Jerantut the 95th parliamentary constituency I am visiting to get public feeback on “Mana RM2.6 billion?” and 304 Citizens’ Declaration to Save Malaysia on 4th March 2016

Jerantut is the 95th parliamentary constituency I am visiting since my six-month suspension from Parliament on Oct. 22, 2015.

I started off to get public feedback to the two greatest financial scandals in the country, which have brought shame and stain to the nation, hogging international news that Malaysia is topping the world as among the most corrupt nations in the world.

However, since the past two weeks, I am also seeking public feeback on another important national development – the March 4 Citizens’ Declaration to Save Malaysia, which was signed and proclaimed by 45 politcial and civil society leaders, including former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir, former Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, and former Cabinet Ministers.

Many people had asked how Mahathir and I could sit on the same table in view of our past history and the great differences between both of us down the decades.

I think this is proof that Malaysia has reached a historic watershed where Malaysians must rise above racial, religious, regional and political differences to take an united stad on a common national agenda – to save Malaysia from hurtling down the slippery slope of a failed and a rogue state.

There have been historic examples, both international and in our country – from Mao Tse Tung and Chiang Kai Shek forming a common front to fight a bigger common enemy, to the United States President Franklin Roosevelt, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill and Russian dictator Stalin uniting to fight Germany’s Hitler in the Second World War, or the British colonialists teaming up with the Malayan communists under Chin Peng in the Malayan jungles through Force 136 during the Japanese Occupation.

In all these examples, neither Mao Tse Tung nor Chiang Kai Shek; Roosevelt, Churchill nor Stalin; the British colonialists and the Malayan Communist Party under Chin Peng did not betray pr compromise their interests or principles to further a common objective in the higher national interest.

What the Citizens’ Declaration to Save Malaysia sought to do is to spark off a national movement involving the unity all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion, region or politics to Save Malaysia – the highest form of patriotism at this time.

I can report that in my visits to 95 parliamentary constituencies in the past five months, and over a dozen parliamentary constituencies in the past two weeks, there can be no doubt that the overwhelming majority want the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to stop running and hiding from the twin mega scandals and to take drastic action to ensure that Malaysia is not regarded as among the top 10 countries in the world for corruption; and secondly, support for the Citizens’ Declaration to Save Malaysia.

Najib must take heed of popular opinion on these two issues, if he is not to end up soon as “history” with a legacy which is regarded with shame and regret in the history of Malaysia.

(Speech at the DAP “Mana RM2.6 billion?” ceramah kopitiam at Jerantut on Monday, 21st March 2016 at 1 pm)

1. No comments yet.