An open letter to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

By J.D. Lovrenciear
Free Malaysia Today
April 5, 2015

COMMENT

In thirty-odd years of writing (over 10,000 pieces in the media), I have never once written in the first person. But today, inspired by your open admissions and determined manifestations of recent weeks, I appeal to you, Sir, to put a stop to the reality of the day, i.e. that Malaysians are walking in shame in the eyes of the world community of professionals, honourable investors, and within the revered hallways of academia.

Tun, never has a nation in recent times had its citizens walk in such shame as is happening in Malaysia.

The unstoppable reports of corruption, extravagance, inept leadership, wastage and profiteering at the expense of nationhood, systemic attacks and compromises on our institutions of nationhood and the horrendous crime against Altantuya – all of these and many more that you are cognizant of have eroded the dignity, honour and reputation of this nation.

Yes, there is no perfect nation. But when Malaysians are forced to bow their heads and walk with so much shame, what do we do?

Sir, your paying of respect to the late father of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim re-ignites my hope in you. I am sure millions of Malaysians are also surprised by this most humbling act of yours. It can only come from a man who truly cares for the future of this nation.

Never mind about how much I (and certainly millions more) may dislike your style of leadership or love you as a leader who took Malaysia down and out through many dangerous rapids. The fact is your actions today speak louder with hope re-ignited.

Your bringing to the open the case of the Altantuya murder; your open admission of loss of faith and confidence in the current leadership of this nation under the helm of Datuk Seri Najib and his muffled and well-placed supporters; your no-nonsense stance towards 1MDB – these actions of yours, Sir, truly re-ignite a deep seated hope in all of us ordinary citizens who care enough for this country.

Sir, I humbly register this my appeal to you:

*If the nation needs redress, it has to begin with the Sodomy II charge against Anwar Ibrahim.
*If the nation needs to redeem its honour, it has to begin with the Altantuya case.
*If the nation needs to restore its benchmark as a country of people who know how to fight corruption, it has to begin with the stripping bare of all those individuals who have amassed profane wealth beyond their competitive salaries and generous perks paid out by the government.

If national sovereignty is sacred to our future, we must review the GST and checkmate the Americanised TPPA. Our long history of being colonialised cannot be allowed to re-appear in any form in a nation where democracy and a constitutional monarchy was fought hard and won in 1957.

If Malaysians are to rise from the sinking gutters of shame and walk tall, it is time to think outside the box of narrow political party fences and see the bigger picture of nationhood through a coalition of good men and women. Period.

In a nutshell, this nation, that crooks and villains swear to care for, while honourable, helpless citizens pray for a miracle of salvation, desperately needs a remedy. The dispensation, perhaps, is now well within your means, Sir.

Will you do the right thing, Sir, for in no uncertain terms, to stop Malaysians from walking down the slippery route of shame, it has to be a case of “It’s now or never”.

Thank you, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

1. #1 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 - 4:09 pm

You just cannot reason with “I am sinless” kind of person. But the hypocrisy is, he has ulterior motives in doing so. What he is doing at the front is just a smokescreen for something sinister behind.

2. #2 by Justice Ipsofacto on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 - 4:17 pm

Suddenly we have to turn to the son of kutty for help. And if that is not pathetic, honestly, I dont know what is!

3. #3 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 - 9:42 pm

Watch out, d OPEN letter may b considered as seditious by U know who lah
    Beware of POTA

4. #4 by good coolie on Friday, 10 April 2015 - 11:04 am

First, He has no more power, being a toothless tiger. Second, He will change His view, or keep quiet about things, if political realities change (guess what political realities). Once He had quashed judicial independence, the last bastion of justice in Malaysia had started to crumble.

So, Sir, you are Sir-ring up to the wrong person.