What my proposal for a post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition is and is not

As my proposal for a post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition continues to be the subject of controversy and misunderstanding, deliberate or otherwise, let me clarify what the proposal “is” and “is not”, and the background for such a proposal.

Firstly, I had said that the proposal for a post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition is based on the premise that the two existing political coalitions in the country, Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat, have lost all public trust, credibility and legitimacy, in which case, Malaysians must think the unthinkable and move beyond the present political scenario dominated by two political coalitions in a post-BN, post-PR phase of Malaysian politics.

We need not tarry here as to why and how the two political coalitions, BN and PR, could lose all public trust, credibility and legitimacy.

Clearly, if anyone of the two political coalitions, BN or PR, can continue to command public trust, credibility, legitimacy and support of Malaysians, then we have not arrived at the post-BN, post-PR phase of Malaysian politics.

Secondly, what the post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition “is not”.

It is not a copy of the “UG” (Unity Government between UMNO and PAS to protect Malay unity) Government which had been proposed on-and-off since the 2008 General Elections.

For clarity and emphasis, let me reiterate that I am not advocating any “unity government” between DAP and UMNO or BN, or even more far-fetched, any DAP-PKR-MCA-Gerakan coalition.

Those who thought of such possibilities simply do not understand the meaning of a “post-BN, post-PR” scenario, where even UMNO could “self-destruct” as recently warned by former Deputy Prime Minister Tun Musa Hitam.

Thirdly, what the post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition “is”.

It is not exclusive for any one race or religion but fully inclusive of all Malaysian races, religions and regions, in other words, a multi-racial, multi-religious and multi-regional new Malaysian coalition government comprising Muslims and non-Muslims, Malays and non-Malays, and Malaysians from Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak and Sabah.

Going beyond the existing political coalitions and parties, the post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition will comprise MPs from both insides of the political divide as well as both sides of the South China Sea, Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia, to defend constitutionalism and rule of law with a new Prime Minister and a new Malaysian Government.

Based on the present parliamentary position, the new Prime Minister can come from Sarawak, Sabah or Peninsula Malaysia, from whichever political party, can be man or woman, who enjoys the support of the majority of the 222 Members of Parliament – committed to Save Malaysia and defend the Federal Constitution and the rule of law.

The “Save Malaysia” Grand Coalition must not be an opportunistic get-together but must be based on a programme of principles and the national interests.

I had consistently proposed that such a “Save Malaysia” Grand Coalition be based on the Pakatan Rakyat Common Policy Framework to protect the fundamental features of the Malaysian Constitution, restore the independence of national institutions and promote integrity, freedom, justice and dignity in the country.

The post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition should also have a visionary and forward-looking programme to restore Malaysia’s greatness and allow Malaysia to punch above its weight in many areas of human endeavour, whether political, economic, social, educational, information technology or environmental – creating a clean, incorruptible government of excellence which upholds the rule of law and human rights.

As I said in my speech to Malaysian students in Alexandria in April, one of the top agendas of the post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition must be the release of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim from Sungai Buloh prison to be back in the mainstream of Malaysian politics.

When I said I am prepared to work with Tun Mahathir to “Save Malaysia”, it is on the basis of the principles and national interests which I had spelt out.

Is this idea of a post-BN, post-PR “Save Malaysia” grand coalition, going beyond the existing political coalitions and parties, a practical and achievable concept?

This will be the greatest challenge facing Malaysians.

Only time will tell whether it is feasible or not.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 June 2015 - 9:04 pm

D sad truth is M’sia is beyond SAVE, keep sinking n dropping

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 3 June 2015 - 8:00 am

Aiya you do not have to explain yourself to rpk. Maybe he has different agendas and motives. We all understand except him.