhetoric of “Modal Insan”, maybe only for their own kind.

By now we all should know that what “Godfather” had said is hard truth probably from his own experiences and our YB Kit has been too mild to ask “why is Malaysia continuing to export brains and import brawns”? To me they are not exporting but literally CHASING out the brains.

From precedents UMNO is prepared to do anything just to entrenched their political supremo.

28. #28 by Sergei on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 1:59 pm

CH Ooi,

Which “non-earthling” don’t feel the same. Your other classmates have made the wisest decision of leaving Bolehland. Go somewhere where you are appreciated.

Go to countries where the companies offer “equal employment opportunitities”

Let the govt feed the “earthlings”

29. #29 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 2:29 pm

I don’t blame the Malay for chasing Chinese out of Malaysia. To the Chinese who left it was not worth it for them to stay on, that’s all. This will be ongoing just as long as BN is in power, pity those Chinese who are unable to catch the fight, looks like the future is considerably grim for us.

30. #30 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 2:56 pm

I am sending my kid to Australia to further his study end of the year. I told him not to come back to this bodohland after he complete his studies there. What’s the point of him coming back when we here in this bodohland are still talking about race and quota without realising the impact of globalization. The crutches dependent malay professionals like lawyers and accountants still insist on the 50% ruling in maybank and ambank. They can never walk on their own!

31. #31 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 3:00 pm

it seems that loud8 does have a point in saying that people sending money back to their parents r actually contributing to e rotten gov. so maybe we can bring out parents along with us?
    and as wat orangutan said, previously when i was still in uni in sg, everytime i go back to malaysia using the causeway, there is an automatic change in me. i will be carefree when in sg and my hand will automatically cover my pocket containing my wallet when i cross over to JB. it is an automatic reaction. i guess i did get some good education in bodoh-land. dont trust e security in bodoh-land. tt is some good advise…

32. #32 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 5:00 pm

Goblok Gomen says “hey you cina, I want your money, now get lost!”

nothing new in BODOHLAND anymore

33. #33 by Orangutan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 5:31 pm

One thing will lead to the next for sure, brain drain will be followed by money drain.
    Robert Kuok has already got some of his billions out from Malaysia to Singapore, what are you guys waiting for?

34. #34 by Orangutan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 6:03 pm

To Ooi CH,

Chart your own future and pursue your dream, even if it takes you to far away land. This was my parents’ advise to me 15 years ago and it will be my advise to you right now, especially to an aspiring, bright and young Malaysian. Remember, you are not losing everything when you leave Malaysia.

Your destiny is in your hand, go to where you are appreciated, where your can grow to your full potential and achieve what you have set out to. Search for an environment where you can fit in and excel. Trust me, this will be your parents’ wishes too.

When you make it one day, you will look back with no regrets. And you will come to find your newly adopted home can be as comfortable as Malaysia.

35. #35 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 6:43 pm

It is true when Malays labeled the Chinese as immigrants. Here we are complaining about mistreatments from the govt, and leaving seems to be the only solution, this is an attitude of immigrants. If you choose to leave, the reason should not be Malaysia don’t want you but it is because the opportunies are abundant out there for talented Malaysians and you left because of that. You wish for your country to be better, you wish you don’t have to leave, you wish you were treated fairly but why you didn’t get anything? The only thing is wrong with the Chinese in Malaysia is because the MCA didn’t do their job properly, something is amiss. Don’t blame the Malay but blame the MCA.

36. #36 by mickey01 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:07 pm

Malays virtually occupy about 80 per cent in the civil service and in some more than 90. This is outrageous, blatant discrimination and degrading!

37. #37 by toyolbuster on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 8:19 pm

AAB would say, YES! we did it. Tun Razak’s masterplan is bearing fruits. UMNO has succeeded in getting rid of all the non-bumi brains.

38. #38 by Orangutan on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:16 pm

There were once plans to push the non-bumi brains out of the country. However, with the abundant opportunities available elsewhere now, the cream of the crop is leaving Malaysia voluntarily. UMNO can laugh now, but I think those who left the country will have the last laugh. Wait and see…..

Many business people whom I deal with outside Malaysia have already associated bumi concerns with sub-standards because of the NEP, for which I do not blame them at all. Without the brains, everything Malaysian will eventually be perceived as sub-standards in time to come.

Sorry fellow Malaysians, time each when I see Malaysia is behind Singapore in certain competitive or achievement ranking, I can’t help but utter the word “Yes!” in zest.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:18 pm

“The crutches dependent malay professionals like lawyers and accountants still insist on the 50% ruling in maybank and ambank. They can never walk on their own!”

The policy aimed at encouraging non-Malays to work together with Malays has been successful. Today we see more of such ventures – non-Malays working together with Malays not only in the legal profession, accountancy etc but others too. This can only be good for the country.

Rather than a preference for an all Malay legal firm, the preference is for a legal firm with strong not necessarily majority bumi equity participation.

40. #40 by mendela on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 11:23 pm

UMO is practicing apartheid in Malaysia to its fullest!

Where is our Nelson Mandela?
    Where is our Tutu?

Where on earth can you find the Government systematical marginalized her 50% of citizens to such extent?

Where is the trade embargo on Malaysia like South Africa was facing some 25 years ago from most countries in the world?

41. #41 by peanut king on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:09 am

My dear frens…its not too late to know now.
    I am 50+ years old…and i was always patriotic when i left school and even after my studies in the 70tees.

After that when start looking for jobs n trying hard to earn a decent living in this bodoh land only i realised that i should hv follow the footsteps of alot of my frens who work overseas and even obtain PR there. I REALLY REGRETTED STAYING BACK AND BEING PLAY OUT BY THIS BODOH LAND.

Now i make sure my kids are all well educated and not be trap in this bodoh land.I tell them to look for job oversea that pay them a fair n just value.Why stay back and be slave to this bodoh land n be humiliated [deleted].

Go ahead n encourage them to go away but make sure they come back every elections n vote for the DAP.

We non malay spend years saving only be spend it all on our kids education oversea.Imagine if all these monies were spend in this country the spin off effect will be double if not trible.Our quality of live will improve and so are our spending power.

But on the hinsight it is still worth it when you see all your kids are so clever and the govt oversea treasure them as their own citizen.
    Imagine being treated like trash n rubbish n work under an idiot who knows nothing but get all the credits when job accomplished by someone else.

42. #42 by LeGran on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:23 am

“You tak suka, you keluar. ”

That’s what the “Bo Nao” politicians said right? Leave here if you don’t like. So our great achievers left because of these Barang Naik politicians

43. #43 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 5:29 am

Export of human brain?? India exports body parts, human hair and human skeletons.

44. #44 by awesome on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 10:40 am

Just remembered reading this is a varisty toilet.

Some one wrote (must be a malay) ‘ Chinese go back to China’

Then the next day another line was written ‘Malays go back to Indonesia’

Final statement probably from an Indian “Hurray! Indians take over’

It is really silly of some to want good brains out. You know we all reap what we sow. Sow harm and receive harm. Sow rejection and receive rejection.

So I hope BN would consider how not to sow rejection and prejudice to fellow citizen, regardless of the race.

Prejudice is like a stench in Malaysian society. It kinda applies to all races. When is this going to end?

Discrimination is so obvious in education, in purchasing property, in applying for jobs and even in shopping yeah. If you are a chinese, this is your price, and Indian another price and a Malay another. How do I know? Had our encounters ..shopping with friends from other races

Of course Malays ‘untung’ purchasing property. Sorry for all the other races. This is out-right prejudice, Mr. Prime Minister.

If this is our Bumi’s privileges….consider the orang asli. Only some are helped. Why not all the orang asli. Aren’t they the real bumiputra’s. By the way…in many foreign lands, we are given the same rights as the citizens in many fields. So perhaps we should consider other races and not be selfish about the Malays.

If we sow kindness and graciousness, that is what we’ll reap. Win the favour and respect from the citizens not anger them by discrimination. Malays had been spoonfed and yet they end up like spoilt children. Stop it and be fair if you care. Every citizen is a bonus not only for election but for the development of this country.

45. #45 by Orangutan on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:36 am

It is extremely shortsighted for Bumis to think that with the departure of non-bumis from Malaysia, they will have more opportunities to fill the gaps non-bumis have left behind. The economy and new business opportunities will dwindle as well.

I also don’t see how the bumis “untung” from all the privileges and discounts they are enjoying or should I say robbing from the non-bumis.

The free market forces will, without bias and prejudice, ultimately be the judge to determine a person’s economic value base on his/her actual capability, efficiency and knowledge. There is already a two tier pricing system which exists in the market right now.

From my regular recruitment of graduates in KL, I never fail to notice the trend that bumi graduates will naturally ask for a salary at 15-20% lower than the non-bumis, while having the same qualifications. Is this self-recognitioin of non-competitiveness and low self-confidence after being forced out of the NEP’s comfort zone? You ponder and decide.

Some of you may also notice a similar trend in general from the commanding fees by the bumi professionals, ie doctors, lawyers, architects, accountants, engineers and etc? Is this because free market forces is at play again?

Please don’t get me wrong here and I am not a racist. I have engaged some bumi professionals who are up to par and have proven themselves with their excellent work.

The Non-bumis may be denied certain opportunities and loose the head start, but perseverence and hard work shall ensure that they are marketable globally and eventually compensated in more ways than one in this free market economy.

46. #46 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:38 am

We all knew all things are ‘not so right’ have been circulating among our communties since 1957 and plots to gain control of the country by certain quarters have proven to be ‘a wrong thing’ to meddle upon.
    These ‘people’ have no another choice, but to continue the work.
    It’s like those children in war torn countries, they are brought up just to fight the war and continue to fight until they themselves got killed.
    Malaysian politics are the same too. That’s why we can see that no many commoners can be ‘elected’ to the top unless they are closely related.
    All these people are great carpets merchants whom well taught by their parents since young.

47. #47 by Jimm on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:40 am

Why ? Why carpet merchants ? Because they know which carpet to use when they need to do ‘cover-ups job’ and which one to ‘sell’ to get more margins.

48. #48 by maya on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 12:41 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,
    Since the beginning of this year, i have been working in Australia.It was supposed to be for a year, but i reckon i might just stay on….
    It is not about better pay, it is not about the conducive working environment, it is not about the less on call hours, it is not about patient overload..It is all about how you dont have to state your religion and race in every form you feel, it is about how my daughter does not have to feel that she is any different ( read inferior) compared to her peers, its about how people see you for what you are, and it is about not being racially discriminated in such a large, politicised scale. Uncle Lim, while you are talking about other issues in Parliament, pls ask them about the Biro Tata Negara Courses that the govt conducts for the those who apply for a government scholarship to go overseas. Pls ask them about how they make the nonbumis feel so demeaned,so humiliated, like a beggar being handed out alms, pls ask about the ratio of the students in terms of bumi:nonbumi during the course and specifically ask about the discussions of ‘patriotism’ that they have for the last 2 days! You will not get an honest reply, but seriously, pls tell them, that that course has given me such an insight to my position as a pseudoMalaysian and over my dead body will my children endure that. Yes, Uncle Lim, i am running away like a coward, to a place that will welcome my children…

49. #49 by megaman on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 2:28 pm

# loud8 Says:
    May 15th, 2007 at 1:30 pm

Hmmm, this could be part of the idea Malaysia have.. They know that talented people will leave Malaysia and work in other country. While their family is still in Malaysia. Thus they will send back millions of $$ back to Malaysia and support their parents and family in Malaysia..
    ….

Hi loud8,

How many rounds or cycles can Msia afford to keep shipping out brains ?
    With each round of talents exported, how many are left to generate more talents to continue the export ?

What happens after the parents have gracefully passed away?
    No more millions sent back to Msia ?

What Msia is doing right now is what academics call a slow suicide.
    The country will continue to weaken slowly and the next time a serious economic collapse comes everything will be wiped out because the country is already so weak it can no longer defend itself. By that time, it is already too late. Look at Brazil, Paraquay, Uruguay and the other Latin American countries. Study their history and development and you will notice ours is not that far off.

But I guess:

a) The Malays too busy protecting their privileges n quotas

b) The Chinese are too busy grabbing whatever they can and flee the country

c) The Indians are too busy surviving and making a living whatever way they can.

d) The real bumis are too busy hunting in the jungles.

So what to do ?
    Uncle Kit shouted, pouted, talked, threatened, jumped up n down, cry, whatever until mouth dry, back hurting, eyes blurring, hair falling etc etc … also no use, cause everyone too busy with the current to be bothered with the future.

50. #50 by loud8 on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 3:26 pm

No problem lah, when Malaysia had finished shipping out the brain, they will still have the black gold. When the black gold finished in about 10 years, we will ship out maid and labor services. We can even ship out body part for transplant.
    Just look at some of our neighbors, they are doing taht and surviving too…

51. #51 by Orangutan on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 5:33 pm

loud8,

That’s why I always say those who choose to leave will have the last laugh; and will have the opportunity to employ Malaysian maids in thier newly adopted home in the future. As for the export of body parts, I think the brains will be the cheapest since they are hardly used at all.

52. #52 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 1:59 am

“Just remembered reading this is a varisty toilet.

Some one wrote (must be a malay) ‘ Chinese go back to China’

Then the next day another line was written ‘Malays go back to Indonesia’

Final statement probably from an Indian “Hurray! Indians take over’”

Yes. But a smart fella comes by and writes on the wall near the urinal, “Remember you hold your future in your hands. Take good care of it.”

53. #53 by art-upon-mu on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 3:28 am

This issue is not the first time and also not the last time that we will discuss in this blog. Nothing has changed much since this issue was discussed many moons ago. What is written has been written multiple times.
    The bottom line remains the same: if you have to leave this land for another to pursue your dream and to gain your self esteem and respect (for yourself and for your children), just go. You leave with no apologies. The sooner the better.
    In fact many who left often ask themselves: Why did it take me so long to leave? I should have left long ago.
    Why stay here and be treated as a second or third class citizen and be squeezed left, right, and centre by our elected government?
    It’s better to leave, become a citizen of another country, and be warmly welcome and seduced by the same government who ill-treated you while you are a Malaysian citizen to invest in Malaysia as a foreigner. See how our government is wooing and drooling for Singaporeans (read many ex-Malaysians) to invest in Iskandar Development Region!
    So, do what is best for yourself and your family. And know that you are more patriotic than many of our corrupted and self-enriching politicians.

54. #54 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 10:13 pm

What is wrong about telling people who want to leave to leave?? People leave for greener pastures or to get away from the mother-in-law everyday!

They should be commended for reminding us of our rights.

55. #55 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 10:16 pm

What has patriotism got to do with anything? To be “patriotic” is a state of mind. You can be anywhere and still be patriotic.

56. #56 by Orangutan on Friday, 18 May 2007 - 10:08 am

I understand the feelings of 1st generation migrants for being one myself. You will always worry about the uncertainties due to change of environment, social life, cultures and careers. Part of the feelings felt by our forefathers who brave the dangerous high seas and merciless pirates to come to Malaya more than a century ago for survival and economic reasons. Was patriotism playing in their mind and put off their effort to migrate, or food on the table for their families and better future for their children(which is us)?

What is happening now with the brain drain is the same phenomenon due to unfair treatment in all aspects of life felt by the present generation of non-bumis. It is quite the same migration cycle but in a slightly different dimension and for different reasons.

And please, for those who choose not to take this risk, do not use patriotism or love for Malaysian food as an excuse for staying put. And for those who left, they are not coward and selfish, because it will be more selfish of you not to try to seek a better future for your children while you still can and still have the window of opportunity.

Of course there is always hope for those who stay, you can be part of the force to make a change, which may or may not happen in your or your children’s life time, and you got to understand this risk. And for championing of that cause, DAP has done a tremendous job so far, I admire and salute you Uncle Lim.

The bottomline is, there is nothing wrong at all for those who choose to stay, or those who choose to leave, never criticise each other for their choices. The future is in your hand.

57. #57 by Kingkong on Friday, 18 May 2007 - 3:55 pm

This is an old topic.

Put it this way, it is not that easy to migrate this day, either you must have plenty of $ (business migration) or you have good qualification or good skill and are young enough (skill migration). The proficiency of your English language must also be acceptable.

If you can be accepted by your host country, please go and don’t look back. No matter how, it couldn’t be worse. If you can’t, then stay back and fight as some of the people say so; tolerating lots of nonsense.

It is naïve to conclude that migration means unpatriotic. For whatever reasons, there are 18000 Malay migrants living in Australia.

58. #58 by accountability on Friday, 18 May 2007 - 7:45 pm

indeed, BN in bodoh-land is only too keen to import indon brawns for their votes to stay in govt

how else can you explain the ease with which these unskilled labours get PR and citizenship whereas spouses of malaysians with professional qualifications struggle?!

also, with the brains gone, no pressure to excel and nobody to ask difficult questions to challenge the nonsense that they’ve been inflicting on our country

good example: khir toyol, a javanese turned msian menteri – happily plundering bodoh-land

59. #59 by Maddresearch on Thursday, 24 May 2007 - 11:08 am

This is the song we have to sing in public and GLC sector:

Chinese do all the works
    Malays got all the names
    Something wrong………
    Indians got all the blames

Muhibba…….muhibba……muhibba…………

60. #60 by Maddresearch on Thursday, 24 May 2007 - 11:17 am

I am encoutered the same problems, the complex I am working where the cleaning contractor is changing indon cleaners every six month with batches. New faces I saw and out of curosity and talk to one of them, they are waiting for the pr or ic!!?? it might not be the truth but until I met some of them and was told they are now working in the bank as cleaner because the got the pr or ic?
    Past years there were hundreds if not thousands so accountability you are absolute right. They do import to make up the number. Please use your simple mathematics calculations in east malaysia, even with the most productive rate in producing babies with four wives, you cant get the current population figures in east malaysia!!!!

61. #61 by Maddresearch on Thursday, 24 May 2007 - 11:32 am

Just talk about the logic in this nation to select an astronaut must be a muslim not capability! The objective to be up in the space is to test how to sembahyang! what’s the waste of tax payer money, eventhough it is free seat. Malaysia Boleh

62. #62 by Maddresearch on Thursday, 24 May 2007 - 11:39 am

Some bumis are really excellent and professional, some of friends are very clever and smart too but the Maybank and Ambank case has reclassified them with the majority of the handdicup bumis which is not fair. I hope those competent bumis should stand up against these majority sick bumis who are lazy and waiting for distributions of wealth of the nation without working hard