Red Shirts do not represent the Muslims

By Tajuddin Rosli
Free Malaysia Today
September 23, 2015

After Bersih participants were filled with pride. After the Red Shirts rally most are filled with shame

COMMENT

Incidents that took place on 16 September coinciding with Malaysia Day have shamed the majority of Malays throughout the country. For the first time ever, I went to work with my face down, feeling ashamed to be called a Malay. I could sense my non-Malay colleagues looking at me and laughing in their heads to what my people have become. I had to put on a brave smile and pretend nothing ever happened.

But the reality is Himpunan Rakyat Bersatu has shown the world how low some Malays in the country have sunk to.

Please don’t get me wrong. The hooligans who gathered for the rally in no way represent the silent majority of Malays in the country who are civilized. Unfortunately, just as Bersih 4.0 was called a Chinese gathering because the majority who turned out were Chinese, Himpunan Rakyat Bersatu was a dark day for the Malays in Malaysia. Those in attendance did not look like they belong in today’s world. They seemed to look like a bunch from the Period of Jahiliyyah who travelled through time to get here.

I had to convince myself that those who attended the rally were not true Muslims. They are part of a cult that Islam does not recognise. Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) never taught us to ridicule another religion. He never taught us to call others derogatory names. We see people around the world embrace Islam because Islam is a religion of peace. Those who were on the streets chanting racism are not true Muslims. They belong to something else that Islam does not recognise.

I fail to understand the reason for the rally. They say Malaysia belongs to Malays. Strictly speaking, Malaysia belongs to the Orang Asli. Most Malays are descendents from Indonesia. So, what are they chanting about?
What if the Orang Asli one day hold a rally and ask the Malays to leave their country? How would we react? We condemn the Jews for robbing Palestinian land. What are we doing here?

UiTM has the largest number of small branches throughout the country. It is a university with predominantly Malays. We have the highest interest rates for Amanah Saham. We get special quotas and extra discounts when we purchase a property. We get loans approved easily. We dominate the public sector. Our children who are academically much poorer get scholarships while the non-bumis with better results miss out. Almost every state is ruled by a Raja Melayu. Majority top posts are held by Malays (although many may not deserve it).

We have it all but those on the streets still say they are being suppressed.

Bersih 4.0 hosted multiple folds more people, yet there was no racism. Look at those who attended Bersih. Majority were young, vibrant, educated and professional. The ‘Red-shirts’ rally instead hosted uneducated, and rude people who baffled the intelligent among us.

Post-Bersih, there was a sense of pride in those who participated. They travelled on their own accord, slept on the street and expressed their point. Nobody went back shy and disgusted.

The ‘Red-Shirts’ rally was sponsored ─ buses chartered, food provided, pocket money given and many who were there did not even know the reason they were there. Post-rally, we feel ashamed of ourselves ─ disgusted at how a minority of Malays represented the rest of us.

With pain in my heart, I sincerely apologise to all my non-Muslim friends for the behavior of some of our uncivilized people. You are responsible as much as we are for the independence of this country. We shall continue to live together as brothers and sisters. Most of us who are true Muslims will continue to live by the teachings of Islam and be at peace with all of you.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 - 9:47 am

This argument, while its true, has been repeated for long time and used to placate those who want actions taken against the instigators and provocateurs..

In the West, they are now arguing that these kind of extremist are significant minority because the Muslim population is large AND while most Muslims would not do what they do, there are connected tissues between them..

It may very well fine to say they don’t represent Malay Muslim but WHOSE PROBLEM IS IT ? WHAT IS TO SOLUTION TO MAKE SURE THEY ARE AT LEAST CONTAINED WHEN WHAT IS RIGHTEOUS IS FOR THEIR DISSAPEARANCE ALL TOGETHER??

Like it or not, the problem belongs to Malay Muslims especially given that historically, they never existed before. The non-Muslim, by right, should have the right to demand AND take action but they are robbed of that right by the myth of entitlement. So if the Malay Muslim demand their entitlement, the problem is theirs and whatever the victims, non Malay Muslims do for themselves, or neglect to do, they are last to be blamed

2. #2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 - 10:33 am

50% of the Malays are against the red shirts. Another 40% are indifferent, so long as there is no violence or damage to property or anyone’s livelihood. 10% are geared to rock the country to its very foundations. Guess what happens ? The 10% wins because the 90% just isn’t doing enough to debunk the 10%. They shirk their responsibilities at the mention of race and religion.

Sorry, people like Marina, Zaid and Sakmongkol are in the absolute minority. What is happening in Egypt and North Africa today can happen here – all because the Malay majority isn’t doing enough to confront the mad dogs in their midst.

3. #3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 - 10:42 am

You go tell the Felda people, your leader actually took billions. They have several reactions. First is they say it is all lies, notwithstanding that Bijan admitted that the money went to his account, but not for his personal gain. Second reaction is “tak apa lah”, for those who don’t know how many zeros are in a billion. Third reaction is to forgive those who did wrong. Forgive them, they say.

These are the people who unwittingly condoned corruption, and until their mindset understands wrong from right, there is not much we non-Muslims can do.

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 - 11:28 am

They are like babies who don’t want to grow up. Suckling tits until they die is their lifelong goals. I want this I want that. If they don’t get it then start to kick furniture. A bunch of losers.