Should Najib resign?

Hafidz Baharom
11 July 2015

Personally, yes. He has tarnished the office of prime minister with his continued failure in doing the one thing he had to do: lead.

And quite frankly, I would rather he do so before succumbing to his “media triggered” depression, letting this country fall further into economic ruin and then promoting a “Twinkie defence”. Or, before he calls for martial law.

So respectfully, it is time to clock out, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

And I’ll tell you why? In fact, I’ll write it out.

The recent exposé by The Wall Street Journal has eroded whatever little confidence I have in the prime minister’s government, but I doubt his die-hard fans are quite in that position yet.

These are probably the same people who think the Titanic was an unsinkable ship that did not sink. Or to use Monty Python, still believe the parrot isn’t dead and is just “pining for the fjords”.

Malaysians are a sarcastic and humorous people who have recently been able to channel this – directly or indirectly – through social media.

And with the 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) public relations quagmire and the currently happening probe into how the prime minister had millions (or billions) placed into his accounts, the authorities have taken measures to try and keep this “parrot” alive through any means necessary.

Let us look at what is being suggested by these – for a lack of a better word – morons.

First we have the conspiracy theorists, which include the prime minister himself. Initially, he had accused former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad of conspiring against him with the foreign press. When this was too ridiculous for the press to buy, or even the general public, he moved on to saying that the Dow Jones was conspiring to topple his government.

While there is a task force which is investigating these allegations, our attorney general found it necessary to task the police to look for who leaked the documents, even without first confirming that these documents were real or faked.

You read right. Insofar as the scandal has surfaced, the documents have been branded as “tampered documents” without any proof or revelation of the authentic ones from the parties involved. Why?

Is it because the documents are classified under the Official Secrets Act, perhaps?

And yet, a task force was established to investigate these allegations by an American newspaper based on these documents, and the prime minister is mulling action against the paper.

Personally, I would like to see this in court simply to see our prime minister take the stand and have the government prove that the documents released were real, untampered and true. It would allow the Sarawak Report, The Edge and The Malaysian Insider to then sue the Malaysian government for defamation and be vindicated.

Also, since the Journal is not published in Malaysia, it is outside the jurisdiction of the Royal Malaysian Police. In fact, can the police actually take action against the Journal in any way or form since it is published and read online?

I sincerely doubt it. I’m guessing it is the same reason both Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s Malaysia Today and Clare Rewcastle Brown’s Sarawak Report are based beyond our borders. Perhaps our internet regulator will consider adding both websites in their Green Wall list – a list of websites inaccessible to the Malaysian public.

Speaking of which, we had a regulator weigh in saying that spreading false news on 1MDB was punishable by law. The Malaysian Commission for Multimedia and Communication (MCMC) found it necessary to even post this on Facebook.

Pro-government supporters are even considering the shutdown of the social network for nothing more than allowing Malaysians their right in expressing their views in the most hilarious and sarcastic ways possible – something that was guaranteed when we were granted Multimedia Supper-corridor (MSC) status.

Even going so far as to say it would make Malaysians more “productive”. Perhaps they would be so kind to practice what they preach and do so themselves, to set examples for the rest of us.

Of course, the typical Umno leaders have also weighed in by saying that this is a foreign, Jewish conspiracy, but that is so overplayed by this government and its supporters that it rings on deaf ears.

And then we have a leader of a bank who insisted on voicing his dissatisfaction and questioning the authenticity of the documents on social media, being shared by pro-government factions and being proven wrong. Sadly, his recant was not shared with the same enthusiasm as his calling the Journal stupid.

And he’s now being investigated by his employers, a move that I also do not support.

We must not stifle anyone’s ability to express their thoughts on social media, and we should know where to draw the line between our individual and our jobs in the realm of social networks. For many reasons, this has been blurred drastically in the last decade when employers, the authorities and even insurance companies decided it a valid source of information.

Even journalism has taken entries on Facebook as a source of news, as experienced by a fellow The Malaysian Insider columnist.

But all this makes it necessary for us to question a few things.

Primarily, our government has embarrassed itself through its inability to follow up on former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s promise for reform towards transparency, especially in the case of 1MDB.

Instead of allowing Malaysians and its stakeholders to openly view the wheeling and dealings of this company under the Ministry of Finance, the company chose to shun the press to the point of refusing to even allow reporters covering them from viewing their pitch at property events.

Even the prime minister himself destroyed his credibility in the court of public opinion. From being too fast on the draw during Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s guilty verdict, his “golf diplomacy” trip to Hawaii during the worst flood since 1971, the insistence on flying to the Middle East during earthquakes in Sabah, yet the quick draw ability to comment on “gay parades” and 24-hour eateries callously shows his failure in setting priorities for a country.

Adding on to this was his no-show from the ironically named “Nothing2Hide” closed door forum, his insistence on continued sniping instead of a face to face session with Mahathir, the Mara scandal and even the continued hiring of people to help his faltering public image.

All I can say is, this government was led by an ineffectual leader and an even worse cabinet that has led to the exhaustion of their political capital built up in the past 60 years, all spent up in the last decade.

But don’t take my word for it. Let us wait for Merdeka Center to conduct their poll.

Better yet, take a look at the Edelman Trust Barometer. In 2012, the Malaysian government scored 52%. In 2015, that number went down to 45%.

Erosion of trust, inability to defend the nation, an ineffective cabinet of dunces, a public persona of ridicule and allegations of underhanded dealings and nepotism, and more importantly, bankrupting the ruling party’s political capital, all of which have been highlighted by both government and alternative media. – July 11, 2015.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 12 July 2015 - 8:37 am

B careful U asking d GREAT leader 2 resign
    What lah, U want 2 destabilise dis happy 1DERful nation, esp b4 big fat Merdeka celebration?
    ALL d gomen enforcement agencies will swoop down on U 1
    Aaarh, d wonders of OSA, ISA championed by UmnoB/BN

2. #2 by TLoChin on Sunday, 12 July 2015 - 8:41 am

You said it brother. we have an ineffective cabinet of DUNCES!

3. #3 by worldpress on Sunday, 12 July 2015 - 12:54 pm

If he love Malaysia, he should call up snap general election, not passing to DEVIL hand of theirs

4. #4 by worldpress on Sunday, 12 July 2015 - 12:55 pm

If he love Malaysia, he should call up snap general election!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Sunday, 12 July 2015 - 11:43 pm

Resign is not in d vocabulary
    KICK d bucket while in office, like d old man, OK 1

6. #6 by boh-liao on Monday, 13 July 2015 - 1:22 am

Pak si boh chow culture n DNA 1 lah