Ketuanan Melayu – are students taught that this is mere history which contradicts Bangsa Malaysia and Vision 2020?

History students must be taught that “Ketuanan Melayu”is a concept pertaining to a past historical era but not pertinent to Malaysia of today as it contradicts the Bangsa Malaysia concept of Vision 2020

Parliament has set up the Select Committee on unity and national service to grapple with difficult and hard issues pertaining to national unity and nation-building.

The task and challenge of the Select Committee is to wrestle with these great issues and give its considered recommendations “and not just transmit the government’s stand or views.

I find that on many issues raised by those who attended the public hearings of the Select Committee, the Select Committee took the easy way out by responding either with “take note” (ambil maklum) or “acknowledges comment” (memperakui ulasan) based on the relevant Ministries’ official replies.

This is utterly useless as this is not the role for which the Select Committee had been set up by Parliament and it should not shirk from its duty to take a stand on the issues pertaining to national unity and integration which had been brought to its attention.

Let me give one illustration.

I refer to the submission by the DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng to the Select Committee on 29th April 2005 on education . The topic, as noted in page 88 of the report, is to “eliminate racist concepts” in Form 3 and Form 5 history textbooks which dwelt on the concept of “Ketuanan Melayu”.

The explanation from the Education Ministry is as follows:

Istilah “Ketuanan Melayu” perlu dilihat dalam konteks perjuangan orang Melayu sebelum merdeka yang menganggap Semenenjung Tanah Melayu sebagai tanah pusaka (sons of the soil) seperti yang diakui oleh pihak penjajah British ketika itu. Istilah ini juga merujuk kepada situasi sebelum merdeka yang menjelaskan reaksi orang Melayu terhadap penubuhan Malayan Union yang telah menghapuskan “Ketuanan Melayu” dari segi kedaulatan, kuasa politik dan isu kewarganegaraan yang longgar. “Ketuanan Melayu” dilaungkan oleh pemimpin Melayu pada ketika itu bagi menyatupadukan orang Melayu menentang Malayan Union dan bukannya menuntut kemerdekaan. Oleh itu, konsep ini ialah peristiwa dan reality sejarah pada ketika itu dan ia dimasukkan bukan bertujuan untuk menggugat perpaduan masyarakat Malaysia.

What is the Select Committee’s position? An insipid position of “”Jawatankuasa memperakui ulasan Kementerian”. This is totally unsatisfactory.

The question is whether history students in schools are clearly told that the concept of “Ketuanan Melayu” is a concept pertaining to a past historical era but not pertinent to Malaysia of today as it contradicts with the Bangsa Malaysia concept of Vision 2020, and if not, what is being done to give the new generation of Malaysia a correct picture and true perspective on nation-building.

This is what I look forward to in the final report of the Select Committee.

(Speech 3 by in the debate on the interim report of the Parliamentary Select Committee on unity and national service in Dewan Rakyat on Thursday, 10th May 2007 at 9.15 pm)

1. #1 by FuturePolitician on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:05 pm

The Malay language doesnt have the history of the english language or the mandarin or latin or etc etc.. so whatever they write can be interpreted any way anyone wishes. If they want to call it “The Malay Supremecy” by all means do so.. as long as they do not degorate or start to state that other races are foreigners. The law has recognised whomever after….is a MALAYSIAN! This is needed to forge ties and unity to compete with other nations.

It is what NOW that MATTERS! If the future of our country in doldrum yea thats right…the pride of their history brought them to wherever they are in the future..

Do what we can TODAY…The Future is the action you do TODAY!

2. #2 by madmix on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:33 pm

If “white supremacy” is politically incorrect and considered dirty words, how come we tolerate “Malay supremacy”?

3. #3 by pwcheng on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:37 pm

Power can change history, power can change everything, Power allows one to practice Machiavellian law, Power allows one to rebrand a villain and a murderer to become a hero.
    “It is fatal to enter any war without the will to win it” says General Douglas MacArthur. That is exactly what is happening to the opposition who do not have any concrete strategy to win the war and they become more and more bold to do and say anything they like.

4. #4 by pwcheng on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:43 pm

If “white supremacy” is politically incorrect and considered dirty words, how come we tolerate “Malay supremacy”?

Well they have no ears for the benevolent saying” Do not do unto others what you do not like others to do unto you” Hopefully the same wind that swept the British away will also sweep them away.

5. #5 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:51 pm

difference between “white supremacy” and “malay supremacy”

White supremacy:
    white people actually infiltrate, conquer or rule over e land by working towards their supremacy

malay supremacy:
    think that they are much better than others and satisfied with that thought. maybe by too much influence by bomohs who claims that a few prayers and rituals will make them invulnerable.

main difference: one works for it, another juz hallucinates

6. #6 by madmix on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 6:14 pm

Wikipedia on “white supremacy”: Isn’t “malay supremacy” the same thing?
    White supremacy is a racist belief that white people are superior to other races. The term is sometimes specifically used to describe a political ideology that advocates social and political dominance for whites.

White supremacy, as with supremacism in general, is rooted in ethnocentrism and a desire for hegemony. It contains varying degrees of racism and xenophobia. White supremacy is often associated with ethnic cleansing and racial separation.

White supremacy is often associated with anti-black racism and anti-Semitism, although it has also involved prejudice and discrimination against other alleged non-white groups, such as Arabs, Asians, and Indigenous Australians people. There are different forms of white supremacy, with their own definitions of white. Pan-Europeanism regards all Europeans as white but Nordicism classifies southern Europeans (e.g. Italians, Greeks, Spanish, Portuguese) and eastern Europeans (e.g., Poles, Ukrainians, Slavic peoples) as inferior.

Many white supremacists consider certain types of whites to be inferior based on non-racial grounds, such as non-Protestants, atheists, and homosexuals. Not all white supremacist organizations agree on which group is the greatest enemy. However, many white supremacists consider Jews to be the gravest threat to their cause, and accuse them of manipulating other minority groups for their own gain.

7. #7 by k1980 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 6:15 pm

How can we hope to change the government through the ballot box when money politics is being increasingly abused by the ruling party?
    “The Islamic world is not ready to absorb the basic values of modernism and democracy. Leadership remains the prerogative of the ruling elite. Arab and Islamic leadership are patrimonial, coercive, and authoritarian. Such basic principles as sovereignty, legitimacy, political participation and pluralism, and those individual rights and freedoms inherent in democracy do not exist in a system where Islam is the ultimate source of law…”

From http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/guests.php?itemid=4154

8. #8 by k1980 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 7:43 pm

For those who were born after May 13, 1969, the real story:-
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/05/11/malaysiakini-unveils-book-on-may-13-riots/

9. #9 by vi_R_us on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 8:27 pm

rubbish they teach in textbooks, they are slowly trying to brainwash the future generations

10. #10 by inaki on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:11 pm

Ketuanan melayu bukannya setakat Malaysia shj, melebihi dari selatan thailand, filipina, indonesia, dan singapura. Bangsa cina yg duduk di malaysia sepatutnya berterima kasih pd org2 melayu kerana memberi keizinan untuk duduk dan mencari rezeki disini. Dan apa yg penting sekali ialah jgnlah rasa sombong dengan kekayaan yg dimiliki oleh org cina di malaysia sebab org2 cina di malaysia memang suka menjalankan perniagaan dengan cara menipu. Lagipun aku rasa kalau org2 cina ni takder mungkin malaysia adalah lebih maju.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:20 pm

Guys! The equivalent of “Ketuanan Melayu” is also practiced in the United States. I know I’m going to attract a lot of flak for saying so. So let me clarify my position before you guys put words into mouth.

“Ketuanan Melayu” whatever it means appears to be based on a concept of social integration – if not the concept itself, then a model of social integration. Let’s hear from the distinguished sociologists from among the readers here.

It is assimilation, pure and simple – and yes, to the Chinese ‘assimilation’ is anathema. In fact, it suggests rightly or wrongly in the case of Malaysia, the ‘superiority’ of one race over the other. At least that is the perception of the other races. And it is wrong! Why is it wrong? It is wrong because the size of Malaysia’s minorities is large enough to influence what the model of integration we should follow. Assimilation is only possible with a country with very small minorities.

In the United States, there is an outcry for the Hispanics to assimilate – to speak English, to assimilate into the American way of life. The Hispanic population whilst still a minority is growing very rapidly. By the middle of this century it would have overtaken the white race as the majority. But today the message is loud and clear: “If you want to come and live in the United States then you must assimilate” – a message often repeated in the U.S. Congress today as it considers what to do with the 12 million or so undocumented workers now living here.

Assimilate to what – if not the language and culture of the white race? Why can’t the Hispanics, and the Middle Easterns retain their language, culture and customs and their own way of life and still be able to function as Americans? Why not ‘integrate’ rather than ‘assimilate’?

12. #12 by kelangman88 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 12:26 am

inaki,

saya tak perlu izin engkau untuk duduk sini. saya bayar cukai lebih dari engkau. engkaulah yang patut beredar dan duduk dalam hutan….

13. #13 by rahimahbibi on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 2:54 am

Idiot Inaki,
    I am sad to know that you are still unaware that Malaysia is ‘maju’ and at least known to outside world because of this chinese in Malaysia. Without them Msia is nothing. This Malay community is living in this country with the money contributed by this chinese.

[When discussing a particularly sensitive subject, all posters should be especially careful to avoid being emotional or to be provoked into responses which could be accused of being race-baiting. Never forget that we are in this blog to do our part to bring all Malaysians regardless of race and religion together and not to unncessarily aggravate legitimate aggrieved feelings. Sensitive issues must be openly discussed in the public domain but it must be done in a sensitive manner – Kit]

14. #14 by rahimahbibi on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 3:05 am

Message for DAP: After going thru your website, i got the chance to know the effort that DAP is making for the ‘real’ democratic country. Therefore, i will for sure 100% will vote for DAP in coming election, and will do my best to spread to everyone that i know abt DAP and make sure they vote for DAP as well.!! KEEP IT AND GO AHEAD DAP!!!..excellent job…

15. #15 by burn on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 3:53 am

inaki…
    aku rasa, ko ni memang kurang pelajaran, lagi lagi… pikiran sempit.
    ko ingat rakyat kaum kaum lain semua ni cop duit. ada jugak yang serdahana dan miskin.
    baik ko balik rumah. baca buku sejarah dulu atau pi korek laman web sebelum nak buat komen. dulu dulu, mana ada bangsa yang di katakan melayu. ko ni memang perasan dan tak sedor diri!
    malu la beb…

aku punya falsampah!

16. #16 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 5:11 am

Dear Inaki, get your facts right, history has it that chinese settles in Malaysia from China, Indians from India and Malays settles from where again? perharps your version of history has been a bastard one.

17. #17 by Tai Lo Chin on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 7:32 am

White supremacy arise from superiority complex and a disdain for others. The other supremacy compared here arises from inferiorty complex and a fear of dominatiion by others. That’s the difference.
    Both are false supremacies. The real supremacy unacknowledged here is Money supremacy (Ketuanan Wang) before which all prostrate and bow. It is for this supremacy, Malays and Non Malays compete and also collaborate and cooperate at the same time. This is a fact. I got nothing more to say.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 7:39 am

Let me translate for the convenience of readers what is posted by “inaki”

“Ketuanan Melayu” is not applicable only to Malaysia. It applies also to south Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, and Singapore. The Chinese who settled in Malaysia should be grateful to the Malays for allowing them to settle and make their living here. And what is more important is that they should not be arrogant with whatever wealth they have accumulated because the Chinese in Malaysia do business by cheating others. Moreover, I feel if the Chinese are no longer here, Malaysia may prosper even more.”

This reminds us of Germany under Hitler and Hitler’s hatred for the Jews, and Italy under Mussolini.

19. #19 by Tai Lo Chin on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 7:49 am

Simple minded Inaki is a mental product of UMNO’s supremacist policy.

After officiating Umno’s 61st anniversary celebration at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC), the prime minister (whilst saying that the government had no hand in instructing Maybank to set conditions of compulsory bumiputera stake in legal firms that want to do business with the bank) also urged in next breath Umno to continue its dominance in leading the country “even for the next 100 years”.

“Umno will continue to be our perpetual struggle, as long as there are stars and the moon in the sky and the earth beneath us”.

“Umno will be there as long as the Malay race exists,” Abdullah was quoted as saying in another Bernama report.

The party president said members should stay united in order to be the sole champion of the Malays.

“Umno is an inheritance of the race that cannot be neglected. It’s our duty to ensure that the generation that takes over gets a strong, firm and successful Umno,” he said, to applause from the 3,000-odd people present at Dewan Merdeka.

20. #20 by 4th_wife on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:09 am

“Ketuanan Melayu” Is something created by foolish people for the lazy to dream about, some one who like Mat Keris will continue to dream on but in reality this is already a bounder less era where the people who acquire knowledge and through hard work are the winner. People who supported “Ketuanan Melayu” are backward, narrow minded and mostly lazy and in reality this are the people who stand behind where everyone else are progressing.

21. #21 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:25 am

Then why not put into practice the ketuanan melayu concept in the United Nations whereby 30% (more approriately 45%) of UN posts must be occupied by umnoputras, leaving just 55% for the rest of the world

22. #22 by anakbaram on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:33 am

It is a shame for anyone to support and prepetuate concept like “Malay Supremacy” as this is the very same view which gave birth to (01) the holocaust in Nazi Germany, (02) apartheid in South Africa, (03) Massacre in Rwanda resulting from conflict between the Hutu and the Tutsi.

Once planted in the minds (especially those of children) views like these can only bring harm. Harm which can grow and grow. It will grow and destroy a person and a eventually it can even destroy a nation. This view is one which is well descrinbe in the saying,”Everyone for himself, dog eat dog.” If we want unity; If we want peace; If we want progress or even to support the very suvival of this nation, we must value each person, each race and the good of each religion.

To be at the helm, we must be open to critisicism and feedback. No leader is complete, no mortal can know all or have all. We need each other so we ought to be open to differnt views and proposals. Let’s strive for exellence and get rid of all pettines and bigotry. Let each race be noticed and accounted for including the minorities like the Orang Asli, Kedazan, Kenyah, Kayan, Iban, Bidayuh, Bisaya, Dusun, Penan, Punan, Kelabit, Lun Bawang, Murek, Long Ulai, Long Sebatu, Lepo’ Tau, Sebub, Berawan, Kiput and all others who call this country home. We can not allow anybody’s supremercy to be the order of the day. This is our country and we know no other. If we are to be treated like second class citizen in our own motherland where is our home?

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:47 am

“Simple minded Inaki is a mental product of UMNO’s supremacist policy.”

It is not a “product” so much as the raw material for UMNO to work on. It is not even the end product.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:48 am

More WIP or work-in-progress.

25. #25 by bbtan on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 11:25 am

Inaki, are you Melayu Asli? I cant recognize a true Malay to call tuan. Malays, and some chinese like me, are mostly of mixed parentage. Think SIL,think only daughter, of our elegant leader.

26. #26 by bbtan on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 11:45 am

When I said leader, I mean leader of all Malaysians. Is he not?

27. #27 by dawsheng on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 1:07 pm

The concept of “Ketuanan Melayu” is designed to benefit only a few “Tuan”. Although the ideology has existed for decades we didn’t see much “Tuan” in majority Malays but more “rempits”, far from that we witnessed “Ketuanan Melayu” transformed into a tool for political dynasty of UMNO. “Ketuanan Melayu” only teach to enslave Malays that as long as UMNO is in power, they will be “Tuan” irregardless of what they are, even though one is hardcore poor. “Ketuanan Melayu” has poisoned the Malay soul with hate and suspicous towards other races, because “Ketuanan Melayu” can only exist if it has an enemy. That is why we have Hishamudin waving his keris don’t know when he his going to use it. Try and see Hisham, try and see.

28. #28 by wizzerd on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 1:17 pm

“Bangsa cina yg duduk di malaysia sepatutnya berterima kasih pd org2 melayu kerana memberi keizinan untuk duduk dan mencari rezeki disini. ”
    Berterima kasih?? What is meaning of the social contract? Find out first, understand it before shooting everywhere. We are all Malaysians, pls don’t be racists.

29. #29 by crosstalk on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 3:00 pm

Inaki kamu seorang extremist,berfikiran kolot dan malas.Hanya orang yang memegang kpd ‘ketuanan melayu’ mahu disuapi nasi walau mereka berbadan sihat dan mempunyai kaki dan tangan.Dalam dunia kini,sebenarnya sempadan antara negara tidak penting.Yang penting ialah pengetahuan dan kerajinan.U ingat tanah ini milik melayu shj.U salah.Bila nenek moyang saya datang dari China,Malaya pada masa itu dilitupi hutan.Dia tah nampak orang melayu.Dia dan rakan rakannya tidak kira susah payah,buka jalan,meneroka hutan,bina rumah tanpa bantuan daripada sesiapa.Melalui kerajinan .kegigihan dan pengorbanan,mereka dapat menolong membina negara sampai hari ini.U ingat semua orang Tionghua kaya rayakah?Ada orang yang miskin juga,lebih miskin dari melayu.Mereka sudah beratus-ratus tahun duduk di sini,tapi masih dianggap bukan bumiputra.Jangan cakap tanpa fikir.Bergaul lah dengan mereka.U ni betul sombong.I cakap dan tulis bahasa u tapi u enggan belajar bahasa i.Jadi jangan menuding jari dan menyalahkan kita.U tak mau memahamkan kita.I nasihat u belajar dan rajin kerja.Jangan selalu harapkan bantuan.Berdikari.

30. #30 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 3:25 pm

Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary defines the term ‘master race’ as:
    “A people held to be racially preeminent and hence fitted to rule or enslave other peoples.”

A master race has political or physical power over another race they view as inferior. This power is kept through the use of a dominant discourse which maintains that one race is somehow better than others. The racist ideology promoted through the dominant discourse creates what appear to be logical, and even natural, reasons why one race must be superior to another (if not all others). Often the so-called master race is a colonizing power, and views itself as a sort of saviour, bringing civilization to barbaric societies.

31. #31 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 6:26 pm

Your point?

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 8:56 pm

“Ketuanan Melayu” is a deeply divisive issue among Malay and Chinese. The under-belly of DAP would be left exposed (it takes on the look of just another Chinese party) if it pursues this matter without more. It needs to come out with its own concept to counter that of UMNO. The concept of Malaysian Malaysia is too old and voters are getting tired hearing about it.

‘Unity within diversity’ would be one rallying point, something voters from all groups ethnic, socio-economic could identify with – if not for nothing else its political neutrality. It suggest the melting
    pot concept followed by countries like the United States.

I admit that the concept of ‘Ketuanan Melayu” is more than a model of social integration. I doubt if they know what they are talking about. I doubt if the moderates among their leaders would come out brandishing the keris and screaming “Malay supremacy”.

The concept of ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ lends itself to various and conflicting interpretation. Therein lies the weakness – and the strength.

The DAp needs to come out with its own version of “Ketuanan Melayu” and by that I do not mean ‘Chinsee economic supremacy’.

33. #33 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 10:16 pm

You could expect more “remarks” like that in the future where these types of people would think these types of “women” are nothing to them.

Because of the culture of having “Datuk” or “Dato”, they could say anything. You could expect no one would fire them back.

When Mr Lee Kuan Yew said that Chinese in Malaysia are marginalised systematically, all Chinese based politicians fired back Mr Lee.

Now, you could expec these Chinese based politicians will be quiet.

The UMNO is strong and Gerekan, MCA and MIC will always want to get near to UMNO.

UMNO does not consist of several political parties.

If non Malay political parties like Gerakan and MCA and MIC as well as DAP team up, you could see the “2 third” would be denieid.

The fact is Those Gerakan, MCA and MIC, etc. would not think out of the box.

As population growth continue to show Chinese would become minority later, you could expect “you are nothing” “Keep your mouth shut” from these UMNO MPs.

34. #34 by Loh on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 10:29 pm

///The question is whether history students in schools are clearly told that the concept of “Ketuanan Melayu” is a concept pertaining to a past historical era but not pertinent to Malaysia of today as it contradicts with the Bangsa Malaysia concept of Vision 2020///

I wonder how the concept of ‘ketuanan melayu’ was relevant to the formation of UMNO against the Malayan Union. It certainly could not be relevant at the time when the leaders of the three races negotiated with the British for independence. Since the so-called concept of ‘ketuanan melayu” had no contribution to the founding of Malaysia, but it would provide unscrupulous politicians a link to argue for its continuation, the concept should have no place in history books.

35. #35 by Orangutan on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 11:10 pm

“Malay Supremacy”? Common guys, be real. Supreme in what sense? Technologically? Economically? Culturally and linguitically? ; and Politically? – that’s only as long as the ignorant general Malaysian public is still being fooled by UMNO.

36. #36 by mangodurian on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 12:08 am

Yes … in Taiwan, the current pro-independence govt is demonising Chiang Kai Shek and removing him and the name ‘China’ from public buildings and notices. Classic case of victor rewrites history. They want to pull down the Chiang Kai Shek memorial in Taipei as if the Chinese of Taiwan didn’t mostly come from China but are natively from Taiwan to legitimise their claim to the island (they call Hokkien language as ‘Taiwanese’). Of course, since the history of Kuomintang and the Communists of China is so recent, this is a ridiculuosly futile attempt at rewriting history books.

The Malays had it better – and thus this ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ thing can exist in the fantasy minds of some bigots. When what we today call ‘Malays’ – part of the Austronesian family of people – weren’t native of what we call ‘Malaysia’ today either, though they did settled down here earlier.

But this racist concept can only be as good as other concepts based on racism – they self-destroy and inhibit the very race that it tries to glorify like the weakening of a species due to incest.

Think of Nazism, Apartheid, Zionism, KKK.

On the other hand, acceptance and embrace of diversity – like its counterpart in evolution of mixing and spreading genes to naturally select the best ones that will develop and flourish – will bring goodness and development.

‘Ketuanan Melayu’ is myopic, and will fail its protractors. It will weaken the Malays as no new blood, no new ideas, no new genes are introduced.

Why are the Chinese successful? Because Chinese believe in the Chinese *nation*. China, though at one time backward due to Maoist communism, had never discriminated against its minorities throughout history. The Chinese in Malaysia may mostly be of the Han descent, but in China, ‘Chinese’ are more than Hans.

They range from the Xinjiangnese who look more like the middle-easterns in the west to the Yunanese who look more like the Thais (and Malays). All are treated equal – and if you’re a minority, you’re even allowed 2 children instead of 1 (for the majority Han Chinese).

The proponents of ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ are not Malaysians. They have no desire nor love for the *nation* of Malaysia. They don’t want to welcome new blood, new genes to further develop the *nation* of Malaysia. They are the ones that are making Malaysia – a land of plenty – to be always #2 behind a tiny island nation which has its citizens understand and love the concept of *nation*.

In fact, like ‘Inaki’, they would rather inbreed among themselves and slowly but surely regress their own genes into extinction when a more advanced species come along.

If people like ‘Inaki’ can just grasp the concept and need for *nation*, then they can fear less of their own dimise and the need to cling on to a desperate racist ideology like ‘Ketuanan Melayu’, for if they let go and be assimilated into the Bangsa Malaysia, then they can partake in the wealth and advancement of the Group called Malaysians.

Unfortnately, as long as ‘Inaki’ wants to cling on to ‘Ketuanan Melayu’, the *nation* of Malaysia cannot progress. And that is sad.

37. #37 by 4th_wife on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 12:26 am

What “Ketuanan Melayu”? The only Supremacy to date and unchallengeable is Mat Rampet skill on their bikes. Mind you the Nasi Kandar Perth that launched by AAB has closed shop barely five months after the premiere opening, this is nothing supremacy but shame. (http://www.jeffooi.com/) in short people who support “Ketuanan Melayu” is as good as people with “Otak Kosong”.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 1:03 am

“…in short people who support “Ketuanan Melayu” is as good as people with “Otak Kosong”.

Maybe so. But unless stopped in their tracks they could cause a lot of damage to the already tenuous and fragile racial unity. They are not a spent force by any measure. They are the gorilla in the room.

You cannot ignore it.

39. #39 by slashed on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 3:18 am

I always found it hypocritical that Malaysia fought against the South African Apartheid regime yet at home preached the concept of ‘Ketuanan Melayu’. *Sigh*

It is a dangerous idea, especially preached to simple minded ppl like Inaki. Thank God there isn’t a Malay Hitler around to put action to words!

BTW Inaki, for a guy who doesn’t like non-Malays very much, that is a very Japanese handle.

Another thing – while they talk about Ketuanan Melayu, their kids dress like black hip hoppers with all their ‘blingbling’ listening to gansta rap and R&B or whatever they listen to nowadays. They should probably talk about Ketuanan Africa soon. LOL

40. #40 by Tom Peters on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 9:00 am

Dear abang Inaki,

Rushdie said “Without freedom to offend, freedom of expression ceases” but I would I like to think he meant “ Without freedom to offend expression, freedom ceases”.

I believe a clear distinction between savaging a person’s opinion, expression or approach and savaging the person himself, should be drawn.

Often we see the likes of abang or the Minister of Works announcing a toll hike for example, savaged. Writers, unwittingly I hope, tear at ‘approach and person’ in colourful strokes and I realize I have done this before.

Abang, I’m not patronizing when I say, you belong here. Your approach is consistent with the abovementioned quote, and we certainly welcome your expression. Keep penning your thoughts.

41. #41 by bbtan on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 9:51 am

Dear abang Inaki,
    I second the Proposal, “Keep penning your thoughts.”

42. #42 by bbtan on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 10:07 am

Many Tuans have ancesters from the arab country. These tuans have smaller tuans to work for them as servants, gardeners and drivers.
    The above statement is only valid if there is such a thing as “Ketuanan Melayu.”

43. #43 by dawsheng on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 1:44 pm

‘Unity within diversity’ would be one rallying point, something voters from all groups ethnic, socio-economic could identify with – if not for nothing else its political neutrality. It suggest the melting
    pot concept followed by countries like the United States. undergrad2

A Malaysian Malaysia slogan is indeed too long, and also it is often being identified and associated with PAP or rather Mr Lee Kuan Yew’s idea. I don’t know whether this is a good or bad thing but it certainly didn’t go down too well particularly with the Malays. As the leader of the opposition in parliament, DAP also should lead by example by having more Malay leaders in the party. More colours are needed definitely and more vibrancy as well. DAP must work to appeal to younger generation of Malaysian, inregardless of race, language and religion.

44. #44 by Tom Peters on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 2:05 pm

Undergrad2 nicely said. “It is assimilation, pure and simple – and yes, to the Chinese ‘assimilation’ is anathema”.

It is anathema to the others too, if I may add.

I have been listening to Tom Holland’s ‘Persian Fire’ which depicts pre-Islamic Persian history up to the advent of Islam where, particularly under a supreme but fair-minded Cyrus, a potpourri of cultures, half a century ahead of Europe then, were thriving quite nicely there; and I saw an uncanny resemblance to our situation here in Malaysia, but only if the ‘malay supremacy’ doctrine is not theological in disguise.

Persian history tells us that it was an unvarnished ‘theological supremacy’ that upset the utopia Cyrus had envisioned.

It may seem far fetched, but I believe we have the utopian combination the Persians had.

45. #45 by Tom Peters on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 3:30 pm

Tai Lo Chin on the Prime Minister’s statements’ after officiating UMNO’s anniversary celebration at the PWTC.

Lo Chin, may I again quote Rushdie :- “Shame is like everything else; live with it long enough and it becomes part of the furniture”

Now, if the Prime Minister was not ill-advised and even if he was, I wonder why he would make such statements and risk worldwide ridicule and isolation. Last year, Wikipedia, the multilingual free-content encyclopedia used by many especially students, for general knowledge and research, immortalized ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ as a researched item and the Umno Youth chief was depicted brandishing the kris, while the Deputy Prime Minister was attributed to the weapon, in recent history, but in a more macabre manner.

Now, I fear, our ‘gentleman’ Prime Minister may be a mouse click away from the same item.

On the whole, the essay is not at all rosy for Malaysia and besides, in the worldview, it tars the non-Malays with the same brush by ‘association’. Unlike the conventional media, Wikipedia holds itself out as a double edged sword, observing reporting and recording observable phenomena, uninfluenced by emotion or prejudice in its conduct – a sort of mission statement of any media or research organization claiming to be worth its salt.

What I’m saying is, our students, thankfully, are adopting this and other online encyclopedias as standards’ for research, leaving lots of room for the ‘pesty’ skeptic to analyze propaganda thrown at him in the classroom, critically.

What I’m saying is, in the world of information technology, our leaders may as well walk about without their trousers, because there are no chickens that will not come to roost, eventually.

46. #46 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 7:49 pm

ketuanan melayu…nothing to brag abt…wawasan 2020 or a bangsa malaysia..yes..thats wat i really look forward to in years to come.thrs no such thing as ketuanan melayu in the eyes of other races in malaysia.try looking back ….way back in the history of malaya…who came and start way back making malaysia a flourished country.while others are busy making a future for malaysia…a lot of them still sit around lagging behind others simply because of one reason.they are lazy and useless.thats whr the NEP comes in.agree?…everyone is equal in malaysia today.but we see a lot of thieves in the government trying so damn hard to steal others opportunities of hard labour thru the years.todays malaysian government is too greedy.its a fact.its been in their blood for a very long time.they can even steal fr their own people and taking credit for others success.as for our prime minister…i wud stand side by side in support of u if u are really sincere in getting rid of ur corrupted ministers..if u are really sincere and really hv the guts.dun just talk…and let ur ministers run around like monkeys.

47. #47 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 8:00 pm

p/s:…as for malay supremacy…the only thing i knw is as i hv heard fr someone..the only proud symbol they can be proud of is the keris.using a keris to fight in a combat..i doubt it.to cut apples..i doubt it…to slice roti…i doubt it…to cut fish or meat…i doubt it….to even slice samy vellus toupee into half….i doubt it…to tap rubber trees…i doubt it….to slice open a coconut..susah…even durian…susah…its really illogical to hv much use for a keris.its only a symbol for the malays…and they some can be proud of their ‘supremacy’.and some idiotic ministers can even be proud to hold it up in their assembly and blah blah blah nonsense wif it.see whr the actual brains are now?

48. #48 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 8:10 pm

50th year’s of independence…VMY 2007 shud be read Visit Corrupted Malaysia Year 2007.

49. #49 by sammyvellu on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 10:00 pm

As far as I know, Malays are Polynesians ala Phillipinos.

They are also immigrants in Malaya!

50. #50 by DiaperHead on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 4:21 am

The reason why “Malaysian Malaysia” concept should be dropped is that to the Malays it sounds like, rightly or wrongly, their land is being taken away from them.

You cannot ignore the official name” “Persekutuan Tanah Melayu” which when translated reads, fortunately or unfortunately, the federation of Malay land and not Federation of Malaya or Malaysia.

51. #51 by sotong on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 9:31 am

” Keutamaan Malayu/Bumi ” as opposed to ” Ketuanan Melayu ” is important to protect the unique culture and traditions of the country.

As the same time, the great sacrifices and contributions by non Malays/bumi to a modern and progressive country must be properly recognised and fully appreciated and accepted by Malays/bumi.

52. #52 by blastmeister on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 11:31 am

From the history that I learned, all three major races are immigrant, the only Bumiputra I recognised are the Orang Asli in both Peninsula Malaysia and Sabah & Sarawak. How about that?

Malay? Look at the history of Malacca (that’s where the Malay always said their history begin) – so-called Malay are descendant of Javanese, Sumatrans, Acheh, Bugis and etc which are from the Malay Archipelago which is part of Austronesia. Of course, we all know the Malaysia Chinese and Indians are from China and India respectively.

Why on earth some people claim things that is not beling to them? Isn’t this also another day light robbery? Put aside the Chinses/Indians/Malays contributions and their over-stayed in Peninisula. Did the Malay share their wealth with the REAL bumiputra? NO! Will the real Bumiputra stand up?

53. #53 by Jimm on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 12:28 pm

Don’t get pissed off by an individual remarks here. He only trying to get everyone ‘work up and out’ here. The sharing only reflects his/her understanding. That’s why we are all here to make sure that enough truth and healthy sharing can be develop and growth to overcome those negatives.

54. #54 by Jimm on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 12:33 pm

We are all still Malaysian to the eyes of the world. Most of us sharing here are truly Malaysia Malaysian and we all know that.
    The point of seeking truth and changes lies in each of us that have seen enough of things around us. We need that the changes have to come sooner than we can all prayed for. However, our own mindset haveto be very ‘clear’ to embrace the changes. We must speak of the new language of Malaysian and cultivate the new Malaysian culture now, first.
    Don’t let any negative elements drives us off the track from our original Malaysian Malaysia vision.

55. #55 by Jimm on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 12:36 pm

Keep all positives sharing going among us. There will be ‘evil’ forces to try to ‘shoot’ us at our own feets. Don’t bother … they are just minor whenever we all can stay in the positive zones .. Keep it up.

56. #56 by megaman on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 12:49 pm

it’s a very simple to question…

As a Malay,

a) do you want your race to have 100% supremacy in a backward n corrupt Msia … to reign in hell …

b) or to be a part of multi-race and multi-cultural forward looking progressive Msia but your race just having a part of this rather than everything … to serve in heaven …

for the top few … I think it’s option A but for the majority down the hierarchy … it’s very clear which one is better …
    If only the majority of the Malays can see what’s wrong …
    Kuman di seberang lautan jelas terlihat, gajah di depan mata tak nampak …

57. #57 by BobSam on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 6:36 pm

blastmeister,
    Who do you think Parameswara was? Historians trace him as a “naughty” Indonesian prince of Keralite (Southern Indian – so he would have been dark skinned – according to JJ – low caste) descent who ran away from home. Got in trouble with the Rajah in Temasek, and ran north. He stopped under the Melaka tree for shade and saw this beautiful creature (Mousedeer – I think) and named the place Melaka and started his Kingdom there. He later converted from a Hindu and became a Moslem.

58. #58 by BobSam on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 6:57 pm

Before Parameswara of Melaka, there were the Cholas of Kedah around 200/300 AD, until 1300, look up Wiki for more info on them.

59. #59 by BobSam on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 7:04 pm

Now that you have done that, tell me who were the 1st settlers on this Peninsular.

By the way, go north to Cambodia, Thailand, and east to Southern Philippines, and see whether there are any similarities among the people. Dont listen to their language, just look at the people. Tell me these offspring of the Indian & Chinese people look similar dont they?
    The Indians & Chinese met in IndoChina, and their offspring are found there. They then migrated southward.
    So this beautiful land is being settled by the original settlers & their ancestors. So lets learn about the past, but live in the present with the future in mind.
    Boleh? Sure boleh, we are Malaysians!

60. #60 by ktteokt on Thursday, 17 May 2007 - 5:15 pm

What is the use of having just a vision when nobody works towards achieving its goals? It might as well be termed as a mirage.

Having proclaimed Vision 2020, it has resulted in many adverse effects as many of our privileged friends think this will be a miracle, getting what they want without putting in any efforts.

We have been independent for half a century already and look what has happened to Malaysia? Given the next 13 years to Vision 2020, do you think we can achieve what was laid down in this great vision? The Malaysia Boleh concept has brought about the worst effects on our privileged friends. What do you think Malaysia Boleh? The way things are going, the only thing that Malaysia Boleh is “Mati”.

61. #61 by accountability on Friday, 18 May 2007 - 7:20 pm

how dare these bunch of racist malay-supremacist twist historical facts to brainwash our children??!

62. #62 by akmal on Thursday, 7 May 2009 - 11:41 am

hmmmm….bangsa…penting?mungkin…yang paling penting?agama?harta?terpulang..bagi aku agama…jujur…aku marah gak baca komen2 nie..tp try rasional..depa kata betul dari pandangan depa..kita dari pandangan kita…yang penting skali…saling hormat..yang aku nampak sekarang langsung x dak hormat antara satu sama lain…cina..melayu…manusia jugak apa..