Let off despite ‘sexist’ remarks – media reports

(1) Motion over ‘menstruation’ remarks rejected
Ooi Kelly and Bede Hong
May 10, 07 6:47pm

The Dewan Rakyat today rejected a motion by Opposition MP Fong Po Kuan who wanted two BN members of Parliament censured for making comments about her menstruation.

Amidst pandemonium that broke out during the afternoon’s debate over the leaks in Parliament yesterday, Bung Mokhtar Radin (BN — Kinabatangan) had stood and made off-mike comments over the Batu Gajah parliamentarian’s menstrual cycle.

His comments were carried today by Utusan Malaysia, China Press and Sin Chew Daily.

Mohd Said Yusof (BN — Jasin) was also named for censure making similar remarks.
This morning, Fong called for a motion under the Standing Order 26 (1P) to refer the two BN MPs to the Committee of Privileges.

However Speaker Ramli Ngah Talib shot down the motion, with reason that the issue was not raised at the time of incident.

Technical knock out

DAP MPs protested that they had not heard the comments made by the two BN MPs due to the commotion in the House.

“During the incident at 12:37 pm yesterday, the offending remarks were uttered. The YBs have a chance to voice their displeasure (then). However, this issue was put forth only this morning,” said Ramli.

“As the matter must be raised at the time of the incident, and the issue occurred yesterday, I must reject the motion for the Standing Order,” he added.
Opposition leader Lim Kit Siang protested: “… the remarks were not heard yesterday. There was chaos and pandemonium. The earliest that we knew of the remarks was this morning when the comments were published [by several national dailies].”

“Do we allow this sexist, offensive remarks to pass. They are celebrating, that the motion is rejected,” said Lim, pointing at BN MPs who were thumping at their desks.

De-facto law minister Nazri Aziz, who read out the bills of the day, left the Dewan Rakyat at this juncture.

Insulting to all women

In a press conference later, Fong expressed her regret over the decision: “I feel sad that no woman MP in the Dewan just now voiced their objection to the comments that were insulting to all women.

DAP MP Teresa Kok said the matter was not new: “Each time a gender sensitive issue comes out … each time derogatory remarks were made against women, there is no action taken by the speaker.”

Lim said, “The Kinabatangan MP (Mokhtar) behaved as though he has no mother, or daughters or sisters. And the BN can thump unashamedly at the rejection of the motion on technical ground.”

Lim called on the prime minister to “discipline the two BN MPs.”

Both MPs did not deny making the comments.

When reproached by M Kulasegaran (DAP — Ipoh Barat) at this morning’s debate session, Mohd Said replied, “She shouldn’t have shouted like that when I wanted to discuss important things.”

To censure a fellow MP, backbenchers and the opposition have the option of raising a substantive motion. The motion, however, requires a week’s notice and is not required for open debate.

(2) Sexist MPs at work again
Pauline Puah
The Sun

KUALA LUMPUR (May 10, 2007): It was clearly a sexist remark made by an MP. But Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib today needed an unprecedented four and a half hours to make a decision whether to refer the MP to the Parliamentary Rights and Privileges Committee for disciplinary action.

Ramli returned from lunch and said “No”.

On Wednesday morning, the debate turned into a ruckus when the Parliament House roof sprang leaks in several parts during a downpour.

In the heat of the debate and shouts over the “leaky” Parliament House, which had undergone an RM80 million renovation about two years ago, one phrase went unnoticed.

Fong Po Kuan (DAP-Batu Gajah) then reviewed the video recording of the proceedings and felt humiliated. She then filed a motion this morning to refer the two BN MPs (one for making the sexist remarks and the other for supporting the remarks) – Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin (BN-Kinabatangan) and Datuk Mohd Said Yusof (BN-Jasin) – to the committee.

The recording exposed Bung as saying: “Mana bocor, Batu Gajah pun tiap-tiap bulan pun bocor juga.” (“Where is the leak? Batu Gajah MP also leaks every month.”)

“I was humiliated. This should not happen in this august hall,” she told Ramli.

Opposition Leader Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) said: “Parliament will be a laughing stock of the world by allowing such male chauvinistic speeches. Yesterday, there was pandemonium in the House, otherwise we will be objecting it immediately … Saying sorry is not enough, they should be punished.”

M.Kulasegaran (DAP-Ipoh Barat) said as a man, he felt ashamed for such remarks made in the country’s highest legislation institution.

Mohd Said stood and retorted: “When I wanted to debate on the serious issue, there was this scuffle and shouting.”
Irked by his remark, Fong said: “I regret that he did not repent for what he had said. I urge the BN women MPs to support my motion as well.”

The motion, however, was rejected by Ramli after the sitting reconvened after lunch break.

Citing Standing Order 26 (1P), he said he could not allow the motion as it was not brought up when the incident occurred.

“It happened yesterday afternoon but the motion was only raised this morning. So I have to reject the motion,” he said, to cheers from some BN MPs.

Ramli’s decision immediately drew flak from DAP MPs.

“Your rejection allows them (BN MPs) to celebrate … We did not create the story. We checked the video and it happened,” Lim screamed.

Trying to restore peace, Ramli said: “I also regret what had happened. But I can’t enlarge the power given under 26 (1p).”
Chong Chieng Jen (BN-Bandar Kuching) rebutted that Karpal Singh (DAP-Bukit Gelugur) had been referred to the committee although the matter was only brought up a few days after the incident.

“YB Bukit Gelugur was not referred to the committee under the 26 (1p), so it’s a different matter,” said Ramli, to another round of table-thumping and laughter from BN MPs.

“Shameful! Shameful! They are celebrating there!” shouted Lim.

Seeing the appeal heading nowhere, DAP MPs then urged the Speaker to ask the duo to at least apologise.

Ramli then ordered all MPs to sit down and continue with the debate on Capital Markets and Services Bill 2007.

In a press conference called after the motion was rejected, Fong said she was disappointed that no BN women MPs had lent their support.

“I am sad and disappointed that no BN women MPs voiced their objection … it’s a phrase that humiliates women,” she added.

(3) Let off despite ‘sexist’ remarks
Friday May 11, 2007
The Star

TWO Government backbenchers were let off the hook despite making sexist remarks following Fong Po Kuan’s (DAP — Batu Gajah) observations of leaks in the Parliament building.

And an angry Fong proposed to refer Datuk Mohd Said Yusof (BN — Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin (BN — Kinabatangan) to the Rights and Privileges Committee, saying that their remarks insulted and were derogatory to women.

On Wednesday, Bung Mokhtar was reported saying: “Mana ada bocor, Batu Gajah pun tiap-tiap bulan bocor juga (Where is the leak? Batu Gajah leaks every month too).”

Speaker Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib rejected Fong’s motion on grounds that she should have filed it when the remarks were made based on Standing Order 26(1)(p).

“The motion was only proposed a day later and, therefore, I have to reject it.

“My advice is that MPs should be careful with their words next time,” he said amidst cheers and the thumping of tables by the backbenchers.

At the Parliament lobby later, Fong said she was disappointed that the motion was rejected as the remarks referred to all women.
Opposition leader Lim Kit Siang said it was a day of shame for Parliament that such a disgraceful episode had been allowed to take place.

The general consensus among MPs was that it was all right to say “women leak every month.”

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz said Fong should have taken the matter in her stride.
“It is normal to play with words,” he said, adding that it would be wrong if the statement had been made with malicious intent.
Mohd Said said the statement was made in the heat of the argument.

“I don’t see what the fuss is about,” he said.

Fadillah Yusof (BN — Petra Jaya) said the backbenchers were provoked at that time.

“However, everyone should be careful when making statements,” he said.

Meanwhile, Public Works Department staff showed up early yesterday to survey the damage to the leaky ceiling near the media centre.

(4) DAP fails in move to refer MPs over sexist remarks
V.Vasudevan
NST Online
2007/05/11

KUALA LUMPUR: An opposition attempt to refer two backbenchers to the Privileges Committee for disciplinary action failed on a technicality yesterday.

Datuk Bung Moktar Radin (BN-Kinabatangan) and Da- tuk Mohd Said Yusuf (BN-Jasin) were accused of using unparliamentary language against Fong Poh Kuan (DAP-Batu Gajah) during an exchange on Wednesday.

At the start of the afternoon sitting, the DAP members had criticised the leaks at the entrance of the media centre.

Opposition leader Lim Kit Siang was leading the charge and had been complaining about the way the government was maintaining public facilities.

It was then that Bung Moktar and Mohd Said were reported to have each made a statement in quick succession that in effect said: “Where is the leak, the member for Batu Gajah also leaks once a month.”
In the commotion during the height of the debate, it appeared that none of the opposition members heard the remarks.

But after reading reports of the remarks in the Utusan Malaysia and two Chinese dailies, the DAP demanded that both men be referred to the Privileges Committee.

Speaker Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib said he needed time to mull over the matter and promised a decision in the afternoon.

In the afternoon, Ramli said both backbenchers should have been refered to the Privileges Committee immediately after the words were uttered.

“This is long after the incident. The Standing Orders are clear on that. It is not that I don’t want to take action but the Standing Orders are clear,” he told DAP members to loud table-thumping from backbenchers.

Lim said he would have raised the matter except that “in the noise and pandemonium, we did not hear what they had said”.

However, Ramli stood his ground and refused to change his position on the matter.

“I regret this incident happened. I hope members will be careful with the words they use,” he said while declaring the matter closed.

In the lobby, Fong said she felt sad about the way the issue had been handled.

Lim said it was not a DAP issue and backbenchers should not have viewed it along party lines.

“This is a question of dignity for women. Sunday is Mother’s Day. Is this the way we treat our women?” asked Lim while urging BN chief and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to take action against the two men.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said he did not find the choice of words used by both to be offensive.

“Unless of course it was their intention to offend her. I don’t know what their thoughts were. If they want to apologise, it is up to them.”

Nazri said what was unparliamentary or not was up to the person who heard it.

On the chair’s decision, Nazri said it was the right decision and the opposition had used the same standing order against him in the past.

1. #1 by democrate on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:59 am

Dont be sad YB Fong, what the two BN maniac from Jasin and Kinabatangan WERE INSULTING THEIR OWN MOTHERS, DAUGHTHERS AND ALL THEIR FEMALES IN THEIR FAMILIES’
    Their low standard and and low quality of mentality will only be supported by the low mentality MP like Nazri and Ramli the dumb speaker. We will always behind you with full supports ! go ahead with your good job !

2. #2 by Boneka on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:05 am

As usual Nazri, in his role as “Knows All”, interprets everything according to his own “arrogant” interprtations. Don’t we have enough evidences of these? Can you imagine that he sees “nothing offensive” in the remarks! Oh my God, I hope HE helps Malaysia and us Malaysians!

3. #3 by bbtan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:09 am

YB Lim, dont waste your breath calling on the Prime Minister to “discipline the two BN MPs”.
    He is the leader of the pack. He could be enjoying himself of this shameless comedy.

4. #4 by democrate on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:11 am

The recording exposed Bung as saying: “Mana bocor, Batu Gajah pun tiap-tiap bulan pun bocor juga.” (”Where is the leak? Batu Gajah MP also leaks every month.”)

Ooi ! Paruah Moktar, you behave like a sakai from the jungle u are so primitive and u patut nya tanya lah lu punya nenek .lu punya mak atau lu punya anak perempuan . Kurang Ajak ! YB Lim pls do not delete and if possible send my comments to this rascal!

5. #5 by RealWorld on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:12 am

“Dont be sad YB Fong, what the two BN maniac from Jasin and Kinabatangan WERE INSULTING THEIR OWN MOTHERS, DAUGHTHERS AND ALL THEIR FEMALES IN THEIR FAMILIES’” – democrate

I fully agree. You are spot on.
    I do not agree with that two mongs who uttered such thrash in Parliament. And I think such mongs should not be in Parliament in the first place. However, for me to see some posters here who responded by insulting Rafidah and Sharizat, I put such posters in the same category as those two mongs in Parliament. Their insults are no difference than the thrash that was uttered in Parliament. Such posters stooped to the level of being complete mongs, they also insulted their own mothers and family members.

There are idiots and brainless thugs in both the BN and Opposition.

6. #6 by RealWorld on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:13 am

“Ooi ! Paruah Moktar, you behave like a sakai from the jungle u are so primitive and u patut nya tanya lah lu punya nenek .lu punya mak atau lu punya anak perempuan . Kurang Ajak !” – democrate

I rest my case.

7. #7 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:17 am

It’s okay. They are slandering among themselves about gender issue. This remarks will be the key turning point for BN coalition parties to start ‘chewing’ each other up and out.
    Soon, there will be no control in Parliment in any form of debates.
    These ‘out-spoken’ MPs will show off their true colors of themselves and their values.
    By the way, my MP are merely a statistic number of attendees in Parliment. He haven’t been given a script to read or debate yet. Guess, he cannot stand out among the candidate. Must try to enrol him to “Malaysian Idol, AF **, Super Star or any reality shows to test his hidden ‘talent’.

8. #8 by malaysia born on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:21 am

I definetely didn’t vote for them and if circumstance dictates, i will definetely NOT vote for them!

However seeing how the system works here, the most important thing is that the video and audio MUST be shown in the 2 moron constituency. Let those who voted for them decide if they still want these 2 morons to be their representatives in the next election. If a sewing machine or a bicycle result in their answer to be a yes, then the voters are not only dumb but cheap! Such people will only deserve the leaders they elect.

9. #9 by sotong on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:35 am

Speaker Ramli is useless….may be baised.

Use common sense to defend women dignity and rights……as if he don’t have a mother, wife or daughters.

Where are these people sense of basic decency? How could any normal person accept this totally unacceptable behaviour in Parliment?

10. #10 by bbtan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:54 am

As I said before, this kind of teasing lewd could be a part of their culture. That is why the speaker of the house took the trouble to look for the “technical knockout” to reject the motion. The sickening thing is this kind of public teasing has infected the rest of the BN clan.

11. #11 by bbtan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:58 am

This kind of lewd teasing in public is disgusting to the rest of us.

12. #12 by RealWorld on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:02 am

“The sickening thing is this kind of public teasing has infected the rest of the BN clan.” – bbtan

I am sorry. That is a blanket statement. There are good people in BN just as there are good people in the Opposition.
    There are some here who responded with insults directed at Rafidah & Sharizat, now based on your arguments, can we concluded that this ‘sickening thing of public teasing has also infected the rest of the DAP clan’??

13. #13 by dawsheng on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:04 am

Remember this insult came from a Malay Muslim cabinet minister from UMNO practising Islam Hadhari. So it is ok for Abdullah’s parliament, is allowed.

14. #14 by sotong on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:48 am

Women has a special place in Islam….higher than men.

To have Muslim MPs degrading and insulting the dignity of women in general, they must be grossly misguided – so are their supporters and followers.

15. #15 by TalkisCheap on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:08 pm

Is this what Muslim Hadhari all about?

Talk is Cheap. Vote Out These Thugs.

16. #16 by jlingp10 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 1:10 pm

The Bn MP dont consider parliament the parliament.
    They take it as the playground at the pantai lah. That why the issues they brought up are of no std.And the kindergarden teacher took 4.5 hrs to make the decision whether to refer the 2 empty vessels to the parliament comm. Ashamelah!

17. #17 by smeagroo on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 1:49 pm

are u kidding me uncle kit?

asking the PM to discipline them? PM is not in control la.

18. #18 by negarawan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 1:55 pm

What kind of “integrity” are they showing the whole country and world? Is this what “Islam Hadhari” is all about? More corruption, more mismanagement, more lies, more arrogance? Shame and disgrace on BN and the AAB leadership!

19. #19 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:10 pm

What can you say when the BN sons paid no respect to their mothers?

20. #20 by democrate on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:18 pm

Asking Dolah to discipline the two Pariah is just like playing a guitar facing a cow [deleted]

21. #21 by osaya on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:25 pm

i hope that this matter would be brought up to international scrutiny for the world to see the Malaysian legislative’s level of professionalism and maturity – or lack thereof.

22. #22 by Anti_NEP on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:26 pm

I suppose the close one eye as***le and the pariah buang sampah’s mothers are not woman. I can’t think of any other suitable term to describe them!

23. #23 by tiger on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:47 pm

I symphatize with the Batu Gajah MP. YB Fong must preservere and dont over react to these morons. They dont have any standing in the community. Maybe it is time for Uncle Kit & his gang to play along with their style. If they choose this way, maybe you should sometime use “jungle law” style…..

24. #24 by Rocketeer on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 5:04 pm

Hehehe ….U r talking bout respect in a country where woman get blown away with C4….Elegent silence by the “Saya Sokong” BN MPs especially Women MPs is amusing, they don’t find the remarks offensive…Bung shud try harder!!

Why so much fuss bout the remark? I have seen leaders holding weapon (keris) in meetings…Just pray they don’t bring to parliament….hehehe

I do agree with RealWorld.

Good BN MPs are closing one eye so should we…..

Bung!! I like ur comedy ..keep it up!!

25. #25 by Tom Peters on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:15 pm

Dear Kit Siang, from the above postings and comments I received at the office, it isn’t a partisan thing anymore. The issue has become very ‘personal’ at the ground, who is demanding an appropriate and immediate response. Comments I received applied to most everyone in the offender’s pyramid and were too colourful to pass even your ‘not so stringent’ comments’ policy.

Consider this as a long term solution. “YOUR ACTIONS REFLECT YOUR BREEDING”. A signage bearing these five words prominently displayed in public places, highways, government offices, airports, vehicle bumpers, wherever, and especially in our august house, Parliament, would be the very antidote to the ill mannered, as it would reach the psyche of the uncouth offender revealing his ‘breeding’ and that of his ancestors in full view of mannered.

I have no doubt that people who form the myriad of cultures in Malaysia are indeed virtuous, mannered and have a strong sense of shame; and what we are dealing with are aberrations masking these virtues residing within their psyche.

Bad behaviour will never hold the higher ground and like water finding level, no intelligent being wants to be seen or reminded of their ‘breeding’ in the midst of behaving badly.

The offender must have an amazing constitution if he is not losing sleep or realized his folly at this point.

There still hope for this fellow but for the moment he has, in a broad sweep, dragged his party members, not to mention the leaders of our nation, into his quagmire.

26. #26 by JACK THE RIPPER on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 2:32 pm

When u see BN MP in there & These Punks only laugh at Parliament.
    After almost 50yrs Independent as a Nation.
    We till allowed people like these to represent our Areas, States, Nation.

Such a shame,. By now we shall be Progress Economically + Educated in general as a nation. The less of the world will respect our nation “MALAYSIA”.

UMNO Politic tactics in order for resumed power had ruined much of our Nation Progression in Education,Economic & most of all the UNITY.

27. #27 by crosstalk on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 3:42 pm

Once again I fervently wish the two ‘ hampas manusia ‘ the Bung or Buang and the One Eyed Jack be punished.These two rascals should resign and save the skin of their very big gang.I hope the repercussion of their own making will favour YB Lim’s political strategy in the coming GE to a certain extent.Many people are very reluctant to address them as datuks simply because they are worse than ‘ air longkang ‘.

28. #28 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:46 pm

Goddamn it!

Tom Peters, you remind me of my close-to-retiring literature teacher who is just as confused as his students.

29. #29 by paix on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 3:15 am

you have to excuse these 2 monyet. they don’t have any mothers that gave birth to them.

30. #30 by accountability on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:58 pm

there is obviously no justice in our parliament – it is so lame and weak that it cannot differentiate between manners and party-loyalty…

bung & said should be punished for their insensitive insult to all women, irregardless of which party they belong to!

shame on you too, nazri & ramli !!
    i hope YOUR mothers/wives/daughters discipline you for supporting these uncivilized yang-amat-biadap (YAB) BN MPs!