PM – reprimand and discipline JJ for racist remarks against Malaysian Indians in California

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should reprimand and discipline the Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaludin Jarjis for his disgraceful conduct in making racist and derogatory remarks about Malaysian Indians when he met Malaysian students in California on Monday (30th April).

During his official visit to California on Monday, Jamaludin met some of the Malaysian students studying in California especially the ones from TPM Academy twinning programme at the Belacan Grill Malaysian Restaurant, Redondo Beach, Ca.

One of the students was Sheena Moorthy, a third-year Biotech Malaysian student in CALYPOLY.

Sheena complained that during the 3½ hour session, Jamaludin passed a few racial remarks on her, being one of the two Indians present there.

Sheena has formally written to the Prime Minister to complain against Jamaludin for the “totally uncalled-for racial insults”, citing the following instances:

Incident 1 – Each student had to briefly introduce themselves. When it came to her turn, while speaking he interrupted her and asked if she knew Samy Vellu, because he knows him. She did not see any relevance in that and he mentioned it a few times for no apparent reason.

Incident 2 — He gave a speech regarding how agriculture started in Malaysia. He mentioned how the British invested in Malaysia and made farmers work. Due to the lack of work force, “buruh India” was brought in. While mentioning this, he looked at her saying “that’s how we get Indians in Malaysia”.

Incident 3 — After saying he is going to get MARA to help the Bumiputra students, he looked at her and asked “How many Indians are here?” Sheena did not keep track of number of Indian students so she mentioned that in the room there were two (pointing to another Malaysian Indian friend, who is fair skinned) and Jamaludin looked at him and asked “Oh. You are an Indian? Which means you are an upper class Indian and she is the lower class one” (pointing at her). Jamaludin went on to say that, “Oh, I am not going to help upper class Indians, I only help the lower class ones. They are the ones that need it’.

Sheena left the room feeling very insulted as the Minister had judged her based on her skin colour.

This incident happened in front of a crowd of about 100 people including students, officials from the Malaysian Consulate, TPM, Tourism Malaysia, etc. But everyone is afraid and nobody is prepared to stand up to speak the truth.

I can fully understand Sheena’s hurt feelings at being humiliated and insulted by Jamaluddin in public. All right-thinking Malaysians should support Sheena’s demand for a public apology from Jamaludin.

Sheena’s sister, Dr. Sheela Moorthy, who is currently living in the USA and supporting her sister’s education at CalyPoly, is so incensed that she has written to the media to express her disgust and anger that a Minister of a multi-racial country should be making such racist and derogatory remarks about Malaysian Indians at a function abroad, giving the country a bad image.

Sheena has also written to complain about Jamaluddi’s biased and disgraceful conduct to several Malaysian Ministers, including the MIC President and Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.

I hope Samy Vellu would raise the Sheena issue at the Cabinet meeting next Wednesday to add his voice to the growing demand for public apology from Jamaludin and to support the Prime Minister to reprimand and take disciplinary action against the Science, Technlogy and Innovation Minister.

Jamaludin is still in the United States as he is currently leading a 300-man Malaysian delegation to the Biotechnology Industry Organisation (BIO) Convention in Boston, Massachussets.

1. #1 by izrafeil on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:59 am

JJ is very insensitive and inconsiderate! On behalf of all Malays i humbly apologise to Sheena Moorthy.

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:00 pm

What to expect from a malaysian even he is outside? the brain cells do not change.

can this student lodge a report to the american police (because he point at her skin) and let the minister be detained. or he has the rights of free pass in US?

i think it is always stupid for malaysians outside the bolehland to go and worship these malaysian gods, whenever they go there. may be the insult was a result of free lunch/dinner.

LKS should say the same thing to Samy and see Samy’s reaction.

3. #3 by smeagroo on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:06 pm

Haha u expect the “sleeping beauty” to reprimand jj? the newspaper may report a tongue-lashing but the real facts could be a hi-tea at putrajaya. JJ is untouchable. Yea not even the zzzzzz can touch him. That’s where his arrogance comes from.

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:06 pm

JJ conveniently forgets to mention the fact that Indians were one of the earliest settlers in malaya, where they established settlements such as Merbuk in Kedah and Gangga Negara in Beruas, Perak. This is the direct result of dropping references to the ancient empires of southeast asia, such as Funan and Srivijaya, from malaysian history textbooks. These “islamisation of history” which started in the early 1980s under Anwar Ibrahim’s tenure as Edu Minister has resulted in an entire “lost generation” of malaysians who knows next to nothing about the non-islamic background of this region.

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:15 pm

“…the Minister had judged her based on her skin colour.” Let’s refresh our memory and recall the day when the former Australian PM called Dr M a (golly)wog. So Jama Jarjis’ skin colour, while beautiful to his own eyes, is viewed as extremely distasteful in the eyes of others.

6. #6 by madmix on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:30 pm

This is good; the umno racist are showing their true colours. JJ is speaking out loud what has always been in his psyche: his disdain for Indians. How he despises Indians and other non-malays living in Malaysia. Let the public know his stance. Don’t bother asking him for an apology or asking Pak Lala to reprimand him. Just publicise this incident to let the world know the inner thoughts of these racists. And let us see if the Indian voters will take this lying down.

7. #7 by smeagroo on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:39 pm

And when the day comes when the Indians didnt vote for MIC, we dont wanna hear sammy Dummy asking the dumb question as to why the Indians are not voting for MIC. WHen MIC cant even stand up for their own people might as well change the party’s name to Msian Independant CONgress. Yea, he stands for himself only. ME ME ME!

8. #8 by malaysia born on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:44 pm

I defintely DIDN’T vote for this guy….and will NEVER EVER WILL!

The REAL insult is that NOBODY from the govt went so far as to say that such actions are wrong…let alone reprimand this idiot.

Then again, this is BN mah, why am i suprised?

9. #9 by dragon88 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:21 pm

Sheena should report this disgraceful incidence to the
    Anti-racial Discrimination board or its equivalent in the US. In Australia, there is such a board that would charge him for making such a remark. Despite his doctoral qualification, he seems to be an ignorant [deleted] He seems to be in the same league as that infamous minister who has an Oxford degree.

10. #10 by trashed on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:33 pm

The question should be put to S Vellu – as leader of the MIC, what are you going to do about it?

The apartheid mentality is showing, JJ.

11. #11 by unknowngrouse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:44 pm

We should ask JJ when his family came to Malaysia and for what reason. I believe K Toyol is a second generation and now an MB whilst I am a 4th generation Malaysian and still considered a pendatang, and asked to go back to China if I criticise the corrupted G.
    UMNO is the KKK of Malaysia

12. #12 by madmix on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:01 pm

this is off topic but deserves our attention. Where will all this lead to? Soon every profession and enterprise will need 50% bumi equity to do business with GLCs.
    I urge all credit card holders and fixed deposit holders of this bank to cancel their credit cards and fixed deposits and take their business elsewhere rather than supporting this racist bank.

here is the article from the Star:
    ACCCIM raps bank over bumiputra requirement

THE Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM) has rapped a local bank for requiring all law firms dealing with it to have at least 50% bumiputra partnership, Sin Chew Daily reported.

ACCCIM said the move would prevent businesses from operating freely and many law firms from being legal advisers to the bank.

Maybank, which is a government-linked company, issued a letter recently requiring all newly appointed legal firms to meet the requirement, with effect from July 1, while the deadline for existing firms was a year after the new ruling was implemented.

“Currently, many legal firms have both bumiputras and non-bumiputras as partners and each owns only small shares in these companies,” ACCCIM said, adding that the requirement would force these firms to reshuffle.

It said Malaysia was working towards improving the quality of service industries including the legal profession to face the challenges of globalisation.

“The move shows that we are moving backwards and we hope that the bank will reconsider its decision,” it said.

Bank Negara said there was no specific requirement for legal firms appointed by financial institutions.

13. #13 by Libra2 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:32 pm

This isuue will die a natural death as nothing will come out the many complaints.
    UMNO needs only the Indian votes. That’s why MIC is in BN.
    Indian’s equity ownership is at a remarkable 1%. Thats to the MIC and keep on voting for the BN.

14. #14 by Billy on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:51 pm

Can someone confirm this. Since Samy is dark-skinned, can we assume that he is from the lower caste? If he is so, now I can understand why he is behaving with such superiority behaviour to cover his inferiority complex? As usual, when something adverse happens to an Indian, bet your bottom dollar Samy is looking up in the air and whistling away.

15. #15 by cklife on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:53 pm

We are all pendatang since a millenium ago. The true people who live in malaysia that stayed through timeframe of stoneages are the orang asli; whom evolved from this prehistoric time.

So it’s not wise to call anyone they are ‘pendatang’ , while they are ‘pendatang’ too. This country belongs to everyone. Even belong to Indonesian, Bangladeshi, Chinese from China, American, Israelites Jews and whoever they are… as long as they are citizen here. They live here. And dont ever call them pendatang.

We should eliminate this thought of knowing people from which region of the world they come from.

Malaysia could have been formed as one of the land of Indonesia if it weren’t for political revolution and british colonisation in the early days. Even Malay roots are mainly indonesian. While Chinese were traditionally travelling worldwide..and Indian were the effective workforce that moves around the world in the early days. None of them deserve any ranking; such as low class or high class.

By the way, Caster system for indian does not apply in Malaysia after all.

Racism is shown at how people communicate.

WE ARE ALL HOMOSAPIEN; insulting one another is insulting ourself.

WE SHOULD LIVE AS A COMMUNITY OF HOMOSAPIEN. GOD’S CREATION.

Good Luck to Racist, you’ll be nailed.

16. #16 by osaya on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:56 pm

the only ‘lower class’ indians i know of is Samy Vellu. maybe that’s why they feel the constant need to help ‘lower class’ Indians like him.

17. #17 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:31 pm

JJ…as far as i am concerned..who in the hell does he think he gets his ministerial post from?he is only a servant of malaysian people.dun forget that JJ…UMNO is nothing without the coalition which means u are nothing without the chinese or indians or others in malaysia.if u think u have a color thats gonna signify u are of superior gene than others…u are wrong.i think u are mentally retarded.

18. #18 by benjamin1019 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:32 pm

I feel sad what happened on Sheena.
    This isn’t a fresh incident which happened in Malaysia…

To Sheena, if you read my reply…
    S Vellu is just another corrupted soul, never ask him to bring justice.
    As you stay on the land of freedom, ask for police or UN Anti-discrimination department’s help is wiser solution.
    Let the racist people face the punishment.

19. #19 by burn on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:35 pm

apa nak buat… nama aja minister… minister telor separuh masak.
    sheena should just concentrate on her studies. hack care with those mentality telor separuh ministers.

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:01 pm

that’s what you get, all Indians in Ijok supported BN, hence racist remark.

All stupid Chinese supported BN, giving them a land slide victory in the last GE, and what did you get? KERISMUDIN

this is BN, welcome to the world.

21. #21 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:04 pm

If the US had learn anything from their racist past, they should ban [deleted] like that from their convention. I hope he gets the full [deleted] treatment.

he thinks he is white perharps?

22. #22 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:50 pm

Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaludin Jarjis was jealous because Indians are better than Malays. And because he is racist, that’s why he reacted that way towards Sheena.

23. #23 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 5:33 pm

I am surprised and disgusted that the man behind the beard and moustache, Jamaludin Jarjis, is so shallow and myopic in his view and outlook?! It is shame reflected on the Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his cabinet.

24. #24 by Kingkong on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 5:41 pm

Is that a surprise? Look at our country bumpkin parliamentarians and ministers debating in the parliament, you know what type of a substance they are!

When this country bumpkin minister goes to the world arena, he has become a laughing stalk, a disgrace to the image of our country. I don’t use the word “ kampung “ style because it will be a disgrace to our kampong folks. Leading 300+ delegates to the conference perhaps is more like a blind leading a blind type of merry happy go lucky US tour. I bet there won’t be any follow up after the conference, and the biotech valley is just as dead.

It is a good thing that Sheena has learnt it very fast that she is not to let it go and have pursued a vigorous protest and that is the type of education that one regretfully can’t pick it up in a local higher education environment.

Sheena, please cheer up and study hard and you have the best wishes from us!

25. #25 by wsblurtn on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 6:14 pm

Dear Sheena
    dont get upset by this arrogant “kepala otak” fella. Many of “these people” are famous for their senseless remarks. This goes to tell how shallow and uncultured they are. Buat kita malu saja!!
    Yes, make a hue and cry over it …highlight it while you can over there! Let our country men know what kind of rascist are ruling our beloved country and hopefully, will know how to cast their votes.

26. #26 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 7:14 pm

From what I read here, it looks like Sheena Moorthy has over-reacted, reading into the remarks by the Minister, reading in between the lines and then arriving at the anti-Indian sentiment which she claimed the Minister was guilty of.

What has dark-skinned and fair-skinned got to do with being superior? Malayalis are fair-skinned and Tamils are darker-skinned. Is it not true that Tamils are at the bottom rung of the caste system? If the Minister is guilty of citing the facts, then he is ‘guilty’. If the Minister says that he would like to assist the poor Indians, don’t you think that it should be welcomed? What is racist about these remarks?

27. #27 by fm2 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 7:21 pm

conference?? i totally agree is just a fully paid 5 star trip for a bunch of useless fella.
    will this incident publish in the CNN or BBC. just the malaysian know is not enough, should let the whole world know. how ‘lucky’ we r in this bodoh land.

28. #28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 8:19 pm

JJ is a racist chauvinist pig. Period.

29. #29 by sapna on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:13 pm

Get the video of the event and then play it during general election… at indian populated area…

30. #30 by PureMalaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:21 pm

Having said so much. Everyone giving comments. But what have we got by the sun rises tomorrow? NOTHING. Everything will fade off, and the day goes on for JJ as usual, as well as for Pak Lah and BN. We are just wasting our energy discussing such thing here.

Sigh.

31. #31 by malaysia born on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:43 pm

Mr Lim, Notice that there has not been much protests from our indian friends.

Either this means that your blog is not reaching out to the indians ….. or such remarks are okay, as far as they (indians) are concern.

Where are your voices, my fellow indian friends? (Samy NOT included).

Pak Lah? Sssssssssssshhhhhhhh……….don’t disturb the old man in his sleep.

32. #32 by sapna on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 10:26 pm

Sheena did the right thing; walk off the function, then complain to Samy Value, and Pak Lah (did she?). From her act i sense that she is MIC girl, now let see what MIC can do after the win over Ijok.

In addition to that, Sheena can do the following also:-
    1. Continue staying in US (if permitted) until JJ give his appology.
    2. Complain this to Datuk Seri Anuar Ibrahim as he has influence over foreign media, then probably JJ name will appear in CNN, BBC, Blomberg, and Al Jazera. That will make JJ more popular… and join the same rank as hishamudin, and khairy jamaludin (the higher caste people in UMNO, as now JJ is only low caste in UMNO). I dont think Lim KIt Siang can do this as he is not that influencial. So far this news is still unknown to many malaysian in Malaysia as the main stream media never highlight this.
    3. Complain to US police for JJ’s racial remark
    4. Complain to Datuk Nazri (Dafacto Law Minister) so that he can repeat JJ racist.. recist..racist.. 42 times in the parliment. He is the only “Jantan” in BN to break the record by saying racist word so many times…
    5. Complain to Tun Dr Mahathir, as Dr M can use this as one of the point to attack Pak Lah in his speaches and Pak Lah may finally scold JJ.
    6. Complaint to Lim Kit Siang. So that he can keep shouting in parliment that even after 50 years of independence… UMNO ministers are still racist highlighting Hishamudin, JJ, Khairy Jamaludin, and Jerai MP
    7. Complain to JJ himself… and see what more racist words he has in his mind..
    8. Complain to Pak Lah…. questioning him about his BN election manifesto… and then wait days and months for his response as Pak Lah even does not bother to read letters from Parliment Opposition leader.. what to say more ikan bilis like you…

33. #33 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 10:44 pm

This idiot owns a private school. I wonder what his students learn in his school, pity them. AAB should step down as PM if he cannot understand how damaging it is for the country to have such idiotic fools representing a once Great Malaysia in a foreign land.

34. #34 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:04 pm

a point to emphasize here. malay could be an offspring of Indian. malay language is also strongly affected by languages from india. i am not sure if malays are aware of that

35. #35 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:12 pm

Who is JJ??

36. #36 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:14 pm

Sheena may be over reacting a bit here. This Minister, however, should show more sensitivity.

37. #37 by uniticious on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:27 pm

It’s not a case of over-reacting…
    Sheena should have a international media conference
    Don’t waste time consulting ‘Semi Value’ =P

38. #38 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 12:53 am

Imagine JJ’s lessons on racism to his sons and daughters:

The Indians are ‘klings’. They are better off as night soil carriers and estate workers. Samy Vellu is a robber and gangster.

The Chinese are the Jews of the East; you can hate them like Hitler hates the Jews. Ong Ka Ting is a wooly sheep; he can be slaughtered without a bleat.

All the other races in Malaysia – just keep them at the fringe as UMNO expands North, South, East and West. The Malays are God’s people; the Arabs are just lucky to be on the right side of the fence. Even then the Malays only respect the rich Arabs who have money to spend and, of course, the Sultan of Brunei, for as long as he is rich.

What do you think will JJ’s sons and daughters be like when they grow up? World citizens? No, no. Just like JJ. More of JJ. Sickening, stupid, senseless JJ.

No wonder we have so many racists in this country because, ultimnately it’s the parents who teach their children to be so.

39. #39 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:09 am

Is this the same Jamaluddin Jarjis ?

Jamaluddin is a highly qualified electrical engineer. He graduated with first class honours in his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Manchester, Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST). He went on to pursue his higher degrees in Canada. He obtained a Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Manitoba and a PhD in Electrical Engineering (Power System) from McGill University.

Jamaluddin Jarjis has held a number of positions throughout his professional career. He began his career as a lecturer at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia in 1974. In 1984, he established his own engineering consultancy firm, J&A Associates. Since then, he has become the Executive Vice Chairman of EPE Power Corporation and Chairman of Tenaga Nasional Berhad, the national power supply company.

” Wiki.

Must be referring to somebody else.

Minister Jamaluddin has no class.

40. #40 by smeagroo on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:17 am

I think JJ was insulting semi dummy indirectly. What a smart he is. Semi Dummy is real charcoal balck. Thats what JJ was saying, lower caste for darker skin indians. But we will never know. Esok Semi Dummy will do a Micheal Jackson stunt and bleach himself white.

Semi Dummy,

YOu have met your match.

41. #41 by slashed on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:18 am

I won’t call the man a racist so lightly. Rather I think he just showed his incompetence and a severe lacking of skills in relation to social intercourse.

Of course I am not saying he IS NOT a racist; merely that I won’t infer that he is based on this specific incident. Perhaps someone could enlighten me as to his previous misdemeanours.

42. #42 by Kingkong on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:24 am

“ Having said so much. Everyone giving comments. But what have we got by the sun rises tomorrow? NOTHING. Everything will fade off, and the day goes on for JJ as usual, as well as for Pak Lah and BN. We are just wasting our energy discussing such thing here “ PureMalaysian Says:

Wrong! We must keep voicing out just like what Kit, Sheena and others do; the people’s voice without fear!

That will make people like JJ to use their brain if there is any when they want to say something similar next time. Keep on bombarding if such racist’s talk comes out!

Silence means we condone this kind of talk! Internet / bloging is our tool, use it!

43. #43 by Donald on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:43 am

If AAB were to reprimand JJ, it will be on the grounds of lack of professionalism, lack of diplomacy and lack of political sense. As for AAB himself, does he know that a conflict is brewing between JJ and SV ? There was a time when one got to see a lot of JJ in the t.v. These days, you hardly see him. But SV is still able to maintain his popularity rank among the mass media.

44. #44 by rahimahbibi on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:36 am

For people out there who does not know the history of true malaya..

The history of the Malaysian area can be seen as four successive phases of outside influence, followed by the final assertion of Malay independence.

The first phase saw the domination of Hindu as well as Buddhist culture imported from India, which reached its peak in the great Srivijaya civilisation based in Sumatra, which ruled most of the Malay world from the 7th to the 14th centuries.
    The second phase began with the arrival of Islam, which began in the 10th century, and led to the conversion of most of the Malay-Indonesian world and the breakup of the Srivijayan empire into many smaller sultanates, the most prominent of which was the Melaka (Malacca). Islamic culture has had a profound influence on the Malay peoples, but has also been influenced by them.
    The third phase was the intrusion into the area of the European colonial powers: first the Portuguese, who captured Melaka in 1511, then the Dutch and finally the British, who established bases at Penang and Singapore. European domination led to the most fateful event in Malay history – the Anglo-Dutch treaty of 1824, which drew a frontier between British Malaya and the Netherlands East Indies, which became Indonesia. This arbitrary division of the Malay world has proved permanent.
    European domination also led to the fourth phase of foreign influence: the mass immigration of Chinese and Indian workers to meet the needs of the colonial economy created by the British in the Malay Peninsula and North Borneo. The Chinese and Indians posed a profound threat to the Malays, dominating economic life and the professions, and at one time threatening to make the Malays a minority in their own country.

The history, as opposed to the pre-history, of the Malay-speaking world begins with the advent of Indian influence, which dates back to at least the 3rd century BC. Indian traders came to the archipelago both for its extremely abundant forest and maritime products and to trade with merchants from China, who also discovered the Malay world at an early date. Both Hinduism and Buddhism were well established in the Malay Peninsula by the beginning of the 1st century AD, and from there spread across the archipelago. Chinese chronicles of the 5th century AD speak of a great port in the south called Guantoli, which was probably in the Strait of Malacca. In the 7th century, a new port called Shilifoshi is mentioned, and this is believed to be a Chinese rendering of Srivijaya.

The site of Srivijaya has never been found, but it was probably at the mouth of one of the rivers in eastern Sumatra, possibly near Palembang. For 700 years the Maharajahs of Srivijaya ruled a loose-knit maritime empire that controlled the coasts of Sumatra, Peninsular Malaya, and Borneo. Sometimes they also ruled parts of Java,but there were always rival Javanese states which resisted Srivijaya’s hegemony. Srivijaya lived by trade, welcoming annual trading fleets from China and India, and also traders from further afield, including Japanese, Iranians and Arabs. Its greatest enemies were the Siamese, who were always trying to encroach from the north. To secure a powerful ally against these enemies, the maharajahs paid tribute to the Chinese Emperors, but they were never under Chinese control.

From the 10th century the power of Srivijaya began to decline. Never a centralised state, it was apparently weakened by a series of wars with the Javanese, which disrupted trade. In the 11th century a rival power centre arose at Melayu, a port believed to have been located further up the Sumatran coast, possibly in what is now Jambi province. Melayu’s influence is shown by the fact that the name is the origin of the word “Malay.” The power of the Hindu Maharajahs was also undermined by the spread of Islam. Areas which were converted to Islam early, such as Aceh, broke away from Srivijaya’s control. By the late 13th century also, the Siamese kings of Sukhothai had brought most of Malaya under their rule. But the great wealth of the Srivijayan sphere, with its rich resources of aromatic timber, sea products, gold, tin, spices, wax and resins – all highly prized both in China and in the west – kept Srivijaya prosperous until it faded away in the 14th century.

45. #45 by rahimahbibi on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:46 am

In 1970 75 percent of Malaysians living below the poverty line were Malays, the majority of Malays were still rural workers, and Malays were still largely excluded from the modern economy.

Now..The government’s objective is for Malaysia to become a fully developed country by 2020, and this seems quite achievable. It leaves unanswered, however, the question of when and how Malaysia will acquire a first world political system (a multi-party democracy, a free press, an independent judiciary and the restoration of civil and political liberties) to go with its new economic maturity

46. #46 by kurakura on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:58 am

To izrafeil,

You do not have to apologise. He is the one at fault, Malay or not.

Also, I have to say that although I used alot of racial profiling here in this forum, I do not have any personal hatred with all Malay.
    I am just against the system which happens to be run by Malays. And among these UMNOPUTRAS, there are also some spinless Chinese and Indian cowards who do not care about the public.

Cheers.

47. #47 by thedoctor on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:02 am

This is directed to Mr GoDamn Singh…well its Indians like you who bring shame to the Community, look at all the other remarks we got from the Non-Indians…n here u are thinking thats its ‘over-reaction’ to someone calling you a ‘low-class’ based on skin color in front of 100 people.
    Whats there to read in between the lines??? Please wake up and smell the coffee……..maybe u would get offended if someone said something about turbans???

48. #48 by Godfather on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:39 am

When JJ was Chairman of TNB, he pushed for the TNB Coal deal, where he paid hundreds of millions to buy a coal mine in Indonesia. Last week, TNB announced that it is now exiting the coal business and is selling 99 pct of the coal mine for RM 19.5 million.

Then he tried to come up with a proposal to privatise part of the Sg Buloh Rubber Research Institute land. Luckily this ran smack into other people with vested interests and the proposal did not proceed.

The marina on Tioman Island that destroyed a huge swathe of cabbage coral and table coral ? That’s JJ’s.

Who allowed JJ to be what he is today – arrogant and self-serving ? None other than TDM. Don’t waste your time about Bodowi reprimanding JJ. It isn’t going to happen.

49. #49 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:55 am

“Complain to US police for JJ’s racial remark” sapna

LOL. You sound like an immature, misguided school boy writing a bad essay on the wrongs of racism.

The state troopers, FBI and the DHS (Department of Homeland Security) are in the thick of it. A citizen of Malaysia complaining to United States government about racial discrimination at home or in the U.S., about Islamization etc.??? Malaysia is a sovereign nation – like the U.S. Don’t make my toe laugh!

50. #50 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 8:08 am

“Can someone confirm this. Since Samy is dark-skinned…”

Samy Velloo cannot grow his hair. That makes him inferior to the rest of the flock.

51. #51 by DiaperHead on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 8:26 am

Sheena’s sister on her blog calls for the Minister to be accountable! Which planet do you come from, Sheena’s sister?? In Malaysia, its citizens have not been equal for the last 50 years! Utterances like these are routine in Malaysia and people are used to it and have become immune – acceptable even.

Wake up and smell the capati.

52. #52 by kurakura on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 8:32 am

I love Indian food.

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 8:49 am

Sheriff Singh: “Is this the same Jamaluddin Jarjis ? It is. Education is no bar to a racist attitude but generally it does mitigate that trait.

Has the same Jamaluddin Jarjis made “totally uncalled-for racial insults” in relation to Sheena?

Maybe yes may be no (as Mr Godamn Singh above had felt about Sheena’s overreaction) but we cannot make a conclusive determination based alone on Sheena’s recitation of events repeated here in this Thread.

Why I say this is that what we say – and whether it reflects our racist attitude and constitute a racial insult – is determined by (1) the actual words uttered and (2) the context in which they were uttered combined with the motives and feelings of the person uttering them with (2) being more important where (1) do not conclusively evince racial slur.

When YB brought up in Parliament certain issues affecting rights of minorities, and was greeted with “Pendatang balik negeri” , that is a racist remark (as if this is not our negeri and we’re still emigrant). The words “bathe the keris in a certain community’s blood” are not only racist but seditious. Here the words are so obvious that they may be determined to be so in the context they were spoken. If my childhood Malay buddy were to tell me “Pendatang balik negeri” in front of common friends discussing politics, he is still pulling my leg of which no racism may be imputed because I know him.

Does Sheena know Jamaluddin Jarjis? Please don’t mistake that I am trying to defend him or against Sheena but what I am saying is that we cannot make a determination in an objective based on the words alone without knowing the context, motives and the emotive expression with which the words were conveyed.
    If the other light skinned Malaysian Indian and (say) three other students present were to corroborate Sheen’s statement that they too had similar impression that he was singling her out for words laden with racial connotation, then she would have a more credible case!

I cannot speak Jamaluddin Jarjis. I don’t what he thinks. I can only speak for myself and put forward here a hypothetical situation.
    Supposing I were the minister meeting Malaysian students in California and trying to engage in light banter with Malaysian students, trying to touch on common things Malaysians know about.

There amongst the students (mostly Malays) I see a rather sprightly and maybe attractive (at least to me) Malaysian Indian student standing out amongst others. So I engage in banter , “do you know Samy Vellu?” (We all know our political parties are delineated on ethnic lines. Had she been a Chinese, he would have said, do you know Ong Ka Ting?)

On the part of “buruh India” , this is historical fact – British estate owners often employed or directly contracted crimping agents (kangani) – of how Indian labour was brought into country by the British.

In Malaysia amongst friend and acquaintances, Chinese will call Malay lazy, and Malays, the Chinese, avaricious and so on and for so long it is light humoured banter, I’d like to think Malaysians can transcend without offense these historical stereotyping. The light skinned—dark skinned reference is a reference to the caste, which is also a cultural fact, at least in India.

Given the same words uttered, had Jamaluddin Jarjis said them in a utterly serious way with disdain written all over his face supported by h the tone and inflection of voice, the racial element would have been more prominent than say he were to say in a smiling or may be cheeky way to a lady he sees as quite attractive or standing out from the crowd.

Maybe Jamaludin Jarjis’ s mouth is little itchy. It gets him into trouble. Sheena’s complaint is picked up in many blogs. Since alleged racist remarks were uttered in California, complaints could be made to the Terminator – California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, Commission of Human Rights of USA etc.

We hear one side of the story. We don’t know Sheena. She is young – and in the US influenced by the values of what is politically correct there. Especially she does not like to be singled out amongst the crowd of Malaysian students whether based on race or gender , if race it implies racist, and if gender, the Minister is “gatal” a form of sexual harassment for which he has to be punished – and crucified!

What is politically correct in California and in Malaysia may be different : we have to look at the norm.

Like I said I wasn’t there, I am not trying to defend him for the sake of (as Endangered Hornbill once remarked) ‘devil advocacy’ .
    It is the question of making a judgment (which so many here and in other blogs are conclusively making of the Minister – that he has made racial insults on her and judged her based on her skin colour (with all necessary connotation that he is racist and undeserving of the high post he holds), involving a big hullabaloo of complaining to the PM etc – when the words allegedly uttered by him as recited in her letter cannot alone be the determining criteria of that, without context, manner of they were said, and discernible motives being clear. There is also no corroboration of the allegation from other members of the audience – not even the other light skinned Malaysian Indian.

Interestingly little attention is focused on Sheena and whether she is over sensitive and making a mountain out of a mole hill.

That is perhaps attributable to our collective partisanship and bias against all Barisan ministers because of the racial architecture of this country that we blame is erected and defended by them that we suffer in our everyday life.

Until we determine the facts shall we just take political mileage out of sheena’s well publicised complaint to crucify that man?

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 9:14 am

The Doctor says “This is directed to Mr GoDamn Singh…well its Indians like you who bring shame to the Community”.

I say we are no more sure that you are a doctor behind the nick as we are that the person behind “Mr Godamn Singh” is an Indian or a Singh, and not (say) an Americanised Chinese Malaysian!

Assumptions are assumptions – may be true or false like we’re no more sure that Mr Godmamn Singh is not right about overreacting on Sheena’s part.

We’re not there to witness how and the context with which the words were spoken. I’d say we ourselves are overreacting. We’re so fed up with the prevailing racism in our country and the haughtiness of those in power that we readily conclude whatever has been alleged against Jamaluddin Jarjis – because it fits our impression of them as a group – even if on an individual case of Sheena’s allegations, what we have on the table is not sufficient evidence to support our conclusion that she is right and he is all wrong!

55. #55 by smeagroo on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 9:19 am

wow

56. #56 by Count Dracula on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:17 am

Sheena’s sister said in her blog:

“He made several derogatory remarks about Indians in general, about how they were brought in as ‘buruh kasar’ and at one point asked my sister about how many Indians were in her batch of students.”

Indians were brought in as ‘buroh kasar’ ? What is so derogatory about it? It is a fact. The Brits brought in unskilled south Indians to work the railway lines and rubber plantations, changing the country’s demographics forever. That too is a fact of history.

57. #57 by Count Dracula on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:19 am

Grow up and learn to accept the truth how unpleasant it may be.

58. #58 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:23 am

I have heard friends telling me that JJ can be incredible crude. These comments are nothing compared to some other things that have been told to me. [deleted] And many many more…

59. #59 by bbtan on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:33 am

“…Malay could be an offspring of Indian”,pulau_sibu.

I believe this is true- think Bujang Valley. I also believe that Malay could be an offspring of Chinese, Japanese,etc.

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:39 am

Think of what Big Joe said in his posting May 6th, 2007 at 10:23 which I have also heard from friends (though hearsay) but think whether it could be true that the Minister might have been more attentive to Sheena being an attractive Malaysian indian girl than having derogatory preconceptions about her being Indian.

The statements might not be said in racist undertone and based on racist context. Of course she resented being singled out. She’s the ‘new woman’ not to be easily trifled with. This is America (where upon a time women burned bra to put the equality point across to Male Chauvinist pigs) not Bolehland.

She’s angry with him and decides to interpret his words in that racist context. Either way she thought it was unfitting for a Minister to single her out, embarrass her in this way. He might not have intended to embarrass her…. Maybe he was trying to get her attention by the unfortunate banter, more to show he took note of her. No allegation has been made that he might be a trifle amorous, is there? But to say that he was racist? Come on’.

61. #61 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:46 am

I guess what I am saying is that, without knowing the context, and the way he said them, whether with disdain or with a leering look, we don’t really know or could conclude he has negative preconception of Indians as a racial group or quite the opposite, no negative perception, and in fact very positive perception of young pretty Indian ladies. Now whether a Minister should conduct himself in a public forum that way, whether there as propriety, that’s another issue which I am not so confident in.

62. #62 by united07 on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 11:20 am

Well, being an indian I do know this is absolutely nothing new.

JJ’s comment absolutely un-called for. But then who’s fault it is?

His first comment on do you know ‘Samy” raised out of the norm that only when you suck Samy you get to have all this privillege being an indian.

His second comment, well the education system was fabricated to SAY IT THAT WAY. WE INDIANS CAME HERE AS LABOUR AND REMAINED LABOUR. (Probably that is why they are arguing now, if Indian labours can be Malaysian citizen, why not Indonessian??)

His 3rd comment, the entire world believes ‘CASTE’ still exisit in Indian community. Even in India this is being dissolved, although it still exists. But in other countries, I don’t think it is that obvious.

So, in summary except for point no.3, we Indian didn’t ask for any of these. GET JJ OUT OF THE SYSTEM.

63. #63 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 12:24 pm

> Indians were brought in as ‘buroh kasar’ ? What is so derogatory about it? It is a fact. The Brits brought in unskilled south Indians to work the railway lines and rubber plantations, changing the country’s demographics forever. That too is a fact of history.

boleh is a country importing chinese and indian slaves. now the offsprings of these slaves are classified as second and third class citizens under non-bumiputra category. shouldn’t some one work with the human rights organisations to free the offsprings of the slaves?

if you want the minister to apologise to the Indian comunities, the issue has to be brought to India. Because the minister said Indian, but not Malaysian.

64. #64 by k1980 on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 12:30 pm

From http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2007/05/two-banks-in-malaysia-perpetuating.html

“A new regulation by two major banks … requires law firms to have a minimum of three partners of which one must be Bumiputera with a minimum 50 per cent stake in the firm before they can do any business with the banks…” Will this mean that bumis will stop going for medical courses in universities and instead go for law courses

65. #65 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 12:49 pm

“A new regulation by two major banks … requires law firms to have a minimum of three partners of which one must be Bumiputera with a minimum 50 per cent stake in the firm before they can do any business with the banks…”

It’s not a new regulation : its been there for some time, and in the case of the “most major bank”, unofficially, since 20 years ago. This may heightened further abuses of the Ali-Baba system. You have 2 young Bumi lawyers not very proficient in English, have no clientele and certainly know nothing of the law, you make them 2 partners and viola you have 100% bumi owned firm (with the partnership agreement to show too) to get the work from the two major banks. The one behind it is of course a senior streetwise legal wise non bumi lawyer who gets the work done, and although officially he is mere assistant employee of the 2 bumis, gets 90% of the spoils with 5% each to each of the Bumi. (Bumis themselves are grateful for that for otherwise they might not get even an employment with a salary more than the 5%). This is however exploitation of the Bumi because even anything goes wrong -and the firm gets sued for negligence (done by the non bumi) or sued by EPF (for non payment of EPF) (or by Inland Revenue for non payment of taxes), the Bumis who ostensibly present themselves as owners and partners would be hit and made bankrupt whilst the non bumi puppet master gets scot free to live another day, enter into another arrangement with another 2 unsuspecting young and inexperienced bumi solicitors and repeat the same thing. At the end of the day one has to contend with the market and has to hold one’s own or else if you depend on others who are competent, competitive and streetwise, to leverage and make use of your privileges (not backed by expertise), it is often the case that you who though privileged get exploited rather than them!

66. #66 by royzjeff on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:01 pm

dawsheng Says:
    May 5th, 2007 at 4:50 pm

“Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaludin Jarjis was jealous because Indians are better than Malays.”

With your remark, you are no different than him.

67. #67 by lakshy on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:09 pm

It’s ok, let him have his say. Just like Keng Yaik, who also made derogatory statements about Indians. It shows the way they think. Any apology from such people would be meaningless.

Sheena, all you need to do, is to prove them wrong. Do well in your studies and in your career. And if you can, do settle down elsewhere, and make a name for yourself. Let this be the turning point in your life to motivate you to get to a higher level.

In malaysia too, there are many opportunities for non-malays to prove themselves in spite of all the affirmative action policies to aid the malays. These policies themselves ironically have weakened the malays, and strengthened the non-malays.

68. #68 by Winston on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:20 pm

# rahimahbibi Says:
    May 6th, 2007 at 2:46 am

“In 1970 75 percent of Malaysians living below the poverty line were Malays, the majority of Malays were still rural workers, and Malays were still largely excluded from the modern economy.”
    The trouble lies not in the NEP but in the way it was hijacked by the rich and influential Bumiputras to enrich themselves. This was what one BN backbencher said called leakage. And what a leakage it was!
    So, the longer it is in existence, the richer those who are already rich and influential will be while the rest of the Malays will still as economically backward as before.
    No wonder the former likes the NEP so much!!

69. #69 by japankiller on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 3:31 pm

Why do you have been so care if you did planned to stay on in US after your graduation, why do you care to attend that conference if you think the conference wouldnt benefit you at all. why did you spend those golden time by attended that conference being speech by those stupid minister.
    Save your time, for me, i would rather spend my time reading at LKS blog.

70. #70 by negarawan on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 3:36 pm

Well, Jamaludin’s line of thought and lack of maturity and professionalism in his remarks says it all. He is unfit to be a minister and I wonder if he has a “PhD potong”? The episode of spending millions of taxpayers money to send two malaynauts to space to play congkak and make teh tarik is another example of a thoughtless and brainless person. Where did he buy his PhD from? Only a fool like AAB is capable of hiring such a worthless person!

71. #71 by kowtim on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 3:42 pm

“In malaysia too, there are many opportunities for non-malays to prove themselves in spite of all the affirmative action policies to aid the malays. These policies themselves ironically have weakened the malays, and strengthened the non-malays.”

To lakshy, I don’t think I can agree to the above statement. This is only true for the top 5 % of the people. Generally most people lose out under the NEP. Brilliant students cannot study a course of their choice especially medicine. When people migrate because of greener pasture it is treated as ” trouble drain ” and not brain drain. Thia was what the late Tun Razak told Harry Lee.

72. #72 by 4th_wife on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:07 pm

We must stop this JJ before it is too late, we don’t want to see Indians and Malays blood flowing.

73. #73 by Tai Lo Chin on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:21 pm

Maybank’s policy of requiring the law firms in its panel to have 50% Bumi partnership is racist and even worse than that of FIC’s requirement of 30% equity. As the biggest bank that has over the years built its prosperity on the back of patronage of Malaysian customers of all races, it is showing a very bad example of responsible corporate citizenship. The quality of lawyers in its panel should be maintained on basis of merits if its loans are to be properly secured. In imposing a 50% quota, it is putting politics above quality. If that is the basis, other races may as well withdraw their deposits and bank with other banks which do not have a racial approach. It is safer to enturst one’s moneys with banks who don’t put politics above comercial merits.

74. #74 by Loh on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:36 pm

///THE Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM) has rapped a local bank for requiring all law firms dealing with it to have at least 50% bumiputra partnership, Sin Chew Daily reported.///

The constitution does not have a provision for this requirement. NEP did not anticipate this. But in the name of NEP, the government now, in delinking economic activites with race has linked finance and banking sector to Malays. Now the banks ask that their clients only deal with law firms that are 50% or more controlled by bumiputra, or else they are free to take their business elsewhere. That is a private sector initiative, and the ‘saya ta’ tahu’ PM will say that he has to allow free enterprise in economic sectors. Do we call this legalised discrimination? Apparently not, because there is no legal requirement. But the government would not ‘advise’ the bank to retract, because it would be against the spirit (ghostly) of NEP.

Now, we see a new technique to convert the control of legal firms to Malays. It used to be a normal practice that partners are selected from among those employees who proved best capable to contribute to the firms. That capabilitiy would include PR skill, no doubt. With the new 50% requirement, race becomes an additional qualification.

The NEP sympathisers argue that NEP was needed to allow level playing field. Malays having now succeeded in controlling the banking sector is bullying not only the clients who need loans, but also the legal firms which have dealings with the bank.

This downstream discrimination activities does not require NEP sanction. But NEP virus run in the blood of Malay corporate leaders, and though not presently in UMNO, they are fighting to be Malays’ champions.

Do non-Malays bolehlander have any future in this land?

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:51 pm

Very likely Sheena Moorthy is an attractive lady who stands out above the crowd who caught Jamaludin’s attention. Asking in incident 1 if she knew Samy Vellu, because he knew him, was just a conversational breaker. Mentioning incident 2 the historical fact of “buruh India” and looking at her and saying “that’s how we get Indians in Malaysia”, was to convey the message that she had his attention. In incident 3 the words “Oh, I am not going to help upper class Indians, I only help the lower class ones. They are the ones that need it” in the context of Sheena being the darker skinned of the two Malaysian Indians was a banter to hint that he was well predisposed towards her.

One can judge by the words and what Sheena alone interpreted them to determine that they were racially motivated. We were not there. If the fairer skinned Indian friend and three others students were to corroborate that the manner by and context in which the words were spoken came across as racial, then her interpretation would have been corroborated.

So far we only have her words for it. No doubt she was angry for being singled out by the Minister and must have been embarrassed. But the point here of debate is whether he was racist and should be reprimanded by his PM boss for it. Maybe he was just taken in by her presence. Like I said earlier the way the words were said is important. If a person said them with contempt and disdain, they might be racially motivated; if they were said with a fond or leering smile, they might suggest something else. Remember what Bigjoe said about his repute in posting May 6th, 2007 at 10:23 am.? Of course ether way the Minister might have saved himself more trouble by not acting in such a way.

Can we judge readily from what Sheena said that the Minister had a racial attitude against Indians? Without knowing the context and the way they were said, we won’t know. They are equally consistent with someone having racial bias not necessarily against but possibly could be much in favour especially of the female gender who is attractive. Let us not make a mountain out of a mole hill on Sheen’s so called over reaction as what Mr Godamn Singh said.

It can be wrong to assume and judge things on face value. Just like what thedoctor rebuked in his posting May 6th, 2007 at 7:02 am of another poster : “This is directed to Mr GoDamn Singh…well its Indians like you who bring shame to the Community”.

How do we know Mr Godamn Singh is an Indian or Singh behind his nick – for all we know Mr Godamn Singh could be an Americanised Malaysian Chinese – and are we going to assume that the man behind the nick thedoctor is really a doctor?

76. #76 by firehawk on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 5:53 pm

JJ is a rotten egg of the orange skinned!

This is an official protest. If JJ does not apologise to this person, I will tell everyone and let it spread like a wildfire.

77. #77 by muscaa on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 6:14 pm

haha.. you dont know about samy vellu & questioned by JJ? See how Mr Lim Kit Siang winds up Samy Vellu in parliament:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc

78. #78 by crusader on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 10:37 pm

many racist things are happening overseas.

just that we dont know.

i had my share.

79. #79 by twistedmind on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 11:34 pm

Sheena, get your degree/masters/Phd etc. Stay there, don’t bother coming back as this country and its pea-brained ministers have nothing to offer you. Good luck to you.

80. #80 by dawsheng on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 12:40 am

Indians is a lot more better than the Malays. They have samy and that is really incredible.

81. #81 by accountability on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 1:41 am

unfortunately, this is the state of our govt today – mostly morally & ethically-bankrupt and incompetent.

sheena, stay in US – you’ll do well there.
    BN (especially UMNO) are no longer hiding their racist behaviours – they’ve lost their shame

btw, a 300-man delegation to US ??!!
    no wonder our country is so poor!!

82. #82 by paix on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 2:43 am

what do you expect from a bankrupt country like msia? the so-called leaders are in their positions not because of their mental prowess or accomplishments but just because of who they are. let me see if JJ can apply and get into a college like Calpoly. he many be lucky even to get into a junior college in the US.
    Sheena should align herself with her compatriots from India. She can hold her head high looking at the accomplishments of Indians who run some of the biggest high tech companies in the world here in the US. Can you name one bumi who runs a company of any consequence outside of your playground in msia?

83. #83 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 3:48 am

“…thedoctor rebuked in his posting May 6th, 2007 at 7:02 am of another poster : “This is directed to Mr GoDamn Singh…well its Indians like you who bring shame to the Community”.

How do we know Mr Godamn Singh is an Indian or Singh behind his nick – for all we know Mr Godamn Singh could be an Americanised Malaysian Chinese ..” Jeffrey

Yeah, and how do we even know if he is a Chinese Malaysian? He could be the doctor, and he could be the Singh! Or he could be Dr. Singh!

84. #84 by paix on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 4:23 am

In the overall scheme of things, bodohland is inconsequential. Her only claim to fame in the world stage is her apartheid policy. If the hp6 govt has just a few minute brain cells, they should realize the golden opportunity they have right in their own backyard.
    Which are 2 of the fastest growing economies in the world right now? Yes, India and China. In your own country you have 2 ethnic groups of people who happen to speak the language, know the customs and culture and may have important contacts in their ancestral land. What is the govt doing to these 2 groups of people? They are marginalizing them and trying to drive them away? What stupidity! In the US they have started immersion schools as early as kindergarten to teach white kids to learn Mandarin. They realize that knowing the Chinese language and culture will help them greatly in the future. Here in bodohland you have millions of people who already speak it as their mother tongue. Take advantage of it!
    Sheena, if I were you, I would seriously consider staying in the US once you finish your education. You will never realize your full potential in bodohland. Returning to bodohland is like a caged animal that escapes and is captured and returned to its cage.
    Good luck!

85. #85 by Kingkong on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 4:32 am

“Given the same words uttered, had Jamaluddin Jarjis said them in a utterly serious way with disdain written all over his face supported by h the tone and inflection of voice, the racial element would have been more prominent than say he were to say in a smiling or may be cheeky way to a lady he sees as quite attractive or standing out from the crowd.
    Maybe Jamaludin Jarjis’ s mouth is little itchy. It gets him into trouble. “

“Maybe he was trying to get her attention by the unfortunate banter, more to show he took note of her. No allegation has been made that he might be a trifle amorous, is there? But to say that he was racist? Come on’” Jeffrey says:-

Jeffrey: I don’t think it is correct whichever way you try to justify JJ behavior. It is also not appropriate for a minister in such a public gathering of 100 over people to express such a flirtatious mood; with an intention of an old bull trying to graze young sprouting grass. If you flirt in a private environment then it is none of our business, but with a mission of delegating a team of 300 plus people for a biotech conference at the expense of us, the taxpayers, and what in his mind is just young attractive lady and flirtation intention. That is even worse; a pure male chauvinism which is equally bad as racism. Why couldn’t he ask something more appropriate like what Sheena’s ambition as a future biotechnologist back home is and in what way his ministry could help; I think in such way I think he would draw more respect from Sheena and other young aspiring future biotechnologists.

If he is so interested in India and her people, why couldn’t he ask something like the rising economy and outsourcing technology in India; maybe he could ask something about the development of biotechnology in India. Come on! don’t degrade the position as a minister of Malaysia.

It is purely due to his arrogance, ignorance and perhaps disrespectfulness to women if you like to add on it.

86. #86 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 6:28 am

“I don’t think it is correct whichever way you try to justify JJ behavior. It is also not appropriate for a minister in such a public gathering of 100 over people to express such a flirtatious mood” – posted Kingkong on May 7th, 2007 at 4:32 am

I agree. No, I am not defending the propriety of the proceedings whichever way as I said in my posting May 6th at 10:46am – (I quote) “Now whether a Minister should conduct himself in a public forum that way, whether there as propriety, that’s another issue which I am not so confident in”.

I merely doubted that it was correct of us to conclude that JJ made racially insulting statements merely based on Sheena’s perception of them, without corroboration from others, when the words themselves, as expressed, are neutral enough to suggest other possibilities depending on context and the way it is said.

I think it is important for us to ascertain whether the complainant has got the complaint and its basis right – right at the beginning. This has bearing on the proportion of her response, and whether it is justifiable of her to escalate the complaint to the level it is at the moment.

87. #87 by DiaperHead on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:44 am

UMNO leaders are racists?? What’s new, guys?

88. #88 by chilipadi9 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 11:27 am

I think he’s just jealous coz he knows Indians are one of the smartest people in the world.If they were to treat us equally, they would see how much more capable we are despite the lack of attention we get overall. He is like a “katak di bawah tempurong”.
    Afterall why is he so “sibuk” about Indians & especially that poor girl who is being sponsored by her sister who is BTW in the US to begin with from the very start.
    Look at the the influx of Indians being hired in the United States & all over the world alone is tremendous.
    It all boils down to one thing “Pure jealousy” & typical Otak Udang.

89. #89 by negarawan on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 11:52 am

Jamaludin Najis, please resign if you still have an iota of honour in you. Till today, no sign of public apology being offered. You’re not a gentleman at all !

90. #90 by chilipadi9 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 12:09 pm

He should be blacklisted from entering the US. Minister or not he should be put in his place [deleted]. They try to show their bossyness whichever country they go & who suffers? We, as citizen of this country. Everytime they open their mouth to make some snide remarks, it becomes difficult for us to visit these country by acquiring a visa.Not only that, they are bullies. Why don’t they pick someone their own size, like the United States or Europe countries?? [deleted]
    \We know we are a minority in M’sia, but that doesn’t give you the right to critisize us our culture that way.When we leave this world we are all the same, black, white, etc……., we all leave exit the same way. There will be no special privileges give, especially you JJ.
    After all that than try to butter us up to support them in the election.

91. #91 by sotong on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 3:35 pm

Many of our Ministers are not suitable to represent our country and people.

Most are give a position because of political appointment for their “service” to their party, not beacuse of what they have contributed or could do for the country and her ordinary people.

For their irresponsibility and incompetency, we see a significant rise in corruption, crime, gross mismanagement and more which are destroying the country.

92. #92 by good coolie on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 4:16 pm

I am a sexy, beautiful, and fair Indian movie-star from Kashmir. I was there with the other students and JJ when the incident occurred, but I was hiding from him lest he grab me and sing Hindi movie songs round and round American apple trees.

93. #93 by haroldz on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 4:18 pm

Indians r s good s anybody/ race in d world if given opportunities.

94. #94 by aries66 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 5:13 pm

Jamaluddin Jarjis, How can U act like this ?. Can not be like that. Highly educated but No humanility.

95. #95 by chilipadi9 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 8:24 pm

Jamaluddin Najis, you are not fit to be a minister. You lack the capabilities in leadership. You are the eroding & decaying example to our future generation.
    Real “Otak Udang’

96. #96 by storm3online on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:33 pm

I am disgusted by the behavior of jamaludin jarjis. I never imagined that a Malaysian minister can behave as such. There is one thing that the people of Malaysia can do. It is to write formal letters to governments of India, china, Russia, America and so forth (including the United Nations) , citing this incident. I would think that the more letters are sent -in to the correct channel, jamaludin jarjis will not be able to sleep any longer. If the required attention is given to this case (sheena and jamaludin), Malaysia cannot do anything to close up the story because it is outside their jurisdiction. I suggest that the people write in constructively. Without vulgarity and utter nonsense.

97. #97 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:48 am

Why the big fuss? It is not that the likes of Sheena has never been discriminated and marginalized, decimated and polarized?

98. #98 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:51 am

Storm,

They are Malaysians who requested for asylum in the U.S. and the U.K. based on racial discrimination and they were booted out as fast as they came! Writing letters?? Don’t make me laugh!

99. #99 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:53 am

there not they. a thousand apologies!

100. #100 by kumar11 on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 11:04 am

It is saddening that everything that makes MALAYSIA … TRULY ASIA as per tourism malaysia’s PR campaign across the world, positioning Malaysia as a multi-cultural society living in harmony, is all show… and not a reality…

Freedom of the press ? None – there is not even a single shred of news on a reprimand!

This should be brought up by the political parties via a formal protest.

101. #101 by sampuna on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 1:05 pm

there are some brainless people,who seem to forget they represent the govt,coming out wt racist remarks.i’ve even heard of one brainless lecturer for the Jatidiri programme,making religious jokes about Taoism and Hinduism.But bear in mind,they do not represent Malays,these brainless people represent a minority group of morons who should be thrown out of the country.

102. #102 by Oldman on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 1:29 pm

I am surprised you all are still at it. This is classic mob mentality. You heard one side of a story and you are ready to hang the perpetrator. Just because a young Indian girl’s ego was bruised, you all are ready to turn the world upside down like it is the greatest injustice ever to grace this country. Why didn’t the fair-skinned Indian boy said anything if it was so offensive?
    I think Sheena should just learn to grow up and be proud of her heritage instead of over-reacting to some poorly made comments. It used to be rude in the past to refer to an African American as black but now it is acceptable because they learn to be proud of their color and that “Black is beautiful”. I admit that when speaking in an official capacity, one has to be careful about the choice of words. But we are talking here about a malaysian minister with probably a crude kampong upbringing and who might just be trying to make small talk. Sheena actually did the minister a favour by reporting his desire to help poorer Indians which, we have to admit, is commendable. Personally, I would rather see somebody saying straight from his heart what he means to avoid misunderstanding, instead of someone sounding like a hypocrite in vague but politically correct languages.
    One writer suggested writing letters to the United Nations? They cannot even stop the massacres in Africa and you want them to worry about what a Malaysian minister said to an Indian girl? Somebody even suggested here, as well as at Malaysiakini, to report to the US police. Gosh..how much more ludicrous can you get? Those are the type of comments you get when kids get on the computers and start spewing nonsense. High time their parents change the passwords.
    Sheena has probably not come across a red-neck American yet. Wonder what she would do when she goes to a restaurant and sees a group of white people who comes later but gets seated and served first before her…or coming up to a counter in a departmental store and sees that the clerk addresses the white customer waiting besides her first even though she was first at the counter.
    Hope you all will stop this incessant talk about racial prejudices, etc., like as if you never seen them in Malaysia. It appears that you all are worried more about Sheena than about the Indian rubber tapper who nearly lost his family because of religion.

103. #103 by chilipadi9 on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 2:47 pm

Storm,
    “Without vulgarity and utter nonsense”. So what has JJ been uttering all this time, you think decent words?? This is not his first insult, so why do we have to be polite with our expression.Tit for tat.:-)
    This day & age the uncompromising method gets the message across loud & clear.How do you speak to a “Pariah”?

104. #104 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:03 pm

Hello OLDMAN, this is classic BN racist mentality, do you suppose our Hisshamudin was kinder with his words during the last UMNO GA?

105. #105 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:06 pm

Hi OLDMAN, between sheena and JJ, I would believe in Sheena’s side of the story because this is BN’s racist mentality, on race supremacy and “I M sorry if that sounds like NAZISM”.

Do you remember last year during UMNO GA, was Hishamuddin any kinder in his words to the NON-BUMIS?

pray tell.

106. #106 by muscaa on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 9:20 pm

Aiyoyo Sheena, you dont know about samy vellu? U can see how he shouted him in parliament:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc

107. #107 by flower on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 9:35 pm

I am very disappointed with the remarks and statement made by Jarjis. Being a minister he doesn’t even know how to talk and what to say. He is not at all sensitive!…. This clearly shows on the mentality of the person. Sorry to say …this shows a classic BN racist mentality.I know Sheena comes from what type of family….without knowing his own country people how can he be judgemental.Jarjis too is not fair does that mean he could be from low class.In every family among siblings ..all are not fair does that mean the dark ones are from low class. Please wake up guys and learn to be intelligent.
    My confidents in BN has vanish…. why should at all the question of colour,race & creed be spoken there?? How can you look down on Indians like that..they are very much intelligent. Majority of these Indian due to polarisation, racist problem & injustice,many who leave the country decide not to come back.What’s happening?? Its very sad. The % of Indians has dropped remarkably. Where are the values??? How to vote confidently for BN. There is no justice..we never had this problem in the early days..we can sit together and eat in one place [never differentiate ourselves as Malay,Chinese or Indian]but today..we live in tension…with anger for each other. This has further added on by our so call “intellectual minister”. Very sad..attitude & mentality MUST change otherwise we are not going to be a United Country. PM should step in before it falls a part.

108. #108 by Oldman on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 11:39 pm

What I am trying to say is that there are much more serious things to worry about. What Kerismuddin and Najib did with the keris are exactly the type of things we have to worry about because they have far more serious consequences. What I am disappointed to see is that there seems to be more reactions about a crass remark than other serious issues such as religious rights of non-muslim or the plights of the estate Indians, or lack of opportunities for non-bumis, etc. There are over 100 postings in this blog and several complaint letters at Malaysiakini just about a crude remark. It would be great if only they show such concern about the rubber tapper family. We have to know where the real battles are and not be bogged down by frivolous issues. Otherwise, we would sound superficial for lack of serious issues and ideas to discuss and debate. Have Malaysians become so snobbish and classy or overly sensitive that we worry about every words somebody said in a conversation? I don’t think so which is why I suspect many of the posters here are just young people who have yet to experience the real world.

109. #109 by Oldman on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 1:49 am

I have read and re-read what JJ said and I would not make such a big fuss about it. I admit he was crude but he was verbalising the common perceptions in both Indian and non-Indian communities about dark and fair-skinned Indians. The Indians themselves have this perception. Personally, I would not have spoken the way JJ said. But then I have many years of experience talking to strangers and talking in public that I am always conscious of using politically correct words. I know the difference between Indians who are vegetarian and non-vegetarian and I have to ask them that question whenever I have to host Indian visitors. That is to make sure I bring them to a proper restaurant. It would be insensitive to bring a vegetarian Indian to a steak restaurant. I would not venture to guess their diets based on their skin-color. Some even confide in me that they are vegetarians not because of custom (that translate to mean higher caste) but because of personal beliefs against killing animals, etc. Some Indians that I know of even become vegetarians just to improve their self image within their own community. If people like Sheena felt offended by such perceptions about dark and fair-skinned Indians, then they have to work to change the perceptions within their own community, or just learn to be proud of their heritage.

110. #110 by awesome on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 3:22 pm

It is amazing that some consider fair skinned ‘upper class’ and dark skin ‘lower class’. The skin colour is so important to many people especially Malaysians & Singaporeans. It is not the race thing..it is really the colour of the skin …yes!

Many judge the book by it’s cover but many also judge the person by the skin colour. You know why we perceive this way …it is due to a shallow mentality.

Samy Vellu is not perfect but I doubt Samy made JJ a minister. JJ obviously is another race…don’t you think? No point hitting at him..he is also dark skinned!

This embrassing situation is a result of people regarding that fair skinned are rich and dark skinned are poor. Datuk Tony Fernandes of Air Asia is not that fair..is he? So he must be poor…hahaha..Isn’t this ridiculous? Or how about Tiger Woods…he too must be very poor..don’t you think? I think many of you need to have your brains washed….for being so foolish especially that JJ minister

Sheena why didn’t you tell him off? I think you are being intimidated by those comments. You should speak up and tell him straight on his face that ‘he is a fool’. A fool to judge someone by the skin colour.

It is no point venting now to every one else. Do you know why we Malaysians are cowards….we are afraid of what people will think of us. Or what they’ll do to us.

Come on and be brave Serena!

111. #111 by awesome on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 3:24 pm

Come on be brave Sheena and be proud of your beautiful dark skin.

112. #112 by awesome on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 3:44 pm

I wrote earlier and it just disappeared so I’m taking the liberty to say this again.

It is a fool who regard a person by the skin colour. Is Samy Vellu poor? He is dark skinned. (Oh by the way did Samy appoint JJ as minister? Why are you hitting on Samy Vellu? He is a MIC president but is it related to that incident?)

Never mind, on skin colour again…: How about DatuK Tony Fernandes of Air Asia? He is not that fair skinned is he? So is he poor? Ridiculous! Tiger Woods must be poor ..hahaha because he is dark skinned!! ?? Can you see how foolish one can be?

Hey the problem is not the MIC leader, or the Indians…it is all of us, colour conscious people. We need to change and see beyond the skin into the heart of a person.

We Malaysians must be brave especially the one’s trampled upon because of the skin colour or race. Black is beautiful …is it not? Many love to wear dark, black clothes!

Sheena and other dark skinned Indians please don’t let anyone intimidate you because you are dark. You are beautiful just the way you are.

Be brave, love your skin colour . You are more than meets the eye. And speak up to a fool like JJ who dare speak to you like that.

Do not be a coward and be afraid of what people will think and do.

If Indians carry themselves well regardless of their colour, they’ll gain respect. Firstly, regard yourself well and hold your head up with that confident smile and prove your worth. You have what it takes to be winner and Indians you are winners!

113. #113 by Tom Peters on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 7:01 pm

Clearly, Sheena was insulted, but people rarely debate the topic except to say that they have been insulted. As the insulter, the Minister had the initiative and decided the nature and intent of the communication which Sheena reacted to.

The issue is why did she choose to react as having been insulted when she is apparently safe in knowledge of the humanity of their ancestors.

Across the divide for example, Arab clerics in their sermons routinely call Jews “children of pigs and apes”. Would you ask the Jews to treat every such outburst an insult or would you ask them to examine and understand the culture and ancestry of the communicators.

Some situations even exclude such a scenario. A vicious animal, for instance, can savage you but it just cannot insult you, but, even the most vicious animal is not human.

I thank Sheena for highlighting this episode if only to provoke a debate, but simply put, ‘your actions reflect your breeding’ which we at times tend to forget. If the minister had actually uttered those unkind words, in a broad sweep, he insulted his culture and ancestry, not Sheena.

114. #114 by Careena6 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 12:10 am

JJ is a moron.
    There is no such thing as being fair skinned indian means you are upper class, and dark means you are in the lower caste. The moron does not know the fact.
    I have to say this, as I read someone mentioning it.Not all Malyalee’s are fair .(I am very very sure)
    No caste system in Malaysia, period.
    I have no idea why people make skin colour as an issue.. got better things to do..

115. #115 by Kingkong on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 1:38 pm

Based on the postings above, my impression of Sheena’s topic could be summarized as follows:-

!. Sheena is indeed very brave that she dares to challenge the issue which might be the tip of an iceberg as many could have been humiliated in silence. She dares to write a letter to the prime minister and demand an apology from JJ. How many of us dare to put our real name in the postings of this blog?

2. No issue is small in the freedom of expression, and the young people should be encouraged to do so. If the subject is irrelevant, it would not survive through the life of a debate. Judging from the 118 responses, the subject is itself relevant.

3.It is correct that we must make noise if there is any injustice we face; this is one of the processes of “ fighting “ as people who mention before to remain in the country to fight as far as the opposition of migration is concerned. Sheena has shown that one can still fight even if she is out of the country. I.e. fight for your right, wrong or right, black or white?

3.The cabinet has instructed the May bank to retrieve the rule for Law firm which must compulsorily include Bumi ( 50% stake ) to open account before doing business. The people’s voice has taken effect.

4.That also serves as a reminder to those YBs who hold high positions must be aware that they should be people friendly and do not simply weave a keris today here and there and next moment talk about something insensible because of the ego of ketuaan. The internet in the cyberspace could strip one naked and torn to pieces until there is less in Y and B in the YBs.

Internet is a powerful tool where a big business could be challenged by a small one, and a big personality could be tamed by the small ones. This is apparently a new effective form of people’s voice. Use it!

Sheena is definitely proud of her race and where she comes from; otherwise she won’t make a fuss to defend herself to such an extent. Bravo, Sheena, you definitely will make a good biotechnologist as you dare to challenge the existing norm and think out of the box and I believe that is one of the prerequisites to be a good biotechnologist.

116. #116 by Jaya Prakash on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:16 pm

For me i will be feel shameful if i still live in Malaysia . Malaysia economic is droping down from economic ranking to 164th place . So what else is great over here ? [deleted] For me i think Sheena sould stay in overseas because Malaysian are famous with their third class mentality. That is why Malaysian been looked down by the world. I’m ashamed to be a Malaysian but proud to be a south indian (Tamilan) dark skinned because we made our sucess to the world eye. Do JJ knows that there is over 78% south indians in NASA? Do he know that we are amongst one of the brilliant people in the world ? Do he knows that most of the brilliant doctors is indians. i’m proud to be an Indian.

117. #117 by chilipadi9 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:30 pm

We don’t share the same views as ” Oldman & Tom Peters” due to the fact that they are clearly not Indians. I figure that they must be using similar words frequently like JJ does. So in order for them to make this situation seem normal by saying that we are over reacting.In other words they try to physic us to become immune with people like them to freely pass snide racist remarks as they wish.

You said “It used to be rude in the past to refer to an African American as black but now it is acceptable because they learn to be proud of their color and that “Black is beautiful”. Well I think that’s a whole lot of rubbish. It didn’t start out like that at all. African Americans or rather Negroes were called “Niggers”. That is why, they came up with a compromised term “Blacks” or “Black” as a neutral terminology to avoid racial conflicts.

This web-site is to pour out our dissatisfaction to our so called voted leaders who were suppose to be our mentor/s.

This debate is clearly for local interest.
    I’m sure they (“massacres in African”) have all the publicity from all over the world & other countries who are more capable in dealing with this kind of matter compared to us. All we can do is pray for them & sympathise.

No doubt that we might or might not be youngsters on this blog but that doesn’t give anybody the upper hand to freely use racist sentiments.

When you are being pushed & shoved around what do you expect?
    I for one thinks that, they feel threaten or shamed of our presence. Give us a couple of million dollars each & relocate us to the country of our wish.
    I would be more than happy to leave this country in a heartbeat.
    I know I can do better overseas. We are hard working & smart people. Despite high taxes in other countries, I still wouldn’t mind it at all.

118. #118 by MalaysianMalaise on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 9:51 pm

Oldman, you are deeply racist and ageist. Age does not wisdom make and you with your experience of ‘talking in public’ clearly exemplify this.

What relevance is vegetarianism to this debate? You are trivializing and belittling a topic that is of great interest and distress to many Malaysians – Indian or otherwise. If you feel that this topic should not merit so many posts, then here’s a thought: STOP POSTING!

119. #119 by picoman on Monday, 14 May 2007 - 5:51 pm

Jarjis is NOT at all a cultured dud despite getting some good papers from UMIST! and the whole lot of bloggers who wrote that that dark skinned Tamils are of the lowest rung of the Caste system are no better that Jarjis. The root cause of all this misconception is IGNORANCE.
    The dark skinned Indians or Tamils were very cultured and civilised living at the time of the Indus Valley Civilisation in places such as Mohenjodaro and Harappa 5k years ago.
    The Aryans, light skinned normads warlike people attacked and destroyed the dravidian civilization and moved southwards to the present Chennai and Kerala. Amongst the dravidian group there is NO CASTE system, The caste system was introduced by the Aryans, who bear caucasian appearance, like the bollywood actors and actresses including the Sardarjis,including the Persians, agfans ,pakistanis. Iranians would get offended if you called the ARABS! They are proud of their Aryan origin just Tamils are proud of our Dravidian origin.
    The Land of the Dravidians ( dark skinned ) has produced many intellectuals in the areas of sciences and arts,notably,
    CV Raman – Nobel Prize winner in Physics for discovering Raman effect in the early 1930’s
    Chandrasekar – Nobel prize winner for astrophysics.
    and if you look at the number of engineers and scientist at the silicon valley in US, more than 50% are Indians, not withstanding the great number of professors at MIT,Caltech,Yale, Harvard, and other top notch universities in US and India.
    The current indian president APJ Abdul Kalam, who once headed the Space administration of India is a Dravidian who never went out of the country to get his degree.

So Dr Jarjis, if you care to look back at your university days in UK and Canada , you will surely recall one or more of these dark skinned low caste indians unravelling you the mysteries of electrons and Liapunov non linear control, Power electronics etc,to make you what you are today!

Shalom and Joy to you ….

120. #120 by observer vira on Friday, 18 May 2007 - 3:23 pm

A Malaysian student ……… insulted by a minister. It only happens to Malaysians I do suppose.

Imagine the embarasment gone through by this student. She might not come back to work here. All her learnings and intellects are gone.

A good way to drain out intellectuals from Malaysia, Dr JJ. Keep it up. Good work ! You know how many Malaysian Indians/Chineese….. highly qualified ones never came back to serve here?

With the mentality like our honourable minister Dr JJ we have to seek profesionals from outside.

Well done Dr JJ. ” Proud To Be A Malaysian “