Barisan Nasional MPs in the PAC who have been beneficiaries in the RM2.6 billion Najib “donation” scandal should declare their pecuniary interests and withdraw from participation in any PAC discussion, decision or investigation into the twin mega scandals on 1MDB and RM2.6 billion ‘donation”

Former MCA President, Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek has made startling revelations about the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s RM2.6 billion “donation” scandal in his personal banking accounts before the 13th General Election.

Malaysiakini yesterday reported the former MCA President as throwing some light on where some of the RM2.6 billion in Najib’s personal bank accounts had gone to.

Chua recollected how Najib had in a BN Supreme Council meeting before the 13th general election made an “unprecedented pledge to fund BN component parties”.

Chua had said:

“I must admit, during the BN supreme council meeting approaching the May 5 general elections, he (Najib) in his capacity as prime minister and BN chairperson, did reveal that in that election, BN will support its component parties’ finance.

“I remember clearly, I was the first to thank him.

“I said I have joined politics for more than 20 years and have gone through five general elections, (we) have never received a single sen from BN before.

“So everyone agreed and many thanked him. When the election came, he delivered – he was able to disburse some funds (to the component parties).”

This is quite a shocking revelation by the former MCA President, in the light of two swirling mega scandals – the 1MDB and the RM2.6 billion “donation” scandals – which have wrought such damage on Malaysia’s body politics resulting in the worst prolonged crisis of confidence, not only in Malaysia but also internationally, with such awful consequences on the value of the Malaysian ringgit, the stock market, foreign capital flight and foreign investment in the country.

Najib’s 1MDB and RM2.6 billion “donation” scandals are the root causes of the scale, magnitude and duration of the crisis of confidence plaguing Malaysia today, to the extent that even the Malay Rulers have come out with a statement on Oct. 6 calling for 1MDB investigations to be completed as soon as possible and for “appropriate stern action” to be taken against the culprits of these scandals.

Now, we are told by the former MCA President of MCA during the 13th General Election that Barisan Nasional parties as well as Barisan Nasional candidates in the last general elections, which would include all Barisan Nasional Ministers and Members of Parliament elected in May 2013, were implicated in Najib’s RM2.6 billion “donation” scandal.

Arising from Chua’s revelations about the expenditures of the RM2.6 billion in Najib’s personal bank accounts, I want to make three calls:
Firstly, I call on all Barisan Nasional parties, including every one of the Sarawak BN parties, to declare how much each party had received from Najib’s RM2.6 billion personal banking accounts for 13th General Election campaigning;

Secondly, I call on all Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament who had been beneficiaries of Najib’s RM2.6 billion “donation” accounts for the 13th General Election campaign to declare their pecuniary interests and the amounts they received; and

Thirdly, I call on all the Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament who are members of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to declare their pecuniary interests in Najib’s RM2.6 billion “donation” accounts and to withdraw from participation any discussion, decision or investigation into the twin 1MDB and RM2.6 billion scandals to avoid any conflict-of-interest situations. This should in fact be the first item of business of the PAC when it meets in Parliament tomorrow.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 2 November 2015 - 10:18 am

The fact this was not raised immediately during the discussion of Tony Pua’s conflict of interest in PAC, shows how still on the backfoot the even the best of the opposition has to offer..

Now that Tony Pua’s offer to interview Arul has magically become a debate everyone is looking forward to, the main thing is not to be bogged down by the future of 1MDB which has already being bailed out to the tunes of tens of billions of rakyat money but rather to hang the person responsible for losing that tens of billions in the first place..