Call on Malaysian public to help the police and AG by producing evidence of Ali Tinju’s speech in Low Yat riots to lead to his prosecution under Sedition Act

The interview today of the new Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohamed Apandi Ali in The Malaysian Insider on how Ali Tinju’s sedition charge had been dropped is neither convincing nor reflection of professionalism of the new Attorney-General and the police to bring to book those who openly flout the law to undermine national unity and harmony in the country.

Apandi said the sedition charge against Mohd Ali Baharom was dropped because the police could not come up with the audio recording of the alleged inflammatory remarks the ex-soldier made outside Low Yat Plaza in July.

Apandi said that without the evidence, he was unable to pursue the case.

He said:

“The actual recording was not enough. It was only a few seconds… We missed the ‘seditious’ part.

“They (the police) couldn’t find it. It wasn’t forthcoming. I told them, ‘this isn’t enough, go find more’. They said, ‘cannot find’. So that put an end to it.”

This is totally unsatisfactory and unacceptable, and if I had not been suspended from Parliament for six months, I would have spoken in the committee stage of next year’s budget for the Prime Minister’s Department to censure Apandi for his failure to uphold law and order as the new Attorney-General.

The Malaysian public are not interested in the game of “passing-the-buck” between the police and the AG’s chambers as to who was responsible for the shabby leg work as to result in the inability of the Attorney-General to prosecute Ali Tinju for sedition.

What did Ali Tinju say in inciting the crowd in Low Yat in Bukit Bintang in Kuala Lumpur in July?

This was what Ali was alleged to have said:

“Okay, we want justice. This is the dignity of Malays, not because one Chinese boy attacked many Malays. This is Malay land. Unite, and attack the DAP Chinese who are rude.”

The decision to drop the sedition case against Tinju Ali had sparked a nation-wide outcry as it highlighted the double standards and selective prosecution and persecution of the authorities concerned.

As Apandi has said that the police could not come up with the audio recording of Tinju Ali’s alleged inflammatory remarks outside Low Yat Plaza in July, I call on the public to help the police and AG to produce evidence of Ali Tinju’s speech in the Low Yat riots.

Members of the public who have such evidence can either hand them directly to the police or through the DAP MP for Segambut Lim Lip Eng, who has agreed to perform the public service to receive such evidence from the public and to hand them over to the police.

[Speech by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Gelang Patah Lim Kit Siang at the DAP “Solidarity with Lim Kit Siang and Mana RM2.6 billion?” ceramah kopitiam in Tuaran on Thursday, 12th November 2016 at 12 noon]

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 12 November 2015 - 4:02 pm

Ali Tinju, that Ikan Bakar fellow, and Apandi, all report to the same person ultimately, so what is there to find anyone guilty of a crime ? You produce evidence, and they will investigate the ones who gave the evidence, how that evidence was obtained, and maybe even how that evidence was doctored to smear the good name of this clown.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 12 November 2015 - 5:22 pm

Note Apandi Ali said he told “them” – not a specific person, not the officer in charge, not the team leader etc but an ambiguous term “them”.. I bet under a real cross-examination, the excuse would not up…

3. #3 by worldpress on Friday, 13 November 2015 - 7:08 pm

They love to attack others call them ‘pendatang ‘.

Earlier Administration before independence recorded many 3 races as ‘pendatang‘.
    Any question please query the British Administration!

Migration Statistics
    HC Deb 29 November 1950 vol 481

Mr. T. Reid
    asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies the amount of Chinese, Malayan and Indian immigration into Malaya since the end of the war.

Mr. Dugdale
    With my hon. Friend’s permission, I shall arrange for a table of migration statistics for the period January, 1947, to June, 1950, to be circulated in the OFFICIAL REPORT. Statistics for the post-war period before 1947 are not available.

Following is the table:
    IMMIGRATION
    ————Malays—Chinese—Indians
    1947—–11,540—126,203–43,614
    1948—–11,809—121,115–37,319
    1949—–29,126—-96,449–31,770
    1950 (January—June)
    ———–34,642—-40,421–16,634
    ———–87,117–384,188–129,337
    EMIGRATION
    ————Malays—Chinese–Indians
    1947—–10,914—130,242–54,856
    1948—–13,098—144,440–45,039
    1949—–28,399—128,884–38,033
    1950 (January—June)
    ———–36,767—-36,730—21,506
    ———–89,178—440,296–159,434

Excess of Emigrants over Immigrants, January, 1947, to June.
    1950 ——2,061—–56,10—-30,097

Is this Ali a Malay came as ‘pendatang‘ from this stat record in early 1947 – 1950? You don’t know I don’t know but there was over 300 thousand Malay recorded

4. #4 by worldpress on Friday, 13 November 2015 - 7:12 pm

Kelantan is just opposite from the beach Vietnam and China Haian Island, I am not surprise thousand years ago Chinese have ship/boat may have landed the shore of Kelantan over thousand years ago.

5. #5 by worldpress on Friday, 13 November 2015 - 7:23 pm

If those stupid Malay still insist Tanah Melayu, we need to sit down to talk may lead to separate as there is a serious problem Sarawak, Sabah, and Penang are not what they claimed
    Do it if you are interest to separate!

6. #6 by worldpress on Friday, 13 November 2015 - 8:01 pm

It was British High Commissioner and Malay rulers agreed to extend to non-malay citizenship before Malaya independence.

ALI, who are you! to question the authority of the Malay Rulers